Skip to main content

Full text of "History of the early settlers of Sangamon County, Illinois : "centennial record""

See other formats


THE  UNIVERSITY 

OF  ILLINOIS 

LIBRARY 


I 

X  II  i  oo  ws>    H  t-ertbr*  -Su*- 


HISTORY 


OF    THE 


EARLY  SETTLERS 


OF 


SANGAMON  COUNTY,  ILLINOIS. 


CENTENNIAL     RECORD. 


ASSISTED    BY    HIS    WIFE, 

MRS.  S.  A.  POWER. 


UNDER  THE  AUSPICES  OF  THE  OLD  SETTLERS'  SOCIETY. 


SPRINGFIELD,   ILL.: 

EDWIN    A.  WILSON  &  CO- 

1876. 


Entered  according  to  Act  of  Congress,  in  the  year  1876,  by 

JOHN  CARROLL  POWER 
In  the  office  of  the  Librarian  of  Congress,  at  Washington,  D.  C. 


SPRINGFIELD,   ILL.: 
E.  L.  MERRITT  &  BRO.,  PRINTERS, 

1876. 


LIBRARY 

OF  THE 

UNivcn:;:v  cr  !LL:;:O;S 


OUR  OWN  PRELUDE. 


^-p        , 


OUR  OWN  PRELUDE. 


It  is  with  unfeigned  satisfaction  that  I  write  these  closing  words,  for  that  is  what" 
they  are,  although  placed  at  the  opening  of  the  volume. 

It.  will  be  found,  by  consulting  the  book,  that  in  settling  Sangamon  county  every 
one  of  the  original  thirteen  States  are  represented,  also  every  State  organized  before 
Illinois;  and  that  the  descendents  of  the  early  settlers  of  this  county  may  be  found  in 
every  State  organized  since  Illinois;  also  in  the  District  of  Columbia,  and  in  every 
Territory  belonging  to  the  United  States  government.  Remarkable  as  it  may  appear, 
there  is  not  a  State  or  Territory  in  our  whole  nation  but  has  some  chord  that  centers 
in  Sangamon  county.  Many  European  countries  might  be  included  also.  Thus  it 
will  be  seen  that  the  homogeneous  character  of  our  whole  people  could  not  be  more 
forcibly  illustrated  than  by  this  volume. 

It  is  my  hope  that  it  will  be  an  educator,  in  suggesting  the  idea  of  how  to  arrange 

o|  and  continue  a  family  history.     There   are  family  histories  presented  here  that  will  be 

'.'•  prized  for  many  generations,  and  yet  but  few  of  them  would  ever   have  been   written 

11    up  by  the  families  themselves. '  It  is  surprising  that  there  are  not  more  families  who  write 

up  their  own  histories.     Family  pride  is  commendable,   and,   viewed  properly,   should 

^  be  a  powerful  stimulant  to  right  living,  but  it  can  have  no  reliable  foundation  without 

written  history.     Let  a  man  rise   to  eminence  and  all'are  eager  to  learn  something  of 

>-  his  origin  and  history.     I   could   not  cite   a   more  remarkable  instance  of  this  than  has 

already  been  developed  in  this  county,  in  the  history  of  Abraham  Lincoln.     There  are 

I.P    hundreds  of  families  in  the   county  from  whom,  to  all  human  appearance,  a  great  man 

}    is  as  likely  to  spring  as  in  the  case   mentioned,  and  yet  they  have  no  family  records,  or 

;    if  they  do  keep  them,  they   only   give   dates   without   locating   events.     Look  at  your 

y    family  Bibles  and  see  if  you   can   learn   from   them   where  any    event    connected  with 

your  ancestors  took  place.     You  must  remember,  however,  that  this  all  requires  labor. 

If  you  wish  to  test   it,  go  to  work  and  prepare   a  sketch  of  a  numerous  family  such  as 

you  find  here. 

I  expected  to   complete  this   in    one   year,    but    when    the    magnitude   of  the    work 

dawned   on   me   I    thought   it   might  take   two    vt-ais.     Nearly  that  time  was  >>pent  in 

collecting  the  materials.  The  two  years  has  doubk-d,  and  with  four  months  added,  1 
0  find  myself  putting  on  the  finishing  touches.  Thus  you  have  the  result  of  more  than 
four  years  labor  on  my  part,  and  about  two  years  by  Mrs.  Power.  She  has,  during 
that  time,  written  nearly  two  thousand  letters  of  inquiry  to  the  descendents  of  early 
settlers,  and  has  incorporated  the  information  obtained  by  their  replies,  in  the  family 

86746 


OUR  O  WN  PREL  UDE. 


sketches  to  which   they   properly   belong,    besides   rendering  me  much  other  valuable 
assistance,  in  all  parts  of  the  book. 

To  Edwin  A,  Wilson,  not  only  thanks,  but  much  more  substantial  tokens  of  ap- 
proval are  due.  He  has  done  that  which  none  of  the  early  settlers  seemed  disposed  to 
do.  Without  his  co-operation,  in  furnishing  the  sinews  of  war,  I  should  not  have 
undertaken  the  work. 

To  Messrs.  Preston  Breckenridge,  N.  W.  Matheny  and  N.  M.  Broadwell,  the  com- 
mittee of  the  Old  Settlers'  Society,  who  have  so  heartily  entered  into  the  spirit  of  the 
work,  I  not  only  tender  my  thanks,  but  venture  to  express  the  hope  and  belief  that 
every  family  represented  in  the  book  will  feel  under  lasting  obligations  to  them  for  the 
impartial  manner  in  which  they  have  discharged  the  duties  devolving  upon  them. 

To  the  families  of  the  early  settlers,  who  so  kindly  and  courteously  responded  to 
my  inquiries,  and  extended  to  me  the  hospitalities  of  their  homes,  I  cannot  find  words 
to  express  the  thanks  I  feel;  but  ardently  hope  that  the  perusal  of  the  book  will 
return  to  you  some  of  the  pleasure  I  enjoyed  in  visiting  your  families.  In  the  book  we 
lay  before  you,  we  think  all  will  admit  that  every  pledge  has  been  more  than  redeemed. 
What  I  say  about  myself  and  rny  associates  will  be  seen  the  first  time  by  them,  as  it  is 
by  you — here  in  print. 

And  last,  though  not  least,  I  reverently  bow  with  thanksgiving  and  praise  to 
Almighty  God,  that  He  granted  to  me  uninterupted  health  from  the  beginning  to  the 
end  of  this  work.  J-  ^"  P- 

SPRINGFIELD,  ILL.,  December,  1876. 


SKETCH  OF  THE  AUTHOR. 


FROM  THE 

UNITED  STATES  BIOGRAPHICAL  DICTIONARY. 

ILLINOIS  VOLUME,  PAGE  86 — 1876. 


TOHN  C  ^RROLL  POWER  was  born  September  19,  1819,  in  Fleming  county,  Kentucky, 
between  Flemmgsburg  and  Mount  Carmel.  His  grandfather  Joseph  Power,  with 
six  brothers  older  than  himself,  were  all  living  near  Leesburg,  Loudon  county,  Vir- 
ginia at  the  beginning  of  the  American  Revolution,  and  all  became  soldiers  m  the  cause 
of  freedom  Some  of  the  elder  brothers  served  through  the  whole  seven  years  strug- 
<rle  for  Independence,  the  younger  ones  entering  the  army  as  soon  as  they  arrived  at  a 
suitable  age.  Joseph  was  but  sixteen  years  old  when  he  enlisted,  and  that  was  during 
last  year  of  the  war.  He  was  married  a  few  years  later,  and,  in  1793,  started  with 
his  wJfe,  children  and  household  goods,  on  pack-horses,  and  in  company  with  several 
other  families  crossed-  the  Allegheny  mountains  to  Pittsburgh  They  descended  he 
Ohio  river  in  boats,  landing  at  Limestone,  now  Maysville,  and  afterwards  settled 
what  became  Fleming  county,  Kentucky. 

John  Power,  the  second  son  of  Joseph,  born  November,  1787,,  in  London  county, 
Virginia,  was  the  father  of  the  subject  of  this  sketch.  He  was  a  farmer  in  comfortable 
circumstances  and  the  owner  of  a  few  slaves;  but  with  his  numerous  fam.lv  he  could 
not  send  his  children  from  home  to  acquire  that  education  wh.ch  ,s  now  to  be  obtained 
in  district  schools,  within  the  reach  of  all;  consequently  this  son  of  whom  we  wr 
grew  to  manhood  without  having  mastered  more  than  the  simplest  rudiment,  of  the 
English  language. 

Like  many  other  men  who  have  struggled  against  adverse  circumstances,  he  com- 
nftnced  his  education  a,  a  period  of  life  when  he  should  have  been  ,n  possess,. 
He  takes  pleasure  in  attributing  to  a  great  extent  the  measure  .of  success  he  1 as  attain- 
ed  both  morallv  and  mentally,  to  his  selection  ot  a  wife.  He  was  marned  May  ,4, 
SS  Miss  S-arah  A.  Harris.  The  marriage  was  solemnized  about  ,wenty.s,x  miles 
betw  Cincinnati,  in  Aurora,  Indiana.  Miss  Harris  was  born  there  Octobe,  ,, 
1824,  of  English  parentage. 

Her  ^ndfathcr,  on  the  maternal  side,  was  the  Rev.  John  Wadsworth,  who  was 
Rector  off  single  parish  of  the  Protestant  Episcopal  church  near  Manchester,  England, 
more  than  a  Ihiri  of  a  century.  His  daughter  Catalina  was  the  mother  ol  Mrs. 
Power. 

On  her   father's  side    the  history  reaches  back  to  her  great-grandfather,  William 
Fox,  who  was   a  wholesale  merchant  in    London.     He   was  also  deacon  of  a  Bapti 
church  in  that  city.     By  his  business  travels  he  became  conversant  with  the  i 


SKETCH  OF  THE  AUTHOR. 


and  destitute  condition  of  the  poor  people  of  the  kingdom,  and  made  an  effort  to  in- 
duce Parliament  to  establish  a  system  of  free  schools;  but  failing  in  that,  he  next  un- 
dertook to  persuade  his  friends  to  unite  with  him  in  organizing  and  supporting  a  sys- 
tem of  week-day  instruction  so  extensive  that  "every  person  in  the  kingdom  might  be 
taught  to  read  the  Bible."  When  he  had  gone  far  enough  to  realize  that  the  magni- 
tude of  the  work  was  almost  appalling,  his  attention  was  providentially  drawn  to  the 
consideration  of  Sunday  schools,  in  order  to  determine  whether  or  not  thev  would  an- 
swer the  same  pnrpose.  Becoming  convinced  that  they  would,  he  zealously  adopted 
the  latter  plan,  and  on  the  yth  ot  September,  1785,  he  organized  in  the  city  of  London 
the  first  society  in  the  world  for  the  dissemination  of  Sunday  schools.  That  society 
stood  for  eignteen  years  without  a  rival,  and  during  that  time  it  was  instrumental  in 
establishing  Sunday  schools  ..wherever  Christian,  missions  had  unfurled  the  banner  of 
the  cross. 

William  Fox  had  two  sons  and  three  daughters-  The  eldest  daughter,  Sarah,  be- 
came the  wife  of  Samuel  Harris,  a  druggist  of  London.  They  had  a  son  and  daughter. 
The  son,  William  Tell  Harris,  was  married  April  24,  1821,  in  England,  to  Catalina 
Wadsworth,  daughter  of  Rev.  John  Wadsworth,  as  already  stated.  They  came  to 
America  soon  after  their  marriage,  and  settled  in  Aurora,  Indiana.  They  have  both 
been  dead  many  years.  Their  only  living  child,  -Sarah  A.,  was  educated  at  private 
schools,  and  a  four  years'  course  in  Granville  Female  Seminary,  an  institution  under 
the  auspices  of  the  Protestant  Episcopal  church,  at  Granville,  Ohio,  from  which  she 
graduated  in  1842.  After  her  marriage  to  Mr.  Power,  in  1845,  a*  his  request  she 
directed  his  studies,  and  when  he  began  to  write  for  publication  she  became  his  critic; 
in  that  way  rendering  the  best  possible  assistance,  which  she  continues  to  the  present 
time. 

Mr.  Power  was  brought  up  a  farmer,  but  engaged  in  other  pursuits  a  number  of 
years,  always  cultivating  habits  of  study  and  occasional  writing,  but  without  any 
thought  of  becoming  an  author  until  well  advanced  in  life.  He  met  with  serious 
reverses  about  the  beginning  of  the  great  rebellion;  and  at  its  close,  finding  himself  in 
possession  of  a  few  thousand  dollars,  determined  to  return  to  agricultural  pursuits.  He 
accordingly  removed  to  Kansas,  purchased  a  farm  and  prosecuted  the  tilling  of  it  for 
three  years.  The  grasshoppers  destroyed  the  crops  of  1866  and  1867,  and  the  drought 
of  1868  made  almost  a  total  loss  of  those  three  years,  with  all  the  expense  of  farming. 
In  April,  1869,  he  accepted  the  first  and  only  offer  he  ever  received  for  his  farm, 
returned  to  Illinois,  and  since  that  time  has  devoted  himself  almost  exclusively  to 
literary  pursuits. 

His  prize  essay  on  Self-Education,  for  which  the  Illinois  State  Agricultural  Society 
awarded  him  a  premium  in  1858,  was  revised  and  published  in  "Harkness'  Magazine;" 
the  editor  expressing  the  opinion  that  those  who  read  it  would  find  it  "one  of  the  most 

profitable,  instructive  and  mentally  and  morally  invigorating  essays  they  ever  read." 

• 

His  "History  of  the  Rise  and  Progress  of  Sunday  Schools,"  published  in  1864,  by 
Sheldon  &  Co.,  New  York,  was  his  first  publication  in  book  form.  It  is  the  only  con- 
nected history  of  that  noble  branch  of  Christian  work  ever  attempted,  and  appears  by 
common  consent  to  be  accepted  as  the  standard  authority  on  that  subject.  Mr.  Power 
has  written  several  books  and  pamphlets  on  various  local  subjects;  also  magazine 
articles  on  a  great  variety  of  topics. 


SKETCH  OP  THE  AUTHOR. 


An  open  letter  by  him  to  the  Postmaster-General,  on  the  subject  of  addressing  mail 
matter,  is  a  brief  and  interesting  magazine  article.  Some  of  his  ideas  are  quite  novel, 
and  will  bear  investigation.  The  main  point  he  aims  to  enforce  is,  that  all  mail  matter 
should  be  addressed  by  first  writing  the  name  of  the  state  in  full,  next  the  county,  then 
the  postoffice,  and  end  with  the  name  of  the  person  or  firm  expected  to  receive  it;  thus 
reversing  the  order  practiced  from  time  immemorial.  He  considers  that  essay  his  con- 
tribution to  the  great  American  Centennial. 

Perhaps  his  most  finished  work  is  the  latest — his  monumental  edition  of  the  "Life 
of  Lincoln."  It  is  a  fitting  tribute  to  the  nation's  martyred  dead.  His  style  is  pecu- 
liarly clear,  concise  and  original.  He  treats  every  subject  most  thoroughly  and  com- 
prehensively, yet  with  an  ease  and  grace  of  manner  that  charms  the  reader.  A  gen- 
tleman of  the  highest  literary  attainments,  connected  with  Madison  University, 
Hamilton,  New  York,  in  a  note  to  the  publishers,  says:  "I  have  read  your  'Life  of 
Lincoln'  by  Power.  It  has  the  charm  of  a  novel." 

Mr.  Power  is  now  engaged  on  a  history  of  the  early  settlers  of  Sangamon  county, 
Illinois,  which,  of  course,  includes  the  city  of  Springfield,  his  place  of  residence.  This 
work,  upon  which  he  has  spent  more  than  four  years'  constant  labor,  will  be  issued  in 
1876.  It  is  awaited  with  expectant  interest  by  his  numerous  friends.  He  has  other 
literary  work  laid  out,  sufficient  to  keep  him  employed  for  years  to  come,  and  will 
doubtless  continue  in  that  pursuit  the  remainder  of  his  days. 


EARL1   SETTLERS   OF 


CONTENTS. 


PAGE. 

Additions,  Omissions  and  Corrections  ................................    16 

Letter     A  ....................................................    73- 

B  ..........................................................    87 

C  ..........  ..."  .............................................  165 

D  ....................................  .....................  242 

' 


H  .......................................................  346 

..........................................................  397 


. 
K  .........................................................  42  1 

L  .........................................................  435 

M  ................  ...................................  ......  47i 

•J?  ...............................................  :  .......  '537 

°  .........................................................  54P 

p  .....  •  ............................  '  .......................  552 

*•••'.  ..................  .  ...................................  59< 

o  .......................  ..............................  .     ...  633 

T  ...........................................  •  .............  699 

u  ..............................  •  ..........................  733 

V-  ........................................................  735 

W  ........................................................  745 

Y  .......................................................  --789 

z  .........................................................  796 

Deep  Snow  ........  ...............................................    62 

Extract  from  111.  Vol.  United  States  Biographical  Dictionary  ...........      5 

Historical  Prelude  .................................................    25 

Long  Nine  ........................................................  494 

Miscellaneous  .....................................................    62 

Note  of  101  citizens  .......  .............................  ............    48 

Old  Settlers  Society  ................................................      9 

Ordinance  of  1787     ..............................  .  .................    27 

Our  own  Prelude  ......  .  ..........................  ...........  '  ......      3 

Railroads  .........................................................    43 

Sangamon  County  ................................  .................    31 

Springfield.  ....  .................  .  .................................    44 

State  Capitals  .....................................................    45 

Sudden   Change  ...................................................    6=5 

Trayler  Brothers  .........................................  .  ........  720 

Wars  —  Black  Hawk  ...............................................    54 

"         Winnebago  ................................................    53 


OLD  SETTLERS'*  SOCIETY. 


ORGANIZATION 


OF    THE 


OLD  SETTLERS'  SOCIETY  OF  SANGAMON  COUNTY. 


ITS  MEETINGS  AND  MOVEMENTS  TO  HAVE  A 

HISTORY  OF  THE  EARLY  SETTLERS 

WRITTEN  AND  PUBLISHED. 


A  call  for  a  meeting  of  the  early  settlers  of  Sangamon  county,  Illinois,  was  drawn 
up  May  25,  1859,  by  Pascal  P.  Enos,  and  circulated  by  him  until  sixty-one  signatures 
were  obtained,  proposing  a  meeting  of  all  those  who  were  citizens  of  the  county  pre- 
vious to  the  winter  of  the  "deep  snow,"  1830-31;  for  the  purpose  of  organizing  a 
society  to  preserve  the  history  of  Springfield  and  Sangamon  county.  The  call  was 
published  in  the  Jotirnal  and  Register  of  May  27th,  and  the  meeting  was  held  June 
1st,  and  adjourned  to  June  15,  1859. 

The  OLD  SETTLERS'  SOCIETY  OF  SANGAMON  COUNTY  was  then  organized  by 
adopting  a  constitution,  in  which  it  was  declared  that  all  persons  were  old  settlers  who 
came  to  the  co.untv  previous  to  the  "deep  snow."  Thomas  Moffitt  was  chairman,  and 
Pascal  P.  Enos  secretary  of  the  meeting.  It  was  declared  that  October  2oth  of  each 
year  should  he  celebrated  as  Old  Settlers'  Day,  in  honor  of  the  first  cabin  in  the  county 
having  been  raised  by  Robert  Pulliam,  October  20,  181  7.  It  was  also  declared  that 
until  the  first  Monday  in  June,  1860,  the  officers  of  the  society  should  be  Thomas 
Moffitt,  President,  and  Pascal  P.  Enos,  Secretary. 

The  old  settlers  and  their  descendents  assembled  on  the  morning  of  Oct.  20,  1859, 
in  the  vicinity,  formed  in  procession,  and,  headed  by  a  hand  of  music,  marched  to 
where  the  first  cabin  stood.  Two  wagons  had  been  drawn  together  on  the  spot  to 
serve  as  a  platform.  The  President,  Judge  Moffitt,  called  the  meeting  to  order,  and 
the  exercises  were  opened  with  prayer  by  Rev.  Wm.  S.  Prentice,  the  presiding  elder  of 
the  Springfield  district  of  the  M.  E.  church.  The  hand  then  played  the  red,  white  and 
blue,  after  which  the  Hon.  James  H.  Matheny  was  introduced  and  delivered  an  oration, 
suitable  to  the  occasion.  Several  other  brief  speeches  were  made  after  which  they 
held  a  festival  in  picnic  style,  and  thus  passed  the  day,  to  the  general  satisfaction 
of  all  who  assembled  there. 

It  was  fully  expected  that  those   meetings    would  he  held  annually,  but  nine  long  and 
eventful  years  passed  before  the  e  arly  settlers  of  the  county  held  another  reunion.     The 
— 2 


io  OLD  SETTLERS^  S 


next  year,  at  the  proper  time  for  holding  the  meeting,  the  whole  country  was  abla/e 
with  the  political  excitement  of  the  campaign  that  terminated  in  the  election  of 
Abraham  Lincoln — one  of  the  least  pretentious  of  the  early  settlers  of  Sangainon 
county — to  the  office  of  President  of  the  United  States.  .Then  followed  war,  that 
terminated  in  the  abolition  of  slavery  and  the  death  of  President  Lincoln. 


RE-ORGANIZATION  OF  THE  SOCIETY. 

July  28,  1868,  a  call  appeared  in  the  Jotirnal  and  the  Register,  proposing  to  hold 
a  meeting  at  Clear  Lake,  seven  miles  east  of  Springfield,  on  the  2oth  day  of  August. 
The  call  was  signed  by  thirty-two  of  the  early  settlers. 

CLEAR  LAKE,  August  20,  1868. 

The  meeting  was  called  to  order  by  the  chairman  of  the  committee  of  arrange- 
ments, Strother  G.  Jones,  Esq.  Exercises  were  opened  with  prayer  by  Rev.  C.  B. 
Stafford.  Speeches  were  made  by  Munson  Carter,  Rev.  John  England,  Gen.  M.  K. 
Anderson,  and  Samuel  Williams,  when  they  adjourned  for  dinner,  which  was  taken  in 
pic-nic  style.  After  dinner  Preston  Breckenridge  gave  an  account  of  his  three  first  years 
in  the  county,  1834-5-6.  The  year  1835,  'ias  always  been  remembered  as  a  time  of  great 
suffering.  Other  speeches  were  made  and  the  meeting  adjourned. 


CLEAR  LAKE,  Aug.  20,  1869. 

The  annual  meeting  of  the  Early  Settlers'  of  Sangamon  County  was  called  to 
order  at  12  o'clock  by  S.  G.  Jones,  the  President.  After  prayer  by  Rev.  Mr.  Holton, 
of  Springfield,  speeches  were  made  by  Rev.  Dr.  Bergen,  Revs.  C.  B.  Stafford  and 
David  England,  and  adjourned  for  dinner.  After  that,  more  speeches  by  J.  Wickliffe 
Taylor,  P.  Breckenridge  and  J.  H.  Matheny.  The  meeting  was  then  closed  for  the 
purpose  of  effecting  a  more  permanent  organization,  which  was  done  by  enrolling 
eighty-six  names  of  early  settlers,  of  both  sexes.  They  provided  for  future  business  by 
the  election  of  P.  Breckenridge,  President;  Samuel  Preston  and  Strother  G.  Tones, 
Vice  Presidents;  John  F.  King,  Secretary. 


CLEAR  LAKE,  Aug.  31,  1870. 

Mr.  Breckenridge  not  being  present,  Vice  President  S.  G.Jones  called  the  meeting 
to  order.  Prayer  was  offered  by  Rev.  Francis  Springer,  who  followed  that  with  an 
address.  Brief  speeches  were  made  by  Elisha  Primm,  David  England  and  Samuel 
A.  Grubb,  and  after  dinner,  Samuel  Williams  read  a  paper  full  of  historical  reminis- 
cences. Speeches  were  made  by  Cg>\.  Thomas  Bond  of  Taylorville,  Joab  Wilkinson 
of  Macon  county,  and  John  Fletcher  of  Sangamon,  and  adjourned. 


IRWJNS  GROVE,  Sept.  23, 1871. 

Mr.  Breckenridge  called  the  meeting  to  order,  and  the  exercises  were  opened  with 
prayer  by  the  venerable  Daniel  Wadsworth  of  Auburn.  Thomas  S.  Parks,  the 
secretary,  read  the  minutes,  followed  by  a  brief  'speech  from  Samuel  Williams. 
Governor  Palmer  was  then  introduced  and  made  a  speech  depicting  many  scenes 


OLD  SETTLERS'*  SOCIETY.  ir 


and  incidents  in  the  lives  of  the  early  settlers,  not  forgetting  his  own  experience  in 
courting,  by  taking  his  girl  behind  him  on  horseback  to  camp  meetings,  picnics,  etc.  It 
was  regarded  as  the  most  mirth  'provoking  speech  ever  delivered  at  an  old  settlers' 
meeting.  After  that  came  dinner,  followed  by  a  letter  from  General  McClernand  and 
speeches  from  J.  H.  Matheny  and  Hon.  John  T.  Stuart.  Then  came  the  election  of 

officers,  as  follows: 

P.  BRECKENRIDGE,  President. 

NOAH  MASON,  Vice  President. 
THOMAS    S.  SPARKS,   Secretary, 


Oak  Ridge  Park,  adjoining  Springfield  on  the  north,  SEPTEMBER  29,  1872. 
The  meeting  of  the  Old  Settlers  was  called  to  order  at  eleven  o'clock.  As  a  change 
in  the  usual  programme,  the  Society  proceeded  at  once  to  the  election  of  officers  for 
the  ensuing  year.  Job  Fletcher  was  elected  President,  with  seventy  Vice  Presidents, 
and  Noah  W.  Matheny,  Secretary.  After  dinner,  General  John  A.  McClernand  was 
introduced  and  spoke  about  three-fourths  of  an  hour  in  a  chaste' and  eloquent  style. 
The  next  speech  was  by  Rev.  William  J.  Rutledge.  He  said  that  thirty-three  years 
betore  he  had  run  a  saw  mill  on  Spring  creek  and  sawed  stringers  used  in  laying  the 
track  of  the  first  railroad  ever  built  in  the  State  of  Illinois.  The  latter  part  of  his 
speech  was  exceedingly  humorous  and  closed  amid  a  roar  of  laughter.  Major  Elijah 
lies  then  took  the  stand  and  in  a  conversational  way  related  many  interesting  incidents 
of  his  experience  among  the  early  settlers.  He  was  followed  by  Revs.  J.  D.  Randall, 
of  Edwardsville,  and  William  S.  Prentice  and  F.  H.  Wines,  of  Springfield.  George 
R.  Weber  made  the  closing  speech,  and  the  meeting  adjourned. 


PLEASANT  PLAINS,  August  29,  1873. 

The  Old  Settlers  assembled  in  full  force.  A  long  train  of  cars  well  filled,  came  from 
Springfield,  bringing  the  old  settlers  from  all  other  parts  of  the  county.  The  Presi- 
dent, Captain  Job  Fletcher,  called  the  meeting  to  order,  and  an  address  of  welcome 
ws  delivered  by  Rev.  John  Slater,  of  Pleasant  Plains.  The  exercises  were  formally 
opened  with  prayer  by  Rev.  Mr.  Lyon  of  the  M.  E.  church.  Governor  Palmer  \v;is 
then  introd\  ced  and  made  an  excellent  old  settlers'  speech  in  his  usual  mirth  provoking 
style.  Next  came  dinner,  after  which  several  more  speeches,  and  then  the  following 
officers  were  elected  for  the  ensuing  year:  Rev.  Samuel  M.  Wilson,  of  Pleasant 
Plains,  President;  James  Parkinson,  Vice  President;  and  N.  W.  Matheny,  Secretary. 


Crow's  Mill,  or  Cotton  Hill,  SEPTEMBER    10,  1874. 

The  Old  Settlers  assembled  in  large  numbers  to-day,  in  Stout's  Grove,  to  find  that 
the  most  ample  provision  had  been  made  for  their  comfort  by  the  local  committee, 
William  Burtle,  Philemon  Stout,  Davis  Meredith  and  Job  Fletcher.  The  President, 
Mr.  Wilson,  not  having  arrived,  the  meeting  was  called  to  order  by  Captain  Fletcher. 
After  a  few  short  speeches,  dinner  was  announced  and  partaken  of  with  H  keen  relish 
by  all.  More  speeches  were  then  made,  and  a  vote  of  thanks  was  tendered  the  retiring 
President,  Rev.  S.  M.  Wilson.  The  following  officers  were  then  elected:  William 


12  OLD  SETTLERS*  SOCIETY. 


Burtle,   President;  Alexander  B.   Irwin    and    Dayis  Meredith,  Vice  Presidents;  Noah 
W.  Mathenv,  Secretary. 

CANTRALL,  ILL.,  Aug.  21,  1875. 

The  Old  Settlers'  of  Sangamon  and  Menard  counties  held  a  union  meeting  here  to- 
day. William  Burtle,  President  of  the  Old  Settlers'  Society  of  Sangamon  county  as- 
sumed the  chair,  and  the  meeting  was  opened  with  prayer  by  Elder  Vawter  of  Cant- 
rail.  Speeches  and  feasting  occupied  the  time  until  just  previous  to  adjournment, 
when  the  following  were  elected  as  officers  for  the  ensuing  year:  Alexander  B.  Irwin, 
President,  E.  C.  Matheny,  Secretary. 


Fair  grounds,  near  SPRINGFIELD,  ILLS.,  Aug.  31,'  1876. 

The  Old  Settlers'  of  Sangamon  county,  assembled  here  to-day  by  thousands.  They 
came  by  the  Chicago  &  Alton  Railroad,  in  wagons  and  carriages,  on  horseback  and  on 
foot.  Alexander  B.  Irwin,  the  President,  being  detained  by  sickness,  the  assembly  was 
called  to  order  by  Gen.  M.  K.  Anderson.  Brief  speeches  were  made,  but  the  princi- 
pal one  was  by  Hon.  William  H.  Herndon.  It  was  rich  in  incidents  and  anecdotes, 
and  flashed  with  brilliant  thoughts  throughout.  After  this  speech  one  hour  was  de- 
voted to  dinner  in  pic-nic  style.  A  few  more  short  speeches  were  made  and  then  the 
following  were  elected  as  officers' of  the  society  for  the  next  year:  Alexander  B.  Irwin, 
President;  Gen.  M.  K.  Anderson,  Vice  President;  E.  C.  Matheny,  Secretary. 

OLD  SETTLERS  HISTORY. 

In  June,  1872,  I  was  called  upon  by  Hon.  Preston  Breckenridge,  who  was  then 
serving  his  third  term  as  President  of  the  Old  Settlers'  Society  of  Sangamon  County. 
He  stated,  in  substance,  that  the  early  settlers  of  the  county  had  for  some  years  been 
talking  of  having  something  written  and  published  that  would  serve  as  a  history  of 
the  county  and  biographical  sketches  of  themselves;  that  thus  far  they  had  not  found 
any  person  qualified  for  the  work  who  was  willing  to  undertake  it.  He  further  stated 
that  a  copy  of  the  small  pamphlet  history  of  Springfield,  prepared  and  published  by 
myself,  under  the  auspices  of  the  Springfield  Board  of  Trade,  had  fallen  into  his  hands, 
and  that  after  perusing  it,  and  conversing  with  some  of  his  friends  who  knew  me,  he 
determined  to  form  my  acquaintance,  and  see  if  I  could  be  induced  to  engage  in  the 
enterprise.  He  very  frankly  told  me  there  was  no  fund  to  defray  the  expense,  that  the 
only  inducement  they  could  offer  would  be  their  co-operation  in  collecting  information 
and  giving  their  subscriptions  for  the  book.  The  following  communication  was  the 
result  of  that  interview  : 

Hon.    P.    Breckenridge,  President  of  the   Society  of    Old  Settlers   of  Sangamon 

Cozmty  : 

SIR: — You,  as  the  representative  of  your  society,  having  expressed  to  me  a  desire 
to  have  a  book  written  and  published,  to  preserve,  as  far  as  possible,  the  biographical, 
historical  and  other  reminiscences  of  the  early  settlers  of  Sangamon  county,  and  having 
requested  me  to  suggest  a  plan  upon  which  I  would  be  willing  to  undertake  such  a 
work,  I  offer  the  following  as  my  views  upon  the  subject:  The  materials  are  so 
abundant,  that  I  would  not  be  willing  to  engage  in  it  if  I  were  required  to  compress 
all  in  a  very  small,  cheap  volume.  I  propose  to  undertake  to  write  and  publish  a  book 


OLD  SB  /  TL  ERS^  S  O  CIE  7  T.  13 

upon  that  subject,  to  contain  not  less  than  five  hundred  octavo  pages,  with  a  small  map, 
showing  all  the  townships,  villages,  towns  and  cities,  with  other  objects  of  interest,  in 
the  county — all  to  he  printed  on  the  best  quality  of  book  paper,  and  bound  in  the  finest 
of  English  cloth,  provided  I  can  obtain  subscriptions  for  one  thousand  copies  at  five 
dollars  per  copy. 

If  this  plan  should  meet  the  views  of  your  society,  I  should  expect  old  settleas  to 
co-operate  with  me,  by  furnishing  all  the  information  they  may  respectively  possess. 
It  would  be  more  satisfactory  for  those  interested,  if  you  would  appoint  a  committee  of 
three — a  majority  of  whom  shall  reside  in  Springfield — to  whom  I  can  submit  all  copy 
for  their  approval,  before  publication. 

J.  C.  POWER. 
Springfield,  Aug.  14,  1872. 

At  a  meeting  of  a  committee  of  the  Society  of  Old  Settlers,  on  the  fifteenth  of 
August,  the  above  communication  was  laid  before  them,  whereupon  the  following  reso- 
lutions were  adopted: 

Resolved,  That  this  society  heartily  endorses  the  proposition  of  Mr.  Power,  and 
we  hereby  pledge  ourselves,  as  a  society  and  as  individuals,  to  co-operate  with  him  in 
obtaining  the  requisite  number  of  subscribers  and  in  collecting  information  and  com- 
piling the  book. 

Resolved,  That  the  President  of  this  society,  Hon.  P.  Breckenridge,  is  hereby  re- 
quested to  appoint  two  old  settlers  of  this  count)-,  who  reside' in  Springfield,  to  act 
with  himself,  the  three  to  form  the  committee  to  point  out  sources  of  information  to 
Mr.  Power,  and  examine  his  manuscript,  for  the  purpose  of  correcting  all  errors  before 
publication. 

Resolved,  That  for  the  purposes  of  this  book,  all  persons  are  considered  old 
settlers,  who  were  citizens  of  Sangamon  county  previous  to  December  31,  1840. 

Mr.  Breckenridge  appointed  Noah  W.  Matheny  and  Judge  N.  M.  Broadwell  as 
his  colleagues  so  that  the  committee  is  composed  of  Hon.  P.  Breckenridge,  Hon.  N. 
W.  Matheny,  and  Hon.  N.  W.  Broadwell. 

The  Old  Settlers'  Society  by  this  action  did  all  that  was  necessary  to  place  the  sub- 
ject in  its  true  light  before  the  public,  but  the  undertaking  was  one  involving  so  much 
time,  labor  and  money,  that  nearly  two  months  elapsed  before  I  decided  to  go  on  with 
the  work,  when  the  following  was  added,  and  the  canvassing  commenced: 

With  the  view  of  rendering'  the  book  of  general  interest  to  all  the  citizens,  I  shall 
make  the  history  of  the  county  as  full  as  possible,  to  the  date  given  in  the  third  resolu- 
tion. In  this  history  all  old  settlers  will  be  incidentally  mentioned,  but  for  those  who 
take  sufficient  interest  in  it  to  subscribe  for  one  or  more  copies  of  the  book,  a  concisely 
written  biographical  sketch  will  be  given  of  themselves  and  families.  The  order  of 
arrangement  will  be,  first,  the  history,  then  the  biographical  sketches. 

At  a  meeting  of  the  Old  Settlers'  Society  in  Springfield,  August  22,  1874,  for  the 
purpose  of  agreeing  on  the  time  and  place  of  holding  the  next  annual  festival,  and  for 
the  transaction  of  any  other  business  that  might  come  before  it,  the  following  report  of 
special  committee  was  read,  and  on  motion  ordered  to  be  included  as  part  of  the  pro- 
ceedings of  the  meeting: 


14  OLDISETTLERS^  SOCIETT. 


GENTLNMEN: — We,  the  undersigned,  committee  appointed  by  your  honorable  body 
two  years  ago  this  day,  to  co-operate  with  Mr.  J.  C.  Power,  and  so  far  as  necessary, 
direct  his  movements  in  preparing  a  history  of  the  old  settlers  of  Sangamon  county, 
beg  leave  to  report  that  we  have  examined  his  work,  and  find  that  he  has  canvassed 
the  whole  county  outside  of  Springfield,  and  that  we  are  highly  pleased  with  the  pro- 
gress made.  Mr.  Power  has  collected  a  much  greater  quantity  of  material  than  we 
had  expected;  and  the  work,  when  completed,  we  believe  will  be  a  source  of  much 
pleasure  to  the  surviving  Old  Settlers,  and  of  increasing  interest  to  their  descendents 
in  all  coming  time.  He  is  more  than  redeeming  every  promise  made  at  the  commence- 
ment, and  it  will  amply  repay  all  the  patrons  of  the  work  to  wait  with  patience  the 
few  months  longer  that  will"  be  necessary  to  complete  it. 

In  view  of  the  fact  that  there  is  such  a  vast  fund  of  interesting  information,  we 
have  advised  Mr.  Power  that  if  there  be  any  families  of  old  settlers  who  do  not  take 
sufficient  interest  in  the  subject  to  aid  by  their  subscription  in  carrying  forward  the 
work,  that  he  omit  any  extended  sketches  of  them,  in  order  to  devote  more  space  to 
historical  matters  of  general  interest. 

PRESTON  BRECKENRIDGE, 
N.  W.  MATHENY, 
N.  M.  BROADWELL. 

My  time  was  fully  occupied  for  nearly  two  years  in  writing  up  and  arrangino-  the 
materials  in  my  hands,  and  incorporating  additional  matter  constantlv  coming  in. 
This  brought  us  to  our  "Centennial"  year,  and  the  following  Joint  Resolution  was 
passed  by  the  Senate  and  House  of  Representatives  of  the  United  States,  and  approved 
by  the  President,  U.  S.  Grant,  March  13,  1876: 

Be  it  resolved  by  the  Senate  "and  House  of  Reprvsentatives  of  the  United  States  of 
America,  in  Congress  assembled,  That  it  be,  and  is  hereby  recommended  by  the  Sen- 
ate and  House  of  Representatives  to  the  people  of  the  several  States  that  thev  assemble 
in  their  several  counties  or  towns  on  the  approaching  centennial  anniversary  of  our 
national  independence,  and  that  they  cans*  to  have  delivered  on  such  a  day  an  histori- 
cal sketch  of  said  county  or  town  from  its  formation,  and  that  a  copy  of  said  sketch 
may  be  filed,  in  print  or  manuscript,  in  the  Clerk's  office  of  said  county,  and  an  addi- 
tional copy,  in  print  or  manuscript,  be  filed  in  the  office  of  the  Librarian  of  Congress, 
to  the  intent  that  a  complete  record  may  thus  be  obtained  of  the  progress  of  our  insti- 
tutions during  the  first  centennial  of  their  existence. 

Hon.J.  L.  Beveridge,  Governor  of  Illinois,  issued  a  proclamation  April  25,  1876, 
recommending  to  the  people  in  every  county  and  town  in  the  State,  that  they  take 
measures  to  carry  out  the  recommendations  of  the  Joint  Resolution  of  Congress.  The 
following  correspondence  was  in  compliance  with  the  recommendations: 

MR.  J.  C.  POWER: 

Sir: — As  Congress  has,  by  joint  resolution,  recommended  to  the  people  of  the 
several  States,  that  they  cause  to  be  prepared  and  preserved  in  a  certain  manner,  histo- 
ries of  the  different  places,  "to  the  intent  that  a  complete  record  may  thus  be  obtained 
of  the  progress  of  our  institutions  during  the  first  centennial  of  our  existence;"  and  as 
the  Governor  of  Illinois  has  by  proclamation,  called  upon  the  people  of  this  State  to 
prepare  such  record,  we,  as  Advisory  Committee  of  the  "Old  Settlers'  Society,"  of  San- 


OLD  SETTLERS'  SOC1ETT. 


gam  on  county,  in  the  absence  of  any  action  on  this  subject  by  the  city  or  county 
authorities,  suggest  that  your  "History  of  Sangamon  County"  be  supplied  by  you  in 
compliance  with  the  requirements  of  the  resolution  of  Congress,  as  the  Centennial 
record. 

Having  examined  two  hundred  and  fifty  pages  of  the  advance  sheets  of  your  work, 
it  appears  to  fill  the  requirements  both  as  to  Sangamon  county  and  the  city  of  Spring- 
field, and  is  more  complete  and  full  than  any  similar  work  could  be,  if  gotten  up  and 
prepared  in  the  brief  time  yet  remaining  for  such  business. 

NOAH  W.  MATHENY, 
N.  M.  BROADWELL, 
PRESTON  BRECKENRIDGE. 
Springfield,  111.,  May  8,  1876. 


On  behalf  of  the  officers  of  Sangamon   county  we  heartily  concur  in  the  foregoing 
suggestions,  believing  that  the  object  desired   will  be  completely  attained  thereby. 

JAMES  H.  MATHENY,  County  Judge. 
JOHN  J.  HARDIN,  County  Clerk. 


Messrs.  Matheny,  Broadvcell,  Breckenridge^  Matheny  and  Hardin  : 

Your  note  of  the  8th  instant  is  before  me.  In  reply,  I  would  say  that  my  work  of 
nearly  four  years'  incessant  toil  on  the  history  of  the  Early  Settlers  of  Sangamon 
County  is  drawing  to  a  close.  I  very  willingly  acquiesce  in  your  suggestion  that  it  be 
adopted  as  the  "Centennial  record."  It  is  passing  through  the  press  as  rapidly  as  pos- 
sible: two  hundred  and  fifty  of  the  six  or  seven  hundred  pages  are  already  printed.  It 
may  not  be  entirely  finished  by  the  arrival  of  the  Centennial  anniversary,  but  when  com- 
pleted I  will  have  copies  bound  in  the  most  durable  manner,  and  deposited  at  the  places 
designated  in  the  joint  resolution  of  Congress,  with  special  reference  to  the  pleasure  it 
may  afford  your  descendents  in  perusing  its  pages  at  our  second  Centennial  anniversarv. 

Respectfully  yours, 

J.  C.  POWER. 
Springfield,  Ills.,  May  9,  1876. 

SPRINGFIELD,  ILL.,  Dec.  21,  1876. 
1.   C.  POWER,  ESQ.: 

Sir : — Having  given  your  book  entitled,  "History  of  the  Early  Settlers  of  Sanga- 
mon County,  Illinois,"  a  somewhat  careful  examination,  we  are  free  to  say  that  it  more 
than  fulfills  the  promises  made  by  you  in  undertaking  the  execution  of  the  work. 

X.  M.  BROADWELL,  J 

X.   W.   MATHKNY,  /•  Committee. 

PRESTON    BRECKENRIDGK,  \ 


ADDITIONS,  OMISSIONS  AND  COEEECTIONS. 


ABEL,  ROSWELL,  Sen., 
His  wife,  Mrs.  Elizabeth  Abel,  died  Aug. 
9,  1876,  in  Rochester,  111. 

ALEXANDER,    JOHN     S., 
See  his  name,  page  77.     His  son    WIL- 
LIAM, died  Aug.  21,  1876,  at  Williams- 
,  ville,  111.,  and  was   buried  at  Oak  Ridge 
vCemetery,  Springfield. 
N    AMOS,  Mrs.  SARAH      Seeker 
name,  page    Si.     The  name  of  her   son, 
Judge  Samuel  K.  Swingley,  is  there  erro- 
neous1'// spelled  Swinley. 

ANBERSON/Gen.  MOSES 
K..  See  iii.3  name,  page  82.  His  son, 
WILLIAM  WILKES,  was  married 
Aug.  14,  1876,  near  Hillsboro,  Fleming 
county,  Ky.,  to  Emma  L.  Jones,  a  native 
of  that  county.  He  continues  his  studies 
at  Transylvania  University,  Lexington, 
Kentucky. 

BEAM,  JACOB  H.  See  his  name, 
page  105.  He  died  Dec.  i,  1876. 

BENNETT,     Rev.     WIL- 
LIAM  T.     See  page  in.    His  daugh- 
.  ter,  REBIE   //.,    was    married  June  6, 
1876,  to   Geo.   W.   Freto,  and    resides  in 
Mechanicsburg,  Illinois. 

BRADLEY,  WILLIAM,  was 
born  in  1786,  in  Gieen  county,  Kv.,  and 
was  married  there  Sept.  20,  1810,  to  Eliz- 
abeth Crowder.  They  moved  to  Sanga- 
rnon  county,  arriving  September,  1831,  in 
what  is  now  Ball  township,  bringing 
eight  children,  and  had  three  born  there. 
Of  their  children,  the  eldest — 

MART,  born  Aug.  4,  1810,  in'  Green 
county,  Ky.,  was  married  there  to  Jacob 
Greenawalt.  See  his  name,  page  JJQ. 
He  died  and  she  was  married  Oct.  29,  1863, 
to  Michael  Fay,  as  his  third  wife.  He 
was  born  July  18,  1824,  i  n  Baden,  Ger- 
many, and  was  brought  by  his  parents  to 
Sangamon  county,  in  1831.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Fay  reside  in  Cotton  Hill  township,  south- 
west of  New  City,  Sangamon  county,  111. 
Mrs.  Fay  is  the  only  one  of  her  father's 
family  living  in  the  county. 

William  Bradley  died  Dec.   20,  1849,  in 


Sangamon  county.  His  widow  lives  with 
her  son,  Thomas,  near  Owaneco,  Chris- 
tian countv,  Illinois — 1874. 

BROWN,  ROBERT  T.,  See  his 
name,  page  150.  His  daughter,  MAR- 
GERY I.,  was  married  Sept.  6,  1876,  to 
Thomas  S.  Sawyer,  and  lives  near  Can- 
trail,  Illinois. 

BULLARD,  WESLEY.  See  his 
name,  page  158.  His  son,  JAMES  R., 
born  Oct.  10,  1846,  died  July"  16,  1876,  in 
Mechanicsburg,  Illinois.  His  son,  JOHN 
N.,  was  married  May  10,  1876,  in  Spring- 
field, to  Lillie  May  Pinckard,  daughter  of 
Thomas  Pinckard,  of  the  State  journal 
office.  . 

CALLERMAN,  E  VAN  H.,  page 
169.  He  died  September,  1876,  in  Wil- 
liamsville,  Illinois. 

CANTRALL,  JULIA,  was  married 
June  17,  1876,  in  Buffalo,  111.,  to  William 
Campbell. 

CANTRALL,  ZEBULON  P.,  died 
April  24,  1876,  at  Chesnut,  Illinois. 

CLAYTON,  JOHN  C.,  was 
born  March  10,  1810,  in  Caldwell  county, 
Ky.  He  came  to  Sangamon  county  in 
1829,  with  his  cousin  and  brother-in-law, 
John  S.  Clayton.  See  his  nume,  page 
205.  John  C.  Clayton  was  married  Jan. 
24,  1^30,  in  Beardstown,  Illinois,  to  Gin- 
sev  (jane)  Clack,  who  was  born  March  17, 
18*15,  in  Caldwell  county,  Ky.,  also.  They 
had  four  children  who  lived  to  maturity. 
Mr.  Clayton  was  a  soldier  in  a  company 
from  Saugamon  county,  in  the  Black 
Hawk  War  of  1832.  Early  in  1856,  he 
moved  his  family  to  the  vicinity  of  Urbana, 
Champaign  county,  Illinois.  Of  their 
four  children 

HUMBERT,  born  August  17,'  1839, 
in  Alton,  Madison  county,  111.,  brought 
up  in  Sangamon  county,  married  April 
14,  1867,  in  Decatur,  Illinois,  to  Marietta 
Fry.  They  reside  near  Chatham,  Sanga- 
mon county,  Illinois. 

ELI  AS  W.,  born  Oct.  6,  1843,  in  San- 
gamon county.  In  the  war  to  suppress 


SANGAMON    COUNTY. 


the  rebellion,  he  became  first  lieutenant  of 
Co.  13,  3d  Alo.  Cav.,  and  was  killed  in 
battle  at  Little  Rock,  Arkansas,  in  1864. 

JO1L\  HARD1N,  born  June  16, 
18-17,  in  Sangamon  county,  brought  up  in 
Champaign  county,  Illinois,  and  married 
at  Neosho,  Newton  county,  Missouri, 
May  7,  1875,  to  Justie  E.  W»  b'ster,  who 
was  born  Nov.  19,  1854,  at  Pleasant  .Hill, 
Cass  county,  Missouri.  She  is  a  graduate 
of  Central  Female  College,  Lexington, 
Missouri.  Since  1874,  J.  H.  Clayton  has 
been  a.  member  of  the  mercantile  firm  of 
Whitsitt  &  Clayton,  and  resides  at  Nevada, 
Missouri. 

ANNA  E.,  born  May  26,  1851,111  San- 
gamon  county,  brought  up  in  Cham- 
paign county,  Illinois,  arid  in  1868  went  to 
make  her  home  with  an  uncle  in  Missouri. 
She  was  married  Sept.  21,  1871,  to  C.  E. 
Whitsitt.  They  have  one  child,  LENA 
A.  He  is  a  member  of  the  mercantile 
firm  of  Whitsitt  &  Clayton,  and  resides  at 
Nevada,  Vernon  county,  Missouri. 

John  C.  Clayton  died  April  7,  1856, 
near  Urbana,  Illinois.  Mrs.  Clayton  was 
married  June  2,  1859,  to  William  Craig. 
She  died  Dec.  18,  1868. 

CONSTANT,  JONATHAN.  His 
son,  LEWIS  A.,  was  married  Dec.  17, 
1875,10  Augusta  J.  Elder,  and  lives  in 
Springfield,  Illinois. 

CONSTANT,  THOMAS,  was 
horn  August  14,  1776,  erroneously  printed 
i  796,  on  page  219. 

DARNEILLE,  JAMES  W.  See 
page  2-1.2.  He  moved  from  Chicago  to 
l>clvidere,  Illinois,  where  his  wife,  Mrs. 
Belle  Moulton  Darneille,  died  in  Novem- 
ber, .1876. 

CULLOM,  SHELBY  M.  Sec  his 
name,  page  298.  He  was  elected  Gov- 
ernor of  the  State  of  Illinois  Nov.  7,  1876, 
and  will  be  inaugurated  Jan.  3,  1877. 

D 1 XO  N ,  J  A  M.E  S  M .  See  page 
252.  His  daughter — 

HBS  TER  D.,  married  Thomas  Sto- 
ker. They  moved  from  Buffalo  to  the 
vicinity  of  Illiopolis,  Illinois.  His  son — 

RlCHAj.ll)  Dixon,  was  married  May 
6,  1874,  to  Elizabeth  E.  Logan.  They 
have  one  son,  and  reside  near  Mechanics- 
burg,  Sangamon  county,  Illinois. 

'DODDS,  F.  EW1NG.  See  page 
22j.  His  daughter,  Virginia  E.,  was 
married  Nov.  15,  1876,  to  Ninian  E.  Ken- 
ney. 


DRENNAN,  WILLIAM. 
Sec  his  name,  page  264.  He  ditd  Sept. 
28,  1876.  He  had  been  for  several  years, 
and  was  at  the  time  of  his  death,  the  oldest  1 
citi/en  of  Sangamon  county.  His  funeral 
sermon  was  preached  by  Rev.  J.  C.  Van 
Patten,  from  Psalms  23-4:  "Yea  though 
I  walk  through  the  valley  of  the  shadow 
ot  death,  I  will  fear  no  evil;  for  Thou  art 
with  me;  Thy  rod  and  Thy  staff  they 
comfort  me." 

ELK1N,  GARRETT.  See  page 
282.  His  son,  CHARLES  N.,  born 
April  12,  1846,  near  Springfield,  Illinois, 
enlisted  May,  1864,  for  one  hundred  days, 
in  Co.  K,  I33d  111.  inf.,  ai.<l  suved  full 
term.  In  June,  1865,  he  enlisted  for  one 
year  in  Co.  E,  I54th  111.  Inf.,  and  served  full 
ttrm.  He  was  married  May  16,  1867,  to 
Harriet  Regin,  who  died  Jan.  16,  1873. 
He  was  married  Sept.  i,  1874,  to  Ella 
Welsh.  He  is  conductor  on  the  Spring- 
field City  Railway,  and  lives  in  Spring- 
field, Illinois.  EDWARD  S.  was  with 
his  brother,  Charles  N.,  in  the  three 
months  service,  and  after  that  served  two 
years  in  Co.  A,  loth  111.  Cav.  He  mar- 
ried Mary  A.  Brown,  has  one  child,  LKK, 
and  lives  in  Springfield,  Illinois. 

ELLIOTT,  TEMPLE,  was  elected 
Nov.  7,  1876,  sheriff  of  Sangamon  county 
for  two  years.  See  page  285. 

FERGUSON,  Mrs.  LUCY. 
See  her  name,  page  293.  Her  son, 
WILLIAM  //.,  left  four  children,  J.  H., 
ELLEN,  WILLIAM  and  MARTHA, 
now  living  near  Decatur,  Illinois.  Her 
daughter,  LUCY  C.,  born  in  1809,  in 
Culpepper  county,  Virginia,  married  there 
in  1831  to  Rev.  Isaac  Haines,  of  the  M. 
E.  Church,  who  was  born  in  1806,  in 
Rappahannock  county,  Virginia.  They 
lived  a  short  time  in  North  Carolina,  re- 
turned to  Virginia,  and  from  there  to 
Sangamon  county  in  1836.  They  had 
two  children,  WILLIAM  C.,  born  Sept. 
21,  1832,  in  Wilmington,  North  Carolina, 
brought  up  in  Sangamon  county,  married 
Dec.  14,  1859,  in  Christian  county,  Illinois, 
to  Lucy  E.  Young,  who  was  born  Jan.  12, 
1840.  She  died  Dec.  16,  1865,  leaving 
one  child,  DORA  E.  William  C.  Haines 
was  married  Jan.  i,  1866,  in  Missouri,  to 
Margaret  Hancock,  who  was  born  in 
1846,  in  Henderson  county,  Kentucky. 
They  have  two  children,  LUCY  i:.  and 
WILLIAM  c..  jun.,  and  reside  near  Taylor- 


i8 


EAR  LI   SETTLERS   OF 


ville,  Illinois.  LUCY  A.  Haines,  born  in 
1835,  in  Albemarle  county,  Virginia, 
married  in  1854  in  Taylorville,  Illinois,  to 
J.  V.  Clark.  They  have  one  child,  MAKY 
.\.  In  1859  they  moved  to  Charleston, 
Missouri,  and  now  reside  in  Mississippi 
county,  opposite  Cairo,  Illinois.  Rev. 
Isaac  Haines  died  in  1838,  near  Rochester, 
Sangamon  county,  Illinois,  and  Mrs.  Lucy 
C.  Haines  died  August,  1850,  near  Tay- 
lorville, Illinois.  PHILIP  C.  Ferguson's 
son,  EZEKIEL,  horn  August  5,  1839,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  January,  1869, 
to  Htster  Kelly.  They  have  two  chil- 
dren, iVTLip  c.  and  HIRAM  K.,  and  live 
near  Tavlor\  ille,  Illinois,  Dr.  Philip  C. 
Ferguson  died  Feb.  28,  1864.  His  widow 
and  four  children,  the  eldest  of  whom  is 
THOMAS  J.,  reside  near  Wathena, 
Doniphan  countv,  Kansas. 

FORTU'N  E,  THOMAS  E. 
S-ee  his  name,  page  306.  His  daughter, 
ELIZABETH,  J.  B.,  married  Samuel 
Odor  Butts,  who  was  born  in  February, 
1809,  and  died  August  26,  1840*  leaving 
three  children.  JULIA  F.  was  married 
in  1852  to  Isaac  Allen,  have  four  children, 

JESSIE,     BEXJA.MIX,      CHARLES    and     HKR- 

MAN,  and  live  in  Jacksonville,  Illinois. 
ANNA  E.  married  Josiah  Burrows,  have 
three  living  children,  ALBERT  s.,  E.  LEE, 
and  HELEN  G.,  and  live  near  Jacksonville, 
Illinois.  THOMAS  S.  lives  in  Colorado,. 
Mrs.  E.  J.  B.  Butts  married  Barnabas  Bar- 
rows. They  had  one  child,  CHARLES, 
born  Jan.  3,  1854,  near  Jacksonville.  Bar- 
nabas Burrows  died  May  18,  1876,  and  his 
widow  and  son  reside  near  Jacksonville, 
Illinois. 

POSTER,     JOHN    S.     See    page 
His    wife's    maiden     name   is   erro- 
neously spelled.       It   should   be    Eliza  A. 
Corson. 

FOSTER,  THOS.  VEATCH, 
was  born  Sept.  25,  1788,  in  Harrison  coun- 
tv, Kentucky.  He  was  a  brother  to  Ivins 
Foster.  See  pzg'e  jog.  Thomas  V.  Fos^ 
ter  was  twice  married  and  had  four  chil- 
dren who  lived  to  maturity  bv  each 
marriage.  He  moved  to  Sangamon 
county,  Illinois,  in  1826,  and  settled 
seven  miles  southvyest  of  Springfield, 
where  he  died  of  cholera  November  15, 
1832.  His  youngest  child  by  the  first 
marriage,  THOMAS  VEA  TCH  FOS- 
TER,  Jnn.,  was  born  July  29,  1821,  in 
Harrison  county,  Kentucky,  was  married 


June  24,  1847,  in  Sangamon  county,  to 
Polly  E.,  daughter  of  Augustine  E.  Fos- 
ter, a  younger  brother  of  Ivins  Foster. 
Two  years  later  Thomas  V.  Foster,  Jun., 
and  wife  moved  to  the  vicinity  of  Elkhart, 
Logan  county,  Illinois.  They  had  five 
children.  Their  second  child,  WILLIAM 
A.  Foster,  born  June  27, 1849,  in  Sangamon 
county,  Illinois,  five  miles  west  of 
Chatham,  and  brought  up  in  Logan  coun- 
ty. He  took  a  three  years  literary  course 
in  the  Illinois  Weslevan  University  at 
Bloomington,  and  graduated  Feb.  10,  1876, 
at  the,  Hahnemann  Medical  College, 
Chicago.  He  is  now — December,  1876 — 
a  druggist  in  Springfield,  Illinois. 

FOUTCH,  JOHN,  was  elected  Nov. 
7,  1876,  to  represent  Sangamon  county 
for  two  years  in  the  Legislature  of  Illinois. 
He  resides  at  New  Berlin.  Page  JTO. 

GALT,  THOMAS,  was  born 
Sept.  12,  1805,  in  Lancaster  county,  Penn- 
sylvania. He  received  his  literary  educa- 
tion at  Jefferson  college,  Canonsburg, 
Penn.,  and  his  theological  education  at  the 
Presbyterian  Theological  Seminary  at 
Allegheny  City,  Penn.  He  was  licensed 
to  preach  June  18,  1834,  by  the  Presbytery 
of  Ohio.  He  was  married  Oct.  6,  1834,  in 
Washington  county,  Penn.,  to  Sarah 
Happer,  who  was  born  in  that  county 
Sept.  n,  1809.  They  moved  west  in  the 
spring  of  1835,  anf^  a'ter  spending  a  few 
months  in  Peoria,  came  to  Springfield  in 
the  autumn  of  that  year.  Rev.  Dr.  John 
G.  Bergen  introduced  Rev.  Mr.  Gait  to 
the  Farmington  Presbyterian  church,  of 
which  he  soon  after  became  pastor.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Gait  had  four  living  children, 
namely — 

JAMES  J.,  born  Sept.  28,  1835,  in 
Sangamon  county,  was  married  October, 
1857,  to  Mary  A.  Brown.  They  have 
eight  children,  and  live  near  Palmyra, 
Nebraska. 

JOHN,  born  Nov.  30,  1838,  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  married  Feb.  i:,  1862,  to 
Margaret  A.  Epler,  who  was  born  July 
30,  1841,  in  Morgan  countv,  Illinois.  They 
had  six  children,  MARTIN  E.  died 
young,  WILLIAM  A.,  CHARLES  E., 
ANNABEL,  CARRIE  and  LILLIE 
live  with  their  parents.  John  Gait  and 
family  resides  at  the  family  homestead 
where  his  parents  settled  in  1835,  and 
where  he  wes  born.  It  is  one  mile  east  of 
Farmingdale,  Sangamon  county,  Illinois. 


SANGAMON  COUNTY. 


MARTIN  H.,  born  Sept.  9,  1841,111 
Sangamon  county,  married  Nov.  19,  1865, 
to  Clara  Spillman.  They  have  three 
living  children,  and  live  near  Manti,  Fre- 
mont county,  Iowa. 

THOMAS,  Jun.,  born  July  10,  1844, 
in  Sangamon  county.  He  was  married 
August,  1869,  at  Otisville,  New  York,  to 
Jennie  McFarlane.  They  have  three 
children.  Rev.  Thomas  Gait,  Jun.,  is 
pastor  of  the  First  Prcsbvterian  church  of 
Aurora,  Illinois,  and  resides  there. 

Mrs.  Sarah  Gait  died  Jan.  25, 1849,  near 
Farmingdale,  and  Rev.  Thomas  Gait, 
Sen,,  married  Margaret  S.  Moore.  They 
had  one  living  child. 

ELIHU  L.,  born  Feb.  13,  1850,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  April  9,  1872, 
in  Petersburg,  Illinois,  to  Lou  Bergen. 
They  have  one  child,  and  reside  in  Peters- 
burg. 

Rev.  Thomas  Gait,  Sen.,  died  Sept.  12, 
1857,  near  Farmingdale,  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, Illinois.  Mrs.  Margaret  S.  Gait  re- 
sides in  Petersburg,  Menard  county,  111. 

GARRETSON,  THOMAS  P. 
See  his  name,  page  324.  He  was  born 
Sept.  18,  1818,  in  Anne  Arundel  county, 
Maryland,  came  in  1839  to  Sangamon 
countv,  was  married  July  2,  1845,  'n 
Menard  county,  Illinois,  to  Martha  M. 
Harrison,  a  native  of  Kentucky.  They 
had  two  children,  both  of  whom  died  in 
infancy,  and  Mrs.  Garretson  died  April 
26,  1848,  in  Springfield.  He  was  married 
Feb.  22,  1854,  in  Menard  county  to  Phebe 
Campbell,  who  was  born  April  26,  1831, 
in  Butler  county,  Ohio.  They  had  ten 
children.  The  three  eldest,  VINCENT, 
AMANDA  and  ALBERT  died  of  scar- 
let fever  from  the  241)1  to  the  28th  of 
September,  1858.  The  other  seven, 
COR  Ni.  LI  US,  BEAUREGARD, 
L  O  U  R  E  N  A  M  A  Y,  J  A  M  E  S  T., 
SARAH  J.,  WILLIAM  L.  and  AN- 
N  ETTA,  live  with  their  parents. 
Thomas  P.  Garretson  is  a  carpenter  by 
trade,  and  was  working  within  six  feet  of 
Winchester  House,  on  the  steeple  of  the 
First  Presbyterian  church  in  Springfield, 
in  1842,  when  Mr.  House  was  thrown 
from  the  steeple  by  lightning  and  killed. 
Mr.  Garretson  and  family  reside  ten  miles 
west  of  Lincoln,  Logan  county,  Illinois. 

GREENING,  ZACHAR?  T. 
See  page  Jjp.  His  wife,  Mrs.  Marv 
Greening,  died  in  February,  1876. 


HAINES,  CHRISTOPHER. 
His  son,  FRANCIS  A.,  was  born  March 
22,  1832,  in  Sangamon  county.  In  1852 
he  went  overland  to  the  Pacific  coast,  and 
in  1856  and  '7  was  a  volunteer  soldier 
against  the  Indians  in  the  north  of  Oregon. 
In  November,  1858,  he  started  for  Illinois, 
arriving  in  Springfield  Januarv  ist,  and 
was  married  in  Ihireau  county  Jan.  17, 
18:59,  to  Zerelda'G.  Britt.  They  had  two 
children,  ELLA  BELLE  and  MINNIE, 
both  died  young.  Mr.  Haines  enlisted 
Jan.  13,  1864,  in  Co.  C,  2cl  111.  Artillery, 
served  to  the  end  of  the  rebellion,  and 
was  mustered  out  with  the  regiment  Aug. 
3,  1865.  He  and  his  wife  reside  at  New 
City,  Sangamon  county,  Illinois. 

HAND,  ELI  AS,  was  born  about 
1770,111  Cape  May  county,  New  Jersey. 
He  was  married  there  to  Miss  Say  re. 
They  had  four  children  in  New  Jersey, 
and  moved  to  Sangamon  county,,  arriving 
May  30,  1838,  in  what  is  now  Gardner 
township.  Of  their  children — 

DANIEL  died,  aged  thirty  years. 

MARIA  married  John  Robinson,  and 
lives  in  Minnesota. 

JESSE  married  Mary  Hagin,  and 
lives  in  New  Jersey. 

ELIZABETH,\>Q\n  in  New  Jersey, 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  Franklin 
Bradley.  They  had  one  son,  FRANK, 
who  is  a  minister  in  the  M.  E.  Church, 
and  in  1873  lived  in  Davisville,  Michigan. 
Franklin  Bradley  died  Sept.  14,  1845,  an<^ 
his  widow  married  John  G.  Ransom.  See 
his  name. 

Elias  Hand  died  November,  1856,  and 
his  widow  died  in  1869,  aged  eighty-seven 
years. 

HARBUR,  LEV  I.  See  page 
354.  He  died  Nov.  27,  1876. 

HARDIN,  JAMES  T.  Page 
J56.  His  son,  Benjamin,  was  married 
August  2,  1876. 

HARROWER,  WILLIAM. 
Page  j6o.  His  daughter,  A  GA'£S  //., 
widow  of  Dr.  James  B.  Smith,  died  Xov. 
5,  1876,  in  Springfield,  Illinois. 

HEDRICK,  ALFRED,  was 
born  near  Greenville,  Tennessee,  came 
with  his  father,  Charles  Hedrick,  to  San- 
gamon county  among  the  early  settlers. 
Alfred  Hedrick  lives  in  Taylorville,  111., 
Of  his  two  sons — 

\\~1I.LIAM,  born  Jan.  25,  1844,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  April  8,  1865, 


20 


EARLY  SETTLERS 


o  Martha  M.  Kimball,  who  was  born  . 
Jan.  1 8,  1844,  in  Vermont.  They  now — 
^874 — have  four  children,  MARION  C., 
NATHAN  K.,  ALFRED  C.,  and 
ROBERT  A.,  and  live  four  miles  south 
of  Rochester,  Illinois. 

HENRT  R.,  born  Feb.  25,  1848,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Dec.  30,  1869, 
to  Laura  J.  Johnson,  has  two  children 
and  lives  four  miles  south  of  Rochester, 
Illinois. 

HEDRICK,  JONATHAN, 
born  in  Kentucky,  and  married  there  to 
Julian  Holland,  a  native  of  Maryland. 
They  had  two  children  in  Fleming 
county,  Ky.,  and  moved  to  Sangamon 
county,  Illinois,  arriving  in  the  fall  of 
1830,  at  Buffalo  Hart  grove,  thence  to 
what  is  now  Clear  Lake  township,  where 
they  had  four  children.  Of  their  six  chil- 
dren— 

REBECCA,  born  Oct.  8,  1828  in 
Fleming  county,  Ky.,  was  married  Oct. 
16,  1847,  to  Joshua  Cantrall.  See  his 
name. 

ROSETTA,  born  in  Fleming  county, 
Kv.,  married  in  Sangamon  county  to  Ab- 
ner  Clark.  She  died,  leaving  a  son, 
WILLIAM  Clark. 

BARTON,  died,  aged  twenty-five 
years. 

NARCISSA,  married  McDonald  Can- 
trail.     See  his  name.  • 
FLEMING,  died  aged  fifteen  years. 
MUNSON,  iiorn  in  Sangamon  county, 
enlisted  in  1862,  for  three  years  in  Co.  C, 
••h   111.   Inf.,  and  died  at  Vicksburg,  a 
short  time  after  it  was  captured  in  1863. 

Jonathan  Hedrick  and  wife  reside  in 
Athens,  Illinois. 

HI  C  KM  AN,  GEORGE  T.  His 
son,  WILLIAM  H.,  enlisted  Aug.  5, 
1862,  in  Co.  B,  i3Oth  111.  Inf.,  and  died 
Jan.  19,  1863.  Another  son,  JAMES 
F.,  married  Sophia  C.  Burns,  and  lives 
near  Buffalo  Hart,  Sangamon  county,  Illi- 
nois— 1876. 

HOUGH.TON,  ALVIN,  born 
June  12,  1810,  in  Madison,  Somerset 
county,  Maine,  was  married  Sept.  6,  1835, 
at  Skowhegan  Falls,  Maine,  to  Betsy 
Hilton,  who  was  born  June  17,  1815,  at 
Anson,  Maine.  Alvin  Houghton  came 
to  S  ringfielcl,  Illinois.,  in  June,  1837,  and 
brought  his  wife  in  the  spring  of  1840. 
He  was  a  carpenter  by  trade,  and  worked 
at  that  business  for  about  twelve  years, 


after  which  he  kept  a  dairy  until  1851, 
when  he  moved  twenty  miles  east  of 
Springfield,  on  a  farm,  and  remained  there 
until  the  fall  of  1869,  and  then  moved  to 
Washington  county,  Kansas. 

Alvin  Houghton  and  wife  had  five  chil- 
dren— 

AMEL1  A,  died  in  her  second  year. 

ERVIN,  O.,  born  Dec.  14,  1841,  in 
Springfield,  111.,  was  married  Sept.  13, 
1866,  in  Sangamon  county  to  Sarah  Jane 
Wall,  who  was  born  Feb.  6,  1842,  in 
Allegany.  county,  Pennsylvania.  They 
have  two  children,  LAURA  E.  and 
LILLIAN,  and  live  four  and  a  half  miles 
northeast  of  Illiopolis,  Illinois. 

AUSTIN  E\,   born  May  29,  1844,  in 
Illinois.     Lives  with  his  parents. 
>  CLIMENA  B.,   died    in    her    second 
year. 

A  VILLIA  B.,  born  Jan.  i,  1853,  lives 
with  her  parents,  near  Butler,  Washing- 
ton county,  Kansas. 

HUDSON,  JOHN.  See  his 
name,  page  385.  His  son,  JOHN  M., 
died  Oct.  12,  1876.  His  son,  ANDRE  W 
J.,  having  been  married  fourteen  years, 
has  -an  only  child,  MARGARET  MA- 
RIA, born  Feb.  :i,  1876. 

ILES,  ELIJAH,  Sen.  His  wife, 
Mrs.  Melinda  lies,  died  in  May,  1866. 

INSLEE,  JOSEPH.    His  son— 

NEWTON  JASPER,  born  Dec. 
31,  1832,  in  Sangamon  county,  married 
May  16,  1852,  to  Eliza  A.  Keys.  They 
had  five  children.  ANN  E.,  died  in  her 
second  year.  EMMA  J.,  MARY  L., 
MELISSA  and  JOSEPH  W.;  the  four 
latter  live  with  their  parents  near  Cotton 
Hill  postoffice,  Sangamon  county,  111. 

JAYNE,  Dr.  GERSHOM, 
page  406.  His  daughter,  JULIA  M., 
married  Hon.  Lyman  Trumbull.  Their 
son,  Walter  Trumbull,  was  married  Sept. 
27,  1876,  in  Chicago,  to  Hannah  M.  Sla- 
ter. 

JOHNSTON,  ADAM,  was 
born  April  14,  1816,  in  Glasgow,  Scotland. 
Wh  'n  he  was  four  days  old  his  parents 
embarked  on  bo  »rd  a  vessel,  and  after  a 
short  stay  at  Belfast,  Ireland,  sail-,  d  for 
America.  Ian  ling  during  the  summ  r  of 
that  year  in  Philad  Iphia,  Prim.  I  e  was 
brought  up  in  that  city  and  learned  the 
busin  ss  of  a  marble  mason.  During  that 
time  he  assist'  d  in  building  Girard  Col- 
lege. He  went  in  1837,  to  Jefferson  city, 


SAN  GAM  ON  COUNT*. 


21 


Missouri,  and  after  filling  a  contract  on 
the  State  House,  then  in  course  of  con- 
struction there,  he  came  to  Springfield,  in 
the  spring  of  1839,  and  worked  as  a  jour- 
neyman on  the  State  House  of  Illinois. 
Mr.  Johnson  was  married  July  3,  1846  to 
Barbara  A.  Wolgamot.  He  has  been 
continuously  and  successfully  in  business 
in  Springfield,  nearly  thirty-eight  years. 
Adam  Johnson  and  wife  now — Decem- 
ber, 1876 — reside  in  Springfield,  Illinois. 

JOHNSON,  LUE.  See  ^  his 
name,  page  413.  His  son,  ORSON  D., 
born  April  23,  1827,  in  Vermont,  was 
married  in  Rochester,  Sangamon  county, 
111.,  to  Lydia  Eggleston.  They  have  four 
living  children,  ELLEN,  born  Sept.  16, 
1848,  in  Rochester,  was  married  in  Mount 
Pulaski,  April  16,  1865  to  Aaron  G. 
Given,  and  have  four  children,  FLORA, 
i.i  K,  GEORGE,  and  MIXDRED,  and  live  in 
Mt.  Pulaski,  Illinois.  OLLIE,  born 
Aug.  6,  1851,  in  Rochester,  111.,  was  mar- 
ried in  Mt.  Pulaski,  Jan.  6, 1868,  to  Walter 
McGraw,  and  died  April  30,  1874,  leaving 
one  child,  RALPH.  BET  TIE,  born  July 
6,  1858,.  and  WILLIAM,  born  Dec.  11, 
1861,  both  in  Mt.  Pulaski.  Orson,  D. 
Johnson  and  family,  live  in  Mt.  Pulaski, 
Logan  county,  Illinois. 

JONES,  HASK1NS,  was  born 
in  Maryland,  and  married  in  JtfFerson 
county,  Term.,  to  Lucy  Tolley,  and  came 
to  Sangamon  county,  in  1835,  settling  in 
Sand  Prairie,  five  miks  east  of  Roches- 
ter. Th<  y  had  thirteen  children — 

JOHN  F.,  married  Lucinda  Pike 
and  died,  leaving  one  child,  CHARLES 
T. 

ELIZABETH,  married  John  L. 
Firey.  See  his  name. 

DA  VI D  C  ,  married  Ann  Griffith  and 
liv»  s  mar  Breckenridge,  111. 

NANCY,  married  James  Campbell, 
and  lives  in  Edinburg,  111. 

MART  P.,  married  John  B.  Eaton. 
See  his  name. 

CARTER  T.,  born  Aug.  17,  1834,  in 
Jefferson  county,  Tenn.,  married  in  San- 
gamon county,  April  23,  1863,  to  Theiv- 
saTalb.rr,  has  four  childr  n,  FANNY, 
LUCY,  BETTY  and  CARTER  T., 
Jun.,  and  lives  four  milts  south  of  Roches- 
ter, Illinois. 

HASK1NS,  Jun.,  married  Lettie 
Swe<  t,  who  died,  and  he  married  Again, 
and  lives  near  Breckenridge,  Illinois! 


LUCY  J.,  married  John  H.  Martin, 
and  lives  near  Taylorville,  Illinois. 

PR  ISC  ILL  A,  married  Thomas 
Stokes.  See  his  name.  He  died  and  she 
married  James  Lay,  and  lives  in  Kansas. 

Haskins  Jones  died  in  1842,  and  his 
widow  died  April,  1873,  he  in  Sangamon, 
and  she  in  Christian  county,  Illinois. 

KENNET,  NINIAN  E.     See  page 

425.  He   was    married  Nov.    15,  1876,10 
Virginia  E.  Dodds,  daughter  of  F.  Evving 
Dodds.     See  his  name,  page  255. 

KEYS,   ISAAC,    Jim..     See  puge 

426.  His  son,  EDWARD  D.,   was  mar- 
ried   Oct.    10,    1876,    to    Lulie     Todd,    in 
Springfield,  Illinois.     His  daughter,   AN- 
NIE E.,  was    married    Dec.    7,    1876,   in 
Springfield,  to  Alvin  B.  Hoblet,  of  Pekin, 
111.    Mr.  Hoblet  is  cashier  of  the  Farmers' 
National  Bank  of  that  city. 

KEYES,  CHARLES  A.     See  page 

427.  His  infant  daughter,  ELIZABETH  M., 
died  July  18,   1876. 

LAMB,  SUSAN  M.  See  page  435: 
Her  daughter,  Hannah  M.  Slater,  was 
married  Sept.  27,  1876,  in  Chicago,  to 
Walter  Trumbull. 

LANTERMAN,  PEJ^ER.  Page 
443.  He  died  Oct.  9,  1876,  near  Elkhart, 
Illinois. 

LINCOLN,  ABRAHAM.  Page 
456.  An  attempt  was  made  on  the  night 
alter  the  Presidential  election,  Nov.  7, 
1876^0  steal  his  body  from  the  sarcophagus, 
in  the  National  Lincoln  Monument.  The 
thieves  were  detected  in  the  act  but 
escaped.  Two  nit  n  are  under  arrest. 
charged  with  the  crime,  and  are  now — 
December,  1876 — in  jail  at  Springfield, 
awaiting  trial.  Their  reputed  object  was 
to  secure  a  large  reward  in  money,  and  the 
release  of  an  engraver,  who  is  serving  a 
ten  y<ars  term  in.  the  Illinois  Penitentiary, 
.for  engraving  and  issuing  counterfeit 
money. 

LINDSAY,  JOHN,  was  born  in 
1773  at  Fort  Pitt,  now  Pittsburgh,  Penn. 
He  was  taken  by  his  parents  to  Fleming 
county,  Kentucky.  He  was  married  there 
in  the  year  1800  to  Mary  Glass.  She  died 
January,  1811,  leaving  five  children,  and 
Mr.  Lindsay  was  married  there  in  Sep- 
tember, 1811.  They  had  one  child  in 
Kentucky,  and  moved  in  181710  St.  Clair 
county,  Illinois,  where  they  had  one  child, 
and  moved  to  what  is  now  Sangamon 
county  in  1819,  settling  in  what  is  now  the 


EARL?  SE'lTLBRS  OF 


vvestern  part  of  Springfield.     Of  his  chil- 
li-en— 

REBECCA,  born  September,  1802, 
in  Kentucky,  marriecl  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty to  Andrew  Orr,  and  died  within  one 
year. 

POLLY,  born  September,  1804,  in 
Kentucky,  married  James  Smith,  and  died 
there,  leaving  one  child,  AMANDA. 

DA  VID  H.,  born  February,  1807,  in 
Fleming  county,  Kentucky,  married  in 
1832,  in  Sangamon  county  to  Mary  A. 
Dorrance.  They  had  four  children, 
MAR\  S.,  born  March,  1833,  died  Jan. 
6,  1869,  in  Shelby  county,  Illinois.  MAR- 
GARET A.,  born  March,  1836,  married 
B.  F.  Sinard.  She  died,  leaving  a  son, 
MILTON  siiVARD,  wholives  in  Mt.  Auburn, 
Illinois.  fMARQUIS  D.,  born  March 
23,  1839,  enlisted  August  9,  1861,  for  three 
years,  in  Co.  B,  3Oth  111.  Inf.,  served  full 
term,  and  was  honorably  discharged  Aug. 
27,  1864.  He  was  married  in  Sangamon 
county  Oct.  31,  1866,  to  Margaret  Kinney, 
who  was  born  April  6, 1839,  in  Cazenovia, 
New  York.  They  had  two  children. 
LOGAN  L.  lives  with  his  parents.  IDA 
MAY  died  in  her  fourth  year.  M.  D, 
Lindsay  lives  near  Loami,  Illinois. 
MARTHA,  born  March,  1842,  married 
Daniel  Young.  Mrs.  Mary  A.  Lindsay 
died  in  1846,  while  her  husband  was  in 
Mexico.  David  H.  Lindsay  was  a  soldiei 
in  the  4th  111.  Inf.,  under  Colonel  E.  D. 
Baker.  He  served  one  year  from  June, 
1846,  returned  home  and  died  in  1847,  °* 

:  in  the  army. 

ORGE  G.,  born  November,  1808, 
in  Kentucky,  married  in  Sangamon  county 
to  Margaret  Ward,  and  died  there,  leaving 
one  child,  JAMES. 

AMANDA  L.,  born  December,  1810, 
in  Kentucky,  married  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty to  John  Morgan,  and  died,  leaving  four 
children,  ELIZABETH,  SALLY  ANN, 
JOHN  W.  and  SOPHIA  S. 

Bv  the  second  wife: 

JOHN  P.,  born  July,  1814,  in  Flem- 
ing county,  Kentucky,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county  in  1839,10  Virginia  B.  Young. 
They  had  six  children  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty. MARY  J.,  bom  July  22,  1840,  mar- 
ried Seth  Moore,  and  lives  in  Lawndale, 
Illinois.  MELISSA  G.,  born.  Dec.  23, 
1841,  married  Charlie  E.  Morton,  and 
lives  near  Centerville,  Iowa.  James  N., 
born  July  30,  1842,  is  unmarried,  and  lives 


in  Centerville,  Iowa.  ELIZABETH, 
born  Feb.  i  ^,  1846,  died  aged  seven  years. 
ELIZA  ANN,  born  Sept.  15,  1848,"  mar- 
ried William  A.  Smith,  and  lives  in  Col- 
fax  county,  Nebraska.  JOHN  W.,  born 
March  22,  1850,  is  unmarried,  and  lives  in 
Russell  county,  Kansas.  Mrs.  Virginia 
B.  Lindsay  died  May  2,  1850,  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  and  J.  P.  Lindsay  married 
Eliza  A.  McCandless,  and  in  1853  moved 
to  Logan  county,  where  they  had  five 
living  children,  SOPHIA  BELLE,  FLO- 
RENCE P.,  ALMA  M.,  CHARLES 
E.  and  WINNIE  M.  John  P.Lindsay 
resides  near  Lincoln,  Logan  county,  111. 

ABRAHAM  L.,  born  April  to,  1819, 
in  St.  Clair  county,  Illinois,  was  married 
in  Sangamon  county  to  Ann  Wise.  They 
have  seven  living  children.  JOHN  D.  is 
married  and  lives  in  Ottawa,  Kansas. 
NANCY  J.  married  B.  H.  Lake  and 
and  lives  in  Mount  Pulaski,  Illinois. 
SOPHIA  MAY,  marrried  N.  Elkin,  and 
lives  near  Elkhart,  Illinois.  WILLIAM 
H.,  EVA  E.,  GEORGE  B.  and  HAR- 
RIET C.  live  near  Elkhart,  Logan  coun- 
ty, Illinois.  Mrs.  Ann  Lindsav  died  Jan- 
uary, 1865,  near  Elkhart,  Illinois,  and 
Abram  L.  Lindsay  now — 1876 — lives  in 
Russell  county,  Kansas. 

LORD,  JOSEPH  T.,  was  an 
earlv  settler  of  Sangamon  county.  His 
son,"  WILLIAM  N.  Lord,  lives  near 
Breckenridge,  Sangamon  county,  Illinois. 

MCCLELLAND,  JOHN.   His  son, 

Dr.  Robert  McClelland,  was  married 
Sept.  8,  1874,  to  Susan  Turley,  near  Wil- 
liamsville,  Illinois. 

McGINNIS,  JOHN  J,  See  his 
name,  page  499.  His  widow,  Mrs.  Eliza- 
beth McGinnis,  was  married  in  December, 
1874,  to  Y.  B.  Clark,  and  lives  at  Clarks- 
dale,  Christian  county,  Illinois. 

McGRAW,  ABSOLOM  D., 
See  his  name,  page  501.  He  died  in  the 
autumn  of  1876  near  Springfield,  Illinois. 

MeKINNIE,  WILLIAM  A. 
'Page  504.  His  wife,  Mrs.  Emma  Mc- 
Kinnie,  died  Nov.  22,  1876. 

McMURltT,  ARTHUR  B.  His 
daughter,  MARTHA  J.,  marriecl  Robert 
Elder,  and  live  near  Girard,  Crawford 
county,  Kansas.  His  son,  LEWIS  S., 
lives  near  Girard,  Crawford  county,  Kan. 

McMURR  T,  L  O  GAN.  His  daughter, 
Mary  E.,  married  Hiram  F.  Robhins,  who 
was  born  in  Warren  county,  Pennsylvania, 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


came  to  Ogle  county,  Illinois,  enlisted 
M-irch,  1862,  in  Co.  A,  I2th  111.  Cav.,  for 
three  years,  and  was  honorably  discharged 
March.  186^,  went  to  Maple  Grove,  Kan- 
sas, in  May,  1866,  and  was  married  there 
[uly  26.  1868. 

NUCKOLLS,  JOHN.  See  his 
name,  page  548.  His  widow,  Mrs.  Ann 
Nuckolls,  died  Sept.  30,  1876,  aged  nearly 
ninety  years. 

ORR,  ROBERT,  was  born  in 
Wythe  county,  Virginia,  and  was  there 
married  to  Sarah  Messersmith.  They 
moved  to  Ohio  in  1817,  to  Connersville, 
Indiana,  in  1818,  and  to  Springfield,  Illi- 
nois, in  1826.  They  had  ten  children — 

AX  DREW,  M'E  LINDA;  ALEX- 
AX  HER  S.  married  Eliza  J.  Wallace, 
and  lives  near  Auburn,  Illinois.  ELIZ.A- 
BETH,  NANCY  J.;  HIRAM  mar- 
ried Savilla  Ranch,  and  both  died. 
ROBERT,  MARGARET;  SA)[- 
UEL  married  Jane  Laswell,  and  lives 
near  Auburn,  Illinois. 

Robert  Orr  and  his  wife  both  died  near 
Auburn,  Sangamon  county,  Illinois. 

POWER,  GEORGE.  See  his 
name,  page  578.  He  was  awarded  the 
premium  of  a  gold  headed  cane  for  the 
most  skillful  feat  of  horseback  riding,  by 
an  elderly  gentleman,  at  thp  fair  of  the 
Sangamon  county  Agricultural  Society, 
in  September,  1876.  He  was  in  his' 
seventy-ninth  year,  and  the  eldest  of  five 
competitors.  The  cane  was  presented  in 
presence  of  the  largest  number  of  visitors 
during  the  fair,  by  the  president  of  the 
society,  ex-Governor  John  M.  Palmer. 

PRICKETT,  Mrs.  CHAR- 
LOTTE G.  See  page  581.  She  died 
Nov.  2,  1876,  in  Springfield. 

PURSELL,  WILLIAM.  See 
Jiis  name,  page  jpo.  His  daughter, 
ALICE  BELLE,  was  married  Nov.  2, 
1876,  to  William  T.  Kincaid,  near  Farm- 
ingdale,  Sangamon  county,  Illinois. 

RIDGELY,  CHARLES,  was  born 
Jan.  17,  1836,  in  Springfield,  Illinois.  He 
is  the  eldest  son  of  N.  H.  Ridgely — page 
616 — by  his  second  witV,  who  was  the 
daughter  of  Jonathan  Huntington,  and 
was  born  in  Boston,  Mass.  Her  brother, 
Hon.  George  L.  Huntington,  deceased, 
was  mayor  of  Springfield  in  1 86 1-2. 
Charles  Ridgely  entered  the  preparatory 
department  of  Illinois  College  at  Jack- 
sonville, in  October, 


March,  1852,  withdrew  from  the  col- 
lege to  accept  a  position  in  Clark's  Ex- 
change Bank,  which  was  organized  at  that 
time  in  Springfield  by  his  father  in  con- 
nection with  some  eastern  capitalists. 
June  22,  1853,  he  became  cashier  of  the 
bank,  which  position  he  occupied  until  it 
was  wound  up,  March  29,  1855.  His 
father,  N.  H.  Ridgely,  succeeded  to  the 
business  of  Clark's  bank,  as  a  private 
banker.  Charles  took  the  place  of  cashier 
with  him,  where  he  continued  until  April 
i,  1859,  when  he  was  admitted  into  part- 
nership with  his  father  in  the  banking  bus- 
iness; the  new  firm  name  being  N.  II. 
Ridgelf  &  Co.  Charles'  brother,  William 
was  admitted  as  a  member  of  the  firm 
April  i,  1864,  and  its  business  continued 
until  Oct.  i,  1866,  when  it  was^  merged 
into  theRidgtly  National  Bank.  Chas. 
Ridgely  became  vice  president  at  the 
organization,  and  now — December,  1876 
— continues  to  hold  that  position.  In 
1871,  he  was  mainly  instrumental  in  or- 
ganizing the  Springfield  Iron  Company, 
and  building  the  Rolling  Mill  at  Spring- 
field. He  bee  'me,  and  continues  to  be  the 
President  of  that  company.  As  a  compli- 
ment to  the  President  of  the  company,  the 
new  postofrice  at  the  mills  bears  the  name 
of  Ridgely.  Charles  Ridgely  is  also  a 
member  of  the  firm  of  Beard,  Hickox  & 
Co.,  proprietors  of  the  North  Coal  Shaft. 
In  1870  he  was  honored  with  the  nomina- 
tion of  the  Democratic  party  as  candidate 
for  the  office  t>f  state  treasurer  of  Illi- 
nois, but  the  party  being  in  the  minor- 
ity, he,  in  common  with  the  entire  ticket, 
was  defeated.  He  has  served  two  terms 
as  a  member  of  the  Board  of  Education  of 
the  city  of  Springfield.  He  was  married 
June  10,  1857,  to  Jane  M.,  youngest 
daughter  of  James  W.  Barret.  She 
was  born  in  Island  Grove,  Sangamon 
county.  They  have  four  children ;  WIL- 
LIAM BARRET,  E  DWARD, 
FRANKLIN  and  MARY  LEE.  Chas. 
Ridgely,  wife  and  children  reside  in 
Springfield,  111. 

SHORT,  CALEB.  His  grandson, 
JOHN*  K.,  died  Feb.  24,  1876,  in  Nodaway 
county,  Missouri. 

SMITH,  DEWITT  C.,  was  elected 
Nov.  7,  1876,  to  represent  Sangamon 
county  two  years  in  the  Legislature  of  Illi- 
nois. He  resides  at  Bates. 


SANGAMON  COUNT?. 


SMITH,,  GEROGE  M.  See 
his  name,  page  666.  His  son,  JACOB 
H.,  was  marrit  d,  not  in  Hennepin,  but  in 
Washington,  Tazewell  county,  Illinois,  to 
Joanna  Higgins,  who  was  born  Oct.  26, 
1819,  in  Cumberland  county,  Ken  ucky. 
They  have  eight  children,  namely, 
GEORGE  D.,  was  married  Sept.  3,  1874, 
in  Missouri,  to  Mattie  Force,  and  now 
lives  in  Hope,  Hempstead  county,  Ark. 
MARY  J.  was  married  June  21,  1866,  in 
Saline  county,  Missouri,  to  Dr.  Robert  S. 
McNutt.  They  have  four  children, 

SAMUEL,  JOANNA,  MARY  and  ROBERT,  and 

live  in  Rocheport,  Boone  county,  Missouri. 
WILLIAM  T.,  born  April  28,  ^850,  in 
Saline  county,  Missouri,  and  now — 1876 — 
lives  in  Berlin,  Sangamon  county,  Illinois. 
MATILDA  J.  was  married  Dec.  2,  1871, 
to  John  H.  Herring,  have  one  child,  WIL- 
LIAM s.,  and  reside  near  Herndon,  Saline 
county,  Missouri.  ANNA  E.,  ALICE 
W.  and  MATTIE  F.  live  with  their 
father,  near  Marshal,  Saline  county,  Mo. 
FREDERICK  N.  lives  with  his  brother, 
George  D.,  in  Arkansas.  George  M. 
Smith's  son,  JOHN  W.,  left  five  chil- 
dren, namely,  AMANDA,  married 
George  W.  Parrish,  and  has  one  child, 
DAISEY  MAY.  MARY  M.  and  CARRIE 
live  with  their  sister,  Mrs.  Parrish,  in 
Oshkosh,  Wisconsin.  JOSEPH  B.  and 
WILL  A.  live  with  their  uncle,  Fox,  in 
Quincy,.  Illinois.  George  M.  Smith's 
daughter,  ELSIE  A.,  born  Dec.  20, 
1830,  in  Jennings  county,  Indiana,  married 
in  Sangamon  county,  Illinois,  July  4,1842, 
to  Stephen  Butler,  who  was  born  Nov. 
13,  1815,  in  Adair  county,  Kentucky. 
They  have  ten  children,  namely,  JOHN, 
born  May  5,  1843,  MARY  C.,  born  Oct. 
8,  1844,  in  Sangamon  county,  was  married 
May  7,  1864,  to  D.  A.  Russell,  and  live  in 
Harrrison  county,  Iowa.  H.  G.,  born 
Sept.  20,  1846,  married  March  11,  1876,  to 
Ida  Willes..  MARTHA  M.,  born  Feb. 
19,  1848,  married  Dec.  2,  1868,  to  Alfred 
H.  Fairchilds,  and  lives  in  Jefferson  coun- 
ty, Iowa.  SOPHRONIA,  born  F^b.  23, 
1850;  ELIZABETH,  born  July  1,1852, 
in  Sangamon  county,  Illinois.  HAR- 
RIET, born  Sept.  7/1855;  OWEN,  born 
Sept.  16,  1857;  BASSETT,  bora  July 
16,  1859,  and  SAMANTHA,  born  July 
7,  1863,  the  four  latter  in  Jefferson  county, 


Iowa.  Stephen  Butler  and  family  now — 
November,  1876 — reside  near  Missouri 
Valley  postoffice,  Harrison  county,  Iowa. 
Smith,  Lawson  H.  See  his  name,  page 
108.  He  died  Dec.  12,  1876,  near  Roches- 
ter, Illinois. 

STEPH  E  N  SON,  JAMES. 
See  his  name,  page  684.  He  was  born 
July  3,  1872.  His  son,  WILLIAM  C., 
born  Oct.  10,  1812.  HANNAH  A.,  born 
Oct.  12,  1814,  married  Jacob  Zwingle. 
He  died  Feb.  8,  1876.  Their  son,  WIL- 
LIAM M.  Zwingle,  was  married  May 
25,  1876,  to  Eliza  Graham.  JAMES 
W.,  born  May  20,  1816,  moved  from 
Audrain  county,  Missouri,  to  Pike  county, 
Illinois.  FINIS  E.,  born  Sept.  29, 1818. 
He  moved  from  Chandlerville,  Illinois,  to 
Wichita,  Kansas.  HARRIET  married 
William  N.  Spears.  She  moved  from 
Lincoln,  in  1876,  to  Tallula,  Menard 
county,  Illinois. 

THAYER, WILLJAM  P.  See 
his  name,  page  710.  His  daugh'er, 
BERTIE,  was  married  Nov.  30,  1876, 
to  Lee  Hickox,  in  Springfield,  Illinois. 

WALLACE,  WILLIAM.  See  his 
name,  page  747.  His  son,  BENJAMIN 
F.,  moved  from  Keokuk,  Iowa,  to  Macon, 
Macon  county,  Illinois.  His  daughter, 
JANE  ELIZABETH,  married  Dr.  John 
F.  Sanders.  See  his  name,  page  637. 

WEBSTER,  BE  LA  C.,  was 
one  of  the  early  merchants  of  Springfield. 
A  sketch  of  him  was  expected  but  had 
not  arrived  when  this  record  closed,  Dec. 
15,  1876. 

WHITESIDES,  NICHOLAS  B. 
Page  764.  His  daughter,  EMILY  C., 
was  married  Nov.  21,  1876,  to  James  F. 
Demmit,  of  Logan  county,  Illinois. 

W  ILK  I  SON,  GARY,  was  born 
in  Kentucky,  and  married  there  to  Nancy 
Moon.  They  came  to  Sangamon  county, 
Illinois,  among  the  early  settlers.  They 
had  four  children.  Their  son,jREUBEJV, 
resides  in  Taylorville,  Illinois. 

Cary  Wilkison  died  in  1834,  and  his 
widow  married  James  Snodgrass,  Jun. 
See  his  name,  page  671. 

TOCOM,  SAMUEL.  Page  792. 
His  daughter,  REBECCA,  married  John 
W.  Ham,  not  Horn.  See  his  name,  page 
352- 


LIST  OF  POST  OFFICES'*   SANGAMQH  COUNTY    ILLINOIS 


Cross  Plains 
Cyrran 
Daw  son 


Berlin 

Berry  at 

Bradforton(not  orfan/t.  edj 

Brekinridge 

Buffalo 

Buffalo  Heart 

CanLntt 

Chatham 

Cotton  Hill 


lies  Junction 
III  i  op  olis 
Loami 
Lowder 


Salisbury 

Sherman 

$f»""i$fielc/ 


New  Berlin 
New  City 
Pawnee 


SANGAMON  €OUNTY 


JOHN     CARROLL     POWER 
SPFVNGflELO  /LLINO/S 

Ji.  Wilson   &  Co. 


«> 


HISTORICAL  PRELUDE. 


THE  first  white  men  who  explored  the  upper  Mississippi  valley  were  Jesuit  mission- 
aries from  New  France — now  Canada.     They  visited  the  southern  shores  of  the 
great  northern  lakes,  for  the  purpose  of  communicating  a  knowledge  of  Christianity 
to  the  ahoriginal  natives. 

Jacques  Marquette,  a  Roman  Catholic  priest,  and  Louis  Joliet,  a  merchant  from 
Quebec,  with  two  canoes  and  five  men,  left  Green  Bay  and  went  down  the  Wisconsin 
river  to  the  Mississippi,  entering  the  latter  stream  June  17,  1673.  They  floated  down 
the  "father  of  waters,"  making  frequent  stoppages  among  the  Indians,  and  passed  be- 
low the  mouth  of  the  Ohio  river.  Here  they  found  the  savages  disposed  to  be  hostile, 
which  caused  them  to  return.  On  approaching  the  mouth  of  the  Illinois  river,  on  their 
way  up,  they  were  told  by  the  aborigines,  that  if  they  would  follow  the  course  of  that 
stream  their  route  to  the  lakes  wrould  be  much  shorter.  Accepting  this  advice,  the 
party  reached  Lake  Michigan,  at  a  point  where  Chicago  now  stands.  Other  French- 
men came  by  the  way  of  Canada  and  the  lakes,  and  in  a  few  years  all  this  region  of 
country  was  considered  a  part  of  New  France.  The  French  being  entitled  to  it  by 
right  of  discovery,  their  possession  was  undisputed  for  about  ninety  years. 

Difficulties  arising  between  France  and  England,  at  home,  the  British  government  sent 
an  army  of  one  thousand  regular  soldiers  under  Gen.  Edward  Braddock,  to  make  war 
against  the  French  and  their  native  allies  in  the  new  world.  General  Braddock  landed 
at  Alexandria,  Virginia,  and  after  increasing  his  army  to  twenty-two  hundred  men,  by 
the  addition  of  provincials,  or  citizens  of  the  country,  he  marched  to  attack  Fort  Du- 
Quesne,  where  Pittsburgh  now  stands.  Colonel  George  Washington,  who  was  well 
acquainted  with  the  Indian  character,  accompanied  the  expedition  as  a  volunteer  aid. 
General  Braddock  refused  the  counsels  of  Colonel  Washington,  and  the  result  was  the 
surprise  and  defeat  of  his  whole  army  by  the  French  and  Indians.  The  commander 
was  slain  in  the  engagement,  which  took  place  July  9,  1755- 

In  1758  the  English  government  sent  another  army,  which  was  more  successful.  It 
took  Fort  Duquesne,  and  the  war  raged  until  1763,  when  the  fall  of  Quebec  left  the 
English  victorious;  and  by  the  treaty  which  followed,  the  whole  of  New  France  was 
ceded  to  Great  Britain. 

Previous  to  the  year  1673  the  upper  Mississippi  valley  was  known  only  to  the  abori- 
gines or  Indians.  From  the  year  of  its  discovery  by  the  explorations  of  Marquette 

—4 


26  HISTORICAL   PRELUDE. 


and  Joliet,  for  more  than  half  a  century  there  was  no  attempt  at  organized  government. 
The  first  effort  was  made  in  1718,  when  the  "Company  of  the  West"  was  formed  in 
Paris  for  the  government  of-  the  New  World.  In  that  year  the  building  of  Fort  De- 
Chartres  was  commenced,  and  when  completed  was  occupied  as  the  military  headquar- 
ters of  the  French.  It  was  about  sixteen  miles  above  Kaskaskia,  in  the  American  bot- 
tom, three  miles  from  the  bluft  and  three-fourths  of  a  mile  from  the  river.  At  the 
time  New  France  was  ceded  to  England,  in  1763,  Fort  DeChartres  was  occupied  by 
M.  St.  Ange  de  Bellerive,  as  commandant  and  Governor  of  the  Illinois  country.  He 
continued  in  possession  of  the  fort  until  1765,  when  Captain  Sterling,  of  the  forty- 
second  Royal  Highlanders,  was  sent  out  and  took  possession  of  the  fort  and  country,  in 
the  name  of  the  British  government.  He  died  about  three  months  after  his  arrival. 
Fort  Chartres  continued  to  be  the  headquarters  of  the  British  until  1772,  when  part  of 
the  fort  was  destroyed  by  a  great  rise  of  water  in  the  Mississippi  river.  The  English 
garrison  was  then  removed  to  Kaskaskia. 

In  1763  the  population  of  what  is  now  the  State  of  Illinois,  did  not  exceed  three 
thousand.  About  one-third  left  the  country  upon  its  change  of  masters ;  so  that  when 
the  English  took  possession,  the  entire  population,  including  French,  English  and 
negroes,  was  about  two  thousand.  Speaking  of  their  new  seat  of  government,  Rev. 
John  M.  Peck  says:  "In  olden  time,  Kaskaskia  was  to  Illinois  what  Paris  is  at  this 
day  to  France.  Both  were,  at  their  respective  days,  the  great  emporiums  of  fashion, 
gayety,  and  I  must  say,  happiness  also.  In  the  year  1721  the  Jesuits  erected  a  monas- 
tery and  college  in  the  village  of  Kaskaskia,  and  a  few  years  afterwards  it  was  char- 
tered by  the  French  government.  Kaskaskia  for  many  years  was  the  largest  town 
west  of  the  Alleghaney  mountains.  It  was  a  tolerable  place  before  the  existence  of  Pitts- 
burgh, Cincinnati  or  New  Orleans." 

The  English  government  became  fairly  settled  in  their  occupation  of  the  country 
wrested  from  France,  and  then  commenced  that  series  of  parliamentary  enactments  for 
the  taxation  of  the  American  colonies,  without  permitting  them  to  have  any  voice  in 
her  national  councils,  which  led  to  the  revolutionary  struggle.  Open  hostilities  com- 
menced at  Lexington,  Massachusetts,  April  19,  1775.  Couriers  were  despatched,  on 
the  most  fleet-footed  horses,  and  in  a  very  few  days  the  infant  colonies  were  ablaze  with 
excitement,  and  the  call  to  arms  was  responded  to  from  Maine  to  Georgia.  The  first 
Congress  met  in  Philadelphia,  Sept.  5,  1774,  and  continued  its  meetings  by  successive 
adjournments,  until  July  4,  1776,  when  the  American  colonies  were  declared  to  be  free 
and  independent  States.  The  familiar  events  of  the  war  for  independence,  followed 
each  other  in  quick  succession,  until  all  parties  were  engaged  in  the  conflict  along  the 
Atlantic  coast;  but  there  were  British  outposts  in  the  west  which  had  until  1778  r°- 
mained  undisturbed.  It  was  known  that  these  posts  were  depots  for  supplying  the 
Indians  with  arms  and  ammunition,  that  they  might  practice  deeds  of  cruelty  and  mur- 
der against  the  frontier  settlers.  The  general  government  had  not  power  to  command 
without  consent  of  the  States,  even  the  limited  resources  of  the  country ;  but  what  there 
was,  in  the  way  of  soldiers,  seemed  imperatively  demanded  on  the  seaboard.  Under 
these  circumstances,  Colonel  George  Rogers  Clarke,  of  Virginia,  volunteered  to  lead 
an  expedition  against  the  British  garrison  west  of  the  Alleghanies;  and  the  Governor 
and  Council  of  Virginia  took  the  responsibility  of  sending  him  out.  Two  sets  of 
instructions  were  given  him :  One,  which  was  public,  was  for  Col.  Clarke  to  raise 


HIS  TORI  CA  L  PRE  L  ( 'D  /: . 


27 


se\en  companies,  and  proceed  west.  The  secret  and  real  instructions  were  for  him  to 
raise  seven  companies,  of  fifty  men  each,  proceed  to  Kaskaskia,  and  take  and  destroy 
the  garrison  of  Fort  Gates  at  that  place;  and  that  the  object  of  the  expedition  must  be 
kept  a  profound  secret.  The  instructions  were  given  January  2, 1778,  by  the  Governor 
at  \Villiamsburg,  then  the  Capital  of  Virginia.  Col.  Clarke  left  Virginia  on  the  fourth 
of  February  for  Pittsburgh.  He  took  with  him  twelve  hundred  pounds  in  depreciated 
currency  to  defray  the  expenses  of  the  expedition,  and  raised  three  companies  in  Pitts- 
burgh. He  procured  boats,  and  with  his  supplies,  arms  and  ammunition,  descended  the 
Ohio  river  to  "Corn  Island,"  opposite  the  present  city  of  Louisville,  Kentucky,  where 
he  was  met  by  Captain  Bowman,  who  had  gone  down  through  Kentucky  to  raise  a 
companv  of  men.  When  all  were  assembled  on  the  island,  Col.  Clarke  first  declared 
to  them  that  his  point  of  destination  was  Kaskaskia,  in  the  Illinois  country.  From 
Corn  Island  he  descended  with  his  forces  to  Fort  Massac,  at  the  west  side  of  the  Ohio 
river,  about  forty  miles  above  its  junction  with  the  Mississippi.  The  party  left  their 
boats  at  this  point,  and  marched  across  the  country  to  Kaskaskia,  a  distance  of  one  hun- 
dred and  twenty  miles,  through  an  unbroken  wilderness. 

Thev  arrived  within  sight  of  the  village  on  the  morning  of  July  4,  1778.  He  con- 
cealed the  main  body  of  his  men,  and  sent  out  spies  to  reconnoitre.  At  night  the  men 
were  divided  into  two  bodies,  one  to  take  the  village  and  the  other,  Fort  Gage.  After 
all  was  in  readiness,  with  the  soldiers  drawn  up  in  line  on  the  banks  of  the  Kaskaskia, 
Col.  Clarke  delivered  a  short  address  to  his  troops,  in  which  he  reminded  them  that  it 
was  the  anniversary  of  the  Declaration  of  Independence,  and  that  they  must  take  the 
fort  and  village  at  all  hazards.  Fort  Gage  was  a  work  of  considerable  strength, 
mounted  with  cannon  and  defended  by  regular  soldiers.  So  secret  had  been  the  move- 
ments of  the  attacking  party,  and  so  little  were  they  expected,  that  they  reached  the 
very  gates  of  the  fortifications  unperceived.  In  addition  to  this,  they  were  so  fortu- 
nate as  to  get  into  communication  with  an  American  belonging  to  the  fort,  who  led  a 
detachment  of  soldiers,  under  the  celebrated  Simon  Kenton,  inside,  through  a  back 
gate.  The  first  intimation  the  Governor  had  of  their  presence,  was  by  Kenton  giving 
him  a  shake  to  arouse  him  from  his  slumbers.  The  conquest  was  achieved  without  the 
shedding  of  a  drop  of  blood.  The  rhortification  of  Governor  Rocheblave  was  so  great 
when  he  found  himself  a  prisoner  in  the  hands  of  so  small  a  body  of  raw  malitia,  with- 
out having  an  opportunity  to  fire  a  gun,  that  he  refused  to  acknowledge  any  of  the 
courtesies  extended  to  him  on  account  of  his  official  position.  The  only  alternative  for 
Colonel  Clarke,  was  to  send  him  in  irons  to  the  Capital  of  Virginia. 

Soon  after  the  capture  of  Kaskaskia  Colonel  Clarke  communicated  the  result  of  his 
expedition  to  the  Governor,  and  expressed  a  desire  to  have  civil  government  extended 
over  the  conquered  territory.  An  act  was  passed  by  the  law-making  powers  of  Vir- 
ginia, in  October,  1778,  to  establish  the  county  of  Illinois.  "  It  embraced  all  that  part  of 
Virginia  west  of  the  Ohio  river,  and  was  probably  the  largest  county  in  the  world, 
exceeding  in  its  dimensions  the  whole  of  Great  Britain  and  Ireland."  To  speak  more 
definitely,  the  county  of  Virginia,  called  Illinois,  embraced  the  territory  now  included 
in  the  States  of  Ohio,  Indiana,  Illinois,  Wisconsin  and  Michigan. 

After  capturing  Fort  Gates,  the  next  point  to  be  reduced  was  Fort  St.  Vincent,  now 
Vincennes,  Indiana.  This  fortification,  with  Governor  Hamilton  and  seventy-nine  men, 
fell  into  his  hands  February  24,  1779. 


28  HISTORICAL  PRELUDE. 

Until  this  stage  of  its  history,  the  Illinois  country  had  been  successively  under  savage, 
military,  and  monarchial  rulers;  but  the  time  for  another  change  was  at  hand.  The 
first  republican  Governor  of  Illinois  was  no  less  a  personage  than  the  renowned  Patrick 
Henry,  the  great  orator  of  the  American  Revolution.  He  became  the  Governor  of 
Virginia  in  1776,  and  by  re-election  continued  to  hold  the  office  until  1799.  The  law 
of  Virginia  establishing  the  county  of  Illinois  having  been  enacted  in  October,  1788,  it 
was  in  this  way  that  he  became  the  first  republican  or  democratic  Governor  of  Illinois. 

On  the  twelfth  of  December,  1788,  Governor  Henry  appointed  John  Todd  civil  com- 
mandant and  Lieutenant  Colonel  of  the  new  county.  He  wrote  Commandant  Todd  a 
lengthy  letter  of  instructions,  in  which  he  says :  "  The  grand  objects  which  are  disclosed 
to  your  countrymen,  will  prove  beneficial  or  otherwise,  according  to  the  nature  and 
abilities  of  those  who  are  called  to  direct  the  affairs  of  that  remote  country.  *  *  * 
One  great  good  expected  from  holding  the  Illinois  is  to  overawe  the  Indians  from  war- 
ring against  the  settlers  on  this  side  of  the  Ohio."  Near  the  close  of  his  letter,  Gov- 
ernor Henry  says :  "  I  think  it  proper  for  you  to  send  me  an  express  once  in  the  month 
with  a  general  account  of  affairs  with  you,  and  any  particulars  you  may  wish  to  com- 
municate." 

The  headquarters  of  Commandant  Todd,  or  the  seat  of  government  for  the  county, 
was  at  Kaskaskia.  The  stay  of  Colonel  Todd  in  Illinois  was  not  of  long  duration. 
Being  under  orders  to  return  to  Virginia,  he  made  it  convenient  to  visit  his  family  at 
Lexington,  Kentucky,  on  the  way.  While  at  Lexington,  news  came  that  the  Indians 
west  of  the  Ohio  were  crossing  over  into  Kentucky.  He  returned  at  the  head  of  his 
command,  to  assist  in  repelling  the  savages,  and  was  killed  at  the  battle  of  Blue  Licks. 
See  sketch  of  the  Todd  family  in  this  volume. 

In  1 780  Congress  recommended  to  the  several  States  having  waste  or  unappropriated 
lands,  in  the  western  country,  to  cede  it  to  the  United  States  government  for  the  com- 
mon benefit  of  the  Union.  In  January,  1781,  Virginia  responded  to  the  overture  of 
Congress,  by  yielding  her  claims  to  the  territory  northwest  of  the  Ohio  river,  with  cer- 
tain conditions  annexed.  By  an  act  of  Sept.  13,  1783,  Congress  proposed  to  comply  in 
the  main  with  the  wishes  of  Virginia,  but  suggested  some  modification  of  the  terms. 
On  the  2oth  of  Dec.  following,  the  General  Assembly  of  Virginia  passed  an  act  accept- 
ing the  modified  terms  proposed  by  the  United  States  Congress.  By  this  settlement 
the  United  States  was  to  refund  to  Virginia  all  the  money  that  had  been  expended  by 
that  State  in  her  military  operations  in  conquering  and  holding  the  territory.  It  was 
also  stipulated  that  a  quantity  of  land,  not  exceeding  one  hundred  and  fifty  thousand 
acres,  promised  by  the  State  of  Virginia,  should  be  allowed  and  granted  by  the  United 
States  to  General  George  Rogers  Clarke,  and  to  the  officers  and  soldiers  of  his  regi- 
ment who  inarched  with  him  when  the  forts,  Gates,  at  Kaskaskia,  and  St.  Vincent, 
now  Vincennes,  were  reduced;  and  to  the  officers  and  soldiers  who  were  afterwards 
incorporated  into  that  regiment.  By  this  act  the  representatives  of  that  State,  in  Con- 
gress, were  instructed  and  empowered  to  transfer  the  territory,  by  deed,  to  the  United 
States.  The  deed  was  executed  March  i,  1784,  and  signed  by  Thomas  Jefferson, 
Samuel  Hardy,  Arthur  Lee,  and  James  Monroe.  By  Virginia  protecting  the  frontier 
settlers  from  the  cruelties  of  Indian  warfare,  she  very  justly  goes  down  to  posterity  with 
the  honor  of  having  donated  to  the  general  government,  territory  from  which  has  grown 
five  of  the  very  best  States  of  the  American  Union.  But  while  she  was  generous  to 


ORDINANCE  OF  1787.  39 


the  public,  she  failed  to  be  just  to  the  man  who  was  instrumental  in  bringing  so  much 
honor  upon  herself.  In  Butler's  history  of  Kentucky  it  is  said  of  George  Rogers 
Clarke:  "  The  government  of  Virginia  failed  to  settle  his  accounts.  Private  suits  were 
brought  against  him  for  public  supplies,  which  ultimately  swept  away  his  fortune,  and 
with  this  injustice  the  spirit  of  the  hero  fell,  and  the  General  never  recovered  his  ener- 
gies, which  had  stamped  him  as  one  of  nature's  noblemen.  At  the  same  time  it  is  feared 
that  a  too  extensive  conviviality  contributed  its  mischievous  effects."  The  latter  was, 
most  likely,  the  real  cause  of  his  misfortunes. 


THE  ORDINANCE  OF  1787. 


July  13, 1787,  an  ordinance  for  the  government  of  the  Northwestern  Territory,  ceded 
by  Virginia  to  the  United  States,  was  enacted  by  Congress,  and  General  Arthur  St. 
Clair  appeared  at  Marietta,  on  the  Ohio  river,  and  put  the  new  government  in  opera- 
tion. Washington  county  was  the  first  organized,  and  included  a  considerable  portion 
of  the  present  State  of  Ohio.  In  February,  1790,  Governor  St.  Clair  and  his  Secre- 
tary, Winthrop  Sargeant,  arrived  at  Kaskaskia  and  organized  the  county  of  St.  Clair, 
which  embraced  more  than  half  the  present  State  of  Illinois.  The  first  legislative  body 
for  the  Northwestern  Territory  assembled  at  what  is  now  Cincinnati,  September  16, 
1789.  On  the  third  of  October,  General  William  H.  Harrison  was  elected  the  first  del- 
egate to  represent  the  Northwestern  Territory  in  the  Congress  of  the  United  States, 
and  for  more  than  ten  years  its  government  continued  without  change. 

May  7,  1800,  an  act  of  Congress  provided  for  the  organization  of  a  territorial  gov- 
ernment to  be  called  Ohio.  November  29,  1802,  it  was  admitted  to  the  Union  as  a 
.State,  with  its  seat  of  government  at  Chillicothe. 

From  the  time  the  territorial  government  of  Ohio  was  organized,  the  remainder  con- 
tinued to  be  governed  as  the  Northwestern  Territory.  The  same  year  Ohio  was 
admitted  as  a  State — 1802 — the  Territory  of  Indiana  was  organized,  with  William 
Ilenrv  Harrison  as  Governor.  In  1803  the  first  legislature  of  Indiana  Territory  assem- 
bled at  Vincennes.  Illinois  being  then  a  part  of  Indiana  Territory,  St.  Clair  county 
sent  three  representatives.  Indiana  was  not  admitted  as  a  State  into  the  Union  until 
1816,  but  seven  years  previous  to  that  time  had  lost  more  than  half  its  area. 

By  an  act  of  Congress,  approved  February  3,  i  809,  Illinois  was  separated  from  In- 
diana, and  provision  made  for  organizing  a  Territorial  Government.  Hon.  Ninian 
Edwards,  Chief  Justice  of  Kentucky,  was  appointed  by  President  Madison,  to  be  the 
first  Governor  of  the  Territory  of  Illinois.  The  government  was  organized,  in  the 
absence  of  Governor  Edwards,  by  Nathaniel  Pope,  Territorial  Secretary,  April  28,  1809. 
Governor  Edwards  arrived  at  Kaskaskia  early  in  June,  and  on  the  eleventh  of  that 
month  took  the  oath  of  office.  He  was  Governor  during  the  whole  territorial  existence 
of  Illinois.  His  first  commission  was  dated  March  7,  1809;  re-appointed  November 


3o  HISTORICAL  PRELUDE. 

12,  1812;  again  re-appointed  Jan.  16,  1816.  From  1809  to  1812  all  the  legislation  was 
done  "  By  authority  of  the  Governor  and  Judges."  They  did  not  enact  laws,  hut  selec- 
ted from  the  territorial  laws  of  Indiana,  and  from  the  State  of  Kentucky  such  as  were 
suitable  to  the  situation,  and  declared  them  to  be  the  laws  of  the  Territory  of  Illinois. 
During  those  three  years  the  Territory  was  without  a  voice  in  Congress. 

The  first  election  in  Illinois  was  held  by  order  of  Governor  Edwards,  March  14, 
1812,  for  the  purpose  of  ascertaining  if  the  people  generally  desired  to  take  part  in  the 
government  and  relieve  the  Governor  and  Judges  of  so  much  responsibility.  The  re- 
sult of  the  election  was  favorable  to  the  change.  That  involved  the  necessity  for 
another  election,  which  was  ordered  for  October  ninth,  tenth  and  eleventh,  for  the  pur- 
pose of  choosing  a  delegate  to  Congress  and  members  of  the  Territorial  Legislature. 
The  members  thus  elected  assembled  at  Kaskaskia  November  25,  1812,  being  the  first 
legislative  body  in  the  territory.  From  that  time  to  1818,  all  business  was  done  in  the 
name  of  the  "Legislative  Council  and  House  of  Representatives."  That  body  asseni- 
bled  annually  in  December. 

By  an  act  of  Congress,  approved  April  18,  1818,  the  people  of  Illinois  were  authori- 
zed to  advance  from  a  Territorial  to  a  State  Government.  In  August  an  election  was 
held  for  State  officers  and  a  representative  in  Congress.  The  State  was  admitted  into 
the  Union  Dec.  3,  1818.  Shaclrach  Bond,  who  had  been  a  delegate  in  Congress  from 
1812  to  1815,  and  receiver  in  the  land  office  from  that  time  until  the  State  was  admitted 
to  the  Union,  was  elected  the  first  Governor  under  the  State  organization.  Ex-Gov- 
ernor Edwards  and  Jesse  B.  Thomas  were  chosen  by  the  legislature  to  be  the  first 
United  States  Senators. 


SANGAMON  COUNTY. 


When  Illinois  was  admitted  to  the  Union  it  was  composed  of  thirty-three  counties, 
but  Sangamon  county  and  Springfield  were  unknown.  The  county  was  created,  by  a 
law  of  the  State,  entitled : 

"An  act  establishing  the  County  of  Sangamon" — Approved  January  30,  1821. 

SECTION  i.  Be  it  enacted  by  the  People  of  the  State  of  Illinois,  represented  in 
the  General  Assembly,  That  all  that  tract  of  country  within  the  following  boundaries, 
to-wit: — Beginning  at  the  northeast  corner  of  township  twelve  north,  on  the  third 
principal  meridian,  thence  north  with  said  meridian  to  the  Illinois  river,  thence  down 
the  middle  of  said  river  to  the  mouth  of  Balance  or  Negro  creek,  thence  up  said  creek 
to  its  head,  thence  through  the  middle  of  the  prairie  which  divides  the  waters  of  the 
Sangamon  and  Mauves  Terre,  to  the  northwest  corner  of  township  twelve  north,  range 
seven  west,  of  the  third  principal  meridian,  thence  east  along  the  north  boundary  of 
township  twelve  to  the  place  of  beginning,  shall  constitute  a  separate  county  to  be  called 
Sansramon. 


SANGAMON  COUNTY.  31 

SECTION  2.  Be  it  further  enacted,  That  so  soon  as  the  county  commissioners  of 
said  county  shall  be  elected  and  duly  qualified  into  office,  they  shall  meet  at  some  con- 
venient place  in  said  county,  and  determine  on  some  place  as  near  the  centre  of  the  pop- 
ulation of  said  county  as  circumstances  will  admit,  and  such  place,  when  selected  by 
said  county  commissioners,  shall  be  the  temporary  seat  of  justice  for  said  county,  until 
otherwise  provided  by  law:  Provided,  however,  that  if  any  settler  or  settlers,  owner  or 
owners,  of  the  place  so  selected  as  aforesaid,  shall  refuse  to  ,have  the  temporary  seat  of 
justice  fixed  on  his,  or  her  or  their  improvements,  then  the  said  commissioners  may  de- 
termine on  such  other  place  contiguous  thereto  as  they  may  deem  proper. 

SECTION  3.  Be  it  further  enacted,  That  said  county  commissioners  shall  be  allowed 
the  same  compensation  for  the  time  necessarily  employed  in  fixing  the  temporary  seat 
of  justice  as  in  other  cases. 

SECTION  4.  Be  it  further  enacted,  That  the  citizens  of  Sangamon  county  arc  here- 
by declared  in  all  respects  entitled  to  the  same  rights  and  privileges  as  are  allowed  in 
general  to  other  counties  in  thus  State;  Provided,  always,  that  in  all  cases  where  free 
holders  only  are  capable  of  performing  any  duty,  or  are  entitled  to  any  privilege;  house- 
keepers shall,  for  all  such  purposes,  be  considered  as  free  holders  in  the  said  Sangamon 
county,  and  shall  and  may  do  and  perform  all  duties  appertaining  to  the  different  offices 
in  the  county. 

SECTION  5.  Be  it  further  enacted,  That  the  county  of  Sangamon  shall  compose  a 
part  of  the  first  judicial  circuit  of  the  State. 

That  all  may  understand  the  difference  between  the  boundaries  of  the  county  when 
organized,  and  the  present  bouadaries,  it  is  only  necessary  to  spread  before  you  any  late 
township  map  of  the  State  and  trace  the  following  boundaries:  Commencing  at  the 
northeast  corner  of  Locust  township,  in  Christian  county,  thence  north  to  a  point  on  the 
Illinois  river,  about  two  miles  west  of  the  city  of  Peru,  thence  down  the  middle  of  said 
river  to  what  is  now  the  boundary  line  between  Cass  and  Morgan  counties,  thence  east 
to  the  northeast  corner  of  Morgan  county,  thence  south  on  the  line  between  Morgan 
and  Sangamon  counties,  to  the  northwest  corner  of  Otter  township,  in  Macoupin  county, 
thence  east  to  the  place  of  beginning.  It  will  be  seen  that  the  boundaries  between  this 
county  and  Morgan,  Macoupin  and  Montgomery,  are  unchanged.  The  original  metes 
and  bounds  of  Sangamon  county,  as  given,  embraced  the  following  counties  and  parts 
of  counties,  as  at  present  constituted :  Part  of  Christian,  a  small  part  of  Macon,  all  of 
Logan,  part  of  McLean,  all  of  Tazewell,  part  of  Woodford,  part  of  Marshall,  part  of 
Putnam,  all  of  Mason,  all  of  Menard,  and  all  of  Cass. 

The  territory  constituting  the  county  was  thus  set  apart  by  law,  but  it  was  without 
officers.  For  the  purpose  of  supplying  them  an  election  was  held  Monday,  April  2, 
1821,  at  the  house  of  John  Kelly.  At  this  election  William  Drennan,  Zachariah  Peter, 
and  Rivers  Cormack  were  elected  county  commissioners.  They  met  the  next  day, 
each  took  the  oath  of  office,  and  at  once  entered  upon  the  discharge  of  their  duties. 
The  following  is  a  transcript  from  the  original  records  of  their  first  term  of  court: 

APRIL  3,  1821 : 

At  a  Special  Term  of  the  County  Commissioners'  Court  for  the  County  of  Sanga- 
mon, begun  and  held  at  the  house  of  John  Kelly,  on  Spring  creek,  on  the  third  day  of 


32  HISTORICAL  PRELUDE. 


April,  1821:  Present,  Zachariah  Peter,  Rivers  Cormack,  and  William  Drennan,  com- 
missioners. Ordered  by  the  Court  that  Charles  R.  Matheney  be  appointed  Clerk  of 
the  County  Commissioners  Court  for  the  county  of  Sangamon;  who  thereupon  took 
the  oath  prescribed  by  law,  also  the  oath  of  office,  and  entered  into  bond,  as  the  law 
directs,  with  James  Latham  his  security.  Ordered  that  court  adjourn. 

ZACHARIAH  PETER, 
WM.  DRENNAN, 
RIVERS  CORMACK. 

The  Commissioners  met  again  in  Special  Session,  April  10,  1821,  at  the  same  place. 
Present:  Z.  Peter  and  Wm.  Drennan.  John  Spillers  was  allowed  ten  dollars  for  con- 
veying election  returns  to  Vandalia.  James  Sims  was  appointed  County  Treasurer. 
John  Lindsay,  Stephen  Stillman,  and  John  Robinson,  were  appointed  to  the  office  of 
Justice  of  the  Peace.  The  following  report  was  made  with  reference  to  the  location 
of  the  county  seat : 

WHEREAS,  the  Act  of  the  General  Assembly,  entitled  An  Act,  establishing  the 
county  of  Sangamo,  required  of  the  County  Commissioners  when  elected  and  qualified 
into  office,  to  fix  a  temporary  seat  of  justice  for  said  county:  Therefore,  we,  the  under- 
signed, County  Commissioners  for  said  county,  do  certify  that  we,  after  full  examina- 
tion of  the  situation  of  the  population  of  said  county,  have  fixed  and  designated  a  certain 
point  in  the  prairie  near  John  Kelley's  field,  on  the  waters  of  Spring  creek,  at  a  stake 
marked  Z.  &  D.,  as  the  temporary  seat  of  justice  for  said  county;  and  do  further  agree 
that  the  said  county  seat  be  called  and  known  by  the  name  of  Springfield. 

Given  under  our  hands  this  loth  day  of  April,  1821. 

•ZACHARIAH  PETER. 

WM.  DRENNAN. 

There  is  no  explanation  of  letters  used  in  marking  the  stake,  but  it  is  probable  that 
the  onlv  two  commissioners  present  agreed  to  use  one  initial  from  each  of  their  names. 

The  point  chosen  was  near  what  is  now  the  northwest  corner  of  Second  and  Jeffer- 
son streets.  The  first  court  house  in  the  county  was  built  on  the  same  spot. 

We  find  the  county  of  Sangamo  organized,  and  the  county  seat  temporarily  located 
and  named.  It  may  be  interesting  to  note  some  of  the  incidents  that  influenced  the 
selection  of  that  pai'ticular  spot.  Towns  and  cities  are  born,  live,  and  die,  subject  to  the 
contingencies  of  birth,  life,  and  death,  analagous  to  that  of  human  beings.  About  the 
year  1818,  an  old  bachelor  by  the  name  of  Elisha  Kelly  emigrated  from  North  Carolina 
to  this  State,  stopping  first  in  Macoupin  county.  Mr.  Kelly  was  exceedingly  fond  of  the 
chase,  and  in  prospecting  for  good  hunting  grounds,  wandered  in  between  two  ravines, 
a  couple  of  miles  apart,  running  in  a  northwesterly  direction,  and  emptying  into  Spring 
creek,  a  tributary  of  the  Sangamon  river.  The  deer  with  which  this  country  abounded 
before  the  advent  of  civilization,  made  their  homes  in  the  timber  along  the  larger  water 
courses.  In  the  morning  they  would  leave  the  heavy  timber,  follow  up  the  ravines, 
along  which  the  trees  became  smaller,  and  finally  ran  out  on  the  open  prairie,  They 
would  pass  the  day  amid  the  tall  and  luxuriant  grass,  roaming  about  and  grazing  at 
pleasure,  and  as  nightfall  approached,  return  down-  the  ravines,  to  the  places  they  had 
left  in  the  morning,  each  to  seek  its  lair  for  repose.  The  deer  in  passing  down  these 
ravines,  gave  Mr.  Kelly  an  opportunity  for  the  full  gratification  of  his  ambition  for 


. \G.\MO.\  cor.vrr.  33 


game.  It  seemed  to  him  so  much  like  a  hunter's  paradise,  that  he  returned  to  his  old  home 
and  induced  his  father,  Henry  Kelly,  and  his  four  brothers,  John,  older  than  himself, 
and  Elijah,  William  and  George,  younger,  to  emigrate  with  him,  those  who  had  fam- 
ilies bringing  them.  He  induced  other  families  among  his  acquaintances  to  emigrate 
also.  More  families  continued  to  move  into  the  country,  and  generally  settled  at  long 
distances  from  each  other,  but  the  principal  settlement  clustered  around  the  Kellvs. 
NVhen  the  commissioners  came  to  locate  the  county  seat,  it  was  discovered  that  the 
Kellev  settlement  was  the  only  place  in  all  the  county,  large  as  it  was,  where  enough 
families  could  be  found  in  the  vicinity  of  each  other  to  board  and  lodge  the  members 
of  the  court  and  those  who  would  be  likely  to  attend  its  sessions. 

The  records  do  not  show  that  anything  more  than  locating  the  countv  seat  was  done 
that  day,  but  in  another  part  of  the  book  we  find  a  copy  of  a  contract  that  was  evi- 
dently entered  into  after  adjournment,  and  before  they  separated.  There  is  no  evidence 
of  any  advertising  for  proposals  to  build  a  court  house,  but  here  is  the  contract: 

Article  of  agreement  entered  into  the  loth  day  of  April,  1821,  between  John  Kelly, 
of  the  county  of  Sangamo,  and  the  undersigned,  county  commissioners  of  said  countv. 
Tin  said  Kelly  agrees  with  said  commissioners  to  build, for  the  use  of  the  said  countv, 
a  court  house  of  the  following  description,  to-wit:  The  logs  to  be  twenty  feet  long, 
the  house  one  story  high,  plank  floor,  a  good  cabin  roof,  a  door  and  window  cut  out, 
the  work  to  be  completed  by  the  first  day  of  May,  next,  for  which  the  said  commis- 
sioners promise,  on  the  part  of  the  county,  to  pay  the  said  Kelly  forty-two  dollars  and 
fifty  cents.  Witness  our  hands  the  day  and  date  above. 

JOHN  KELLY, 
ZACHARIAH  PETER, 
WM.  DRENNAN. 

As  the  temple  of  justice  approached  completion  the  commissioners  found  that  it 
would  be  a  very  nice  summer  building,  but  they  evidently  had  some  doubts  about  it 
for  winter.  So  we  find  another  contract,  of  which  the  following  is  a  copy : 

Jesse  Brevard  agrees  with  the  county  commissioners  to  finish  the  court  house  in  the 
following  manner,  to-wit:  To  be  chinked  outside  and  daubed  inside.  Boards  sawed 
and  nailed  on  the  inside  cracks,  a  good,  sufficient  door  shutter,  to  be  made  with  good 
plank  and  hung  with  good  iron  hinges,  with  a  latch.  A  window  to  be  cut  out,  faced 
and  cased,  to  contain  nine  lights,  with  a  good,  suificient  shutter  hung  on  the  outside. 
A  fire  place  to  be  cut  out  seven  feet  wide,  and  a  good,  sufficient  wooden  chimney, 
built  with  a  good,  sufficient  back  and  hearth.  To  be  finished  by  the  first  of  September, 
next. 

JESSE  BREVARD. 

June  I,  1821. 

June  4,  1821,  the  court  assembled  in  the  court  house  for  which  they  had  signed  the 
contract  twenty-four  days  previous.  A  contract  was  entered  into  that  day  to  build  a 
jail,  first  drawing  up  the  specifications  and  then  writing  the  contract  on  the  back,  of 
which  the  following  is  a  copy: 

Robert  Hamilton  agrees  to   build  the  within  named  jail    for  the  county  of  Sangamo, 
and  to  have  the  same  completed  by  the  first   Monday  in  September,  next,  for  the  sum 
of   eighty  four   dollars   and   seventy-five  cents,  for  which   the    commissioners   agree,  on 
~ 5 


34  HISTORICAL  PRELUDE. 

the  part  of  the  county,  that  the   said  Hamilton   shall  be  entitled  to  a  warrant  on   the 
county  treasury  for  the  sum  of  eighty-four  dollars  and   seventy-five  cents,  as  aforesaid. 

ROBERT  HAMILTON. 

•  June  4,  1821. 

The  following  is  a  "description  of  a  jail  for  Sangamo  county,"  to-wit:  The  timber 
to  be  cut  twelve  feet  long,  hewed  twelve  inches  square,  raised  seven  feet  between  the 
floors,  the  upper  and  also  the  under  floor  to  be  of  the  same  kinds  of  timber,  hewed 
and  fit  on  the  sill  with  a  shoulder  of  at  least  three  inches.  The  under  sill  to  be  let  in 
the  ground  so  as  to  let  the  floor  rest  on  the  surface  of  the  earth.  The  logs  to  be 
matched  with  a  half  dove-tail,  and  made  to  close.  The  building  to  be  covered  with  a 
good  cabin  roof,  a  window  cut  eight  inches  square,  half  cut  out  of  the  timber  above 
and  half  below.  A  bar  of  iron  let  into  the  log  above  and  one  below,  one-half  inch 
thick  and  two  inches  wide;  three  bars  of  iron  standing  upright  one  inch  square,  let  in 
through  the  top  and  bottom  bar  and  into  the  timber.  One  door  cut  three  feet  in  width 
and  five  feet  high,  to  be  faced,  or  cheeked,  with  good  timber,  three  inches  thick,  put  on 
with  good  spikes;  a  strong  door  shutter,  made  of  good  oak  plank,  put  together  cross- 
ing and  angling,  with  rivets,  at  least  four  in  each  cross  of  the  plank,  and  fourpenny 
nails,  drove  from  each  side  of  the  door,  not  more  than  one-half  inch  apart.  To  be 
hung  with  three  good,  strong,  iron  hinges,  so  turned  as  not  to  admit  of  the  door  com- 
ing off,  and  a  good,  strong  bolt  lock.  The  building  to  be  completed  by  the  first  Mon- 
day in  September,  next. 

June  4,  1821 : 

At  the  meeting  of  June  4th  John  Hamblin  and  David  Black  were  appointed  con- 
stables. To  this  time  the  records  show  that  the  name  of  the  county  had  been  written 
Sangamo,  but  without  any  apparent  reason,  we  find  a  letter  added,  making  it  Sanga- 
mon. 

June  5,  1821  : 

At  a  meeting  of  the  commissioners  under  this  date,  we  find  that  John  Kellv  was 
allowed  $42.50  due  him  on  contract  for  building  the  court  house,  and  he  was  allowed 
$5.00  for  extra  work.  At  a  meeting  September  I,  1821,  Jacob  Ellis  was  allowed  $4.50 
for  Judge's  seat  and  bar  in  the  court  house.  The  meeting  of  December  4,  1821,  shows 
that  Jesse  Brevard  was  allowed  $20.50  for  finishing  the  court  house,  making  a  total  of 
$72.50  as  the  total  cost  of  the  first  court  house  of  Sangamon  county,  but  even  here  we 
see  that  the  cost  nearly  doubled  the  original  contract  of  $42.50. 

Continuing  the  business  done  on  June  5th,  we  find  that  the  county  was  divided  into 
four  election  districts,  or  townships,  called,  respectively,  Sangamon,  Springfield,  Rich- 
land  and  Union.  Overseers  of  the  poor  were  appointed,  two  for  each  township. 
and  a  board  of  three  trustees  to  look  after  the  overseers  of  the  poor.  It  does  not 
appear  that  any  one  was  appointed  to  look  after  the  trustees.  At  that  meeting  James 
C.  Stephenson  was  appointed  county  surveyor,  and  George  Hay  worth  county  treasurer, 
in  place  of  James  Sims,  who  refused  to  qualify.  Provision  was  made  for  levying  a 
tax  on  houses,  neat  cattle,  wheel  carnages,  stock  in  trade  and  distilleries. 

July  1 6,  1821.  Ordered,  that  one-half  of  one  per  cent,  be  levied  on  all  property  for 
the  purpose  of  paying  for  the  public  buildings,  and  for  other  purposes. 


SANGAMON  COUNTT.  35 


December  4,  1821.  John  Taylor  came  into  court  and  entered  his  protest  against  the 
sufficiency  of  the  jail.  At  the  same  term  it  was  ordered  that  Robert  Pulliam  be  allowed 
to  keep  a  tavern,  or  public  house  of  entertainment,  upon  his  executing  a  bond  and  pay- 
ing to  the  county  the  sum  of  three  dollars,  and  that  he  be  allowed  to  charge  the  follow- 
ing ratc-s,  to-wit:  Meal  of  victuals,  25  cents;  bed  for  night,  121^  cents;  feed  for  horse, 
121^  cents;  keeping  horse  all  night,  37^  cents;  whisky,  for  half  pint,  12^. 

March  term,  1822.  Erastus  Wright  was  authorized  to  keep  a  ferry  across  the  Illinois 
river,  opposite  Fort  Clark,  now  Peoria.  Rates  of  charges  were  fixed  in  the  license. 
We  learn  that  he  never  kept  the  ferry. 

Elijah  Slater,  on  filing  his  bond,  with  Dr.  Gershom  Jayne  as  security,  was  granted 
license  to  keep  a  tavern,  or  public  house  of  entertainment,  in  the  town  of  Springfield, 
and  a  schedule  of  charges  fixed  similar  to  that  annexed  to  Mr.  Pulliam's  license. 

George  Havworth,  the  county  treasurer,  made  what  was  probably  intended  as  his 
annual  report,  although  the  county  had  been  organized  only  about  eleven  months.  The 
amount  of  taxes  collected  for  1821  was  $407.44;  fines  collected,  $40.00,  making  the 
total  receipts  $447.44.  The  amount  paid  out  was  $420.183^.  This  included  the  pay- 
ment of  all  the  officers,  and  of  all  bills  connected  with  the  building  of  the  court  house 
and  jail,  leaving  $27.261^  cents  in  the  treasury,  and  no  public  debt.  From  the  official 
papers  it  appears  that  the  entire  salary  of  the  county  treasurer  for  that  year  was 
$22.26^. 

July  29,  1823,  the  amount  of  taxable  property  returned  to  the  court  was  $129,112.50. 
After  reducing  the  territory  of  the  county  to  about  one-seventh  of  the  original  area, 
we  find  that  the  taxable  property  now — 1876 — amounts  to  about  thirty-five  millions  of 
dollars. 

Adam  Hamilton,  county  treasurer,  reported  at  the  May  term,  1824,  total  amount  of 
collections  was  $875. 87^,  and  the  disbursements  $753.90,  leaving  a  balance  of  $121.97 

in  the  treasury. 

• 

After  the  temporary  location  of  the  county  seat,  a  contest  sprang  up,  looking  to  the 
permanent  location  of  the  same.  At  an  election  of  members  of  the  legislature,  two 
opposing  candidates  went  before  the  people  on  the  merits  of  two  localities.  I.  S.  Pugh 
was  the  candidate  for  Springfield,  and  William  S.  Hamilton,  a  son  of  the  distinguished 
statesman,  Alexander  Hamilton,  represented  Sangamo,  a  beautiful  site  for  a  town  on 
the  banks  of  the  Sangamon  river,  about  seven  miles  west,  bearing  a  little  north  from 
Springfield.  Hamilton  was  elected,  but  Pugh  went  to  Vandalia,  the  capital,  as  a 
lobby  member,  and  succeeded  in  having  commissioners — named  in  the  next  paragraph — 
appointed,  who  proved  to  be  favorable  to  Springfield. 

An  act  of  the  General  Assembly,  approved  December  23,  1824,  provided  for  reduc- 
ing the  boundaries  of  the  county,  and  named  James  Mason,  Rowland  P.Allen,  Charles 
Gear  and  John  R.  Sloo,  as  a  board  of  commissioners  who  should  permanently  locate  the 
county  seat.  A  proviso  in  the  law  forbade  its  being  located  unless  thirty-five  acres  of 
land  was  donated  on  the  spot.  The  commissioners  assembled  March  18,  1825,  and 
confirmed  the  former  location.  More  than  the  requisite  donation  was  made,  forty-two 
acres  being  conveyed  for  that  purpose  by  Elijah  lies  and  Pascal  Enos.  The  land  con- 
veyed was  parts  of  sections  thirty-four  and  twenty-seven,  in  town  sixteen  north,  range 


M7S  TOR  1 CA  L   PREL  UDE. 


hve  west,  of  the  third  principal   meridian.     The  work  of  the  special  commission  wa 
consummated  when  the  county  commissioners  accepted  the  deeds.     They  soon  afte 
ordered  all  the  land  to  be  laid  out  into  town  lots,  and,  after  reserving  one  square  to 
county  buildings,  had  the  remainder  sold.     Wm.  S.  Hamilton  was  appointed  to  lay  oi 
and  map  the  town  lots.     At  the  same  meeting  it  was  ordered  that  the  sale  of  lots  shoulc 
begin  on    the  first   Monday  in    May,  1825,  and  that  it  should  be  so   advertised   in  th 
Edwardsville  Spectator,  and  in  the  Intelligencer,  at  Vandalia.     Mr.  Hamilton  failed  to 
lay  out  the   lots,  and   Tom    M.  Neale   did   the  work.      At  a   meeting  of  the  commis- 
sioners, May  2,  1825,  Mr.  Neale  was  appointed  crier  to  sell  the  lots,  and  Erastus  Wright 
to  clerk  at   the   sale.     The   following  report  of  two  days'  sales  will   show  the  contrast 
between  the  value  of  Springfield  real  estate  then  and  now : 


•FIRST  DAY. 

Lots. 

Block. 

Amount. 

Garret  Elkin.                                                  bought 

i 

22 

$25    75 

James  C.  McNabb                             " 

-} 

]  2    OO 

fames  Adams  .                        "       .... 

5 

22 

17  .  7; 

Robert  Hamilton          ".  "       .... 

7 

22 

lf>.  5p 

SECOND  DAY. 
Garrett  Elkin                                                        bought 

2 

22 

71    OO 

Elijah  lies.                                      ' 

A 

22 

20  oo 

4 

27 

40.00 

r 

27 

H.oo 

James  Adams   

6 

22 

17.25 

Garrett  Elkin                                                       

8 

17    5614 

T  M   Neale                                                      

21 

21    OO 

2 

'    23 

17.25 

Thomas  Cox.                     .              

I 

H.OO 

C.  R.  Matheny       .... 

8 

27 

IO.  25 

•    At  the  June  term,   182=5,  of  the   county; commissioners'  court,  John  Taylor,  sheriff, 
made  the  following  return  or  report : 

Taxes  collected  for  1824 $600.00 

Fines  collected  same  year 23.00 


Total $623.00 

Amount  paid  out 549.97 


Balance  in  favor  of  the  county $73.03 

July  term,  1825.  The  county  commissioners  began  to  think  the  time  had  arrived  for 
building  a  larger  and  better  court  house.  They  passed  an  order  that  the  county  pro- 
ceed to  build  a  court  house,  not  to  exceed  three  thousand  dollars,  provided  one-half  the 
expense  be  made  up  bv  subscription.  It  was  to  be  of  brick,  two  stories  high.  The 
failure  to  raise  the  money  bv  subscription  defeated  the  whole  project. 

It  will  be  remembered  that  the  court  house  built  in  1821  cost,  on  the  original  contract, 
$41.50;  for  extra  work,  $5.00;  for  a  seat  for  the  Judge,  $4.50;  and  for  finishing  the 
building,  so  as  to  make  it  habitable  for  winter,  $20.50,  making  a  total  of  $72.50. 


SAN  GAM  ON  COUNTY.  37 


Coming  down  from  their  project  to  build  a  $3,000  court  house,  we  next  find  a  con- 
tract in  the  office  of  the  county  clerk,  made  September,  1825.  Log  buildings  could  no 
longer  be  tolerated,  and  this  was  to  be  a  frame.  The  contract  price  was  $449.00, 
which  did  not  include  the  flues.  That  was  let  to  another  party  for  $70.00,  making  a 
total  of  $519.00.  The  old  log  court  house  was  sold  at  auction  to  John  Taylor  for 
$32.00,  nearly  half  the  original  cost.  The  new  frame  court  house  was  built  at  the 
north-east  corner  of  Adams  and  Sixth  streets.  It  must  have  been  a  magnificent  struc- 
ture, judging  from  the  fact  that  at  the  term  of  the  court  in  June,  1826,  Robert  Thomp- 
son was  allowed  two  dollars  and  twenty-five  cents  for  the  plan  of  the  court  house. 

It  may  be  a  matter  of  some  interest  to  say  a  few  words  here  about  the  method  of 

raising  revenue  to  keep  the  machinery  of  government  moving.     At  a  term  of  com- 

;  missioners'  court,  March  23,  1827,  a  schedule  was  made  of  the  kinds  of  property  to  be 

taxed,  beginning:  "On  slaves  and  indentured  or  registered  negro  or  mulatto  servants, 

on  pleasure  carriages,  on  distilleries,"  etc.,  etc. 

Only  a  few  years  elapsed  until  the  frame  court  house  was  thought  to  be  inadequate 
i  to  the  growing  wants  of  the  people.  It  is  recorded  in  the  county  archives  that  in  Feb- 
ruary, 1830,  the  county  court  appointed  three  agents  or  commissioners  to  superintend 
the  erection  of  a  brick  court  house.  On  the  third  of  March  the  commissioners  reported 
to  the  court  that  thev  had  entered  into  contracts  with  two  parties.  One  for  the  brick 
work,  at  $4,641,  the  other  for  the  wood  work,  at  $2,200,  making  a  total  of  $6,841. 
This  edifice  was  completed  early  in  1831,  and  stood  in  the  centre  of  the  public  square, 
bounded  by  Washington  and  Adams,  Fifth  and  Sixth  streets.  It  was  a  square  build- 
ing, two.  stories  high,  hip  roof,  with  a  cupola  rising  in  the  centre.  From  the  time  that 
court  house  was  erected,  all  the  business  of  the  town  collected  around  the  square. 

In  1837,  wr»en  Springfield  was  selected  as  the  future  capital  of  the  state,  with  a 
pledge  to  raise  fifty  thousand  dollars  to  assist  in  building  the  state  house;  also  to  furnish 
the  site  upon  which  it  should  stand,  it  was  not  an  easy  matter  to  agree  upon  a  location. 
If  land  was  selected  far  enough  from  the  existing  business  to  be  cheap,  the  fifty  thousand 
dollars  could  not  be  raised.  Those  already  in  business  around  the  square  refused  to 
contribute,  because  the  state  house,  being  so  much  larger  and  more  attractive,  would 
draw  the  business  after  it,  thus  depreciating  the  value  of  their  property.  After  dis- 
cussing the  question  in  all  its  bearings,  it  was  found  that  the  only  practicable  way  to  settle 
the  matter  was  to  demolish  the  court  house  and  use  the  site  for  the  state  house.  Under 
that  arrangement  the  business  men  around  the  square  pledged  themselves  to  contribute 
to  the  fifty  thousand  dollar  fund  to  the  extent  of  their  ability.  The  court  house  was 
accordingly  removed,  early  in  1837,  anc^  wol"k  on  tne  state  house  commenced.  This 
square,  with  the  court  house  and  other  buildings  on  it,  were  valued  at  sixteen  thousand 
dollars,  about  one-third  of  which  was  lost  in  the  destruction,  of  the  buildings. 

Having  thus  summarily  disposed  of  their  court  house,  and  having  engaged  to  do  so 
much  towards  building  the  state  house,  the  people  of  Sangamon  countv  were  unable 
to  undertake  the  building  of  another.  In  order  to  supply  the  deficiency,  the  county 
authorities  rented  a  building  that  had  been  erected  for  a  store  house  by  the  Hon.  Nin- 
ian  \V.  Edwards.  It  is  at  the  west  side  of  Fifth  street,  five  doors  north  of  Washington, 
and  was  used  as  a  court  house  for  about  ten  years.  Mr.  Edwards  still  owns  it,  and  it 
is  yet  used  as  a  business  house.  After  the  state  house  was  built,  the  fifty  thousand 


38  HISTORICAL  PRELUDE. 


dollars  paid,  and  the  county  emerged  from  the  general  wreck  caused  by  the  financu 
crash  of  1837-8,  Sangamon  county  hegan  to  take  measures  for  erecting  another  coin 
house.  In  the  month  of  February,  1845,  a  lot  of  ground  was  purchased  at  the  south 
east  corner  of  Washington  and  Sixth  streets,  as  the  site  for  the  building.  On  tht 
twenty-second  of  April  a  contract  was  made  by  the  county  commissioners  for  the  built 
ing,  according  to  plans  and  specifications  previously  adopted.  The  edifice  was  to  cc 
$9,680,  to  be  paid  in  county  orders.  It  was  completed  according  to  contract,  and  w; 
used  as  the  court  house  of  Sangamon  county  nearly  thirty-one  years,  until  Januan 
1876. 

When  the  movement  for  building  a  new  state  house  was  made,  early  in  1867,  it  w 
deemed  politic  on  the  part  of  the  friends  of  Springfield  that  Sangamon  county  shoul 
purchase  the  old  state  house,  erected  from  1837  to  1840,  and  make  it  the  court  house  c 
the  county.     The  law  providing  for  the  building  of  a  new  state  house,  which  was 
proved  by  Gov.  R.  J.  Oglesby,  February  25,  1867,  with  a  supplementary  act  two  da} 
later,  contained  a  clause  for  the  transfer  of  the  state  house  to  Sangamon  county  and  th 
city  of  Springfield,  which  was  afterwards  changed,  making  the  county  alone  the  pui 
chaser.     It  was"  stipulated    that  the   Governor   should   convey   the   public  square,  cor 
taining  two  and  a  halt  acres  of  land,  with  the  state  house  upon  it,  to  Sangamon  count} 
in  consideration  of  two  hundred  thousand  dollars,  to   be   paid   to  the   state  of  Illinoi 
and  for  the  further  consideration  that  the  city  of  Springfield  and   the  county  cause  t 
be  conveyed  to  the  State  a  certain  piece  of  land,  described  by  metes  and  bounds  in  th 
bill,  and  containing  between  eight  and  nine  acres,  upon  which  to  erect  the   new  stat 
house.     The  law  also  provided  that  the  state  should  have  the  use  of  the  old  state  hou 
until  the  new  one  was  completed.     The  land  was  secured  at  a  cost  to  the  city  of  sevent 
thousand  dollars,  and  conveyed   to  the  state;    the  two  hundred   thousand   dollars  was 
paid  by  the  county,  and  the  property  conveyed  by  the  state  to  the  county.     That  was 
done  in  1867,  but  the  countv  did   not  come  into  possession  of   the  property  for  seven 
years.  During  that  time  the  simple  interest,  at  ten  per  cent.,  on  the  two  hundred  thousand 
dollars  purchase  money,  would  have  amounted  to  one  hundred  and  forty  thousand  dol- 
lars, making  the  cost  of  the  old   state  house  to  Sangamon   county  three   hundred  and 
forty  thousand    dollars.     The    state    vacated    the    house  in    January,    1876,  and    the 
county  authorities  at  once  took  possession.     It  will  thus  be  seen  that  in  fifty-five  years 
the  county  has  had  five  court  houses,  and  been  ten  years  without  any.     The  first  one 
cost  forty-two   dollars  and   fifty  cents,  and  the  last  three  hundred  and   forty  thousand 
dollars. 

CIRCUIT   COURT. 

While  the  commissioners  were  busy  putting  the  machinery  of  the  county  in  working 
order,  we  find  that  the  Circuit  Court  for  the  county  was  organized  also.  The  follow- 
ing is  the  complete  record  for  the  first  term : 

Sangamon    Circuit,  May  Term,  1821: 

At  a   Circuit   Court  for  the   county  of  Sangamon,  and   State  of  Illinois,  begun   and 
held  at  the  house  of  John  Kelly,  on  the  first  Monday  of  May,  (7th  day),  in  the  year  c 
our  Lord,  one  thousand,  eight  hundred  and  twenty-one. 


SANGAMON    COUNTT.  39 

Present:    JOHN  REYNOLDS,  Judge. 

CHARLES  R.  MATHENY,  Clerk. 

JOHN  TAYLOR,  Sheriff. 

HENRY  STARR,  Prosecuting  Attorney,  pro  tern. 

The  following  list  of  Grand  Jurors  were  empanneled  and  sworn: 

Daniel  Parkinson,  foreman.  George  Hay  worth, 

Claybourn  James,  William  Eads, 

Henry  Brown,  Thomas  Knotts, 

John  Darneille,  James  McCoy, 

Archibald  Turner,  James  Tweddell, 

William  Davis,  Aaron  Hawley, 

Abraham  Richey,  Field  James, 

Abraham  Carlock,  Mason  Fowler, 

Levi  Harbour,  Isaac  Keys, 

Elias  Williams. 

Charles  R.  Matheny  presented  his  bond  and  security  as  clerk,  which  was  approved 
y  the  court. 

John  Taylor  presented  his  bond  as  sheriff,  with  security,  which  was  approved  by 
the  court. 

Suit  was  commenced  by  Samuel  L.  Irwin  against  Roland  Shepherd,  for  trespass, 
and  dismissed  at  plaintiff's  cost. 

The  Grand  Jury  came  into  court  and  returned  two  indictments  for  assault  and  bat- 
ten and  one  for  riot.  Trial  deferred  until  next  term,  and  court  adjourned. 

The  next  term  was  October  8,  1821;  held  but  one  day,  and  proceedings  covered 
two  pages  of  the  record. 

Next  term  commenced  May  6,  1822;  lasted  three  days,  and  proceedings  covered 
nine  pages  of  the  record.  Now,  in  1876,  with  the  county  reduced  to  about  one-seventh 
of  the  territory  it  then  occupied,  the  Circuit  Court  continues  about  eighteen  weeks, 
annually,  or  three  terms  of  about  six  weeks  each,  and  the  proceedings  of  each  term 
cover  from  three  to  five  hundred  pages  of  the  record. 

In  those  days,  when  the  electric  telegraph  was  unknown,  and  it  required  from 
twenty  days  to  one  month  for  a  letter  or  newspaper  to  be  brought  from  the  Atlantic 
coast,  the  early  settlers  were  under  the  necessity  of  giving  an  amusing  turn  to  passing 
events  when  it  was  at  all  practicable.  An  incident  illustrating  this  is  related  by  men 
who  witnessed  the  facts.  When  the  court  was  held  in  the  first  log  court  house,  an 
attorney  by  the  name  of  Mendel  violated  the  rules  of  decorum  as  understood  by  his 
Honor,  Judge  John  York  Sawyer,  who  ordered  Mendel  to  be  arrested  and  sent  to 
jail  for  a  few  hours.  On  repairing  to  the  court  house  next  morning,  the  Judge,  lawyers 
and  others  were  surprised  to  find  the  court  in  session  before  the  hour  to  which  it  had 
adjourned.  A  large  calf  was  on  the  platform  usually  occupied  by  the  Judge,  and  a 
flock  of  geese  cooped  up  in  the  jury  box.  Mendel,  having  been  released  from  jail,  was 
inside  the  bar;  bowing  first  to  the  calf  and  then  to  the  geese,  he  commenced  his  plead- 
ing: "May  it  please  the  Court,  and  you  gentlemen  of  the  jury." 


40  HISTORICAL  PRELUDE. 

The   first  three  or   four  years  of  the   records  of  the   Circuit   Court  reveals   nothing.  • 
more  than  the   ordinary  routine  in  such  tribunals.     The  most  startling  event   in   the 
community  occurred   August  27,  1826.     A   murder  was  committed   that  day  near  the 
Sangamon  river,  in  what  is  now  Menard  county,  ahout  five  miles  above  where  Peters- 
burg now  stands.     A  blacksmith    named   Nathaniel  VanNoy  had,  in  a   fit  of  drunken  ] 
frenzy,  killed  his  wife.     He  was  arrested  and  lodged  in  jail  the  same  day.     The  sheriff, 
Col.  John  Taylor,  notified  Judge   Sawyer,  who  at  once  called  a  special   session   of  the 
Circuit  Court.     A  grand  jury  was  empanneled  and  sworn,  consisting  of  the  following  \ 
citizens: 

Gershom  Jayne,  foreman,  Jesse  M.  Harrison, 

Stephen  Stillman,  Robert  Cownover, 

John  Morris,  James  Turley, 

John  Stephenson,  Jr.,  Aaron  Houton, 

James  White,  John  Young, 

Thomas  Morgan,  John  Lindsay, 

James  Stewart,  Charles  Boyd, 

Jacob  Boyer,  Win.  O.  Chilton, 

Robert  White,  Job  Burdan, 

John  N.  Moore,  Hugh  Sportsman, 

Wm.  Carpenter,  Abram  Lanterman. 

Upon   hearing  the  evidence  a  true   bill  was   found   against  the  accused,  and   a  petit 
jury  called,  consisting  of  the  following  persons : 

Boling  Green,  foreman,  Wm.  Vincent, 

Samuel  Lee,  Philip  I.  Fowler, 

Jesse  Armstrong,  John  L.  Stephenson, 

Levi  W.  Gordon,  Levi  Parish, 

Thomas  I.  Parish,  James  Collins, 

Erastus  Wright,  Geo.  Davenport, 

A  foreman  was  appointed,  the  jury  sworn,  and  the  trial  commenced  on  the  28th. 
Attorney-General  James  Turney  acted  for  the  people;  James  Adams  and  I.  H.  Pugh, 
for  the  defendant.  A  verdict  of  guilty  was  rendered  on  the  29th,  and  sentence  was 
pronounced  the  same  day,  that  the  condemned  man  be  hung  November  26,  1826.  Thus, 
in  less  than  three  days  was  the  murder  committed,  the  murderer  tried  and  condemned 
to  be  hung.  The  sentence  was  carried  out  at  the  time  appointed,  in  the  presence  of 
almost  the  entire  community.  Many  are  yet  living  who  witnessed  the  execution. 
Having  already  sold  his  body,  it  was  delivered  to  the  surgeons,  who  immediately  com- 
menced dissecting  it  in  an  old  open  house.  The  spectacle  was  so  revolting  that  they 
were  compelled  to  desist  and  remove  it  to  a  more  private  place.  In  a  country  so  new, 
the  settlers  so  widely  separated,  and  so  little  that  was  interesting  or  exciting  to  furnish 
topics  for  conversation,  the  excitement  caused  by  that  event  cannot  be  imagined  by  the 
people  at  the  present  time.  The  writer  has,  time  and  again,  had  the  dates  of  events, 
such  as  the  advent  of  families  in  the  community,  marriages,  births,  deaths,  and  incidents 
too  numerous  to  mention,  all  settled  beyond  a  doubt  by  its  having  occurred  "the  fall 
VanNov  was  hunfif!" 


SANGAMOX  COr.\ V)-.  41 


PROBATE     COURT. 

Having  given  an  account  of  the  organization  of  the  Commissioners'  Court  and  of 
the  Circuit  Court,  the  department  of  justice  would  not  be  complete  without  a  Probate 
Court.  The  following  from  its  records  will  show  when  and  by  whom  that  court  was 
organized : 

SPRINGFIELD,  SANGAMON  COUNTY, 

STATE  OF  ILLINOIS,  June  21,  1821. 

Agreeable  to  an  act  of  Assembly  establishing  Courts  of  Probate,  approved  February 
10,  1821,  the  court  was  opened  at  Springfield,  Sangamon  county,  an  the  4th  day  of 
June,  1821.  Present,  James  Latham,  Judge. 

The  court  proceeded  to  issue  letters  of  administration  to  Randolph  Wills  on  the 
estate  of  Daniel  Martin,  deceased.  After  which  the  court  adjourned  until  court  in 
course. 

JAS.  LATHAM,  Judge. 

After  which  court  met  and  adjourned  three  times  without  transacting  any  business, 
until  August  26,  1821,  when  the  filing  and  recording  the  will  of  Peter  Lanterman 
occupied  the  attention  of  the  court  one  entire  term. 

October,  1821,  we  find  the  following  will  recorded: 

Before  the  witnesses  now  present,  Louis  Bennett,  in  perfect  memory,  does  give  to 
the  daughters  of  Kakanoqui,  Josett  Kakanoqui  and  Lizett  Kakanoqui,  two  thousand 
livres  each,  and  six  hundred  livres  for  praies  for  his  father;  also,  six  hundred  livres  for 
him,  if  for  prayes,  and  thirty  dollars  for  prayes  promised,  and  one  hundred  dollars  for 
Kakanoqui,  the  rest  of  his  money  to  be  given  to  his  brothers  and  sisters  of  Louis 
Bennett.  After  duly  hearing  read  over  before  the  witnesses  now  present,  and  signing 
the  same  will,  he  does  voluntarily  appoint  Joseph  D.  Portecheron  and  Louis  Pencon- 

neau,  Senr.,  as  exacquators  of  his  will. 

His 

LOUIS  -f  BENNETT. 

mark. 

JOSEPH  D.  PORTECHERON,  1 

JOSEPH  DUTTLE,  I   ..... 

nlg  ^  Witnesses. 

FRANCOIS  -h  BARBONAIS, 

mark.  J 

NEWSPAPERS. 

During  the  winter  of  1826-7  tne  "Sangamo  Spectator'1''  was  established  in  Spring- 
field by  Hooper  Warren.  He  says,  in  a  letter  to  tne  old  settlers'  meeting,  October  20, 
1859:  "  It  was  but  a  small  affair,  a  medium  sheet,  worked  by  myself  alone  most  of  the 
time,  until  I  made  a  transfer  of  it,  in  the  fall  of  1828,  to  Mr.  S.  Meredith."  Mr.  War- 
ren is  yet  residing  at  Henry,  Illinois. 

The  Sangamo  Journal  was,  established  by  Simeon  and  Josiah  Francis.     See  their 
names.     The  first   number  of  the  paper  was  issued   November  10,  1831,  and  has  con- 
6— 


42  HISTORICAL  PRELUDE. 


tinned  to  the  present  time,  and  is  now  known  as  the  Illinois  State  Journal,  and  has 
been  published  weekly  and  daily  since  June  13,  1838.  Its  present  proprietors  are 
the  "Illinois  Journal  Company,"  composed  of  D.  L.  Phillips,  Prest.;  E.  L.  Baker, 
Sec.;  J.  D.  Roper,  Treasurer;  and  Charles  Edwards  and  A.  J.  Phillips. 

The  Illinois  State  Register,  first  established  at  Vandalia,  was  removed  to  Spring- 
field in  1836,  by  Walters  &  Weber.  It  has  been  published  as  a  weekly  and  daily  since 
January  2,  1849.  Its  present  proprietors  are  E.  L.  &  J.  D.  Merritt. 

SANGAMON     RIVER     NAVIGATION. 

The  transportation  question  will  always  be  a  leading  one  in  civilixed  communities, 
and  especially  so  in  their  early  settlement.  To  the  first  settlers  of  Illinois  it  was  of  un- 
usual importance,  on  account  of  the  vast  extent  of  undrained  soil,  so  rich  and  soft  as  to 
be  almost  impassible,  in  its  natural  state,  for  half  of  every  year.  For  the  transporta- 
tion of  heavy  articles  long  distances,  no  other  mode  was  thought  of  except  by  water. 
They  could  be  conveyed  three  or  four  times  the  distance  in  that  way,  much  cheaper 
than  on  a  straight  line  by  any  known  method.  Consequently,  efforts  were  made  to 
navigate  every  stream  to  the  highest  point  possible.  In  the  Sangamo  Journal  of 
January  26,  1832,  there  appears  a  letter  from  Vincent  A.  Bogue,  written  in  Cincinnati 
and  addressed  to  Edward  Mitchell,  Esq.,  of  Springfield.  Mr.  Bogue  says  he  will  at- 
tempt the  navigation  of  the  Sangamon  river  if  he  can  find  a  suitable  boat,  and  expresses 
the  opinion  that  if  he  succeeds  it  will  revolutionize  the  freight  business.  This  is  an 
editorial  paragraph  from  the  Springfield  Journal  of  February  16,  1832: 

"NAVIGATION  OF  THE  SANGAMO. — We  find  the  following  advertisement  in  the 
Cincinnati  Gazette  of  the  I9th  ult.  We  hope  such  notices  will  soon  cease  to  be  novel- 
ties. We  seriously  believe  that  the  Sangamon  river,  with  some  little  improvement, 
can  be  made  navigable  for  steamboats  for  several  months  in  the  year."  Here  is  the 
advertisement :  \ 

"  FOR  SANGAMO  RIVER,  ILLINOIS. — The  splendid  upper  cabin  steamer,  Talisman, 
J.  M.  Pollock,  Master,  will  leave  for  Portland,  Springfield,  on  the  Sangamon  river, 
and  all  the  intermediate  ports  and  landings,  say  Beardstown,  Naples,  St.  Louis,  Louis- 
ville, on  Thursday,  February  2.  For  freight  or  passage,  apply  to  Capt.  Vincent  A. 
Bogue,  at  the  Broadway  Hotel,  or  to  Allison  Owen."  The  same  boat  was  advertised 
in  the  St.  Louis  papers. 

After  the  above  notices  appeared  in  the  Journal,  the  citizens  of  Springfield  and 
surrounding  country  held  a  public  meeting,  February  14,  1832,  and  appointed  a  com- 
mittee to  meet  Mr.  Bogue  with  a  suitable  number  of  hands  to  assist  in  clearing  the 
river  of  obstructions.  Another  committee  was  appointed  to  collect  subscriptions  to 
defray  the  expense.  The  Journal  of  March  8  announces  the  arrival  of  the  steamer  at 
Meredosia,  where  its  further  progress  was  obstructed  by  ice.  The  Sangamo  Journal 
of  March  29,  1832,  says:  "On  Saturday  last  the  citizens  of  this  place  (Springfield) 
were  gratified  by  the  arrival  of  the  steamboat  Talisman,  J.  W.  Pollock,  Master,  of 
i  50  tons  burthen,  at  the  Portland  landing,  opposite  this  town.  (Portland  was  at  the 
south  side  of  the  Sangamon  river,  between  where  the  bridges  of  the  Chicago  &  Alton 
and  the  Oilman,  Clinton  &  Springfield  railroads  now  stand.)  The  safe  arrival  of  a 
boat  of  the  size  of  the  Talisman,  on  a  river  never  before  navigated  by  steam,  had 


SANGAMON  COUNTT.  43 

created  much  solicitude,  and  the  shores  for  miles  were  crowded  by  our  citizens.  Her 
arrival  at  her  destined  port  was  hailed  with  loud  acclamations  and  full  demonstrations 
of  pleasure.  When  Capt.  Bogue  located  his  steam  mill  on  Sangamon  river,  twelve 
months  ago,  and  asserted  his  determination  to  land  a  steam  boat  there  within  a  year, 
the  idea  was  considered  chimerical  by  some,  and  utterly  impracticable  by  others.  The 
experiment  has  been  made,  and  the  result  has  been  as  successful  as  the  most  enthusiastic 
could  expect;  and  this  county  owes  a  deep  debt  of  gratitude  to  Captain  Bogue  for  getting 
up  the  expedition,  and  his  never  tiring  and  unceasing  efforts  until  the  end  was  accom- 
plished. Capt.  Pollock,  who  is  naturally  warm  and  enthusiastic,  entered  fully  into  the 
feeling  of  our  citizens,  who  visited  the  mouth  of  the  river  to  render  any  and  every 
assistance  in  their  power;  and  much  credit  is  due  him  for  his  perseverance  and  success. 
The  boat  experienced  some  difficulty  from  drifts,  and  leaning  timber  on  shore,  which  made 
her  trip  somewhat  tedious.  The  result  has  clearly  demonstrated  the  practicability  of  navi- 
gating the  river  by  steamboats  of  a  proper  size;  and  by  the  expenditure  of  $2,000  in  re- 
moving logs  and  drifts  and  standing  timber,  a  steamboat  of  80  tons  burthen  will  make 
the  trip  in  two  days  from  Beardstown  to  this  place.  The  citizens  of  Beardstown  man- 
ifested great  interest  for  the  success  of  the  enterprise,  and  some  of  them  accompanied 
the  boat  until  the  result  was  no  longer  doubtful.  They  proposed  the  cutting  of  a 
communication  or  canal  from  the  bluffs  to  their  landing — about  five  miles — whereby 
seventy-five  miles  of  navigation  may  be  saved,  and  offered  one  thousand  dollars  to 
assist  in  completing  it.  It  is  to  be  hoped  that  the  next  Legislature  will  afford  some  aid 
in  making  the  river  safe  and  pleasant  in  its  navigation.  Springfield  can  no  longer  be 
considered  an  inland  town.  We  have  no  doubt  but  within  a  few  months  a  boat  will 
be  constructed  for  the  special  purpose  of  navigating  the  Sangamo  river.  The  result 
which  must  follow  the  successful  termination  of  this  enterprise  to  our  county,  and  to 
those  counties  lying  in  its  neighborhood,  it  would  be  impossible  to  calculate.  Here  is 
now  open  a  most  promising  field  for  the  exercise  of  every  branch  of  honest  industry. 
We  congratulate  our  farmers,  our  mechanics,  our  merchants  and  professional  men  for 
the  rich  harvest  in  prospect,  and  we  cordially  invite  emigrating  citizens  from  other 
states,  whether  rich  or  poor,  if  so  be  they  are  industrious  and  honest,  to  come  hither 
and  partake  of  the  good  things  of  Sangamo." 

A  ball  was  gotten  up  in  honor  of  the  arrival,  and  several  yards  of  machine  poetry 
appeared  in  the  next  number  of  the  Journal,  detailing  the  various  incidents  connected 
with  the  wondrous  event.  The  boat  was  unloaded,  and  immediately  started  on  its  re- 
turn, but  the  river  had  so  fallen  and  brought  the  water  within  so  narrow  a  channel, 
that  it  was  impossible  to  turn  it  around,  and  they  were  compelled  to  back  it  out  the 
entire  distance.  The  only  mention  ever  made  of  her  afterwards  was  a  newspaper  re- 
port that  the  Talisman  was  burned  at  the  wharf  in  St.  Louis  in  the  latter  part  of  the 
next  April.  No  attempt  was  ever  made  after  that  to  bring  a  boat  up  the  river.  Thus 
ended  the  dream  of  navigating  the  Sangamo,  across  which  a  man  may  walk  almost 
dry  shod  for  nearly  half  of  every  year. 

RAILROADS. 

The  navigation  of  the  Sangamon  river  being  a  failure,  left  the  problem  of  transporta- 
tion still  unsolved.  Brains  and  hands  were  at  work  in  another  land,  that  were  destined  to 


44  HISTORICAL   PRELUDE. 


revolutionize  all  former  ideas  on  the  subject  in  this,  but  their  labors  had  never  been 
heard  of  by  the  people,  with  the  exception,  probably,  of  an  occasional  extensive  reader 
of  the  news.  The  railroad  was  then  in  its  very  infancy  in  England.  The  steam  loco- 
motive, about  that  time,  found  its  way  to  this  side  of  the  Atlantic,  but  it  required  a 
few  yeai's  more  for  it  to  reach  Illinois.  The  first  rail  laid  in  the  state  was  at  Mcredosia, 
on  the  Illinois  river,  May  9,  1838,  on  what  was  called  the  Northern  Cross  Railroad. 
The  first  locomotive  arrived  at  the  same  place  September  6,  1838,  on  the  steamboat 
Chariton,  and  was  put  on  the  track  and  first  turned  its  wheels  on  the  8th  of  November 
following.  It  required  more  than  three  years  to  complete  the  road  to  Springfield.  The 
first  locomotive  was  run  into  Springfield,  February  15,  1842,  on  what  is  now  the 
Toledo,  Wabash  and  Western  Railroad.  George  Gregory — see  his  name — was  the 
engineer,  and  Thomas  M.  Averitt — see  his  name — was  the  fireman,  both  of  whom  are 
yet  living  in  this  county.  The  State  of  Illinois  has  now  over  six  thousand  miles  of 
railroad,  and  Springfield  has  railroads  by  which  travelers  may  enter  and  leave  the  city 
in  eight  different  directions. 

SPRINGFIELD. 

We  have  already  said  that  a  temporary  county  seat  was  chosen  for  Sangamon  count}-, 
April  10,  1821,  and  called  Springfield.  The  first  survey  of  public  land  in  the  county 
took  place  that  year.  The  Rev.  John  M.  Peck,  in  his  Pioneer  History  of  Illinois,  says 
that  Springfield  was  laid  out  in  February,  1822,  referring,  no  doubt,  to  Calhoun,  which 
was  the  name  given  to  the  first  plat  of  what  is  now  a  part  of  Springfield.  It  is  in  the 
northwestern  part  of  the  city.  The  first  sale  of  public  lands  in  Sangamon  county  took 
place  November  7,  1823.  At  that  sale  the  lands  were  purchased  upon  which  Calhoun 
had  been  laid  out.  Four  different  parties  entered  each  a  quarter  of  as  many  sections 
cornering  together.  The  town  plat  of  Calhoun  was  recorded  December  5,  1823.  It 
was  under  a  law  approved  December  23,  1824,  that  the  county  seat  was  permanently 
located  by  the  commissioners,  who  assembled  March  18,  1825,  and  confirmed  the 
former  location  at  Springfield.  The  land  donated  by  Elijah  lies  and  Pascal  Enos  was 
laid  out  into  lots,  making  the  streets  correspond  with  those  of  Calhoun.  There  was 
great  prejudice  against  the  name  of  Calhoun,  (afterwards  the  great  millifier  of  South 
Carolina,)  many  refusing  to  recognize  it,  and  it  soon  ceased  to  be  used  except  in  the 
conveyance  of  lots. 

The  first  legislation  on  the  part  of  the  state,  with  reference  to  Springfield,  was  ap- 
pi-oved  February  9,  1827.  By  this  act  the  court  of  county  commissioners  was  required 
to  appoint  street  commissioners  for  the  town,  and  levy  a  tax  for  improving  the  same. 
A  general  law  for  the  incorporation  of  towns  was  enacted  and  approved  February  12, 
1831.  April  2,  1832,  Springfield  was  incorporated  under  that  law.  October  18,  1832, 
the  county  court  ordered  a  re-survey  of  the  town,  in  order  to  adjust  the  discrepancies 
between  the  plats  of  Calhoun  and  Springfield.  The  survey  was  made  and  acknowl- 
edged June  1 8,  1833,  and  recorded  November  9,  1836. 

The  first  board  of  trustees  after  the  town  was  incorporated,  April  2,  1832: 
C.  R.  Matheny,  President,  Elisha  Tabor, 

Cyrus  Anderson,  Mordecai  Mobley, 

John  Taylor,  Wm.  Carpenter. 


SANGAMON  COUNTY.  45 

1833:  John  R-  Gray,  President. 

1834-5-6-7-8:     C.  R.  Matheny,  President. 

1839:     Peleg  C.  Canedy,  President,  and  Abraham  Lincoln  a  member  of  the 
town  board. 

By  an  act  of  the  General  Assembly,  approved  February  3,  1840,  a  city  charter  was 
granted  to  Springfield.  This  law  provided  for  an  election  to  be  held  the  first  Monday 
in  April,  being  the  sixth  day,  to  adopt  or  reject  the  proposed  charter.  It  was  adopted, 
and  the  first  election  for  city  officers  was  held  April  20,  1840. 

Benjamin  S.  Clements  was  elected  Mayor,  and  James  R.  Gray,  Washington  lies, 
Joseph  Klein  and  William  Prentiss,  Aldermen.  The  following  were  the  successive 
Mayors  from  that  to  the  present' time:  For  1841,  Wm.  L.  May;  1842,  David  B. 
Campbell;  1843,  Daniel  B.  Hill,  who  resigned  and  Andrew  McCormick  was  elected 
to  fill  the  vacancy;  1844,  Andrew  McCormick;  1845,  James  C.  Conkling;  1846-47 
and  '48,  Eli  Cook;  1849-50  and  '51,  John  Calhoun;  1852,  William  Lavely;  1853, 
Josiah  Francis.  In  1854  the  number  of  Aldermen  was  increased  from  four  to  twelve, 
and  William  H.  Herndon  was  elected  Mayor;  1855,  John  Cook;  1856-57  and  '58,  John 
W.  Priest;  1859,  William  Jayne;  1860,  Goyn  Sutton;  1861-62,  Geo.  L.  Huntington; 
1863,  John  W.  Smith;  1864,  John  S.  Vredenburgh;  1865,  Thomas  J.  Dennis;  1866, 
John  S.Bradford;  1867,  Norman  M.  Broadwell;  1868,  William  E.  Shutt;  1869,  N. 
M.  Broadwell;  1870,  John  W.  Priest;  1871  and  '72,  John  W.  Smith;  1873,  Charles 
E.  Hay;  1874,  the  wards  were  increased  from  four  to  six,  and  Obed  Lewis  elected 
Mayor;  1875,  Charles  E.  Hay;  1876, this  is  printed  in  February, and  the  election  takes 
place  in  April. 

SPRINGFIELD,  THE^STATE    CAPITAL. 

t 
From  the  discovery  of  the  country  by  the  French  in  1673,  there  was  no  attempt  at 

organized  government  in  the  territory  now  composing  the  State  of  Illinois,  until  1718, 
when  the  "  Company  of  the  West"  was  formed  in  Paris,  for  the  new  wrorld.  Kaskaskia 
had  been  settled  between  1680-90,  and  is  regarded  as  the  oldest  permanent  settlement 
in  the  Mississippi  Valley. 

Judge  Caton,  in  his  oration  at  the  laying  of  the  corner  stone  of  the  new  state  house, 
October  5,  1868,  described  the  building  which  was  used  as  the  capitol  when  the  terri- 
torial government  was  organized,  in  the  following  language:  "It  was  a  rough  build- 
ing in  the  centre  of  a  square  in  the  village  of  Kaskaskia,  the  ancient  seat  of  the  western 
empire  for  more  than  one  hundred  and  fifty  years.  The  body  of  this  building  was  of 
uncut  limestone,  the  gables  and  roof  of  the  gambrel  style  of  unpainted  boards  and 
shingles,  with  dormer  windows.  The  lower  floor,  a  long,  cheerless  room,  was  fitted 
up  for  the  House,  whilst  the  council  sat  in  the  small  chamber  above.  This  venerable 
building  was,  during  the  French  occupancy  of  the  country,  prior  to  1763?  the  head- 
quarters of  the  military  commandant.  Thirty  years  ago  the  house  was  a  mass  of  ruins, 
and  to-day,  probably,  there  is  not  a  stone  left  to  designate  the  spot  where  it  stood." 
That  building  was  the  capitol  during  the  territorial  existence  of  Illinois,  and  the  state 
government  was  organized  in  it  also. 

The  state  constitution  of  1818  required  the  General  Assembly  to  petition  Congress 
for  a  grant  of  land  upon  which  to  locate  the  seat  of  government  for  the  state.  In  the 


46  HISTORICAL  PRELUDE. 


event  of  the  prayer  of  the  petitioners  being  granted,  a  town  was  to  be  laid  out  on  said 
land,  which  town  should  be  the  seat  of  government  of  the  state  for  twenty  years.  The 
land  was  granted.  "At  the  session  of  1819,  m  Kaskaskia,  five  commissioners  were 
appointed  to  select  the  land  appropriated  by  Congress  for  the  state  capital."  The 
commissioners  made  their  selections  further  up  the  Kaskaskia  river.  Having  selected 
the  site,  the  commissioners  were  sorely  puzzled  in  their  efforts  to  select  a  name  that 
should  be  so  euphonious  as  to  attract  the  attention  of  the  whole  world.  Governor 
Ford,  in  his  history  of  Illinois,  gives  the  following  humorous  account  of  the  way  it 
was  done :  "  Tradition  says  that  a  wag,  who  was  present,  suggested  to  the  commis- 
sioners that  the  '  Vandals '  were  a  powerful  nation  of  Indians,  who  once  inhabited  the 
banks  of  the  Kaskaskia  river,  and  that  '  Vandalia,'  derived  from  the  name,  would  per- 
petuate the  memory  of  that  extinct  but  renowned  people.  The  suggestion  pleased  the 
commissioners,  the  name  was  adopted,  and  they  thus  proved  that  the  cognomen  of 
their  new  city — if  they  were  fit  representatives  of  their  constituents — would  better 
illustrate  the  character  of  the  modern,  than  the  ancient  inhabitants  of  the  country." 

Having  located  and  named  their  town,  it  was  at  once  laid  out,  and  the  dense  growth 
of  timber  cut  away  and  a  two  story  frame  building  erected  on  the  square  set  apart  for 
the  State  capitol.  The  building  was  placed  on  a  rough  stone  foundation  in  the  centre 
of  the  square,  and  was  of  very  rude  workmanship.  The  lower  floor  was  for  the  House 
of  Representatives,  and  the  upper  divided  into  two  rooms,  the  largest  one  for  the 
Senate  and  the  smaller  one  for  the  office  of  Secretary  of  State.  The  State  Auditor 
and  Treasurer  occupied  detached  buildings.  The  archives  of  the  State  were  removed 
from  Kaskaskia  to  Vandalia  in  December,  1820.  That  wooden  State  house  was  burned 
a  few  years  later,  and  a  much  larger  one  built  of  brick  on  the  same  ground.  The 
rapidity  with  which  emigration  filled  up  the  northern  portion  of  the  State  made  it  ap- 
parent, long  before  the  twenty  yeai's  it  was  to  remain  at  Vandalia  expired,,  that  it  would 
be  necessary  to  remove  the  capital  further  north,  and  as  early  as  1833  the  question  be- 
gan to  be  agitated  in  the  General  Assembly. 

In  the  Legislature  of  1836-7  Sangamon  county  had  two  Senators  and  seven  Repre- 
sentatives. They  were  the  most  remarkable  delegation  from  any  one  county  to  the 
General  Assembly,  being  much  taller  than  the  average  of  human  stature.  Some  of 
them  were  less  and  some  more  than  six  feet,  but  their  combined  height  was  exactly 
fifty-four  feet.  They  were  then  and  are  yet  spoken  of  as  the  "  Long  Nine."  The 
names  of  those  in  the  Senate  were  Archer  G.  Herndon  and  Job  Fletcher;  in  the 
House,  Abraham  Lincoln,  Ninian  W.  Edwards,  John  Dawson,  Andrew  McCormick, 
Dan  Stone,  Wm.  F.  Elkin  and  Robert  L.  Wilson.  One  or  two  were  as  tall,  but  none 
taller,  than  Abraham  Lincoln,  who,  quoting  his  own  language,  was  "  six  feet,  four 
inches,  nearly."  It  was  known  that  a  movement  would  be  made  to  re-locate  the  State 
capital.  The  "Long  Nine"  were  united  for  securing  it,  and  nothing  could 
turn  one  of  them  from  their  purpose.  They  were  ready  to  yield  anything  else, 
but  when  any  other  point  was  yielded,  it  secured  votes  for  Springfield  as  the  capital. 
Their  opportunities  were  great.  The  people  of  Illinois  were,  at  that  time,  almost  in- 
sane on  the  subject  of  internal  improvements.  Not  one  in  ten  thousand  of  them  had 
ever  seen  a  railroad,  but  they  had  heard  of  them,  and  thought  the  prairies  of  Illinois 
the  best  place  in  the  world  to  build  them.  The  first  movements  began  in  the  General 
Assembly  in  1833,  but  the  first  charter  was:  "An  act  to  incorporate  the  Chicago  and 


SANGAMOA    COUNTT. 


47 


Yincennes  railroad  company  with  an  authorized  capital  of  $3,000,003,"  and  was  approved 
January  17,  1835.  Within  one  year  and  four  days  from  that  time,  charters  were 
granted  for  building  railroads  in  the  State,  of  which  the  combined  capital  authorized  was 
$18,200,000.  In  this  legislation  the  State  did  not  propose  to  furnish  any  capital,  only 
authorized  capitalists  to  invest  their  money.  Not  a  mile  of  railroad  was  ever  built 
under  any  of  those  charters.  Before  the  next  session,  the  Legislature  realized  that 
there  were  no  capitalists  to  build  railroads,  and  a  new  system  was  inaugurated.  The 
most  remarkable  act  ever  passed  by  a  legislative  body  in  the  State  was  approved  Feb- 
ruarv  27,  1837,  and  was  entitled  "An  act  to  establish  and  maintain  a  general  svstem  of 
internal  improvements."  Two  supplementary  acts  were  approved  March  4,  1837. 
The  three  acts  fill  thirty-two  octavo  pages.  The  object  was  to  construct  public  works 
at  the  expense  of  the  State,  in  all  parts  of  the  same.  Under  this  law  appropriations 
were  made  for  canals,  and  the  improvement  of  rivers,  to  the  amount  of  $650,000;  also, 
for  the  building  of  railroads,  $9,550,000,  making  a  total  of  $10,200,000.  During  the 
month  of  February  and  March,  1837,  bills  were  passed  chartering  twenty-two  railroad 
companies  with  authorized  capital  stock  to  the  amount  of  nearly  $8,000,000,  making 
an  aggregate  of  about  $30,000,000  involved  in  the  vain  endeavor  to  legislate  railroads 
into  existence  in  the  State  of  Illinois  before  their  time. 

While  the  internal  improvement  bill  was  pending,  the  "Long  Nine"  were  busy. 
Thev  said  little  or  nothing  in  locating  proposed  railroads,  but  would  assist  other  localities, 
where  votes  could  be  secured  for  locating  the  capital  at  Springfield.  The  result  was 
the  passage  of  "An  act  permanently  to  locate  the  seat  of  government  for  the  State  of 
Illinois,"  which  was  approved  at  Vandalia,  February  25,  1837.  This  law  provided  for 
a  joint  session  of  the  two  houses,  on  the  twenty-eighth  of  the  same  month,  to  select  a 
situation.  An  appropriation  of  fifty  thousand  dollars  was  made,  to  commence  building 
the  State  house.  The  law  also  declared  that  no  place  should  be  chosen  unless  its  citi- 
zens contributed  at  least  $50,000  to  aid  in  the  work,  and  not  less  than  two  acres  of  land, 
as  a  site  for  the  capitol.  W'hen  the  two  houses  assembled  on  the  twenty-eighth,  the 
question  was  decided  by  the  following — 


BALLOTINGS. 


Springfield 35 

Jacksonville 

Vandalia 

Peoria 

Alton j     15 

Scattering • 

Illiopolis 


(St. 

2nd. 

3rd. 

4th. 

35 

43 

53 

73 

14 

i.S 

9 

i 

1  6 

15 

16 

15 

16 

12 

ii 

6 

i.S 

1  6 

'4 

>  - 

7 
10 

15 
•} 

7 

That  settled  the  question,  and  Springfield  was  declared  to  be  the  future  capital  of  the 
State. 

A  supplemental  act  was  passed  on  the  third  of  March,  authorizing  the  commissioners 
of  Sangamon  county  to  convey  the  land,  as  a  site  for  the  new  edifice,  to  the  State.  It 
also  named  Dr.  A.  G.  Henry,  of  Sangamon;  Archibald  Job,  of  Cass,  Wm.  Herndon, 
of  Sangamon,  as  commissioners,  who  were  authorized  and  instructed  to  superintend  the 
work  of  erection.  It  was  expected  that  the  new  capital  would  be  completed  in  time  for 


48  HISTORICAL  PRELUDE. 

— * 

the  first  meeting  of  the  Legislature  in  Springfield,  which  was  fixed  for  the  special  ses- 
sion of  1839-40.  Finding  that  the  building  could  not  be  sufficiently  advanced,  the  Second 
Presbyterian  church,  on  Fourth  street,  was  secured  as  Representatives'  Hall.  The  build- 
ing was  then  quite  new,  and  was,  by  far,  the  largest  church  edifice  in  the  central  and 
whole  northern  part  of  the  State.  It  was  built  of  brick,  stood  a  few  feet  north  of  the 
site  of  the  present  magnificent  Second  Presbyterian  church,  until  the  latter  was  erected. 
The  old  building  was  torn  down  in  the  summer  of  1875.  The  Methodist  church  was 
used  for  the  Senate  chamber,  and  the  Episcopal  church  for  the  Supreme  Court,  both 
wooden  buildings.  The  Legislature  first  convened  in  special  session  December  9,  1839. 

It  was  thought  by  many  to  be  unreasonable  to  require  a  little  town  of  eleven 
hundred  inhabitants,  struggling  with  the  disadvantages  of  a  new  country,  to  pay  the 
$50,000  pledged.  During  that  special  session,  Hon.  Stephen  A.  Douglas,  then  a  mem- 
ber from  Morgan  county,  proposed  to  bring  in  a  bill,  releasing  Springfield  from  the 
payment  of  the  same.  The  sterling  honesty  of  Abraham  Lincoln  manifested  itself  on 
this,  as  on  all  other  proper  occasions.  He  interposed  his  objections,  although  he  fully 
appreciated  the  kindly  feelings  that  prompted  the  proposal,  but  he  insisted  that  the 
money  should  be  paid.  Arrangements  were  entered  into  for  paying  it  in  three  instal- 
ments. The  two  first  payments  were  made  without  any  great  difficulty ;  but  the  third 
pressed  more  heavily,  as  the  financial  crash  that  swept  over  the  whole  United  States, 
while  the  new  State  house  was  in  course  of  construction,  impoverished  many.  Under 
these  circumstances,  it  became  necessary  to  borrow  the  money  to  make  the  last  pay- 
ment, from  the  State  Bank  of  Illinois.  A  note  for  the  amount  was  signed  by  one 
hundred  and  one  citizens,  and  deposited  with  the  bank,  the  money  drawn,  with  which 
internal  improvement  scrip  or  stock  was  purchased  and  paid  into  the  State  treasury, 
thus  paying  the  last  instalment  in  the  State's  own  evidence  of  indebtedness.  From 
that  time  it  was  a  matter  between  the  State  Bank  and  the  citizens  who  signed  the  note. 
Soon  after  the  note  was  given,  the  State  Bank  failed,  and  some  of  the  payments  were 
made  in  the  depreciated  paper  of  the  bank,  for  which  it  had  received  par  value  when 
it  was  paid  out.  The  original  note  is  preserved  in  the  Ridgely  National  Bank,  but 
the  following  is  a  copy  of  the  same: 

$16,666.67.  SPRINGFIELD,  March  22,  1838. 

One  year  after  date,  we,  the  undersigned,  or  either  of  us,  promise  to  pay  to  the  Pres- 
ident, Directors  and  Company  of  the  State  Bank  of  Illinois,  sixteen  thousand,  six.  hun- 
dred and  sixty-six  dollars  and  sixty-seven  cents,  for  value  received,  negotiable  and  pay- 
able at  the  bank,  in  Springfield,  with  interest  until  paid,  at  the  rate  of  six  per  centum 
per  annum,  payable  semi-annually. 

John  Hay,  Thomas  Mather,  C.  R.  Matheny, 

L.  Higby,  Tho.  Houghan,  William  Butler, 

Joseph  Thayer,  D.  Prickett,  P.  C.  Canedy, 

William  Thornton,  J.  Calhoun,  Jos.  Klein. 

M.  O.  Reeves,  Josiah  Francis,  P.  C.  Latham, 

W.  P.  Grimsley,  Washington  lies,  A.  G.  Henry, 

William  Wallace,  Joel  Johnson,  Ninian  W.  Edwards, 

John  B.  Watson,  C.  B.  Francis,  Jonn  T.  Stuart, 

C.  H.  Ormsby,  Wm.  S.  Burch,  Jonas  Whitney, 


SANGAMON  COUNTT. 


49 


Mosrs  ColVman, 
Gco.  Pasfield, 

B.  C.  Wclister, 
S.   M.  Tinsley, 
Ephriam  Darling, 
Jon:i.   Merriam, 
Ira  Sanford, 
Charles  Arnold, 
John  L.  Turner, 

Joshua  F.  Amos, 
Sullivan  Conant, 
And.  McClellan, 
Alexander  Shields, 
A.  Trailor, 

C.  C.  P helps, 

R.  B.  Zimmennan, 
William  Hall,    . 
James  L.  Lamb, 
M.  L.  Knapp, 


J.  M.  Shacklcford, 
B.  Ferguson, 
Benjamin  Talhott, 
Jesse  Cormack, 
B.  C.  [ohnson, 
Thomas  Moffatt, 
John  F.  Rague, 
Simeon  Francis, 
Nathaniel  H«iv, 
Robert  Irwin, 
Virgil  Hickox, 
George  Trotter, 
Stephen  T.  Logan, 
Robert  Allen, 
James  R.  Gray, 
J.  Adams, 
J.  S.  Britton, 
W.  B.  Powell, 
F.  C.  Thompson, 
E.  M.  Henkle, 
James  W.  Keyes, 
Wm.  Porter, 
Wm.  H.  Marsh, 
W.  Ransdell, 
[oshua   S.  Hobbs, 
John  G.  Bergen, 
B.  S.  Clement, 


Erastus  \\' right, 
John  Todd, 
E.  D.  Baker, 
A.  Lincoln, 
Garrett  Elkin, 
John  Capps, 
Alexr.  Garrett, 
( lershom  Javne, 
T.  M.  Xeafe, 
\\'illiam  G.  Abrams, 
Devvey  Whitney, 
M.  Mobley, 
Foley  Vaughn, 
Abncr  Y.  Ellis, 
X.  A.  Rankin, 
S.  H.  Treat, 
Elijah  lies, 
Henry  F.  Luckett, 
James  P.  Langford, 
Henry  Cassequin, 
J.  M.  Cabaniss, 
James  Maxcy, 
Z.  P.  Cabaniss, 
E.  G.  Johns, 
Amos  Camp, 
Thos.  J.  Goforth, 
Benj.  F.  Jewett, 
W.  M.  CoweUl. 


From  a  tooting  up  of  the  principal  and  interest  on  one  side  of  the  note,  the  final 
settlement  appears  to  have  been  made  February  19,  1846.  The  principal  and  interest 
to  that  time  was  $17,918. 

Soon  after  the  Legislature  adjourned  at  Vandalia,  in  March,  1837,  and  the  members 
returned  to  their  homes,  a  public  festival  was  given  in  Springfield  in  honor  of  the  new 
legislation  for  the  removal  of  the  capital.  Among  the  toasts  and  speeches  that  followed 
the  dinner,  were  the  two  following: 

By  Abraham  Lincoln,  Esq:  "All  our  friends — they  are  too  numerous  to  mention 
now,  individually,  while  there  is  no  one  of  them  who  is  not  too  dear  to  be  forgotten  or 
neglected/'1 

By  S.  A.Douglas,  Esq.:  "The  last  winter's  legislation — May  its  results  prove  no 
less  beneficial  to  the  whole  State  than  they  have  to  our  town." 

A  tradition  still  lingers  here  that  something  stronger  than  water  was  used  in  drinking 
the  toasts  on  that  occasion,  as  there  was  not  a  man  to  be  found  after  the  festival  that 
could  tell  who  made  the  last  speech,  and  that  important  fact  is  lost  to  history. 

The  commissioners  appointed  to  superintend  the  building  at  once  entered  upon  the 
discharge  of  their  duties,  and  on  the  fourth  of  July,  1837,  the  corner  stone  of  the  State 

— 7 


50  HISTORICAL  PRELUDE, 


house  was  laid  with  grand  civic  and  military  demonstrations.  After  it  had  been  lowered 
to  its  place  in  the  wall,  it 'was  mounted  by  E.  D.  Baker,  afterwards  United  States  Sen- 
ator from  Oregon,  and  the  lamented  Colonel  of  Balls  Bluff  memory,  who  delivered 
one  of  those  thrilling  and  eloquent  speeches,  for  which  he  was  so  famous.  It  was 
estimated  that  the  building  would  cost  $130,000,  but  $240,000  was  expended  before  it 
was  completed  according  to  the  original  design.  When  the  State  house  was  completed 
it  was  looked  upon  with  wonder  and  admiration  by  the  people.  It  was  thought  to  be 
so  enormous  in  size  that  it  would  answer  all  the  purposes  of  the  State  for  all  time  to 
come;  but  from  the  time  it  was  built  until  the  breaking  out  of  the  great  rebellion  the 
growth  of  Illinois  was  beyond  anything  that  could  have  been  imagined  by  the  early 
settlers. 

When  the  rebellion  came  to  an  end,  and  what  was  left  of  the  tivo  hundred  and  fifty- 
six  thousand  men  from  Illinois,  who  assisted  in  carrying  the  stars  and  stripes  until 
there  was  no  armed  foe  to  conquer,  returned  to  their  homes,  furled  their  banners,  and 
assumed  their  accustomed  places  in  the  peaceful  avocations  of  life,  it  soon  became  ap- 
parent to  all  who  had  occasion  to  visit  Springfield,  that  the  building  of  another  State 
house  could  not  be  delayed  for  any  great  length  of  time.  The  State  had  so  far  out- 
grown the  edifice,  which  had  been  regarded  as  a  wonder  of  magnificence  and  archi- 
tectural beauty  only  a  brief  quarter  of  a  century  before,  that  its  records  were  unsafe, 
and  many  branches  of  its  official  business  had  to  be  transacted  in  rented  buildings, 
where  much  of  its  valuable  property  was  exposed  at  all  times  to  the  danger  of  being 
destroyed  by  fire.  The  question  had  been  very  generally  discussed  in  a  quiet  way, 
and  soon  after  the  Legislature  assembled  in  January,  1867,  Hon.  James  C.  Conkling 
presented  a  bill  providing  for  the  erection  of  a  new  State  Capitol  at  Springfield,  and 
laid  it  before  the  House  of  Representatives.  It  passed  both  houses,  and  was  approved 
by  Governor  Oglesby  February  25,  1867,  with  a  supplementary  act  two  days  later. 
That  law  provided  for  the  conveyance  by  the  Governor  of  the  square  containing  two 
and  a  half  acres  of  land,  with  the  State  house  upon  it,  to  Sangamon  county,  for  a 
court  house,  in  consideration  of  $200,000,  to  be  paid  to  the  State  of  Illinois,  and  for  the 
further  consideration  that  the  city  of  Springfield,  and  Sangamon  county,  cause  to  be 
conveyed  to  the  State  a  certain  piece  of  land,  described  by  metes  and  bounds  in  the 
bill,  and  containing  between  eight  and  nine  acres,  upon  which  to  erect  the  new  State 
house.  The  law  also  provided  that  the  State  should  have  the  use  of  the  old  State 
house  until  the  new  one  should  be  ready  for  occupancy.  The  land  was  secured  at  a  cost 
to  the  city  of  $70,000,  and  conveyed  to  the  state;  the  $200,000  was  paid  by  the  county, 
and  that  amount,  with  $2^0,000,  to  be  drawn  from  the  State  treasury,  making  $450,000, 
was  appropriated  to  commence  the  work.  The  total  cost  of  the  building  was  limited 
to  $3,000,000.  The  design  by  J.  C.  Cochrane  was  adopted  July  15,  1867,  and  Jan.  14, 
1868,  he  was  appointed  architect  and  superintendent.  Excavation  commenced  early  in 
the  spring,  and  the  first  stone  was  laid  June  n.  On  the  fifth  of  October  the  corner 
stone  was  laid  by  the  Grand  Master  of  Free  Masons  of  the  State  of  Illinois,  with  the 
imposing  ceremonies  of  the  order,  and  surrounded  by  members  of  the  craft  from  all 
parts  of  the  State. 

The  ground  plan  is  in  the  form  of  a  great  cross.  The  grand  outlines  are,  total 
length  from  north  to  south,  359  feet,  exclusive  of  porticos;  and  from  east  to  west,  266 
feet,  with  twentv  feet  additional  in  the  grand  portico  at  the  east  end,  which  is  the  prin- 


SANGAMON  COUNTY. 


cipal  front.     The  body  of  the  edifice  above  ground  consists  of  the, FIRST  STORY,  PRIN- 
cii'Ai.  STORY,  SECOND  PRINCIPAL  STORY  and  GALLERY  STORY. 

July  2,  1870,  the  people  of  Illinois  voted  on  the  question  of  adopting  or  rejecting 
a  new  constitution,  that  had  been  prepared  by  a  convention  legally  called  for  that  pur- 
pose. It  was  adopted  by  a  large  majority.  A  clause  in  the  new  constitution  prohibited 
the  legislature  making  appropriations  for  the  State  house,  then  in  course  of  construc- 
tion, beyond  a  total  amount  of  three  and  a  half  millions  of  dollars,  unless  the  question 
of  additional  appropriations  was  first  submitted  to  a  vote  of  the  people.  The  money 
within  the  constitutional  limit  has  all  been  appropriated.  The  dates  of  approval  by 
the  Governor,  and  amounts,  are  given  below.  The  fourth  appropriation  was  to  be  ex- 
pended equally  in  the  years  1873-4: 

February  25,  27,  1867 $450,000 

March  1 1,  27,  1869 650,000 

June  14,  1871 600,000 

March  19,  1873 ' 1,000,000 

March  24,  1 87  =5 800,000 

Total $3,500,000 

There  is  much  work  yet  to  be  done,  but  whether  an  additional  appropriation,  re- 
quiring a  vote  of  the  people,  w^ll  be  necessary  to  complete  the  grand  edifice,  is  a 
question  for  a  future  legislature  to  determine.  The  building  was  so  far  advanced  that 
the  State  archives  were  removed  thereto,  and  the  State  officers  took  possession  of  it  in 
January  1876,  and  in  that  way  the  State  of  Illinois  inaugurated  the  great  American 
Centennial. 

GOVERNORS    OF     ILLINOIS. 

TERRITORIAL. 

Ninian  Edwards from   1809  to  1818 

STATE. 

Shadrach  Bond 1818—1822 

Edward  Coles 1822—1826 

Ninian  Edwards 1826—1830 

John  Reynolds 1830—1834 

Lieutenant-Governor  Casey,  elected  with  Gov.  Reynolds  in  1830,  was  elected  to 
Congress  in  1832.  Wm.  L.  D.  Ewing,  a  member  of  the  Senate,  was  chosen  President 
of  the  Senate.  Gov.  Reynolds  was  elected  to  Congress  in  August,  1834,  and  left  the 
State  for  the  national  capital  about  the  middle  of  November.  Wm.  L.  D.  Ewing,  as 
President  of  the  Senate,  was  Governor  fifteen  days,  until  the  assembling  of  the  Legis- 
lature in  December,  and  the  inauguration  of  the  governor  elect. 

Joseph  Duncan from  1834  to   1838 

Thomas  Carlin  . .  / from  1838  to   1842 

Thomas  Ford from  1842  to   1846 

The  constitution  of  1848  changed  the  time  of  the  assembling  of  the  Legislature 
from  December  to  January,  and  ordered  a  new  election  in  November,  1848,  for  four 
years.  Consequently — 


52  HISTORICAL  PRELUDE. 

Augustus  C.  French  was  Governor from  1846  to   1853 

Joel  A.  Matteson from  1853  to   1857 

Wm.  H.  Bissell from  1857  to   1860 

He  died  March  18,  1860,  and — 

Lieutenant-Governor  John  Wood from  1860  to   1861 

Richard  Yates from  1861   to   1865 

Richard  J.  Oglesby from  1865  to   1869 

John  M.  Palmer from  1869  to   1873 

Richard  J.  Oglesby,  inaugurated  in  1873,  but  immediately  elected  to  the  U.  S.  Senate, 

when  the  Lieutenant-Governor — 

John  L.  Beveridge from  1873  to   1877 

TOWNSHIP    ORGANIZATION. 

A  law  was  enacted  by  the  General  Assembly  of  Illinois,  and  approved  by  the  Gov- 
ernor, February  10,  1849,  providing  for  township  organization,  but  leaving  it  optional 
with  counties  to  adopt  it  or  not.  Sangamon  county  never  took  any  action  under  that 
law. 

Another  law  was  enacted  and  approved  February  17,  1851,  providing  for  township 
organization,  and  differing  from  the  law  of  1849  in  some  of  its  provisions.  Under  that 
law  a  petition  was  laid  before  the  commissioners'  court,  June  5,  1860,  praying  the  court 
to  cause  to  be  submitted  to  the  voters  of  the  county  the  question  of  township  organiza- 
tion. The  court,  having  heard  the  petition,  ordered  that  the  prayer  of  the  petitioners 
be  granted,  and  the  subject  be  submitted  at  the  next  general  election,  which  was  held 
Tuesday,  November  6,  1860.  The  vote  was  canvassed  by  the  court  on  the  tenth  of 
December  following,  when  it  was  ascertained  that  there  was  a  majority  of  859  votes  in 
favor  of  township  organization,  on  a  total  vote  of  7,241.  The  following  action  was 
then  taken :  "  Ordered  by  the  Court,  that  John  S.  Bradford,  John  Gardner,  Sen.,  and 
Joseph  Campbell  be  appointed  commissioners  to  divide  Sangamon  county  into  towns  or 
townships,  in  accordance  with  the  fifth  and  sixth  sections  of  the  General  Law  of  the 
State  of  Illinois,  in  relation  to  township  organization."  March  i,  1861,  the  commis- 
sioners submitted  their  report,  and  the  following  are  the  names  of  the  townships: 

Auburn,  Island  Grove, 

Ball,  Loami, 

Buffalo  Heart,  Mechanicsburg, 

Campbell,  now  Chatham,  Power,  now  Fancy  Creek, 

Cartwright,  Pawnee, 

Clear  Lake,  Rochester, 

Cooper,  Sackett,  now  Salisbury, 

Cotton  Hill,  Springfield, 

Curran,  Talkington, 

Gardner,  Williams, 

Illiopolis,  Woodside. 

New  Berlin  has  since  been  formed  from  part  of  Island  Grove,  and  Wheatfield  from 
part  of  Illiopolis,  making  a  total  of  24  townships. 


SANGAMON  COUNTY. 


An  election  was  held  for  choosyig  supervisors,  Tuesday,  April  2,  1861.  The  first  meet- 
ing of  the  Board  of  Supervisors  was  held  April  29,  1861,  on  a  call  of  eight  members, 
which  was  the  method  pointed  out  in  the  law.  From  that  to  the  present  time  the  bus- 
iness of  Sangamon  county  has  been  transacted  by  a  Board  of  Supervisors,  elected 
annually. 

POST    OFFICES    IN    SANGAMON    COUNTY. 

Auburn,  Illiopolis, 

Barclay,  Loami, 

Bates,'  Lowder, 

Berlin,  Mechanicsburg, 

Berry,  New  Berlin, 

*  Bradfordton,  f  New  Harmony, 
f  Breckenridge,  Pawnee, 

Buffalo,  Pleasant  Plains, 

Buffalo  Heart,  Richland, 

Cantrall,  Riverton, 

Chatham,  Rochester, 

Cotton  Hill,  Salisbury, 

Cross  Plains,  Sherman, 

Curran,  Springfield, 

Dawson,  Wheatfield, 

Farmingdale,  Williamsville, 

lies  Junction,  Woodside. 

*  This  is  a  new  office  authorized  by  the  post  office  department,  but  not  yet  organized.    Feb.,  1876. 

t  The  original  name  of  this  office  was  New  Harmony,  but  is  aboiu  being  changed  to  Breckenridge. 

SANGAMON     COUNTY     IN     THE     INDIAN     WARS. 

I  shall  have  occasion,  all  through  the  biographical  part  of  the  work,  to  make  frequent 
mention  of  the  part  taken  in  the  Winnebago  and  Black  Hawk  wars  by  the  early  set- 
tlers of  the  county;  for  that  reason  I  deem  it  best  to  give  a  brief  account  of  them  here-. 

THE  WINNEBAGO  WAR:  When  the  war  of  1812-14,  w'tn  England,  drew  to  a 
close,  there  were  many  Indians  in  the  territory  of  Illinois.  They  generally  gave  way 
as  civilization  advanced,  yielding  the  ground,  sometimes  reluctantly,  but  peaceably, 
until  the  summer  of  1827.  It  was  known  to  the  white  settlers  that  the  different  tribes 
of  Indians  along  the  northern  and  western  frontier  were  at  war  among  themselves. 
After  the  discovery  of  lead  around  what  is  now  Galena,  the  white  people  flocked  to 
that  region  in  great  numbers.  In  their  search  for  minerals  they  encroached  upon  the 
lands  of  the  Winnebago  tribe.  Being  thus  irritated,  a  small  party  of  their  tribe  sur- 
prised a  party  of  twenty-four  Chippeways  and  killed  eight  of  them.  The  United 
States  Commander,  at  Fort  Snelling,  on  the  upper  Mississippi,  caused  four  of  the  offend- 
ing Winnebagoes  to  be  arrested  and  delivered  to  the  Chippeways,  by  whom  they  were 
shot  for  murder.  Red  Bird,  the  chief  of  the  Sioux,  though  acting  with  the  Winneba- 
goes in  an  attempt  to  obtain  revenge  for  the  killing  of  the  four  members  of  their 
tribe,  was  defeated  by  the  Chippeways.  He  then  determined  to  wreak  his  vengeance 
on  the  white  people  who  had  assisted  his  enemies  and  invaded  his  country.  June  2yth 


54  HISTORICAL   PRELUDE. 


two  white  men  were  killed  near  Prairie  DuChien,  and  on  the  thirtieth  of  July  two 
keel  boats,  carrying  supplies  to  Fort  Snelling,  were  attacked  and  two  of  the  crew 
killed.  The  news  soon  spread  among  the  settlers,  and  upon  a  call  from  Gov.  Edwards, 
four  companies  of  infantry  and  one  of  cavalry  were  made  up  in  Sangamon  county. 
The  cavalry  company  was  commanded  by  Edward  Mitchell,  and  the  four  infantry 
companies  by  Captains  Thomas  Constant,  Reuben  Brown,  Achilles  Morris  and  Bowlin 
Green.  The  whole  under  command  of  Col.  Tom.  M.  Neale,  with  James  D.  Henry  as 
adjutant,  (the  latter  was  at  that  time  sheriff  of  Sangamon  county,)  marched  to  Peoria, 
where  the  regiment  was  more  fully  organized,  and  continued  to  Galena.  Before  their 
arrival  in  the  Indian  country,  Red  Bird  with  six  of  his  warriors,  voluntarily  gave  them- 
selves up  to  the  U.  S.  forces  under  Gen.  Atkinson,  to  save  their  tribe  from  the  miseries 
of  war.  Thus  ended  the  campaign,  and  the  Sangamon  county  soldiers  returned  to 
their  homes. 

Of  the  six  Indians  held  as  prisoners,  some  were  acquitted  and  others  convicted  and 
hung,  more  than  a  year  after  they  were  captured.  Red  Bird,  whose  proud  spirit  could 
not  endure  the  humiliation  and  confinement,  sickened  and  died  in  prison.  His  fate  was 
much  deplored  by  the  whites,  for  he  had  been  a  true  friend  to  them  until  the  United 
States  Government  compelled  his  Winnebago  friends  to  give  up  the  four  men  to  the 
Chippeways  to  be  shot. 

THE  BLACK  HAWK  WAR:  The  Sac  and  Fox  Indians  were  first  recognized  by  the 
United  States  Government  in  1787,  in  a  treaty  at  Fort  Harmer,  negotiated  by  Gov. 
St.  Clair,  in  which  the  Indians  were  guaranteed  protection.  In  1804,  in  a  treaty  con- 
ducted by  Wm.  H.  Harrison — afterwards  President  of  the  United  States — their  title  to 
a  large  scope  of  country  on  Rock  river  was  extinguished,  but  they  were  permitted  to 
occupy  the  country  as  a  hunting  ground,  their  principal  village  being  at  the  north  of 
Rock  river,  near  where  the  city  of  Rock  Island  now  stands.  A  third  treaty  was  en- 
tered into  in  1830,  by  the  terms  of  which  they  were  to  remove  from  the  lands  they 
had  sold,  east  of  the  Mississippi,  and  peaceably  retire  to  the  west  side  of  the  river. 

The  two  principal  chiefs  of  the  nation  were  Keokuk  and  Black  Hawk,  the  latter  of 
whom  was  born  in  1767,  at  the  largest  village  of  their  tribe,  at  the  mouth  of  Rock 
river.  He  had  fought  on  the  side  of  the  British  in  the  war  of  1812,  at  the  head  of  200 
savages,  for  which  he  annually  received  payment  to  the  time  of  their  removal  west  of 
the  Mississippi.  Consequently,  their  band  was  always  called  the  British  Band.  Black 
Hawk  moved  reluctantly,  claiming  that  his  tribe  had  been  injured  by  the  people  of  the 
United  States.  Keokuk  determined  to  abide  by  the  treaty,  and  drew  the  larger  part  of 
the  tribe  after  him,  but  Black  Hawk  declared  all  the  treaties  void,  and  in  the  spring  of 
1831,  at  the  head  of  300  warriors,  crossed  to  the  east  side  of  the  river  and  engaged  in  a 
series  of  acts  exceedingly  annoying  to  the  few  settlers  who  had  purchased  the  sites  of 
the  former  homes  of  the  Indians,  from  the  government.  The  Indians  would  throw 
down  fences,  destroy  grain,  throw  the  roofs  from  their  houses,  and  declared  that  if  the 
settlers  did  not  leave  they  would  kill  them.  Governor  John  Reynolds,  on  being  in- 
formed of  the  state  of  affairs  on  Rock  river,  determined  to  expel  the  Indians.  He 
issued  a  proclamation,  May  27,  1831,  calling  for  volunteers,  and  named  June  loth  as  the 
time,  and  Beardstown  as  the  place  of  rendezvous.  More  than  twice  the  700  men  called 
for  volunteered.  Finding  so  many  willing  to  go,  it  was  decided  to  accept  the  services 


SANGAMON    COUNTT, 


55 


of  the  whole  1,600  men.  They  were  organized  into  two  regiments,  one  spy  and  one 
odd  battalion.  James  D.  Henry,  of  Springfield,  who  had  been  the  adjutant  in  the 
Winnebago  Avar,  was  appointed  to  command  the  first  regiment.  I  will  now  confine 
myself  to  the  part  Sangamon  county  took  in  the  campaign.  James  Campbell,  Adam 
Smith,  and  Jonathan  R.  Saunders  each  commanded  a  company.  When  the  Indian 
town  was  reached  at  the  mouth  of  Rock  river,  it  was  found  to  be  deserted.  The  In- 
dians had  taken  advantage  of  the  darkness  and  fled  to  the  west  side  of  the  Mississippi 
river,  near  where  the  cities  of  Davenport  and  Rock  Island  now  stand.  The  savages 
having  escaped,  the  soldiers  took  vengeance  by  burning  the  village.  Gen.  Gaines,  who 
commanded  the  United  States  soldiers,  sent  an  order  to  Black  Hawk,  requiring  him 
and  his  band  to  return  and  enter  into  a  treaty  of  peace.  He  failed  to  come,  when  a 
more  peremptory  order,  with  the  threat  of  following  them  with  all  the  troops  at  his 
command,  brought  in  about  thirty  chiefs,  including  Black  Hawk,  and  a  treaty- 
was  signed  on  the  3Oth  of  June,  1831.  By  that  treaty  the  Indians  agreed  to  remain 
west  of  the  river,  and  never  to  cross  it  without  permission  from  the  President  of  the 
I  nited  States.  After  distributing  the  food  intended  for  sustaining  the  soldiers,  among 
the  Indians,  the  volunteer  army  disbanded  and  returned  to  their  homes,  without  the 
loss  of  a  single  person  by  disease,  accident,  or  otherwise. 

Before  the  Indians  were  forced  to  leave  their  village  and  return  to  the  west  side  of 
the  river,  Xaopope,  a  chief  of  the  British  band,  and  next  to  Black  Hawk  in  authority, 
had  started  on  a  visit  to  Maiden,  Canada,  to  consult  his  English  father — some  com- 
mander there,  probably — concerning  the  right  of  the  Indians  to  retake  possession  of 
their  lands  on  Rock  river.  On  his  return  he  also  visited  White  Cloud,  the  prophet  of 
the  Winnebagoes,  at  Prophetstown,  3:5  miles  from  the  mouth  of  Rock  river.  White 
Cloud  assured  his  visitor  that  not  only  the  British  but  the  Ottawas,  Chippewas,  Pota- 
\\attomies  and  Winnebagoes  yvould  assist  his  tribe  in  regaining  their  village  and  the 
lands  around  it.  When  Xaopope  returned,  in  the  summer,  he  found  his  tribe  west  of 
the  river,  and  bound,  bv  a  new  treaty,  not  to  interfere  \vith  the  whites  in  possession  of 
their  former  homes.  Notwithstanding  this,  he  communicated  to  Black  Hawk  the  en- 
couragement he  had  received.  Black  Hawk  immediately  commenced  recruiting  to  in- 
crease the  number  of  his  braves,  and  sent  a  messenger  to  Keokuk,  requesting  his  co- 
operation. The  latter  refused,  and  counseled  Black  Hawk  to  abstain  from  any  hostile 
movement,  assuring  him  that  the  promises  of  support  could  not  be  relied  on.  Black 
Hawk  rejected  such  good  advice,  and  resolved  to  bid  defiance  to  the  .whites.  He  spent 
the  winter  of  1831-2  in  recruiting,  and  raised  about  ^oo  warriors.  His  headquarters 
were  at  what  is  now  the  city  of  Fort  Madison,  Iowa.  In  the  spring  he  started,  with 
his  warriors,  on  horseback,  while  the  squaws,  papooses  and  baggage  were  loaded  in 
canoes,  and  all  moved  up  the  river.  April  6,  1832,  the  whole  party  crossed  the  Missis- 
sippi, opposite  the  mouth  of  Rock  river,  and  commenced  ascending  that  stream,  osten- 
sibly for  the  purpose  of  entering  the  territory  of  the  Winnebagoes  and  raising  a  crop 
\vith  them,  but  the  real  object  was  to  secure  them  as  allies. 

Gen.  Atkinson,  in  command  of  Fort  Armstrong,  on  Rock  Island,  sent  messengers 
ordering  them  to  return  west  of  the  Mississippi  river.  Black  Hawk  positively  re- 
fused to  go.  When  this  became  known  in  the  settlement  the  greatest  consternation 
prevailed,  and  the  settlers  fled  from  their  homes  in  search  of  safety.  Messengers  were 
dispatched  to  Yandalia,  and  Gov.  Reynolds  issued  a  call,  on  the  i6th,  for  volunteers  to 


HISTORICAL  PRELUDE. 


assemble  at  Bearclstown  on  the  22(1  of  the  month.  Gen.  Atkinson  at  the  same  time 
called  for  volunteers  to  aid  the  regular  soldiers  at  Rock  Island.  Gov.  Reynolds,  at  the 
time  of  issuing  the  call  for  volunteer  soldiers,  addressed  an  open  letter  to  the  citizens 
in  the  northwestern  counties,  and  sent  influential  messengers  among  the  people,  and  in 
every  wav  endeavored  to  encourage  enlistments.  Eighteen  hundred  men  rallied  under 
this  call  at  Beardstown,  on  the  22d  of  April.  Among  them  were  three  regularly  or- 
ganized companies  from  Sangamon  county.  One  was  commanded  by  Thomas  Moffitt, 
one  by  Jesse  Clay  well,  of  which  Rezin  H.  Constant  afterwards  became  Captain,  and 
one  by  Abraham  Lincoln.  They  were  divided  into  four  regiments  and  a  spy  battalion. 
The  First  regiment  was  commanded  by  Col.  DeWitt,  the  Second  bv  Col.  Fry,  the 
Third  by  Col.  Thomas,  the  Fourth  by  Col.  Samuel  M.  Thompson.  In  the  latter 
Abraham  Lincoln  commanded  a  company.  Col.  James  D.  Henry  commanded  the  spy 
battalion.  The  whole  brigade  was  put  under  the  command  of  Brigadier-Gen.  Samuel 
Whitesidesr  of  the  State  militia,  who  had  commanded  the  spy  battalion  in  the  first 
campaign. 

On  the  2yth  of  April  Gen.  Whitesides  began  his  forward  movement,  accompanied 
by  Gov.  Reynolds.  The  army  proceeded  by  way  of  Oquawka  to  the  mouth  of  Rock 
river,  where  it  was  agreed  between  Generals  Whiteside  and  Atkinson,  in  command 
of  the  regulars,  that  the  volunteers  should  march  up  Rock  river  to  Prophetstown, 
and  there  feed  and  rest  their  horses.  On  arriving  there  the  volunteers  burned  the  town, 
and  Gen.  Whiteside  continued  the  march  in  the  direction  of  Dixon,  arriving  at  the  lat- 
ter place,  the  General  ordered  a  halt,  and  sent  out  parties  to  reconnoitre.  Here  he 
found  two  battalions,  consisting  of  275  mounted  men,  from  the  counties  of  McLean, 
Tazewell,  Peoria  and  Fulton,  under  the  command  of  Majors  Stillman  and  Bailey. 
Major  Stillman  was  from  Sangamon  county.  (See  his  name.}  The  officers  of  this 
force  had  previously  been  ordered  in  advance  of  the  main  body  to  protect  the  settlers, 
and  now  they  asked  to  be  put  forward  on  some  dangerous  service,  in  which  they  could 
have  an  opportunity  to  distinguish  themselves.  They  were  accordingly  ordered  further 
up  Rock  river,  to  spy  out  the  Indians.  The  forward  movement  began  on  the  I2th  of 
May,  Major  Stillman  being  chief  in  command.  He  moved  up  Rock  river,  on  the 
southeast  side  until  they  came  to  a  small  stream  that  rises  in  Ogle  county  and  empties 
into  Rock  river.  This  stream  was  then  called  Old  Man's  creek,  but  from  that  date  has 
borne  the  name  of  Stillman's  run.  There  he  encamped  for  the  night,  and  in  a  short 
time  a  party  of  Indians  were  seen  on  horseback  about  a  mile  from  the  camp.  A  party 
of  Major  Stillman's  men  mounted  their  horses,  without  orders  or  commander,  and  were 
soon  followed  by  others,  and  in  this  belter  skelter  manner  pursued  the  Indians,  who, 
after  displaying  a  red  flag,  endeavored  to  make  their  escape,  but  were  overtaken  and 
three  of  them  slain.  This  brought  on  an  attack  from  the  main  body  of  Black  Hawk's 
army,  numbering  about  700  warriors.  Those  who,  by  their  insubordination,  brought 
on  the  fight,  retreated,  and,  with  their  horses  on  a  full  run,  dashed  through  the  camp 
of  Major  Stillman,  who  did  all  that  was  possible  by  ordering  his  men  to  retreat  in 
order  and  form  on  higher  ground,  but  they  never  found  a  rallying  point  until  they 
reached  Dixon,  thirty  miles  distant.  Both  Ford,  and  Davidson  &  Stuve,  in  their  his- 
tories of  Illinois,  exonerate  Major  Stillman  and  his  men  from  all  blame,  and  rightly 
attribute  the  disaster  to  want  of  discipline  and  that  experience  which  is  necessary  to 
"five  soldiers  confidence  in  their  officers  and  in  each  other. 


SANGAMOX  COUNTY. 


57 


That  opened  the  war,  and  there  could  be  no  cessation  of  hostilities  until  one  side  or 
the  other  yielded  the  ground.  It  is  not  my  purpose  to  attempt  following  out  all  the 
details  of  the  war,  but  will  hasten  to  a  close.  For  a  time  the  Indians  scattered  them- 
selves over  the  country.  They  would  lay  in  ambush  and  shoot  down  detached  bodies 
of  armed  men,  or  murder  and  scalp  unprotected  women  and  children.  Men  were  gen- 
erally enlisted  for  short  terms,  and  sometimes,  when  the  main  body  of  the  Indians  were 
almost  in  their  grasp,  the  term  of  enlistment  would  expire,  and  they  would  insist  on 
being  discharged.  To  fill  their  places  with  new  recruits  required  time.  At  the  time  of  the 
repulse  of  Major  Still  man  and  his  men,  there  were  about  twenty-four  hundred  men  under 
arms,  including  the  volunteers  from  Illinois  and  the  regular  soldiers  from  Fort  Arm- 
strong, under  Gen.  Atkinson.  They  could  have  killed,  or  driven  every  Indian  across 
the  Mississippi  river  in  one  month,  but  the  term  for  which  they  had  enlisted  had  nearly 
expired,  and  they  were  anxious  to  be  discharged.  The  Governor  had  previously  issued 
orders  for  raising  two  thousand  men.  He  then  called  for  a  volunteer  regiment  from 
among  those  whose  time  had  expired,  to  hold  the  Indians  in  check  until  the  new  re- 
cruits could  be  brought  to  the  scene  of  conflict.  It  was  soon  raised  and  put  under 
command  of  Col.  Fry  and  Lieutenant-Col.  James  D.  Henry.  Gen.  Whiteside  volun- 
teered as  a  private.  This  body  of  men  had  a  number  of  encounters  with  the  savages 
before  the  new  recruits  were  brought  into  the  field.  The  new  levy  assembled  at 
Beardstown,  and  were  at  once  ordered  to  Fort  Wilburn,  on  the  south  bank  of  the  Illi- 
nois river,  about  one  mile  above  the  town  of  Peru.  There  the  volunteer  forces  were 
organized  into  three  brigades.  The  first  and  second  were  organized  June  16,  1832, 
with  1,000  men  each.  Alexander  Posey  was  elected  General  of  the  first  and  Milton 
K.  Alexander,  General  of  the  second  brigade.  The  third  brigade  was  organized  June 
1  8th,  with  1,200  men,  and  Col.  James  D.  Henry  was  elected  General.  This  made  the 
volunteer  force  consist  of  3,200  men,  exclusive  of  the  regular  soldiers  under  Gen.  At- 
kinson. Many  weeks  were  spent  in  trying  to  find  the  main  body  of  Black  Hawk's 
warriors.  They  were  all  the  time  working  their  way  further  north,  hoping  to  elude 
their  pursuers.  The  army  was  continually  undergoing  changes.  July  15,  1832, 
found  Gen.  Henry,  Gen.  Alexander  and  Major  Dodge  far  up  in  Wisconsin,  at  a  place 
called  Fort  Winnebago.  Some  Winnebago  chiefs  came  in  and  reported  that  Black 
Hawk  was  encamped  on  Rock  river.  The  three  officers  above  named  held  a  council 
and,  although  it  was  in  violation  of  orders,  they  decided  to  march  directly  for  the  Indian 
camp,  hoping  to  take  them  by  surprise.  General  Alexander  soon  announced  that  his 
men  refused  to  go,  and  Major  Dodge  that  his  horses  were  too  much  disabled  to  go,  but 
a  body  of  men  soon  after  arrived  from  Galena  to  join  Major  Dodge's  battalion,  which 
made  his  effective  force  120  men.  Gen.  Henry's  brigade  was  by  this  time  reduced  to 
between  five  and  six  hundred  men,  but  only  about  four  hundred  and  fifty  had  horses. 
While  making  arrangements  to  start,  Gen.  Henry  discovered  that  his  own  men,  in- 
fluenced by  association  with  those  of  Gen.  Alexander,  were  on  the  point  of  open 
mutiny.  Lieutenant-Col.  Jeremiah  Smith,  of  one  of  his  regiments,  presented  to  the 
General  a  written  protest,  signed  by  all  the  officers  of  his  regiment  except  Col.  Fry, 
against  the  expedition.  Gen.  Henry  quietly  but  firmly  ordered  the  men  under  arrest 
for  mutiny,  assigning  a  body  of  soldiers  to  escort  them  back  to  Gen.  Atkinson.  Col. 
Smith  begged  permission  to  consult  a  few  moments  with  the  officers  before  anything 
further  was  done.  In  less  than  ten  minutes  they  were  all  at  the  General's  quarters, 
pleading  for  pardon  and  pledging  themselves  to  return  to  duty.  Gen.  Henry  replied 
—8 


58  HISTORICAL  PRELUDE. 

t 

in  a  few  dignified  and  kindly  remarks,  and  all  returned  to  their  duty.  Gen.  Alexanders 
men  marched  back,  and  the  others  started  in  pursuit  of  the  enemy,  under  the  direction 
of  competent  guides.  Three  days'  hard  marching  brought  them  to  Rock  river.  Here 
three  Winnebagoes  gave  intelligence  that  Black  Hawk  was  further  up  the  river.  Pre- 
parations were  made  for  a  forced  march  the  next  morning,  and  Dr.  Elms  Merriman, 
of  Springfield,  in  company  with  W.  \V.  Woodbridge,  of  Wisconsin,  and  a  chief  called 
Little  Thunder,  for  a  guide,  were  started  about  dark  that  evening  to  convey  dispatches 
down  the  river  to  Gen.  Atkinson.  They  had  gone  but  a  few  miles  to  the  southwest 
when  they  fell  into  a  fresh  broad  trail  of  the  enemy  endeavoring  to  escape.  Little 
Thunder  hastened  back  in  terror  to  the  camp  to  warn  the  Indians  that  their  efforts  to 
deceive  the  commanding  General  were  detected.  They  were  all  arrested  by  Major 
Murrey  McConnell,  of  Jacksonville,  and  taken  to  the  tent  of  Gen.  Henry,  and  confessed 
that  they  had  come  into  camp  and  given  false  information  to  aid  the  Indians  in  their 
retreat.  On  the  next  morning,  July  19,  a  forced  march  commenced  in  pursuit  of  the 
Indians.  On  the  third  day,  about  four  o'clock  in  the  afternoon,  the  advance  guard  was 
fired  upon  by  the  savages  secreted  in  the  grass.  The  fight  continued  until  dark,  and 
the  men  lay  on  their  arms  until  morning,  when  it  was  discovered  that  the  Indians  had 
all  crossed  the  Wisconsin  river  during  the  night.  Sixty-eight  Indians  were  left  dead 
on  the  field,  and  twenty-five  more  were  found  dead  along  the  line  of  march.  Only  one 
white  man  was  killed  and  eight  wounded.  This  has  always  been  known  as  the  battle 
of  the  Wisconsin. 

The  next  dav  Gen.  Henry  found  his  men  too  much  worn  down  by  fatigue  and  want  of 
food  to  pursue  the  retreating  Indians.  After  two  days  march  he  joined  Gen.  Atkinson 
at  Blue  Mounds,  with  the  regulars,  and  Alexander's  and  Posey's  brigades.  It  was  soon 
apparent  to  General  Henry  and  his  officers  that  General  Atkinson  and  all  the  regular 
officers  were  deeply  mortified  at  the  success  of  the  militia,  who  they  did  not  intend 
should  have  any  credit  in  the  war.  After  two  days'  preparation,  the  whole  force,  under 
direction  of  General  Atkinson,  took  up  their  line  of  march,  July  25th,  in  pursuit  of  the 
Indians.  Crossing  the  Wisconsin  river,  and  striking  the  trail  of  the  Indians,  the  regu- 
lars were  put  in  front,  Dodge's  battalion  and  Posey's  and  Alexander's  brigades  came 
next,  and  Gen.  Henry,  with  his  command,  was  placed  in  the  rear,  in  charge  of  the 
baggage.  All  parties  clearly  understood  this  to  be  an  insult  to  Gen.  Henry  and  his 
brave  volunteers  for  having  found,  pursued  and  defeated  Black  Hawk  and  his  warriors, 
while  the  regulars,  and  Alexander's  brigade,  who  had  refused  to  accompany  Henry, 
were  taking  their  ease  at  a  long  distance  from  the  scene  of  danger.  Gen.  Henry's 
brigade  keenly  felt  the  insult,  and  claimed  the  right  to  be  placed  in  front,  but  the  Gen- 
eral never  uttered  a  word  of  complaint,  and  his  men,  following  his  noble  example, 
quietly  trudged  on  in  the  rear.  After  a  full  week  of  weary  marching,  at  ten  o'clock  on 
the  morning  of  August  2cl,  the  army  reached  the  bluffs  of  the  Mississippi  river,  which, 
at  that  point,  was  some  distance  from  the  margin  of  the  stream.  Black  Hawk  had  ar- 
rived at  the  stream  a  day  or  two  before,  and  the  Indians  were  crossing  as  fast  as  they 
could.  On  the  first  day  of  August  the  steamboat  Warrior,  which  had  been  employed 
to  convey  supplies  up  the  river  for  the  army,  was  coming  down,  and  notwithstanding 
the  Indians  displayed  a  white  flag,  the  captain  affected  to  believe  it  was  only  a  decoy,  gave 
them  fifteen  minutes  to  remove  their  women  and  children,  when  he  fired  a  six-pound  can- 
non, loaded  with  cannister,  into  their  midst,  followed  by  a  severe  fire  of  musketrv.  In  less 


SANGAMON  COUNTT.  59 


than  an  hour  twenty-three  Indians  were  murdered,  it  might  almost  be  said,  in  cold 
blood.  Black  Hawk  now  turned  all  his  energies  to  reach  the  opposite  bank  of  the 
river.  With  that  object  in  view  he  sent  twenty  warriors  to  the  high  bluff.  When 
Gen.  Atkinson  reached  the  bluffs  on  the  morning  of  August  2d,  his  men  were  greeted 
by  firing  from  behind  trees.  The  tall  grass  made  it  impossible  to  learn  anything  of 
the  force  they  had  to  contend  with.  According  to  instructions  from  Black  Hawk, 
when  all  became  engaged  they  were  to  retreat  to  a  point  three  miles  up  the  river. 
Dodge's  battalion  led  in  the  chase  after  the  twenty  Indians,  followed  by  the  regulars 
and  Alexander's  and  Posey's  brigades,  all  under  the  immediate  direction  of  Gen.  At- 
kinson. In  the  hurried  pursuit  Gen.  Henry  was  called  on  for  a  single  regiment  to 
cover  the  rear  of  the  pursuing  forces.  Otherwise  his  whole  brigade  was  left  without 
orders. 

Despite  the  intention  to  disgrace  Gen.  Henry  and  his  men,  fortune  now  seemed  to 
favor  them.  The  men  under  Major  Ewing,  of  the  latter  brigade,  discovered  that  the 
trail  by  which  the  main  body  of  Black  Hawk's  forces  had  reached  the  river  was  lower 
down,  and  that  they  were  much  nearer  than  the  point  to  which  the  twenty  decoy  In- 
dians were  leading  the  main  forces.  He  who  had  been  placed  in  the  rear  as  a  mark  of 
special  disfavor,  by  the  strategy  of  a  few  savages,  who  had  thus  far  triumphed  over  the 
veteran  General,  was  now  thrown  again  to  the  front,  and  well  did  he  make  use  of  this 
favorable  circumstance.  Gen.  Henry,  being  notified  of  the  discovery  of  the  main  trail, 
descending  to  the  foot  of  the  bluff,  and  there  leaving  his  horses,  prepared  for  an  attack. 
The  trail  from  there  to  the  river  was  through  drift  wood,  brush  and  weeds.  Eight  men 
were  ordered  forward  to  the  perilous  duty  of  drawing  the  fire  of  the  Indians,  to  ascer- 
tain where  they  were.  Fully  aware  of  their  dangerous  mission,  they  moved  boldly 
forward  until  they  were  in  sight  of  the  river,  when  they  were  fired  upon  by  about  fifty 
Indians.  Five  of  the  eight  fell,  either  killed  or  wounded.  Gen.  Henry  immediately 
ordered  the  bugle  sounded  for  a  charge.  The  fiftv  Indians  fell  back  to  the  main  body, 
amounting  in  all  to  about  three  hundred  warriors.  This  made  the  force  about  equal  on 
both  sides.  The  fight  became  general  along  the  whole  line;  the  inspiring  strains  of  the 
bugle  cheering  on  the  volunteers;  the  Indians  were  driven  from  tree  to  tree  until  they 
reached  the  bank  of  the  river,  fighting  with  the  most  sublime  Courage,  and  contesting 
every  inch  of  ground.  At  the  brink  the  struggle  was  desperate,  but  of  short  duration. 
The  bloody  bayonet  in  the  hands  of  the  excited  soldiers  drove  them  into  the  surging 
waters,  where  some  tried  to  swim  to  the  opposite  shore,  others  only  aimed  to  reach  a 
small  willow  island. 

All  this  was  done  before  the  commanding  General  was  aware  that  the  volunteer 
General  and  men,  whom  he  intended  to  punish  for  having  found  and  defeated  the  In- 
dians at  the  battle  of  the  Wisconsin  river,  had  again  found  and  almost  exterminated  the 
main  body  of  the  enemy,  while  he  was  leading  the  largest  portion  of  his  army  after 
twenty  straggling  Indians,  whom  he  had  not  been  shrewd  enough  to  detect  in  their 
false  movements.  After  the  Indians  had  been  driven  into  the  river,  Gen.  Henry  de- 
spatched Major  McConnell  to  give  intelligence  to  Gen.  Atkinson  of  his  movements; 
but  while  pursuing  the  twenty  Indians  he  had  heard  the  firing  of  Gen.  Henry's  brigade, 
and  hastening  to  share  in  the  engagement,  met  the  messenger  near  the  scene  of  action. 
Some  of  the  newly  arrived  forces  chai'ged  through  the  water  to  the  island  and  kept  up 
the  fight  until  all  were  killed,  drowned,  captured,  or  made  their  escape  to  the  opposite 


60  HISTORICAL  PRELUDE. 


shore  of  the  river.  It  was  estimated  that  the  Indian  loss  amounted  to  one  hundred  and 
fifty  killed,  and  as  many  more  drowned,  including  women  and  children.  But  fifty 
prisoners  were  taken,  mostly  squaws  and  papooses.  The  largest  portion  of  the  Indians  es- 
caped across  the  river  before  the  battle  commenced.  The  American  loss  was  seventeen 
killed  and  twelve  wounded.  This  was  called  the  battle  of  the  Bad  Axe,  because  it 
was  fought  in  Wisconsin,  a  short  distance  below  the  mouth  of  the  river  Bad  Axe.  It 
was  above  Prairie  DuChien. 

That  Black  Hawk  brought  that  great  calamity  on  his  people  there  can  be  no  question, 
but  that  he  was  devoted  to  their  interests  his  last  move  testifies  beyond  a  doubt.  Find- 
ing himself  and  followers  almost  in  a  starving  condition,  pursued  by  a  foe  well  fed,  and 
otherwise  stronger  than  his  own  forces,  he  approached  the  brink  of  the  river,  hoping 
to  reach  the  opposite  bank  before  his  pursuers  could  overtake  him,  His  means  of 
transportation  being  inadequate,  he  finds  it  impossible  to  escape.  Knowing  that  his 
fate  is  sealed,  he  doubtless  gives  hasty  orders  that  the  canoes  be  plied  as  fast  as  possible, 
and  looking  for  the  last  time  upon  many  who  had  trusted  their  all  to  his  guidance,  he 
places  himself  at  the  head  of  a  handful  of  faithful  followers,  and  boldly  sallies  out  to 
meet  the  foe  one  hundred  and  fifty  times  stronger  than  himself,  his  only  hope  being  to 
turn  them  aside  until  his  own  people  should  escape.  How  his  heart  must  have  sunk 
when  he  heard  the  firing  and  knew  there  was  but  one  way  for  it  to  terminate.  When 
Gen.  Atkinson,  discovering  the  ruse,  ceased  the  pursuit  of  the  few  and  marched  to 
where  the  battle  was  raging,  Black  Hawk,  with  his  twenty  followers,  made  their  es- 
cape up  the  Mississippi  and  passed  over  to  the  Wisconsin  river.  They  were  finally 
captured,  far  up  that  stream,  by  a  party  of  Sioux  and  Winnebago  Indians,  who  pro- 
fessed to  sympathize  with  Black  Hawk  and  his  followers,  but  were  ready,  like  blood 
hounds,  to  hunt  them  down  when  they  most  needed  friendship,  and  when  there  was  a 
seeming  opportunity  to  gain  favor  with  the  strong  and  victorious  party.  Black  Hawk 
and  his  friends  were  delivered  to  Gen.  Street,  the  United  States  Indian  agent  at  Prairie 

0 

DuChien,  and  sent  by  Col.  Zachary  Taylor  down  to  Rock  Island.  Upon  arriving 
there  the  cholera  was  raging,  and  they  were  sent  down  to  Jefferson  Barracks,  Mo., 
where  a  treaty  was  made.  Black  Hawk  and  his  party  were  held  as  hostages  for  the 
good  behavior  of  their  tribe.  They  were  taken  to  Washington  City,  and  from  there 
to  Fortress  Monroe,  where  they  remained  uutil  July  4,  1833.  They  were  then  released, 
by  order  of  President  Jackson,  and  escorted  to  Baltimore,  Philadelphia,  New  York, 
and  other  cities,  and  returned  by  way  of  the  New  York  canal  and  northern  lakes, 
thence  to  their  own  people,  west  of  the  Mississippi  river.  Black  Hawk  died,  October  3, 
1840,  on  the  Des  Moines  river,  in  Iowa. 

Many  of  the  men  engaged  in  that  campaign  acquired  state  and  some  of  them  national 
reputation.  Among  them  may  be  mentioned  Joseph  Duncan  and  Thomas  Ford,  who 
became  Governors  of  Illinois,  Henry  Dodge,  who  became  Governor  of  Wisconsin, 
and  Zachary  Taylor  and  Abraham  Lincoln,  who  became  Presidents  of  the  United 
States. 

The  most  remarkable  man  of  all  engaged  in  that  campaign  was  Gen.  James  D. 
Henry,  and  if  that  had  been  an  age  of  newspapers  and  reporters,  he  would  have  ac- 
quired a  national  reputation  at  once.  That  he  was  the  hero  of  the  two  principal  bat- 
tles fought  in  expelling  the  Indians  in  that  campaign,  was  known  beyond  a  doubt,  and 


SANG  AM  ON  COUNTY.  61 


so  well  understood  by  the  Illinois  soldiers  from  all  parts  of  the  State,  that  the  opinion 
was  freely  expressed  that  if  he  had  lived  he  would  have  been  elected  Governor  by  an 
overwhelming  majority,  against  any  other  man.  Strange  as  it  may  seem,  he  was 
scarcely  heard  of  outside  of  the  State.  This  was  all  owing  to  the  fact  that  there  was 
but  one  paper  in  the  State  north  of  Springfield,  and  that  was  edited  and  published  by 
the  kind  of  man  that  brings  odium  on  the  press  whenever  he  touches  it. 

Dr.  Addison  Philleo  was  one  of  the  men  who  almost  publicly  commenced  dissecting 
the  body  of  VayNoy,  who  was  hung  in  Springfield  in  November,  1826.  He  was 
compelled  by  the  citizens  to  desist  from  the  disgusting  spectacle  tmtil  the  body,  was  re- 
moved to  a  more  private  place.  Dr.  Philleo  had  removed  to  Galena,  and  at  the  time 
of  the  Black  Hawk  war  was  publishing  a  paper  there,  called  the  Galenian.  He  at- 
tached himself  to  the  battalion  of  Major  Henry  Dodge,  of  Wisconsin.  Major  Dodge's 
battalion  was  a  part  of  Gen.  Henry's  brigade  when  Black  Hawk  and  his  forces  were 
discovered  by  Gen.  Henry.  Gov.  Ford,  in  his  history,  describing  the  chase  of  Gen. 
Henry  after  Black  Hawk,  says:  "On  the  third  day,  about  noon,  also,  the  scouts  ahead 
came  suddenly  upon  two  Indians,  and  as  they  were  attempting  to  escape,  one  of  them 
(  was  killed  and  left  dead  on  the  field.  Dr.  Addison  Philleo,  coming  along  shortly 
after,  scalped  this  Indian,  and  for  a  long  time  afterwards  exhibited  the  scalp  as  an 
evidence  of  his  valor." 

That  was  the  kind  of  man  the  world  was  dependent  upon  for  a  history  of  the  Black 
Hawk  campaign.  He  was  the  only  newspaper  man  with  the  army.  After  the  battle 
of  the  Wisconsin,  Dr.  Philleo  wrote  an  account  of  it  for  his  paper,  and  that  being  the 
first  paper  it  was  published  in,  was  copied  all  over  the  United  States.  He  chronicled 
the  doings  of  Major  Dodge  only,  and  always  spoke  of  him  as  General  Dodge.  Gen. 
Henry,  the  real  commander,  was  never  mentioned  except  as  a  subordinate.  By  this 
deception  many  histories  now  assert  that  Dodge  was  the  commander  in  that  war.  Gen- 
eral Henry  never  made  a  report  of  any  part  of  the  campaign,  and  those  errors  were 
never  officially  contradicted.  In  that  campaign  he  contracted  disease  of  the  lungs,  and 
afterwards  went  south,  hoping  that  the  climate  and  medical  treatment  would  restore 
his  health,  but  he  gradually  sank  until  March  4,  1834,  when  he  died  in  New  Orleans. 
See  his  name  in  the  biographical  department. 

I  have  been  thus  minute  in  this  sketch  of  the  Indian  wars,  because  almost  even* 
family  among  the  early  settlers  of  Sangamon  county  were  represented  in  the  army; 
and,  although  they  were  at  a  comparatively  safe  distance  from  the  scene  of  conflict, 
yet  their  sympathies  were  naturally  drawn  out  towards  those  who  were  in  danger. 
Another  reason  why  I  have  given  the  subject  such  prominence  is  that  there  is  no  recent 
history  of  those  wars  accessible  to  the  public. 

The  mention  I  shall  make  of  the  part  taken  by  the  descendents  of  the  early  settlers 
of  Sangamon  county  in  suppressing  the  great  rebellion  will  partake  of  a  much  wider 
range,  but  the  comparatively  recent  date  of  that  event,  and  the  publications  in  almost 
every  house  concerning  it,  precludes  the  necessity  of  my  attempting  any  extended  ac- 
count of  it  here. 


62  HISTORICAL  PRELUDE. 


MISCELLANEOUS. 

Under  this  head  I  shall   record   some  events  that  will  occasionally  he   referred  to   in  | 
the  biographical  part  of  the  work.     By  describing  them  fully  here,  a  bare  reference  to 
them  hereafter  will  be  understood.     The  two  most  important  were  the  "  deep  snow  " 
and  the  "  sudden  change." 

THE  DEEP  SNOW  : — What  is  here  spoken  of  as  the  "  deep  snow  "  must  be  taken 
relatively.  Snows  fall  almost  every  winter  much  deeper  in  New  York,  the  New 
England  States,  Canada  and  in  the  northern  latitudes  generally.  This,  however,  is 
distinguished  from  all  others  as  the  "deep  snow,"  because,  in  this  latitude,  the  like  of 
it  was  not  known  before,  and  has  not  been  known  since.  A  description  of  it  by  Rev. 
J.  M.  Sturtevant,  President  of  Illinois  College,  in  an  address  before  the  Old  Settler's 
Society  of  Morgan  county,  at  Jacksonville,  a  few  years  ago,  is  the  best  authority  I  can 
find.  Having  been  brought  up  where  such  snows  were  nothing  unusual,  he  would  be 
less  likely  to  be  deceived  in  his  judgment  than  one  who  had  never  witnessed  the  like 
before.  President  Sturtevant  says: 

"In  the  interval  between  Christmas,  1830,  and  January,  1831,  Snow  fell  all  over  cen- 
tral Illinois  to  a  depth  of  fully  three  feet  on  a  level.  Then  came  a  rain,  with  weather 
so  cold  that  it  froze  as  it  fell,  forming  a  crust  of  ice  over  this  three  feet  of  snow,  nearlv, 
if  not  quite,  strong  enough  to  bear  a  man,  and  finally,  over  this  crust  of  ice,  there  was 
a  few  inches  of  very  light  snow.  The  clouds  passed  away,  and  the  wind  came  down 
upon  us  from  the  northwest  with  extraordinary  ferocity.  For  weeks,  certainly  not  less 
than  two  weeks,  the  mercury  in  the  thermometer  tube  was  not,  on  any  one  morning, 
higher  than  twelve  degrees  below  zero.  This  snow  fall  produced  constant  sleighing 
for  nine  weeks." 

The  recollection  of  some  of  the  early  settlers  is  that  rain  fell  for  some  days,  until  the 
earth  was  saturated  with  water,  and  the  day  before  Christmas  the  rain  turned  to  snow, 
and  the  flakes  were  so  large  that  in  a  few  hours  it  attained  a  depth  of  six  inches.  I 
have,  time  and  again,  heard  this  snow  described  as  much  more  than  three  feet  deep, 
and  no  doubt  the  experience  of  those  making  the  statements  justified  them  in  it.  The 
situation  was  rather  alarming,  even  to  a  New  England  man.  There,  a  few  hours  of 
wind  blows  all  the  snow  from  exposed  places,  and  deposits  it  in  valleys  and  behind  hills, 
where  the  wind  cannot  reach  it.  It  is  only  where  the  roads  cross  these  receptacles  that 
it  is  necessary  to  break  a  track.  It  is  made  the  occasion  for  a  frolic  with  New  England 
people  to  turn  out  with  ox  teams  and  sleds  to  break  a  road,  and  then  thei'e  is  no  more 
trouble  until  the  next  snow  storm.  Such  work  here  would  have  been  useless.  In  this 
level  countrv  the  drifting  never  ceases  as  long  as  the  snow  lasts.  Any  number  of  teams 
might  break  a  track,  but  it  would  fill  behind  them  in  a  few  moments.  The  only  way 
they  finally  made  roads  here  was  by  wallowing  through  it,  and  going  as  near  the  same 
place  as  they  could,  until  the  snow  was  trodden  hard  and  rounded  up  like  a  turnpike 
road.  Many  instances  have  been  related  where  teams,  attempting  to  pass  each  other 
on  these  raised  roads,  found  it  too  narrow,  and  the  result  was  that  one  if  not  both  the 
vehicles  would  be  upset,  leaving  the  occupants  and  teams  floundering  in  the  snow.  To 


SANGAMON  COUNTY.  63 

regain  the  proper  position  on  the  road  was  not  always  an  easy  task.  Long  after  the 
great  body  of  the  snow  melted  off,  these  roads  remained.  One  man,  describing  them, 
said  they  looked  like  silver  threads,  stretching  over  the  prairies  as  far  as  the  eye  could 
reach. 

Railroads  were  not  then  dreamed  of,  but  they  would  have  been,  for  several  weeks,  as 
utterly  useless  as  though  they  were  sunk  out  of  sight  in  the  earth.  Snow  plows  would 
be  of  no  avail  in  such  a  storm  as  that,  for  the  track  would  fill,  in  less  than  an  hour, 
behind  any  train  that  might  force  its  way  though.  Quoting  again  from  President 
Sturtevant,  he  says:  "It  is  a  consolation  that  such  a  winter  has  never  occurred  but 
once  in  the  memory  of  man.  But  what  has  happened  once  may  happen  again.  If  it 
docs  we  shall  get  a  very  definite  idea  how  important  our  railroads  are  to  us,  and  we 
shall  be  very  glad  that  the  snow  is  not  over  the  telegraph  wires."  In  the  latter  clause 
he  no  doubt  had  reference  to  the  fact  that  in  those  days,  when  everything  was  right, 
they  did  not  have  or  expect  a  mail  more  than  once  a  week,  but  even  that  was  inter- 
rupted for  several  weeks  during  the  "  deep  snow." 

That  snow  come  so  early  in  the  season  that  it  caught  nearly  all  their  corn  in  the 
fields,  and  it  was  very  difficult  to  obtain  enough  of  it  to  keep  stock  from  perishing. 
Few  had  any  milling  done,  and  the  devices  were  numerous  to  reduce  the  grain  to  a 
condition  fine  enough  to  be  baked  into  something  resembling  bread.  Some  of  them 
will  be  described.  I  will  here  give  a  few  incidents  illustrating  some  of  the  straits  the 
people  were  put  to  in  order  to  preserve  life  and  property. 

Among  the  earliest  settlers  on  Sugar  creek  was  a  man  by  the  name  of  Stout — no  re- 
lation to  any  of  that  name  now  in  the  county.  He  had  raised  a  family,  but  his  wife 

had  died,  and  his  children  had  married  and  left  him  alone.     He  built  a  small  cabin  in 

i 

the  woods,  and  in  that  he  did  his  own  cooking,  slept,  and  worked  at  making  bread 
trays,  wooden  bowls,  rolling  pins,  wooden  ladles,  and  such  other  implements  as  every 
household  was  in  need  of.  He  traded  the  products  of  his  labor  for  something  to  eat  or 
wear,  seldom  receiving  or  expecting  any  money.  He  lived  very  comfortably  until  the 
"  deep  snow  "  come.  Then  his  open  cabin  and  scant  supply,  of  bedding  was  not  suffi- 
cient to  keep  him  warm.  He  went  around  among  his  neighbors  and  tried  to  obtain 
some  addition  to  his  bedding,  but  found  them  all  deficient  in  that  respect  themselves. 
He  finally  solved  the  difficulty  by  felling  a  large  tree  near  his  cabin,  took  a  cut  from  it 
of  suitable  length,  and  made  a  trough  inside,  the  full  length  of  his  body,  and  hewed  it 
oft"  on  the  outside  until  it  was  light  and  thin  enough  for  him  to  handle  easily.  He 
would  then  make  his  bed  on  some  chips  or  shavings,  as  he  had  done  before,  first  bring- 
ing his  trough  along  side,  and  when  snugly  covered  up,  he  would  take  the  trough  and 
turn  it  over  himself  for  covering.  As  soon  as  the  warmth  of  his  body  filled  the  space 
he  would  be  comfortable,  and  could  lay  snug  and  warm  until  morning.  There  was 
neither  floor  nor  chimney  to  his  cabin,  so  he  made  the  fire  on  the  ground.  When  the 
weather  was  extremely  cold  he  would  move  his  fire  just  before  retiring,  scraping  the 
coals  and  ashes  carefully  away,  and  then  make  his  bed  where  the  fire  had  been  during 
the  day.  This  is  a  new  proof  of  the  oft  repeated  adage,  that  "  Necessity  is  the  mother 
of  invention." 

DEATHS  ix  THK  SNOW: — Very  many  cases  occurred  of  persons  being  lost  in  the 
snow,  ending  in  death.  I  will  mention  a  few  here,  but  others  will  be  referred  to  in  the 
succeeding  parts  of  the  work. 


64  HISTORICAL   PRELUDE. 


A  man  named  William  Saxton  lived,  on  Lick  creek,  above  Loami.  He  went  hunt- 
ing, and  failing  to  return,  his  friends  and  neighbors  went  in  search  of  him,  and  found 
his  body  about  one  mile  from  his  home,  where  he  had  sunk  down,  and  appeared  as  if 
asleep. 

Samuel  Legg  started  from  Sugar  creek,  not  far  above  where  the  C.  and  A.  railroad 
now  crosses,  intending  to  go  to  Richland  timber,  near  where  Pleasant  Plains  now 
stands.  He  was  not  heard  of  until  the  next  April,  when  the  remains  of  himself  and 
horse  were  found,  nearly  consumed  by  wolves.  He  had  gone  but  a  few  miles,  as  the 
body  was  found  on  what  is  now  the  farm  of  John  B.  Fowler,  a  few  miles  west  of 
Chatham.  A  bottle  with  a  small  quantity  of  whiskey  was  found  near  his  remains. 

A  man  started  from  the  timber  on  Horse  creek  to  chase  a  wolf  while  the  snow  was 
falling.  He  was  not  seen  nor  heard  of  until  the  next  spring,  when  his  body  was  found 
at  a  place  called  Willow  grove,  in  Shelby  county.  His  horse  and  dog  were  found  with 
him,  and  all  had  perished  together.  The  distance  was  about  forty  miles  from  where 
he  started.  It  was  thought  that  he  became  bewildered  by  the  falling  snow,  and  con- 
tinued his  efforts  until  his  horse,  dog  and  himself  sank  down  to  die. 

William  Workman  w>ent  hunting  in  the  Lick  creek  timber,  south  of  Loami.  He 
walked  on  the  crust  of  the  snow,  and  was  approaching  a  deer  for  the  purpose  of  shoot- 
ing it.  Without  being  aware  of  it,  he  was  over  a  ravine  of  considerable  depth.  The 
crust  broke  and  he  went  down.  Raising  his  rifle  gun  he  could  barely  reach  the  crust 
with  it.  By  tramping  the  snow  under  his  feet  until  it  became  solid,  he  found  himself 
gradually  rising  with  the  slope  of  the  ground,  and  by  reaching  up  with  his  gun  and 
breaking  the  crust,  he  finally  escaped,  but  he  says  it  was  a  long  and  laborious  operation. 
Simeon  Vancil  relates  an  experience  very  similar. 

So  completely  did  the  snow  cover  everything  that  wild  game  was  accustomed  to 
feed  upon,  that  the  deer,  turkey,  and  some  other  kinds  of  game,  were  almost  extermi- 
nated. There  was  another  reason  why  it  was  destructive  to  the  deer.  That  animal 
runs  by  a  succession  of  leaps,  and,  as  a  natural  consequence,  the  faster  they  ran  the 
greater  would  be  the  force  with  which  they  struck  the  snow.  When  pursued  by  dogs, 
a  few  vigorous  leaps  would  stop  them  short,  their  small,  sharp  hoofs  breaking  through 
the  crust,  would  leave  them  helpless,  with  their  bodies  resting  on  the  snow.  At  the 
same  time  a  dog  or  wolf  of  equal  weight  would  pass  safely  over,  because,  by  their 
manner  of  running,  they  did  not  strike  the  snow  with  such  force,  and  even  if  they  had, 
their  soft,  pad-like  feet  would  be  less  likely  to  break  the  crust. 

It  required  but  a  short  time,  thus  shut  off  from  food,  for  the  deer  to  become  too  lean 
for  venison.  All  thoughtful  people  then  abstained  from  killing  them,  but  there  were 
others  who  thought  only  of  the  sport,  and  destroyed  them  where  and  when  they  could. 
Dogs  and  wolves,  learning  that  they  could  be  made  to  break  through  the  crust  and  be- 
come disabled,  chased  down  and  destroyed  great  numbers  of  them.  From  all  these 
causes  the  deer  were  almost  exterminated,  and  they  never  become  plentiful  afterwards. 

Mr.  Simeon  Vancil,  who  came  to  the  county  in  the  fall  of  1818,  says  that  it  was 
very  common  to  see  large  quantities  of  buffalo  bones  on  the  highest  points  of  land.  In 
explanation  of  that  there  was  a  tradition  among  the  Indians  who  remained  in  the 
country  to  hunt,  after  the  white  settlers  come  in,  that  there  had  been  a  "  deep  snow  " 
about  thirty  years  before,  say  about  1800,  and  that  the  buffalo,  herding  together  on  the 


SANG  AM  OX  COUNTT.  6; 


highest  ground,  because  the  snow  was  thinnest,  remained  there  and  perished  with  cold 
,  and  hunger.     Of  course  this  was  only  given  as   a  tradition,  coming  from  the   Indians. 
There  could  be  no  corroborative  testimony  from  civilized   men,  for  the  simple  reason 
that  there  were  none  in  the  country. 

THE  SUDDEN  CHANGE: — Soon  after  commencing  the  collection  of  materials  for 
this  work,  I  was  frequently  asked  the  question,  "  Has  any  person  told  you  about  the 
sudden  change?"  My  answers  at  first  would,  for  obvious  reasons,  be  in  the  negative. 
The  interrogator  would  then  undertake  to  give  me  an  account  of  it,  but  I  was  never 
able  to  learn  that  any  person  in  the  county  had  kept  a  record  of  the  indications  of  a 
thermometer  at  that  time,  or  that  there  was  a  thermometer  in  the  county;  and  fora 
long  time  I  could  not  ascertain  the  year  in  which  it  took  place. 

In  an  interview  with  Mr.  Washington  Crowder,  the  date  was  settled  in  his  own 
peculiar  method.  Mr.  Crowder  remembers  that  on  the  morning  of  December  20,  1836, 
he  started  from  a  point  on  Sugar  creek  about  eight  miles  south  of  Springfield,  to  the 
latter  place,  for  the  purpose  of  obtaining  a  license  for  the  marriage  of  himself  and  Miss 
Isabel  Laughlin.  He  had  finished  his  courting  on  the  nineteenth,  with  the  understand- 
ing that  the  marriage  was  to  take  place  on  the  twenty-first,  leaving  the  twentieth  for 
obtaining  the  license.  There  were  several  inches  of  snow  on  the  ground,  but  rain  was 
then  falling  slowly,  and  had  been,  long  enough  to  turn  the  snow  to  slush.  Every  time 
the  horse  put  his  foot  down  it  went  through  the  slush,  splashing  it  out  on  all  sides. 
Mr.  Crowder  was  carrying  an  umbrella  to  protect  himself  from  the  rain,  and  wore  an 
overcoat  reaching  nearly  to  his  feet.  When  he  had  traveled  something  like  half  the 
distance,  and  had  reached  a  point  about  four  miles  south  of  Springfield,  he  had  a  fair 
view  of  the  landscape,  ten  or  twelve  miles  west  and  north.  He  saw  a  very  dark  cloud, 
a  little  north  of  west,  and  it  appeared  to  be  approaching  him  very  rapidly,  accompanied 
by  a  terrific,  deep,  bellowing  sound.  He  thought  it  prudent  to  close  his  umbrella,  lest 
the  wind  should  snatch  it  from  his  hands,  and  dropped  the  bridle  reins  on  the  neck  of 
his  horse  for  that  purpose.  Having  closed  the  umbrella  and  put  it  under  his  arm,  he 
was  in  the  act  of  taking  hold  of  the  bridle  rein,  when  the  cold  wave  struck  him.  At 
that  instant  water  was  dripping  from  every  thing  about  him,  but  \vhen  he  drew  the 
reins  taut,  ice  rattled  from  them.  The  water  and  slush  was  almost  instantly  turned  to 
ice,  and  running  water  on  sloping  ground  was  congealed  as  suddenly  as  molten  lead 
would  harden  and  form  in  ridges  if  poured  on  the  ground.  Mr.  Crowder  expressed 
himself  quite  sure  that  within  fifteen  minutes  from  the  time  the  cold  blast  reached  him 
his  horse  walked  on  top  of  the  snow  and  water,  so  suddenly  did  it  freeze. 

When  he  arrived  in  Springfield  he  rode  up  to  a  store  at  the  west  side  of  Fifth  street, 
between  Adams  and  Monroe,  a  few  doors  south  of  where  Bunn's  bank  now  stands. 
He  there  attempted  to  dismount,  but  was  unable  to  move,  his  overcoat  holding  him  as 
firmly  as  though  it  had  been  made  of  sheet  iron.  He  then  called  for  help,  and  two 
men  come  out,  who  tried  to  lift  him  off,  but  his  clothes  were  frozen  to  the  saddle,  which 
they  ungirthed,  and  then  carried  man  and  saddle  to  the  fire  and  thawed  them  asunder. 
After  becoming  sufficiently  warm  to  do  so,  Mr.  Crowder  went  to  the  county  clerk's 
office,  obtained  his  license,  and  by  driving  his  horse  before  him,  returned  to  where  he 
had  started  in  the  morning.  The  next  day  he  started  on  horseback,  but  found  the 
traveling  so  difficult  on  the  ice  that  he  dismounted,  tied  up  the  bridle,  left  his  horse  to 
—9 


66  HISTORICAL  PRELUDE. 


find  the  way  back  home,  and  went  on  foot  to  the  house  of  his  affianced,  where  he  was 
married  at  the  time  appointed.  Mr.  Crowder  admits  that  it  was  a  very  thorough  test 
of  his  devotion,  but  it  must  be  conceded  that  he  proved  himself  equal  to  the  emer- 
gency. 

Other  evidences  of  the  suddenness  and  intensity  of  the  cold  are  numerous.  Rev. 
Josiah  Porter,  of  Chatham — see  his  name — remembers  that  the  cold  wave  reached 
Chatham  about  half  past  twelve  o'clock, noon;  that  he  consulted  his  watch  at  the  time, 
and  knows  he  is  correct.  His  recollection  of  the  suddenness  and  intensity  of  the  cold 
corroborates  the  account  given  by  Mr.  Crowder.  Although  Mr.  Porter  was  in  Chat- 
ham at  the  time  of  the  sudden  change,  and  resides  there  now,  he  was  then  doing  the 
work  of  an  evangelist,  which  led  to  his  traveling  over  a  large  portion  of  Illinois  and 
Indiana.  In  the  discharge  of  his  duties  he  became  acquainted  with  a  remarkable  cir- 
cumstance that  occurred  in  what  is  now  the  west  part  of  Douglas  county,  near  the  cor- 
ner of  Piatt  and  Moultrie  counties.  Two  brothers  by  the  name  of  Deeds  had  gone 
out  to  cut  a  bee  tree,  and  were  overtaken  by  the  cold  and  frozen  to  death.  Their  bodies 
were  found  ten  days  later,  about  three  miles  from  home. 

The  extent  of  that  cold  wave  may  not  be  generally  known.  That  it  first  touched 
the  earth  west  or  north-west  of  here  is  highly  probable,  from  the  fact  that  it  reached 
here  at  half  past  twelve,  noon,  according  to  the  time  noted  by  Mr.  Porter.  He  also 
learned  that  it  was  nearly  sundown  when  the  cold  reached  the  point  in  Douglas  county 
where  the  two  brothers  perished.  I  also  learned  from  a  gentlemen  in  this  county  that 
at  the  fime,  his  father  kept  a  hotel  at  Labanon,  Ohio,  and  although  his  account  would 
indicate  that  the  cold  wave  had  spent  some  of  its  force,  yet  when  it  arrived  there  it  froze 
some  wagons  fast  in  the  mud  in  an  incredibly  short  time,  while  some  travelers  were 
discussing  the  terms  for  staying  all  night.  It  reached  there  at  nine  o'clock.  Putting 
the  statements  as  to  time  and  place  together,  it  would  appear  that  the  cold  wave  trav- 
eled something  near  three  hundred  miles  in  eight  and  a  half  hours,  or  about  thirtv-five 
miles  an  hour.  These  statements  have  been  given  to  me  altogether  from  memory, 
more  than  thirty-five  years  after  the  event,  and  no  doubt  vary  greatly  from  what  a 
scientific  report  at  the  time  would  have  presented. 

A  great  many  instances  have  been  related  to  me,  in  all  parts  of  the  county,  of  the 
suffering  by  men  and  animals.  It  has  been  told  me  time  and  again  that  chickens  and 
geese,  also  hogs  and  cows,  were  frozen  in  the  slush  as  they  stood,  and  unless  they  were 
extricated  by  cutting  the  ice  from  about  their  feet,  remained  there  to  perish. 

Andrew  Heredith  was  a  merchant  miller  and  pork  packer  in  Cincinnati,  Ohio. 
Through  misfortunes  incident  to  business  he  failed.  Among  other  misfortunes,  he  had 
a  pork  house  burn  there.  Preston  Breckenridge,  of  this  county,  happened  to  be  in 
Cincinnati,  and  remembers  being  an  eye  witness  to  the  burning.  After  his  failure, 
Mr.  Heredith  was  aided  by  friends  to  commence  business  in  Sangamon  county.  He 
built  a  flouring  mill  about  three  miles  west  of  Loami,  near  what  is  called  Lick  creek, 
and  called  the  place  Millville.  He  bought  wheat  and  made  flour;  also  bought  and 
drove  fat  hogs  to  St.  Louis.  In  the  fall  of  1836  he  bought  and  drove  two  lots  to  St. 
Louis,  and  made  some  money  each  time.  He  used  all  the  capital  at  his  command,  and 
all  the  credit  his  successes  gave  him,  and  collected  a  third  drove  of  between  1,000  and 
1,^00  hogs,  and  was  driving  them  to  St.  Louis.  The  country  was  so  sparsely  settled 


SANGAMON    COUNTY.  67 

that  he  found  it  expedient  to  start  with  three  or  four  wagons,  loaded  with  corn  to  feed 
the  hogs.  When  a  load  was  fed  out  there  were  generally  a  sufficient  number  of  hogs 
exhausted  by  traveling  to  load  the  wagon.  Mr.  Heredith  had  reached  a  point  on  the 
open  prairie  eight  miles  south  of  Scottville,  Macoupin  county,  when  the  cold  wave 
overtook  him.  Finding  that  men  and  animals  were  likely  to  perish,  he  called  the  men 
together,  upset  all  except  one  of  the  wagons,  in  order  to  leave  the  corn  and  hogs 
together,  righted  up  the  wagons,  and  with  all  the  men  in  them,  drove  to  the  nearest 
house,  and  before  they  could  reach  there  all  became  more  or  less  frozen,  but  none  lost 
their  lives. 

The  hogs,  thus  abandoned,  piled  on  each  other.  Those  on  the  inside  smothered,  and 
those  on  the  outside  froze.  A  pyramid  of  about  500  dead  hogs  was  thus  built.  The 
others  wandered  about  and  were  reduced  to  skeletons  by  their  sufferings  from  the  cold, 
the  whole  proving  a  total  loss.  Mr.  Heredith  was  a  man  of  good  business  qualifications, 
and  of  great  energy.  He  was  making  superhuman  efforts  to  retrieve  his  fortunes,  but 
that  blow  crushed  him;  he  never  rose  again,  but  sank  down  and  in  a  short  time  died. 
In  the  biographical  part,  see  his  name. 

JAMES  HARVEY  HILDRETH: — At  the  time  Rev.  Mr.  Porter  gave  me  his  recollec- 
tions connected  with  the  "  sudden  change,"  he  told  me  that  some  years  later  he  met  a 
man  in  DeWitt  county,  by  the  name  of  Hildreth,  who  was  crippled  in  his  hands  and 
feet.  He  said  Mr.  Hildreth  informed  him  that  it  had  been  caused  by  his  being  caught 
away  from  shelter  at  the  time  of  the  "  sudden  change."  Mr.  Hildreth  then  gave  him 
a  detailed  account  of  his  sufferings  and  experience,  which  Mr.  Porter  gave  to  me  from 
memory.  This  made  such  an  impression  on  my  mind  that  I  was  anxious  to  know 
more  of  the  incident.  In  the  course  of  my  travels  over  the  county,  I  was  at  the  house 
of  Mrs.  Thomas  J.  Turley.  See  the  Turley  and  Trotter  names.  How  the  subject 
came  up  I  do  not  remember,  but  I  learned  from  Mrs.  Turley  that  Mr.  Hildreth  was 
her  cousin.  She  gave  me  additional  information,  and  referred  me  to  another  cousin — 
of  herself  and  Mr.  Hildreth — Mr.  Moses  Kenny,  of  Kenny,  Logan  county.  I  deferred 
writing  to  that  gentleman  until  I  was  drawing  my  work  to  a  close,  and  when  I  did  so, 
was  answered  by  Mr.  John  Kenny,  of  the  same  place,  who  informed  me  that  his 
brother  Moses  was  dead.  Mr.  John  Kenny  answered  all  my  inquiries,  and  referred 
me  to  Mr.  A.  L.  Barnett,  of  Clinton,  DeWitt  county.  He,  also,  kindly  responded.  All 
the  parties  consulted  bear  the  very  highest  character  for  truthfulness.  It  is  from  this 
mass  of  information  that  I  give  the  following  account  of  the  case.  Although  the  par- 
ticular event  I  am  about  to  relate  did  not  occur  in  this  county,  it  illustrates  an  atmos- 
pheric phenomena  that  affected  this  entire  region  of  country  j  and  was  so  remakable 
that  the  like  of  it  is  not  on  record,  nor  known  by  any  person  now  living,  and  it  is  to  be 
hoped  that  it  may  never  be  known  again.  It  is  to  be  regretted  that  there  is  no  scien- 
tific knowledge  on  record  of  the  event.  The  country  was  so  new,  and  the  settlers  of  a 
class  generally  of  limited  education,  so  much  so  that  I  have  been  unable  to  learn  of  a 
family  in  the  county  who  owned  a  thermometer  at  the  time.  But  now  to  the  subject. 

James  H.  Hildreth  was  born  about  1812,  in  Bourbon  county,  Ky.  He  came  to  Illi- 
nois about  1833  or  '4,  and  settled  on  Vermilion  river,  near  Georgetown,  Vermilion 
county,  and  engaged  in  cattle  trading.  Mr.  Hildreth,  then  twenty-four  or  twenty-five 
years  of  age,  was  a  very  stout  and  rugged  young  man.  He  left  home  on  the  nineteenth 


68  HISTORICAL   PRELUDE. 


of  December,  1836,  in  company  with  another  young  man  by  the  name  of  Frame,  in- 
tending to  go  to  Chicago,  both  on  horseback.  On  the  second  day  out,  December  2oth, 
they  entered  the  border  of  a  large  prairie,  and  the  next  timber  was  many  miles  distant, 
on  Hickory  creek,  a  tributary  of  Iroquois  river,  and  now  in  Iroquois  county.  It 
rained  all  the  forenoon,  and  the  earth  was  covered  with  water.  They  encountered  a 
slough  containing  so  much  water  they  did  not  like  to  attempt  passing  through  it.  In 
order  to  head  the  slough  they  rode  some  miles  in  a  northeast  direction,  and  having 
crossed  it,  turned  northwest  to  regain  their  course.  That  was  about  the  middle  of  the 
afternoon.  It  suddenly  ceased  raining  and  the  cold  wave  came  in  all  its  fury  from  the 
northwest,  striking  them  square  in  the  face.  They  were  then  out  of  sight  of  any 
human  habitation,  and  their  horses  became  absolutely  unmanageable,  and  drifted  with 
the  wind,  or  across  it,  until  dark  closed  in  upon  them.  How  long  they  were  discussing 
what  to  do  is  not  stated,  but  they  finally  agi'eed  to  kill  each  the  others  horse.  They 
dismounted  and  Hildreth  killed  Frame's  horse.  They  took  out  the  entrails,  and  both 
crawled  into  the  carcass  as  far  as  they  could,  and  lay  there,  as  near  as  Hildreth  could 
judge,  until  about  midnight.  The  animal  heat  from  the  carcass  having  become  ex- 
hausted, they  crawled  out,  intending  that  Frame  should  kill  Hildreth's  horse,  and  both 
crawl  into  it.  Just  then  the  one  having  the  knife  dropped  it,  and  it  being  dark,  they 
were  unable  to  find  it.  Being  thus  foiled  in  their  purpose,  they  both  huddled  about 
the  living  horse  as  best  they  could,  until  about  four  o'clock  in  the  morning.  Frame 
by  that  time  was  so  benumbed  with  the  cold  that  he  became  sleepy,  and  notwithstand- 
ing Hildreth  used  every  exertion  to  keep  him  up,  he  sank  down  in  a  sleep  from  which 
he  never  awakened. 

The  feelings  of  Hildreth  at  this  juncture  can  only  be  left  to  the  imagination.  He 
managed,  by  jumping  about,  to  keep  from  freezing  until  daylight,  when  he  got  on  his 
horse  and  started  in  search  of  shelter.  In  mounting  he  dropped  his  hat,  and  was  afraid 
to  get  off,  fearing  he  would  never  be  able  to  mount  again.  Thus,  bare  headed,  he 
wandered  about  for  some  time,  until  he  reached  the  bank  of  a  stream,  supposed  to  be 
Vermilion  river.  Seeing  a  house  on  the  opposite  shore,  he  hallooed  as  best  he  could 
until  he  attracted  the  attention  of  the  man,  who,  after  learning  what  he  wanted,  said 
he  could  not  assist  him.  A  canoe  was  lying  at  the  opposite  shore,  but  he  affected  to  be 
afraid  of  the  running  ice.  Hildreth  then  offered  him  a  large  price  if  he  would  cut  a 
tree  and  let  it  fall  over  the  stream  so  that  he  could  cross.  The  man  still  refused,  and 
directed  Hildreth  to  a  grove  which  he  said  was  a  mile  distant,  where  he  would  find  a 
house.  He  went,  but  it  was  five  miles,  and  the  house  proved  to  be  a  deserted  cabin. 
He  returned  to  the  river  opposite  the  house,  called  again  for  help,  and  was  refused.  He 
then  dismounted,  crawled  to  the  bank,  and  found  that  the  ice  had  closed  and  was  suffi- 
ciently strong  to  bear  him,  and  he  crawled  over.  Arriving  at  the  fence,  the  brutal 
owner  of  the  place  refused  to  help  him,  and  he  tumbled  over  it,  and  crawling  in  the 
house,  laid  down  near  the  fire.  Hildreth  lay  and  begged  for  assistance,  and  when  the 
man  would  have  relented  and  done  something,  his  wife  restrained  him.  The 
frozen  man  lay  there  until  four  o'clock  that  afternoon,  when  some  hog  drovers  came 
along  and  moved  him  to  another  house,  where  he  was  properly  cared  for.  The  name 
of  the  inhuman  wretch  was  Benjamin  Russ.  After  learning  of  his  inhumanity,  a  move- 
ment was  made  to  punish  him,  but  he  fled.  Mr.  Hildreth  always  expressed  the  belief 
that  his  offering  to  pay  liberally  for  cutting  a  tree  across  the  river,  led  them  to  think 


SANGAMON  COUNTY.  69 


that  he  had  a  large  amount  of  money,  and  that  if,  by  their  neglect,  he  perished,  they 
could  obtain  it.  Such  a  being  was  very  rare  among  the  early  settlers  of  central  Illinois, 
who  were  remarkable  for  their  readiness  to  divide  their  comforts  with  all  new  comers, 
and  especially  those  who  were  in  affliction. 

Mr.  Hildreth  met  with  a  heavy  loss,  financially,  by  his  failure  to  go  to  Chicago.  He 
was  conveyed  back  to  the  house  of  his  brother  in  Vermilion  county,  where  all  the  toes 
were  taken  from  both  feet,  and  the  bones  of  all  his  fingers,  except  one  joint  of  the 
thumb  on  his  right  hand,  which  enabled  him  to  hold  a  pen  or  a  drover's  whip.  Soon 
after  recovering  sufficiently  to  enable  him  to  travel,  he  removed  to  DeWitt  county,  where 
he  continued  trading  in  cattle.  He  was  married,  April  7,  1847,  in  DeWitt  county,  to 
Adaline  Hall.  His  left  foot  never  healed  entirely,  and  nearly  twenty-two  years  after 
his  misfortune,  it  became  alarming,  and  he  had  the  leg  amputated  below  the  knee.  It 
soon  healed,  but  his  lungs,  already  diseased,  caused  his  death  about  the  middle  of  June, 
1858,  near  Mt.  Pulaski,  Illinois. 

He  has  three  children  now  living.  Henry  resides  near  Chesnut,  Logan  county. 
John  lives  in  Logan  county,  near  Kenny,  DeWitt  county.  His  daughter  Sarah  mar- 
ried William  Weedman,  and  resides  near  Farmer  City.  Mrs.  Adaline  Hijdreth  mar- 
ried Harrison  Meacham,  and  resides  near  Clinton,  DeWitt  county,  Illinois. 

Notwithstanding  his  great  calamity,  James  H.  Hildreth  was  a  useful  man  in  the 
community  where  he  lived.  Most  men  would  have  given  up  in  despair,  and  become  a 
charge  upon  their  friends;  but  he  was  active  and  energetic,  and  continued  in  the  busi- 
ness of  a  farmer  and  stock  dealer  until  he  was  physically  unable  to  do  more. 

Mr.  Preston  Breckenridge  expresses  the  opinion  that  the  velocity  of  the  cold  wave, 
given  in  another  part  of  this  sketch,  is  too  slow.  He  thinks  it  must  have  moved  at 
least  seventy  miles  an  hour,  judging  from  his  present  knowledge  on  the  subject.  He 
had  just  taken  his  dinner,  and  was  sitting  near  a  window,  between  one  and  two  o'clock 
in  the  afternoon,  in  view  of  a  pool  of  water,  ten  or  twelve  inches  deep.  He  heard  a 
terrific  roaring  sound.  Suddenly  the  rain  ceased,  and  it  became  quite  dark.  The  first 
touch  of  the  blast  scooped  all  the  water  out  of  the  pool.  Some  of  it  returned,  but  in 
a  moment  it  was  blown  out  again,  and  scattered  in  frost  and  ice,  leaving  the  pool  empty, 
and  the  bottom  frozen  dry.  He  says  it  had  been  raining  slowly  all  the  fore  part  of  the 
day,  and  so  warm  that  he  thinks  a  thermometer  would  have  stood  as  high  as  forty  de- 
grees above  zero,  possibly  higher,  and  that  the  first  touch  of  the  tempest  would  have 
brought  it  down  to  zero  in  a  second  of  time.  Mr.  Breckenridge  is  well  acquainted 
with  many  incidents  illustrating  the  unparalleled  suddenness  and  severity  of  the  cold. 
He  relates  a  case  of  two  young  men  who  lost  their  lives  near  Paris,  Edgar  county, 
Illinois,  after  efforts  to  save  themselves  similar  to  those  made  by  Hildreth  and  his  friend. 
I  might  cite  any  number  of  incidents  illustrating  the  intense  suffering  caused  by  the 
:cold  in  Sangamon  county,  but  the  number  of  those  who  perished  was  comparatively 
small,  for  the  reason  that  jt  was  more  thickly  settled  than  the  county  north  and  east. 
There  must  have  been  about  ten  thousand  inhabitants  in  the  county  at  the  time. 

A  REMARKABLE  INCIDENT: — The  following  incident  was  related  to  me  by  Benj. 
F.  Irwin,  who  received  the  statement  from  Rev.  John  M.  Berry,  a  Cumberland  Pres- 
byterian Minister,  who  resided  a  short  distance  northeast  of  Pleasant  Plains.  Families 
coming  into  the  new  settlements  were  many  times  put  to  great  inconvenience  to  pro 


70  HISTORICAL  PRELUDE. 


cure  food,  and  especially  breadstuff.  Stealing  was  seldom  resorted  to,  as  there  was  a 
general  desire  to  divide  with  new  comers.  A  man  who  owned  a  mill,  occasionally 
missed  meal  and  flour,  and  concluded  to  lay  in  wait  and  see  what  would  be  the  result. 
Soon  after  dark  one  evening,  he  placed  himself  under  the  bolting  chest,  and  had  not 
long  to  wait.  A  man  entered  the  mill,  and  the  first  thing  he  did  was  to  kneel  down 
and  pray  fervently  for  pardon  for  what  he  was  about  to  do.  He  laid  his  whole  case 
before  the  Lord;  told  him  of  his  willingness  to  work,  his  inability  to  obtain  employ- 
ment by  which  he  could  earn  bread,  and  asked  the  Lord  to  open  the  way  for  him,  and 
as  though  he  fully  expected  his  prayer  to  be  answered,  he  took  only  a  sufficient  quan- 
tity of  flour  to  supply  his  immediate  necessities,  and  was  about  to  depart.  The  owner 
of  the  mill  recognized  the  man  as  one  for  whom  he  had  formed  a  feeling  of  great  re- 
spect, and  would  have  been  willing  to  help  if  he  had  known  that  he  was  destitute.  He 
called  out  from  his  place  of  concealment  for  the  man  to  stop.  A  real  thief  would  have 
run,  but  the  man  with  the  flour  halted  without  hesitation,  when  he  was  told  to  fill  his 
sack,  and  when  that  was  gone  to  come  and  get  more.  They  were  friends  before,  but 
were  much  warmer  friends  after,  to  the  end  of  their  lives.  The  facts  were  kept  quiet, 
and  the  names  of  the  parties  were  never  known  except  to  a  small  number  of  persons; 
but  the  miller  ever  after  asserted  that  he  had  more  confidence  in  that  man  than  any 
other  he  ever  saw.  The  sequel  proved  that  the  miller  must  have  been  a  man  of  sterling 
principle,  for  if  he  had  been  like  ordinary  mortals,  the  other  would  have  been  ruined. 

PANTHERS: — -John  Harlan  was  among  the  earliest  settlers.  He  heard  a  coon  making 
a  piteous  noise,  went  out  with  his  gun  and  found  a  panther  trying  to  catch  it.  He  shot 
that  and  two  other  panthers  in  succession,  and  that  gave  the  name  to  Panther  creek,  or 
Painter  creek,  as  it  was  generally  spoken. 

A  boy  by  the  name  of  Jordan,  at  the  age  of  14  years,  shot  a  panther  in  the  Lick 
creek  timber,  in  what  is  now  Loami  township.  When  dead  it  was  found  to  measure 
eleven  feet  from  the  tip  of  its  nose  to  the  tip  of  its  tail. 

A  Mrs.  Brown,  wife  of  Henry  Brown,  who  was  an  early  settler  on  Lick  creek,  in 
what  is  now  Chatham  township,  had  been  to  one  of  her  neighbors,  and  was  returning, 
late  in  the  afternoon,  on  foot,  accompanied  by  two  large  dogs.  The  dogs  ran  to  her, 
one  on  each  side,  which  caused  her  to  look,  when  she  saw  a  huge  panther  on  each  side 
of  the  road.  She  walked  quietly  forward,  the  dogs  keeping  close  to  her  side,  and  so 
passed  the  danger.  She  regarded  her  escape  as  almost  miraculous,  and  never  could 
speak  of  it  without  a  shudder. 

MILLS  AND  MILLING: — Before  mills  were  built  here  the  settlers  had  to  go  to 
Eclvvardsville  for  grinding;  but  sixty  or  seventy  miles  was  too  far  to  take  a  grist  every 
day,  and  it  was  necessary  that  something  should  be  more  readily  obtained.  A  piece  of 
tin  that  can  now  be  had  anywhere  for  a  few  cents,  was  then  an  object  of  great  interest. 
Every  old  tin  vessel  was  saved,  torn  in  pieces,  cut  to  a  suitable  size,  punched  full  of 
holes,  and  nailed  to  a  board  for  a  grater.  While  the  corn  was.  soft,  meal  could  be  grated 
in  a  very  short  time,  sufficient  to  make  bread  for  a  whole  family,  by  rubbing  an  ear  of 
corn  back  and  forth  on  the  grater.  That  implement  is  always  pronounced  by  the  old 
settlers  "gritter" 

Mr.  William  Drennan  remembers  that  the  first  mill  in  Sangamon  county  was  built 
by  Daniel  Liles  on  the  farm  where  Daniel  G.  Jones  now  resides,  near  Horse  creek,  and 


SANGAMON  COUNTT. 


on  the  line  between  Ball  and  Cotton  Hill  townships.  It  was  erected  in  the  fall  of  1819, 
and  was  made  on  the  plan  known  as  a  band  mill.  That  was  a  horizontal  wheel,  with 
arms  fifteen  feet  or  more  in  length,  and  of  sufficient  height  for  the  horses  to  pass  under 
the  arms.  Several  holes  would  be  bored  near  the  outer  end  of  these  arms.  One  wooden 
pin  was  placed  in  each  one  of  the  arms.  A  band  of  rawhide  stretched  around  those 
pins  and  the  trunnel  head  would  communicate  the  power  to  the  burrs,  which  were 
usually  made  of  any  loose  stone  picked  up  on  the  prairies.  A  mill  of  that  kind  would 
grind  eight  or  ten  bushels  a  day.  Liles'  mill  never  had  any  roof,  and  when  it  rained 
the  track  became  very  muddy.  If  his  customers  complained,  he  would  assume  an  air 
of  injured  innocence  and  ask  if  they  expected  him  to  work  in  the  rain.  If  they  said 
no,  but  that  he  should  do  it  when  the  weather  was  fair,  his  invariable  reply  was,  that 
they  did  not  need  it  then.  The  people  came  to  this  mill  thirty  or  forty  miles,  and 
although  it  was  kept  running  day  and  night,  sometimes  they  would  have  to  wait  sev- 
eral days  for  a  turn  at  the  mill.  One  man  told  me  that  when  he  was  a  boy  his  parents 
started  him  to  mill,  supplied  with  an  extra  quantity  of  feed  for  his  horses  and  some 
meat  for  himself,  with  the  understanding  that  he  was  to  parch  corn  as  a  substitute  for 
bread.  He  had  to  wait  so  long  for  his  turn  that  when  it  came  he  had  nothing  to  grind, 
himself  and  horses  having  consumed  all  the  corn,  and  he  would  have  been  compelled 
to  lose  his  turn,  but  the  miller  kindly  loaned  him  a  grist,  which  he  repaid  the  next  time 
he  went  to  mill. 

The  earliest  mills  were  only  intended  for  grinding  corn,  and  at  first  no  effort  was 
made  for  bolting  flour,  but  those  who  raised  the  first  wheat  would  cut  it  with  the  old 
fashioned  reap  hooks,  called  sickles,  thresh  it  on  the  ground  with  a  flail,  separate  the 
chaff  and  wheat  by  a  man  taking  a  measure  of  wheat,  standing  on  an  elevated  place, 
and  pouring  it  out  slowly,  with  a  shaking  motion,  while  two  others  stood  below  with  a 
common  bed  sheet,  folded  double,  and  taking  hold  of  each  end  and  giving  it  a  quick 
motion  toward  the  failing  wheat,  would  thus  blow  the  chaff  away,  while  the  wheat, 
being  heavier,  would  fall  perpendicular.  The  wheat  thus  cleaned  would  be  taken  to 
the  corn  mill  and  ground,  of  course  very  imperfectly.  The  next  point  was  to  separate 
the  bran  from  the  flour.  At  first  this  was  done  by  making  a  light  frame,  three  or  four 
feet  long,  and  one  and  a  half  by  two  feet  wide,  and  stretching  a  piece  of  the  thinnest 
cloth  that  could  be  obtained,  over  it.  Some  of  the  wheat  meal  would  be  put  on  this 
cloth  and  the  frame  shaken  from  right  to  left,  after  the  manner  of  a  seive  or  meal  sifter, 
and  the  finest  part  of  the  wheat  meal  would  go  through.  That  was  made  into  bread, 
usually  biscuit.  That  implement  was  called  a  search,  usually  pronounced  sarch.  Some 
of  the  earliest  settlers  will  tell  you  that  the  sweetest  morsel  they  ever  tasted  in 
their  whole  lives  was  the  first  piece  of  wheat  bread  thus  made,  after  having  been  a 
whole  year,  and  sometimes  longer,  living  on  the  coarsest  of  corn  bread. 

HONESTY  OF  THE  EARLY  SETTLERS: — John  Sims  remembers  that  a  few  years  after 
they  came  to  the  settlement  their  corn  was  all  frost  bitten,  and  he  went  to  Madison 
county  to  obtain  corn  for  seed  and  bread.  He  had  to  pay  $1.00  per  bushel  for  it,  and 
wishing  to  haul  all  he  could,  he  filled  some  sacks  and  laid  them  across  the  corn  in  the 
wagon  bed.  He  stalled  in  the  mud,  in  Macoupin  county,  and  left  his  wagon  there, 
several  miles  from  any  house,  and  where  people  traveling  hundreds  of  miles  had  to 
pass  it.  When  he  went  home  for  more  teams,  some  unexpected  obstacles  presented 
themselves,  and  it  was  two  weeks  or  more  before  he  returned.  When  he  did  so,  some 


72  HISTORICAL  PRELUDE. 


of  his  corn  was  gone,  but  closer  examination  revealed  the  fact  that  money  was  tied  in 
the  sacks  from  which  the  corn  was  taken.  Some  was  tied  with  horse  hairs  and  some 
with  strings,  in  small  bunches,  in  all  between  eight  and  ten  dollars;  sufficient  to  fully 
compensate  for  the  corn  taken.  He  has  hauled  dry  goods  and  groceries,  in  large  and 
small  packages,  has  stalled  and  left  his  wagon  for  days  and  weeks,  and  never  knew 
anything  to  be  stolen. 

When  the  land  office  was  opened,  in  1823,  in  Springfield,  the  receiver  was  ordered  to 
send  the  coin  to  Louisville,  Ky.  The  route  was  so  difficult  to  travel  and  so  long,  that  he 
was  permitted,  after  one  effort,  to  send.it  to  St.  Louis  for  safe  keeping.  Mr.  Sims  had  a 
good  team,  and  was  called  on  to  do  the  hauling.  On  more  than  one  occasion  he  has 
loaded  his  wagon  with  boxes  of  gold  and  silver,  amounting  to  from  thirty  to  fifty  thousand 
dollars.  He  has  gone  without  any  guard,  been  two  or  three  nights  on  the  road,  would 
feed  his  horses  tied  to  the  wagon,  sleep  on  some  straw  thrown  over  the  boxes,  and  was 
never  molested,  and  never  thought  there  was  danger. 

A  SNAKE  STORY: — Gen.  James  Adams  was  bitten  by  a  rattlesnake  in  1821,  and 
wishing  to  obtain  some  rattlesnake  oil,  he  advertised  that  he  would  pay  fifty  cents  for 
the  first  one  brought  to  him,  and  in  order  to  make  sure  of  getting  one,  he  offered 
twenty-five  cents  for  each  additional  one.  A  man  by  the  name  of  Barnes  found  a  den 
near  the  mouth  of  Spring  creek,  killed  all  he  could,  loaded  them  in  a  wagon,  drove  to 
Springfield,  and  left  his  wagon  in  an  out-of-the-way  place.  He  first  took  one  snake 
and  received  fifty  cents,  then  two,  and  received  twenty-five  cents  each.  He  then  took 
Gen.  Adams  to  the  wagon  and  showed  him  the  whole  load.  Adams  refused  to  pay  for 
them.  Barnes  then  called  his  attention  to  the  advertisement,  but  he  still  refused. 
Barnes  then  called  on  two  men,  Reuben  Burden  and  John  White,  who  counted  the 
load,  and  there  were  122  snakes.  He  then  demanded  his  money,  $30.75.  This  brought 
the  General  'to  a  compromise,  and  the  matter  was  settled  by  his  paying  $5.00  extra. 
Joseph  E.  McCoy  is  my  authority. 

Albion  Knotts  says  that  when  they  come  to  the  country,  in  1819,  his  father  soon 
learned  that  the  next  supply  of  shoes  for  his  family  would  have  to  be  manufactured  by 
himself,  although  he- had  never  made  a  shoe.  This  discovery  was  barely  made  when 
he  found  that  he  must  produce  the  leather  also,  as  there  were  no  tanners  in  the  country. 
He  first  cut  down  a  large  oak  tree,  peeled  off  the  bark  and  laid  it  up  to  dry.  He 
dug  a  trough  in  the  log,  as  large  as  it  would  make,  for  a  tan  vat.  He  then  gathered 
up  all  the  hides  he  could  obtain.  The  next  question  was  how  to  remove  the  hair.  It 
was  known  that  it  could  not  be  done  by  regular  tanners'  process,  both  for  want  of  the 
proper  materials,  and  the  knowledge  in  using  them.  Some  person  suggested  that  it 
might  be  done  with  water  and  ashes,  but  great  caution  would  be  necessary,  lest  the 
solution  be  made  too  strong.  In  that  event  it  would  ruin  the  hides.  In  his  extreme 
caution  he  did  not  make  it  strong  enough,  and  so  removed  but  a  little  more  than  half 
the  hair.  In  place  of  grinding  the  bark  he  beat  it  up  on  a  stump  with  the  poll  of  an 
axe.  He  then  put  the  hides  in  the  trough,  covered  them  with  the  pulverized  bark,  put 
on  weights  to  keep  the  mass  down,  and  filled  the  trough  with  water,  changing  the 
bark  several  times  during  the  summer.  As  winter  approached  he  took  the  hides  out, 
though  not  more  than  half  tanned,  and  made  them  into  shoes.  He  made  them  on  what 
was  called  the  stick  dou<n  plan.  That  is,  in  place  of  turning  the  upper  leather  under 
the  last,  it  was  turned  outward  and  sewed  with  a  straight  awl  through  the  upper  and 


SAN  GAM  ON  C  O  UNTT. 


sole.  This  would  make  a  walk  all  around  the  shoe  that  a  mouse  might  travel  on.  It 
was  frequently  the  case  that  awls  could  not  be  obtained.  Then  they  would  take  a 
common  table  fork,  break  off  one  of  the  tines,  and  sharpen  the  other  for  the  awl. 
Shoes  made  as  I  have  described,  with  the  upper  leather  hair  side  out,  not  more  than 
half  of  it  removed,  and  without  any  blacking,  would  certainly  look  very  odd.  There 
can  be  little  doubt  that  the  above  is  a  fair  description  of  the  first  tanning  and  shoe 
making  ever  done  in  Sangamon  county. 

When  the  first  settlers  came  there  were  no  stores  filled  with  dry  goods,  as  there  are 
now,  and  if  the  goods  had  been  in  the  country  there  was  no  money  to  buy  them.  The 
onlv  way  families  could  supply  themselves  with  clothing  was  to  produce  the  materials 
and  manufacture  their  own  goods.  Those  who  first  came  from  the  Southern  States — 
as  most  of  them  did — brought  their  cotton,  flax  and  hemp  seed,  raised  the  fibre  and  did 
all  the  work.  They  at  first  picked  the  seed  by  hand,  carded  it  on  hand  cards,  spun  it 
on  wheels  designed  for 'spinning  wool  or  flax,  wove  it  into  cloth,  and  made  it  into  gar- 
ments for  men  and  women's  wear.  That  which  was  designed  for  underclothing  was 

o  O 

prepared  without  coloring,  as  a  matter  of  course,  but  for  outer  garments,  and  particu- 
larly ladies'  dresses,  something  better  was  required.  Some  among  the  earliest  brought 
a  little  indigo,  madder,  and  same  other  drugs,  but  for  greater  variety  and  economy,  a 
large  number  of  barks  were  used,  such  as  black  walnut,  butternut,  several  varieties  of 
oak,  hickory,  etc.  When  peach  trees  grew  the  leaves  were  used  for  making  one  of  the 
brightest  colors.  Some  of  the  cotton  yarn,  dyed  with  each  of  those  colors,  skilfully 
arranged  in  weaving,  and  made  into  dresses,  looked  remarkablv  well.  Some  of  the 
old  boys  now  living  say  that  the  young  ladies  of  their  time,  thus  attired,  looked  equally 
as  charming  in  their  eyes  as  those  of  the  present  era,  with  their  flounces  made  of  goods 
from  the  looms -of  Lyons  and  the  shops  of  Paris,  do  to  our  young  men.  Flax  and  tow 
was  never  colored,  and  was  mostly  used  for  men  and  boys'  wear  in  the  summer.  A 
tow  shirt,  with  a  draw  string  around  the  neck,  and  reaching  below  the  knees,  was  a  full 
dress  in  summer  for  boys  up  to  ten  or  twelve  years  of  age.  Some  of  our  most  sub- 
stantial farmers  were  thus  attired  in  their  boyhood  days. 

Elisha  Primm  says  that  his  father  built  a  cotton  gin  in  1822.  He  says  that  from  the 
time  the  first  settlers  came  into  the  county  until  .the  winter  of  the  "deep  snow,"  1830 
and  '31,  this  was  as  good  a  cotton  country  as  Georgia.  He  says  that  this  was  attested 
by  men  familiar  with  cotton  growing  in  the  Southern  States.  Elisha  attended  the  gin 
built  by  his  father,  which  was  run  by  horse  power.  The  people  brought  cotton  to  be 
ginned,  from  all  distances  up  to  twenty  miles.  Sometimes  it  would  accumulate  on  his 
hands  until  he  would  have  as  much  as  3,000  pounds.  The  price  for  ginning  was  a  toll 
of  one  pound  in  every  eight,  after  the  cotton  was  ginned.  It  sold  from  12  to  i6^i  cents 
per  pound,  and  occasionally  higher.  After  the  "deep  snow"  the  seasons  appeared  to 
shorten,  and  cotton  was  generally  bitten  by  the  frost  before  it  had  time  to  mature,  and 
cotton  raising  was  finally  abandoned.  It  seemed  as  though  the  seasons  were  overruled 
so  as  to  be  adapted  to  the  wants  of  the  pioneer  settlers,  when  there  was  no  other  wav 
for  them  to  be  supplied  with  clothing,  but  when  roads  were  opened  and  capital  came 
in,  bringing  merchandise,  the  seasons  gravitated  back  to  their  normal  condition. 

FIRST  PRODUCE  MARKETED: — Mr.  William  Drennen  believes  that  the  first  pro- 
duce  marketed   in   the  county  was  on  Sugar  creek,  in  the  Summer  of  1818.     George 
Cox  sold  half  a  dozen  small  green  pumpkins  to  an  Indian  for  twelve  and  a  half  cents. 
— 10 


74  HISTORICAL  PRELUDE. 

i 
This  note  was  written  while  1  was  standing  on  the  spot,  a  few  yards  north  of  the 

Sulphur  Springs,  south  of  Loami,  where  once  stood  a  sycamore  tree  in  which  A.  E. 
Meacham  took  a  ten  foot  rail,  held  it  in  a  horizontal  position  against  his  waist,  and 
turned  entirely  around  inside  the  tree.  It  was  about  eighteen  feet  in  diameter  outside, 
and  was  long  used  as  a  wigwam  by  the  Indians.  The  entrance  was  at  the  east  side. 
It  was  safe  when  there  were  only  Indians 'in  the  country,  but  some  vandal,  claiming  to 
be  civilized,  set  fire  to  it  and  burned  it  down. 

The  Sulphur  Spring  spoken  of  above,  bubbles  up  at  the  foot  of  a  hill  near  Lick  creek, 
and  in  its  natural  state,  when  animals  approached  it  to  drink  the  water,  was  a  quag- 
mire, but  the  early  settlers  made  an  excavation,  eight  or  nine  feet  deep,  and  walled  it 
up,  so  that  the  water  flows  out  over  the  top  of  the  wall,  clear  and  pure.  Soon  after  it 
was  thus  improved  two  old  topers,  on  a  very  hot  day,  visited  the  spring,  taking  with 
them  a  jug  of  whisky,  intending  to  have  a  good  time  laying  in  the  shade  near  by, 
drinking  their  whisky,  and  for  variety,  taking  an  occasional  sip  at  the  sulphur  water. 
One  of  them  undertook  to  cool  the  whisky  by  holding  the  jug  in  the  water,  and  while 
doing  so  let  it  slip  from  his  grasp.  To  cut  a  forked  limb  from  a  tree  and  make  a  hook 
of  it  would  be  too  much  work.  In  order  to  rescue  the  jug,  the  one  who  let  it  slip  con- 
sented that  the  other  should  take  him  by  the  heels  and  let  him  down  head  foremost. 
The  whiskv  was  secured  in  that  way,  at  the  imminent  risk  of  drowning  one  or  both  of 
the  men.  It  must  have  been  liberally  watered  or  it  would  not  have  sunk. 

There  are  at  least  one  hundred  and  fifty  grave  yards  and  burial  places  in  Sangamon 
county,  and  nine-tenths  of  them  are  so  much  neglected  that,  so  far  as  marking  any  par- 
ticular locality  or  grave,  the  following  lines,  taken  from  a  Scottish  grave  yard,  are 
peculiarly  applicable: 

"  In  this  church  yard  lies  Eppie  Coutts, 
Either  here  or  hereabouts; 
But  whaur  it  is  none  can  tell, 
Till   Eppie  rise  and  tell  hersel." 

The  first  death  of  a  white  man  in  Sangamon  county  was  that  of  an  Indian  ranger. 
The  Sulphur  Spring  near  Loami  was  known  to  the  Indians,  and  was  very  early  a  camp- 
ing ground  for  the  whites.  When  the  settlements  had  not  extended  farther  north  than 
the  vicinity  of  Alton,  Indians,  according  to  their  custom,  killed  some  of  the  frontier 
settlers,  and  were  pursued  by  some  Rangers.  While  camped  at  the  sulphur  spring 
one  of  them  died,  and  was  buried  by  his  comrades  on  a  beautiful  knoll  near  the  spring. 
It  was  known  to  the  very  earliest  settlers  as  the  grave  of  the  Indian  Ranger,  and  was 
the  nucleus  of  the  present  Sulphur  Springs  Cemetery.  The  land  was  entered  by 
Jonathan  Jarrett,  who  intended  a  small  part  of  it  for  a  cemetery  and  church  purposes, 
but  died  without  making  a  deed.  A  regular  company  has  been  organized,  according 
to  law,  and  it  is  now  handsomely  fitted  up  and  well  cared  for.  There  ought  to  be  a 
monument  over  the  grave  of  the  Indian  Ranger,  to  show  that  it  was  the  first  burial  of 
a  white  man  in  the  county. 


EXPLANATION. 

The  names  of  early  settlers,  or  heads  of  families,  in  LARGE  LETTER  ; 
Names  of  the  second  generation  in  ITALIC  CAPITALS;  third,  in  CAPITALS; 
fourth,  in  SMALL  CAPITALS;  fifth,  in  Italics. 


A., 

ABEL,  ROSWELL,  was  horn 
July  23,  1785,  on  Sharon  Mountain,  Litch- 
field  county,  Conn.  Three  brothers  by 
the  name  of  Abel  came  from  England 
about  1750.  One  of  them  settled  in  Con- 
necticut, one  in  Virginia,  and  what  became 
of  the  other  is  unknown.  Jonathan,  who 
settled  in  Conn.,  brought  up  a  family  of 
five  sons  and  two  daughters.  His  son 
David  was  the  father  of  the  subject  of 
this  sketch.  David  Abel,  and  two  of  his 
brothers,  William  and  Andrew,  were 
Revolutionary  soldiers.  William  settled 
in  Canada  after  the  Revolution,  and 
brought  up  a  family  there.  This  branch 
of  the  family  has  lost  sight  of  Andrew. 
David  was  born  on  Sharon  mountain, 
married  and  lived  on  the  same  farm  until 
four  children  were  born,  and  then  moved 
to  Washington  county,  N.  Y.,  where  six 
children  were  born.  Each  brought  up 
families.  David  Abel  presented  the  gun 
which  he  carried  through  the  Revolution, 
to  his  son  Roswell,  with  instructions  to 
present  it  to  his  son,  if  he  had  one,  but  if 
not,  to  a  brother's  son.  He  has  it  yet  in 
his  possession,  at  the  home  of  his  son 
Roswell  P.,  to  whom  he  bequeaths  it. 
The  brass  breech  bears  the  inscription 
"  Liberty  or  Death,"  every  letter  of  which 
is  yet  distinct. 

Roswell  Abel,  whose  name  heads  this 
sketch,  was  married  Oct.  22,  1807,  to  Betsy 
Mason.  She  was  born  Oct.  22,  1790,  at 
Fort  Ann,  Washington  county,  X.  Y. 


Her  father,  Coomer  Mason,  was  a  Revo- 
lutionary soldier,  also.  He  had  two 
brothers,  Shubal  and  Hail,  who  fought  at 
the  battle  of  Benington.  Roswell  and 
Betsy  Abel  had  three  children,  born  at 
Granville,  Washington  County,  N.  Y. 
They  moved  to  Springfield,  111.,  arriving 
July  15,  1836.  Of  their  children — 

LIZETTE,  was  born  December  4, 
1809,  married  Oct.,  1829,  in  Essex  county, 
N.  Y.,  to  Calvin  Peabody.  They 'came 
to  Springfield  in  1838.  They  had  five 
living  children,  namely:  CHARLES 
P.,  born  Feb.  25,  1837,  married  April  5 
1866,  to  Jane  Cheeseman.  They  have 
three  children,  HARRY,  IDELLA  L.,  and 
MARY.  HELEN,  born  Jan.  28,  1835, 
married  Oct.  24,  1865,  to  Amos  Atwood. 
They  have  two  children,  HELEN  M.,  born 
Jan.  18,1867,  and  EMM  AC.,  born  August  14, 
1869,  and  reside  near  Farmington,  Daco- 
tah  county,  Minnesota.  JOHN  C.,  born 
March  13,  1843,  married  Feb.  4,  1868,  in 
Enterprise,  Mo.,  to  Emily  Kinsman. 
Thev  have  four  children,  BURTON,  FRANK- 
LIN, WILLIAM  and  HARRY,  and  reside  in 
Brookfield,  Mo.  SARAH  E.,  born  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  July  11,  1857, 
to  Dr.  Orlando  Lent.  They  had  one 
child,  CHARLES  j.  He  died  Nov.  4, 
1874,  in  his  1 7th  year,  and  Dr.  Lent  died 
while  on  duty  at  Paducah,  Ky.,  Military 
Hospital,  in  1863.  His  widow  married 
T.  M.  Elliott,  and  resides  near  Grantsville, 
Linn  county,  Mo.  EDWIN  R.,  born 
Dec.  12,  1844,  enlisted  Dec.  14,  1863,  in 
Vaughn's  Battery  3d  111.  Art.  He  was 
married  Jan.  24,  1867,  in  Missouri,  to 


76 


EARLT  SETTLERS  OF 


Clara  Sockman.  They  have  three  child- 
ren, ORLEY,  FRANCIS  and  TRUDELLA, 

and  reside  near  Browning,  Linn  county, 
Missouri.  Calvin  Peahody  moved  from 
Sangamon  county,  Illinois,  to  Linn  county, 
Missouri,  in  1865,  and  died  there,  Sept. 
7,  1870.  His  widow  resides  near  Brown- 
ing. 

CHLOE  E.,  born  April  19,  1812,  in 
New  York.  Married  Nov.,  1839,  in 
Springfield,  to  John  Armstrong.  See  his 
names. 

R OS  WELL  P.,  born  June  30,  1815, 
in  Washington  county,  New  York ;  came 
to  Sangamon  county,  Illinois,  with  his 
parents  in  1836.  Married  September  30, 
1846,  at  Greencastle,  Pa.,  to  Margaret  J. 
Loose.  She  was  born  there,  Jan.  22,  1820. 
They  reside  at  Rochester,  111. 

Roswell  Abell  and  wife  have  been 
married  more  than  69  years.  They  re- 
side with  their  son,  Roswell  P.,  at  Roches- 
ter, Sangamon  county,  Illinois. 

ABELL,  JEREMIAH,  was 
born  in  1770,  in  Rockingham  county,  Va. 
He  was  there  married  to  Hannah  Aiken, 
who  was  born  in  1771.  They  emigrated 
to  Adair  county,  Ky.  Mr.  Abell  was  the 
owner  of  some  slaves,  but  he  liberated 
them  "in  Kentucky,  and  moved  with  his 
family  to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  arriving 
hi  1829,  in  what  is  now  Auburn  township. 
Their  daughter — 

PENELOPE,  married  in  Adair 
county,  Ky.,  to  Samuel  McElvain.  See 
his  name.  They  come  to  Sangamon 
county  with  her  parents. 

Their  son,  Dr.  J.  R.  Abell,  resides  at 
Taylorville. 

Rev.  Jeremiah  Abell  was  regularly  ed- 
ircated  for  the  ministry,  preached  many 
years  in  connection  with  the  Presbyterian 
church,  and  received  the  title  of  Doctor 
of  Divinity.  After  coming  to  Illinois  he 
severed  his  connection  with  the  Presbyte- 
rian church  and  united  with  the  Methodists. 
He  moved,  about  1846,  to  McDonough 
county,  and  died  there  in  1852. 

ADAMS,  JAMES,  was  born  Jan. 
24,  1783,  in  Hartford,  Conn.  Harriet 
Denton  was  born  Jan.  31,  1787,  in 
Hartford,  also.  They  were  there  mar- 
ried about  1809,  and  moved  to  Os- 
wego,  N.  Y.,  where  they  had  five  child- 
ren. They  moved  to  Springfield,  Illinois, 
arriving  in  the  spring  of  1821,  soon  after 
the  place  was  declared  to  be  the  county 


seat  of  Sangamon  county.     Of  their  four 
living  children, 

LOVENIA  E.,  born  May  3,  1813,  at 
Oswego,  N.  Y.,  married,  in  Springfield, 
to  Peter  Weber.  See  his  name.  They 
both  died  in  the  north  part  of  the  State. 
She  died  Sept.  5,  1 838. 

CHARLOTTE  B.,  born  May  2, 
1815,  in  Oswego,  N.  Y.,  and  died  Jan.  10, 
1832. 

LUC  I  AN  B.,  born  Dec.  10,  1816,  in 
Oswego,  N.  Y.;  married  in  Springfield, 
March  14,  1847,  to  Margery  A.  Reed, 
who  was  born  July  9,  1824,  in  Williams- 
port,  Penn.  They  have  four  children. 
JAMES  L.,  born  Jan.  22,  1848,  in  Spring- 
field, graduated  in  a  commercial  college  in 
Chicago,  and  is  employed  in  a  railroad 
office  in  Vallejo,  California.  ELDORA 
J.,  ENOLA  A.  and  HARRIET  L.,  re- 
side with  their  parents  in  Springfield. 
Lucian  B.  Adams  studied  law  arid  ob- 
tained license  to  practice  in  1840.  For 
twenty  years  he  discharged  the  duties  of  a 
justice  of  the  peace,  and  the  greater  part 
of  that  time  acted  as  police  magistrate, 
U.  S.  commissioner  and  notary  public. 
He  is  now  U.  S.  commissioner. 

VIENNA  M.,  born  July  10,  1818,  in 
Oswego,  N.  Y. ;  married  in  Springfield, 
to  Charles  G.  McGraw.  See  his  name. 

James  Adams  was  a  lawyer,  and  en- 
gaged in  practice  when  became  to  Spring- 
field, in  1821.  He  was  elected  justice  of 
the  peace  in  1823  or  '4  and  was  elected 
successively  for  many  years.  He  took 
part  in  the  Winnebago  and  Black  Hawk 
Indian  wars  of  1827,  and  1831  and  '2.  He 
was  elected  Probate  Judge  of  Sangamon 
county,  and  died  in  office,  August  n, 
1843.  His  widowr,  Mrs.  Harriet  Adams, 
died  August  21,  1844,  both  in  Springfield. 

ALEXANDER,  THOMAS, 
was  born  about  1768,  in  Ireland,  and  his 
parents  came  to  America  when  he  was 
about  four  years  old,  landing  at  Charles- 
ton, S.  C.  Lynna  Goodlett  was  born  Oct. 
11,  1780,  in  Greenville  District,  S.  C. 
They  were  there  married,  and  had  three 
children,  all  of  whom  died  under  eight 
years.  In  1806  they  moved  to  Christian 
county,  near  Hopkinsville,  Ky.,  where 
they  had  two  children,  and  moved  to  San- 
gamon county,  111.,  arriving  in  Oct.,  1828, 
three  miles  east  of  Auburn.  In  1829  they 
moved  to  what  is  now  Chatham  township, 
south  of  Lick  creek.  Of  their  two  children, 


SANG  AM  ON  COUNTT. 


77 


MART  ANN,  born  in  1810,  in  Ken- 
tucky; married  in  Sangamon  county  to 
John  L.  Drcnnan.  (See  his  name.} 

n.\  VID,  born  Oct.  3,  1814,  in  Chris- 
tian county,  Ky. ;  came  to  Sangamon 
county  in  1828;  married  March  13,  1833, 
to  Catharine  Darnielle;  had  14  children, 
all  born  in  Sangamon  county,  six  of  whom 
died  in  infancy,  and  LYNNA  died  at  13 
years.  Of  the  other  seven,  JOHN  T.,born 
Dec.  25,  1835,  enlisted  on  the  first  call  for 
75,000  men,  April,  1861,  for  three  months, 
in  Co.  A.,  2nd  Kansas  Cavalry,  served 
full  term,  and  enlisted  Nov.,  1861,  in  Co. 
D.,  2nd  Mo.  Art.,  for  three  years.  Re- 
enlisted  as  a  veteran  Jan.,  1864.  He  lost 
his  right  hand  April  13,  1865,  at  St. 
Charles,  Ark.,  by  the  premature  discharge 
of  a  cannon,  while  firing  a  salute  on  hear- 
ing of  the  surrender  of  the  rebel  forces 
under  Gen.  Lee.  He  now  (1873)  resides 
with  his  parents.  DAVID  S.,born  Nov. 
20,  1842,  enlisted  August  13,  1861,  in  Co. 
B.,  3oth  111.  Inf.,  for  three  years;  served 
until  August  9,  1862,  when  he  was  dis- 
charged on  account  of  physical  disability, 
at  Memphis,  Tenn.  He  was  brought 
home,  and,  after  a  lingering  illness,  died, 
March  10,  1866.  CATHARINE,  born 
Dec.  20,  1844;  married  May  29,  1862,  to 
Lafayette  Beach.  (See  his  name.}  Had 
one  child,  CHARLES  D.  HIRAM,  born 
March  30,  1847;  enlisted  March  14,  1864, 
in  Co.  C.,  iith  Mo.  Inf.,  for  three  years. 
Served  until  July  14,  1865,  when  he  was 
discharged  on  account  of  physical  disabil- 
ity. He  was  married  March  9,  1873,  to 
Mary  M.  VanDoren.  They  reside  five 
miles  southwest  of  Chatham.  WILLIAM, 
born  Oct.  i,  1849;  married  March  14, 
1872,10  Emma  Price,  and  reside  in  Chat- 
ham township.  MARY  BELIZE  and 
CYRUS  reside  with  their  parents,  six 
miles  southwest  of  Chatham,  on  the  farm 
where  the  family  settled  in  1829. 

Thomas  Alexander  died  Dec.  18,  183=5, 
and  his  widow  died  August  12,  1844,  both 
in  Sangamon  county. 

ALEXANDER,  HENRY, 
was  born  June  10,  1802,  in  Fleming  coun- 
ty, Ky.  His  father  moved  to  the  adjoin- 
ing county  of  Bath  when  he  was  a  child. 
He  was  married  June  24,  1827,  to  Polly 
Gragg,  of  Nicholas  county,  and  lived  in 
Bath  county  until  1833,  wnen  ne  rnoved 
to  Montgomery  county.  They  had  four 
children  in  Kentucky,  and  moved  to  San- 


gamon county,  111.,  arriving  Oct.  22,  1835, 
in  what  is  now  Rochester  township,  where 
four  children  were  born.  Of  their  child- 
ren, 

JESSE  F.,  bor.n  Dec.  10,  1828,  in 
Bath  county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sangamon 
county,  111.,  March  4,  1852,  to  Nancy  A. 
Hendrix,  who  was  born  April  22,  1829,  in 
Fleming  county,  Ky.  They  had  five 
children;  one  died  young.  LUCRETIA, 
their  second  child,  born  June  26,  1855, 
married  March  12,  1874,  to  Jame^  A. 
Walker.  The  other  three,  LAURA, 
GEORGE  and  REBECCA  reside  with 
their  parents,  near  Appleton  City,  St. 
Clair  county,  Mo. 

HIRAM,  born  in  Kentucky;  married 
in  Sangamon  county  to  Eliza  Hendrix. 
They  have  seven  children,  and  reside  in 
Jefferson  county,  Iowa. 

LUC1NDA  A.,  born  in  Kentucky; 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  Isaac 
Groves.  (See  his  name.}  Their  daugh- 
ter Susan  married  John  W.  McClelland. 
(See  his  name.} 

WILLIAM  G.,  born  in  Kentucky; 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  Julia 
Mclntyre.  They  have  four  children,  and 
reside  near  Illiopolis. 

JAMES  O.,  born  in  Sangamon 
county;  married  Sarah  Ham.  They  have 
three  children,  and  reside  in  Champaign 
county. 

RE  BE  C  CA  and  HENR  T  H.,  (twins) 
born  in  Sangamon  county. 

REBECCA  married' John  W.  Smith, 
had  four  children,  and  she  died  in  1870. 
Two  of  the  children  died  also,  near  Wil- 
liamsville. 

HENRT  H.  married  Emily  Sargent, 
and  resides  in  Illiopolis. 

POLLY  S.,  born  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty; married  Benjamin  Keck;  have  three 
children,  and  reside  in  Illiopolis. 

Mrs.  Polly  Alexander  died  August  2=;, 
1868,  and  her  husband,  Henry  Alexander, 
resides  with  his  children. 

ALEXANDER,  JOHN  S., 
was  born  Sept.  24,  1793,  near  Lexington, 
Ky.;  married  Mary  Simpson,  who  was 
born  April  16,  1799,  in  Fayette  county, 
Ky.  They  were  there  married,  and  had 
four  children.  The  family  moved  to  San- 
gamon county,  111.,  arriving  in  the  fall  of 
1826,  in  what  is  now  Fancy  creek  town- 
ship, where  six  children  were  born.  Of 
their  children, 


EARLT  SETTLERS  OF 


SARAH  S.,  born  Nov.  7,  1820,  in 
Kentucky;  married  March  6,  1837,  to 
Samuel  D.  Cantrall.  (See  his  name.} 

JAMES  H.,  born  March  19,  1822,  in 
Kentucky;  married  in  Sangamon  county 
to  Ann  E.  Hardin.  They  live  in  Wash- 
ington Territory. 

HANNAH  //.,  born  June  i,  1824,  in 
Kentucky;  married  James  Kilgour,  and 
died.  (See  his  name.}  ' 

WILLIAM,  born  June  12,  1826,  in 
Fayette  county,  Ky.;  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county  to  Eveline  Lacey;  had  three 
children,  and  she  and  all  the  children  died, 
He  married  Catharine  Hill.  They  have 
three  children,  FREDIE,  FRANKIE 
and  a  babe,  and  reside  at  Williamsville. 

ASA  C.  and  MARGARET  C., 
(twins),  born  March  15,  1829,  in  Sanga- 
mon county. 

ASA  C.  married  Mary  J.  Tabor,  and 
resides  in  Ford  county. 

MARGARET  C.  married  Harrison 
Blue ;  had  two  children,  and  he  died,  April, 
1852,  and  she  married  George  Martin,  and 
resides  in  Iroquois  county. 

GEORGE,  born  Feb.  13,  1831,  in 
Sangamon  county;  enlisted  in  a  Kansas 
regiment  in  1861  or  '2,  and  died  in  mili- 
tary hospital  at  Springfield,  Mo. 

JOHN  S.,  Jun.,  married  Dorcus  A. 
Mills. 

SAMUEL  C.,  born  Jan.  31,  1838; 
married  Amanda  Hall,  and  lives  in  Ford 
county. 

MART  J.,  born  April  15,  1840,  in 
Sangamon  county;  married  August  7, 
1856,  to  Andrew  J.  Hedrick,  who  was 
born  August  23,  1834.  They  had  three 
children,  HARRISON  H.,  RUTH  A. 
and  ALICE  V.  Mr.  Hedrick  enlisted 
August  15,  1862,  in  Co.  I.,  34  Iowa  Inf., 
for  three  years.  He  was  discharged  on 
account  of  physical  disability,  March  13, 
and  died  Mav  8,  1863,  in  Menard  county. 
Mrs.  Hedrick  married,  Oct.  12,  1864,  to 
William  Reesburg.  They  have  one  child, 
WILLIAM  H.,  and  reside  near  Illiopolis. 

Mrs.     Mary    Alexander    died   Nov.    i, 

1852,  and  John  S.  Alexander  died  July  15, 

1853,  both  in  Sangamon  county. 
ALKIRE,  HARM  ON  AS,  was 

born  in  1804,  in  Bourbon  county,  Ky. 
His  parents  moved,  when  he  was  quite 
young,  to  Pickaway  county,  O.  In  1826 
he  visited  Sangamon  county  on  business 
for  other  parties.  Returning  to  Ohio,  he 


went  to  -Lafayette,  Ind.  The  next  year 
he  came  to  Sangamon  county  again,  on 
business,  and  was  married  in  Springfield, 
Dec.  31,  1829,  to  Martha  McLemore.  She 
was  born  July  10,  1810,  in  Burke  county, 
N.  C.  Her  parents  moved,  in  1811,  to 
Knoxville,  Tenn.,  and  moved  from  there 
to  Sangamon  coimty,  111.,  arriving,  Dec. 
23,  1828,  at  Springfield.  Soon  after  mar- 
riage Mr.  Alkire  returned  to  Lafayette 
with  his  wife.  They  had  two  children 
born  there,  and  then  moved  to  Sangamon 
county,  arriving,  August,  1832,  in  what  is 
now  Fancy  Creek  township,  where  they 
had  eight  living  children.  Of  the  other 
ten  children, 

MART  ANN,  bom  at  Lafayette,  Ind., 
is  unmarried,  and  resides  with  her  parents. 

JAMES  T.,  born  Feb.  3,  1832,  at 
Lafayette,  Ind.;  married,  Oct.  4,  1866,  to 
Addie  H.  Ross,  who  was  born  March  6, 
1838,  in  Miami  county,  O.  They  have 
two  living  children,  ANNIE '  M.  and 
MARGARET"  A.  J.  Y.  Alkire  is  farm- 
ing and  practicing  medicine.  Resides 
three  miles  west  of  Sherman. 

MARGARET  y.,born  Dec.  17,  1833, 
in  Sangamon  county ;  married  Isaac  Mull, 
who  was  born  March  2,  1820,  in  Mason 
county,  Ky.  They  have  five  children, 
IDA  M.,  HENRY  E.JENNIE,  MAT- 
TIE  E.  and  CHARLES  C.,  and  reside 
four  miles  north  of  Springfield. 

CAROLINE  M.,  born  Jan.  24,  1835, 
in  Sangamon  county;  married  April  6, 
1865,  to  Conrad  Shamel.  They  have 
three  children,  CHARLES  H.,  CLAR- 
ENCE A.  and  JOHN  Y.,  and  reside 
near  Springfield. 

WILLIAM  W.,  born  July  26,  1837, 
in  Sangamon  county;  married  Judith  S. 
Lightfoftt.  They  have  three  children, 
HERBERT,  EMMETT  and  AR- 
THUR, and  reside  four  miles  southwest 
of  Troy,  Doniphan  county,  Kan. 

DANIEL,  born  in  Sangamon  countv, 
is  a  traveling  preacher  in  the  M.  E.  church, 
at  present,  1873,  resides  with  his  parents, 
recruiting  his  health. 

ALBERT  II.,  born  in  Sangamon 
county,  is  a  traveling  preacher  in  Illinois 
Conference,  M.  E.  church,  1873. 

PRISCILLA  E.,  married  George 
W.  Neer,  and  resides  near  Taylorville. 

MATTIE  E.,  married  Edward  J. 
Myers.  They  have  two  children,  MARY 


SANGAMON    COUNTY, 


79 


A.  and  EDWARD  L.,  and  reside  in 
Fancy  Creek  township. 

LEANDER  died  June  5,  1871,  in  his 
i8th  year. 

Harmonas  Alkire  and  his  wife  are  liv- 
ing on  the  farm  where  they  settled  in 

1832.  It  is  three  miles  west  of  Sherman, 
lie  confirms  the  statement  of  Washington 
Crowder  that    the    sudden    change    took 
place  December  20,   1836,  because  he  en- 
tered  a    piece  of  land  that  day,  and   the 
papers  bear  the  above  date. 

ALLEN,  ROBERT,  was  born 
in  the  year  1800,  in  Greensburg,  Green 
county,  Ky.  He  was  married  there  to  a 
Miss  Anderson,  and  came  to  Springfield, 
111.,  in  1831.  Col.  Allen  engaged  in  the 
mercantile  business  as  a  member  of  the 
firm  of  Allen  &  Blankenship,  soon  after 
coining  to  Springfield.  He  also  became  a 
mail  contractor  on  a  very  extensive  scale, 
and  brought  a  large  number  of  fine  stage 
coaches  from  Nashville,  Tenn.,  being  the 
first  ever  introduced  into  the  State.  He 
made  Springfield  his  headquarters,  and  on 
some  occasions  had  as  many  as  five  hun- 
dred horses  on  hand  at  one  time.  Col. 
Allen  was  one  of  the  directors  of  the  old 
State  Bank.  He  was  connected  with  the 
army  in  the  Mormon  war  in  1845,  an<^  U1 
the  Mexican  war  of  1846-7.  Not  long 
after  coming  to  Springfield,  Airs.  Allen 
died,  and  Mr.  Allen  was  married  in  April, 

1833,  to  Jane  Eliza   Bergen.     They  had 
two  children,  one  of  whom  died  young. 
Their  son, 

ROBERT,  Jun.,  born  Feb.  28,  1837, 
in  .Springfield,  and  brought  up  in  the  city. 
When  the  rebellion  broke  out  he  was 
commissioned,  August  28,  i86i,as  Captain 
of  Co.  — ,  30  111.  Inf.,  and  served  as  such  un- 
til May  25,  1863,  when  he  was  promoted, 
to  Major  of  the  regiment,  in  front  of 
Vicksburg.  He  served  part  of  the  time 
in  the  Quartermaster's  department;  also 
acted  as  Assistant  Inspector-General  of 
the  3d  Div.  1 7th  Army  Corps,  and  re- 
signed August  8,  1864.  Major  Robert 
Allen  was  married  Dec.  5,  1865,111  Spring- 
field, to  Anna  M.  Purely,  who  was  born 
May  12,  1838,  in  Trenton,  N.  ].  They 
had"  three  children.  GEORGE  B.,  the 
youngest,  died  August  12,  1872,  in  his 
second  year.  HENRY  T.  and  FAN- 
N 1 10  M.  reside  with  their  parents  in 
Springfield.  Major  Allen  is  a  practicing 
attorney. 


Col.  Robert  Allen  died  Dec.  i,  1854, 
and  his  widow,  Mrs.  Jane  Eliza  Allen, 
died  March  18,  1857,  both  one  mile  north 
of  the  old  State  house  in  Springfield. 

ALLEN,  WILLIAM  S.,  was 
born  June  16,  1774,  in  Bourbon  county, 
Ky.  He  was  married  to  Abigail  Snede- 
gar.  They  had  five  children  in  Kentucky. 
Mr.  Allen  came  to  Sangamon  county  in 
1835,  purchased  land  and  prepared  a 
house.  He  returned  to  Kentucky  and 
brought  his  family,  arriving  Nov.  i,  1836, 
in  what  is  now  Ball  township.  Of  their 
children, 

MARIA  L,.,  born  in  Bourbon  county, 
Ky.,  was  married  there  to  Shelton  Watts. 
They  had  three  children  there,  and  moved 
to  Sangamon  county  in  1839.  Of  their 
children,  NANCY  J.  married  John  Dren- 
nan,  and  resides  near  Tolono,  Champaign 
county,  111.  WILLIAM  S.  married 
Sarah  Knotts,  and  resides  near  Tolono,  111. 
BENJ.  FRANKLIN  married  Isabel  F. 
Thompson.  See  R.  B.  Thompson  sketch. 
Shelton  Watts  died  July  16,  1843,  and  his 

widow   married    John    Brownwell.      See 

j  .  J 

tits  name. 

MART  E.,  born  Feb.  28,  1819,  in 
Bourbon  county,  Ky.,  was  married  in 
Sangamon  county,  111.,  June  16,  1841,  to 
James  W.  Stephenson.  They  had  nine 
children.  MARGARET  A.,  born  July 
1 6,  1842,  was  married  Sept.  2,  1875,  to 
Andrew  Little.  They  reside  near  New 
Canton,  111.  JAMES  A.,  born  June  30, 
1843,  WILLIAM  E.,  born  July  24, 
1845,  FINIS  E.,  born  Oct.  18,  1849,  and 
PRESLEY  B.,  born  March  14,  1851, 
reside  with  their  parents.  MARY  E., 
born  Nov.  7,  1854,  was  married  June  6, 
1872,  and  resides  in  Mexico,  Mo.,  and 
ELLEN,  born  Sept.  9,  1856,  resides  with 
her  parents.  Two  children  died  in  in- 
fancy. James  W.  Stephenson  and  family 
reside  near  New  Canton,  111. 

NANCY  died  in  Kentucky,  aged  19 
years. 

WA  TERM  AN  P.,  born  Jan.  8,  1820, 
in  Bourbon  county,  Ky.,  was  married  in 
Sangamon  county,  Feb.,  1849,  to  Louisa 
Watts.  Thev  have  four  children. 
MARIA  L.  and  WILLIAM  S.  reside 
with  their  father.  MARY  E.  was  mar- 
ried Oct.  29,  1873,  to  John  L.  Clay  ton,  and 
resides  in  Ball  township.  JULIA  A.  re- 
sides with  her  father.  Mrs.  Louisa  Allen 
died  Nov.  26,  1857,  and  W.  P.  Allen  was 


So 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


married  Oct.  18,  1858,  to  Catharine 
Vaughn.  They  have  six  children,  MAR- 
GARET E.,  HARRIET  R.,  LOUISA 
J.,  JOHN,  JOSEPH  F.  and  ALPH.  R., 
and  reside  in  Ball  township,  on  the  farm 
settled  by  Mr.  Allen's  father,  in  1836. 

JOHNW.,\)orn  in  Kentucky, brought 
up  in  Sangamon  county,  was  married  in 
Menard  county,  Illinois,  to  Jane  Watkins. 
they  reside  near  Atlantic,  Cass  county, 
Iowa. 

Mrs.  Abigail  Allen  died  Sept.  10,  1843, 
and  William  S.  Allen  died  Dec.  n,  1848, 
both  in  Sangamon  county,  111. 

ALLISON,  ISAAC  F.,  was 
born  July  2,  1801,  in  Virginia,  and  his 
parents  moved  to  Mason  county,  Ky.  He 
was  married  about  1827,10  Deborah  Caller- 
man.  They  lived  in  Fleming  county,  Ky., 
a  short  time,  and  moved  to  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, arriving  in  the  fall  of  1829,  on  Spring 
creek,  where  seven  children  were  born. 

JOHN,  born  in  1828,  in  Fleming 
county,  Ky.,  raised  in  Sangamon  county, 
enlisted  in  the  4th  111.  Inf.,  under  Col. 
E.  D.  Baker,  in  1846,  and  died  the  same 
year  at  Matamoras,  Texas. 

J  OSEPH,\)ov\\  in  Sangamon  county; 
married  Hannah  Knudson  and  died,  leav- 
ing a  widow  and  three  children. 

SUSANNAH,  died,  aged  twelve 
years. 

ELIZABETH  is  unmarried,  and  re- 
sides in  Kansas. 

JAMES  M.,  born  April  13,  1840,  in 
Sangamon  county ;  enlisted  August  5, 
1861,  in  Co.  A.,  38th  111.  Inf.;  discharged 
on  account  of  physical  disability,  March 
29,  1862.  He  re-enlisted,  in  Sept.,  1862, 
for  three  years,  in  Co.  K,  115  111.  Inf.; 
was  transferred,  in  1864,  to  Co.  A.,  First 
U.  S.  Engineers,  and  was  honorably  dis- 
charged with  the  regiment,  Sept.  19,  1865. 
He  was  married  Nov.  18,  1866,  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  to  Julia  A.  Dunham.  They 
have  two  "children,  MARTHA  D.-  and 
ALICE  M.,  and  reside  five  miles  north- 
cast  of  Springfield. 

ELI  J  API  and  MINERVA  reside 
near  Jacksonville,  Neosho  county,  Kan. 

JOHN  Jf^born  in  Sangamon  county, 
died  June  29,  1868;  aged  21  years. 

Mrs.  Deborah  Allison  died  May  29, 
1860,  in  Sangamon  county,  and  Isaac  F. 
Allison  died  December  22,  1869,  in  Craw- 
ford county,  near  Jacksonville,  Neosho 
county,  Kan. 


ALLISON,  MARGARET, 
came  to  Sangamon  county  as  one  of  the 
family  of  Thomas  Black.  See  his  name. 
She  arrived  in  1819.  Her  parents  lived 
in  Philadelphia.  She  died  within  one 
year  after  arrival,  in  the  29th  year  of  her 

*ALSBURY,  REV.CHAS.  D., 
was  born  Oct.  25,  1817,  in  Indiana.  He 
came  to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  and  was 
married  March  14,  1839,  to  Ann  Cordelia 
Cloyd.  They  had  five  living  children, 
namely : 

THOMAS,  born  Feb.  12,  1840,  and 
died  Nov.  6,  1860. 

ANN,  born  in  1841  or  '2;  married 
April  4,  1 86 1,  to  John  W.  Anderson. 
They  have  four  children.  CHARLES 
W., "MINNIE  A.,  JOHN  C.  and  ME- 
LISSA J.,  and  reside  in  Woodside  town- 
ship. 

CAROLINE,  married,  Dec.,  1870,  to 
Leander  L.  Little;  have  one  child,  and  re- 
side in  Montgomery  county. 

MARTHA,  married,  j'an.  3,  1867,10 
John  D.  Smith.  -See  his  name. 

JOHN  C.  resides  with  his  mother. 

Rev.  Charles  D.  Alsbury  was  a  preach- 
er of  the  gospel  in  connection  with  the 
Baptist  church.  He  died,  and  his  widow 
resides  one  and  a  half  miles  northwest  of 
Woodside. 

AYLESBURY,  CHARLES, 
was  born  in  North  Carolina  and  married 
in  Virginia,  to  Mrs.  Jan,e  Huggins.  They 
moved  to  Kentucky,  and  from  there  to 
Springfield,  111.,  in  1823.  Mr.  Aylesbury 
entered  the  land  south  of  the  public  square. 
They  brought  some  children  with  them. 
Mrs.  Aylesbury's  daughter,  by  her  first 
marriage, 

JANE  HUG  GINS,  born  in  Virginia, 
married  William  B.  Jarrett.  Sec  his 
name. 

Of  the  Aylesbury  children, 

CHARLES,  born  in  Greenbrier  coun- 
•  ty,  Virginia,  and  married  there  to  Mary 
Reav.  They  had  two  children,  and  came 
to  Sangamon  county  in  1823,  and  settled 
on  Spring  creek,  where  they  had  nine 
children.  JOHN,  born  in  Virginia;  mar- 
ried in  Sangamon  county  to  Sarah  West, 
and  reside  in  Piatt  county.  ELIZA- 
BETH, born  Jan.  8,  1822,  in  Greenbrier 
county,  Va. ;  married  in  Sangamou  county, 
August  9,  1849,  to  George  W.  Buchanan, 
who  was  born  Nov.  27,  1823,  in  Morgan 


SA  NGA  MON  C  O  UNTT. 


Si 


county,  111.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Buchanan  had 
six  children.  MARY  j.  married  B.  F. 
Nurbonn,  and  resides  with  her  father. 
JAMES  F.  died  in  1871,  aged  19  years. 
SUSANNA,  ELIZABETH,  ALBERT  and 
ISAAC,  reside  with  their  father.  Mrs. 
Elizabeth  B.  died,  and  G.  W.  Buchanan 
resides  west  of  Loami.  BRICE  died  in 
Sangamon  county,  aged  20  years.  ED- 
WARD and  NANCY  are  married,  and 
live  in  Missouri.  Charles  Aylesbury,  wife 
and  three  children  reside  in  Piatt  county. 

ALEXANDER,  born  in  Virginia; 
married  in  Sangamon  county,  to  Ginsey 
Jordan,  raised  a  family,  and  moved  to 
Decatur.  He  enlisted  in  an  Illinois  regi- 
ment, served  three  years,  re-enlisted  as  a 
veteran,  was  furloughed  home,  and  died 
in  Springfield. 

LE  VI,  the  youngest  son,  is  married, 
and  resides  in  Macon  county. 

Charles  Aylesbury,  Sen.,  died  in  1861, 
in  Loami  township.  His  widow  resides 
with  her  son  Levi,  in  Macon  county.  She 
is  now — 1873 — more  than  96  vears  old. 

ALVEY.  WILLIAM,  was  born 
Sept.  1 6,  1799,  in  Washington  county, 
Ky.  He  came  to  the  southern  part  of 
Illinois  in  1824,  and  to  Springfield  in  May, 
1825.  He  was  married  Nov.  6,  1825, 
near  Springfield,  to  Madaline  Watson. 
They  had  six  children,  all  born  in  Spring- 
field. 

MEL  VINA,  born  July  22,  1826,  in 
Springfield;  married  there  to  Samuel  B. 
Fisher.  See  his  name. 

SIMON  B.,  born  Oct.  16,  1827,  in 
Springfield,  went  to  Oregon  in  1849,  was 
married  in  Yamhill  county,  Oregon, 
August  30,  -1853,  to  Dollie  V.  Elder, 
daughter  of  A.  R.  Elder,  formerly  of 
Springfield,  111.  They  have  five  children, 
vi/:  ALICE  M.,  born  Oct.  10,  1854,  in 
Yamhill  countv;  married,  August  30, 
1873,  to  James  H.  Downey,  of  Steilacoom 
City,  W.  T.  WILLIAM  A.,  born  June 
25,  1864,  in  Oregon.  EDITH  S.,  born 
Sept.  17,  1867.  EDWARD  B.,  born 
Feb.  28,  1873,  and  JUNIA  AFTON, 
born  June  24,  1874,  reside  with  their 
parents  in  Steilacoom  City,  Pierce  county, 
Washington  Territory. 

Ef.IZA  A.,  born  Oct.  17,  1829,  in 
Springfield;  married  at  Marengo,  Iowa, 
to  Dr.  George  W.  Wallace,  who  was  born 
in  Columbiana  county,  Ohio.  '  Studied 
medicine  with  Dr.  McCook,  one  of  the 
—  ir 


celebrated  McCook  family.  Moved  to 
Iowa  in  the  spring  of  1848.  They  had 
seven  children,  namely:  GEORG.E  W., 
MARY  E.,  FLORENCE,  WILLIAM 
A.,  CLARA,  ALFRED  F.  and  LIN- 
COLN. Dr.  W.  died  April  4,  1865,  at 
Salisbury,  Sangamon  county.  Airs. 
Wallace  and  family  reside  in  Springfield. 
^  MART  E.,  born  July  12,  1831,  in 
Springfield,  married,  about  1859,  to  J°" 
siah  Hickel.  Thev  reside  in  Kansas. 

J.  WILLJAM,\)orn  March  12,  1834, 
in  Springfield,  was  married  there,  May 
20,  1860,  to  Alzina  A.  Brown,  (daughter 
of  Ira  A.  Brown.)  They  have  six  child- 
ren, viz:  MEL  VINA;  HELEN  B., 
JAMES  W.,  HENRY  P.,  HOMER  W. 

and , —    — .     Mr.  J.  Wm.  Alvey  is  a 

merchant  in  Mechanicsburg,  Sangamon 
county,  111. 

ALFRED  resides  in  Springfield. 

William  Alvey  moved  to  Marengo, 
Iowa,  in  1848,  and  Mrs.  Madeline  Alvey 
died  there,  May  12,  1849.  He  was  mar- 
ried April,  1850,  to  Eleanor  Penny.  He 
died  May,  1855,  at  Marengo,  Iowa. 

AMOS,  MRS.  SARAH,  was 
born  June  13, 1793,  in  Washington  countv, 
Md.  Her  maiden  name  was  Friend.  She 
first  married  Phillip  Swinley;  had  two 
children,  and  Mr.  Swinley  died.  Mrs. 
Swinley  was  married  the  second  time, 
August  2,  1810,  to  James  Amos.  They 
had  two  children,  and  James  Amos  died 
Feb.  6,  1823,  in  Maryland,  also.  Mrs. 
Amos  came  with  her  children  to  Sanga- 
mon county,  arriving  March  i,  1838,  in 
Springfield.  Of  her  children, 

BARBARA  E.  SWINLET  mar- 
ried in  Virginia  to  Thomas  Lemon,  who 
died,  and  Mrs.  Lemon  came  with  her 
child  to  Sangamon  county  in  1839,  an<^ 
died  in  Decatur,  April,  1865.  Her  daugh- 
ter VIRGINIA  married  Joseph  Strong, 
in  Decatur,  moved  to  Hannibal,  Mo.,  and 
died  there,  June,  1872,  leaving  three  child- 
ren. 

SAMUEL  K.  SWINLET,  born 
April  21,  1802,  in  Washington  county, 
Md.;  married  there  to  Maria  Rice,  and 
came  to  Springfield  with  his  half  brother, 
Joshua  F.  Amos.  Mr.  Swinley  settled 
near  where  Woodside  station  now  stands. 
While  there  he  served  as  one  of  the  coun- 
ty judges  with  J.  Wickliffe  Taylor  and 
Armstrong.  His  wife  died  there  in  the 
fall  of  1852.  Judge  Swinley  moved  to 


82 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


Decatur  in  1857  or  '8,  was  there  married 
to  Ruth  P  rather,  of  Washington  county, 
Md.  He  died  early  in  1872,  and  his 
widow  resides  in  Decatur. 

JOSHUA  F.  AMOS,  was  horn  Jan. 

28,  1812,  in  Washington  county,  Md.,  and 
came   to   Springfield,  111.,  June    10,  1835. 
He  was  married  March  i,  1838,111  Spring- 
field, to  Julia  A.  Hay,  daughter  of  John 
Hay,  Esq.     They  had  three  children  born 
in   Springfield.      SARAH  E.,  born   Oct. 
30,  1839,  married  Oct.  30,  1861,  to  Levin 
W.  Shepherd,  who  was  born  in   London 
county,   Va.,   Sept.   3,  1836.      He  served 
one  year  each,  1860  and  1861,  as  clerk  and 
comptroller  of   the    city   of     Springfield; 
was  a  member  of  the  Board  of  Supervisors 
of  Sangamon  county  in  1868  and  1869.    In 
1862  he  was  appointed  by  President  Lin- 
coln Assistant  Quartermaster  in  the  U.  S. 
Army,  and    stationed    at    Fort    Ridgely, 
Minn.      Transferred    to    Keokuk,    Iowa, 
where   he  commanded   that   Fort  for  six 
months.      Thence    to   Columbus,  Ky.,  as 
Depot  Quartermaster;  thence  to  Chicago, 
as  Disbursing    Quartermaster;    thence   to 
Tennessee,  thence  to  Fort  Kearney,  Ne- 
braska, at  which  place  he  resigned,  Oct., 
1865,  and  became  a  lumber  merchant  in 
Springfield,  111.     Afterwards  removed  to 
Kansas;   was  first    President  of   Peoples 
National  Bank  of  Ottawa.     Resides  now 
in    Denison,  Texas,  which  place   he  laid 
out  in  1872,  and   sold   the  first  lot  there. 
Col.   Shepherd  was  twice   brevetted    for 
faithful  services  during   the  war.     GEO. 
A.,    born    Sept.    4,    1841,    married,    Oct. 
30,     1866,     to     Josephine     A.     Andrews, 
eldest  daughter   of  Col.  George   W.  An- 
drews,   at    Wapakonetta,  Auglaixe  coun- 
ty,   Ohio.       She    was    born    there,    May 

29,  1844.        They     have     two     children, 
GEORGIA    and    ROBERTA,    and    reside    in 
Humboldt,     Kansas.      Mr.     George     A. 
Amos  is  engaged  in  the  practice  of  law. 
JOHN  M.,  born  August   18,   1844.     He 
enlisted   in    Col.    Phillips'    three     months 
regiment.     Stationed  at  Rock  Island,  111., 
in    1864.     He  was  married  Oct.  30,  1867, 
to  Caroline  J.,  youngest  daughter  of  Ora- 
mel   Clark,  Esq.     They  have  four   child- 
ren,  JOHN    J.,    GEORGE    O.,   JULIA      R.,   and 

CURTIS  H.,  and  reside  near  Springfield. 
Mr.  Joshua  F.  Amos  and  wife  reside 
adjoining  Springfield,  on  the  west.  Mr. 
Amos  spent  six  years,  from  1845  *° 
1851,  in  Lagrange,  Mo.  In  1852  he,  with 


Nathaniel  Hay,  established  the  well 
known  firm  of  Amos  &  Hay,  which  con- 
tinued until  the  decease  of  Mr.  Hay.  Mr. 
Amos  has  retired  from  active  business. 

ROBERT  J.  AMOS,  was  born 
March  2,  1815,  in  Washington  county, 
Md.  Came  to  Springfield  June,  183=5, 
and  settled  in  Woodside  township.  He- 
went  to  Decatur  in  1850,  and  was  there 
married,  in  1856,  to  Mrs.  Mary  Packard. 
They  have  two  children,  ANNIE  and 
ROBERT,  born  in  Decatur.  They 
moved,  in  1869,  to  Humboldt,  Kansas, 
where  they  now  reside. 

Mrs.  vSarah  Amos  died  Feb.  15,  1847. 
at  the  residence  of  her  son,  Robert  J. 
Amos,  in  Woodside  township,  Sangamon 
county. 

ANDERSON,  JAMES,  was 
born  in  1784  in  Botetourt  county,  Va. 
Nancy  Fletcher  was  born  in  1786,  in  Rock- 
bridge  county,  Va.  They  were  there 
married,  in  1802,  and  had  two  children  in 
Virginia.  They  moved,  in  1808,  to  Ken- 
tucky, where  they  had  three  children, 
and  in  1813  moved  to  Indiana,  where  one 
child  was  born.  They  moved  to  Sanga- 
mon county,  111.,  in  1820,  and  settled  in 
what  is  now  Ball  township.  Of  their  six 
children — 

ROBERT  A7;,  born  in  Virginia,  mar- 
ried, in  Sangamon  county,  to  Rebecca 
Wilson,  who  died,  and  he  married  Clarissa 
Woods,  moved  to  Wisconsin,  and  both 
died  there. 

MARGARET  L.,  born  March  28, 
1806,  in  Virginia,  married  in  Sangamon 
county  to  William  Drennan.  (See  his 
name.} 

JOB  F.,  born  in  Kentucky,  died  un- 
married, at  55  years  of  age. 

JOHN  N.,  born  in  Kentucky,  raised 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  in  Arkan- 
sas, and  died  there. 

NANCY,  born  in  Kentucky,  married 
in  Sangamon  county  to  John  Caldwell, 
and  died  in  Texas. 

REBECCA,  born  in  Indiana,  raised 
in  Sangamon  county,  went  to  Arkansas, 
married  and  died  there. 

James  Anderson  died  in  1828  and  his 
widow  died  in  1845,  both  in  Sangamon 
countv. 

ANDERSON.  MOSES  K.. 
was  born  Nov.  u,  1803,  in  Butler  county, 
Ky.  His  parents  died  when  he  was  ten 
or  twelve  vears  of  age,  and  he  was  taken 


SANGAMON    COUNTT. 


by  a  relative  to  that  part  of  Davidson 
which  is  now  Cheatham  county,  on  Han- 
peth  river,  Tenn.  Cassariller  Stroude 
was  born  Nov.  2^,  1812,  in  Dickson  coun- 
ty, Tenn.  M.  K.  Anderson  and  Cassa- 
riller Stroude  were  married  in  her  native 
countv,  Sept.  13,  1827,  and  moved  to  San- 
gamon countv.  111.,  arriving  March  2, 
1829,  in  what  is  now  Cartwright  town- 
ship, four  miles  east  of  Pleasant  Plains, 
and  south  of  Richland  creek,  where  they 
had  nine  children.  Of  their  children — 

THOMAS  p\,  born  Sept.  n,  1829,  in 
Sangamon  countv,  married  Dec.  25,  1852, 
to  Martha  L.  Child.  They  had  five 
children.  LAURA  died,  aged  two  years. 
CHARLES,  EDWARD,  HENRY  and 
TAVXER  reside  with  their  parents,  one 
mile  north  of  Richland  Station. 

WILLIE  ANN,  born  Sept.  17,  1831, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  Francis 
Corson,  who  died,  leaving  one  child, 
MOSES  E,  and  she  married  George 
Springer.  They  have  five  children, 
MARY,  CLARA,  ANNA,  REUBEN 
and  CHARLES,  and  reside  in  Parsons, 
Kan. 

SARAH  J.,  born  March  14,  1834,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  John  D.  Mc- 
Cullough.  They  have  four  children, 
LAURA,  WILLARD,  EDWARD  and 
LILLIE,  and  reside  at  Franklin,  Morgan 
county. 

MART  E.,  born  April  17,  1836,  mar- 
ried John  L.  Child.  See  his  name. 

ME  LINDA  E.,  born  Nov.  4,  1838, 
married  Joseph  Potter.  They  have  five 
children,  CHARLES,  EUGENE,  NEL- 
LIE, HATTIE  and  LULU,  and  reside 
at  Palmer  111. 

CYNTHIA  A.,  born  Dec.  10,  1840, 
married  Edward  D.  Ballard.  They  have 
three  children,  HARRIET,  JAMES  A. 
and  CLIFTON  D.,  and  reside  one  and  a 
half  miles  north  of  Richland  station. 

GEORGE  W.,  born  April  3,  1843,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  near  Athens, 
June  12,  1862,  to  Melinda  F.  Moran, 
who  was  born  May  16,  1845.  They  have 
five  children,  FRANK,  MOSES  W., 
JAMES  W.,  JENNIE  and  GEORGE, 
and  reside  two  and  a  half  miles  north  of 
Richland  station. 

M  ARENA  A.,  born  July  26,  1845, 
married  William  P.  Mitchell.  They  have 
four  living  children,  MINNIE,  WILEY, 


JOHN,  and  a  boy  babe,  and  reside  near 
Humboldt,  Richardson  county,  Neb. 

WILLARD  WICKLIFFE,  born 
April  28,  1848,  married  April  8,  1869,  to 
Susan  Moran,  who  was  born  Dec.  14, 
1848,  in  Menard  county.  They  have  two 
children,  HARRY  and  CASSARILLA, 
and  reside  two  miles  north  of  Richland 
station. 

Mrs.  Cassarilla  Anderson  died  August 
17,  1850,  and  M.  K.  Anderson  was  mar- 
ried Dec.  31,  1850,  to  Mrs.  Marena  T. 
Hall,  whose  maiden  name  was  Stroude. 
They  had  three  children.  JOHN  T.  and 
ELIZA  F.  died  between  seven  and  nine 
years. 

WILLIAM   WILKES,  born     Sept. 

8,  1857,  resides  with  his  parents  in  Spring- 
field, but  is  now  a  theological   student  at 
Lexington,  Ky. 

Moses  K.  Anderson  taught  a  military 
school  in  Dickson  county,  Tenn.,  and  the 
old  system  of  military  training  being  in 
vogue  when  he  came  to  Illinois,  he  was 
very  soon  elected  captain  of  a  company, 
and  in  a  short  time  was  promoted  to  Col- 
onel and  Brigadier-General.  He  was  ap- 
pointed, about  1838,  by  Gov.  Carlin,  Ad- 
jutant-General of  the  State,  and  continued 
to  hold  the  office  by  successive  appoint- 
ments, until  1856.  During  the  time,  Gen. 
Anderson  was  called  upon  to  discharge 
the  duties  of  his  office  in  connection  with 
the  Mormon  war,  at  Nauvoo,  and  the 
Mexican  war. 

Wrhen  Gen.  Anderson  came  to  Sanga- 
mon county  he  borrowed  of  Eli  Blank- 
enship  the  money  to  enter  his  first  So  acres 
of  land,  and  paid  fifty  per  cent,  for  the 
use  of  the  money.  He  has  since  given 
each  of  his  children  a  good  farm,  and  has 
500  acres  left.  He  has  been  four  years 
county  judge,  six  years  alderman  in 
Springfield,  and  20  years  justice  of  the 
peace.  He  is  of  the  opinion  that  the 
"deep  snow"  of  1830-31  was  five  feet 
deep  on  a  level  in  the  timber. 

ANDERSON,  TAVNERB., 
born  Nov.  30,  1809,  in  Butler  countv,  K\ ., 
went  with  his  brother  Moses  K.,  to  'lYn 
nessee,  and  from  there  to  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, 111.,  arriving  March  2,  1829,  in  what  is 
now  Cartwright  township.  He  was  in 
the  Black  Hawk  war,  was  married  Dec. 

9,  1834,  to  Polly  Pirkins.      They  had   six 
children,  in  Sangamon  countv. 


84 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


AMERICUS,  born  Dec.  29,  1835, 
was  married  Oct.  5,  1856,  to  Emily 
Thompson.  They  had  two  children,  and 
one  died.  Mr.  A.  died  Oct.  2,  1860. 

FRANCIS  J.,  born  Sept.  28,  1837, 
died  young. 

JOSEPH  O.,  born  April  23,  1840, 
died  April  15,  1847. 

RUFUS  B.,  born  Oct.  i,  1841,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Martha  Young. 
They  have  two  children,  and  reside  near 
Palmer,  Christian  county. 

ME  LINDA  J/.,  born  May  23,  1844, 
married  Y.  B.  Clark.  They  had  seven 
children;  all  died  but  one.  Mrs.  Clark 
died  Sept.  3,  1872.  Their  child  is  in 
Texas.  Mr.  C.  resides  at  Clarksdale, 
Christian  county,  111. 

HARRIET  F.,  born  Jan.  7,  1846,  in 
Sangamon  county,  was  married  Dec.  5, 
1868,  to  William'  H.  McDonald.  They 
had  four  children,  two  died.  They  reside 
near  Clarksdale. 

GEORGE  E.,  born  Dec.  24,  1849,  in 
Sangamon  county,  was  married  Sept.  33, 
1874,  to  Mollie  Boyd.  They  have  one 
child,  and  reside  near  Clarksdale,  111. 

CHARLES  T.,  born  August  4,  1852, 
and  resides  at  Williamsville,  Sangamon 
county. 

Tavner  B.  Anderson  and  wife  reside 
five  miles  southwest  of  Taylorville,  and 
near  Palmer  City,  Christian  county,  111. 

ANTLE,    REV.    JOHN,    was 

born  April  15,  1789,  in  Cumberland  coun- 
ty, Ky.  Elizabeth  Buchanan  was  born  in 
Cumberland  county,  Pa.  Her  parents 
moved  to  Lincoln  county,  Ky.,  when  she 
was  seven  years  old.  Her  father  died  in 
that  county,  and  she  went  to  live  with  a 
married  sister  in  Cumberland  county.  John 
Antle  and  Elizabeth  Buchanan  were  there 
married.  They  had  five  children.  The 
family  them  moved  to  Morgan  county, 
111.,  in  1829,  and  from  there  to  Sangamon 
county,  arriving  Jan.  9,  1830,  in  what  is 
now  Salisbury  township.  Of  their  child- 
ren— 

POLLY,  born  in  1810,  in  Kentucky, 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  Henry 
Hadley,  and  she  died. 

SALL  Y,  born  Jan.,  181 1,  in  Kentucky, 
married  in  Sangamon  county,  Sept.,  1833, 
to  Marshall  Bragg.  Mr.  Bragg  died, 
and  his  widow  and  three  children  re- 
side in  Keokuk  county,  Iowa.  A  mar- 


ried daughter  resides  in  Logan  county, 
Illinois. 

HENRY,  born  Sept.  12,  1813,  in  Cum- 
berland county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  Jan.  18,  1837,  to  Nancy  Dun- 
can. They  have  eight  living  children. 
SARAH  A.  married  Charles  Bottroff, 
and  resides  in  Cartwright  township. 
SIDNEY  D.,  ELY  ANN,  JAMES  S., 
NATHAN  McC.,  LURANA,  MAR- 
THA F.  and  MARSHAL  B.,  reside 
with  their  parents,  adjoining  Salisbury  on 
the  west. 

ANDRE  W  7.,  born  in  1815,  in  Cum- 
berland county,  Kentucky,  married  in 
Sangamon  county  to  Ann  Dardon,  Oct., 
1840.  They  have  one  child;  and  reside 
near  Scio,  Linn  county,  Oregon. 

MARTHA,  born  August  8,  1818,  in 
Kentucky,  married  in  Sangamon  county, 
March,  1839,  to  Simon  Stevens.  Thev 
had  five  children,  one  died  young.  JOHN 
enlisted  August,  1862,  in  Co.  H.,  114  111. 
Inf.,  for  three  years,  and  died  in  the  armv 
in  1863.  MARSHALL  A.,  GEO.  S. 
and  WILLARD  T.,  reside  with  their 
mother.  Mr.  Stephens  died  in  1863,  and 
his  widow  resides  in  Salisbury  township. 

Mrs.  Elizabeth  Antle  died  Sept.,  1844, 
and  John  Antle  died  August  30,  1864, 
she  in  Menard  county  and  he  in  Salisbury. 

Rev.  John  Antle  preached  to  five 
churches,  called  Separate  Baptists.  One 
each  at  Salisbury  and  McKinnie  Settle- 
ment, in  Sangamon  county,  Baker's 
Prairie  and  Sand  Ridge,  in  Menard  coun- 
ty, and  one  in  Morgan  county.  The  only 
pay  he  received  or  expected  was  the  hope 
of  reward  in  a  better  world. 

ARCHER,  WILLIAM,  was 
born  July  30,  1793,  in  North  Carolina,  and 
in  1807  his  parents  moved  to  Tennessee, 
where  he  was  married  to  Elizabeth  Jack- 
son. They  had  one  child,  and  moved  to 
Madison  county,  Illinois,  where  they  had 
one  child,  and  Mrs.  A.  died,  and  he  mar- 
ried Elizabeth  Holt,  Dec.  20,  1818.  She 
was  born  Dec.  3,  1793?  in  Oglethrope 
county,  Ga.,  and,  losing  her  parents  when 
quite  young,  she  was  taken  by  an  uncle, 
Robert  White,  to  Madison  county,  111.,  in 
1811.  Wm.  and  Elizabeth  Archer  had 
twins  in  Madison  county,  and  moved  to 
Sangamon  county,,  arriving  April  30, 1820, 
in  what  is  now  Curran  township,  where 
they  had  nine  children.  Of  all  his  child- 
ren— 


SANGAMON  COUNTY. 


WINSTON,  born  Sept.  12,  1814,  in 
Tennessee,  raised  in  Sangamon  county, 
married  Mary  Robinson,  moved  to  Cali- 
fornia, and  died  in  1866,  leaving  a  widow 
and  six  children,  near  Petaluma,  Sonoma 
county,  California. 

MARTHA,  born  Sept.  24,  1817,  in 
Madison  county,  111.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county  to  John  Riddle.  See  his 
name. 

Bv  the  second  wife — 

JA  CKSON  and  CARROLL,  twins, 
born  Sept.  30,  1819,  in  Madison  county, 
111. 

JACKSON,  married  Oct.  7,  1844,10 
Elcy  F.  Meacham.  They  had  three 
children.  ELIZABETH  J.  was  killed 
in  her  eighth  year  by  a  fall  from  a  wagon. 
MARY  A.  born  May  14,  1848,  married 
Feb.  1 6,  1865,  to  Andrew  Alson,  who 
was  born  March  6,  1838,  in  Sweden,  and 
came  to  America  in  1855.  They  had 
three  children.  The  second,  CHARLES, 
died  in  his  fourth  year.  ANNA  E.  and 
CLARA  A.  reside  with  their  parents,  six 
miles  west  of  Springfield.  GEORGE 
R.  born  r\.ugust  13,  1851,  resides  with  his 
mother.  Jackson  Archer  died  April  7, 
1852,  in  southwest  Missouri,  while  on  a 
journey  for  his  health.  His  widow  mar- 
ried Wm.  Duff.  See  his  name. 

CARROLL  married  Nov. 24,  1842,  to 
Delilah  Renshaw.  They  had  three  child- 
ren. MARTHA  T.,  born  May  27,  1847, 
married  to  Lorenzo  Stillman,  have  three 
children,  and  reside  near  Curran.  ANN 
E.,  born  August  5,  1849,  married  Sept., 
1870,  to  Edward  Robison,  and  reside  in 
Linden,  Kan.  SARAH  C.,  born  Feb.  8, 
1851,  married  November  21,  1872,  to 
Henry  Gaines,  and  resides  near  Odell,  111. 
Mrs.  Delilah  Archer  died  May  31,  1865, 
and  Carroll  Archer  was  married  Sept.  4, 
1866,  to  Elizabeth  Houghton,  who  was 
born  Oct.  25,  1830,,  in  Menard  county. 
They  have  two  children,  EDWIN  and 
MARIA  BELLE,  and  reside  three  miles 
northwest  of  Curran. 

M'ARY,  born  May  24,  1822,  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  married  Nov.  n,  1840,  to 
Alexander  Penny;  had  one  child,  WIL- 
LIAM, born  Nov.  3, 1844,  enlisted  August 
14,  1862,  for  three  years,  in  Co.  F.,  14410 
111.  Inf.,  was  captured  at  the  battle  of  Gun- 
town,  Miss.,  June,  1864,  and  died  in  An- 
dersonville  prison,  Feb.  24,  1865.  Alex. 
Penny  died  in  1868,  and  his  widow  mar- 


ried Mathew  Redman,  who  was  born 
May  i,  1828,  in  county  Wexford,  Ireland. 
They  reside  five  miles  west  of  Spring- 
field" 

SARAH,  born  Dec.  24,  1823,  resides 
with  her  mother. 

NANCY,\>Qm.  Nov.  13,  1825,  in  San- 
gamon county,  married  Samuel  O.  Maxcy. 
See  his  name. 

JOHN,  born  Oct.  3,  1826,  married 
Susan  Taylor.  They  have  one  child, 
AMERICA,  and  reside  in  McDonough 
county,  near  Fandon.  He  was^a  soldier 
in  a  cavalry  regiment  from  that  county  in 
suppressing  the  rebellion. 

MADISON,  born  August  27,  1828, 
married  Margaret  Dixon,  who  died  Dec. 
29,  1863,  leaving  three  children,  WIL- 
LIAM B.,  MARY  J.  and  SARAH  E. 

THOMAS  J.,  born  August  3,  1830, 
and  resides  near  Rossville,  Kan. 

WASHINGTON  J.,  born  July  19, 
1832,  married  Dec.  29,  1861,  to  Mrs.  Me- 
linda  Hammond,  whose  maiden  name  was 
Cox.  They  have  five  children,  GEORGE 
W.,  THOMAS  C.,  MINNIE  L.,  MARY 
A.  and  WILLIAM,  and  reside  three 
miles  north  of  Curran. 

ELIZABETH,  born  Nov.  i,  1838, 
married  Jan.  18,  1865,  to  Peter  VanOr- 
man.  *  Mrs.  VanOrman  and  her  child, 
LIZZIE,  reside  with  her  mother. 

William  Archer  died  August  31,  1867, 
from  the  effects  of  being  thrown  from  a 
horse,  and  his  widow  resides  at  the  farm 
where  they  settled  in  1820. 

In  the  fall  of  1873  Mrs.  Elizabeth  Ar- 
cher, then  eighty  years  of  age,  gave  to  the 
writer  a  piece  of  a  dress  made  with  her 
own  hands  more  than  sixty  years  before. 
The  family  of  her  uncle,  with  whom  she 
moved  from  Georgia  to  St.  Clair  county, 
111.,  in  18 1 1,  brought  some  cotton  in  the 
bolls,  for  the  purpose  of  using  the  seed  in 
growing  cotton  in  their  new  home.  Miss 
Holt,  as  her  name  then  was,  obtained  the 
consent  of  her  uncle  to  apply  the  cotton 
to  her  own  use.  She  picked  it  from  the 
bolls  and  separated  the  cotton  from  the 
seed  with  her  fingers,  and  spun  it  on  a 
wheel,  borrowed  from  a  neighbor  more 
than  thirty  miles  distant.  She  had  a  rude 
loom  constructed  for  the  purpose,  and  had 
just  commenced  weaving,  when  the  first 
assassination  among  the  white  settlers  by 
Indians  took  place,  as  the  beginning  there 
of  the  war  with  England.  That  occurred 


86 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


in  June,  1812.  She,  with  her  uncle's 
family,  fled  to  Fort  Bradsby,  a  rude  wood- 
en fortification  near  by.  Appealing-  to  the 
Lieutenant  in  command  for  protection, 
he  reported  the  case  to  Governor  Edwards, 
who  authorized  him  to  grant  her  request. 
A  guard  was  accordingly  placed  around 
the  cabin,"and  kept"there  until  the  weav- 
ing was  completed.  The  design  was 
unique  and  beautiful.  The  cloth  was  care- 
fully preserved,  some  of  it  bleached  to 
snowy  whiteness,  and  made  into  a  dress. 
She  wore  it  the  first  time  to  a  quarterly 
meeting  in  1815,  just  after  the  close  of  the 
war,  and  attracted  universal  attention  as 
the  finest  dressed  lady  in  all  that  region  of 
country. 

ARCHER,  MOSES,  came  to 
Sangamon  county  with  his  brother  Wil- 
liam. He  was  four  times  married,  and 
died  at  Galena  before  the  rebellion.  His 
son — 

ROBERT,  died  in  1870  or  '71,  leaving 
a  widow  and  three  daughters  in  Christian 
county. 

ARCHER,  MICHAEL,  came 
to  Sangamon  county  two  years  later  than 
his  brother  William,  and  married  EfFy 
Duff,  moved  to  Missouri,  raised  a  large 
family,  returned  to  Sangamon'  county 
during  the  rebellion,  and  Mrs.  Archer 
died  in  Sangamon  county.  He  returned 
to  Jasper  county,  Mo.,  and  died  there  in 
1871. 

ARCHER,  ROBERT,  was 
born  Sept.  17,  1801,  in  Tennessee,  and 
came  with  his  brothers,  Moses,  Michael, 
Obadiah,  their  sister  Jemima,  and  their 
mother,  in  1821,  to  Sangamon  county, 
where  their  brother  William  had  settled 
the  year  before.  Robert  Archer  and 
Matilda  DufF  were  married  Feb.  6,  1825, 
and  had  three  children  in  Sangamon 
county. 

ELIZABETH    J.,  born   August   i, 

1827,  married  Nov.  15,    1850,  to   Reuben 
Brown.     See  his  name. 

BENNETT,    C.  D.,   born  July    13, 

1828,  died  Sept.  28,  1846. 

MARTHA  T.,  born  April  15,  1830, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  Leadbetter 
Bradley.  See  his  name. 

Robert  Archer  died*{October  17,  1859, 
and  Matilda,  his  wife,  died  July  20,  1863, 
both  in  Sangamon  county. 


. 


ARCHER,     JEMIMA,     came 
to  Sangamon  county  in  1821  and  marrie 
George  DufF.     See  his  name. 

ARCHER,  OBADIAH,  came 
with  his  mother,  sister  and  brothers  to 
Sangamon  county  in  1821.  He  has  been 
twice  married,  and  resides  at  Galena,  111. 

Mrs.  Martha  Archer,  mother  of  William 
Moses,  Michael,  Obadiah  and  ^e 
came  with  her  children  to  Sangamo 
county,  in  1821,  and  died  at  the  house  o 
her  son  Moses,  several  years  later. 

ARMSTRONG,   HUGH  M., 
born    Feb.    13,   1839,   in   Warren   county 
Ky.,  and  moved  with  his* father  and  fam 
ily  to  Madison  county,  111.,  in  1816.    Hug 
came    to    Springfield   Nov.    8,  1829.     H 
was  married  in  Springfield  June  3, 
to   Lavina  M.  Dryer,  daughter  of  Joh 
Dryer.     See   his  name.     They    had    te 
children,  in  Springfield ;  five  died  young 
Of  the  others — 

CATHARINE    L.,    born    July    20, 
1830,  was  married  in  Springfield,  July  i 
1853,   to    Samuel    M.    Culver,   who  w 
born  in  New  York.     They  had  five  chil 
ren.     CARRIE  M.  died  aged  seven  year 
CHARLES  A.,  HUGH  M.,  WILLIA 
H.  and  GILBERT  R.,  reside  with  the 
parents  in  Springfield. 

CYNTHIA  y.,  born  Nov.  i,  183 
was  married  in  Springfield,  July  u,  186 
to  H.  F.  Hollingsworth,  a  native  of  Ca 
roll  county,  111.  They  have  one  chil 
MAHLON  F.,  and  reside  near  Freepo 
Stephenson  county,  111. 

ALBERT  H.,  born  July  22,  1845,  l 
Springfield,  was  married  Dec.  19,  1868,  t 
Jennie  Merriweather,  who  was  born  Jul 
19,  1845,111  Green  county,  111.  They  hav 
four  children,  KATE  M.,  AXNI" 
HARRIS  HALE  and  ALBERT  D 
and  reside  in  Springfield.  Mr.  A. 
machinist. 

JOHN  D.,  born  August  7,  1852,  an 

JULIA  M.,  born  August  8,  185 
both  in  Springfield,  reside  with  thei 
parents. 

Hugh  M.  Armstrong  was  brought  u 
a  hatter  and  engaged  in  that  business  wit 
his  brother  Hosea  in  Springfield,  in  ]  82 
He  was  afterwards  interested  in  wo 
carding,  and,  in  connection  with  Josep 
and  E.  R.  Thayer,  originated,  and  f< 
some  years  conducted,  the  Springfiel 
Woolen  Mills.  He  now  resides  on  a  far 
near  Batavia,  Kane  county,  111. 


SANGAMON  COUNTY. 


ARMSTRONG,  JOHN,  was 
born  Nov.  14,  1814,  in  Chester  county,  Pa., 
came  to  Springfield,  111.,  August  i,  1837, 
and  was  married  Nov.  14,  1839,  to  Chloe 
E.  Abel.  They  had  eight  children,  two 
of  whom  died  young. 

WILLIAM  P.,  born  Sept.  7,  1840, 
married  Frances  E.  Maxon.  He  died 
I-\-l).  i%  1874,  and  she  died  in  June  of  the 
same  year,  both  in  Springfield. 

ROBERT  R.,  born  Feb.  20,  1844, 
died  Jan.  i,  1860. 

/.  rCTE.,}wrn  Jan.  5,  1846,  in  Spring- 
field, married  Jan.  5,  1870,  to  C.  H.  Fos- 
ter. They  have  two  children,  GER- 
TRUDE E.  and  FREDRICK  F.,  and 
reside  in  Pawnee.  Mr.  Foster  is  a  mer- 
chant there. 

HENRT  JR.,  born  March  27,  1848, 

CHARLES  A.,  born  Feb.  10,  1850, 
and — 

EDWARD  R.,  born  Feb.  20,  1852; 
the  three  latter  reside  with  their  parents. 

Mr.  Armstrong  has  been  a  contractor 
and  builder  for  many  years.  He  was  ap- 
pointed by  President  Lincoln,  in  1861, 
to  the  office  of  Post  Master  in  Springfield, 
and' held  the  office  until  August  5,  1865. 
He  now  resides  in  Springfield. 

ARMSTRONG,  THOMAS, 
was  born  Jan.  27,  1785,  in  Augusta 
county,  Va.  He  was  there  married,  iSov., 
1815,  to  Jane  Burgess,  who  was  born 
[une  3,  1796,  in  Greenbrier  county.  They 
had  seven  children  in  Augusta  county,  and 
moved,  in  1827,  to  Logan  county,  Ohio, 
where  they  had  two  children,  and  moved 
to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  arriving  Oct.  21, 
1840,  in  what  is  now  Cotton  Hill  township. 
Of  their  children — 

MART  W.,  born  March  24,  1816,  in 
Virginia,  married  in  Sangamon  county  to 
James  I.  Dozier.  See  his  name. 

SARAH  J.,  born  May  n,  1817,  in 
Virginia,  married  Daniel  Keys;  had  one 
child,  SARAH.  She  married  Robert 
Jones,  and  resides  in  Kansas.  Mrs.  Keys 
died  Sept.  28,  1844.  See  his  name. 

ABEL,  born  Oct.  30, 1818,  in  Virginia, 
came  to  Sangamon  county  in  1840.  Is 
living  with  his  third  wife,  near  Newton, 
Jasper  county,  111. 

ELIZA,  born  August  8,  1820,  in  Vir- 
ginia, married  in  Sangamon  county,  March 
i;  1849,  to  George  Brunk.  See  his  name. 
She  died  Oct.  4,  1860. 


THOMAS  D.,  born  April  4,  1822,  in 
Virginia,  married  in  Sangamon  county, 
January,  1849,  to  Jane  Woozley.  They 
reside  in  Christian  county. 

NANCY,  born  Feb.  13,  1824,  in  Vir- 
ginia, married  in  Sangamon  county,  in 
1846,  to  Moses  A.Jones.  See  his  name. 

CAROLINE  A.,  born  Dec.  14,  1826, 
in  Virginia,  married  in  Sangamon  county, 
March  i,  1849,10  Rape  Funderburk.  Sec 
his  name. 

ANGELINE,  born  Nov.  15,  1833,  in 
Logan  county,  Ohio,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  to  David  Hall.  They  have 
three  children,  and  reside  near  Nevvtonia, 
Newton  county,  Mo. 

JOHN B.,  born  June  9,  1839,  in  Logan 
county,  Ohio,  raised  in  Sangamon  county, 
married  near  Pana,  to  Sarah  King,  and 
resides  in  Christian  county. 

Mrs.  Jane  Armstrong  died  Feb.  13, 
1843,  and  Thomas  Armstrong  died  Feb. 
i  ^,  18^9,  both  in  Sangamon  county. 

AVERITT,  THOMAS  M. 
See  his  name  in  connection  with  George 
Gregory  and  the  first  railroad  locomotive 
ever  run  into  Springfield. 

IB, 

BAKER,  EDWARD  DICK- 
INSON, was  born  Feb.  24,  1811,  in 
London,  England.  His  father,  Edward 
Baker,  was  an  educated  gentleman,  and  his 
mother  a  sister  of  Capt.  Thomas  Dicken- 
son,  of  the  British  navy,  who  distinguished 
himself  at  the  battle  of  Trafalger.  Ed- 
ward D.  was  the  eldest  of  five  children. 
About  the  close  of  the  war  with  England, 
in  1815,  his  father  and  family  emigrated 
to  America,  landing  at  Philadelphia, 
Penn.  Here  Mr.  Edward  Baker  engaged 
in  teaching.  On  account  of  the  financial 
embarassments  of  the  family,  as  soon  as 
Edward  D.  was  old  enough,  he  was  ap- 
prenticed to  a  weaver.  In  1826  his  father 
moved  to  Belleville,  111.,  where  he  opened 
a  select  school,  and  young  Edward  D. 
Baker  evinced  such  a  taste'  for  literature 
that  the  late  Gov.  Edwards,  then  a  resi- 
dent of  Belleville,  gave  him  free  access  to 
his  library.  From  Belleville  young  Baker 
went  to  St.  Louis,  and  to  procure  funds 
for  necessary  expenses,  drove  a  dray  for  at 
least  one  season.  From  St.  Louis  he  went 
to  Carrolton,  111.,  and  began  the  study  of 


88 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


law  and  at  the  same  time  acting  as  deputy 
in  the  county  clerk's  office.  He  was  mar- 
ried April  27,  1831,  to  Mrs.  Mary  A.  Lee, 
a  widow  with  two  children.  In  the  spring 
of  1832  Mr.  Baker  enlisted  in  the  Black 
Hawk  war,  and  in  1835  moved  to  Spring- 
Held,  and  soon  after  became  a  law  partner 
of  Stephen  T.  Logan.  He  delivered  the 
oration  at  the  laying  of  the  corner  stone  of 
the- old  State  house,  July  4,  1837.  ^n  t^ie 
latter  year  he  was  elected  to  the  General 
Assembly  to  fill  the  vacancy  caused  by 
the  resignation  of  Hon.  Dan  Stone,  and 
was  re-elected  the  following  year.  In 
1840  E.  D.  Baker  was  elected  State  Sena- 
tor for  four  years,  and  elected  to  Congress 
in  1845.  When  the  war  broke  out  with 
Mexico,  Mr.  B.  hastened  home,  raised  a 
regiment,  which  was  accepted  by  the 
government  as  the  4th  III.  Inf.,  Col.  E.  D. 
Baker,  commanding.  Arriving  on  the 
Rio  Grand,  he  discovered  that  the  troops 
were  in  need  of  additional  tent  equipage, 
munitions  of  war,  etc.,  and  for  a  few 
months  accepted  the  position  of  bearer  of 
dispatches  to  the  war  department,  and  re- 
paired to  Washington.  Congress  was  in 
session,  and  not  having  resigned  his  seat 
in  the  House,  availed  himself  of  his  priv- 
ilege as  a  member,  and  made  a  speech  of 
great  and  almost  magical  power  in  favor 
of  a  vigorous  prosecution  of  the  war,  and 
in  behalf  of  the  volunteers  then  in  the 
field,  and  rejoined  his  regiment.  After 
the  battle  of  Cerro  Gordo,  the  term  of 
Col.  Baker's  enlistment  expired,  and  his 
men  not  wishing  to  re-enlist,  he  reluctant- 
ly left  the  field,  and,  returning  home,  re- 
sumed the  practice  of  his  profession.  In 
the  spring  of  1848  he  moved  to  Galena, 
111.  As  one  of  the  Whig  electors  for  the 
State  at  large,  he  took  an  active  part  in 
the  Presidential  campaign  of  1848.  He 
took  his  seat  as  Representative  in  Congress, 
the  second  time,  in  Dec.,  1849.  In  1851 
he  entered  into  an  agreement  with  the 
Panama  Railroad  Company  to  grade  a 
portion  of  that  road,  but  after  several 
months  exposure  to  a  tropical  sun,  he  and 
his  men  fell  sick  and  abandoned  the  coun- 
try. In  1852  he  emigrated  with  his  fam- 
ily to  California,  establishing  himself  in 
practice  in  San  Francisco.  There  he  de- 
livered the  funeral  oration  of  two  of  his 
early  friends,  fallen  bv  the  fatal  bullet 
of  the  duelist,  Ferguson  and  Broderick. 
The  latter  stands  alone  as  the  most  bril- 


brilliant  funeral  oration  ever  delivered  on 
the  continent  of  America.  After  the 
death  of  Boderick,  Col.  Baker  moved  to 
Oregon,  and  was  elected  U.  S.  Senator 
from  there  in  1860.  For  the  first  time  in 
his  life  he  was  placed  in  a  position  con- 
genial to  him.  The  decorum  and  courtesy 
that  usually  marks  the  intercourse  of  Sen- 
ators, was  most  grateful  to  his  habits  ot 
thought  and  feeling. 

Col.  Baker  was  a  man  of  action  as  well 
as  of  words,  and  soon  after  the  fall  of  Fort 
Sumter  he  recruited  a  regiment  in  Phil- 
adelphia and  vicinity,  which  was  called 
the  California  regiment,  and  soon  after, 
President  Lincoln  tendered  him  a  Briga- 
dier-General's commission,  but  he  declined 
it,  probably  because  it  would  have  vacated 
his  seat  in  the  Senate.  At  the  first  ses- 
sion of  the  37th  Congress,  convoked  by 
President  Lincoln,  July  4,  1861,  Col. 
Baker  was  in  his  seat,  and  participated 
prominently  in  the  passage  of  those  im- 
portant measures  which  became  necessary 
to  place  the  nation  on  a  war  footing.  On 
the  adjournment  of  this  special  session, 
Col.  Baker  rejoined  his  regiment,  which 
was  attached  to  and  formed  a  part  of  the 
army  of  observation  on  the  Potomac.  He, 
however,  was  restless  in  camp,  and  a  vague 
presentiment  of  his  approaching  fate 
seemed  to  haunt  him  wherever  he  went, 
and  he  said  to  a  friend  that  since  his  cam- 
paign in  Mexico  he  could  never  afford  to 
turn  his  back  on  an  enemy.  He  returned 
to  Washington,  settled  his  affairs,  and 
called  to  bid  the  President  and  family  fare- 
well, when  the  lady  of  the  Executive 
Mansion,  who,  in  her,  then,  high  position, 
was  gracefully  mindful  of  early  friendship, 
gave  him  a  boquet  of  late  flowers.  As 
though  partially  soliloquizing,  he  said : 
"  Very  beautiful ;  these  flowers  and  my 
memory  will  wither  together."  He  pressed 
with  quiet  earnestness  on  his  friend,  Col. 
Webb,  the  measures  which  might  become 
necessary  in  regard  to  the  resting  place  of 
his  mortal  remains,  then  mounted  his 
horse  and  rode  gaily  awav  to  his  death. 
He  was  leading  his  men  at  Ball's  Bluff, 
and,  when  ten  feet  in  advance  of  them, 
fell,  pierced  by  eight  bullets,  Oct.  21,  1861. 
His  body  was  borne  tenderly  away,  em- 
balmed, and  removed  to  Washington  City, 
where  appropriate  funeral  honors  were 
paid  to  his  remains;  then  sent  to  New 
York  City,  and  from  there  by  steamer  to 


SANGAMON  COUNT)'. 


San  Francisco,  where  he  was  buried  in 
Lone  Mountain  Cemetery,  of  that  city. 
Of  the  two  children  of  Mrs.  Baker  by 
her  first  marriage — 

A  f ARIA  L.  LEE,  born  in  1827,  was 
married  Feb.  n,  1845,  *°  James  H. 
Matheny.  See  his  name. 

FRANK  LEE  went  to  California, 
and  died  there. 

Hon.  Edward  D.  Baker  and  wife  had 
four  children,  namely : 

LUCT  S.,  born  about  1832  in  Carrol- 
ton,  111.,  brought  up  in  Springfield,  was 
married  in  San  Francisco  to  Charles 
Hopkins.  They  have  four  children, 
CHARLES,  CAROLINE,  ROBERT 
and  RALPH,  and  reside  at  Olympia, 
Washington  Territory.  Mr.  Hopkins  is 
U.  S.  Marshall  for  that  Territory. 

CAROLINE  C,  born  in  Carrolton, 
111.,  brought  up  in  Springfield,  was  married 
in  San  Francisco  to  Robert  J.  Stevens. 
They  have  two  children,  ROBERT  and 
CARRIE,  and  reside  in  Washington 
City. 

ALFRED  W.,  born  in  Springfield, 
resides  in  San  Francisco. 

ED  WARD  D.,  Jun.,  born  in  Spring- 
field, married  Saccha  Alma  Bradshaw. 
He  is  a  Captain  in  the  U.  S.  Army,  and 
is  on  duty  at  some  western  military  post. 

Mrs.  Mary  A.  Baker  died  in  San  Fran- 
cisco. 

The  great  and  fatal  mistake  of  Col. 
Baker  was  one  that  did  honor  to  his  noble 
and  chivalrous  spirit.  He  had  fairly  and 
honorably  reached  the  highest  position  in 
our  government  that  any  adopted  citizen 
could  attain.  In  the  Senate  of  the  United 
States  he  was  the  peer  of  any  man  in  the 
nation,  and  his  counsels  there  were  worth 
a  hundred  fold  more  than  it  could  have 
been  in  the  field.  When  he  volunteered 
to  lead  a  regiment,  he  was  liable  to  be- 
come subordinate  to  men  far,  very  far,  in- 
ferior to  himself,  and  that  proved  to  be 
his  destruction ;  but  he  had,  no  doubt, 
weighed  well  the  step  he  was  about  to 
take,  and  thereby  laid  the  most  costly  sac- 
rifice on  the  altar  of  his  adopted  country 
that  it  was  possible  for  any  citizen  to  make, 
even  though  he  were  to  the  manor  born. 

BAKER,  JOHN  L.,  was  born 
June  20,  1805,  in  Campbell  county,  Ky. 
He  is  a  brother  of  Thomas,  and  was  mar- 
ried in  1828,  in  Butler  county,  Ohio,  to 
Rachel  Biggs,  who  was  born  in  that  State, 
— 12 


Oct.  6, 1 804.  They  had  three  children  there 
and  moved  to  Shelby  county,  Ind.,  where 
they  had  two  children,  and  from  there  to 
Sangamon  county,  111.,  arriving  in  1835, 
in  what  is  now  Loami  township,  where 
they  had  two  children.  Of  their  eight 
children  two  died  young. 

MARGARET,  born  April  27,  1829, 
in  Ohio,  was  married  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, 111.,  to  Henry  Westfall.  They  have 
seven  children,  SMITH  M.,  ANN  E., 
HELEN,  INA,  LEONA,  GEORGE  and 
CHARLES,  and  reside  near  Elkhart 
Logan  county,  111. 

THOMAS  N.,  born  Jan.  28,  1831,  in 
Ohio,  was  married  in  Sangamon  county 
to  Frances  Freddy.  They  have  six  child- 
ren, all  born  in  Sangamon  county,  namely: 
SIBYL,.  JOHN  L.,  ALICE,  MARY, 
DON  CARLOS  and  ETTA,  and  reside 
near  Ottawa,  Kansas. 

SARAH  J.,  born  April  25,  1832,  in 
Ohio,  was  married  in  Sangamon  county 
to  Jonathan  Jarrett.  See  his  name. 

REUBEN  F.,  born  Jan.  24,  1834,  in 
Shelby  county,  Ind.,  was  married  in  San- 
gamon county  to  Elizabeth  Mahard.  They 
have  seven  children,  JOHN,  GEORGE, 
JAMES,  ORTHELLO,  HORATIO, 
ALICE  and  ARMINDA,  and  reside 
near  Nebraska  City,  Neb. 

EPHRIAM,  born  March  31,  1835,  in 
Indiana,  was  married  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty to  Anna  Mahard.  He  died  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  leaving  a  widow  and  two 
children,  EBEN  and  CHARLES.  The 
widow  and  children  reside  in  Missouri. 

JOHN  W.,  born  Dec.  13,  1837,  in 
Sangamon  county,  111.,  was  married  there 
to  Sarah  Mahard.  They  have  four  child- 
ren,J AMES  E.,  ELIZABETH,  THOM- 
AS *and  M.  ALICE,  who  reside  with 
their  parents,  near  Ottawa,  Kansas. 

PAULINE  L.,  born  Sept.  22,  1844, 
in  Sangamon  countv,  married  James  S. 
Cloud.  They  have  four  children,  M. 
ALICE,  DORA,  MINNIE  E.  and 
JESSE  M.,  and  reside  in  Ottawa,  Kansas. 
John  L.  Baker  and  wife  reside  in  Otta- 
wa, Kansas. 

BAKER,  THOMAS,  was  born 
March  3,  1794,  in  Campbell  county,  Ky.; 
brother  to  John  L.  Nancy  Robertson 
was  born  Oct.  9,  1806,  in  Harrison  county, 
Va.  They  were  married  Dec.  29,  1823, 
in  Kanawha  county,  West  Va.,  at  the 
house  of  Jonathan  Jarrett.  Sen.  Mr.  and 


9° 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


Mrs.  Baker  had  two  children  in  West  Vir- 
ginia, and  moved  to  Sangamon  county, 
111.,  arriving  Nov.  1826,  in  what  is  now 
Loami  township,  where  they  had  eight 
children.  Of  their  ten  chilldren — 

JOHN,  born  March  16,  1825,  in  West 
Virginia,  died  in  Sangamon  county,  Aug. 

29>  l835- 

CHARLES,  born  April   12,  1826,  in 

West  Virginia,  married  in  Sangamon 
county,  August  n,  1844,  to  Lucretia 
Minter.  They  moved  in  the  fall  of  that 
year  to  Tarrant  county,  Texas.  He  died 
there  in  1871,  leaving  a  widow  and  ten 
children. 

WILLIAM,  born  Feb.  n,  1829,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Jan.  10,  1850, 
to  Margaret  Morris.  They  have  ten 
children,  and  reside  near  Bancroft,  Daviess 
county,  Mo. 

MART  A.,  born  Dec.  27,  1831,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Nov.  8,  18^3, 
to  Barnard  A.  VanDeren.  See  his  name. 
They  had  two  children,  THOMAS  N. 
and  MAGGIE  L.  Mr.  VanD.  died,  and 
she  married,  Nov.  2,  1868,  to  John  Low- 
ery,  who  was  born  Sept.  15,  1837,111  coun- 
ty Down,  Ireland.  They  had  two  child- 
ren, MARY  A.  and  BARNARD  A.; 
the  latter  died  in  infancy.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Lowery  reside  four  miles  south  of  Loami. 

MARGARET,  born  Oct.  27,  1834,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Dec.  18,  1857, 
to  James  W.  Greenwood.  See  his  name. 

THOMAS,]\\\\.,  born  Oct.  i,  1836,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  April  23, 
1861,  to  Mary  J.  Hall.  She  died  August 
21,  1866,  leaving  one  child,  GEORGE 
W.  Mr.  Baker  was  married  March  19, 
1867,  to  Mrs.  Harriet  Cosser,  whose  maiden 
name  was  Hall.  They  have  two  children, 
JOSEPH  F.  and  HATTIE,  and  reside 
three  and  a  half  miles  southwest  of  Loami. 

NANCY, born  March  28,  1839,  in  San- 
gamon county,  married  William  G.  Mil- 
ler. See  his  name.  She  died,  leaving 
two  children  with  their  father,  who  is 
married  and  resides  in  Loami  township. 

CYRUS  W.,  born  May  19,  1842,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  April  13,  1862, 
to  Sarah  A.  Jarrett.  They  have  three 
children,  HENRY,  BARNARD  A.  and 
JO.  C.,  and  reside  one  and  a  half  miles 
southwest  of  Loami. 

SARAH  J.,  born  Dec.  7,  1846,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Nov.  2,  1865, 
to  Joseph  O.  Joy.  They  have  three  child- 


dren,  CHARLES  W.,  WILLIE  A.  and 
JOHN  W.,  and  reside  three  miles  south- 
west of  Loami.  Mr.  Joy  was  a  soldier  in 
suppressing  the  rebellion. 

ISAAC  N.,  born  Dec.  11,  1849,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  April  21,  1870, 
to  Sarah  E.  Post.  They  have  one  child, 
HARRY  O.,  and  reside  at  the  homestead 
settled  by  his  parents. 

Thomas  Baker,  Sen.,  died  Jan.  5,  1852, 
and  his  widow  resides  at  the  homestead 
settled  by  herself  and  husband  in  1826. 
It  is  one  and  a  half  miles  southwest  ot 
Loami. 

BAKER,  ISAAC,  was  born  near 
Fredericktown,  Md.  He  served  as  a  fifer 
in  the  Revolution,  the  last  two  years  of 
the  war.  Phoebe  Waddell  was  born  near 
Baltimore,  Md.  They  were  married  there 
in  1787,  and  moved  to  what  became  Bour- 
bon county,  Ky.,  where  twelve  children 
were  born,  eight  of  whom  married  there. 
The  parents  and  four  youngest  children 
came  to  Sangamon  county  in  the  fall  of 
1829,  in  what  is  now  Rochester  township. 
Of  their  children — 

JAMES,  born  July,  1788,111  Bourbon 
county,  Ky.  It  is  believed  he  was  the  first 
white  child  born  in  the  county.  He  was 
married  Sept.  17,  1813,  in  Nicholas  coun- 
ty, Ky.,  to  Nancy  Squires,  who  was  born 
Oct.  22,  1794,  in  Fauquier  county,  Va. 
They  had  eight  children  in  Nicholas  coun- 
ty, and  moved  to  Sangamon  county,  111., 
arriving  Nov.,  1828,  at  Springfield,  and  a 
week  later  left  for  what  is  now  Logan 
county.  In  Jan.,  1831,  he  moved  to 
Rochester,  Sangamon  county.  They 
were  five  days  moving  twenty  miles, 
through  what  is  known  as  the  "  deep 
snow."  Mr.  B.  was  a  soldier  in  the  Black 
Hawk  war.  Two  of  his  children  were 
born  in  Illinois.  Of  his  ten  children, 
S.  WILLIS,  born  Oct.  10,  1814,  in  Ken- 
tucky, died  unmarried,  in  Illinois,  June  25, 
1850.  THOMAS  J.,  born  March  i, 
1816,  in  Kentucky,  died  in  Sangamon 
county,  Oct.  17,  183*2.  MARGARET  J., 
born  Dec.  20,  1817,  in  Kentucky,  married 
in  Sangamon  county,  Nov.  15,  1838,  to 
Daniel  S.  Stafford.  She  died  in  less  than 
a  year.  MARTIN  E.,  born  Jan.  27, 
1820,  in  Nicholas  county,  Ky.,  married 
March  4,  1852,  in  Springfield,  to  Mary 
C.  S.  Williams,  who  was  born  Feb.  3, 
1826,  in  Montgomery  county,  Md.,  and 
came  to  Springfield  in  1839.  They  have 


SANGAMON    COUNTT. 


91 


eight  children,  JAMES   w.,  CORNELIA  A., 

MARGARET  E.,  MARTIN  E.,  JUH.,  NANCY 
E.,  HORACE  W.,  MARY  F.  and  CHARLES  O., 

and  reside  four  miles  southwest  of  Illiopo- 
lis.  ELIZA  E.,  born  Nov.  7,  1822,  in 
Kentucky,  died  July  3,  1835,  in  Sangamon 
county.  KITTY  *A.,  born  Jan.  22,  1824, 
in  Kentucky,  married  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, in  1848,  to  Oliver  Stafford;  have  seven 
children,  and  reside  in  Mt.  Pulaski.  JOHN 
S.,  born  Nov.  7,  1826,  in  Kentucky,  taught 
school  in  Sangamon  county  many  years; 
went  to  California  in  1854,  and  died  July 
30,  1873,  in  San  Francisco.  WILLIAM 
F.,  born  June  29,  1828,  in  Kentucky, 
brought  up  in  Sangamon  county,  married, 
Feb.  7,  1860,  in  Christian  county,  to  Eliza- 
beth Green  ;  have  four  children,  and  reside 
near  Grove  City.  MARY  E.,  born  Oct. 
22,  1830,  in  Logan  county,  married,  Nov. 
4,  1852,  to  Leander  Green.  (See  his  name.] 
MARTHA  A.,  born  August  1 1,  1833,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Dec.  29,  1859, 
to  William  Crenshaw;  have  two  children, 
and  reside  in  Georgetown,  Ky.  James 
Baker  died  Feb.  14,  1869,  and  Mrs.  Nancy 
Baker  died  Oct.  3,  1872,  both  in  Christian 
county. 

JACOB,  born  August  9,  1790,  in 
Bourbon  county,  Ky.,  was  a  soldier  from 
that  county  in  the  war  of  1812.  He  was 
married  in  Nicholas  county,  Ky.,  to  Jane 
Branch,  sister  of  Edward  Branch.  See 
his  name.  Four  of  their  children  were 
born  in  Kentucky,  and  he  came  to  Sanga- 
inon  county  with  his  father,  arriving  in 
1829,  near  Rochester,  where  five  children 
were  born.  Of  his  seven  children,  JULI- 
AN, married  first  to  Alfred  Waddell,who 
died,  and  she  married  Willis  Runnels,  and 
both  died.  Her  sons,  ALFRED  Waddell, 
resides  in  Greenfield,  Mo.,  JESSE  and  WIL- 
LIS reside  near  Nashville,  Mo.  SUSAN, 
born  in  Kentucky,  married  in  Sangamon 
county  to  James  Virden,  who  died,  and 
his  widow  resides  seven  miles  east  of 
Springfield.  They  had  five  children. 
PLEASANT,  born  April  25,  1819,  in 
Nicholas  county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  June  24, 1846,  to  Lavina  W  ad- 
dell,  who  was  born  in  Kentucky.  They  had 
five  children ;  two  died  in  infancy.  JULIAN 
and  WILLIAM  n.  reside  in  Clear  Lake 
township.  ALVIN  resides  with  his  father. 
Mrs.  Lavina  Baker  died  April  20,  1857,  and 
Mr.  B.  married  Mary  E,  Cook,  a  native  of 
Scinto  county,  Ohio.  They  have  five 


children,  MARY,  SUSAN  j.,  ELIZA  A., 
PLEASANT  and  LAURA  E.,  and  reside  in 
Clear  Lake  township.  ISAAC,  born  Oct. 
6,  1821,  in  Kentucky,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county  to  Almyra  Pike.  He  died, 
leaving  one  child,  ISAAC,  who  resides 
south  of  Rochester.  POLLY  A.,  born 
in  Kentucky,  married  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty to  Daniel  Barr.  JANE,  born  July  15, 
1827,  in  Kentucky,  married  in  Sangamon 
county  to  John  M.  McCune.  See  his 
name.  ALVIN,  born  in  Sangamon 
county,  married  Hester  Hornbaker.  He 
died  in  iS56,leavingtwochildren,En\VAKi> 
and  ALONZO.  Mrs.  Jane  Baker  died,  and 
Jacob  Baker  afterward  married  twice,  and 
died  May  18,  1872. 

THOMAS,  born  about  1792,  in  Ken- 
tucky, married  there  to  Sarah  Delav. 
They  had  four  children,  and  came  to  San- 
gamon county  in  1828,  with  his  brother, 
James,  and  settled  near  Rochester,  where 
one  child  was  born.  Of  his  children, 
ISAAC  resides  near  Medoc,  Mo.,  ELIZA- 
BETH, born  in  Kentucky,  married  in 
Sangamon  county  to  Jabez  Capps.  See 
his  name.  JOHN  resides  near  Medoc, 
Mo.  WILLIAM  resides  in  Virginia  City, 
Montana.  JEMIMA  married  and  died  in 
Mt.  Pulaski.  Thomas  Baker  died  March, 
1874,  and  his  widow  resides  near  Medoc, 
Mo. 

yOSEPH,\)OYn  in  1796,  in  Kentucky, 
came  to  Sangamon  county  in  1828,  and 
died  in  Medoc,  Mo. 

SUSAN,  born  March  15,  1799,  in- 
Bourbon  county,  Ky.,  married  Robert 
Bell.  See  his  name. 

IS  A  A  C,  born  in  Kentucky,  never  came 
to  Sangamon  county.  He  resides  near 
Medoc,  Mo. 

SQUIRE,  born  Jan.  8,  1803,  in  Ken- 
tucky, came  to  Sangamon  county  in  1829, 
and  resides  near  Mapleton,  Kansas. 

WILLIAM,  born  in  1805,  in  Ken- 
tucky, and  resides  near  Mapleton,  Kan. 

GREE^Bl^RT,  born  in  Kentucky, 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  Ann;i 
Payne,  who  died,  and  he  married  Mrs. 
Mary  Johnson,  formerly  Mrs.  Marker, 
and  whose  maiden  name  was  Williams. 
They  had  four  children.  MOSES  was  a 
Union  soldier  in  the  :ith  Mo.  Inf.,  and 
was  killed  while  aiding  in  the  arrest  of  a 
deserter.  THOMAS  J.  was  a  member 
of  the  i6th  111.  Cavalrv,  and  died  in  An- 
dersonville  prison.  S.  \YILL1S  served 


92 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


three  years  in  the  nth  Mo.  Inf.;  was 
honorably  discharged,  and  married  in  San- 
gamon  county  to  Matilda  Mear.  He  died 
early  in  1874,  leaving  a  widow  and  two 
children,  near  Medoc,  Mo.  EFFIE 
was  married  in  Sangamon  county,  to 
Joseph  Brunk,  and  resides  near  Medoc, 
Mo.  Mrs.  Mary  Baker  died  May  22, 
1842,  in  Sangamon  county.  Greenhury 
Baker  died  March  4,  1873,  in  Sangamon 
county. 

HARRISQN,\K>V*  in  Kentucky,  mar- 
ried in  Sangamon  county,  to  Nellie  Bowles. 
They  had  eight  children,  born  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  and  moved  to  the  vicinity  of 
Medoc,  Mo.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Baker  died 
there  in  1872,  and  were  buried  in  one 
grave. 

POLLY,  born  in  Kentucky,  married 
in  Sangamon  county  to  Elias  Williams. 
See  his  name. 

PH(EBE,\>m\\  April  5,  i8i6,in  Ken- 
tucky, married   in    Sangamon    county    to  • 
Josiah  B.  Williams.     See  his  name. 

Mrs.  Phoebe  Baker  died  July  3,  1845, 
and  Isaac  Baker  died  in  Sept.  1848,  both 
in  Sangamon  county,  south  of  Rochester. 
He  was  about  100  years  of  age. 

BAKER,  WILLIAM,  was  born 
about  1798,  in  Sevier  county,  Tenn.  He 
came  to  St.  Clair  county,  111.,  when  a 
young  man.  Phebe  Neeley  was  born 
Dec.  14,  1799,  near  Nashville,  Tenn.,  and 
was  taken  to  St.  Clair  county,  111.,  when 
she  was  a  young  woman.  Wm.  Baker 
and  Phebe  Neeley  were  married  about 
1818,  near  Belleville.  They  had  one  child 
born  there,  and  the  family  moved  to  Horse 
creek,  in  what  became  Sangamon  county,  in 
the  spring  of  1819,  in  what  is  now  Cotton 
Hill  township,  where  seven  children  were 
born.  They  then  moved  to  a  mill  on  San- 
gamon river,  three  miles  north  of  Roches- 
ter, where  one  child  was  born.  Four  of 
the  children  died  under  two  years.  Of 
the  other  five — 

JAMES,  born  Jan.,  1819,  in  St.  Clair 
county,  and  raised  on  Horse  creek,  on  the 
farm  now  owned  by  Samuel  ^Galloway. 
William  Enyert,  who  went  to  school  with 
him,  remembers  having  heard  him  say 
frequently,  in  their  boyhood  days,  that  he 
would  join  some  Indian  tribe  at  18  years 
of  age.  Between  1837  and  '40  he  went 
west,  and  came  back  in  1844,  to  see  his 
mother,  who  then  lived  in  Rochester.  He 
said  he  had  joined  the  Snake  tribe  of  In- 


dians, and  after  a  stay  of  about  six  months, 
he  returned  to  that  tribe.  But  little  was 
known  of  him  until  1849,  when  a  party  of 
eight  persons  left  Springfield  for  the  gold 
regions  of  California.  William  Enyert 
says  they  found  him  at  the  crossing  of 
Green  river,  keeping  a  ferry.  He  recog- 
nized Mr.  Enyert  readily,  and  treated  him 
kindly.  Mr.  Enyert  learned  from  him 
that  he  was  a  chief  in  the  Snake  tribe; 
had  two  wives,  one  with  him  and  one  at 
Foil  Bridger,  and  two  children  by  each. 
His  daily  receipts  were  from  $500 
to  $600  at  the  ferry.  He  is  yet  living 
among  the  Indians,  and  is  occasionally 
heard  from  by  his  friends.  Mr.  Enyert 
says  that  when  he  saw  him  he  was  full 
six  feet  tall,  wore  his  hair  long  and  straight, 
stood  erect  as  any  Indian,  wore  buckskin 
clothes,  and  in  his  general  appearance 
looked  very  much  like  an  Indian.  Mr. 
Enyert  had  been  a  school-mate  of  his  in 
this  county.  E.  C.  Matheny  saw  him 
under  similar  circumstances. 

\DELIA,  born  in  Sangamon  county 
in  1821,  died  at  15  years  of  age. 

JOHN,  born  in  Sangamon  county,  re- 
sides among  the  Indians,  near  Fort  Bridger, 
Wyoming  territory.  Went  there  a  few 
years  later  than  his  brother  James. 

ELIZABETH,  born  in  Sangamon 
county,  Cotton  Hill  township,  is  unmar- 
ried and  resides  in  Rochester;  is  the  only 
member  of  the  family  residing  in  Sanga- 
mon county. 

ELIZA,  born  in  Sangamon  county, 
died  at  15  years  of  age. 

William  Baker  went  to  Texas  previous 
to  1844,  started  from  there  to  California 
about  1852,  and  died  on  the  road.  Mrs. 
Phebe  Baker  died,  August,  1861,  in 
Rochester. 

BALDWIN,  JOH  IXfSON,  was 
born  March  25,  1797,  in  Scott  county,  Ky. ; 
was  married  in  Gallatin  county,  Oct.  24, 
1822,  to  Betsy  Kendall.  They  had  one 
child  born  in  Kentucky,  and  moved  to 
Sangamon  county,  111.,  in  company  with 
her  father,  William  Kendall,  arriving  Oct. 
17,  1824,  in  what  is  now  Curran  town- 
ship, where  eleven  children  were  born; 
one  died  in  infancy.  Of  their  children — 

MARY  A.,  born  Sept.  19,  1823,  in 
Kentucky,  married  in  Sangamon  county 
to  Richard  Bradlev.  Sec  his  name. 


SANG  AM  ON  COUNTT. 


93 


ALISSA,  or  ALICE,  born  Nov.  17, 
1824,  in  Sangamon  county,  married  John 
Wesley  Elliott.  See  his  name. 

HARRIET,  horn  March  4,  1827,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  John  M. 
Smith.  See  his  name.  Resides  near 
Curran. 

ELIZA,  bora  Nov.  6,  1828,  in  San- 
gamon county,  married  Edward  D.  Camp- 
bell, and  resides  near  Lancaster,  or  Mans- 
field, Texas. 

WILLIAM,  born  Jan.  23,  1831,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Dec.  22,  1853, 
to  Mary  J.  Parkinson.  They  had  seven 
children.  ADDIE  C.  died 'August  22, 
1871,  in  her  seventh  year.  LIZZIE  died 
in  infancy.  ELLA  M.,  EUNICE  P., 
JAMES  O.  and  OTIS  J.,  (twins),  and 
WILLIE  O.,  reside  with  their  parents, 
six  miles  west  of  Springfield. 

NANCY,  born  May 4,  1833,  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  married  August  20,  1872,  to 
John  Mull,  who  was  born  Dec.  5,  1821, 
in  Kentucky.  They  reside  six  miles 
southwest  of  Springfield. 

EDITH,  born  Feb.  26,  1837,  in  San- 
gamon county,  married  Feb.  13,  1873,  to 
Win.  Dyer,  and  resides  four  miles  north- 
west of  Curran. 

AGNES,\x>?n  Dec.  18,  1838,  died  Oct. 
5,  1864. 

E MIL  T,  born  August  15, 1841,  resides 
with  her  sister,  Mrs.  Dyer. 

SUSAN,  born  Sept.  15,  1843,  married 
Wm.  B.  Gilbert.  They  have  two  children 
and  reside  three  miles  north  of  Spring- 
field, on  Athens  road. 

ELIZABETHAN  August  29,  1856, 
in  her  eleventh  year. 

Mrs.  Betsey  Baldwin  died  August  13, 
1847,  and  Johnson  Baldwin  died  Dec.  4, 
1871,  both  in  Sangamon  county. 

BALL,  JOHN  S.,  born  about 
1795,  in  Madison  county,  Ky.  Went  to 
Clarksville,  Tenn.,  and  from  thei'e  to 
Eddyville,  Ky.,  from  there  to  Sangamon 
county,  and  after  spending  several  years, 
returned  to  Kentucky ;  back  to  Sangamon 
county,  then  to  JoDaviess  county ;  from 
there  to  Missouri,  where  he  left  his  family, 
went  to  California,  and  at  the  end  of  three 
years  returned  to  his  family  in  Missouri. 
Now  resides  with  his  sons  in  Morgan 
county.  His  son — 

THOMAS  H..,  married  in  Morgan 
county  to  Eliza  A.  Hodgson,  has  two 


children,   COLUMBUS     A.    and    IDA 
BELL,  and  reside  in  Ball  township. 

BALL,  JAPHET  A,  was  born 
July  5,  1800,  in  Madison  county,  Ky. 
When  a  young  man  he  went  to  Clarkes- 
ville,  Tenn.,  where  he  learned  the  trade  of 
a  blacksmith  with  his  brother  John  S. 
From  there  he  went  with  his  brother  to 
Eddyville,  Caldwell  county,  Ky.,  and 
from  there  to  Sangamon  county,  arriving 
late  in  Dec.,  1825,  in  what  is  now  Wood- 
side  township.  He  was  married  Dec.  2, 
1828,  to  Sarah  Henderson.  They  had  two 
children — 

CLARISSA  J.,  born  in  Sangamon 
county,  married  Jeremiah  Penicks.  They 
had  four  children,  and  Mr.  Penicks  died. 
Mrs.  Penicks  and  her  children  reside  at 
Palmer,  Christian  county. 

JAMES  H.,  died  in  his  fourteenth 
year. 

Mrs.  Sarah  Ball  died  March  12,  1832. 
Japhet  A.  Ball  was  married  May,  1834,10 
Marinda  Davis,  who  died  April  12,  1855. 
Mr.  Ball  was  married  Sept.  30,  1863,  to 
Melissa  Morison.  They  have  two  child- 
ren— 

JOHN  M.  and 

'f  ANNIE  M.,  and  reside  east  of  Sugar 
creek,  in  Ball  township,  four  miles  south- 
east of  Chatham.  x 

Japhet  A.  Ball  enlisted  July,  1827,  in 
Col.  Tom  M.  Neal's  Battalion  of  mounted 
volunteers,  to  fight  the  Indians  in  the 
north  part  of  the  State.  This  was  known 
as  the  Winnebago  war.  He  again  enlisted, 
and  was  commissioned  by  Gov.  Reynolds 
as  First  Lieutenant,  June  18,  1831.  A 
treaty  with  Black  Hawk,  the  chief,  ter- 
minated hostilities.  The  Indians  com- 
menced depredations  again,  in  the  spring 
of  1832.  J.  A.  Ball  was  commissioned  by 
Gov.  Reynolds,  April  28,  1832,  as  Capt. 
of  a  Company  in  Long's  Odd  Battalion  of 
Inf.  It  was  mustered  out  in  June,  1832, 
for  the  purpose  of  changing  to  a  mounted 
organization,  but  that  ended  his  military 
career.  Mr.  Ball  served  from  1843  to 
1856  as  Justice  of  the  Peace.  He  was 
elected  and  commissioned  by  Gov.  Bissell, 
Nov.  14,  1857,  as  Associate  Judge  of  San- 
gamon county,  for  four  years.  The  town- 
ship organization  being  adopted  in  1860, 
terminated  his  official  career.  The  town- 
ship of  Ball  was  named  for  him. 

Judge  Ball  says  that  on  the  first  day  of 
Jan.,    1831,    while    the-   "deep   snow "  was 


94 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


falling,  he  killed  fourteen  deer.  They 
would  founder  in  the  snow,  and  were 
easily  taken.  He  built  a  saw  mill  on 
Sugar  creek,  and  sold  a  large  quantity  of 
lumber  at  the  mill,  and  at  times  kept 
teams  running  to  Springfield.  The  scarci- 
ty of  money  for  a  few  years  after  the 
financial  crash  of  1837,  was  very  severe 
on  the  new  settlements.  The  Judge  says 
that  during  one  of  those  years  he  did  an 
extensive  business  in  the  lumber  trade, 
and  his  total  receipts  in  cash  was  exactly 
seventy-five  cents. 

BALL,  SMITH,  was  born  July 
10,  1810,  in  Madison  county,  Ky.,  came  to 
Sangamon  county,  111.,  arriving  at  the 
house  of  his  brother,  Japhet  A.,  in  1829. 
He  was  married  June  13,  1837,  *°  Rebecca 
Moffatt.  They  had  one  child  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  and  in  the  fall  of  1839  moved 
to  Mt.  Pleasant,  Iowa.  In  the  spring  of 
1840  he  moved  to  Jefferson  county,  where 
they  had  six  children.  Of  their  seven 
children — 

EMILY  A.,  born  March  27,  1838,  in 
Sangamon  county,  was  married  in  Iowa 
to  William  Case.  They  have  six  children, 
and  reside  in  Marshall  county,  Iowa. 

MARY  M.,  born  March  25,  1840,  in 
Iowa,  was  married  there  to  George  B. 
Phillips.  They  have  six  children,  and 
reside  near  Wooster,  Iowa. 

NANCY  y.,  born  August  30,  1842, 
died  aged  22  years. 

GEORGE  W.,  born  June  7,  1847,  in 
Jefferson  county,  Iowa,  is  a  practicing 
lawyer,  unmarried,  and  resides  at  '  Iowa 
City. 

MARGARET  C.,  born  Dec.  10, 1847, 
in  Iowa,  was  married  there  to  Richard 
Fisher.  They  have  two  children,  and 
reside  near  Wooster. 

LE  WIS  C.,  born  Jan.  18,  1852,  and 

FRANK  P.,  born  Feb.  25,  1854,  re- 
side with  their  parents,  near  Wooster, 
Jefferson  county,  Iowa. 

BALL,  WILLIAM,  born  in 
Madison  county,  Ky.,  came  to  Sangamon 
county  about  1835,  and  moved  to  Jo 
Daviess  county. 

BALL,  JANE  born  in  Madison 
county,  Ky.,  married  William  Richardson, 
came  to  Sangamon  county  in  1829,  and 
died  in  this  county.  Lewis  B.  Richard- 
son, of  Auburn  township,  is  her  son. 


BALL,  BETHANY,  born  Aug. 
13,  1796,  in  Madison  county,  Ky.,  mar- 
ried John  Brawner.  See  his  name. 

BALL,  POLLY,  born  in  Ken- 
tucky, married  in  Sangamon  county  to 
John  Rames,  moved  to  Missouri,  and  both 
died  there. 

BALL,  ELIZABETH,  born 
in  Madison  county,  Ky.,  married  William 
Brawner.  See  his  name. 

BALL,  LUCY,  born  in  Kentucky, 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  Daniel 
Morris,  moved  to  Texas,  and  after  resid- 
ing there  ten  years,  returned  to  Sangamon 
county,  and  both  died,  leaving  several 
children. 

Mrs.  Nancy  Ball,  mother  of  John  S., 
Japhet  A.,  Smith,  William,  Jane,  Bethany, 
Polly,  Elizabeth  and  Lucy,  came  with 
the  last  of  her  children  to  Sangamon 
county  in  1829,  and  died  at  the  house  'of 
her  son,  Japhet  A.,  in  1846. 

BANCROFT,  ISAAC,  was 
born  April  29,  1776,  near  Boston,  Mass. 
Mercy  Coburn  was  born  March  12,  1781, 
in  Massachusetts,  also.  They  were  mar- 
ried March  5,  1799,  and  had  two  children 
in  Massachusetts.  They  moved  to  St. 
Lawrence  county,  N.  Y.,  where  they  had 
ten  children,  and  moved  to  Springfield, 
III.,  arriving  August  10,  1839.  Of  their 
children  — 


BE  TS  Y  married  and  raised  families. 
One  of  them  died  in  Massachusetts.  The 
other  resides  in  Hainesville,  Lake  county, 
Illinois. 

PRUDENCE,  born  in  New  York, 
died  May  3,  1824,  aged  twenty-four  years. 

JQNATHANC.,  born  Feb.  2,  1809, 
in  New  York,  married  Frances  Stone. 
Mr.  Bancroft  died  June  2,  1845,  leaving  a 
widow  and  three  children  in  Springfield. 
His  son,  Coburn,  died  in  1870,  in  Spring- 
field. 

ALMA  S.,  born  August  20,  1811,  and 
died  aged  23  years. 

ISAAC,  Jun.,  born  May  6,  1815,  in 
New  York,  married  Mary  Blackman.  He 
is  now  e  Congregational  minister,  and  re- 
sides in  Green  county,  Wis. 

JOSEPH,  born  April  5,  1817,  died 
Oct.  16,  1851. 

TIMOTHY^  born  Feb.  26,  1819,  in 
St.  Lawrence  county,  N.  Y.,is  unmarried, 
and  resides  in  Springfield. 


SANGAMON  COUNTT. 


95 


c*  March  3,  1821,  in 
St.  Lawrence  county,  N.  Y.,  married 
September  19,  1854,10  Elizabeth  C.  Cass, 
who  was  born  March  13,  1836,  in  Mont- 
gomery county,  111.  They  had  five  child- 
ren, three  of  whom  died  young.  ED- 
WARD T.  and  LUCINDA  A.  reside 
with  their  father.  Mrs.  E.  C.  Bancroft 
died  Feb.  3,  1871,  and  Benj.  Bancroft  re- 
sides in  Fancy  Creek  township. 

HARM  AN  H.,  born  Feb.  i,  1823, 
died  in  Springfield  in  his  23d  year. 

Isaac  Bancraft  died  Oct.  8,  1844,  and  his 
widow  died  Feb.  10,  1868,  both  in  Spring- 
field. 

BARBRE,  ELI,  was  born  July 
25,  1 798,  in  Kentucky.  He  was  married 
about  1819,  in  Posey  county,  Ind.,  to 
Nancy  Wilkinson,  a  native  of  Kentucky, 
also.  They  had  four  children  in  Indiana, 
and  Mrs.  Barbre  died  there,  in  1828.  Mr. 
Barbre  moved  to  Edgar  county,  111.,  and 
was  married  there  Jan.  17,  1829,  to  Anna 
Wilson.  They  had  two  children  in  Ed- 
gar county,  and  moved  to  Sangamon 
county,  111.,  arriving  in  the  fall  of  1835,  in 
what  is  now  Island  Grove  township, 
where  they  had  two  children.  Of  their 
nine  children — 

ISAA  C,  born  August  10,  1820,  in  Ind., 
came  to  Sangamon  county  with  his  parents, 
returned  to  Indiana,  married  Nancy  Ben- 
nett. He  served  three  years  in  an  Indiana 
regiment,  for  the  suppression  of  the  re- 
bellion, and  resides  in  Posey  county,  Ind. 

WILLIAM,  born  Nov.  10,  1822,  in 
I'nsev  county,  Ind.,  married  in  Sangamon 
county,  Jan.  15",  1845,10  Rebecca  Smith, 
and  had  two  children.  She  died,  Oct.  18, 
1847,  leaving  one  child.  He  was  married, 
Feb.  6,  1849,  to  Lucy  M.  Smith.  They 
had  nine  children.  Of  all  his  children, 
NANCY  J.,  by  the  first  wife,  married 
James  McKee,  has  two  children,  LUCY  A. 
and  MARY  H.,  and  reside  in  Nodaway 
county,  Mo.  MARY  A.,  married  James 
A.Trimble.  See  his  name.  MARTHA, 
the  twin  mate  to  Mary,  died  in  infancy. 
JOHN  E.,  JAMES  W.,  THOMAS  F., 
GEORGE  I.,  RICHARD  S., SAMUEL 
M.  and  MARTHA  C.,  reside  with  their 
parents,  two  miles  east  of  Curran.  Wil- 
liam Barbre  enlisted  Sept.,  1861,  in  Co. 
B.,  loth  111.  Cav.,  for  three  years.  He 
was  wagon  master  and  Veterinary  Sur- 
geon, and  was  honorably  discharged  in 
June,  1863. 


CHARLOTTE,  born  1824,  in  Indi- 
ana, married  Wright  Miller,  has  several 
children,  and  resides  in  Lynn  county, 
Oregon. 

CELIA  Z>.,  born  in  1826,  in  Indiana, 
married,  successively,  Edward  Bennett, 
Charles  Wiggins  and  James  Cleveland,  all 
of  whom  died,  and  she  married  Henry 
Atkinson,  and  resides  in  Clark  county,  111. 

SARAH  E.,  born  July  5,  1831,  in 
Edgar  county,  married  in  Sangamon 
county,  to  Harvey  Withrow.  See  his 
name. 

JAMES  L.,  born  March  4,  1834,  in 
Edgar  county,  111.,  married,  Dec.  28,  18=54, 
to  Lucinda  Dixon.  They  had  nine  child- 
ren, four  of  whom  died  under  four  years. 
The  latter  five,  WILLIAM  E.,  AL- 
BERT F.,  MARY  E.,  HARRIET  C. 
W.  and  GEORGETTA,  reside  with 
their  parents  in  Cooper  township,  three 
miles  southwest  of  Mechanicsburg. 

JOHN  A.,  born  Dec.  19,  1835,  mar- 
%ried  March  5,  1857,  to  Margaret  R.  Mc- 
Kee, had  six  children,  JAMES  A.,  WM. 
E.,  EDWIN  H.,  ANNAH  L.,  JENNIE 
and  GEORGE,  reside  with  their  parents, 
two  and  a  half  miles  south  west  of  Mechan- 
icsburg. John  A.  Barbre  enlisted  Dec. 
23,  1863,  in  Co.  B,  loth  111.  Cav.,  for  three 
years,  served  until  Nov.  22,  1865,  and  was 
honorably  discharged  at  San  Antonio, 
Texas. 

MART  C.,  born  in  1837,  in  Sangamon 
county,  married  Rev.  Geo.  Keller. 

Eli  Barbre  died  in  the  fall  of  1846,  and 
his  widow  married  Wm.  Withrow.  (Sec 
his  natne.)  She  died  in  the  fall  of  1871. 

BARGER,  ADAM,  was  born 
April  8,  1784,  in  Botetourt  county,  Va. 
He  went,  when  a  young  man,  to  Kanawha 
county,  West  Va.,  and  was  there  married, 
August  12,  1810,  to  Lucinda  Nolan. 
They  had  ten  children  in  Virginia,  and 
moved  in  a  family  boat  to  Shawneetown, 
111.  He  took  a  farm  wagon  and  two  yoke 
of  oxen,  and  hired  another  team  at  Shaw- 
neetown, and  thus  brought  his  family  and 
two  loads  of  household  goods,  arriving 
Oct.,  1826,  in  what  is  now  Loami  town- 
ship, but  then  called  Yankee  Settlement, 
where  they  had  three  children.  Of  their 
children — 

AL&ARTE.S,  born  May  26,  1811,  in 
Kanawha  county,  West  Ya.,  married,  Dec. 
23,  1829,  in  Sangamon  county,  to  Marga- 
ret F.  Patrick.  They  had  13  children, 


96 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


JOHN  A.,  born  July  21,  1831,  died  in  his 
2 ist  year.  MAJOR  E.,  enlisted,  May 
25,  1861,  in  Co.  I.,  i4th  111.  Inf.,  for  three 
years,  served  full  term,  and  was  honorably 
discharged,  June,  1864,  at  Springfield. 
He  is  a  lawyer,  and  resides  at  Loami. 
JANETTA,  born  June  2,  1834,  married 
James  J.  Henton.  (See  his  name.) 
SOPHIA,  born  Feb.  10,  1836,  married 
Robert  E.  Berry.  (See  his  name?)  WIL- 
LIAM F.,  born  Dec.  19,  1838,  enlisted, 
May,  1 86 1,  in  Co.  I,  I4th  111.  Inf.,  for 
three  years,  re-enlisted  as  a  veteran  in  an- 
other regiment,  served  to  the  end  of  the 
rebellion,  was  honorably  discharged,  and 
resides  near  Loami.  JULIA  A.,  born 
Dec.  18,  1840,  married  Morrison  Brown, 
have  four  children,  and  reside  in  Loami 
township.  JAMES  N.,  born  March  20, 
1842,  enlisted,  in  i86i,in  Co.  C,  nth  Mo. 
Inf.,  for  three  years,  was  discharged  on 
account  of  physical  disability,  acted  as 
deputy  provost-marshal  at  Springfield  for 
a  time,  and  enlisted  in  I52d  111.  Inf.  Served 
to  the  end  of  the  rebellion,  married  Mar- 
garet Hunter,  has  three  children,  and  re- 
sides one  mile  southwest  of  Loami. 
CHARLES  H.,  born  Nov.  18,  1845,  en-' 
listed  in  Co.  — ,  i6th  111.  Cav.,  in  1862,  for 
three  years.  Served  full  term,  and  was 
honorably  discharged.  LEROY,  born 
Feb.  20,  1847,  resides  with  his  father. 
GEORGE  W.,  born  June  10,  1849,  mar- 
ried Mollie  McKinney,  have  one  child, 
and  reside  near  Berry  Station,  Sangamon 
county.  ALBERT,  LUCINDA  J.  and 
HARRIET  E.  reside  with  their  father. 
Mrs.  M.  F.  Barger  died  Feb.  25,  1876, 
and  Albartes  Barger  resides  where  he 
settled  in  1831,  near  Loami. 

JULIA  A.,  born  Oct.  18,  1812,  in 
West  Virginia,  married  in  Sangamon 
county  to  Dr.  J.  R.  Abel.  (See  his  name?) 
Have  three  children,  and  reside  in  Taylor- 
ville. 

THERESA,  born  May  13,  1814,  in 
Virginia,  married  Thomas  Sowell.  (Sec 
his  name?) 

ZEBULON,  M.  P.,  born  Dec.  14, 
181^,  died  in  his  29th  year. 

6"  OP  HI  A,  born  April  12, 1817,  married, 
her  husband  died,  and  the  family  reside  in 
Cass  county. 

JOHN,  born  Oct.  31,  1818,  married 
Elizabeth  Eustace,  had  four  children,  and 
he  died.  His  widow  married  and  lives  in 
Wisconsin. 


OLIVIA,  born  Oct.  28,  1820,  married 
Morris  Sweet.  (See  his  name?) 

MART  A.,  born  July  23,  1822,  mar- 
ried Wm.  Weir.  Had  five  children.  She 
was  killed  by  a  runaway  team,  in  Nebraska 
City.  Family  reside  there. 

HARRIET,  born  Feb.  26,  1824,  mar- 
ried John  McClure,  who  died,  leaving  a 
widow  and  eight  children  in  Cass  county. 

JAMES  M,,  born  Jan.  9,  1826,  in 
West  Virginia,  unmarried,  and  resides  in 
Loami. 

LETHE,  born  March  29,  1831,  mar- 
ried, March  24,  1856,  to  Daniel  Cuppy, 
have  two  children,  MARY  E.  and  HAR- 
RIET V.,  and  reside  at  Loami.  Mr.  C. 
served  three  years  in  nth  Mo.  Inf. 

WILLIAM  P.,  born  Feb.  12,  1833, 
in  Sangamon  county,  went  to  California, 
in  1856,  resides  in  Nevada  City,  Cal. 

Mrs.  Lucinda  Barger  died  August  11, 
1853,  and  Adam  Barger  married  Mrs. 
Deborah  Colburn,  whose  maiden  name 
was  Phelps.  He  died  August  n,  1864,  in 
Loami  township.  His  widow  resides 
with  her  children. 

BARNETT,  THOMPSON, 
was  born  Dec.  15,  1795,  in  Kentucky. 
Ann  Pattei'son  was  bom  Sept.  29,  1803, 
in  Holston  county,  Va.  When  she  was 
two  years  old  her  parents  moved  to  Adair 
county,  Ky.  Thompson  Barnett  and 
Ann  Patterson  were  married  there,  Jan. 
19,  1822.  They  had  three  children  born 
in  Kentucky,  and  moved  to  Illinois,  ar- 
riving in  the  fall  of  1829,  at  Irish  Grove, 
Menard  county,  where  one  child  was  born. 
Thompson  Barnett  died  Dec.  12,  1830,  at 
Irish  Grove.  Mrs.  Ann  Barnett  was  mar- 
ried May  26,  1836,  to  Levi  Cantrall,  and 
brought  her  four  children  to  his  home  in 
Fancy  Creek  township.  Of  her  children 
by  the  first  marriage — 

NANCT  J.,  born  Nov.  25,  1822,  in 
Aclair  county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sangamon 
county  to  William  D.  Power.  (Sec  his 
name?) 

A  Rl  TINT  A  M.,  born  March  27,  1825, 
in  Kentucky,  married  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, to  Jefferson  Vandergrift.  They  had 
four  children,  and  she  died.  Mr.  V.  and 
his  children  reside  in  — ,  Wis. 

MART  E.,  born  August  29,  1829,111 
Kentucky,  married  in  Sangamon  county 
to  James  Hibbs.  Mrs.  Hibbs  died,  leaving 
one  child,  NANCY  J.,  who  married  Dor- 
rell  Primm,  and  resides  in  Menard  county. 


SANGAMON  COUNTY. 


97 


J.  THOMPSON,  born  April  20, 
1830,  at  Irish  Grove.  He  married  and 
has  five  children,  JAMES,  EDDIE, 
NATHAN,  ANN  and  MARY,  and  re- 
sides in  Fancy  Creek  township. 

For  Mrs.  Ann  Barnett's  further  history, 
sec  Levi  Cantrall. 

BARNES,  EZRA,  was  horn 
Sept.  6,  1806,  at  Groton,  New  London 
county,  Ct.  He  started  from  Hartford 
with  a  team,  and,  in  thirty-one  days'  driv- 
ing, reached  St.  Louis,  Nov.  13,  and  five 
days  later  came  into  Sangamon  county, 
arriving  Nov.  18,  1833.  For  21  months 
he  peddled  clocks,  after  which  he  com- 
menced farming,  raising  his  first  crop  in 
1836.  He  again  peddled  dry  goods,  and 
came  near  being  drowned  while  crossing 
the  Sangamon  river  north  of  Springfield. 
He  was  married,  Dec.  6,  1838,  to  Eliza- 
beth Mason.  She  was  born  Feb.  4,  1818. 
They  had  five  children,  all  born  in  San- 
gamon county,  namely : 

EZRA,  Jun.,  born  April  30,  1842,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  in  1872  at 
Preston  City,  Conn.,  to  Prudence  A. 
Browning.  They  reside  five  miles  south- 
west of  Chatham. 

SETH  A.,  born  in  Sangamon  county, 
is  a  member  of  the  firm  of  Barnes  & 
Simpson,  druggists,  in  Taylorville. 

OLIVE  F.,  born  in  Sangamon  county, 
married  Feb.  10,  1876,  to  George  Bremer. 

CHARLEY  KK\ 

A.YGELINE,  reside  with  their  par- 
ents in  Ball  township,  two  and  a  half  miles 
south  of  Chatham. 

BARNES,  DANIEL,  was  born 
Feb.,  1807,  in  Bucks  county,  Pa.  He  was 
married  in  1832,  in  Lancaster  county,  to 
Margaret  A.  Richardson,  who  was  born 
Jan.,  1810,  in  that  county.  Mr.  Barnes 
kept  a  book  store  and  bindery  in  Harris- 
burg,  and  was  the  State  binder  for  Penn- 
svlvania  for  five  years.  They  had  three 
children  in  Harrisburg.  Mr.  Barnes 
closed  up  his  engagement  as  State  binder 
in  the  spring  of  1840,  sold  out  his  book 
store,  and  came  west  on  horseback,  look- 
ing for  a  location.  He  selected  Spring- 
field as  his  future  home,  and  was  soon 
followed  by  his  family.  They  had  four 
children  in  Springfield,  two  of  whom  died 
voung.  Of  the  other  five  children — 

ALBERT  G.,  born  Sept.  4,  1835,  in 
Harrisburg,  Pa.,  was  with  his  father  in 
Springfield  from  1840  to  1855,  when  he 


engaged  in  business  in  Taylorville.  Ik- 
was  married  August  27,  1861,  near  Mo 
chanicsburg,  111.,  to  Henrietta  Branson. 
They  have  five  living  children,  BENJ. 
LINCOLN,  ALBERT  G.,  Jim.,  MARY 
H.,  CLARA  MAY  and  HARRY  R., 
and  reside  in  Taylorville,  111.  Mr.  Barnes 
is  engaged  in  the  mercantile  business  and 
banking. 

ALMOND  F.,  born  in  1837,  in  Har" 
risburg,  Pa,  raised  in  Springfield  and  Tay- 
lorville, married  in  1863,  in  Quincy,  111., 
to  Nellie  Harvey.  They  reside  in  Quincy. 
HARRIET  A.,  born  in  Harrisburg 
and  died  in  1859. 

CHARLES  E.,  born  Dec.  19,  1842, 
in  Springfield,  married  in  Taylorville,  Jan. 
25,  1871,  to  Jeanette  Overand,  who  was 
born  August  24,  1855,  in  Hartford,  Conn. 
They  have  one  child,  RALPH,  and  re- 
side in  Taylorville.  Mr.  Barnes  was  in 
business  with  his  father  until  the  death  of 
the  latter,  and  is  now  a  hardware  mer- 
chant. 

ANNA,  born  about  1844  or  '5,  in 
Springfield,  married  in  St.  Louis,  Mo.,  to 
J.  H.  Pierson,  and  resides  in  Hearne, 
Robertson  county,  Texas. 

Daniel  Barnes  sold  dry  goods  in  Spring- 
field, from  1842  to  1849'  He  was  in  busi- 
ness with  his  son,  Charles  E.,  until  Jan.  10, 
1868,  when  he  died,  in  Taylorville.  His 
widow  resides  there. 

Gilbert  Barnes,  the  father  of  Daniel, 
was  born  in  1780,  in  Bucks  county,  Pa. 
He  was  a  soldier  from  that  county  in  the 
war  of  1812.  He  married  and  had  seven 
children  in  the  same  county.  Gilbert 
Barnes,  and  other  members  of  his  family, 
came  to  Springfield  with  the  familv  of  his 
son,  Daniel,  in  1840,  but  I  have  not  been 
able  to  obtain  a  full  history  of  the  family. 
BARRETT,  DR.  R.  F,,  moved 
from  Green  county,  Ky.,  to  Sangamon 
county  about  the  time  of  the  "deep  snow" 
of  1830  and  '31,  and  settled  on  Spring 
creek,  in  what  is  now  Island  Grove  town- 
ship. He  had  a  son  born  there,  and  in 
1839  Dr.  Barrett  accepted  the  position  of 
Professor  of  Materia  Medica,  in  the  Med- 
ical College  of  Missouri,  and  moved  to 
St.  Louis.  His  son — 

ARTHUR  B.,  born  August  22,  1835, 
on  Spring  creek,  Sangamon  county,  mar- 
ried in  St.  Louis  to  a  Miss  Sweringen. 
He  was  for  seven  years  President  of  the 
company  managing  the  St.  Louis  Fair,  and 


9S 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


it  was  largely  through  his  influence  that 
it  acquired  a  reputation  unsurpassed  by 
any  other  institution  of  the  kind  in  Amer- 
ica. He  was  also  President  of  the  Mis- 
souri Life  Ins.  Co.  He  was  elected  Mayor 
of  St.  Louis,  was  inuagurated  April  13, 
and  died  April  24,  1875. 

BARROW,  ABRAHAM,  was 
born  Oct.  15,  1803,  in  Frederick  county, 
Va.  Mahala  Larrick  was  born  Nov.  14, 
1809,  in  the  same  county.  They  were 
married  there,  Oct.  20,  1831.  Two  of 
their  children  were  born  in  Berkley  coun- 
ty, Va.  They  moved  to  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, 111.,  arriving  Sept.  19,  1835,  in  what  is 
now  Cotton  Hill  township,  where  they 
had  four  children.  Of  their  children — 

JOHN  T.,  born  Feb.  27,  1833,  in 
Berkley  county,  Va.,  was  married,  Dec. 
12,  1861,  in  Christian  county,  111.,  to  Eliza 
J.  Ducker,  who  was  born  July  24,  1842, 
in  Ohio.  They  had  two  children  in  San- 
gamon county.  They  moved  to  Sarpy 
county,  Neb.,  Nov.  6,  1865.  Three  child- 
ren were  born  in  Nebraska.  They  moved 
to  Texas  in  1870,  and  settled  in  Dallas 
county,  where  one  child  was  born.  Thence 
to  Fort  Worth,  in  Tarrant  county,  where 
two  children  were  born.  Of  their  eight 
children,  six  died  in  infancy.  FLORA 
A.  and  CHARLES  H.,  reside  with  their 
parents,  at  Fort  Worth,  Tarrant  county, 
Texas. 

ORANGE  P.,  born  in  Virginia,  died 
in  Sangamon  county  in  infancy. 

JOSEPH  W.,  born  March  11,1837, 
in  Sangamon  county,  was  married  April 
12,  1860,  to  Susan  E.  Hardin.  They  have 
four  children,  MARY  V.,  SARAH  E., 
PRESLEY  L.  and  MAHALA  D.,  and 
reside  near  Taylorville. 

MART  y.,  born  March  16,  1840,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  May  3,  1859, 
to  Thomas  W.  Fleming.  They  had  two 
children.  MARY  A.  died  July  27,  1874, 
and  EMMA  L.  resides  with  her  mother. 
Mr.  Fleming  died  July  26,  1866.  Mrs. 
Fleming  was  married  Sept.,  1871,  to  John 
L.  Morgan,  who  was  born  in  Sanduskv, 
Ohio,  and  served  three  years  in  Co.  E., 
1 3th  U.  S.  Inf.  He  was  honorably  dis- 
charged August  6,  1868.  They  reside 
near  Zion  Chapel,  three  miles  north  of 
Pawnee. 

ANN  E.,  born  Feb.  13,  1842,111  San- 
gamon county,  married  John  Q.  A.  Hus- 
band. Sec  his  name. 


ELIZA  V.,  born  March  30,  1851,  in 
Sangamon  countv,  married  Feb.  9,  1870, 
to  Nimrod  Vickers.  One  child,  FRANK, 
died  in  infancy.  They  reside  in  Christian 
county,  four  miles  east  of  Pawnee. 

Abraham  Barrows  died  April  9,  1862, 
and  Mrs.  Mahala  Barrows  died  Oct.  18, 
1874,  both  at  the  family  homestead,  six 
miles  south  of  Springfield. 

BARROWS,  JOSIAH,  was 
born  Sept.  17,  1793,  in  Thompson,  Wind 
ham  county,  Conn.  In  1798,  his  parents 
moved  to  Bridport,  Vt.,  where  Josiah 
was  married  Feb.  25,  1825,  in  Lebanon, 
New  Hampshire,  to  Joanna  Allen.  She 
died  Sept.,  1826,  in  Vermont,  and  Mr. 
Barrows  was  married  Jan.,  1829,  in  Le- 
banon, N.  H,,  to  Emily  Young.  She 
died  Nov.,  1831,  in  Vermont,  and  he  was 
married,  July,  1836,  in  New  Haven,  Vt., 
to  Mrs.  T.  M.  Case,  whose  maiden  name 
was  Mills.  They  had  two  children  in 
Vermont,  and  came  to  Illinois,  arriving  in 
Chatham,  Sangamon  county,  Oct.,  1839, 
where  they  had  two  children,  and  moved 
to  Springfield  about  1846.  Of  their  child- 
ren— 

MART  P.,  was  born  in  Vermont  in 
1837,  anc^  was  niarried  Jan.  i,  1861,  in 
Springfield,  to  John  H.  Morse.  They  have 
three  children,  JOHN,  GEORGE  and 
HORACE,  and  reside  at  Morse's  Mills, 
Jefferson  county,  Mo.  Mr.  Morse  was 
an  avowed  abolitionist,  and  during  the 
war  to  suppress  the  rebellion,  was  much 
annoyed  by  the  rebels.  His  store  was 
robbed,  but  being  warned,  he  had  time  to 
remove  some  of  the  lighter  goods.  Amid 
all  his  troubles  he  continued  to  flourish, 
and  has  several  times  represented  his  dis- 
trict in  the  State  Senate  of  Missouri.  He 
is  always  engaged  in  some  public  enter- 
prise. 

SAMUEL  M.,  born  about  1838,  in 
Vermont,  raised  in  Sangamon  county,  111., 
married  Sept.  1867,  in  Vineland,  Jefferson 
county,  Mo.,  to  Ellen  Morse.  They  have 
four  children,  JULIA,  KATIE,  ELLEN 
and  ARTHUR.  S.  M.  Barrows  was  a 
Union  man,  and  subjected,  like  his  brother- 
in-law,  to  annoyance  during  the  war.  He 
is  Post  Master,  and  resides  at  Morse's 
Mills,  Mo. 

LUCT,  died  in  Springfield,  aged  about 
sixteen  years. 

ANNA,  born  in  Springfield,  resides 
with  her  sister,  Mrs.  Morse. 


SANGAMON  COUNTT. 


99 


LOUISA  CASE,  daughter  of  Mrs. 
Barrows  by  a  former  marriage,  resides 
with  her  half-sister,  Mrs.  Morse. 

Mrs.  T.  M.  Barrows  left  Springfield  to 
visit  her  daughter,  Mrs.  Morse,  in  Mis- 
souri, and  died  there,  Nov.  1865. 

Josiah  Barrows,  after  the  death  of  his 
wife,  spent  his  winters  in  Missouri,  and 
summers  in  Springfield,  111.,  until  1875. 
lie  now  resides  with  his  children  in  Mis- 
souri. 

BARROWS,  LUCY,  sister  of 
Josiah  and  Franklin,  was  born  March  14, 
1 797,  in  Woodstock,  Conn.  Came  west 
in  1838.  She  resided  in  Sangamon  and 
Morgan  counties  until  Jan.,  1841,  when 
she  was  married  to  Erastus  Wright.  See 
his  name. 

BARROWS,  FRANKLIN, 
brother  to  Lucy  and  Josiah,  came  to  Spring- 
field Nov.,  1855.  They  came  too  late  to 
be  classed  as  early  settlers,  Mr.  Franklin 
Barrows  and  family  continue  to  reside  in 
Springfield. 

Prentiss  Barrows,  the  father  of  Josiah, 
Lucy  and  Franklin,  was  a  soldier  of  the 
Revolution,  under  command  of  Benedict 
Arnold,  and  occupied  the  same  building 
used  as  Gen.  Arnold's  headquarters. 
Prentiss  Barrows  was  standing  in  the  yard 
when  Arnold  left  the  Americans  to  join 
the  British,  and  as  he  passed,  something 
heavy  in  his  pockets  struck  Barrows,  and 
it  was  always  believed  that  it  was  gold,  a 
part  of  the  price  of  his  treason.  Prentiss 
Barrows  died  in  1812,  at  Bridport,  Vt., 
from  disease  contracted  in  the  army  of  the 
Revolution. 

BASHAW,  MRS.  ELLEN, 
whose  maiden  name  was  Reed,  was  born 
about  1 774.  Her  parents  were  from  Penn- 
sylvania. Ellen  Reed  was  married  in 
Bourbon  county,  Ky.,  to  William  Bashaw. 
He  was  a  native  of  Virginia.  They  had 
three  children,  and  Mr.  Bashaw  died  in 
Bourbon  county.  Mrs.  Bashaw,  with 
her  three  sons,  moved  to  Sangamon  coun- 
tv,  111.,  arriving  in  the  fall  of  1830,  and 
settled  three  miles  north  of  Rochester.  Of 
her  three  children — 

JAMES,  born  Jan.  18,  1800,  in  Ken- 
tucky, married  in  Sangamon  county,  Jan. 
17,  1832,  to  Mary  McCune.  They  had 
seven  children  in  Sangamon  county, 
CINCINNATUS,  ELEANOR,  EMI- 
LY, HIRAM,  CORDIANN,  JAMES 
R.  and  WILLIAM  M.  James*  Bashaw 


died  in    1850,  and  his  widow  resides   two 
miles  north  of  Rochester. 

WI J.LI  AM  S.,  born  Nov.,  1805,  in 
Bourbon  county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  in  1834,  to  Isabel  McCune. 
They  had  nine  children;  four  died  young. 
AMANDA,  born  April  6,  1835,  married 
James  A.  James.  See  his  name.  JAMES, 
born  Jan.  27,  1838,  married  Feb.  20,  1862, 
to  Mary  Bailey,  who  was  born  Jan.  26, 
1844,  m  Hawkins  county,  Tenn.  They 
have  three  children,  LAURA  i.,  GEORGE  A. 
and  DOKLV,  and  reside  in  Clear  Lake 
township,  eight  miles  due  east  of  Spring- 
field. HANNAH,  married  William 
Thomas,  and  resides  one  mile  west  of 
Dawson.  CHARLES  SPENCER  and 
ALEXANDER  reside  in  Clear  Lake 
township.  Mrs.  Isabel  Bashaw  died  July 
27,  1861,  and  William  S.  Bashaw  died  Jan. 
3,  1874,  within  one  and  a  half  miles  of 
where  he  settled  with  his  mother  in  1830. 
Wm.  S.  Bashaw  had  been  five  years  a 
Justice  of  the  Peace,  and  was  in  office  at 
the  time  of  his  death. 

JA^UELIN,  born  Nov.  24,  1808,  in 
Kentucky,  married  in  Sangamon  county  to 
Eleanor  Poor,  had  nine  children,  and  he 
died  in  1868.  His  widow  married  James 
McQuinn,  and  resides  near  Rochester. 

Mrs.  Ellen  Bashaw  died  Sept.,  1852,  on 
the  farm  where  she  settle  in  1830. 

BATES,  ISAAC,  was  born  Oct. 
14,  1796,  in  the  town  of  JafFrey,  Cheshire 
county,  New  Hampshire,  and  when  a 
young  man,  went  to  St.  Lawrence  count v, 
N.  Y.  CHARLOTTE  BRY- 
ANT was  born  Dec.  u.  1805,  at  Shore- 
ham,  near  White  Hall,  Vt.,  and  taken  by 
her  parents  to  St.  Lawrence  county,  N.  Y. 
Isaac  Bates  and  Charlotte  Bryant  were 
married  and  had  six  children  in  St.  Law- 
rence county.  The  family  moved  to  San- 
gamon county,  111.,  in  wagons,  arriving 
June  30,  1837,  at  Springfield,  and  the  next 
week  (July  4),  witnessed  the  laying  of  the 
corner  stone  of  the  State  house,  the  work 
on  which  had  just  commenced.  In  1839 
he  entered  land  north  of  the  Sangamon 
river,  moved  there,  and  made  a  home  in 
what  is  now  Fancy  creek  township.  Two 
children  were  born  in  Sangamon  county. 
Of  their  children — 

JOSEPH,  born  June  16,  1822,  in  St. 
Lawrence  county,  N.  Y.,  married  in  San- 
gamon count}-  to  Mrs.  Rebecca  Power, 
whose  maiden  name  was  Hrown.  Mrs. 


100 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


Bates  had  one  child  by  her  first  marriage, 
MARY  J.  POWER.  She  married  John 
B.  Brown,  and  lives  in  Jefferson  county, 
Kan.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Bates  have  six  child- 
ren. FIDELIA  E.  married  Winfield  S. 
Hay,  and  lives  in  Fancv  creek  township. 
ISAAC  D.,  JAMES  \V.,  JOSEPH  F., 
ZIMRI  E.,  and  JOHN  CARROLL  re- 
side with  their  parents  in  Fancy  Creek 
township,  12  miles  due  north  of  Spring- 
field. 

ORLANDO,\x>rn  March  20,  1824,  in 
St.  Lawrence  county,  N.  Y.,  married  in 
Sangamon  county  to  Sarah  Brown.  They 
have  three  living  children,  JANE  and 
CHARLOTTE,  (twins.)  JANE  mar- 
ried William  Stienberger,  and  lives  near 
Mt.  Pulaski.  CHARLOTTE  married 
Abram  Larue,  and  lives  near  Williams- 
ville.  EMMA  lives  with  her  parents  in 
Williamsville. 

NELSON,  born  April  13,  1826,  in 
New  York.  He  lost  one  arm  by  the  ex- 
plosion of  a  gun  when  he  was  14  years 
old.  He  married  Melinda  Ferguson,  has 
three  children,  MINNIE  J.,  WILLIAM, 
and  FREDERICK,  and  lives  in  Peters- 
burg, 111. 

ALBER  T,  died,  1829,  in  infancy. 

FIDELIA,&\z<\.  August  31,  1845,  aged 
15  years. 

ZIMRI  B.,  born  Feb.  28,  1833,  in  St. 
Lawrence  county,  N.  Y.,  enlisted,  Nov. 
25,  1861,  in  Co.  G.,  loth  111.  Cav.,  and  was 
commissioned  as  1st  Lieutenant.  He  was 
promoted  to  Captain,  Oct.  20,  1862.  He 
served  about  four  years,  and  resigned  in 
Feb.,  1865.  He  was  married  Sept.  23, 
1866,  in  Sangamon  county,  to  Hattie 
Stockdale,  who  was  born  April  2,  1846, 
in  Pennsylvania.  They  have  two  child- 
ren, NORA  M.  and  HOWARD  R.,  and 
reside  in  Fancy  Creek  township,  at  the 
home  settled  by  his  parents  in  1839. 

IRA,  died  in  Sangamon  county,  Oct., 
1858,  in  his  twelfth  year. 

PARTHEN1A,  born  March  12,  1842, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  William  S. 
Constant.  See  his  name. 

JAMES  J/.,  born  June  19,  1844,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Julia  Constant. 
They  have  one  child,  ETHEL,  and  re- 
side in  Williamsville. 

Isaac  Bates  died  April  23,  1855,  in 
Fancy  creek  township.  His  widow  re- 
sides with  her  daughter,  Mrs.  Constant. 
Mrs.  Bates  is  a  cousin  to  William  Cullen 


Bryant,  the  poet,  and  editor  of  the  NC-JC 
Tork  Post. 

BATES,  JAMES,  was  born 
March  2,  1803,  in  Cheshire  county,  N.  II., 
raised  at  Potsdam,  N.  Y.,  and  came  with 
his  brother  Oliver  to  Sangamon  county  in 
1833.  He  was  married  in  the  fall  of  1842, 
to  Eunice  Watts  who  died  in  June,  1846. 
Mr.  Bates  was  married  in  May,  1852,  to 
Mrs.  Irena  Holmes,  whose  maiden  name 
was  Watts.  She  died  in  April,  1865. 
James  Bates  resides  one  mile  northwest  of 
Farmingdale.  He  never  had  any  children. 

BATES,  OLIVER,  was  born  in 
1796,  in  Cheshire  county,  N.  H.  Moved, 
about  1806,  to  Potsdam,  St.  Lawrence 
county,  N.  Y.,  where  he  was  married  to 
Charity  Buckman,  Sept.  S,  1824.  She  is 
a  sister  of  Joel  Buckman,  and  was  born  in 
Bethel,  Vermont.  They  had  three  child- 
ren in  New  York,  two  of  whom  died 
young.  They  moved  in  a  colony  of  52 
persons  to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  arriving 
in  1833,  and  early  in  1834  settled  adjoin- 
ing the  present  Farmingdale  Station,  on 
the  south,  where  three  children  were  born. 
Of  the  four  children — 

ROXANA,  born  Oct.  23,  1832,  in 
Potsdam,  N.  Y.,  was  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  111.,  April  6,  1853,  to  Jacob 
Foster.  See  his  name. 

ZURA,  born  Jan.  12,  1836,  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  was  married  to  Mrs.  Josephine 
Ellis.  They  have  three  children,  CHAS. 
B.,  ELIZABETH  A.  and  ROXANA 
L.,  and  reside  in  Tavlorville,  111. 

BUCKMAN,  born  Nov.  6,  1840,  in 
Sangamon  county,  was  partially  educated 
at  Jacksonville,  111.,  and  graduated  at  the 
.State  University,  Bloomington,  Indiana. 
He  began  the  study  of  law  in  Pekin,  111., 
where  he  died  July  13,  1864. 

ELIZABETH,  born  Feb.  25,  1839, 
in  Sangamon  county,  died  at  the  residence 
of  her  sister,  Mrs.  Foster.  Oliver  Bates 
died  in  1865,  where  he  settled  in  1834. 
His  widow  died  in  March  1869,  at  the 
residence  of  her  daughter,  Mrs.  Foster. 

BATTERTpN,  AMOR,  was 
born  May  3,  1772,  in  Loudon  county,  Va. 
Nancy  Guthrie  was  born  about  1776,  in 
North  Carolina,  and  her  parents  moved, 
when  she  was  a  child,  to  Madison  county, 
Ky.  They  were  there  married  and  had 
one  child,  who  was  drowned  in  Kentucky 
river.  They  moved  to  Aclair  county, 
where  they  had  nine  children,  and  moved 


SANGAMON    COUNT*. 


101 


to  Madison  county,  111.,  in  1818,  and  from 
there  to  Rock  creek,  in  what  is  now 
Menard  county,  in  1820,  thence  to  what  is 
now  Salisbury  township,  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, in  the  spring  of  1822,  and  settled  one 
and  a  quarter  miles  northwest  of  where 
Salisbury  now  stands.  Of  their  nine 
children — 

DA  VID,  born  Nov.  5,  1796,  in  Ken- 
tucky, married  Nancy  Yoakum.  They 
had  eight  children,  and  Mr.  B.  died  in 
Menard  county.  His  family  moved  to 
Cass  county,  and  his  widow  died  there. 
Their  children  reside  in  Menard  and  Cass 
counties,  and  in  Kansas.  Mr.  B.  was  1st 
Lieutenant  in  a  Company  in  the  Winne- 
bago  war. 

NELSON,  born  July  27,  1798,  in  Ken- 
tucky, married  Betsv  Davenport,  had  four 
children,  and  Mr.  B.  died  in  DeWitt  coun- 
ty. Their  son  WILLIAM  was  a  soldier 
in  an  Illinois  regiment,  and  died  in  1863, 
in  the  army.  MARY  and  NANCY  are 
married,  and  reside  in  Minnesota.  JAMES 
W.  and  his  mother  live  in  Missouri. 

ANDERSON,  born  May  3,  1800,  in 
Kentucky,  married  Polly  Robinson,  who 
died,  and  he  married  again  and  went  to 
Arkansas; 

WILLIAM,  born  Dec.  14,  1801,  in 
Adair  county,  Ky.,  married  Jan.  i,  1833, 
in  Sangamon  county,  to  Eliza  Gaines. 
They  had  twelve  children ;  two  died  young. 
MADISON,  born  Oct.  20,  1833,  enlisted, 
August  13,  1862,  for  three  years,  in  Co. 
B.,  i  I4th  111.  Inf.,  was  captured  at  Gun- 
town,  Miss.,  June  n,  1864,  was  taken  to 
Ander^onville  prison  and  escaped  by  falling 
in  with  Gen.  Stoneman's  men  when  they 
were  about  to  be  exchanged  Sept.  14, 

1864,  and  was  mistaken  for  one  of  them. 
He  left  them  at  Atlanta,  was  furloughed 
home  from  Memphis,  joined  his  regiment 
in  Jan.,  1865,  served  to  the  end  of  his  term, 
and  was  honorably  discharged,  August  3, 

1865.  He  was  married  April  24,  1864,  in 
Sangamon  county,  to  Cynthia  S.  Lemmon. 
They  have  three  living  children,  MINNIE 
M.,  JENNIE,   and   a   boy   babe,   and   reside 
four  and  a  half  miles   north  of  Salisbury. 
RICHARD,  born  July  19,  1836,  married 
Permelia     Miller,    have     three    children, 
ADAM   F.,  MURRAY,  and   ELIJAH,  and  re- 
side in  Menard  county.     AMY   C.,  born 
Feb.    19,    1838,   married  John  R.  Wells, 
have  seven  children,  and  reside  in  Macon 
county,  Mo.     ROBERT,  born  August  4, 


1839,  enlisted  for  three  years,  August  13, 
1862,  in  Co.  B,  i  I4th  111.  Inf.,  served  full 
term,  and  was  honorably  discharged  at 
Springfield,  June  29,  1865.  He  died  at 
home,  August  16,  1868,  from  the  effects  of 
camp  diarrhea  and  sun  stroke.  HENRY 
CLAY,  born  Nov.  12,  1843,  niarried  Jan. 
20,  1870,  to  Maria  Maltby,  who  was  born 
May  27,  1850,  at  Petersburg,  111.  They 
have  one  child,  IDA  MAY,  and  reside  one 
mile  west  of  Salisbury.  MILDRED  P., 
born  May  4,  1846,  married  Daniel  C.  Pel- 
ham.  See  his  name.  MARIA,  SARAH 
E.,  CHARLOTTE  and  GEORGE  W., 
reside  with  their  parents,  one  and  a  quar- 
ter miles  west  of  Salisbury. 

LE  TV,  born  August  20,  1804,  in  Ken- 
tucky, married  in  Sangamon  county, 
March  3,  1831,  to  Dorcas  Sackett.  They 
had  six  children.  MARY  A.  married 
Wm.  Hines,  have  ten  children,  and  reside 
two  miles  north  of  Salisbury.  THOMAS 
S.  married  Lucy  Duncan,  have  five  child- 
ren, JASPER  N.,  ALLIE  J.,  FRANCIS  M., 

GEORGE  w.  and  ANDERSON  D.,  and  reside 
one  and  a  half  miles  north  of  Salisbury. 
ELIAS  married  Ellen  Duncan;  have  two 
children,  HARVEY  and  ANNIE,  and  reside 
five  miles  north  of  Salisbury.  AMAN- 
DA J.  married  Ira  Brown,  and  resides  two 
and  a  half  miles  north  of  Salisbury. 
WILLIAM  H.  married  Mary  E.  Dun- 
can, has  one  child,  NORA,  and  resides  with 
his  parents,  two  miles  north  of  Salisbury. 
Levi  Batterton  served  in  a  Sangamon 
county  Company  in  the  Winnebago  war, 
and  drew  as  a  pension,  twice,  forty  acres 
of  land. 

MART,  born*Dec.  14,  1804,  in  Ken- 
tucky, married  Willoughby  Randolph. 
They  had  four  children.  Their  youngest 
son,  LEVI,  was  a  soldier  in  an  Iowa  reg- 
iment, was  wounded  and  died  at  the  bat- 
tle of  Pittsburg  landing.  The  family  re- 
side at  Knoxville,  Iowa. 

P  RISC  ILL  A,\>vvi\  Feb.  9,  1809,  in 
Kentucky,  married  June  16,  1836,  to  Wil- 
liam Yoakum,  who  was  born  July  28, 
1812,  in  Claiborne  county,  Tenn.  They 
have  one  son,  WILLIAM  F.,  who  mar- 
ried Mary  Adams,  and  resides  with  his 
parents  in  Menard  count}',  two  miles 
north  of  Salisbury. 

SUSANNAH  T.,  born  June  7,  1811, 
married  Coleman  Gaines.  See  his  name. 

E.  GEORGE,  born  June  26,  1814,  in 
Adair  county,  Ky.,  married  Jan.  19,  1843, 


102 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


in  Menard  county,  to  Huberty  Clark. 
They  had  ten  children;  one  died  young. 
JOHN  C.  resides  with  his  parents. 
ELISHA  C.  married  Farinda  Duncan. 
They  have  three  children,  EMMA  j.,  ED- 
WARD L.  and  SYLVA  v.,  and  reside  one 
mile  southeast  of  Salisbury.  PRISCIL- 
LA  J.  married  Wm.  Tozer,  have  three 
children,  and  reside  five  miles  northwest 
of  Salisbury.  MARY  A.,  MARTHA 
A.,  MORRIS  M.,  LAURA  A.,  GEO. 
M.  and  CHARLES  L.,  reside  with  their 
parents,  two  miles  north  of  Salisbury. 

Mrs.  Nancy  Batterton  died  July  31, 
1835,  and  Amor  Batterton  died  August  4, 
1835,  both  near  Salisbury. 

BEACH,  J  A  RED,  was  born  Nov. 
24,  1770,  in  Essex  county,  N.  J.,  and  was 
married  there,  Feb.  13,  1794,  to  Mary 
Harrison,  who  was  born  Sept.  18,  1775,  in 
the  same  county.  They  moved  to  New 
York  City,  where  they  had  five  living 
children,  and  in  1835  moved  to  Spring- 
field, 111.  Of  their  children— 

ELECT  A,  married  in  New  York 
City  to  Henry  Howell,  moved  west,  and 
died,  Feb.,  1859,  in  Centreville,  Iowa. 

CATHARINE,  born  Sept.  12,  1805, 
in  New  York  city,  married  there,  August 
3,  1830,  to  Edmund  R.  Wiley.  See  his 
name. 

RICHARD  H.,  born  March  n,  1808, 
in  New  York  City,  married  there,  in 
1832,  to  Eliza  H.  Baldwin,  who  was 
born  in  1814,  in  'Cranberry,  Middlesex 
county  N.  J.  They  had  one  child,  and 
moved  to  Morgan  county,  111.,  where  he 
taught  school  one  year,  and  came  to 
Springfield  in  1834,  au<^  ni  x^35  united 
with  E.  R.  Wiley  in  the  mercantile  busi- 
ness, as  Wiley,  Beach  &  Co.  They  es- 
tablished the  first  clothing  store  in  Spring- 
field, which  they  continued  many  years. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Beach  had  four  children  in 
Springfield.  Of  their  five  children, 
SARAH,  born  in  1833,  in  New  York 
City,  married  in  Springfield  to  George 
H.  Nolte.  They  had  three  children, 

GEORGE     E.,     RICRARD    B.     and    MINNIE   G. 

Mrs.  Nolte  died  in  1862,  in  Beardstown. 
CATHARINE  E.,  born  in  1835,  in 
Springfield,  died  in  1848  in  Beardstown. 
MARY  B.,  born  in  Springfield,  resides 
with  her  father.  MATILDA  B.,  born 
Feb.  28,  1839,  in  Springfield,  married, 
April  14,  1868,  to  Rev.  William  E.  Cald- 
well,  of  Lodi,  Michigan.  They  have  three 


children,  JENNIE,  MINNIE  and  EDWARD, 
and  reside  at  Clio,  Geneseo  county,  Mich- 
igan. Mr.  Caldwell  is  pastor  of  the  Con- 
gregational church  of  that  place.  ED- 
WARD P.,  born  May  27, 1841,  in  Spring- 
field, married  Mayji,  1865,10  Julia  E. 
Cone,  and  resides  in  Springfield.  Mrs. 
Eliza  H.  Beach  died  Oct.  31,  1865,  and 
Richard  H.  Beach  was  married,  June  27, 
1867,  to  Sarah  Lavinia  Pearson.  They 
reside  in  Springfield. 

ELIZA  H.,  died  April  14,  1865,  in 
Centreville,  Iowa. 

AMELIA,  born  Sept.  21,  1816,  mar- 
ried in  1843,  in  Springfield,  to  John  Har- 
ris. She  died  May  22,  1845. 

Mrs..  Mary  Beach  died  Dec.  17,  1836, 
and  Jared  Beach  died  March  4,  1852,  both 
in  Springfield. 

BEACH,  JOB  A.,  was  born  April 
5,  1780,  in  Morris  county,  N.  J.  Susan 
Hathaway  was  born  Oct.  12,  1782,  in  the 
same  county.  They  were  married  and 
had  eight  children  in  New  Jersey,  and  in 
1817  moved  to  Butler  county,  Ohio,  and  the 
next  year  to  Dearborn  county,  Ind.  Of 
three  children  born  in  the  latter  county, 
one  died  in  infancy.  Mrs.  Susan  Beach 
died  there  in  Oct.,  1822,  and  Job  A.  Beach 
was  married,  August  26,  1824,  to  Judith 
Connelly,  who  was  born  Dec.  2,  1805,  in 
Washington  county,  Pa.  They  had  five 
children  in  Indiana,  and  the  family  moved 
to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  in  the  fall  of 
1835,  and  settled  south  of  Spring  creek, 
in  what  is  now  Gardner  township,  where 
five  children  were  born.  Of  the  twenty 
children  of  Job  A.  Beach —  • 

CHARLES,  born  Dec.  16,  1801,  in 
New  Jersey,  married  in  Ohio  to  Elizabeth 
McGilvey.  She  died,  leaving  one  child, 
and,  when  last  heard  from,  he  lived  in 
Rockville,  Ind. 

E  UNICE,  born  April  7,  1803,  in  Nc-\\ 
Jersey,  married  in  Indiana  to  Enoch  Con- 
ger. They  had  six  children,  and  moved 
to  Oquawka,  111.,  where  the  parents  died. 

y.  MUNSON,  born  May  i,  1806,  in 
Morris  county,  N.  J.,  married  near  Carth- 
age, Hamilton  county,  Ohio,  August  27, 
1835,  to  Christiana  M.  Robinson.  They 
came  to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  arriving 
Sept.  19,  1836,  in  what  is  now  Gardner 
township,  where  they  had  eleven  children ; 
two  died  young.  CAROLINE,  born 
Tune  3,  1837,  married  Jan,  15,  1857,  to 
George  Carr.  She  died  April  5,  1860, 


SANGAMON  COUNTY. 


103 


leaving  one  child,  BENJAMIN,  who  resides 
with  his  father,  in  Wisconsin.  MARY 
A.,  born  Jan.  23,  1839,  married  August 
20,  1862,  to  Henry  P.  Hart.  They  have 
six  children,  HENRY  E.,  WILLIAM  M., 

MAKY  C.,  BENJAMIN  S.,  JULIA  P.  and  WAI.- 

TKR  A.,  and  reside  five  miles  northwest  of 
Springfield.  Henry  P.  Hart  enlisted 
August  9,  1862,  for  three  years,  in  Co.  H., 
95th  111.  Inf.,  was  corporal  and  postmas- 
ter in  the  Company,  served  until  June  6, 
1863,  when  he  was  promoted  to  Captain 
of  a  Company  of  U.  S.  colored  troops. 
CORNELIA,  born  Jan.  15,  1841,  mar- 
ried April  3,  1860,  to  Samuel  Cook.  They 
have  four  children,  JAMES  E.,  WILLIAM  M., 
IOHN  and  JENNIE,  and  reside  in  Chandler-" 
ville,  111.  EDWARD  M.,  born  Oct.  6, 
1843,  enlisted  August  20,  1862,  for  three 
years,  in  Co.  B.,  I3oth  111.  Inf.  He  was 
corporal  and  fifer  the  greater  part  of  the 
time,  served  full  term,  and  was  honorably 
discharged  August  15,  1865.  He  was 
married  June  3,  1869,  to  Maggie  Frazee. 
They  have  one  child,  LIIIRIE  G.,  and  reside 
eight  miles  west  of  Springfield.  VIR- 
GINIA, born  July  8,  1846,  married  Oct. 

3,  1872,  to  Charles   W.  King.     See    his 
name.    JULIA    D.,  born   April  6,  1848, 
married    Oct.    24,   1870,  to   Hiram    McC. 
Reed.     Who  was  born  Aug.  26,  1846,  in 
Butler    county,    Ohio.       They    have    one 
child,  MAGGIE  c.,  and   reside   near  Berlin. 
JOSHUA    M.,  born  Oct.  4,  1852,  died  in 
his   seventh    year.     JOSEPH    W.,   born 
Dec.  14,    1855,  and  ALICE  J., 'born  Jan. 

4,  1859,  reside   with   their    parents,  eight 
miles  west  of  Springfield. 

MILTON,  born  April  25,  1808,  in 
New  Jersey,  married,  raised  a  family,  and 
resides  in  Lawrenceburg,  Ind. 

P2.\fELlXE,  born  May  8,  1810,  in 
New  Jersey,  married  in  Dearborn  county, 
Ind.,  to  Ezekiel  Pettigrew,  and  both  died 
in  Park  county,  leaving  seven  children. 

NANCY,  born  June  26,  1813,  in  New 
Jersey,  married  in  Indiana  to  Jacob  Daisy, 
moved  to  Arkansas,  where  he  died,  and 
she  married  again. 

JANE,  born  August  24,  1814,  in  New 
Jersey,  married  Ephraim  Lawler.  She 
died  in  Clay  county,  111.,  leaving  four 
children  near  Louisville. 

1> RUDE NCE,  \MV\\  Sept.  25,  1816,  in 
New  Jersey,  married  Wm.  Bullion,  in 
Park  county,  Ind.,  and  died  there. 


22,  1818,  in 
Indiana,  died  unmarried  in  1869,  at  the 
house  of  her  sister,  Lavina,  near  Yan- 
dalia. 

LA  VINA,  born  Nov.  30,  1820,  in 
Dearborn  county,  Ind.,  married  in  Spring- 
field, 111.,  to  Stephen  D.  Perry.  They 
have  nine  children,  and  reside  near  Shabo- 
nier,  Fayefte  county.  Of  the  second 
marriage — 

ELIZA,  born  August  4,  1825,  in  In- 
diana, died,  aged  two  years. 

JOB  ALLEN,  Jun.,  born  March  i, 
1827,  in  Dearborn  county,  Ind.,  came 
with  his  parents  to  Sangamon  county  in 
1835.  He  enlisted  August,  1862,  for  three 
years,  in  Co.  I,  130111  111.  Inf.  He  was 
under  Gen.  Banks  in  his  expedition  up 
Red  River,  was  captured  and  taken  to 
Camp  Ford,  at  Tyler,  Texas,  and  after 
six  weeks  imprisonment,  news  came  that 
they  were  to  be  exchanged,  and  the  rebel 
guards  becoming  less  vigilant,  he  escaped 
and  wandered  26  days  before  reaching  the 
Union  lines.  His  comrades  remained 
fourteen  months  in  the  rebel  prisons.  Mr. 
Beach  served  to  the  end  of  the  rebellion, 
and  was  honorably  discharged  in  August, 
1865.  He  is  unmarried,  and  resides  with 
his  mother,  eight  miles  west  of  Spring- 
field. 

MARY  A.,  born  June  25,  1829,  in  In- 
diana, raised  in  Sangamon  county,  mar- 
ried in  Knox  county,  111.,  to  Jonathan 
Cacebeer,  have  one  child,  and  reside  at 
Wilton  Junction,  Iowa. 

LUCY, born  April  29,  1831,  in  Indiana, 
died  in  Sangamon  county,  aged  sixteen 
years. 

BENJAMIN  P.,  born  May  31,  1833, 
in  Indiana,  raised  in  Sangamon  count}, 
married  in  Knox  county,  111.,  enlisted  at 
Moline,  served  three  years,  re-enlisted  as 
veteran,  served  to  the  end  of  the  rebellion, 
and  was  honorably  discharged.  He  moved 
to  Springfield,  Mo.,  and  died  there,  May 
1 8,  1869,  leaving  a  widow  and  four  child- 
ren. 

SUSAN,  born  March  17,  1836,  in  San- 
gamon countv,  resides  with  her  mother. 

HARLAN  P.,  born  Nov.  20,  1838,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  in  Fayelte 
county,  to  Ellen  J.  Tharp.  He  served  as 
First  Sargeant  three  years  in  the  iiith 
111.  Inf.,  was  with  Sherman  in  his  march 
to  the  sea,  served  to  the  end  of  the  rebel- 
lion, was  honorably  discharged,  and  died 


104 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


March  13,  1870,  leaving  a  widow  and  one 
child  in  Fayette  county. 

MARTIN  L.,  born  Feb.  n,  1841,  in 
Sangamon  county,  enlisted  May,  1862,  for 
three  months,  in  Co.  G.,  68th  111.  Inf.,  and 
died  of  disease,  Sept.  10,  1862,  in  Wash- 
ington City. 

FRANCIS,  born  Oct.  i,  1843,  died  in 
infancy. 

LOUISA  R.,  born  May  10,  1846,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Thomas  D. 
Barnhart,  had  one  child,  and  Mrs.  B.  died, 
Nov.  28,  1871,  in  Kansas. 

Job  A.  Beach  died  April  n,  1849,511 
Sangamon  county,  and  his  widow  resides 
eight  miles  west  of  Springfield,  with  her 
unmarried  children. 

BEARDON,  SAMUEL  L,, 
was  born  Feb.  27,  1827,  in  Christian  coun- 
ty, Ky.  His  father  moved  to  Christian 
countv,  111.,  in  1828.  His  mother  dying 
soon  after,  his  father  gave  him  to  John 
French,  a  friend  of  the  family,  who  had 
moved  to  Chatham  township,  in  Sanga- 
mon county.  He  was  brought  up  by  Mr. 
French.  Samuel  L.  Beardon  was  married 
April  10,  1852,  in  Sangamon  county,  to 
Susan  Gofor.  Thev  have  four  children — 

GEORGE  7\," ISAAC  N.,  SAM- 
UEL E.,  and  IRA,  and  reside  two  and 
a  half  miles  northeast  of  Auburn. 

John  French  died  in  1854,  in  Chatham 
township. 

BEAUCHAMP,  JpSHUA, 
was  born  about  1782,  in  Washington  coun- 
ty, Ky.  He  was  married  there  to  Catha- 
rine Payne.  They  had  seven  children  in 
Kentucky, and  moved  to  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, 111.,  arriving  in  what  is  now  Woodside 
township,  in  the  fall  of  1827,  where  two 
children  were  born.  Of  the  children — 

MARIA  R.,  born  in  Kentucky,  mar- 
ried James  H.  Withrow.  See  his  name, 

The  other  children — 

HENRT  N.,  ED  WARD,  ELIZA, 
WILLIAM,  JOSEPH  and  AMAN- 
DA, ail  married,  some  died,  and  the  living 
are  in  Kansas  and  Missouri. 

Joshua  Beaucharnp  moved  to  Missouri, 
and  died  April  i,  1842,  in  the  Platt  pur- 
chase. His  widow  resides  in  Doniphan 
county,  Kansas. 

BEAM  JACOB,  was  born  about 
1762,  in  N.  J.,  and  when  he  was  a  youth, 
went  to  Lexington,  Ky.,  which  he  found 
to  be  a  very  small  village.  Rachel  Mc- 
Clure  was  born  in  Huntington  county,  Pa., 


in  1775*  and  taken  by  her  parents  to  Fay" 
ette  county,  Ky.,  when  she  was  quite 
young.  Jacob  Beam  and  Rachel  McClure 
were  married  at  Lexington,  and  had  two 
children  there.  They  moved  to  Manches- 
ter, Ohio,  where  they  had  eleven  children, 
and  from  there  to  Clarke  county,  Ind., 
where  one  child  was  born,  and  from  there 
to  what  is  now  Lincoln,  Logan  county,  111., 
arriving  the  day  before  the  election  which 
made  Andrew  Jackson  President,  in  1828. 
Finding  it  impossible  to  obtain  food  and 
shelter  for  his  family  through  the  winter, 
after  a  stay  of  two  weeks,  Mr.  Beam 
moved  to  Rochester,  Sangamon  county, 
in  the  latter  part  of  Nov.,  1828.  Of  their 
children — 

JA  MES,  born  near  Lexington,  Ky., 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  Susan 
Hyner,  who  was  born  Oct.  15,  1810. 
They  had  nine  children,  all  of  whom  are 
dead,  except  RACHEL,  born  May  15, 
1831,  married  Jacob  Rape.  See  his  name. 
James  Beam  died  in  1855,  in  Sangamon 
county,  and  his  widow  died  in  1858,  at 
Mt.  Auburn,  Christian  county. 

J  OHN,  born  in  Kentucky,  married  in 
Sangamon  county,  to  Ellen  Williams. 
They  have  three  children,  and  reside  at 
Boscobel,  Grant  county,  Wis. 

ELIZABETH,^™  at  Manchester, 
O.,  married  in  Sangamon  county  to  Har- 
vey Summers.  They  had  six  children. 
SIMON  P.  was  accidentally  shot  in 
Marysville,  California,  about  1860.  JOHN 
WESLEY,  was  a  member  of  a  California 
Cavalry  regiment,  and  was  killed  by  his 
horse  running  away  with  him  on  the  march 
to  the  field  of  conflict,  in  1862.  GEORGE 
W.  was  a  soldier  in  an  Illinois  regiment, 
captured  and  died  in  a  rebel  prison  in 
South  Carolina.  MARY  E.  married  a 
Baptist  minister,  and  resides  in  Iowa. 
WILLIAM  resides  near  Rockbridge, 
Green  county.  SARAH  E.,  resides  with 
her  father.  Mrs.  E.  Summers  died,  and 
Harvey  Summers  resides  in  Alton. 

MART,  born  in  Ohio,  is  unmarried, 
and  resides  with  her  brother,  Joseph 
Beam. 

DA  VID,  born  in  Manchester,  Adams 
county,  Ohio,  married  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, to  Rosanna  Ebey,  who  was  born  near 
Columbus,  Ohio.  They  had  eleven  child- 
ren in  Sangamon  county,  five  of  whom 
died  young.  GEORGE  W.  went  to 
Washington  Territory  in  1854,  married 


SANGAMON  COUNTT. 


there  to  Sarah  Wright,  a  native  of  Mis- 
souri. They  went  over  the  plains  to- 
gether. Mr.  Beam  died  March,  1865,  on 
Vancouver's  Island,  leaving  a  widow  and 
three  children.  She  is  again  married, 
and  resides  in  San  Francisco.  JACOB 
H.,  born  April  28,  1834,  married  Jan.  19, 
1865,  to  Amanda  Cummings,  and  resides 
in  Springfield.  LOUISA  J.  married 
Emery  Raymond,  and  died  March  i 7, 1863, 
leaving  two  children.  NANCY  A.  mar- 
ried Lewis  Williams,  who  died,  and  she 
married  Geo.  W.  Dugger,  and  resides  in 
Virden.  WILLIAM  T.,  born  Sept.  22, 
1844,  married  Sept.  25,  1872,  to  Margaret 
A.  Sanders.  They  have  one  child,  COR- 
DELIA A.,  and  reside  in  Rochester  town- 
ship, near  where  his  grandfather  Beam 
settled  in  1828.  JAMES  HARVEY, 
born  July  24,  1849,  married  Oct.  23,  1873, 
to  Eliza  J.  Sanders,  and  resides  on  part  of 
the  farm  near  where  his  grandfather  set- 
tled in  1828.  It  is  in  Cotton  Hill  town- 
ship. David  Beam  died  Feb.  28,  1853. 
His  widow  died  April  16,  1860.  Mr. 
Beam  acted  as  Justice  of  the  Peace  for 
many  years;  was  a  farmer  and  miller. 

SARAH,  born  in  Ohio,  married  in 
Sangamon  county,  to  John  A.  Maxcy. 
They  have  two  children,  and  reside  in 
Alton. 

NANC  Y,  born  in  Ohio,  married  in 
Sangamon  county,  to  Jacob  Miller,  and 
both  died.  They  left  six  children  in  De- 
Witt  county. 

THOMAS,  born  at  Manchester,  O., 
and  came  to  Sangamon  county  with  his 
parents.  Some  of  his  friends  here  relate 
an  incident  in  his  life  that  illustrates  real 
life  among  the  early  settlers.  He  raised 
a  good  crop  of  corn  in  the  summer  of 
1830,  and  in  the  fall  determined  to  sell  it 
and  go  to  the  Galena  lead  mines.  After 
making  it  known  in  all  the  settlement, 
he  was  unable  to  get  an  offer  for  his  crop 
at  any  price  in  money,  but  he  traded  it  for 
a  barrel  of  whisky,  traded  that  for  a 
three  year  old  steer,  and  finally  sold  that 
for  $10.00.  He  took  a  vow  to  use  that 
for  paying  his  expenses  .out  of  the  county, 
and  never  to  live  in  it  again.  He  went  to 
the  lead  mines,  was  married  in  Wisconsin 
to  Catharine  Reed.  They  had  six  child- 
ren In  Wisconsin,  and  moved  to  California 
in  1863.  He  is  now  a  wealthy  man,  and 
resides  at  Crescent  City,  Del  Norte  coun- 
ty, California. 
—  14 


JANE  A.,  born  in  Ohio,  married  in 
Sangamon  county  to  William  Cable,  moved 
to  Wisconsin,  and  after  spending  twenty- 
four  years  there,  moved  to  Iowa,  and  died 
there  in  1872,  leaving  several  children. 

WESLE  Y,  born  in  Ohio,  married  in 
Sangamon  county,  Dec.  25,  1840,  to 
Amelia  Rape.  They  had  five  children  in 
Cotton  Hill  township;  one  died  in  infancy. 
NANCY  J.  married  W.T.  Williams;  had 
two  children,  ALBERT  L.  and  THEODORE  L. 
Mrs.  W.  died  and  they  live  with  their 
father,  who  married  and  resides  in  Cotton 
Hill  township.  MARY  A.  married 
James  M.  Sankey,  have  three  children, 
and  reside  near  Fairbanks,  Ind.  AMAN- 
DA E.  married  Wm.  Z.  Williams,  have 
one  child,  and  reside  near  Shelbourn,  Ind. 
JOHN  L.  is  unmarried,  and  resides  in 
Cotton  Hill  township.  Wesley  Beam 
died  in  1852,  in  Cotton  Hill  township,  and 
his  widow  married  Mr.  Hewlett.  See 
Rape  family  name. 

CORDELIA,  born  in  Ohio,  married 
in  Sangamon  county,  to  Daniel  Fetters. 
They  had  four  children,  and  she  died  in 
Cotton  Hill  township. 

JOSEPH,  born  July  27,  1820,  in 
Clarke  county,  Ind.,  married  in  Sangamon 
county  to  Mary  P.  Spicer.  They  had 
two  children.  NANCY  J.  A.,  married 
Henry  Hertel,  have  one  child,  ADA  LIL- 
LIAN, and  reside  three  miles  north  of  Paw- 
nee, in  Cotton  Hill  township.  SARAH  E. 
married  Isaac  Porter,  who  was  born  Dec. 
29,  1836,  in  Monroe  county,  Ohio.  They 
moved  to  Kansas  City,  Mo.,  and  she  died 
there,  May  21,  1869,  one  month  after  mar- 
riage. Mr.  Porter  brought  her  remains 
back  to  the  family  cemetery  for  interment. 
He  has  since  married  Maggie  Caldwell, 
and  resides  in  Pawnee.  Mrs.  Mary  P. 
Beam  died  Oct.  16,  1850,  and  Joseph  Beam 
was  married  April  25,  1854,  to  Barbara 
Deardorff.  Thev  had  four  children. 
THOMAS  W.  and  LINDSAY  C.,  the 
eldest  and  youngest,  died  under  three 
years.  JOSEPH  L.  and  WALDO  P. 
i-esitle  with  their  parents  in  Ball  township, 
ten  miles  southeast  of  Springfield.  He 
has  acted  as  Justice  of  the  Peace  for  sev- 
eral years. 

Jacob  Beam  died  March  24,  1838,  and 
his  widow  died  April  21,  1851,  both 
near  where  they  settled  in  1828. 

BEDINGER,  CHRISTIAN, 
was  born  Dec.  24,  1774,  in  Bcrklev  conn- 


io6 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


ty,  Va.  Sophia  Taylor  was  born  Sept. 
24,  1776?  in  Maryland,  they  were  mar- 
ried about  1798,  in  Maryland  or  Virginia, 
and  made  their  home  in  Berkley  county 
for  a  short  time,  then  moved  to  Harrison 
eounty,  near  Cadiz,  Ohio,  where  nine 
children  were  born.  The  parents  and 
three  of  the  children  came  to  Sangamon 
county,  111.,  arriving  in  the  fall  of  1836,  in 
Island  Grove.  Of  all  their  children — 

PHILIP,  born  Nov.  8,  1799,  in  Ohio 
married     in     Cadiz    to    Sarah     Hartman 
raised    a   large    family,    and    resides    near 
Nova,  Ashland  county,  O. 

JOSEPH,  born  June  16,  i8oi,in  Ohio, 
married  there  to  Deborah  Metcalfe,  had 
four  children,  and  Mrs.  B.  died.  Their 
daughter  SOPHIA  came  to  Sangamon 
county  with  her  grandparents,  and  mar- 
ried James  N.  Eckler.  JENNIE  resides 
with  her  uncle,  Wm.  Bedinger.  Joseph 
Bedinger  has  not  been  heard  from  for 
many  years. 

ISAAC,  born  June  18,  1807,  married 
in  Ohio,  to  Sarah  Brown,  came  to  Sanga- 
mon  county,  and  died  near  Berlin,  in  1851, 
leaving  a  widow  and  four  children. 

GEOR GE,  born  Feb.  n,  1810,  came 
to  Sangamon  county  with  his  parents,  re- 
mained four  or  five  years,  went  to  Mis- 
souri, married  there  to  Eliza  Carver. 
Both  parents  died,  leaving  four  children 
near  Lockridge,  Jefferson  county,  Iowa. 
WILLIAM,  born  June  n,  1812,  near 
Cadiz,  Ohio,  came  to  Sangamon  county  in 
the  spring  of  1837,  man~ied  Nov.  i,  1839, 
to  Martha  Carver,  and  had  three  children 
in  Sangamon  county.  ELIZA  J.,  born 
March  3,  1843,  married  in  1860  to  George 
Wolfe,  have  four  children,  and  reside  near 
German  Prairie  Station.  SARAH  E., 
born  Feb.  25,  1846,  married  in  1860  to 
John  C.  Robinson.  They  have  one  child, 
MARTHA  A.,  and  reside  half  a  mile  south 
of  Camp  Butler.  ALBERT,  born  April 
25,  1849,  resides  with  his  father.  Mrs. 
Martha  Bedingfer  died  Nov.,  18^2,  and 
Mr.  B.  was  married  Feb.  9,  1863,  to  Mrs. 
Sarah  M.  Greenslate,  whose  maiden  name 
was  Oliver.  They  reside  half  a  mile  south 
of  Camp  Butler. 

HENRY,  born  June  5,  1814,  in  Ohio, 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  Sophia 
Carver,  had  one  child,  and  he  died.  She 
married  Job  Dickenson. 

MARY,  born  Jan.   6,   1818,  in    Ohio, 
arried   in    Sangamon    county  to  Joseph 


Bumgardner.  They  had  six  children, 
four  of  whom  died  young.  ADDISON 
and  MATILDA  F.  reside  with  their  par- 
ents, five  miles  east  of  Springfield. 

Mrs.  Sophia  Bedinger  died  in  1840,  and 
Christian  Bedinger  died  Oct.,  1851,  both 
in  Sangamon  county. 

BELL,  ZEBULON,  was  born 
Nov.  1 8,  1799?  m  Gerrardstown,  Berkley 
county,  West  Virginia.  His  grandfather, 
James  Bell,  was  born  and  educated  in 
Scotland.  The  exact  date  of  his  coming 
to  America  is  unknown  to  his  descendents. 
.  He  landed  in  Philadelphia,  and  being  a  mill- 
wright, built  a  snuff  mill  in  that  city,  said 
to  have  been  the  first  machine  of  the  kind 
in  America.  He  went  from  Philadelphia 
to  Frederick  county,  Va.  According  to 
traditions  in  the  family,  he  must  have  been 
almost  a  Hercules  in  physical  strength. 
In  connection  with  his  business  as  a  mill- 
wright and  miller,  he  is  said  to  have  car- 
ried nine  bushels  of  wheat  up  three  flights 
of  stairs  at  a  single  load.  James  Bell  was 
married  in  Scotland  to  Ellen  Nelson. 
They  brought  two  children  with  them  to 
America,  John  and  James.  The  latter,  born 
March  18,  1770,  in  Scotland,  was  too  young 
to  remember  crossing  the  Atlantic  ocean. 
This  would  imply  that  they  came  before 
or  during  the  Revolution.  He  married 
Margaret  Fulton,  a  native  of  Chester 
county,  Penn.  She  was  of  Irish  descent. 
They  settled  in  Gerrardstown,  Berkley 
county,  West  Va.,  where  they  had  nine 
children,  three,  only,  of  whom  are  living. 
John,  born  March  23,  1798,  resides  in 
Quincy,  Logan  county,  Ohio.  Launcelot, 
born  Dec.  5,  1801,  resides  near  Taylorville, 
Christian  county,  Illinois,  and  Zebulon,  in 
age  between  the  two  latter,  is  the  one 
whose  name  heads  this  sketch. 

Zebulon  Bell  was  married  Sept.  20, 
1821,  in  Gerrardstown,  Berkley  county, 
West  Va.,  to  Rachel  Swingle,  who  was 
born  Dec.  20,  1801,  in  the  same  county. 
They  had  five  children  there,  and  moved 
to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  arriving  May  6, 
1834,  in  what  is  now  Woodside  township, 
west  of  Sugar  creek,  and  six  miles  south- 
east of  Springfield,  where  five  children 
were  born.  Of  their  ten  children- — 

BENONI,  born  July  24,  1822,  in 
Berkley  county,  West  Va.,  married  in 
Sangamon  county,  March  21,  1847,  *° 
Eliza  J.  Wills.  They  had  two  living 
children.  MARGARET  C.,  born  March 


SANGAMON    COUNT*. 


107 


15,  1848,  married,  Nov.  25,  1868,  to  John 
M.  Doake,  who  was  born  Oct.  3,  1844. 
They  have  three  children,  IVA,  BENONI  M. 
and  MARY  A.,  and  reside  six  and  a  half 
miles  southeast  of  Springfield.  WIL- 
LIAM S.  resides  with  his  father.  Mrs. 
Eliza  J.  Bell  died  Jan.  22,  1857,  and  Mr. 
Bell  was  married  Oct.  12,  1859,  in  Madi- 
son, Ind.,  to  Mrs.  Anna  Settle,  whose 
maiden  name  was  Taylor.  She  was  born 
Dec.  17,  1833,  m  Lancaster  county,  Penn. 
They  had  five  children,  three  died  in  in- 
fancy. CHARLES  E.  was  killed  by  the 
kick  of  a  horse,  July  31,  1873,  in  his  fifth 
year.  ADA  H.  resides  with  her  parents. 
Benoni  Bell  and  wife  reside  within  half  a 
mile  of  where  his  parents  settled  in  1834. 
It  is  six  and  a  half  miles  southeast  or 
Springfield. 

JAMBS  T.,  born  Dec.  15,  1823,  in 
Berkley  county,  West  Va.,  enlisted  in 
Sangamon  county,  Aug.  27,  1862,  for 
three  years,  in  Co.  E.,  114  111.  Inf.,  served 
his  full  term,  was  honorably  discharged, 
and  now  resides  near  Fountain,  Colorado. 

MARIA  C.,  born  June  29,  1825,  in 
Berkley  county,  Va.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  July  i,  1847,  to  John  Bell, 
who  was  born  Jan.  28,  1813,  in.  Pittsburg, 
Penn.  They  have  one  child,  RACHEL 
A.,  born  April  9,  1848,  married  John  H. 
Shoup.  See  his  name.  John  Bell  and 
wife  reside  with  their  daughter,  Mrs. 
Shoup,  in  Cotton  Hill  township. 

JOH^V  W.,  born  May  2,  1828,  in 
Berkley  county,  Va.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  to  Sarah  E.  Gatton.  They 
have  seven  children,  viz:  MARY  C., 
SAMUEL  L.,  JOHN  W.,  ALICE  J., 
RACHEL  E.,  EMILY  E.  and  CARY 
L.,  and  reside  near  Fountain,  Colorado. 

ZEBULON  N.,  born  April  19,  1830, 
in  West  Virginia,  brought  up  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  is  unmarried,  and  resides  in 
Christian  county,  near  Old  Rienzi,  San- 
gamon county. 

MARGARE  7^.,  born  May  31,  1834, 
in  Sangamon  county,  was  married  Feb. 
23,  1857,  to  Andrew  Anderson,  who  was 
born  in  Garrard  county,  Ky.,  April  29, 
1832.  They  have  seven  children,  ARA- 
BEL,  AGNES  M.,  RICHARD  Y., 
ZEBULON  J.,  MARY  S.,  JAMES  and 
RACHEL,  and  reside  in  Cotton  Hill 
township. 

LAUNCELOT,\)ovn  March  17,  1837, 
in  Sangamon  county,  went  to  Pike's  Peak 


in  1860,  married  there,  March  21,  1865,  to 
Lydia  E.  Roberts,  who  was  born  in  Bour- 
bon county,  Ky.,  Dec.  26,  1846.  Of  their 
children,  MARY  M.,  CLARINDA  M., 
IVY  FORREST,  GEORGE  S.  and 
FLORA  E.  The  two  latter  died  young. 
Launcelot  Bell  and  wife  reside  near  Foun- 
tain, El  Paso  county,  Colorado. 

STEPHEN,  born  April  19,  1839,  in 
Sangamon  county,  enlisted  August  27, 
1862,  for  three  years,  in  Co.  E.,  i  i4th  111. 
Inf.,  was  taken  prisoner  June  10,  1864, 
at  the  battle  of  Guntown,  Miss.  He 
spent  four  months  in  Andersonville  prison 
pen,  two  weeks  at  Savannah,  Ga.,  one 
month  at  Millen,  Ga.,  and  was  exchanged 
at  Savannah,  Nov.  24,  1864.  He  rejoined 
his  regiment,  served  full  time,  and  was 
honorably  discharged  with  the  regiment. 
He  was  married  in  Sangamon  county, 
Jan.  20,  1869,  to  Louisa  L.  Womack. 
They  have  three  children,  CORA  G., 
MAY  S.  and  JAMES  E.,  and  reside 
five  miles  south  of  Springfield. 

An  incident,  said  to  have  taken  place  in 
Andersonville  prison,  went  the  rounds  of 
the  papers  at  the  time,  but  its  truthfulness 
was  doubted.  It  had  almost  passed  from  my 
mind,  until  it  was  revived  by  Stephen 
Bell,  who  says  that  he  was  an  eye-witness 
to  the  breaking  out  of  a  spring  of  pure 
water,  und.er  circumstances  that  seemed 
almost  miraculous.  It  is  not  necessary  to 
repeat  the  description  of  the  prison,  as 
that  has  been  so  often  done.  It  is  well 
known  that  inside  the  stockade  there  was 
a  line,  sometimes  imaginary,  called  the 
"dead-line."  If  a  prisoner  crossed  that 
line  approaching  the  stockade,  he  was 
almost  sure  to  be  shot  dead.  A  stream  of 
water  ran  through  the  stockade  from  north 
to  south.  All  the  offal  and  filth  from  the 
camp  of  the  rebel  guards  entered  the 
stream  above  the  stockade,  and  that  was 
the  only  supply  of  water  for  the  prisoners. 
About  i oo  yards  east  of  and  on  ground  15 
or  20  feet  above  that  dirty  slough,  and  four 
or  five  feet  inside  the  dead-line,  or  between 
that  and  the  stockade,  a  stream  of  water 
spouted  up  ten  or  fifteen  feet,  where  there 
was  not  the  least  appearance  of  water  be- 
fore. Troughs  were  put  up,  and  it  was 
conducted  inside  the  prison  bounds.  It 
took  place  about  two  o'clock  in  the  after- 
noon, on  a  bright  day  in  August,  1864. 
There  had  been  a  heavy  rain  the  day  be- 
fore, ttccompanied  by  a  terrific  thunder- 


io8 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


storm.  The  torrents  of  water  broke 
down  the  stockade  where  it  crossed  the 
slough.  The  opening  was  so  wide  that 
the  rebel  authorities  feared  the  prisoners 
would  attempt  to  escape.  They  caused 
cannon  to  be  fired  and  their  soldiers  to 
shout  and  halloo,  and  make  all  the  noise 
they  could,  and  in  every  way  present  as 
great  an  appearance  of  force  as  possible. 
No  effort  was  made  to  escape,  the  breach 
was  mended,  the  waters  subsided,  the 
clouds  passed  away,  and  it  was  the  next 
day,  when  all  was  bright  and  clear,  that 
the  stream  of  pure  water  spouted  up  from 
the  earth.  Stephen  Bell  says  he  was  as 
near  it  at  the  time  as  any  other  person. 
He  thinks  that  of  the  28,000  prisoners  con- 
fined there  at  the  time,  the  larger  portion 
of  them  regarded  it  as  a  direct  interposi- 
tion of  Providence  in  their  behalf.  Each 
one  had  his  own  way  of  expressing  his 
feelings,  some  of  them  neither  refined  nor 
reverential,  but  none  the  less  heart-felt  and 
sincere. 

James  H.  Pulliam  and  Benj.  F.  Fletcher, 
whose  histories  may  be  found  in  this  book, 
were  in  the  prison  at  the  time,  and  testify 
to  the  truthfulness  of  the  above  statement. 
Mr.  Samuel  Lewis,  of  Auburn,  was  not 
there  at  the  time,  but  saw  the  spring  after- 
wards. 

MART  L.,  born  March  30,  1842,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Samuel  Rea- 
ton.  They  have  three  children,  IDA, 
JAMES  E.  and  FRANK,  and  reside 
near  Fountain,  Colorado. 

ARTHALINDA,  bom  Sept.  2,  1844, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  Jan.  7,  1859, 
to  Alexander  Shoup.  See  his  name. 

Mrs.  Rachel  Bell  died  Dec.  15,  1852, 
in  Sangamon  county,  and  Zebulon  Bell 
moved  west  in  1859,  and  resides  with  his 
children,  near  Fountain,  El  Paso  county, 
Colorado. 

BELL,,  ROBERT,  was  born 
March  8,  1795,  in  Bourbon  county,  Ky. 
His  father  was  born  in  Ireland,  and  had 
but  four  children,  Robert,  and  three  sisters. 
After  his  sisters  were  married,  he  had  no 
knowledge  of  any  relative  in  America, 
bearing  his  family  name.  He  was  a  sol- 
dier from  "Bourbon  county  in  the  war  of 
1812.  Robert  Bell  and  Susannah  Baker 
were  married  Feb.  12,  1818,  in  that  coun- 
ty, and  moved  to  Nicholas  county,  and 
from  there  they  moved  with  their  three 
children  to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  arriv- 


ing in  the  fall  of  1830,  and  settled  four 
miles  south  of  the  present  town  of  Roch- 
ester, where  they  had  six  children.  Of 
their  nine  children — 

ISAAC  B.,  born  June  25,  1820,  near 
Carlisle,  Nicholas  county,  Ky.,  married  in 
Sangamon  county,  March  28,  1840,  to 
Susan  Stokes.  They  had  six  daughters 
in  Sangamon  county.  CAROLINE  M., 
born  April  18,  1842,  married  March  29, 
1868,  to  Lawson  H.  Smith,  who  was 
born  Feb.  20,  1831,  in  Carlisle,  Ky.  They 
have  three  children,  CORDELIA  A.,  \VM. 
RILEY  and  ANNA  BELLE,  and  reside  three 
miles  southeast  of  Rochester.  LOUISA 
J.  resides  with  her  parents.  MARGA- 
RET A.,  born  Sept.  30,  1846,  married 
Jonathan  G.  Crouch.  See  his  name. 
MARY  E.,  EMILY  T.  and  DEBORAH 
S.  reside  with  their  parents,  one  and  a 
quarter  miles  west  of  Clarkesville. 

JAAfES  H.,  born  Nov.  30,  1822,  in 
Nicholas  county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  May  7,  1843,  to  Milla  Dot- 
son,  who  was  born  Nov.,  1822,  in  Loudon 
county,  Va.  They  had  four  children. 
JOHN  W.,  the  second  child,  died  under 
two  years.  ELIZA  A.,  born  Feb.  25, 
1844,  married  Sept.  4,  1864,  to  Benj.  C. 
Gray,  who  was  born  August  12,  1832, 
near  Hopkinsville,  Ky.  Mr.  Gray  has  one 
child,  CHARLES  Y.,  by  a  former  marriage. 
Mrs.  Gray  died  Dec.,  1874,  and  B.  C. 
Gray  resides  near  Clarkesville.  HIRAM 
F.,  born  Dec.  17,  1852,  resides  in  Califor- 
nia. JAMES  M.,  born  August  6,  1836, 
lives  with  his  father.  Mrs.  Milla  Bell  died 
March  16,  1870,  and  James  H.  Bell  resides 
in  Springfield. 

MART  y.,  born  June  6,  1828,  in 
Nicholas  county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  August  31,  1847,  to  John  S. 
Dickerson,  who  was  born  April  2,  1824, 
in  Nicholas  county,  Ky.,  and  came  to  San- 
gamon county  in  1851.  They  have  six 
children.  JAMES  H.,  born  June  24, 
1848,  in  Daviess  county,  Ind.,  raised  in 
Sangamon  county,  graduated  at  the  Eclec- 
tic Medical  College  of  Philadelphia,  and 
is  a  practicing  physician  near  Taylorville. 
Dr.  Dickerson  was  married  in  1875  to 
Miss  Humphreys.  See  Humphreys'  fatu- 
ity sketch.  ISAAC  S.,  born  August  28, 
1850,  in  Daviess  county,  Ind.,  married 
March  11,1873,111  Sangamon  county,  to 
Mary  E.  Bomhoff,  who  was  born  Sept. 
20,  1848,  in  Sangamon  county.  They 


SANGAMON  COUNTY. 


109 


have  one  child,  SINAI,  and  reside  one  mile 
west  of  Clarksville.  ROBERT  P.,  born 
Dec.  4,  1852,  SARAH  E.,  born  Nov.  14, 
1854,  MARY  S.,  born  Nov.  2,  1856,  and 
ALMARINDA,  born  Jan.  29,  1859,  the 
four  latter  in  Sangamon  county,  reside 
with  their  parents,  one  and  a  quarter  miles 
west  of  Clarksville. 

PHCEBE  E.,  born  Nov.  i,  1830,  in  San- 
gamon county,  married  March,  1849,  to 
John  Johnson.  See  his  name. 

ALMARINDA,  born  Sept.  25,  1832, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  March  28, 
1 850,  to  James  S.  Galloway,  who  was  born 
May  7,  1819,  in  Bath  county,  Ky.  They 
had  four  children,  two  of  whom  died 
young.  WILLIAM  N.  resides  near 
Taylorville,  and  LIZZIE  A.  resides  in 
Cotton  Hill  township.  J.  S.  Galloway 
died  Sept.  14,  1861,  and  his  widow  mar- 
ried, Nov.  7,  1865,  to  Benj.  L.  Auxier, 
and  resides  four  miles  south  of  Rochester. 

SQUIRE  J.,  born  August  10,  1834, 
died  July  17,  1847. 

PRESTON  B.,  born  Feb.  26,  1837, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married,  August  9, 
1863,  to  Mary  Bond,  and  resides  in  Roch- 
ester township. 

AUSTIN,  born  Feb.  13,  1839,  was 
killed  by  the  kick  of  a  horse,  March  10, 
1850.  , 

MEL  VIN,  born  Feb.  9,  1843,  in  San- 
gamon county,  married,  Oct.  12,  1865,  to 
Rachel  Martin,  have  two  children,  WIL- 
LIAM J.  and  ALICE,  and  reside  at  the 
Bell  family  homestead.  He  is  a  cripple 
for  life,  caused  by  a  runaway  team. 

Robert  Bell  died  June  25,  1872,  near 
IHiopolis,  from  injuries  caused  by  a  runa- 
way team  four  days  previous.  Mrs.  Sus- 
annah Bell  was  made  a  cripple  for  life  by 
the  same  accident.  They  Jiad  lived  more 
than  54  years  as  man  and  wife.  She  re- 
sides on  the  farm  where  they  settled  in 
1830,  four  miles  south  of  Rochester. 

BELL,  BAILEY,  was  born  Nov. 
2,  1776,  in  Fauquier  county,  Va.,  and  was 
there  married  to  Nancy  Foxworthy,  who 
was  born  April  3,  1785.  They  had  three 
children,  and  moved  to  Clarke  county, 
Ky.,  in  1818,  where  two  children  were 
born,  and  thence  to  Sangamon  county,  111., 
arriving  in  Nov.,  1834,  at  Buffalo  Hart 
Grove.  Of  their  five  children — 

BAILEY  F.,  born  Dec.  30,  1807,  in 
Fauquier  county,  Va.,  was  married  in 
Clarke  county,  Ky.,  Nov.  27,  1827,  to 


Mahala  Burns.  They  had  one  child  in 
Kentucky,  and  the  family  moved  to  San- 
gamon county,  111.,  arriving  in  the  fall  of 
1831,  in  Buffalo  Hart  Grove,  where  they 
had  six  children,  and  reside  near  Knox- 
ville,  Marion  county,  Iowa. 

ARIE,\)om  Oct.  n,  i8n,in  Fauquier 
county,  Va.,  was  married  in  Clarke  coun- 
ty, Ky.,  Sept.,  1834,  to  Thomas  McGowan. 
They  had  five  children,  and  reside  near 
Buffalo  Hart  station. 

JAMES,  born  Sept.  13,  1814,  in  Vir- 
ginia, was  married  in  Logan  county,  111., 
to  Nancy  Brown.  They  have  seven 
children,  and  reside  in  Rosemont,  Jasper 
county,  Iowa. 

BENJAMIN,  born  May  1 6,  1818,  in 
Clarke  county,  Ky.,  was  married  in  San- 
gamon county,  Sept.  26,  1840,  to  Amanda 
Starr.  They  had  six  children.  MARY 
E.,  born  April  9,  1843,  married  Hugh 
McGorey,  and  died  Oct.  14,  1865.  EMI- 
LY, born  Dec.  7,  1845,  died  Sept.  n, 
1862.  THOMAS  J.,  born  Sept.  28,  1848, 
died  in  his  third  year.  WILLIAM,  born 
Nov.  29,  1851,  BENJAMIN,  Jun.,  born 
March  29,  1856,  and  FLORENCE,  born 
August  20,  1860,  reside  with  their  parents, 
in  Logan  county,  three  miles  east  of  Buf- 
falo Hart  station. 

THOMAS  J.,  born  June  1 8,  1821,  in 
Clarke  county,  Ky.,  was  married  in  Illi- 
nois to  Ann  Allen.  They  have  six  child- 
ren, CHARLES,  ALBERT,  CLARA, 
EMMA,  ARTHUR,  died  in  his  tenth 
year,  and  LESLIE.  Thomas  J.  Bell  and 
family  reside  at  Cornland,  111. 

Mrs.  Nancy  Bell  died  August  6,  1843, 
in  Logan  county,  and  Bailey  Bell  died 
Feb.  6,  1846,  in  Sangamon  county,  at 
Buffalo  Hart  Grove. 

BENHAM,  JOHN  T.,  born 
August  21,  1789,  in  Cheshire,  New  Haven 
county,  Conn.  In  1805  or  1806  his  par- 
ents moved  to  Ferrisburg,  Addison  coun- 
ty, Vt.  He  was  a  soldier  in  the  war  of 
1812,  and  was  in  the  battle  at  Vergennes, 
early  in  1814.  John  T.  Benham  was  mar- 
ried Jan.,  1818,  at  Ferrisburg,  to  Catharine 
Porter.  They  had  six  children ;  two  died 
in  Vermont.  Mr.  Benham  moved  with 
his  family  to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  in 
wagons,  arriving  in  the  fall  of  1830.  He 
entered  land,  and  settled  two  and  a  half 
miles  northeast  of  Rochester,  where  seven 
children  were  born.  All  except  five  died 
unmarried.  Of  those  five — 


no 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


POLLT  A.,  born  Jan.  15,  1819,  in 
Vermont,  married  Jonathan  S.  Rogers, 
and  she  died  in  Sangamon  county. 

JOHN  W.,  born  Oct.  10,  1824,  in 
Vermont,  married  Mrs.  Melissa  E.  Porter, 
and  resides  in  Pontiac,  111. 

CATHARINE,  born  July  23,  1826, 
in  Vermont,  married  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, Oct.  3,  1843,  to  John  Robinson.  They 
had  four  children ;  three  died  young. 
JOHN,  Jun.,  accidentally  shot  and  killed 
himself.  John  Robinson  went  to  Cali- 
fornia in  1849,  and  was  never  heard  of 
after  1851.  His  widow  married  Amos  C. 
Derry.  They  have  two  children,  and  re- 
side in  Illiopolis. 

HENRY  W.,  born  Oct.  30,  1830,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  A-lmena  Staf- 
ford. She  died,  and  he  married  Mrs. 
Frances  Austin,  whose  maiden  name  was 
Wood,  and  resides  in  Charlotte,  111. 

NOAH  P.,  born  April  14,  1836,  in 
Sangamon  county,  was  married  March  9, 
1861,  to  Elizabeth  Stevens,  who  was  born 
Feb.  4,  1847,  near  Sandusky,  Ohio.  They 
have  four  children,  MARY  C.,  ERMIN- 
NIE  W.,  GERTRUDE  J.  and  JOHN 
O.,  and  reside  two  and  a  half  miles  east  of 
Rochester. 

Mrs.  Catharine  Benham  died  June,  1852, 
in  Sangamon  county,  and  Mr.  Benham 
was  married  Sept.  7,  18^2,  to  Mrs.  Mary 
Rakestraw,  formerly  Mrs.  Seavers,  and 
whose  maiden  name  was  Wallin.  She 
was  born  July  n,  1816,  in  Columbiana 
county,  Ohio,  and  came  to  Illinois  in  1837. 
Mr.  Benham  was  in  the  Black  Hawk  war. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  B.  reside  two  and  a  half 
miles  northeast  of  Rochester. 

BENNETT,  WILLIAM  A,, 
was  born  Nov.  5,  1803,  near  Shepherds- 
town,  Va.  His  father,  Van  Bennett,  died 
in  Virginia,  and  his  two  sons,  William  A. 
and  Thomas  L.,  with  their  three  sisters, 
Luranah  M.,  Ann  Elizabeth  and  Mary, 
with  their  widowed  mother,  Mrs.  Phoebe 
Bennett,  all  left  Virginia,  Oct.  2,  1833,  for 
Illinois,  arriving  at  Paris  on  the  second  of 
November.  The  two  brothers  came  on 
to  Springfield,  bought  land  three  miles 
east  of  the  city,  and  returned  to  Paris  just 
in  time  to  be  present  at  their  mother's 
death,  Dec.  12,  1833.  The  two  brothers 
and  three  sisters  moved  to  their  farms  in 
Sangamon  county  in  March,  1834.  The 
youngest  sister,  Mary,  who  was  born 
Nov.  12,  1815,  in  Virginia,  died  April  17, 


1834,  near  Springfield.  William  A.  Ben- 
nett was  married  August  19,  1843,  in 
Morgan  county,  to  Sarah  A.  Stevenson. 
She  was  born  Oct.  2,  1819,  in  Scott  coun- 
ty, Ky.,  and  was  taken  bv  her  parents  in 
1829,  to  that  part  of  Morgan  county  which 
is  now  Cass  county.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ben- 
nett had  three  children,  namely — 

MARY  E.,  born  March  i,  1844,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  May  26,  1869, 
to  Charles  F.  Mills,  who  was  born  May 
29,  1843,  at  Montrose,  Pa.  They  have 
two  children,  MINNIE  and  WILLIAM 
HENRY,  and  reside  with  Mrs.  Mills' 
parents,  three  miles  east  of  Springfield. 
Charles  F.  Mills  was  attending  Shurtleff 
College,  at  Alton,  111.,  when  the  rebellion 
commenced.  He  enlisted  August,  1862, 
for  three  years,  in  Co.  C.,  H4th  111.  Inf. 
He  was  soon  after  appointed  by  President 
Lincoln,  hospital  steward  at  Camp  Butler, 
and  remained  there  nearly  three  years, 
when,  at  his  own  request,  in  the  fall  of 
1864,  he  was  ordered  to  Nashville,  Tenn. 
Being  in  the  regular  service,  his  term  did 
not  expire  with  the  suppression  of  the  re- 
bellion, but  he  continued  until  the  fall  of 
1866,  when  he  resigned,  and  was  mustered 
out  at  Nashville,  Tenn. 

WILLIAM  A.,  Jun.,  and 

CHARLES  S.  died  in  infancy, 

William  A.  Bennett  and  his  wife  reside 
on  the  farm  where  he  settled  in  1834, 
three  miles  east  of  Springfield. 

BENNETT,  LURANAH 
M.,  born  March  7,  1807,  in  Jefferson 
county,  Va.,  came  with  her  brothers  and 
sisters  to  Sangamon  county,  in  1834,  re- 
mained several  years,  and  returned  on  a 
visit,  in  1842,  to  her  native  place,  where 
she  was  married  to  Rev.  Thomas  P.  W. 
Magruder,  "of  fche  Presbyterian  church, 
who  moved  with  his  family  to  Illinois  in 
the  spring  of  1844.  They  have  three 
children — 

ALFRED  W.,  resides  at  Central  City, 
Colorado  Territory. 

CHARLES  V.  resides  with  his  par- 
ents. 

LIZZIE  C.  married  Samuel  S.  Smith. 
They  have  two  children,  a  son  and  a 
daughter,  and  reside  near  Rushville,  111. 

Rev.  Thomas  P.  W.  Magruder  and 
wife  reside  near  Rushville,  Schuyler  coun- 
ty, Illinois. 

"BENNETT,  THOMAS   L., 

was  born  July  6,  1809,  in  Jefferson  county, 


SANGAMON  COUNTT. 


i  ii 


Va. — For  family  history,  see  the  sketch  of 
his  brother,  William  A. — Thomas  L.  Ben- 
nett arrived  in  Sangamon  county  first  in 
the  fall  of  1833.  He  was  married  Nov.  6, 
1842,  at  Jubilee  College,  Robins'  Nest, 
Peoria  county,  111.,  to  Jeanetta  S.  Ingra- 
ham,  a  native  of  New  York  City.  They 
had  four  children  in  Sangamon  county — 

AGNES,  the  youngest,  died  at  ten 
years  of  age. 

HENRT,  V.  S.,  visited  Greenwood 
county,  Kansas,  in  the  autumn  of  1868, 
where  his  father  and  family  joined  him  in 
the  spring  of  1869. 

SUSAN  C.  and 

SOPHIA  went  with  their  parents. 
The  latter  was  married  Oct.  12,  1871, 
in  Kansas,  to  Alexander  F.  Crowe. 
They  have  one  child,  THOMAS  B.,  and 
reside  in  Kansas,  also. 

Thomas  L.  Bennett  and  family  reside 
near  Line  Postoffice,  Lyon  county,  Kan- 
sas. 

BENNETT,  ANN  F.,  born 
Dec.  10,  1813,  in  Jefferson  county,  Va., 
came  to  Sangamon  county  with  her  bro- 
thers and  sisters,  in  1834,  was  married  in 
the  Episcopal  church,  at  Jacksonville,  111., 
to  Samuel  H.  Treat,  now  Judge  of  the 
United  States  District  Court,  and  resides 
in  Springfield. 

BENNETT.,  REV.  WM.  T., 
was  born  Nov.  30,  1805,  in  or  near  Shep- 
herdstown,  Jefferson  county,  Va.  He 
united  with  the  M.  E.  church  in  Shepherds- 
town,  in  1828,  was  soon  after  licensed  to 
exhort,  came  to  Springfield,  111.,  in  com- 
pany with  his  brother,  Van  S.  Bennett,  in 
Dec.,  1834.  He  was  married  June  6, 
1836,  in  Ottawa,  111.,  to  Rebecca  J.  Rob- 
erts, who  was  born  Oct.  5,  1811,  in  Vir- 
ginia. When  she  was  an  infant  her  father 
liberated  his  slaves  and  moved  to  Wash- 
ington county,  Pa.  She  came  with  the 
family  of  her  uncle,  Dr.  James  Roberts, 
to  Jacksonville,  111.,  in  1833,  and  from 
there  to  Ottawa  in  1834.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Bennett  made  their  home  in  Springfield. 
He  was  licensed  as  a  local  preacher,  and 
in  1849  was  appointed  to  take  charge  of 
the  M.  E.  church  in  Springfield,  to  fill  a 
vacancy.  In  1850  he  entered  the  travel- 
ing connection.  They  had  seven  children, 
all  born  in  Sangamon  county,  namely — 

ED  WARD  If'.,  born  August  5,  1837, 
in  Springfield,  enlisted  at  Danville,  in 
April,  1 86 1,  on  the  first  call  for  75,000 


men,  in  Co.  E.,  I2th  111.  Inf.,  and  served 
nearly  six  months.  He  enlisted  June  24, 
1862,  at  Mechanicsburg,  for  three  years,  in 
Co.  A.,  73d  111.  Inf.;  was  commissioned  as 
ist  Lieutenant.  After  the  battle  of  Stone's 
river  he  was  transferred,  Jan.  8,  1863,  and 
promoted  to  Capt.  of  Co.  F,  same  regi- 
ment. He  served  as  such  to  the  end  of 
the  rebellion,  and  was  mustered  out  with 
the  regiment  at  Springfield,  June  15,  1865. 
He  was  married  at  Mechanicsburg,  Dec. 
23,  1869,  to  Harriet  N.  Fullinwider.  They 
have  two  children,  ANNA  N.  and 
JACOB  H.,  and  reside  near  Mechanics- 
burg. 

EMMA  R.,  born  Dec.  18,  1838,  in 
Springfield,  married  August  14,  1861,  to 
Stephen  A.  Short,  who  was  born  Oct.  7, 
1836,  in  Pickaway  county,  Ohio.  He  en- 
listed a  few  days  before  his  marriage,  for 
three  years,  in  Co.  A,  73d  111.  Inf.;  was 
appointed  Sergeant,  and  was  wounded 
July  20,  1864,  at  the  battle  of  Peach  Tree 
Creek,  Ga.,  which  terminated  in  the  am- 
putation of  his  right  leg,  above  the  knee. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Short  have  two  children, 
LULU  and  EDITH  L.,  and  reside  in 
Mechanicsburg. 

ANN  T.,  born  Dec.  1 6,  -1841,  died  in 
her  second  year. 

ANNA  L.,  born  Nov.  13,  1842,  in 
Springfield,  died  suddenly,  Oct.  28,  1866, 
in  Mechanicsburg. 

JOHN  A.,  born  Dec.  28,  1844,  in 
Springfield,  enlisted  Dec.,  1863,  in  Co.  F, 
73d  111.  Inf.,  for  three  years.  He  was 
killed  June  24,  1864,  at  Kennesaw  moun- 
tain, Ga.,  by  a  stray  shot,  while  sitting  in 
his  tent  writing  a  letter.  His  remains 
were  brought  home  in  1866,  and  interred 
at  Mechanicsburg. 

JULIA  A.  died  Feb.  5,  1849,  in  her 
second  year. 

REBIE  H.,  born  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, June  30,  1850,  resides  with  her  parents. 

Rev.  Wm.  T.  Bennett  continued  in  the 
effective  work  of  the  ministry  until  1867, 
when  he  assumed  the  superannuated  re- 
lation to  111.  Conf.,  and  in  1871  was  super- 
annuated, and  now  resides  in  Mechanics- 
burg. 

Edward  Bennett,  the  father  of  Rev. 
Wm.  T.  Bennett,  liberated  his  slaves  and 
sold  his  land,  with  the  intention  of  mov- 
ing west,  but  died  in  Virginia  in  1833. 
Edward  was  brother  to  Van  S.,  who  was 
the  father  of  Win.  A.  Bennett.  See  his 


112 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


name.  It  will  thus  be  seen  that  Rev. 
Wm.  T.  Bennett  and  Mr.  Win.  A.  Ben- 
nett are  cousins. 

BENNETT,  VAN  S.,  was  born 
Dec.  9,  1802,  near  Shepherdstown,  Va., 
came  to  Springfield  in  1834,  with  his  bro- 
ther, Rev.  Wm.  T.  He  never  married, 
and  died  in  Sangamon  county,  Aug.,  1873. 

BENNETT,  MARGARET 
E.,  sister  to  Rev.  Wm.  T.  Bennett,  was 
born  Dec.  24,  1800,  near  Sheperdstown, 
Va.,  came  to  Springfield,  111.,  in  1836,  re- 
mained five  years,  returned  to  Virginia, 
and  came  back  to  Sangamon  county  in 
1841.  She  never  married,  and  resides 
with  her  sister,  Mrs.  Kalb. 

BENNETT,  ELIZA,  (sister  of 
Rev.  Wm.  T.  Bennett,)  was  born  Dec.  27, 
1810,  near  Hagerstown,  Md.  Her  par- 
ents moved,  when  she  was  five  years  old, 
to  Shepherdstown,  Va.,  where  they  had 
previously  resided.  She  was  there  mar- 
ried, May  20,  1832,  to  George  W.  Shutt. 
They  had  one  child  born  in  Shepherds- 
town,  and  Mr.  Shutt  died  there  in  1835. 
Mrs.  Shutt,  with  her  child,  moved  to 
Springfield,  111.,  arriving  in  May,  1836. 
After  a  residence  of  five  years  in  Spring- 
field, she  returned  to  Shepherdstown,  Va., 
and  was  there  married,  Jan.  17,  1841,  to 
Daniel  G.  Kalb,  who  was  born  Dec.  4, 
1815,  in  Frederick  City,  Md.  They  had 
two  children  in  Shepherdstown,  and 
moved  to  Washington  count}-,  Md.,  where 
they  had  one  child;  thence  to  Loudon 
county,  Va.,  where  they  had  one  child, 
and  from  there  to  Springfield,  111.,  arriv- 
ing in  October,  1849,  where  one  child  was 
born,  and  in  1856  moved  to  Round  Prairie, 
four  miles  east  by  south  of  Springfield. 
Of  her  children  by  her  first  marriage — 

GEORGETTA,  born  July  18,  1835, 
in  Shepherdstown,  Va.,  was  married  Jan. 
i,  1853,  in  Springfield,  111.,  to  Philip  L. 
Shutt,  who  was  born  Nov.  18,  1829,  in 
Loudon  county,  Va.  They  had  eleven 
children,  five  of  whom  died  young.  The 
other  six,  FRANKLIN,  MAGGIE, 
CHARLES,  PAUL,  HARRY  and 
LAURA,  reside  with  their  parents  in 
Paris,  Edgar  county,  111. 

Children  of  her  second  marriage— 

MARTABNER,\>oi-n  Dec.  12,1841, 
in  Shepherdstown,  Va.,  resides  with  her 
parents. 

ETHELBERT,  born  Sept.  18,  1843, 
in  Shepherdstown,  Va.,  brought  up  in 


Sangamon  county,  and  enlisted  at  Spring- 
field, August  20,  1 86 1,  for  three  years,  in 
Co.  B.,  33d  111.  Inf.  He  served  more  than 
his  full  time,  and  was  honorably  dis- 
charged, Oct.  u,  1864.  He  is  now  in 
business  in  St.  Louis. 

WILLJAM  E.  B.,  born  August  2, 
1846,  in  Washington  county,  Md.,  brought 
up  in  Sangamon  county,  111.,  enlisted  at 
Springfield,  March  26,  1864,  for  three 
years,  in  Co.  G.,  H4th  111.  Vol.  Inf.,  and 
was  killed  in  battle  of  Guntown,  Miss., 
June  10,  1864. 

GEO.  BROOK,  born  Dec.  4,  1848,  in 
Loudon  county,  Va.,  is  a  dealer  in  musical 
instruments  in  Springfield. 

JULIA  M.,  born  Nov.  16,  1854,  in 
Springfield,  died  June  10,  1859. 

Daniel  G.  Kalb  and  wife  reside  at  Wil- 
low Dale,  one  mile  northeast  of  Sanga- 
mon Station.  Mr.  Kalb  was  a  local 
preacher  in  the  M.  E.  church  from  Feb. 
6,  1847,  until  1864.  His  license  was  signed 
at  eight  annual  renewals  by  Rev.  Peter 
Cartwright,  but  when  it  expired  in  1864, 
he  declined  to  have  it  renewed.  He  was 
engaged  in  teaching  from  1837  to  1854. 
Mr.  Kalb  enlisted  August  n,  1862,  in  Co. 
G.,  ii4th  111.  Vol.  Inf.,  for  three  years. 
Finding  it  quite  oppressive  to  march  with 
his  knapsack  and  haversack,  he  obtained 
a  wheelbarrow,  and  not  meeting  with  op- 
position from  officers,  ran  it  hundreds  of 
miles,  and  often  carried  the  baggage  of 
sick  and  disabled  comrades.  He  has  the 
wheelbarrow  yet,  and  it  will  doubtless  be 
handed  down  as  a  memorial  of  the  war  to 
suppress  the  rebellion,  and  the  part  he 
acted  in  it. 

BENNETT,  JOHN  A.,  (bro- 
ther to  Rev.  Wm.  T.  Bennett,)  was  born 
near  Shepherdstown,  Va.,  came  to  Spring- 
field in  1835,  with  George  R.  Weber,  and 
died  Dec.  23,  1841. 

BENNINGTON,  JAS.  M., 
was  born  May  20,  1826,  in  Owen  county, 
Ind.  His  father  died  in  1838,  and  in  his 
1 3th  year,  he  came  to  Sangamon  county 
with  his  half  brother,  John  Hartsock. 
They  arrived  Feb.  22,  1839,  in  what  is 
now  Ball  township.  James  M.  Benning- 
ton  was  married  Sept.  30,  1869,  to  Mrs. 
Nancy  Nuckolls,  whose  maiden  name  was 
Drennan.  They  have  one  son,  JOHN, 
and  reside  four  miles  west  of  Pawnee. 

John  Hartsock,  half  brother  to  Mr. 
Bennington,  married  Susan  demons,  who 


SANGAMON    COUNT?. 


died,  and  he  married  Mrs.  Mary  A.  Pul- 
liam,  whose  maiden  name  was  Levi.  They 
reside  in  Christian  county. 

Two  brothers  of  Mr.  Bennington,  Sam- 
uel and  Harrison,  came  to  Sangamon  coun- 
ty with  their  mother  in  1841,  and  were 
consequently  too  late  to  be  included  as 
early  settlers. 

B  E  E  RS,  PHI  LO,  was  born  July 
1 6,  1793,  in  Woodbury,  Conn.  When  he 
was  about  fifteen  years  old  he  was  put 
to  live  with  an  elder  brother,  probably 
on  account  of  the  death  of  his  parents. 
They  could  not  agree,  and  he  ran 
away,  and  was  gone  twelve  or  thirteen 
years,  without  his  relatives  hearing  from 
him.  During  his  ramblings  he  become 
acquainted  with  Doctor  Joseph  Bennett 
Stillman,  who  introduced  him  to  his 
mother  and  sisters,  at  Morganfield,  Ky. 
Mr.  Beers  always  said  that  he  made 
up  his  mind,  on  their  first  acquaintance,  to 
have  Miss  Martha  Stillman  for  a  wife. 
The  Stillman  family  moved  to  Sangamon 
county,  111.,  and  Mr.  Beers  went  to  Car- 
lyle,  Clinton  county,  same  State.  He  was 
first  elected  a  justice  of  the  peace,  and 
after  serving  for  a  time,  was  elected  to 
represent  Clinton  county  in  the  Legisla- 
ture of  Illinois,  when  it  assembled  in  Van- 
dalia.  While  residing  at  Carlyle  he  was 
married  in  what  is  now  Williams  town- 
ship, Sangamon  county,  on  the  farm  of 
John  Poorman.  In  response  to  a  letter  of 
inquiry,  the  author  of  this  book  received 
from  the  clerk  of  Madison  county,  111.,  a 
reply,  dated  April  29,  1874,  in  which  it  is 
stated  that  a  license  was  issued  at  Ed- 
wardsville,  Oct.  27,  1820,  for  the  marriage 
of  Philo  Beers  and  Martha  Stillman;  that 
it  was  returned,  endorsed  by  Elder 
Stephen  England,  with  the  statement  that 
he  had  solemnized  the  marriage  Nov.  2, 
1820.  The  clerk  also  stated  that  it  was 
the  279th  license  issued  from  that  office. 
They  are  believed  to  have  been  the  first 
couple  ever  married  north  of  the  .Sanga- 
mon river  in  the  State  of  Illinois;  certainly 
the  first  in  what  is  now  Sangamon  county. 
The  first  marriage  under  a  license  from 
Sangamon  county  was  between  Wm. 
Moss  and  Margaret  Sims,  April  20,  1821. 
Mr.  Beers  took  his  bride  to  Carlyle,  where 
they  had  two  children.  They  moved  to 
Sangamon  county,  and  settled  three  miles 
southwest  of  Williamsville,  where  one 
child  was  born.  Of  their  three  children — 


JOSEPH  B.,  born  and  died  at  Car- 
lyle in  infancy. 

HENRY  CLAT,  born  in  1824,  at 
Carlyle.  Philo  Beers  was  the  only  man 
living  in  Carlyle  who  voted  for  Henry 
Clay  for  President  of  the  United  States 
that  year,  and  the  citizens  insisted  that  the 
babe  should  be  named  for  his  father's  can- 
didate. Henry  Clay  Beers  was  married 
in  1848,  in  Sangamon  county,  to  Adelaide 
C.  McNabb.  They  had  one  child,  WM. 
PHILO,  who  died,  aged  two  years.  H.  C. 
Beers  died  in  1851,  in  Springfield.  His 
widow  married  Adolphus  Rogers,  and 
resides  near  Cincinnati.  He  is  a  merchant 
there. 

CAROLINE  M.,  born  Feb.  20,  1827, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  in  Spring- 
field, May  13,  1847,  to  Elder  Andrew  J. 
Kane.  See  his  name. 

Mrs.  Martha  Beers  died  in  1845,  an(^ 
Philo  Beers  died  March,  1858,  both  in 
Springfield.  Mr.  Beers  moved  into  Spring- 
field and  built  a  brick  dwelling  house  at 
the  northwest  corner  of  Madison  and 
Fifth  streets,  about  1830.  It  was  among 
the  first,  if  not  the  first,  brick  dwelling 
erected  in  Springfield. 

BEERUP,  ANDREW,  born 
Dec.  12,  1812,  in  Canandagua  county,  N. 
Y.,  and  raised  in  Canada,  came  to  Spring- 
field, 111.,  in  1837  or  '8.  He  was  married 
July  2,  1840,  in  Sangamon  county,  to  Mary 
A.  Maltby,  who  was  born  Nov.  27,  1819. 
They  had  nine  children  in  Sangamon 
county,  five  of  whom  died  young.  Of 
the  other  four — 

CHARLES  A.,  born  April  27,  1841, 
married  Jan.  14,  1864,  to  Mary  Babcock, 
who  was  born  Jan.  22,  1844,  in  Musking- 
um  county,  Ohio.  They  have  three 
children,  John  R.,  ALICE  J.  and  LEE 
C.,  and  reside  six  miles  west  of  Spring- 
field. 

THOMAS  A.,  born  June  27,  1843, 

GEORGE  E., born  Oct.  10,  1854, and 

WILLIA  I/  //.,  born  June  10,  1858, 
all  reside  with  their  brother,  Charles  A. 

Andrew  Beerup  died  Nov.  26,  1872,  and 
his  widow  died  Sept.  27,  1873,  both  in 
Gardner  township. 

•  BEERUP,  THOMAS,  brother 
of  Margaret,  Andrew  and  William,  was 
born  Sept.  17,  1819,  in  Canandagua  coun- 
ty, N.  Y.  Came  to  Springfield  June  3, 
1840,  and  witnessed  a  grand  log  cabin 
demonstration  of  the  political  campaign  of 


114 


EARLT  SETTLERS  OF 


that  year  to  elect  a  President  of  the  United 
States,  as  his  introduction  to  the  city. 
He  was  married  July  26,  1843,  to  Sinai  A. 
Neale.  They  had  seven  children  born  in 
Sangamon  county,  namely — 

THOMAS  N.,  born  Oct.  12,  1844,  in 
Sangamon  county,  enlisted  Aug.  9,  1862, 
in  Co.  B,  114  111.  Inf.,  at  Springfield.  He 
was  wounded  at  the  battle  of  Jackson, 
Miss.,  May  14,  1863.  A  rebel  musket 
ball  broke  his  arm  (being  the  first  man  in 
the  regiment  to  receive  a  wound).  He 
was  captured  in  hospital  two  days  later, 
paroled  at  Richmond,  Va.,  a  month  later, 
and  was  honorably  discharged  at  St.  Louis, 
Nov.  17,  1863.  He  now  draws  a  pension, 
and  resides  with  his  parents. 

HALL  IE  E.,  born  April  15,  1846,  in 
New  Castle,  Henry  county,  Ky.,  married 
Nov.  30,  1865,  to  Edward  B.  Winslow. 
They  have  two  children,  BDWIN  M. 
and  PRESTON  A., 'and  reside  in  Girard, 
III. 

GEO.  N.,  born  June  20,  1848,  in  New 
Castle,  Henry  county,  Ky.,  died  Sept.  15, 
1850. 

PRESTON  J.,  born  Jan.  21,  1851,  in 
Springfield,  Sangamon  county,  111.,  died 
March  i,  1872. 

ED  WIN  M.,  born  in  Waverly,  Mor- 
gan county,  Sept.  13,  1855,  died  Jan.  8, 
1864. 

MERRIAN  E.,  born  Jan.  1 1,  1858,  in 
Waverly,  111.,  died  Oct.  8,  1869. 

NE  VILLE  B.,  born  Nov.  3,  1859,  in 
Waverly,  111.,  resides  with  his  parents. 

Thomas  Beerup  and  wife  reside  one- 
half  mile  south  of  Chatham. 

BEERUP,    WILLIAM    W., 

was  born  Sept.  6,  1822,  at  Sidney,  Cana- 
da, and  came  to  Sangamon  county  in  1843 
to  join  his  brothers,  Andrew  and  Thomas. 
He  married  Catharine  E.  Tolley,  See 
the  Tolley  name. 

BEERUP  MARGARET,  sis- 
ter of  Andrew,  Thomas  and  William  W., 
was  born  June  18, 1829,  at  Beamsville,  Can- 
ada, came  to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  June, 
1844,  and  was  married  at  Havana,  111., 
June  18,  1849,10  Levi  Harpham,  who  was 
born  Dec.,  1821,  at  Hartford,  Ohio  coun- 
ty, Indiana.  They  have  five  children, 
namely — 

GEO.  E.,  ALICE  J.,  CHARLES 
F.,  LEE  W.  and  SILAS  ELMER, 
and  reside  near  Havana,  111. 


BEERUP,  JANE,  sister  to  An- 
drew, Thomas  and  William  W.  Beerup, 
and  to  Mrs.  Margaret  Harpham.  She 
married  Marvin  Pond.  See  his  name. 

BERGEN,  REV.  JOHN  G., 
D.  D.,was  born  Nov.  27,  1 790,  at  Hights- 
town,  Middlesex  county,  N.  J.,  ten  miles 
east  of  Princeton,  N.  J.  Of  his  ancestors 
the  history  is  preserved  for  seven  genera- 
tions, which  will  be  found  designated  by 
numbers,  ist.  Hans  Hansen  Bergen  was 
born  in  Bergen,  Norway.  He  was  a  ship  car- 
penter, and  went  to  Holland;  from  there 
he  emigrated  to  New  Amsterdam,  now 
New  York  city,  arriving  in  1633.  In 
1639  he  was  married  to  Sarah  Rapalje 
(now  Rapalye).  She  was  born  June  9, 
1622,  about  where  Albany,  N.  Y.,  now 
stands,  and  is  believed  to  have  been  the 
first  child  of  European  parentage  born  in 
in  the  colony  of  New  Netherlands,  which 
then  included  the  present  States  of  New 
York,  New  Jersey  and  part  of  Connecti- 
cut. Hans  Hansen  Bergen  and  Sarah 
Rapalje,  his  wife,  had  four  sons  and  four 
daughters.  2nd.  Joris,  Jores,  or  George, 
their  fifth  child,  was  baptized  in  New 
Amsterdam,  July  18,  1649,  and  married 
Aug.  n,  1678,  to  Sara  Stryker.  They 
had  nine  children,  and  their  fourth  child. 
3rd.  Hans  Jorise  Bergen  was  baptized 
Aug.  31,  1684,  and  married  Aug.  16,  1711, 
to  Sytje  Evert  Van  Wicklen.  They  had 
five  children.  Their  eldest  son  (4th),  Jores, 
or  George  Bergen,  married  Miss  Hoag- 
land.  She  had  three  children,  and  died. 
He  married  a  second  time,  and  had  nine 
children.  His  eldest  son  (5th),  John  B. 
Bergen,  born  March  27,  1739,  married 
June  8,  1763,  to  Sarah  Stryker,  who  was 
born  August  25,  1745.  They  had  eight 
children.  Their  eldest  son  (6th),  George  I. 
Bergen,  born  June  16, 1 764,  married  in  1 789 
to  Rebecca  Combs.  They  had  ten  child- 
ren, all  born  in  New  Jersey.  Their  eldest 
son  was  (7th)  John  G.,  whose  name  heads 
this  sketch.  Both  his  parents  being  con- 
sistent Christians,  he,  under  their  training 
and  example,  became  a  member  of  the 
Presbyterian  church,  at  thirteen  years  of 
age.  He  attended  Baskingridge  Acade- 
my, and  when  properly  prepared  entered 
the  junior  class  at  Princeton  College,  and 
graduated  at  seventeen  years  of  age. 
Having  chosen  the  ministry,  he  com- 
menced a  theological  course  of  study  un- 
der Rev.  Dr.  John  Woodhull,  who  had 


SANG  AM  ON  COUNTY. 


been  appointed  by  the  Synod  of  New 
York  and  New  Jersey,  Professor  of  The- 
ology, in  the  absence  of  a  seminary  for 
that  purpose.  At  20  years  of  age  he  was 
licensed  to  preach  the  gospel.  It  was  his 
desire  to  mount  his  horse,  go  to  the  west 
and  commence  preaching,  but  he  was  in- 
duced to  accept  the  position  of  tutor  in 
Princeton  College  in  1810.  In  Sept., 
1812,  he  resigned  that  position,  and  in  Oct., 
1812,  accepted  a  call  as  pastor  of  the  Pres- 
byterian Church  at  Madison,  N.  J.  Rev. 
John  G.  Bergen  was  married  Nov.  10, 
1812,  at  Freehold,  N.  J.,  to  Margaretta 
M.  Henderson,  vyho  was  born  in  1793  in 
that  city.  Her  father,  Dr.  Thomas  Hen- 
derson, was  a  Judge,  member  of  Con- 
gress, and  a  ruling  Elder  in  the  old  Ten- 
nent  church  at  Freehold.  The  pastor  of 
that  church,  Rev.  William  Tennent,  to  all 
human  appearance  died,  and  after  laying 
three  days  in  what  proved  to  be  a  trance, 
he  opened  his  eyes  just  as  they  were  clos- 
ing the  coffin  for  the  last  time. 

Rev.  J.  G.  Bergen  was  pastor  of  the 
church  at  Madison  for  about  16  years, 
during  which  time  his  labors  were  greatly 
blessed.  They  had  five  children  born  at 
Madison.  George  I.  Bergen,  the  father 
of  Rev.  J,  G.  Bergen,  was  a  merchant, 
and  sustained  such  losses  during  the  war 
with  England,  beginning  in  1812,  that  he 
closed  hig  business,  and  in  the  summer  of 
1818  emigrated  to  Woodford  county,  Ky. 
In  1824  Mr.  G.  I.  Bergen,  in  company 
with  a  married  son  and  daughter  and  their 
father-in-law,  Major  Conover,  six  persons 
in  all,  set  out  to  explore  Indiana,  and 
camped  near  where  Indianapolis  now 
stands.  They  made  up  their  minds  to 
remain  there,  and  one  night  while  they 
were  around  their  camp-fire,  they  were 
startled  with  the  cry  of  "Who's  here!" 
coming  out  of  the  darkness.  The  words 
were  run  together,  and  seemed  like  a  sin- 
gle word,  "  Hoosier, "  and  this  circum- 
stance is  believed  to  have  been  the  origin 
of  that  appellation  for  citizens  of  that 
State.  The  traveler  who  had  thus  uncer- 
emoniously approached  them  remained  all 
night,  and  before  he  left  next  morning 
had  convinced  them  that  it  was  better  to 
go  and  see  the  .prairies  of  Illinois.  The 
result  was  that  they  settled  in  Jersey 
prairie,  twelve  miles  north  of  Jacksonville, 
in  Morgan,  now  Cass,  county,  111.  George 
I.  Bergen  died  in  1625,  and  his  widow 


married  Rev.  Mr.  Kenner,  in  1827,  and 
they  visited  Mrs.  Kenner's  old  home  in 
New  Jersey.  While  there  her  son,  Rev. 
J.  G.  Bergen,  resigned  his  pastorate  of  the 
church  at  Madison,  Sept.  10,  1828,  for  the 
purpose  of  accompanying  his  mother  to 
Illinois.  The  party  started  Sept.  22, 1828, 
going  b)1  the  way  of  Lexington  and 
Frankfort,  Ky.,  to  visit  friends.  After  a 
journey  of  nearly  1,500  miles,  they  arrived 
at  Springfield,  Nov.,  1828,  bringing  their 
five  children,  namely — 

JANE  ELIZA,  born  1813,  in  Madi- 
son, N.  J.,  came  with  her  parents  to 
Springfield.  Soon  after  their  arrival,  her 
father  built  a  house  on  his  own  lot  at  the 
south  side  of  Washington  street,  between 
Fourth  and  Fifth  streets,  and  in  that  she 
taught  school  in  1829.  That  was  believed 
to  have  been  the  first  school  taught  by  a 
lady  in  Springfield.  She  was  married  in 
April,  1833  to  Col.  Robert  Allen.  See  his 
name. 

CATHARINE  H.,  born  Sept.  21, 
1816,  in  New  Jersey,  married  in  Spring- 
field to  Edward  Jones.  See  his  name. 

AMELIA  M.,  born  July,  1818,  in 
New  Jersey,  married  in  Springfield,  May, 
1840,  to  Joshua  G.  Lamb,  a  cousin  of 
James  L.  Lamb.  They  are  without  fam- 
ily, and  reside  in  Alton. 

THOMAS  H.,  born  Dec.  15,  1820,  at 
Madison,  Morris  county,  N.  J.,  brought 
up  in  Springfield,  married  March  29,  1849, 
at  Trenton,  N.  J.,  to  Mary  G.  Cooley. 
She  was  born  in  that  city,  July  20,  1823. 
Soon  after  they  were  married  they  left  for 
Springfield,  and  while  on  board  a  small 
steamboat  on  the  Ohio  river,  near  Wheel- 
ing, West  Va.,  it  blew  up,  killing  17  per- 
sons. They  escaped  with  their  lives,  but 
lost  their  entire  baggage.  They  are  with- 
out family,  and  reside  one  mile  east  of 
Springfield. 

GEORGE,  born  April  5,  1824,  at 
Madison,  Morris  county,  X.  J.,  brought 
up  in  Springfield,  111.,  is  unmarried,  and 
resides  one  mile  east  of  Springfield. 

Mrs.  Margaretta  M.  Bergen  died  Oct. 
1 8,  1853,  near  Springfield,  111.  Dr.  Ber- 
gen was  married  at  the  latter  place,  Nov. 
9,  1857,  to  Mrs.  Susan  A.  Vunhoff.  Rev. 
Dr.  J.  G.  Bergen  died  Jan.  17,  1872,  and 
his  widow  resides  in  Springfield. 

Dr.  Bergen,  describing  Springfield  as 
he  first  saw  it,  said  it  was  composed  of 
about  thirty-five  log  cabins,  two  or  three 


u6 


small  frame  houses,  without  a  place  of 
divine  worship  other  than  a  log  school 
house  just  built.  That  school  house  stood 
in  the  street  at  the  crossing  of  Adams  and 
Second  streets,  in  a  thicket  of  hazel  and 
brier  bushes,  and  a  few  tall  oaks.  It  was 
built  in  the  street  because  (he  says)  the 
town  authorities  and  owners  of  the  lots 
were  too  penurious  to  donate  the  land. 
Rev.  J.  G.  Bergen  found  a  Presbyterian 
Church  that  had  been  organized  Jan.  30, 
1828,  by  Rev.  John  M.  Ellis,  a  missionary 
from  the  southern  part  of  the  State.  It 
was  without  a  house  of  worship.  He 
took  charge  of  the  church,  and  on  the 
second  Sabbath  after  his  arrival  he  gave 
notice  to  the  little  church  and  the  people 
generally,  that  he  came  to  Springfield, 
not  to  make  an  experiment,  but  to  live, 
labor  and  die  on  the  field  with  his  armor 
on,  and  then  said:  "  Come,  let  us  rise  up 
and  build  a  house  for  God. "  A  brick 
house  was  accordingly  built  at  the  east 
side  of  Third  street,  between  Washington 
and  Adams.  He  says  that  was  the  first 
church  built  in  the  central  part  of  the 
State  for  any  Protestant  denomination. 
The  Methodists  of  Springfield  were  build- 
ing a  frame  house  of  worship  at  the  same 
time,  but  they  were  a  few  weeks  later  in 
finishing  it.  The  original  members  of  the 
First  Presbyterian  Church  were  Mrs. 
Elizabeth  Smith,  widow  of  Rev.  John 
Blair  Smith,  D.  D.,  mother  of  Mrs.  Dr. 
John  Todd.  The  Presbyterian  Church  of 
Springfield  was  organized  in  her  house. 
The  other  members  were  John  Moore, 
John  N.  Moore,  Andrew  Moore,  Mary 
Moore,  Elizabeth  Moore,  Margaret 
Moore,  Catharine  Moore,  Phoebe  Moore, 
James  White,  Elijah  Scott,  Jane  Scott, 
Samuel  Reed,  Jane  Reed,  William  Proc- 
tor, Sarah  Stillman,  Nancy  R.  Hum- 
phreys, Ann  lies  and  Olive  Slater,  nine- 
teen in  all ;  five  only  lived  in  Springfield. 
Some  lived  forty  miles  distant.  The 
Ruling  Elders  were  John  Moore,  John 
N.  Moore,  Samuel  Reed  and  Isaiah  Still- 
man. Rev.  J.  G.  Bergen  preached,  as 
stated  supply,  until  1835,  when  he  received 
a  formal  call  to  become  Pastor  of  the 
church,  and  was  installed  Nov.  15  of  that 
year.  That  was  the  only  Presbyterian 
Church  in  the  country  at  that  time.  Six 
churches  have  been  organized  by  colonies 
from  that  church  (two  of  them  in  the 
city).  During  the  ministry  of  Rev.  Mr. 


Bergen,  from  1828  to  1848,  when  he  re- 
signed the  pastorate,  five  hundred  were 
added  to  the  church.  When  he  came  to 
Springfield  he  was  the  eighth  Presbyte- 
rian minister  in  the  State,  and  the  farthest 
north  of  any  of  them.  There  were 
twenty-five  churches  under  the  care  of 
these  eight  ministers.  He  lived  to  see, 
including  both  branches  of  the  Presbyte- 
rian and  the  Congregational  churches,  600 
ministers  and  800  churches  in  the  State. 
He  assisted  in  forming  the  first  Presbytery 
and  first  Synod  in  the  State;  was  the  first 
Moderator  of  each.  When  the  Old  and 
New  school  churches  were  reunited  in 
1869,  he  was  the  first  Moderator  of  the 
United  Synod. 

In  1854,  without  any  previous  intima- 
tion of  their  intentions,  Center  College,  at 
Danville,  Ky.,  conferred  on  the  Rev..John 
G.  Bergen  the  Degree  of  D.  D. 

After  his  resignation  as  pastor  of  the 
First  Church,  he  devoted  much  of  his 
time  to  writing  for  the  religious  press, 
over  the  signature  of  "  Old  Man  of  the 
Prairies."  He  has  left  two  large  scrap 
books  full  of  these  writings. 

BERRY,  ROBERT  E.,  was 
born  Dec.  3,  1823,  in  Davidson  county, 
near  Nashville,  Tenn.  When  a  child  his 
parents  moved,  first  into  Madison,  and 
then  into  Gibson  county,-  in  the  same 
State.  From  there  they  moved  to  Wil- 
liamson county,  111.,  and  from  there  to 
Christian  county,  in  1844.  Robert  E.  left 
his  parents  in  Williamson  county,  and 
come  to  Sangamon  county,  in  what  is 
now  Cooper  township,  in  Dec.,  1840.  He 
was  married  Sept.  8,  1850,  to  Elizabeth 
Stokes,  who  was  born  Aug.  6,  1832. 
They  had  one  child — 

AMANDA  M.,  who  died  at  the  age  of 
seven  years.  Mrs.  Berry  died  Sept.  25, 
1853,  and  Mr.  Berry  was  married  Oct.  8, 
1856,  to  Sophia  Barger.  They  have  seven 
children,  namely — 

WILLIAM,  FRANCIS  M.  and 
BENJAMIN  F.,  twins— F.  M.  died  in 
his  sixth  year— LA  URA  E.,  EMMA  D., 
LIZZIE  and  CHARLES-,  the  six  liv- 
ing, reside  with  their  parents. 

Robert  E.  Berry  resides  at  Berry  post- 
office,  Clarksville,  Sangamon  county. 

BETTIS,  JAMESH.,  was  born 
Oct.  18,  1811,  in  Lincoln  county,  Ky. 
His  parents  moved  to  Hamilton  county, 
O.,  in  1818.  James  H.  came  to  Sangamon 


SANGAMON  COUNTT. 


county  in  1839.  He  was  married  July  28, 
1844,  in  what  is  now  Auburn  township,  to 
Elizabeth  Fletcher.  They  had  six  children 
in  Sangamon  county,  and  in  1855  moved 
to  Missouri.  In  1864  they  moved  back  to 
Sangamon  county.  Of  their  children — 

OLIVER  F.,  born  in  Sangamon 
county,  married  June  20,  1866,  to  Jane 
Patterson.  They  reside  in  Auburn  town- 
ship. 

REBECCA  J.,  born  in  Sangamon 
county,  married  Franklin  Nicholson,  and 
reside  near  Virden. 

JAMES  W.,  MARTHA  E.,  NAN- 
CY A.  and  JOHN  JR.,  the  four  latter 
reside  with  their  parents  in  Auburn  town- 
ship. 

The  parents  of  J.  H.  Bettis  moved 
from  Ohio  to  DeWitt  county,  111.,  before 
he  came  to  the  State.  After  his  father's 
death,  his  mother  came  to  Sangamon 
county,  in  1842,  and  died  in  1850.  She 
was  born  in  Garrard  county,  Ky.,  in  1780, 
and  is  believed  to  have  been  the  first 
white  child  born  in  that  county. 

BEVANS,  JpHN,  was  born  in 
Maryland,  and  married,  near  Snow  Hill, 
to  Mary  Rounds.  They  had  six  children, 
and  she  died.  He  married  Margaret 
Jones,  and  had  one  child  in  Maryland. 
The  family  moved  to  Woodford  county, 
Ky.,  and  from  there  to  Sangamon  county, 
111.,  arriving,  in  1828,  in  Island  Grove, 
south  of  Spring  creek.  Of  his  seven 
children — 

MARl^HA,  born  in  Maryland,  mar- 
ried in  Kentucky  to  Alexander  Mont- 
gomery, came  to  Sangamon  county  in 
1828.  They  had  six  children,  and  the 
parents  died  in  Berlin.  Their  only  child 
living  in  Sangamon  county,  MARTiN, 
resides  in  Springfield. 

WILLIAM,  born  in  Maryland,  mar- 
ried, had  two  children,  and  died  near 
Chillicothe,  O. 

DRUZILLA,  born  in  Maryland,  mar- 
ried at  Island  Grove  to  Fielding  Jones, 
have  six  children,  and  reside  near  As- 
sumption, Christian  county  111. 

BARSHEBA,  born"  in  Maryland, 
married  in  Kentucky  to  Hiram  Bailey, 
and  died  in  Indiana. 

JOHN  D.,  born  Oct.  5,  1813  in  Wor- 
cester county,  near  Snow  Hill,  Md.,  came 
to  Sangamon  county  in  1828.  married  at 
Island  Grove,  Jan"  2,  1842,  to  Nancy 
Foutch.  They  had  eight  children: 


THOMAS  F.,  born  in  Sangamon  county 
June  19,  1843,  married  March  27,  1870,  at 
Carbondale,  to  Carrie  L.  Collins,  who 
was  born  Oct.  3,  1850,  at  Wheeling,  Va. 
They  have  one  child,  EDDIE  F.,  and  reside 
in  Berlin.  The  other  seven  were  born  in 
Wapello  county,  Iowa,  two  of  whom 
died  young.  MARY  R.,  born  Sept. 
24,  1847,  in  Iowa,  married  Hawes 
Yates.  See  his  name.  JOHN  D.,  Jun., 
born  Nov.  10,  1850,  and  HENRY  K., 
reside  with  their  mother.  MARTHA 
resides  with  her  sister,  Mrs.  Yates. 
RACHEL  lives  with  her  mother.  John 
D.  Bevans  died  Jan.  13,  1858,  in  W'apello 
county,  Iowa.  His  widow  resides  in  Ber- 
lin. 

NANCY,  born  in  Maryland,  was  mar- 
ried at  Island  Grove  to  Amon  Blaney. 
Both  died  in  St.  Clair  county. 

By  the  second  marriage — 

SARAH,  born  in  1824,  in  Maryland, 
married  near  Berlin  to  Thomas  G.  Men- 
denhall,  and  reside  at  Berlin. 

John  Bevans  died  in  March,  1837,  an<^ 
Mrs.  Margaret  Bevans  died  April,  1859, 
both  in  Island  Grove  township. 

BICE,  JOHN,  born  Nov.  4,  1808, 
in  Henry  county,  Ky.  He  came  to  San- 
gamon county  in  1834,  and  was  married 
May  5,  1835,  near  Mechanicsburg,  to 
Mary  A.  Pickrell.  They  settled  in  what 
is  now  Williams  township,  one  and  a  half 
miles  north  of  the  present  town  of  Bar- 
clay. They  had  six  children  there — 

SARAH  E.,  born  Feb.  8,  1836,  mar- 
ried James  F.  Hickman.  See  his  name. 

JESSE  W.,  born  Oct.  21,  1837,  en' 
listed  in  Co.  A.  3rd  111.  Cavalry,  Aug.  14, 
1 86 1.  He  was  promoted  for  meritorious 
conduct  at  Pea  Ridge,  to  Lieutenant, 
afterwards  to  Captain,  and  the  last  ten 
months  he  served  with  the  rank  of  Major. 
He  was  honorably  discharged  in  Nov., 
1865.  In  Dec.  following  he  was  appointed 
assistant  assessor  of  internal  revenue,  until 
the  office  was  abolished  by  Congress,  May 
20,  1873.  J.  W.  Bice  was  married  Sept. 
19,  1872,  to  Belle  Wrarinner,  daughter  of 
the  late  Dr.  Warinner,  of  Bloomington. 
They  have  one  child,  JESSIE  BELLE. 
Major  Bice  is  now  Deputy  Sheriff  of 
Sangamon  county,  and  resides  in  Spring- 
field. 

BENJAMIN  F.  born  June  28,  1840, 
enlisted  in  Co.  B,  i3Oth  111.  Vol.  Inf.,  and 
was  mustered  in  at  Camp  Butler,  Aug.  i, 


n8 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


1862.  He  was  appointed  2nd  Sergeant 
of  same  company,  at  Memphis,  Tenn., 
Nov.  26,  1862,  and  served  until  Aug.  n, 
1865,  when  he  was  mustered  out  by  spe- 
cial order  at  New  Orleans,  La.,  for  the  pur- 
pose of  accepting  a  commission  from  Gov. 
R.  J.  Oglesby,  dated  July  26,  1865,  as 
2nd  Lieut.  Co.  D,  3Oth  111.  Vol.  Inf.  He 
was  honorably  discharged  Aug.  12,  1865. 
B.  F.  Bice  was  married  in  Dec.,  1867,  to 
Bertha  Owen.  They  have  three  children, 
MARY,  EMMA  G.  and  EVA,  and  re- 
side near  Elkhart,  Logan  county,  Illinois. 

ABEL  P.,  born  Dec.  3,  1842.  He  was 
married  in  1863  to  Melissa  C.  Blue.  They 
have  three  children,  JOHN  H.,  AR- 
THUR L.  and  NETTIE  B.,  and  reside 
two  miles  north  of  Barclay. 

SUE  E.  resides  with  her  sister,  Mrs. 
J.  F.  Hickman,  at  the  homestead  where 
her  parents  settled  in  1835. 

JOHN  H.,  born  Feb.  1 1, 1848,  enlisted 
in  1863  in  i6th  United  States  Inf.  Served 
three  years,  and  was  honorably  discharged 
in  1866.  He  was  afterwards  employed  on 
the  Toledo,  Wabash  &  Western  railroad, 
and  was  killed  by  an  accident  Jan.  31, 
1871. 

John  Bice,  died  March  14,  1848,  at  the 
family  homestead,  and  his  widow  resides 
with  her  sister,  Mrs.  Hall,  at  Buffalo. 

BICE,  SUSAN,  born  in  Henry 
county,  Ky.,  married  there  to  Elijah 
Utterbach.  See  his  name. 

BILLINGS,  ROBERT,  was 
born  Jan.,  1801,  in  Dorchester  county, 
Md.  Mary  Dean  was  born  April  6,  1810, 
in  Somerset  county,  Md.  They  were 
married  Oct.,  1829,  in  Sussex  county,  Del- 
aware, and  had  two  children  born  in  Sum- 
mit county,  Md.  They  moved  into 
Baltimore  county,  where  one  child  was 
born  and  died,  and  then  moved  to  Sanga- 
mon  county,  111.,  arriving  Oct.  1840,  in 
what  is  now  Rochester  township,  and  had 
nine  children  in  Sangamon  county.  Of 
their  children — 

NANCT  E.,  born  July  15,  1830,  in 
Maryland,  married  in  Sangamon  county 
to  John  Short,  had  one  child,  and  Mrs. 
Short  died. 

MART  E.,  born  Feb.  15,  1833,  in 
Maryland,  married  in  Sangamon  county 
to  James  Wilson,  have  two  children,  and 
reside  in  Cotton  Hill  township. 

WILLIAM  EDWARD,  born  in 
Sangamon  county,  died  in  his  23d  year. 


GEORGIANN,  born  in  Sangamon 
county,  married  Samuel  Long,  had  one 
child,  and  Mr.  Long  died,  and  she  married 
Win.  Thompson.  They  have  three 
children,  and  reside  near  Lincoln. 

SUSAN  JANE,\)o\:n  in  Sangamon 
county,  married  John  Popp,  have  three 
children,  and  reside  in  Cotton  Hill  town- 
ship. 

CHARLES  //".,  born  in  Sangamon 
county,  married  Mrs.  Martha  Mortar. 
He  died  July  31,  1871. 

JOANNA,  born  in  Sangamon  county, 
resides  with  her  parents. 

CHARLOTTE  married  John  Miller, 
have  two  children,  and  reside  two  and  a 
half  miles  south  of  Rochester. 

CAROLINE  married  William  Glenn. 
They  have  two  children,  and  reside  three 
miles  south  of  Rochester. 

JENNIE,  born  in  Sangamon  county, 
Oct.  29,  1853,  resides  with  her  parents. 

Robert  Billings  and  his  wife  reside  two 
and  a  half  miles  south  of  Rochester. 

BILLINGTON,  JOHN,  was 
born  Sept.  29,  1819,  in  the  town  of 
Shrewsbury,  Shrophshire,  England.  He 
came  to  the  United  States,  landing  in  New 
York  in  June,  and  arrived  early  in  Aug., 
1840,  at  Springfield.  He  lived  several 
years  in  the  family  of  Willard  Tinney,  on 
Richland  creek,  to  learn  farming.  He 
had  learned  the  business  of  baker  and 
confectioner  in  England,  and  established 
himself  in  that  business  in  Springfield. 
He  was  married,  in  Springfield,  to  Eliza- 
beth A.  Cannon.  She  died  Nov.,  1851, 
not  leaving  any  children.  He  was  married 
March  24,  1853,  at  Buffalo  Hart  grove,  to 
Rachel  Constant.  They  have  one  child — 

MART  J.,  and  reside  at  Dawson. 

Mr.  Billington  erected  a  residence  for 
hirnself,  where  Dawson  now  stands,  in 
1854,  before  there  was  any  station  or  town 
laid  out.  When  the  postofHce  was  estab- 
lished in  that  year,  he  was  appointed  Post- 
master, which  he  held  about  seven  years. 
He  was  also  the  first  station  and  express 
agent  at  that  place,  and  is  yet  (1874)  acting 
in  that  capacity.  Mr.  Billington's  parents, 
four  brothers  and  one  sister,  came  later. 
These  were  William,  the  civil  engineer, 
now  deceased.  Thomas  resides  at 
Mt.  Pulaska,  Henry  at  Waynesville, 
James  and  Mary  A. 

BILYEU,  PETER,  was  born 
in  1777,  in  Alleghany  county,  Md.,  and 


SAN  GAM  ON  COUNTY. 


119 


was  taken  by  his  parents  to  Green  river, 
Ky.  He  was  there  married  to  Diana 
Blackwill.  They  had  two  children  in 
Kentucky,  and  moved  to  Overton  county, 
Tenn.,  where  twelve  children  were  born; 
two  died  young.  The  family  moved  to 
Sangamon  county,  111.,  arriving  Oct.  i, 
1829,  in  what  is  now  Loami  township, 
where  one  child  was  born.  Of  their 
children — 

SARAH,  born  Nov.  26,  1801,  in  Ken- 
tucky, married  March  23,  1819,  to  William 
Workman.  See  his  name. 

JOHN,  born  in  1803,  in  Kentucky, 
married  Elizabeth  Workman  in  Tennes- 
see, came  to  Sangamon  county,  raised  a 
large  family,  moved  to  Christian  county, 
and  died  there  in  1867. 

L  YDIA,  born  in  Tennessee,  married 
David  Workman.  See  his  name. 

NANCY,  born  in  Tennessee,  married 
Jacob  Teeple,  moved  to  Missouri,  raised 
a  family,  and  he  died  there.  She  died  in 
Christian  county,  111. 

IS  A  A  C,  born  in  Tennessee,  married 
Polly  Bilyeu,  raised  a  family,  and  resides 
in  Missouri. 

GEORGE,  born  in  Tennessee,  mar- 
ried Elizabeth  Workman,  raised  a  family, 
and  resides  in  Christian  county. 

E  LIZ  ABE  777  married  Richard  Bil- 
yeu. He  was  killed  in  time  of  the  rebel- 
lion, in  Miller  county,  Mo.,  leaving  a 
widow  and  several  children  there. 

POLLY  married  James  McMullen, 
have  children,  and  reside  in  Missouri. 

DIANA  married  Thomas  Greening, 
who  died,  and  she  married  Stephen  Work- 
man, Jun.  He  died,  leaving  a  widow  and 
four  children  in  Christian  county. 

HANNAH  married  John  WyckofT. 
He  died  in  Christian  county.  His  family 
reside  in  Missouri. 

CYNTHIA,  born  Aug.  29,  1827,  in 
Tennessee,  married  in  Sangamon  county 
to  Levi  Harbour,  Jun.  See  his  name. 

MINER  VA  married  Robert  Fowler, 
and  resides  in  Kansas. 

Peter  Bilyeu  died  July  7,  1863,  and  his 
widow  died  Sept.,  1865,  both  in  Christian 
county,  111.  , 

BIRD  FAMILY,  John  Bird  was 
born  Jan.  i,  1767,  in  Essex  countv,  N.  J., 
and  when  a  young  man,  went  to  Wash- 
ington, Mason  county,  Ky.  Abigail  Au- 
ter  was  born  May  26,  1780,  in  Essex 
county,  N.  J.,  also,  and  in  1798  went  with 


her  widowed  mother  and  two  sisters  to 
Washington,  Ky.  John  Bird  and  Abigail 
Auter  were  married  there  in  1801.  They 
had  ten  children  in  Mason  county,  Ky., 
and  the  entire  family  moved,  in  1825,  to 
Harrison  county.  John  Bird  died  there, 
of  cholera,  July  15,1833.  Their  daughter, 
Sarah,  who  was  married  to  Jesse  Folks, 
died  six  days  before  her  father,  and  their 
son  John,  in  his  thirteenth  year,  died  seven 
days  after  his  father,  all  of  the  same 
disease.  Mrs.  Bird,  with  some  of  her 
children,  came  to  Sangamon  county,  111., 
arriving  Sept.  6,  1835,  'n  wnat  's  n°w 
Mechanicsburg  township.  Her  other 
children  came  the  next  vear.  Mrs.  Abi- 
gail Bird  died  in  Sangamon  county.  Of 
her  eight  children  who  came  to  the 
county — 

BIRD,  MORRIS,  was  born  Feb. 
19,  1803,  in  Mason  county,  Ky.,  married, 
March  29,  1827,  in  Harrison  county,  to 
Sarah  Brannock,  who  was  born  July  24, 
1808,  in  Bourbon  county,  Ky.  They  had 
four  children  in  Harrison  county;  one  died 
in  infancy,  and  they  moved  to  Sangamon 
county,  111.,  in  1835,  an<^  settled  near  Me- 
chanicsburg, where  they  had  twelve  child- 
ren, eleven  of  whom  died  in  infancy,  and 
Margaret  died,  aged  nine  years.  Of  the 
other  three — 

MARY  A.  C.,  born  Nov.  5,  1828,  in 
Harrison  county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  Feb.  21,  1856,  to  Miles  H. 
Wilmot,  who  was  born  Jan.  5,  1825,  in 
Caswell  county,  N.  C.,  and  came  to  San- 
gamon county  in  1854.  He  has  three 
children  by  a  former  wife;  two  daughters, 
married,  and  a  son.  All  reside  near  Shel- 
by, Iowa.  M.  H.  Wilmot  and  wife  have 
no  children  except  an  adopted  daughter, 
ELLA  WILMOT.  They  reside  half  a 
mile  east  of  Illiopolis.  Mr.  Wilmot  has 
been  elected  five  years  in  succession,  to 
represent  Illiopolis  township  in  the  Board 
of  Supervisors  of  Sangamon  county,  be- 
ginning with  the  election  of  April,  1870. 
He  was  chairman  of  the  board  for  1872 
and  '3.  He  also  served  five  years  as  Justice 
of  the  Peace  and  Police  Magistrate  in 
Mechanicsburg  and  Illiopolis. 

JOHN  M.,  born  April  23,  1834,  in 
Harrison  county,  Ky.,  raised  in  Sangamon 
county,  married  in  Griggsville,  Pike  coun- 
ty, 111.,  Oct.  6,  1859,  to  Frances  E.  Green- 
leaf,  daughter  of  Rev.  Calvin  Greenleaf, 
of  the  Baptist  church.  She  was  born  in 


120 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


Pike  county,  June  15,  1841.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Bird  had  three  children,  CLAR- 
ENCE I.  died  in  his  third  year.  NEL- 
LIE M.  and  CALVIN  MORRIS  reside 
with  their  parents,  in  Mechanicsburg. 

GEORGE  W.,  horn  Nov.  16,  1849, 
in  Sangamon  county,  resides  with  his  par- 
ents. 

Morris  Bird  and  wife  reside  at  Mechan- 
icsburg. He  was  commissioned  as  Post- 
master at  Mechanicsburg,  March  28,  1848, 
during  the  administration  of  President 
Taylor,  and  has  held  the  office  under  all 
administrations  to  the  present  time. 

BIRD,  RICHARD,  was  born 
Nov.  19,  1804,  in  Mason  county,  Ky.  He 
united  with  the  M.  E.  church,  in  1824,  and 
commenced  preaching  in  1827.  His  first 
circuit  was  in  the  southern  part  of  the 
State,  and  extended  into  Tennessee.  By 
a  singular  coincidence,  his  colleagues  bore 
such  names  as  to  indicate  that  the  trio  be- 
long to  the  feathered  species  of  animated 
nature,  Crow,  Martin  and  Bird.  Rev. 
Richard  Bird  was  married,  March  8,  1832, 
in  Shelby  county,  Ky.,  to  Lucinda  N. 
Fullinwider.  They  had  two  children  in 
Kentucky,  and  came  to  Sangamon  county, 
111.,  settling  near  Mechanicsburg,  and  at 
once  united  with  the  111.  Conf.  M.  E. 
church,  and  commenced  the  work  of  a 
traveling  preacher.  They  had  seven 
children  in  Illinois,  three  of  whom  died 
under  seven  years.  The  two  born  in  Ken- 
tucky died  in  Illinois,  one  at  five  and  the 
other  at  two  years  of  age.  Of  the  other 
four — 

FRANCES  M.,  born  Aug.  23,  1836, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  Thomas 
Scott,  and  had  four  children ;  two  died  in 
infancy.  CHARLES  W.  and  HAR- 
RIET B.  reside  with  their  mother.  She 
was  married  Jan.  10, 1867,  to  Rev.  Reuben 
Gregg,  of  the  M.  E.  Church.  They  have 
three  living  children,  ARTHUR  B.,  EDA  F., 
ALLEN  c.  and  LURA  R.  They  reside  at 
Augusta,  111. 

RICHARD  C,  born  August  8,  1838, 
in  Tazewell  county,  111.,  married,  Sept.  26, 
1860,  at  Chatham,  Sangamon  county,  to 
Addie  Hesser.  He  enlisted  in  1862,  for 
three  years,  in  Co.  A.,  730!  111.  Inf.  He 
was  injured,  Sept.  26,  1862,  in  Louisville, 
Ky.,  by  a  drunken  driver  upsetting  an 
army  wagon,  which  fell  upon  him  and 
came  near  causing  his  death.  He  was  dis- 
charged on  account  of  physical  disability, 


Feb.  23,  1863.  He  lost  his  right  hand  by 
firing  a  salute  at  Mechanicsburg,  July  4, 
1864.  Mr.  and  Mrs  Bird  had  three  child- 
ren in  Sangamon  county,  and  in  the  fall  of 
1866  moved  to  Kansas,  where  they  had 
four.  Their  names  are  EDWARD  T., 
ALLISON  E.,  HENRY  E.,  RICH- 
ARD N.,  JOHN  M.,  LUCINDA  A. 
and  HARRIET  F.,  and  reside  near 
Ottawa,  Kansas. 

JACOB  F.,  born  August  5,  1846,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Sept.  16,  1873, 
at  Payson,  111.,  to  Mrs.  Anna  E.  Vickers, 
whose  maiden  name  was  Hughes.  She 
was  born  Dec.  31,  1849,  in  Butler  county, 
Ohio.  They  reside  at  the  family  home- 
stead, adjoining  Mechanicsburg  on  the 
south. 

THOMAS  J/.,  born  Sept.  10,  1848, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married,  Oct.  19, 
1871,  at  Decatur,  to  Florence  M.  Wood, 
who  was  born  Sept.  10,  1851,  at  Clarence- 
ville,  Lower  Canada.  They  have  two  child- 
ren, JOHN  RICHARD  and  ETHEL 
LUCINDA,  and  reside  one  and  a  half 
miles  southwest  of  Mechanicsburg. 

Rev.  Richard  Bird  considers  the  vicinity 
of  Mechanicsburg  his  home,  but  continues 
to  travel  as  a  preacher  in  the  M.  E.  church, 
in  the  Illinois  Conference.  His  residence 
for  the  conference  year  of  1875-6  is 
Easton,  Mason  county,  111. 

BIRD,  JOANNA,  was  born 
Nov.  20,  1807,  in  Mason  county,  Ky., 
married  to  James  M.  Dixon.  See  his 
name.  He  died  and  she  married  John  C. 
Eckel.  See  his  name. 

B I R  D,  T  H  O  M  AS,  was  born  Dec. 
25,  1809,  in  Mason  county,  Ky.,  came  to 
Sangamon  county  in  1835.  He  never 
married,  and  died  Sept.  u,  1858,  near 
Mechanicsburg. 

BIRD,  A  BRA  HAM,  born  Aug. 
30,  1813,  in  Mason  county,  Ky.,  came  to 
Sangamon  county  in  1836,  married,  May 
9,  1839,  to  Nancy  Riddle.  Thev  had  one 
child— 

DA  VII)  /?.,  born  April  26,  1841,  in 
Sangamon  county.  He  enlisted;  was 
with  his  cousin,  Dr.  Riddle,  all  through 
the  war  to  suppress  the  rebellion.  Present 
residence  not  known. 

Mrs.  Nancy  Bird  died  April  26,  1841, 
and  Abraham  Bird  died  Feb.  19,  1853, 
both  in  Sangamon  countv. 

BIRD,  HENRY,  was  born  Dec. 
15,  1815,  in  Mason  county,  Ky.,  came  to 


SANGAMON    COUNT?. 


121 


Sangamon  county  in  1836,  was  married 
Sept.  30,  1841,10  Margaret  J.  Hussey,who 
was  born  April  5,  1821,  in  Sangamon 
county,  111.  Two  children  were  born 
there,  and  in  1845  they  moved  overland  in 
wagons,  to  Yamhill  county,  Oregon.  Five 
children  were  born  there,  and  they  moved 
to  Portland,  Multnomah  county,  Oregon, 
where  one  child  was  born.  Of  their  nine 
children — 

CLARISSA,  born  August  30,  1842, 
in  Sangamon  county,  111.,  married  in  Or- 
egon, July  30,  1861,  to  Hiram  Ransom, 
and  resides  in  California. 

MART  E.,  born  June  23,  1844,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  in  Oregon, 
Dec.  29,  1869,  to  W.  S.James.  She  died 
Feb.  19,  1874,  in  Portland,  Oregon,  leaving 
two  children,  viz:  ELLA  and  MARY, 
the  latter  died  August  9,  1874.  Mr.  James 
resides  in  Portland. 

NATHAN  H.,  born  Dec.  12,  1846,  in 
Yamhill  county,  was  married  March  15, 
1870,  to  Alice  Talbot.  They  have  two 
children,  WALTER  and  VIOLA,  and 
reside  near  Bellvue,  Yamhill  county,  Ore- 
gon. 

RICHARD,  born  April  5,  1848,  in 
Yamhill  county,  is  unmarried,  and  resides 
in  Portland. 

JOHN,  born  Sept.  20,  1851,  in  Yam- 
hill  county,  is  unmarried,  and  resides  in 
Portland. 

CORXELIA  E.,  born  Nov.  20, 
1853,  in  Yamhill  county,  resides  with  her 
mother. 

STEPHEN,  born  Oct.  9,  1855,  in 
Yamhill  county,  resides  near  Sheridan, 
Yamhill  county,  on  a  farm. 

BENJAMIN  M.,  born  April  i,  1858, 
in  Yamhill  county,  resides  with  his  mother. 
WILLIAM  ^born  Dec.  n,  1862, in 
Portland,  resides  with  his  mother. 

Henry  Bird  died  August  20,  1873,  in 
Portland,  and  his  widow  resides  there. 

BIRD,  HETTY  E.,  was  born 
July  9,  1818,  in  Mason  county,  Ky.,  came 
with  her  mother  to  Sangamon  county  in 
1835.  She  was  married  near  Mechanics- 
burg,  Feb.  25,  1845,  to  Samuel  Powers, 
who  was  born  April  28,  1797,  in  Hamp- 
shire county,  Va.  They  had  one  child, 
and  Mrs.  Powers  died,  March  16,  1851,  in 
Sangamon  county.  Mr.  Powers  moved 
to  Iowa  with  his  daughter — 

RHODA  A.,  born  Sept.  19,  1848,  in 
Sangamon  county,  and  married  in  Iowa, 
— 16 


July  22,  1865,  to  Barzilla  Reeves,  who 
was  born  April  5,  1841.  They  had  five 
children  in  Iowa.  Their  second  child, 
ISAAC  N.,  died  in  his  fourth  year.  AN- 
DREW J.,  DAVID  M.,  GARRISON 
B.  and  HESTER  A.,  reside  with  their 
parents,  near  Sidney,  Fremont  county, 
Iowa. 

Samuel  Powers  resides  in  Atchison 
county,  Mo. 

BIRD,  ABIGAIL,  was  born 
Sept.  27,  1824,  in  Mason  county,  Ky., 
came  with  her  mother  to  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, 111.,  in  1835,  married,  Oct.  12,  1843,  to 
Hugh  Sutherland.  He  was  born  May  4, 
1816,  in  Edinburgh,  Scotland,  came  to 
America  in  1827,  remained  in  the  Atlantic 
States  until  1841,  when  he  came  to  San- 
gamon county.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  S.  had  nine 
children,  Charles  W.,  next  to  the  young- 
est, died  in  his  third  year.  Of  the  other 
eight — 

HESTER  J.,  born  Dec.  21,  1844,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  March  17, 

1869,  to  Joseph  N.   Burcham,  have  two 
children,  REUBEN  and  JOHN  L.,  and 
reside  three  and   a  quarter   miles  east   of 
Mechaniscburg. 

BETST  J.,  born  Sept.  17,  1846,  died 
Sept.  2,  1858. 

JOHN  G.,  born  April  28,  1848,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married,  August  31, 

1870,  in    his    native    county,   to    Mary  J. 
Peak.      They    had    two    children,   AR- 
THUR   CLARK    and    CARLOS    B. 
The  latter  died  in  his  second  year.     Mrs. 
S.  died   March    12,   1875,  in    the  twenty- 
seventh  year  of  her  age.    John  G.  Suther- 
land resides  at  Warrensburg,  111. 

ELLEN  R.  born  Jan.  30,  1850,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Feb.  14,  1875, 
to  William  Upton,  and  resides  three  and 
a  half  miles  east  of  Mechanicsburg. 

ABIGAIL  ANN,  born  Dec.  23,  1851, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  Feb.  7, 
1875,  to  Charles  Mussenden,  and  resides 
four  miles  east  of  Mechanicsburg. 

THOMAS  M.,  born  Sept.  8,  1854, 

J IIJGH  A.,  born  Dec,  12,  1856,  and 

CHAR  LET  B.,  born  Dec.  29,  1861. 

The  three  latter  reside  with  their  par- 
ents, adjoining  Illiopolis  on  the  east. 

BLACK,  SAMUEL,  was  born 
July  2,  1798,  in  Augusta  county,  Va. 
Mildred  Gaines,  a  niece  of  Mrs.  Peter  Cart- 
wright,  was  born  Oct.  4,  1802,  in  Char- 
lotte county,  Va.  They  were  married, 


122 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


Feb.  20,  1822,  near  Hopkinsville,  Ky.. 
where  their  parents  had  emigrated  when 
they  were  quite  young.  They  had  one 
child  in  Kentucky,  and  moved  to  Sanga- 
mon  county,  111.,  arriving  Nov.  19,  1825, 
in  what  is  now  Cartwright  township, 
where  they  had  two  children,  and  in  1828 
moved  to  Morgan  county,  where  seven 
children  were  born.  Of  their  children— 

ELIZA,  horn  Dec.  31,  1824,  in  Ken- 
tucky, married  George  Ragen,  have  seven 
children,  and  reside  in  Cass  countv,  Iowa. 

JAMES  R.,  born  July  5,  1826,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Dec.  13,  1863, 
to  Arvilla  M.  McMurphy,  who  was  born 
Nov.  25,  1833,  in  St.  Lawrence  countv, 
N.  Y.  They  have  four  children,  VIC- 
TOR C.,  JENNIE  M.,  IONA  C.  and 
ALBERT  C.,  and  reside  one  and  a  quar- 
ter miles  north  of  Pleasant  Plains,  with- 
in half  a  mile  of  where  he  was  born,  on 
the  farm  of  his  grandfather,  Rev.  Richard 
Gaines. 

WILLIAM,  born  April  5,  1828,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Jane  Short, 
and  died  in  three  months  after  marriage. 

SARAH  B.,  born  May  i,  1833,  m  Mor- 
gan  county,  married  Til  man  Sharp,  has 
one  child,  and  resides  in  Morgan  county. 

JOHN,  born  Dec.  3,  1830,  just  before 
the  "deep  snow,"  married  Sarah  Vaughn, 
have  three  children,  LOU  ELLA,  J.  W. 
and  J.  R.,  and  reside  in  Morgan  county. 

AMY,  born  Feb.  5,  1839,  died  Sept.  8, 
1869. 

MARTHA  G.,  born  Feb.  4,  1835,  is 
unmarried,  and  resides  with  her  parents. 

SAMUEL,  Jim.,  born  June  27,  1837, 
married,  Dec.  2,  1860,  to  Mary  Self,  have 
two  children,  W.  E.  and  C.  S.,  and  reside 
in  Morgan  county. 

MARY  J,,  born  March  9,  1842,  mar- 
ried, Sept.  20,  1 86 1,  to  James  Phillips, 
who  died,  and  she  married  Wm.  Self,  and 
resides  in  Cass  county. 

MILDRED,  born  Jan.  7,  1845,  mar- 
ried Samuel  T.  Mattix,  has  one  child,  and 
resides  in  Morgan  county. 

Samuel  Black  and  his  wife  reside  six 
miles  north  of  Jacksonville,  surrounded 
by  most  of  their  children.  Mr.  Black 
made  his  first  trip  to  Sangamon  county  to 
move  the  mother  of  Rev.  Peter  Cart- 
wright.  He  made,  altogether,  seven 
round  trips  with  a  six  horse  team,  when 
there  were  no  roads,' in  moving  the  Cart- 
wright,  Gaines  and  Black  families. 


BLACK,  WILLIAM,  born 
about  1793,  in  Edinburgh,  Scotland.  lie 
came  to  America  when  young,  landing  at 
Philadelphia.  A  stone  cutter  by  trade,  he 
was  employed  on  some  of  the  banks  and 
other  public  buildings  in  that  city,  finish- 
ing with  a  contract  on  Girard  College. 
Anna  Young  was  born  April  6,  1 798,  in 
the  city  of  Philadelphia.  William  Black 
and  Anna  Young  were  there  married, 
Dec.  7,  1820.  Their  nine  children  were 
born  in  Philadelphia,  one  of  whom  died 
young.  Mr.  Black  came  to  Springfield 
in  the  fall  of  1839,  and  April,  1840,  his 
family  arrived  and  moved  to  a  farm  he 
had  purchased,  six  miles  northeast  of 
Springfield.  Of  their  eight  children— 

JOHAr,  born  April  12,  1822,  is  unmar- 
ried. He  went  to  California  in  1849,  and 
now  resides  in  San  Francisco. 

WILLIAM,]m\.,  born  April  21, 1824, 
in  Philadelphia,  was  drowned,  April  9, 
1849,  in  a  slough  near  where  the  Gilman 
and  Clinton  railroad  crosses  the  Sangamon 
river. 

HENRY,\>orn  July  23,  1826,  in  Phil- 
adelphia, married,  May  3,  1871,  in  Hum- 
boldt,  Kansas,  to  Mrs.  Artenecia  A.  Cham- 
bers, whose  maiden  name  was  Braclshaw. 
They  have  two  children  ANNA  A.  and 
BLANCHE,  and  reside  at  Humboldt, 
Kansas. 

JAMES,  born  July  8,  1828,  in  Phila- 
delphia, was  married  March  2,  1852,  to 
Amanda  A.  Cartmell.  They  had  one 
child,  and  Mrs.  Black  died,  Jan.  u,  1854. 
Mr.  Black  was  married,  Feb.  5,  1862,  to 
Eliza  A.  Cartmell.  They  have  four  child- 
ren. Of  his  five  children,  WILLIAM 
L.,  by  the  first  marriage,  and  the  other 
four,  Wr ALTER  B.,  ALVIN  F.,  AMAN- 
DA M.  and  EMMA  T.,  reside  with  their 
father,  on  the  farm  settled  by  his  father  in 
1840,  six  miles  northeast  of  Springfield. 

GEORGE  W.,  born  August  15,  1830, 
married  Sept.  21,  1858,10  Sarah  A.  Mann. 
They  had  eight  children,  two  of  whom 
died  young.  MARY  E.,  ELIZABETH, 
ANNIE  L.,  HENRY  F.,  THOMAS 
M.  and  CHARLES  W.,  and  reside  on 
Round  Prairie,  five  miles  east  of  Spring- 
field, between  the  mouth  of  Spring  Creek 
and  South  Fork. 

ANNA  E.,  born  Sept.  26,  1832,  mar- 
ried, Jan.  I,  1852,10  Marion  F.  Whitesides. 
(See  his  name.') 


SANGAMON  COUNTT. 


FRANCIS  G.,  born  Feb.  27,  1835, 
married,  Oct.  4,  1859,  to  Elizabeth  Ham- 
mond. They  had  two  children,  JOHN 
W.  and  ELIZA  J.,  and  Mr.  Black  en- 
listed August,  1862,  in  Co.  G.,  i  I4th  111. 
Inf.,  for  three  years,  and  died  of  disease  at 
Vicksburg,  just  after  the  surrender  by  the 
rebels,  July  4,  1863.  His  remains  were 
brought  home  and  interred  near  German 
Prairie  Station.  His  children  reside  with 
their  mother,  who  married  A.  R.  Welch. 

WALTER  C.,  born  Sept.  22,  1837, 
enlisted  in  Co.  G.,  i  I4th  111.  Inf.,  for  three 
years,  August  =5,  1862,  was  twice  slightly 
wounded,  served  full  time,  and  was  honor- 
ably discharged,  August  10,  1865.  He 
was  married,  Feb.  5,  1866,  to  Permelia  F. 
Cartmell.  They  have  three  children, 
ANNA  C.,  FRANCIS  E.  and  ORA 
EVA,  and  reside  two  miles  southeast  of 
Riverton.  * 

Margaret  Allison  lived  as  one  of  the 
family  of  William  Black,  in  Philadelphia. 
She  came  with  the  family  to  Sangamon 
county,  and  died  Sept.  20,  1840,  aged  29 
years. 

William  Black  died  Dec.  15,  1858,  and 
his  widow  died  July  25,  1874,  both  on  the 
farm  where  they  settled  in  1840.  Mr. 
Black  became  a  member  of  the  Scots 
Thistle  Society  soon  after  his  arrival  in 
Philadelphia,  and  remained  a  member  as 
long  as  he  lived. 

BLACK,  THOMAS,  was  born 
Oct.  25,  1768,  and  went  from  South  Caro- 
lina to  Christian  co'unty,  Ky.,  where  he 
was  married  to  Edith  A.  Pyle.  They 
moved  to  southern  Illinois  just  before  the 
"Shakes" — meaning  the  earthquake  of 
1811,  that  sunk  New  Madrid,  Missouri. 
They  fled  in  terror  back  to  Kentucky ; 
but  finding  the  earth  did  not  all  sink,  they 
returned  to  southern  Illinois,  and  moved 
to  what  became  Sangamon  county,  arriv- 
ing April  9,  1819,  in  what  is  now  Auburn 
township.  Of  their  children,  vix — 

.SARAH,  born  July  3,  1796,  in  Ken- 
tucky, married  there  to  a  Mr.  Edwards. 
They  had  one  child,  SUSAN,  who  mar- 
ried W  m.  Woods.  Mr.  Edwards  died,  and 
his  widow  married  Bailey  Taylor.  They 
had  three  children,  viz:  AMANDA  mar- 
ried Peter  Wheeler.  EMMA  married  Mil- 
ler Bagby.  THOMAS  B.  was  married 
in"i866.  He  had  three  children ;  one  is  dead. 
Mr.  Taylor  died,  and  the  family  moved  to 


McDonough  county,  111.,  and  from  there 
to  Iowa,  where  she  died. 

DA  I  ID,  born  Sept.  17,  1798,  in  Ken- 
tucky, married  Jan.  2,  1823,  in  Sangamon 
county,  to  Sarah  Moffitt.  They  had  six 
children.  WILLIAM  married  Millie 
Moore,  and  live  near  Belleville,  St.  Clair 
county.  GEORGE  married  Viney 
Broom,  and  resides  near  Blue  Mound, 
Macon  county,  111.  EDITH  A.  married 
Wm.  Simmons.  He  died,  and  Mrs.  S. 
married  Mr.  Brown.  They  reside  in 
Texas.  The  others  are  ANN  E.,  LEAN- 
DER  and  FRANCIS.  David  Black 
died  Oct.  7,  1856,  in  Chatham  township, 
and  his  widow  resides  with  her  youngest 
son,  in  Macon  county,  near  Blue  Mound. 

ELlZABETH,\>orn  March  6,  1803, 
in  Kentucky,  was  married  in  Sangamon 
county  to  John  Harris.  They  had  one 
child,  JAMES,  who  was  drowned  in  a 
mill  pond  while  fishing,  aged  fourteen 
years.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Harris  both  died  in 
Macoupin  county. 

NANCT,  born  Aug.  4,  1806,  in  Ken- 
tucky, married  in  Sangamon  county,  Aug. 
1 8,  1833,  to  John  N.  Viney,  who  died 
Jan.  5,  1871,  and  Mrs.  Nancy  V.  died 
May  23,  1871,  without  children.  See  his 
name, 

JOHN,  born  Aug.  8,  1809,  in  Ken- 
tucky, married  in  Sangamon  county,  Aug. 
4,  1831,  to  Sarah  Myers.  They  had  nine 
children;  three  died  young.  Of  the  other 
six,  ELMINA  died  Feb.  23,  1858,  aged 
22  years.  DRUSILLA,  born  Aug.  30, 
1837,  m  Sangamon  county,  married  June 
:o,  1856,  to  James  Babcock.  They  had 
nine  children;  one  died  young.  RICHARD 
j.  o.  died  Aug.  4,  187^.  WILLIAM  died 

Aug.  23,  1875.  LAURA,  ELLEN,  ALI5KRT 
M.,  ADDIK  M.,  IRA  J.  and  ANNETTA  E. 

The  family  reside  near  Oreana,  Macon 
county,  111".  THOMAS,  born  Oct.  6, 
1839,  in  Sangamon  county,  was  married 
April  12,  1863,10  Mary  M.  Leu  is,  who 
died  Dec.  21,  1865,  and  he  was  married 
Feb.  3,  1868.  to  Emily  C.  (Irave>,  who 
died  Aug.  10,  1871,  leaving  one  child, 
FLOSSIE  L.  Mr.  Black  \vas  married  Apul 
6,  1873^,  to  Martha  J.  Dodds.  They  have 
one  child,  a  son,  and  reside  two  miles  east 
of  Auburn.  ALBERT  M.,  born  Sept. 
14,  1843,  in  Sangamon  county,  was  mar- 
ried June  24,  1 86^,  to  Salome  T.  Ham. 
Thev  have  two  children,  and  reside  near 
Pawnee.  ADALIXE  M.,  born  May  -'5, 


I24 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


1847,  married  Aug.  2,  1865,  to  Wm.  D. 
Patton.  See  his  name.  She  died  Jan. 
26,  1875,  leaving  two  children.  JOHN 
W.,  born  Sept.  29,  1851,  in  Sangamon 
county,  married  Feb.  2,  1873,  to  Susan  R. 
Kimble.  They  have  two  children,  JOHN 
D.  and  EMILY,  and  reside  three  miles  east 
of  Auburn.  John  Black  died  Aug.  I, 
1855,  and  his  widow,  Mrs.  Sarah  Black, 
died  March  18, 1858,  both  in  Auburn  town- 
ship. 

THOMAS,  born  Sept.  3,  1813,  in 
Christian  county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  March  7,  1855,  to  Mary  J. 
Wallace,  who  was  born  Nov.  i,  1831. 
They  have  three  children,  EDITH, 
MARY  F.  and  MARCHIE,  and  reside 
in  less  than  half  a  mile  of  where  his  father 
settled  in  1819,  about  three  and  a  half 
miles  east  of  Auburn. 

CARTER  T.,  born  Jan.  24,  1818, 
was  married  Oct.  8,  1840,  to  Mary  C. 
Coberly,  who  was  born  Nov.  7,  1820.  Of 
their  six  children,  namely:  ELLEN  E., 
born  in  Auburn  township,  July  12,  1841, 
married  July  i,  1858,  to  J.  T.  Graves. 
They  have  six  children,  ROBERT  L.,  MARY 

N.,     ZILDAH     S.,     WILLIAM    J.,     MARK    and 

CATHARINE,  and  reside  in  Butler,  Bates 
county,  Mo.  JOSEPH  C.,  born  Aug. 
29,  1843,  in  Auburn  township,  111.,  died  in 
Missouri.  CHARLES  C.,  born  Aug.  22, 
1845,  in  Andrew  county,  Mo.,  died  in 
Nodaway  county,  Mo.  WILLIAM  T., 
born  May  21,  1848,  in  Andrew  county, 
Mo.,  married  in  Nodaway  county  to  Mary 
C.  Crabtree,  Dec.  29,  1869.  They  had 
one  child,  JAMES  T.  Wm.  T.  Black  and 
son  died  in  Bates  county,  Mo.  GEORGE 
H.,  born  March  n,  1858,  in  Nodaway 
county,  Mo.,  and  JOHN  D.,  born  Sept. 
16,  1860,  in  Nodaway  county,  reside  there. 

Mrs.  Carter  Black  died  May  14,  1875, 
in  Nodaway  county,  Mo.  Carter  Black 
is  now  (1876)  in  Sangamon  county. 

Mrs.  Edith  A.  Black  died  April  15, 
1822,  and  Thomas  Black  was  married  in 
1823  or  '4  to  Mrs.  Rebecca  Viney,  whose 
maiden  name  was  Shiles.  She  died  Feb. 
13,  1851,  and  Mr.  B.  died  Nov.  3,  1851, 
aged  84  years,  both  where  he  settled  in 
1819. 

BLUE,  JOHN,  was  born  Sept.  9, 
1777,  in  South  Carolina.  His  father  was 
a  soldier  in  the  Revolutionary  army,  and 
was  taken  prisoner  by  the  British  the 
very  day  of  his  birth.  His  parents  moved 


to  Fleming  county,  Ky.,  when  he  was 
quite  young.  Elizabeth  McNary  was 
born  in  South  Carolina,  and  taken  by  her 
parents  to  Fleming  county,  Ky.,  also. 
They  were  there  married  about  1806,  had 
seven  children  in  that  county,  and  then 
moved  to  Hopkins  county,  where  they 
had  four  children.  About  1823  they 
moved  to  Green  county,  O.,  where  they 
had  two  children,  and  then  moved  to  San- 
gamon county,  arriving  in  the  fall  of  1830, 
in  what  is  now  Clear  Lake  township. 

MARTHA  married  Robert  Blue,  had 
six  children  and  died. 

SAMUEL  married  Isabel  Webb,  had 
eight  children,  and  resides  in  Missouri. 

DA  VID  H.,  born  Sept.  23,  1816,  in 
Fleming  county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county  May  19,  1844,  to  Fannie 
Webb.  They  had  two  children,  one  of 
whom  died  young.  MELISSA  C.  mar- 
ried Abel  P.  Bice.  See  his  name.  David 
H.  Blue  resides  two  miles  north  of  Bar- 
clay. 

ELIZA  married  Adolphus  Jones,  had 
one  child,  and  all  died. 

WILLIAM  M.,  born  in  Fleming 
county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sangamon  county 
to  Adaline.Cline.  They  had  five  child- 
ren. JAMES  H.  married  Catharine 
Dunlap,  had  one  child,  DORA  E.,  and  live 
in  Fancy  creek  township.  GEORGE 
W.,  LUCY,  DAVID  and  PARTHEN- 
IA,  live  with  their  mother.  William  M. 
Blue  enlisted  in  Aug.,  1862,  in  Co.  C,  114 
111.  Inf.,  for  three  years.  He  was  killed 
at  the  battle  of  Guntown,  Miss.,  June  10, 
1864.  His  widow  married  M.  Hardman, 
and  lives  near  Cantrall. 

HA RRISON  married  Margaret  Alex- 
ander. They  had  three  children,  and  he 
died  in  Fancy  creek  township. 

CAROLINE  married  Stephen  Can- 
trail.  They  have  six  children,  and  live 
near  Kansas  City,  Mo. 

AMOS  went  to  Oregon  when  a  young 
man,  and  resides  in  Jackson  county. 

John  Blue  died  in  1842,  and  his  widow 
in  1848,  both  in  Sangamon  county. 

BONDURANT.  The  first  known 
of  the  name  in  America  was  Dr.  Joseph 
Bondurant,  a  Huguenot,  who  was  ban- 
ished from  France  on  account  of  his  relig- 
ion, during  the  reign  of  Queen  Anne, 
about  the  year  1700.  He  was  wealthy  in 
France,  but  could  only  bring  his  library 
with  him.  He  and  his  companions,  Ford, 


SANG  A  MON  COUNTT. 


Agee,  O'Briant  and  Shatteen,  all  settled 
in  Virginia. 

BON  DURA  NT,  JOSEPH. 
The  fourth  generation  from  Dr.  Joseph 
Bondurant,  was  born  Sept.  15,  1801,  in 
Bedford  county,  Va.,  moved  to  Kentucky 
in  early  life,  and  was  married  Oct.  27, 
1823,  to  Martha  Sharp.  They  moved  to 
Sangamon  county  Oct.,  1828.  He  was 
one  of  the  early  school  teachers  in  the 
Dickerson  neighborhood.  They  had 
eleven  children,  namely — 

JOHN  T.,  born  June  5,  1824,  in  Ken- 
tucky, raised  in  Sangamon  county,  mar- 
ried near  DesMoines,  Iowa,  in  1848,  to 
Virginia  Cooney.  In  1850  he  emigrated 
to  California,  and  died  in  Sacramento, 
Dec.  23,  1850,  of  disease  contracted  while 
crossing  the  plains,  leaving  a  childless 
widow. 

LUCRE TIA  y.,  born  Nov.  4,  1825, 
in  Kentucky,  married  Nov.,  1845,  in  San- 
gamon county,  to  Joel  Churchill.  See  his 
name.  They  reside  at  DeLand,  Piatt 
county,  111. 

ELIZABETH  T.,  born  April  28, 
1827,  in  Kentucky,  married  in  Athens, 
111.,  May  15,  1842,  to  William  Miller,  of 
that  place,  where  they  resided  until  1852, 
when  they  moved  to  Mechanicsburg. 
They  had  nine  children,  namely:  MAR- 
THA E.,  married  Jan.  16,  1872,  to  T.  P. 
Lofland.  She  died  June  14,  1873,  leaving 
a  son  six  months  old,  to  be  brought  up  by 
her  aunt,  Margaret  D.  Underwood.  AN- 
NIE M.,  JOHN  T.  and  THOMAS  B. 
died  under  ten  years.  ALBERT  D., 
JOSEPH  W.,  SARAH  J.,  AMANDA 
B.  and  GEORGE  L.  live  with  their 
mother.  William  Miller  died  July  17, 
1868.  His  widow  and  children  live  in 
Mechanicsburg. 

ALEXANDER  C.,  born  Sept.  i, 
1829,  in  Sangamon  county.  He  went  to 
Iowa  in  the  winter  of  1856,  and  was  mar- 
ried there  Oct.,  i86i,to  Margaret  Brooks, 
of  DesMoines.  They  had  seven  child- 
ren, namely:  EMMA,  FANNIE,  LIZ- 
ZIE, FRANK,  FLORENCE,  BUR- 
TON and  NELLIE,  and  reside  near 
Altoona,  Polk  county,  Iowa. 

THOMAS  C.,  born  Dec.  29,  1831,  in 
Sangamon  county,  settled  in  Piatt  county 
in  1856,  near  DeLand,  Piatt  county,  111. 

SAMUEL  T.,  born  Dec.  9,  1834,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Nov.  15,  1860, 
in  Douglas  county,  to  Sarah  Ellen  Barnett. 


They  have  two  living  children,  and  reside 
near  Wabash,  Wayne  county,  111.  He  en- 
listed August  7,  1862,  for  three  years,  in 
Co.  E.,  ^th  111.  Inf.  Dec.  2,  1862,  he 
was  detailed  to  the  Pioneer  Corps  depart- 
ment of  the  Cumberland.  March  19, 1863, 
he  took  charge  of-  four  saw  mills,  on 
Stone's  river,  Tenn.,  and  put  them  in  or- 
der. Sept.  15,  1863,  he  was  ordered  to 
Chattanooga,  where  he  took  charge  of 
building  water-works,  on  the  8th  of  Octo- 
ber, doing  the  civil  engineering  with  a 
common  spirit  level.  He  remained  in 
charge  until  May  15,  1865,  when  he  re- 
signed for  the  purpose  of  perfecting  some 
inventions  of  his  own.  He  is  now  en- 
gaged in  the  lumber  trade. 

MAR  G ARE  7\/?.,born  Jan.  31,  1837, 
married  Oct.  28,  1858,  to  Thomas  Under- 
wood. See  his  name. 

MART  E.,  born  Feb.  3,  1840,  is  un- 
married, and  resides  with  her  brother 
Thomas,  near  DeLand,  Piatt  county,  111. 

MARTHA  K,  born  March  24,  1842, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  Jan.,  1864, 
to  William  Thornton,  of  DesMoines, 
Iowa.  They  have  three  children,  namely : 
LILLIE,  LUCY  and  HARRY,  and  re- 
side near  DesMoines. 

JOSEPHN.,  born  May  2,  1844.  He 
went  to  Iowa  in  1866,  and  married  in  1867 
to  Sarah  DeVore.  They  had  three  child- 
ren, WILLIAM,  EARNEST  and 
FRANK.  In  1871  Mr.  J.  N.  Bondurant 
returned  to  DeWitt  county,  111.,  and  re- 
sides near  Farmer  City. 

AMANDA  E.,  born  April  25,  1847, 
in  Sangamon  county,  died  Oct.  4,  1858. 

Mr.  Joseph  Bondurant  died  April  30, 
1864,  at  his  daughter's,  Mrs.  Lucretia 
Churchill,  near  Mechanicsburg.  Mrs. 
Martha  Bondurant  resides  with  her  son 
Thomas,  near  DeLand,  Piatt  county,  III. 

BOLL,  VALENTINE  J.,  was 
born  April  22,  1807,  at  Flersheim,  Nas- 
sau, Germany.  He  came  to  America  in 
1833,  arriving  June  29,  at  Baltimore,  being 
forty-four  days  from  Bremen.  He  went 
to  New  Philadelphia,  O.,  to  see  a  relative, 
thence  to  St.  Louis,  and  from  there  to 
Sangamon  county,  and  made  pottery  for 
Chistopher  Newcomer  two  years.  In  the 
fall  of  1836  he  started  back  to  Germany 
by  way  of  New  Orleans,  and  arrived  at 
his  native  town  Jan.  2,  1837.  He  was 
there  married,  April  2,  1837,  to  Elizabeth 
C.  Heller.  She  was  born  Feb.  13,  1819, 


126 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


in  the  same  town.  They  embarked  June 
12,  1837,  at  Amsterdam,  and  were  forty- 
nine  days  on  the  passage  to  New  York. 
He  went  via  Albany,  Buffalo,  Cleveland, 
thence  to  Portsmouth,  on  the  Ohio  river, 
thence  to  St.  Louis  and  back  to  Sanga- 
mon  county,  late  in  1837.  His  father, 
step-mother  and  five  children,  a  married 
sister  and  her  husband,  Garred  Young, 
and  others,  making  a  total  of  seventeen 
persons,  came  with  him.  He  made  pot- 
tery in  Ball  township  for  about  eighteen 
years,  and  then  engaged  in  farming  exclu- 
sively. They  had  nine  children,  all  born 
in  Sangamon  county,  two  of  whom  died 
young.  Of  the  other  seven — 

GARHARD,  born  Nov.  2,  1838,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Jan.  5,  1862, 
to  Mary  J.  Greenawalt.  They  had  five 
children,  THOMAS  H.  and  JAMES-A., 
the  first  and  fourth,  died  young;  MARY 
E.,  AMANDA  F.  and  SARAH  M.,  re- 
side with  their  parents,  one  mile  northwest 
of  Pawnee. 

ELIZABETH,  born  in  Sangamon 
county,  married  John  T.  Burtle,  Jun.  See 
his  name. 

PAUL  A.,  born  in  Sangamon  county, 
resides  with  his  parents. 

GEORGE  P.,  born  in  Sangamon 
county,  married  Mary  M.  Mollihorn. 
They  had  two  children,  WILLIAM  A. 
and  CHARLES  V.,  and  reside  in  Ball 
township. 

CATHARINE  J.  married  Patrick 
McAnanry,  have  two  children,  MAT- 
THEW and  ROSA,  and  reside  at  Tallula. 

MARGARET  and  E  VA  reside  with 
their  parents  in  Ball  township,  five  miles 
southeast  of  Chatham. 

BALL,  JACOB  born  about  1829, 
at  Flersheim,  Nassau,  Germany,  came  to 
America,  and  to  Sangamon  county,  with 
his  half-brother  Valentine,  in  1837.  He 
was  married  in  1867  to  Sarah  Conner. 
They  have  two  children — 

E  LIZ  ABE  TH  and  THOMA  S,  and 
reside  in  Ball  township,  six  miles  south- 
east of  Chatham. 

BOWEN,  ZAZA,  was  born  Oct. 
24,  igo6,  in  Guilford  county,  N.  C.  His 
father  died  when  he  was  two  years  old, 
and  his  mother,  with  her  four  children,  the 
eldest  of  whom  was  married,  moved  to 
Cabell  county,  West  Va.,  in  1817.  Zaza 
Bowen  and  Mary  Knight  were  married 
June  25,  1827,  in  that  county,  and  hi  the 


fall  of  that  year  moved  to  Sangamon 
county,  111.,  arriving  Dec.  4,  1827,  in  what 
is  now  Loami  township.  They  had  seven 
children  in  Sangamon  county.  The  two 
eldest  died  under  five  years.  Of  the  other 
five  children — 

REBECCA  J.,  born  June  28,  1831, 
married  in  1850,  to  James  W.  George. 
They  have  three  living  children,  and  re- 
side near  Mt.  Auburn,  Christian  county. 

ABNER,  born  Feb.  24,  1833,  in  San- 
gamon county,  married  March  16,  1856, 
to  Frances  A.  Cutter.  They  have  four 
children.  WALTER,  N.  C.,  and  JOHN 
CALHOUN,  twins;  ZAZA  A.  and 
WILLIAM  J.  Not  having  a  daughter, 
they  adopted  one,  whom  they  call  KATIE 
BOWEN.  They  reside  on  the  farm  set- 
tled in  1828  by  Mrs.  B.'s  father,  S.  R. 
Cutter.  It  is  two  and  a  half  miles  north- 
west of  Loami. 

ELIZABETH,  born  Nov.  13,  1834, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  Robert  M. 
Park.  See  his  name. 

ISABEL  A.,  born  Dec.  26,  1836,  mar- 
ried in  1855,  to  Charles  W.  Fisher.  They 
had  five  children,  MARY  E.,  NANCY 
E.,  ELIZABETH  C.,  WILLIAM  Z. 
and  JOHN  N.  Mrs.  F.  and  her  children 
reside  three  miles  west  of  Loami. 

WILLIAM  A.,  born  July  28,  1838, 
died  Oct.  n,  1860. 

Mrs.  Mary  Bowen  died  Dec.  31,  1839, 
and  Zaza  B.  married,  Jan.  7,  1841,  to  Sarah 
Park.  They  had  four  children;  all  died 
under  nine  years. 

Mrs.  Sarah  Bowen  died  Sept.  28,  1860, 
and  Zaza  Bowen  was  married,  Sept.  17, 
1863,  to  Mrs.  Lydia  M.  Light,  whose 
maiden  name  was  Patterson.  They  reside 
three  miles  west  of  Loami,  on  the  farm 
where  he  settled  in  1836.  Zaza  Bowen 
remembers  Springfield  when  it  was  a  col- 
lection of  round  log  huts,  covered  with 
clapboards  held  on  by  weight  poles.  He 
remembers  seeing  the  jail  covered  with  a 
stack  of  hay. 

BOWLING,  JAMES,  was  born 
March  8,  1790,  in  Fauquier  county,  Va., 
was  taken  by  his  parents  to  Tennessee 
when  he  was  nine  years  old,  and  from 
there  to  Logan  county,  Ky.,  in  1808.  He 
was  there  married,  Oct.  17,  1817,  to  Mar- 
garet Jones,  who  was  born  Nov.  18,  1793, 
in  Mercer  county,  Ky.  James  Bowling 
and  wife  left,  the  day  after  their  marriage, 
for  Bond  county,  111.  They  moved  on 


SANGAMON  COUNTT. 


127 


horseback,  each  riding  a  horse  and  leading 
a  pack  horse,  to  carry  their  goods.  One 
child  was  born  in  Bond  county,  111.,  and 
they  moved  to  Sangamon  county,  arriving 
in  1819,  in  what  is  now  Rochester  town- 
ship, on  the  farm  now  owned  by  R.  P. 
Abel,  adjoining  Rochester  on  the  west. 
In  1830  they  moved  one  mile  north.  They 
had  six  children  in  Sangamon  county.  Of 
their  seven  children — 

ELIZABETH  W.,  born  Sept.  22, 
1818,  in  Bond  county,  111.,  was  married  in 
Sangamon  county,  April  27,  1843,  to 
lames  M.  Logan.  See  his  name.  ' 

EL}'IRA  /*.,  born  Feb.  25,  1820,  in 
Sangamon  county,  was  married  April  28, 

1844,  to    Daniel    Barr.     They    had    three 
children.     JAMES    THOMAS   married 
Elizabeth  Atkinson.     They  had  two  child- 
ren,  LOUIE  and    MATTIE,  and    Mr.   Ban- 
died, March    13,   1875,  leaving  his  widow 
and   children    in    Rochester.     MARGA- 
RET   E.,   born    Oct.    16,    1846,    married 
Samuel   West.     See  his  name.     CHAS. 
E.  born  August  18,  1850,  married,  Dec.  2, 

1873,  to    Louisa    D.    West,   and    lives  in 
Rochester.     Daniel   Barr   and  wife   reside 
in  Rochester. 

JOHN P.,  born  Jan.  12,  1822,  in  San- 
gamon county,  was  married  Oct.  14,  1846, 
in  Green  county,  to  Maria  Lorton.  They 
had  three  children.  Their  second  child, 
SARAH  M.,  died  at  Mt.  Auburn  in  1854, 
in  her  fourth  year.  WILLIAM  K.  was 
born  Jan.  i,  1849,  and  married  August  27, 

1874,  to  Alice  Jernigan,  who  was  born  in 
Greenville,  Ky.,  and  resides  near  Virden, 
111.    JAMES  R.,  born  Aug.  10,  1859,  re- 
sides with  his  parents,  near  Virden,  111. 

JULIAN  F.,  born  Feb.  5,  1824,  in 
Sangamon  county,  was  married  Sept.  6, 

1845,  to  Abraham  E.  Nickolls.     He   had 
previously    been    married,    and     had    two 
children.     They   had  seven  children,  and  • 
Mrs.    Nickolls  "died,    Feb.    28,   1867,     Of 
their   children,  ANDREW   T.  resides  at 
Rochester,  111.     MARGARET  A.  mar- 
ried   William    Morgan,1  and    resides    near 
Mt.  Auburn.     EMILY  S.  married  John 
Shewmaker,   and    resides    near    Decatur. 
MARY  J.  married  William  Murphy,  and 
resides     at     Topeka,    Kansas.       ELIZA- 
BETH  A.   married   Wm.   Meek,  and  re- 
sides at  Central  City,  Colorado.    JAMES 
B.  and    ELVIRA    M.   reside  with   their 
father,  at  Kingsville,  Kansas. 


JANE  A.,  born  Oct.  6,  1826,  adjoin- 
ing Rochester  on  the  west.  She  was  mar- 
ried, Feb.  2,  1854,  to  John  Cassity,  who 
was  born  Jan.  12,  1821,  in  Bourbon  coun-  , 
ty,  Ky.,  and  came  to  Sangamon  county  in 
the  fall  of  1830.  They  had  five  children, 
three  of  whom  died  in  infancy.  WIL- 
LIAM, born  May  4,  1857,  and  FRANK, 
born  March  21,  1867,  reside  with  their 
parents,  in  Rochester,  within  200  yards  of 
where  Mrs.  Cassity  was  born. 

ARMIZA  T.,  born  Jan.  30, 1830,  in  San- 
gamon county,  was  married,  Mar.  10,  1853, 
to  John  S.  Highmore,  who  was  born  Sept. 
22,  1828,  in  Somersetshire,  England.  He 
came  to  America  in  1849,  and  to  Sanga- 
mon county  in  March,  1850.  They  had 
two  children.  LAURA,  born  Jan.  27, 
1854,  married  John  F.  Miller,  (see  his 
name^)  and  resides  in  Edinburg.  AR-* 
MIZA  resides  with  her  aunt,  Jane  A. 
Cassity,  who  brought  her  up.  Mrs. 
Highmore  died  August  27,  iS=;6,  and  Mr. 
Highmore  was  married  March,  1860,  to 
Mary  A.  Cloyd.  See  name  of  Cloyd. 
They  had  three  children,  and  Mrs.  H. 
died,  and  Mr.  Highmore  was  married  the 
third  time,  to  Mrs.  Mary  Price,  widow  of 
Dr.  Price,  who  was  born  in  Virginia. 
They  reside  in  Rochester.  He  has  been 
a  member  of  the  county  board  of  super- 
visors from  1863  to  1867,  and  from  1872 
to  1875. 

Mrs.  Margaret  Bowling  died  Nov.  14, 
1846,  and  James  Bowling  died  April  12, 
1853,  both  near  Rochester. 

BOYD,  JOHN,  was  born  Feb.  13, 
1777,  in  Pennsylvania,  and  went  to  Bote- 
tourt  county,  Va.,  when  a  young  man. 
Susannah  Hiner  was  born  Dec.  22,  1780, 
in  Botetourt  county,  Va.,  and  they  were 
there  married  June  26,  1802.  Two  child- 
ren were  born  in  Virginia,  and  they 
moved  to  Franklin  county,  O.,  about  1806, 
where  six  children  were  born.  The  fam- 
ily then  moved  to  Sangamon  county,  111., 
arriving  in  the  fall  of  1819  in  what  is  now 
Ball  township,  where  one  child  was  born. 
Mr.  Boyd  was  a  millwright,  and  his  ser- 
vices were  in  great  demand.  In  the  fall 
of  1830  he  was  at  work  on  a  mill  on  the 
Sangamon  river  north  of  Rochester, 
known  afterwards  as  Baker  and  Darling's 
mill.  Wishing  to  visit  his  family,  and 
having  some  business  at  Springfield,  he 
went  there  first,  and  then  started  home. 
A  heavy  sleet  was  falling  at  the  time, 


128 


EARLT  SETTLERS  OF 


which  proved  to  be  the  precursor  of  the 
deep  snow.  The  walking  was  laborious, 
and  the  next  day  his  body  was  found  by 
his  neighbor,  Christopher  Newcomer.  It 
was  six  miles  southeast  of  Springfield,  on 
what  is  now  the  farm  of  William  South- 
wick.  He  was  found  just  as  the  snow 
began  to  fall,  and  if  he  had  lain  another 
day  would  not  have  been  seen  until 
spring.  Of  his  children — 

HANNAH,  born  in  Botetourt  county, 
Va.,  was  married  in  Sangamon  county, 
111.,  to  John  Dillon.  They  botii  died  near 
the  town  of  Dillon,  in  Tazewell  county, 
leaving  six  children  residing  there.  JESSE 
went  to  Arkansas,  married  and  died  there. 
SUSANNAH  was  married  Aug.  24, 
1848,  to  Joseph  Meredith,  and  died  Dec. 
24,  1868,  in  Christian  county.  MARY 
•married  Timothy  Larramore,  and  resides 
near  Tremont,  Tazewell  county,  111. 
WILLIAM  died  in  Sangamon  county. 
JANE  resides  with  her  sister  Mary. 
DANIEL  served  four  years  in  an  Illinois 
regiment,  and  died  in  Tazewell  county. 
JOHN  married,  and  resides  in  Iroquois 
county,  111.  ISAAC  died  in  the  Union 
army. 

MARY,  born  Jan.  i,  1806,  in  Bote- 
tourt county,  Va.,  was  married  to  George 
Brunk.  See  his  name. 

JA  C  OB,  born  Oct.  30,  1 807,  near 
Columbus,  O.,  married  in  Sangamon 
county,  111.,  Sept  i,  1833,  to  Rebecca 
Royal.  They  had  nine  children  in  San- 
gamon county.  JOHN  T.,  born  in  1835, 
married  Sarah  E.  Clayton.  They  had 
two  children,  GEORGE  E.  and  EMERY  A., 
and  Mr.  B.  died  April  5,  1874,  in  Taylor- 
ville.  WILLIAM  H.,  born  May  i,  1837, 
was  married  March  31,  1859,  to  Mary  A. 
Vigal.  They  have  one  daughter,  FRAN- 
CES D.,  and  reside  in  Cotton  Hill  town- 
ship, between  Brush  and  Horse  creeks. 
GEORGE  B.,  born  Dec.  25,  1839,  enlist- 
ed Aug.,  1862,  in  Co.  E,  114  111.  Inf.,  for 
three  years;  served  full  time,  and  was 
honorably  discharged  at  Springfield.  He 
married  Harriet  Williams.  They  have 
three  children,  CLARENCE  E.,  SUSAN  R. 
and  PHCKBE  c.,  and  reside  in  Cotton  Hill 
township.  MARY  married  Alonzo 
Sparks.  They  have  two  children,  MAUD 
and  RAY,  and  reside  near  Girard,  Kan. 
SUSAN  married  Harvey  Alexander. 
They  have  four  children,  CHARLES  M., 
JACOB  w.,  LULIE  M.,  and  HATTIE  E.,  and 


reside  near  Girard,  Kan.  JAMES  O. 
served  in  Co.  I,  7th  111.  Inf.,  from  Feb., 
1865,  to  the  close  of  the  rebellion.  He 
married  Marietta  Reed.  They  had  two 
children,  REBECCA  j.  and  JESSE  M.,  and 
reside  in  Cotton  Hill  township.  SARAH 
J.  married  Elijah  D.  Lawley.  See  his 
name.  They  have  two  children,  LOUIS  E. 
and  FREDERICK  G.  DAVIS  O.  married 
Sarah  A.  Campbell.  They  have  two 
children,  OLIVE  and  CLARA  A.,  and  reside 
in  Cotton  Hill  township.  VINCENT 
C.  died  Aug.  22,  1871,  in  his  eighteenth 
year.  Jacob  Boyd  and  his  wife  reside  in 
Cotton  Hill  township. 

THOMAS,  born  Oct.  25,  1809,  was 
married,  and  resided  in  St.  Louis  at  the 
close  of  the  rebellion.  He  died  about  1869. 

JOHN,  born  Aug.  5,  1811,  in  Ohio, 
married  in  Iowa  to  Elizabeth  Dyer.  They 
reside  near  Ozark,  Jackson  county,  Iowa. 
He  was  a  soldier  from  Sangamon  county 
in  the  Black  Hawk  war,  and  served  in  an 
Iowa  regiment  during  the  rebellion. 

BENJAMlN&\z&  in  his  ninth  year. 

JOSEPH,  born  April  i,  1816,  in 
Ohio,  brought  up  in  Sangamon  county, 
was  married  in  Iowa  to  Anna  Ray.  He 
enlisted  in  an  Iowa  regiment,  and  died  at 
Louisville,  Ky.,  leaving  a  widow  and 
three  children  near  Ozark,  Iowa. 

CA  THARINE,  born  Oct.  26,  1818, 
in  Ohio,  died  in  Sangamon  county,  aged 
seventeen  years. 

SAMUEL,t\)oi-n  Aug.  25,  1823,  in 
Sangamon  county,  died  in  his  seventeenth 
year. 

Mrs.  Susannah  Boyd  died  Aug.  9,  1848, 
in  Sangamon  county. 

BOYER,  WILLIAM  T.,  was 
born  April  4,  1817,  in  Adair  county,  Ky. 
Sarah  A.Jackson  was  born  Dec.  7,  1820, 
in  the  same  county.  They  were  married 
Oct.  24,  1839,  near  Franklin,  Morgan 
county,  111.  They  had  one  child  in  Mor- 
gan county,  and  moved  to  what  is  now 
New  Berlin  township,  arriving  in  1840. 
They  had  ten  children  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty. Four  of  their  children  died  under  ten 
years.  Of  the  other  six  children — 

SARAH  A.,  born  Oct.  19,  1843,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  March  14, 
1867,  to  John  Mitchell.  They  had  four 
children,  EMMA  M.  and  LAURA  A. 
died  under  five  years.  RHODA  E.  and 
ANNIE,  and  reside  in  Talkington  town- 
ship, seven  miles  west  of  Auburn. 


SANGAMON  COUNTT. 


129 


]\IART  F.,  born  Sept.  8,  1845,  in  San- 
gamon  county,  married,  March  30,  1863, 
to  John  H.  Cox.  They  have  three  child- 
ren, WILLIAM  H.,  GEORGE  W.  and 
CHARLEY,  and  reside  near  Franklin, 
Morgan  county. 

WILLIAM  A.,  born  Dec.  5,  1849,  re- 
sides  with  his  parents. 

ELIZA  J.,  born  March  H,  1851, 
married  William  A.  Young,  Nov.  u, 
1869,  have  one  child,  IN  A,  and  reside  in 
Talkington  township,  six  and  a  quarter 
miles  west  of  Auburn. 

ANNIE  M.  and 

JACOB  C.  reside  with  their  parents, 
six  miles  southwest  of  Loami. 

BOZARTH,  WILLIAM  H., 
was  born  about  1796,  in  Grayson  county, 
Ky.  Elizabeth  Stewart  was  born  in  1797, 
in  the  same  county,  and  they  were  there 
married  in  1819.  They  had  four  children 
born  in  Kentucky,  and  moved  to  Sanga- 
mon  county,  111.,  in  Oct.,  1825,  on  Spring 
creek,  west  of  Springfield  about  two  and 
a  half  miles.  Mr.  Bozarth  was  killed  by 
a  fall  from  a  horse  in  December  follow- 
ing, only  two  months  after  coming  to  the 
county.  His  widow  returned  to  Ken- 
tucky, was  there  married  to  Rawley  Mar- 
tin, returned  to  Sangamon  county  in  the 
fall  of  1830,  and  settled  on  .Lick  creek. 
In  1840  Mr.  .Martin  moved  to  Warren 
county,  lo.wa.  Of  the  four  Bozarth 
children — 

HIGGJNSONmi\\-r\e&  Mary  Bozarth, 
in  Grayson  county,  Ky.,  and  remained 
there. 

OLVER  H.  P.  married  Elizabeth 
Brooks,  and  resides  in  Grayson  county, 
Ky. 

ELI  L.,  born  in  Grayson  county,  Ky., 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  Artelia 
Peddicord.  They  had  five  children.  AR- 
MINDA  and  MINERVA  P.  died  young. 
Eli  L.  Bozarth  died  Oct.  29,  1868.  His 
son,  WILLIAM  W.,  was  drowned  in 
Sugar  creek,  April  21,  1869.  The  other 
two  children,  VIOLA  E.  and  PHCEBE, 
reside  with  their  mother  at  the  house  of 
her  father,  Jonathan  Peddecord,  in  Ball 
township. 

ISAA  C  H.,  born  in  Grayson  county, 
Ky,,  married  Rhoda  Seybold,  and  resides 
at  Blandinville,  McDonough  county. 

BRADFORD,  JAMES  M., 
was  born  Sept.  28,  1795,  in  Culpepper 
county,  Va.  His  parents  moved  to  Scott 

— '7 


county,  Ky.,  when  he  was  twelve  years 
old.  His  commencement  in  business  was 
trading  down  the  Ohio  and  Mississippi 
rivers.  He  was  married  July  4,  1820,  at 
Port  Gibson,  Miss.,  to  Ann  E.  Barnes, 
who  was  born  Sept.  10,  1802,  in  North 
Carolina,  and  in  1807  was  taken  by  her 
parents  to  Mississippi,  where  they  settled. 
She  was  educated  at  Port  Gibson  in  a 
French  Catholic  convent.  After  a  resi- 
dence of  three  years  there,  they  moved  to 
Scott  county,  Ky.,  where  they  remained 
one  year,  and  moved  to  Franklin  county, 
near  Frankfort,  and  within  three  miles  of 
Dick  Johnson's  Indian  school.  They  had 
four  children  in  Kentucky,  and  moved  to 
Sangamon  county,  111.,  arriving  in  the  fall 
of  1834,  in  what  is  now  Gardner  town- 
ship. Of  their  four  children — 

THOMAS  A.,  born  August  2,  1821, 
at  Port  Gibson,  Miss.,  brought  by  his  par- 
ents to  Sangamon  county,  was  educated  at 
McKendree  College,  Lebanon,  111.,  grad- 
uated at  that  institution,  and  was  mar- 
ried in  Lebanon  to  Jane  Baker.  He  went 
to  Missouri  and  there  enlisted  in  Co.  B., 
Col.  Doniphan's  regiment,  and  marched 
overland  to  Mexico,  in  1846.  Col.  Doni- 
phan  had  orders,  on  arriving  at  Chihuahua, 
to  report  to  Gen.  Wool.  He  was  unable 
to  learn  the  whereabouts  of  Gen.  Wool, 
and  Thomas  A.  Bradford  was  one  of  six 
men  who  volunteered  to  carry  through  the 
dispatches,  which  they  delivered  to  Gen. 
Wool  at  Saltillo,  having  gone  the  distance 
of  three  hundred  miles,  through  an  ene- 
my's country,  without  the  loss  of  a  man. 
He  was,  with  John  Calhoun,  engaged  in 
the  survey  of  public  lands  for  the  U.  S. 
Government,  and  died  Dec.  25,  1856,  near 
Wyandotte,  Kan.,  his  wife  and  only  child 
having  died  before. 

ELIZABETH  E.,  born  July  31, 
1823,  in  Scott  county,  Ky.,  was  married 
in  Sangamon  county,  May  24,  1840,  to 
David  Madison.  He  died  two  years  later, 
leaving  a  son,  JAMES  B.,  who  died  at 
fourteen  years  of  age.  Mrs.  Madison  re- 
sides near  Bradfordton,  Sangamon  county. 

SUSAN,  born  May  25,  1825,  in  Ken- 
tucky, married  June  n,  1858,  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  to  William  G.  Hawkins, 
who  was  born  Sept.  14,  1827,  in  Boone 
county,  Ky.,  but  resided  in  St.  Louis  at 
the  time  of  his  marriage.  They  live  in 
Sangamon  county. 


130 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


MARTHA  A.,  born  May  26,  1832,  in 
Kentucky,  died  while  attending  school  in 
Springfield,  August,  1848.  Mrs.  Ann  E. 
Bradford  died  in  Sangamon  county,  July 
8,  1835,  and  James  M.  Bradford  was  mar- 
ried, Dec.  27,  1836,  to  Arsenath  Talbott. 
They  had  six  children  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, one  of  whom  died  in  infancy.  Of  the 
other  five  children — 

WILLIAM  T.,  born  June  S,  1838, 
was  married  Oct.  i,  1861,  to  Grizella  A. 
Parkinson.  They  had  six  children.  The 
eldest,  JAMES,  and  the  fifth  one,  SUE 
H.,  died  under  three  years.  ELIZA- 
BETH A.,  THOMAS  P.,  LAURA  M. 
and  WILLIAM  A.,  reside  with  their  par- 
ents, in  Gardner  township. 

HARRIET  E.,  born  Feb.  3,  1841, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  Hiram  E. 
Gardner.  See  his  name, 

ISABELLA  M.  resides  with  her 
mother  in  Springfield. 

SARAH  y.,  born  Nov.  3,  1845,  mar- 
ried William  H.  Parkinson.  See  his 
name. 

EDWARD  T.,  born  May  19,  1850, 
was  married,  Feb.  17,  1870,  to  Carrie  M. 
VanPatten.  They  have  one  child,  ED- 
WARD M.,  and  reside  at  Bradfordton. 
James  M.  Bradford  died  March  3,  1852, 
and  his  widow  resided  on  the  farm  which 
has  become  Bi'adfordton,  on  the  Ohio  and 
Mississippi  railroad,  until  April,  1874,  when 
she  moved  to  Springfield,  and  lives  on  north 
fifth  street.  James  M.  Bradford  was  a 
soldier  in  the  war  of  1812,  from  Scott 
county,  Ky.  He  served  one  term  in  the 
General  Assembly  of  Illinois,  elected  in 
the  fall  of  1840. 

BRADFORD,  JOHN  S.,  was 
born  June  9,  1815,  in  Philadelphia,  Pa.  His 
father  was  a  native  of  Delaware,  and  died 
in  Philadelphia  in  1816.  John  S.  learned 
the  trade  of  a  book-binder  in  his  native 
city,  and  in  1835  started  on  foot  for  the 
City  of  Mexico.  He  walked  to  Pitts- 
burg,  thence  to  Cincinnati  by  steamboat, 
from  there  to  Dayton,  O.,  and  Rich- 
mond, Incl.,  working  at  his  trade  in  all 
the  places  he  passed  through.  At  Rich- 
mond he  was  induced,  in  1837,  to  join  a 
corps  of  United  States  engineers  who 
were  then  engaged  in  constructing  what 
was  called  the  National  Road.  It  was  a 
wagon  road,  built  at  the  expense  of  the 
United  •  States  government.  The  law 
authorizing  its  construction  was  enacted 


when  the  Democratic  party  was  in  power, 
with  one  of  its  cardinal  tenets:  opposition 
to  all  internal  improvements  by  the  gov- 
ernment; but  President  Jackson  favored 
this  because  it  was  a  military  necessity. 
The  road  commenced  at  Cumberland, 
Md.,  crossed  the  Ohio  river  at  Steuben- 
ville,  passed  through  Columbus,  O.,  Rich- 
mond, Indianapolis  and  Terre  Haute,  Ind., 
thence  to  Vandalia,  111.  At  the  latter 
point  a  determined  contest  arose  between 
the  people  of  the  States  of  Illinois  and 
Missouri,  whether  the  point  for  crossing 
the  Mississippi  river  should  be  Alton  or 
St.  Louis,  the  contestants  fully  believing 
that  the  future  great  city  of  the  Mississippi 
valley  depended  on  the  decision  of  that 
question.  Before  it  was  settled  the  public 
mind  became  interested  in  railroads,  and 
the  National  Road  ended  at  Vandalia.  The 
corps  of  engineers  disbanded  at  the  latter 
point.  The  State  capital  was  then  in 
transit  from  Vandalia  to  Springfield,  and 
Mr.  Bradford  came  here,  arriving  Decem- 
ber,' 1840.  In  the  spring  of  1841  he 
bought  the  interest  of  Mr.  Burchell  in  the 
book-bindery  of  Burchell  and  Johnson, 
and  became  one  of  the  firm  of  Johnson 
and  Bradford. 

John  S.  Bradford  was  married  July  15, 
1841,  in  Brandenburg,  Ky.,  to  Adaline  M. 
Semple,  who  was  born  O.ct.,  1817,  in 
Cumberland  county,  Ky.  He.r  brother, 
Hon.  James  Semple,  was  at  that  time 
Charge  de  Affaires  to  New  Grenada, 
afterwards  United  States  Senator  from 
Illinois,  and  still  later  one  of  the  Judges 
of  the  Supreme  Court  of  the  State. 

Soon  after  coming  to  Springfield,  J.  S. 
Bradford  became  Lieutenant  in  the 
"  Springfield  Cadets. "  They  were  or- 
dered to  Nauvoo  by  Gov.  Ford  in  1845, 
serving  two  months  in  the  "  Mormon 
war.  "  In  1846  Mr.  Bradford  enlisted  in 
Co.  A,  4th  111.  Inf.,  under  Col.  E.  D. 
Baker,  and  was  appointed  Quartermaster 
by  Gov.  Ford.  As  such  he  accompanied 
the  regiment  to  Mexico,  where  he  started 
to  go  twelve  years  before  with  a  book- 
binder's outfit.  After  his  arrival  in  Mex- 
ico he  was  commissioned  as  commissary  in 
the  United  States  army.  He  was  at  the 
bombardment  and  capture  of  Vera  Cruz, 
battle  of  Cerro  Gordo  and  others,  return- 
ing with  the  regiment  to  Springfield  in 
1847.  The  result  of  that  war  securing  to 
us  California  and  the  discovery  of  gold, 


SAN  GAM  ON  COUNTY. 


'3' 


Mr.  Bradford  started  from  Springfield 
Jan.  i,  1849,  by  the  Isthmus  of  Panama 
to  California,  and  was  eighty-seven  days 
on  the  Pacific  ocean,  reaching  San  Fran- 
cisco May  20,  1849.  He  made  Benicia 
his  headquarters,  and  when  the  military 
commander  of  the  department-  of  the 
Pacific  ordered  a  government  to  be 
formed  for  a  new  State,  Mr.  Bradford 
was  elected  to  represent  the  district  bound- 
ed by  Oregon  on  the  north,  Sacramento 
river  on  the  east,  Bay  of  San  Francisco 
on  the  south,  and  the  Pacific  ocean 
on  the  west.  That  Legislature  organized 
the  State  without  ever  having  gone 
through  a  territorial  probation,  and  divided 
it  into  counties.  Mr.  Bradford  was  elected 
in  1850  to  represent  a  district  composed 
of  the  five  counties  of  Solano,  Napa, 
Sonoma,  Mendocino  and  Marin,  being 
a  portion  of  the  district  he  represented 
in  the  first  Legislature.  His  family  re- 
sided in  Springfield,  and  he  retained 
his  business  relations  with  Mr.  John- 
son also.  He  returned  to  Springfield 
in  1851,  and  since  that  has  served  the 
county  of  Sangamon,  in  1857,  as  Superin- 
tendent of  Public  Instruction ;  was  one  of 
the  Commissioners  to  divide  the  county 
into  townships  and  name  them,  served  the 
city  of  Springfield  as  Treasurer,  Alder- 
man and  Mayor.  When  Illinois  was 
calied  on  for  6,000  of  the  75,000  men  to 
meet  the  rebels,  Mr.  Bradford  was  ap- 
pointed by  Gov.  Yates  as  commissary, 
with  the  rank  of  Lieutenant- Colonel,  his 
commission  bearing  date  April  16,  1861, 
being  the  first  commission  issued  by  Gov. 
Yates  in  connection  with  the  war  to  sup- 
press the  rebellion.  He  prepared  quarters 
for  the  first  soldiers  rendezvoused  by  the 
State,  and  called  it  Camp  Yates. 

J.  S.  Bradford  severed  his  connection 
with  the  firm  of  Johnson  &  Bradford  in 
1869,  and  opened  a  book  store  in  Spring- 
field, which  he  sold  out  in  1873,  and 
moved  to  Aberdeen,  Miss.,  returning  to 
Springfield  in  Nov.,  1875,  where  he  now 
resides. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Bradford  had  seven  child- 
ren in  Springfield,  namely — 

WILLIAM,  resides  at  Lake  Station, 
Newton  county,  Miss. 

OSCAR,  born  Sept.  28,  1845,  m 
Springfield,  was  married  in  1871,  in 
Owensboro,  Ky.,  to  Mary  Crutcher.  They 
reside  in  St.  Louis,  Mo. 


SUSAN  A.  resides  with  her  parents, 
in  Springfield. 

EUGENE  S.  resides  in  St.  Louis, 
Mo. 

JOHN,  ANTRIM  C.  and  DON- 
ALD, reside  with  their  parents  in  Spring- 
field. 

BRADLEY,  TERRY,  was  born 
in  Rutherford  county,  North  Carolina, 
and  married  there  to  Chloe  Elliott,  a  sis- 
ter to  Andrew  Elliott.  See  his  name. 
They  had  eleven  children  born  in  Ruther- 
ford county,  N.  C.,  and  moved  to  Sanga- 
mon county,  111.,  arriving  in  what  is  now 
Gardner  township,  south  of  Spring  creek, 
in  1834.  Of  their  children — 

SIMMONS,  born  March  3,  1811, 
in  North  Carolina,  married  March  28, 

1839,  in  Sangamon  county,  to  Jane  Doug- 
las.    They   had   six    children;  three  died 
young.      WILLIAM    H.,   born    Jan.    5, 

1840,  married    March   6,   1862,  to   Mary 
Rannebarger,  who  was  born  Jan.  13,1842, 
near    Columbus,    O.       They    had    three 
children.     ELLA  j.  died,  aged  two  years. 
EDWARD   E.  and  LOTTIE    B.    reside  with 
their  parents,  seven  miles  west  of  Spring- 
field.     THOMAS    LEVI   and    JOHN 
ELI,     twins,      born      Nov.    22,       1842. 
THOMAS  L.,  married  Nov.  24,  1864,  to 
Hannah  J.  Smith,  have  two  children,  and 
reside  in   Curran  township.    JOHN    E., 
married  July  9,  1868,  to  Nancy  A.  Sims, 
had  one    child,  HIRAM   j.,  and  she    died 
April,   1869.     He   was   married  Dec.    16, 
1869,  to  Sarah  O'Hara,  and  reside  at  Phil- 
adelphia,   Cass    county,    111.       Simmons 
Bradley  died  Nov.  18,  1866,  and  his  wid- 
ow resides  seven   miles  west  of  Spring- 
field. 

WILLIAM,  born  March  26,  1812,  in 
Rutherford  county,  N.  C.,  and  came  with 
his  parents  to  Sangamon  county  in  1834. 
He  was  married  Aug.,  1846,  in  Jasper 
county,  Mo.,  to  Elizabeth  Ragan,  a  native 
of  Kentucky.  They  came  to  Sangamon 
county  and  had  six  children,  one  of  whom 
died  young.  In  1857  they  returned  to 
Missouri,  where  two  children  were  born. 
Of  the  seven  children,  three  are  married ; 
MOLLIE,  the  third  child,  born  in  Sanga- 
mon courrty,  and  married  in  Missouri, 
July  4,  1875,  to  J.  J.  Gates,  a  native  of 
Pike  county,  111.  William  Bradley  died 
Dec.  13,  1875.  His  widow  and  seven 
children,  married  and  unmarried,  reside 
near  Carthage,  Jasper  county,  Mo. 


EARLT  SETTLERS  OF 


SARAH,  born  in  North  Carolina, 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  Caleb 
Darden.  They  had  three  children.  Their 
son  THOMAS  was  a  soldier  in  an  Illinois 
regiment,  and  died  at  Memphis,  Tenn. 
The  entire  family  are  dead. 

WINNIE,  born  in  North  Carolina, 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  William 
Brundage.  They  had  three  children,  and 
moved  to  Dallas  county,  Tex.,  in  1854. 

RICHARD,  born  in  Rutherford  coun- 
ty, N.  C.,  came  with  his  parents  to  San- 
gamon county,  was  married  about  1844  *° 
Mary  A.  Baldwin.  They  had  four  child- 
ren born  in  Sangamon  county.  Mrs.  B. 
died  Sept.  10,  1852,  and  the  youngest  child 
died  soon  after.  Mr.  B.  moved  in  the  fall 
of  1866,  with  his  three  children,  to  Kan- 
sas. Of  his  children,  RICHARD  J.,  born 
Dec.  8,  1845,  m  Sangamon  county; 
SARAH  C.,  born  Feb.  9,  1848,  in  San- 
gamon county,  married  in  1870,  in  Kan- 
sas, to  Franklin  Campbell,  and  has  one 
child,  MARY  E.  WILLIAM  B.,  born  in 
Sangamon  county.  Richard  Bradley  and 
his  three  children  reside  near  Fredonia, 
Wilson  county,  Kan. 

JONATHAN,  born  in  North  Caro- 
lina, raised  in  Sangamon  county,  went  to 
Texas,  was  pressed  into  the  rebel  service, 
and  died  there. 

MELINDA,  born  in  North  Carolina, 
and  died  in  Sangamon  county  at  26  or  '7 
years  of  age. 

RHODA,  born  in  North  Carolina, 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  John 
Brundage,  moved  to  Texas  and  died  there, 
leaving  two  children,  who  reside  in  Kan- 
sas. 

ELIZABETH,  born  in  North  Caro- 
lina, married  in  Sangamon  county  to 
Abraham  Duff,  son  ot  Charles  Duff,  re- 
sides since  1866  near  Neodesha,  Wilson 
county,  Kan. 

LEADBETTER,  born  March  17, 
.  1826,  in  Rutherford  county,  N.  C.,  came 
with  his  parents  in  1834  to  Sangamon 
county,  married  April  22,  1856,10  Martha 
J.  Archer.  They  have  seven  children, 
BENNETT  C.,  ANNA,  ELIZABETH, 
LOUIE,  WALTER  L.,LAURIETTA 
and  JACKSON,  and  reside  four  and  a 
half  miles  west  of  Springfield,  on  the 
farm  settled  by  his  father  in  1834. 

MTRA,  born  in  North  Carolina,  mar- 
ried in  Sang'amon  county  to  William 


King,  who  died,  and  she  married  Henrv 
Morgan.  See  his  name. 

Terry  Bradley  died  in  1835,  and  Mrs. 
Chloe  Bradley  died  July  20,  1865,  both  in 
Sangamon  county. 

BRANCH,  EDWARD,  was 
born  Dec.,  1795,  in  Virginia,  and  when  he 
was  a  child  his  parents  moved  to  that  part 
of  Bourbon,  which  afterwards  became 
Nicholas,  county,  Ky.  He  was  there 
married  Dec.  2,  1818,  to  Rebecca  Cassity. 
They  had  four  children  in  Kentucky,  and 
the  family  moved  to  Sangamon  county, 
111.,  arriving  late  in  Oct.,  1830,  in  what  is 
now  Rochester  township,  where  they  had 
two  children.  Of  their  six  children — 

ZERELDA  E.,  born  Nov.  19,  1821, 
in  Nicholas  county,  Ky.,  married  in  San- 
gamon county  May  16,  1839,  to  Joel  Can- 
trill.  See  his  name. 

MARY  J.,  born  April  22,  1824,  in 
Kentucky,  married  in  Sangamon  county 
to  Robert  Archer,  son  of  Moses.  See 
his  name.  He  died  April,  1872,  leaving  a 
widow  and  three  daughters  near  Grove 
City,  Christian  county. 

HONOR  A.,  born  March  24,  1827,  in 
Nicholas  county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county  to  William  A.  Whitesides: 
See  his  name. 

ELIZABETH  A.,  born  Jan.  9,  1830, 
in  Nicholas  county,  Ky.,  married  in  San- 
gamon county,  Sept.  25,  1848,  to  Joshua 
Graham.  See  his  name. 

LOUISIANA,  born  July  16,  1832,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Joseph  Miller. 
See  his  name. 

WILLIAM,  born  Feb.  28,  1835,  in 
Sangamon  county,  died  April  2,  1845. 

Edward  Branch  died  Aug.  i,  1835,  and 
his  widow  resides  with  her  daughter  and 
son-in-law,  Wm.  A.  Whitesides. 

BRANSON,  JOHN,  was  born 
Jan.  12,  1 764,  in  North  Carolina.  He  em- 
igrated, when  a  young  man^to  the  vicinity 
of  Charleston,  S.  C.,  and  married  Sarah 
Jones.  They  had  six  children  in  South 
•Carolina,  and  moved  to  Ross  county,  O. 
From  there  to  the  vicinity  of  Xenia, 
Green  county,  Ohio,  before  the  Indians 
had  entirely  left.  They  had  five  children 
there.  Some  of  the  elder  children  mar- 
ried and  remained  in  Ohio,  but  Mr.  Bran- 
son with  the  younger  members  of  his  fam- 
ily, moved  to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  ar- 
riving Oct.,  1822,  in  what  is  now  Fancy 
Creek  township.  Of  all  his  children — 


SAN  GAM  ON    COUNT?. 


ELI,  born  in  South  Carolina,  married 
three  times,  died,  leaving  a  family  in  Ful- 
ton county.  His  son,  CALVIN,  resides 
near  Ipava,  Fulton  county. 

ANDRE  W,  born  in  South  Carolina, 
and  married  Susannah  Wilkinson.  They 
both  died,  leaving  several  children  near 
Athens,  Illinois. 

WILLIAM,  born  Jan.  9,  1791,  in 
North  Carolina,  and  was  taken  by  his  par- 
ents to  South  Carolina,  in  1793.  In  1811 
the  family  moved  to  Chilicothe,  Ohio, 
where  he  was  married  to  Sally  M.  Graves, 
in  1815.  He  moved  to  Indiana,  and  from 
there  to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  about  the 
time  his  father  came ;  moved  to  Galena, 
and  from  there  to  DeWitt  county,  111. 
They  had  seven  children,  and  Mrs.  Sally 
M.  Branson  died  May  10, 1840,  in  DeWitt 
county.  In  December,  1840,  he  was  mar- 
ried to  Martha  Cooper^  in  Sangamon 
county.  In  March,  1847,  he  moved  to 
Sangamon  county,  and  March  28,  1848, 
he  started  overland  with  his  family  and 
arrived  Sept.  15,  1848,  in  Polk  county, 
Oregon.  He  had  eight  children  by  the 
second  marriage.  He  died  Nov.  16,  1860. 
His  widow  married  Michael  Shelley,  and 
dfed  Dec.  24,  1868,  near  Independence, 
Polk  county,  Oregon.  Nearly  all  the  de- 
scendents  of  William  Branson  reside  in 
the  vicinity  of  Sheridan,  Yamhill  county, 
Oregon.  His  son,  B.  B.  BRANSON, 
Jun.,  born  Sept.  4,  1830,  went  with  his 
father  to  Oregon,  in  1848,  married  there, 
Sept.  15,  1854,  to  Eliza'  E.  Dickey,  who 
was  born  Jan.  19,  1834,  in  Tenn.  They 
have  eight  living  children.  SARAH  A., 
born  July  3,  1855,  married  Nov.  6,  1873, 
to  C.  O.  Burgess,  and  resides  near  Sheri- 
dan. JOSEPHINE,  ELIZA  JANE,  EPHRIAM 

N.,  ELNORA  SHERMAN,  LAURA   V.,  IDA    M. 

and  ORLEY  R.  reside  with  their  parents, 
near  Sheridan,  Yamhill  county,  Oregon. 

CA  THARINE,  born  in  South  Caro- 
lina, married  in  Green  county,  Ohio,  to 
Frederick  Stipp.  They  came  to  Sanga- 
mon county,  and  two  of  their  daughters 
reside  in  Springfield,  namely:  Mrs.  Wood 
and  Mrs.  Moody.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Stipp 
died  several  years  since. 

KEZIAH,  born  in  South  Carolina, 
married  in  Green  county,  Ohio,  to  Jesse 
Sutton.  They  came  to  Sangamon  county 
in  1823,  moved  to  Iowa,  and  both  died, 
leaving  several  children  in  VanBuren 
county,  Iowa. 


JOHN,  Jun.,  born  Oct.  15,  1795,  near 
Charleston,  S.  C.  He  was  a  teamster 
from  Ohio  during  the  war  of  1812,  and 
has  a  crippled  hand  from  an  injury  re 
ceived  while  on  duty.  He  was  married, 
Sept.  12,  1817,  in  Clarke  county,  Ohio,  to 
Ann  Cantrall,  daughter  of  Zebulon  Can- 
trail,  who  was  a  brother  of  William  G., 
Levi  and  Wyatt.  They  had  one  child, 
ZEBULON,  born  June  20, 1818,  in  Clarke 
county,  Ohio,  married  August,  1840,  in 
Sangamon  county,  to  Rachel  Braugher, 
and  soon  after  moved  to  Fulton  county, 
where  five  children  were  born,  namely: 

EMILY,     CAROLINE,    ISAAC,     MARION    and 

ZEBULON,  jun.  Zebulon  Branson  enlisted 
in  the  K>3d  111.  Inf.  for  three  yeare,  in 
1862.  He  was  ist  Lieut.,  and  was  killed 
June  27, 1864,  while  leading  his  company 
in  a  charge  on  the  rebel  fortifications  at 
Kennesaw  Mountain.  His  family  reside 
near  Ipava,  Fulton  county.  Mrs.  Ann 
Branson  died,  and  JOHN  Branson  was 
married,  Sept.  12,  1822,  in  Champaign 
county,  Ohio,  to  Miriam  Thomas.  They 
had  five  children,  namely:  THOMAS 
and  CATHATINE,  twins,  born  Dec.  i, 
1823;  THOMAS  married,  Feb.  4,1847, 
to  Eliza  C.  Kiger,  who  was  born  March 
13,  1830,  in  Winchester,  Va.  They  had 
three  children.  MARIA  T.  died,  aged  ten 
years.  CATHARINE  w.,  born  May  25, 
1850,  married  March  25,  1869,  to  Thomas 
Neal.  They  had  three  children,  namely : 
Charles  TV.,  died  in  infancy ;  Thomas  and 
Coke  reside  with  their  parents,  in  Mitchel 
county,  near  Cawker  City,  Kansas. 
CHARLES,  born  March  n,  1852,  re- 
sides with  his  mother.  Thomas  Branson 
died  March  5,  1864,  and  his  widow  resides 
eight  miles  northwest  of  Springfield. 
CATHARINE,  the  other  twin,  married 
Rev.  Hardin  Wallace.  They  have  two 
children,  namely:  Mrs.  E.  M.  Sharp,  of 
Mason  City,  111.,  and  Mrs.  Carlton  Gatton, 
of  Middletown,  111.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wal- 
lace reside  at  Bath,  Mason  county,  111. 
CAROLINE  married  Giles  Woods. 
They  have  seven  children,  and  reside  near 
Waverly.  MARIA  married  Samuel  C. 
Woods.  They  have  one  child  living,  and 
Mrs.  W.  died,  August  20,  1875.  Mr. 
Woods  resides  near  Waverly.  EMILY 
married  Rev.  Joseph  H.  Hopkins.  Thev 
had  one  child,  and  mother  and  child  died 
in  1848,  at  Whitehall,  111.  Mrs.  Miriam 
Branson  died,  and  John  Branson  married, 


'34 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


Nov.  8,  1840,  to  Mrs.  Mary  Humphreys, 
whose  maiden  name  was  McKinnie. 
They  had  two  children.  MINNIE  mar- 
ried George  P.  Brahm.  They  had  one 
son  CLAUDE,  and  Mrs.  B.  died,  May  17, 
1872.  Mr.  Brahm,  with  his  son,  resides 
at  Kinney,  Logan  county,  111.  JOHN  L. 
enlisted  in  1862,  for  three  years,  in  the  I3th 
111.  Inf.  Served  about  one  year,  and  was 
discharged  on  account  of  physical  disabil- 
ity. He  married  Nellie  Cain.  John 
Branson  and  wife  reside  one  and  a  half 
miles  northwest  of  Salisbury.  He  is  in 
his  eighty-first  year. 

THOMAS,  born  Feb.,  1798,  in  South 
Carolina,  was  married  Aug.  12,  1829,  in 
Cla*k  county,  O.,  to  Eleanor  Thomas,  and 
came  to  Sangamon  county  with  his  father 
in  1822.  They  had  three  children,  and 
Mrs.  B,  died  in  Sangamon  county  Jan  24, 
1840.  Thomas  Branson  married  Louisa 
Cole.  They  had  five  children,  and  in 
1857  moved  to  Texas.  Of  Mr.  B.'s 
children  by  the  first  marriage,  ADA- 
LINE,  born  Oct.  9,  1833,  was  married 
Oct.  3,  1849,  to  W.  S.  Dunham,  of 
Waynesville,  DeWitt  county,  111.,  where 
she  died  May  29,  1852.  ALIDA,  born 
Sept.  21,  1837,  in  Sangamon  county,  111., 
is  unmarried,  and  resides  in  Mansfield, 
Texas.  REBECCA,  born  Nov.  30, 1839, 
in  Saugamon  county,  married  Lieut. 
Frank  King,  U.  S.  A.,  in  Dallas  county, 
Texas,  Oct.  14,  1-862.  Lieut.  King  was 
killed  in  Louisiana,  May  8,  1864.  Mrs. 
King  was  married  Nov.  2,  1865,  to  Rev. 
D.  D.  Leech,  in  Dallas  county,  Texas, 
and  she  died  Aug.  23,  1866,  in  Ellis  coun- 
ty, Texas,  leaving  one  child,  FRANK  K., 
born  Aug.  22,  1866,  in  Ellis  county,  and 
resides  with  his  aunt  Alida,  in  Tarrant 
county,  Texas. 

Of  the  children  of  the  second  marriage, 
ELEANOR,  born  March  10,  1842,  was 
married  Dec.  24,  1862,  to  Samuel  Uhl,  of 
the  1 2th  Texan  Dragoons.  They  have  five 
children,  viz:  SUE  E.,  ADDIE  c.,  LOUISA, 
CHARLES  and  ALMA,  and  reside  in  Dallas 
county.  Texas.  EMILY,  born  May  21, 
1844,  in  Sangamon  county,  married  April 
10,  1867,  to  Thomas  Uhl,  in  Dallas  coun- 
ty, Texas.  They  have  one  child,  WIL- 
LIAM s.,  and  reside  in  Dallas  county. 
THOMAS  C.,  born  April  27,  1848,  in 
Sangamon  county,  111.,  was  married  July 
i,  1875,  to  Virginia  Hill,  in  Dallas  county, 
where  they  now  reside.  BENJAMIN 


L.,  born  Oct.  7,  1850,  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, is  unmarried,  and  resides  in  Lancaster, 
Dallas  county,  Texas.  AUGUSTA,  born 
June  13,  1853,  in  Sangamon  county,  mar- 
ried Aug.  24,  1873,  to  F.  Fox,  and  resides 
in  Slate  Spring,  Miss.  Thomas  Branson 
died  Oct.  21,  1864,  and  Mrs.  Louisa  Bran- 
son died  July  5,  1865,  both  near  Lancaster, 
Dallas  county,  Texas. 

MART,  born  in  Green  county,  O., 
married  in  Sangamon  county,  111.,  Sept. 
23,  1824,  to  Abraham  Onstott.  They 
have  five  children.  Mrs.  Onstott  died 
June,  1875.  The  family  reside  in  Clinton, 
BeWitt  county. 

REBECCA,  born  in  Ohio,  married 
Elijah  Harper,  and  died,  leaving  several 
children  in  Clark  county  O. 

BENJAMIN  B.,  born  Feb.,  1810,  in 
Ross  county,  O.,  married  in  Mechanics- 
burg,  Sangamon  county,  111.,  May,  1837, 
to  Mary  Thompson.  They  have  two 
children,  viz:  HENRIETTA, born  Aug. 
27,  1839,  on  Fancy  creek,  Sangamon 
county,  married  in  Mechanicsburg,  Aug. 
27,  1 86 1,  to  A.  G.  Barnes.  See  his  name. 
HENRY,  born  Dec.  2,  1842,  on  Fancy 
creek,  married  June,  1867,  in  Jacksonville, 
111.,  to  Clara  L.  Lathrop.  They  have  two 
children,  and  reside  at  Ottawa,  Kan. 
Benj.  B.  Branson  and  wife  reside  in  Jack- 
sonville, 111. 

NANCY,  born  June  4,  1806,  in  Ohio, 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  Dr. 
Charles  Winn,  who  was  born  Aug.  13, 
1800,  in  Virginia.  He  received  his  medi- 
cal education  at  Transylvania  University, 
Lexington,  Ky.  He  came  to  Sangamon 
county  and  practiced  his  profession  on 
Fancy  creek ;  moved  from  there  to  Waynes- 
ville, 111.,  and  from  there  to  Spring- 
field, O.  They  had  seven  children. 
GORILLA  died  Nov.  8,  1855,  aged 
twenty-five  years.  BYRON  died  March 
1 6,  1854,  at  McKendree  College,  in  his 
twenty-first  year.  RICHARD  D.  died 
in  St.  Joseph,  Mo.,  March  15,  1872,  in  his 
thirty-eighth  year.  CHARLES  L.,  born 
Nov.  11,  1838,  married  July  22,  1859,511 
Jackson  county,  Mo.,  and  died,  leaving  a 
widow  and  two  children  in  Kansas  City. 
ROBERT  B.,  born  July  n,  1840,  resides 
in  Chicago.  EMMA  H.,  born  Dec.  29, 
1842,  near  Springfield,  O.,  married  in  San- 
gamon county  to  A.  G.  Pickrell.  See 
his  name.  FLORENCE  M.,  born  June 
12,  1846,  near  Springfield,  O.,  married 


SANGAMON  COUNTY. 


'35 


William  T.  Hall.  Sec  his  name.  Dr. 
Charles  L.  Winn  died  Aug.  17,  1847,  near 
Springfield,  O.,  and  Mrs.  Nancy  Winn 
died  Nov.  4,  1852,  at  Columbus,  Adams 
county,  111. 

Mrs.  Sarah  Branson  died  in  Ohio,  and 
her  husband,  John  Branson,  Sen.,  died  in 
1845,  m  Sangamon  county,  111.,  aged 
eighty-one  years. 

BRAUGHTpN,  PETER,  was 
born  July  6,  1812,  in  Worcester  county, 
Mass.  His  parents  moved  to  Ross  county, 
O.,  in  1816,  and  a  few  years  later  to  Pick- 
away  county,  about  ten  miles  south  of 
Columbus.  In  1836  Peter  came  to  Spring- 
field, 111.,  and  soon  after  settled  in  what  is 
now  Williams  township.  He  was  married 
in  Sangamon  county  Sept.  30,  1846,  to 
Mary  D.  Utterback.  They  have  four 
children,  all  born  in  Sangamon  county, 
namely — 

SUSAN  E.,  NANCT  A.,  EMILT 
J.  and  THOMAS  J. 

Peter  Braughton  resides  in  Williams 
township,  three  miles  each  from  Sher- 
man and  Barclay. 

BRAUGHTON,  JACOB,  an 
elder  brother  to  Peter,  came  with  him  to 
Sangamon  county  in  1836.  He  never 
married,  but  was  engaged  in  farming  for 
several  years.  He  started  overland  to 
California,  and  died  on  the  road,  between 
1850  and  1855. 

BRAUGHTON,  WILLI  AM, 
a  brother  to  Jacob  and  Peter,  came  to 
Sangamon  county  in  1846,  too  late  to  be 
included  as  an  early  settler.  He  resides 
one  and  a  half  miles  north  of  Barclay. 
His  son  Adam  married  into  the  family  of 
Simeon  Taylor.  See  his  name. 

BRAWNER,  JOHN,  a  twin 
brother  to  William,  was  born  Aug.  9, 
799,  in  Maryland.  His  parents  moved 
to  Fayette  county,  Ky.,  when  he  was  a 
child.  He  was  married  May  20,  1819,  in 
Madison  county,  to  Bethany  Ball.  Thev 
had  four  children  in  Kentucky,  and  moved, 
in  connection  with  her  mother,  brothers 
and  sisters,  to  Sangamon  county,  111., 
arriving  in  the  fall' of  1829  in  what  is  now 
Woodside  township,  where  they  had  three 
children.  Of  their  seven  children — 

NANCY,  born  in  Kentucky,  married 
in  Sangamon  county  to  R.  M.  Thompson. 
They  moved  to  Iowa,  had  nine  children, 
and  she  died.  Of  their  children,  HENRY 
resides  with  his  aunt,  Mrs.  J.  B.  Ogden. 


JOHN  was  a  soldier  in  an  Iowa  regiment, 
and  died  in  the  army.  THOMAS  E. 
served  three  years  in  the  55th  111.  Inf.,  re- 
enlisted,  and  served  to  the  end  of  the 
rebellion.  He  is  married,  and  resides  in 
Alton.  The  other  children  are  scattered. 

BASIL,  born  in  Kentucky,  married  in 
Sangamon  county  to  Sarah  Pulliam,  and 
live  in  Iowa.  See  Pulliam. 

ELI Z ABE  TH  A.,  born  in  Madison 
county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sangamon  county 
to  Thomas  Knotts,  have  six  living  child- 
ren, and  reside  in  Ball  township. 

MARY  E.,  born  in  Madison  county, 
Ky.,  married  in  Sangamon  county  to 
Joseph  B.  Ogden.  See  his  name. 

JOHN  S.,  born  in  Sangamon  county, 
married  and  died,  leaving  a  widow  and 
seven  children. 

LE  WIS,  born  in  Sangamon  county, 
married  Hannah  Dragoo.  He  died,  leav- 
ing a  widow  and  three  children  in  Cotton 
Hill  township. 

MARTHA  J.  married  Abraham  Ben- 
nington.  They  have  four  children,  and 
reside  in  Montgomery  county. 

Mrs.  Bethany  Brawner  died  about  1839, 
and  John  Brawner  died  in  1841,  both  in 
Sangamon  county. 

BRAWNER,  WILLIAM  T. 
was  born  August  9,  1799,  in  Maryland. 
His  father  died  when  he  was  seven  years 
old,  and  his  mother  moved  to  Madison 
county,  Ky.,  when  he  was  eighteen  years 
old.  He  was  there  married,  Dec.  25, 1822, 
to  Elizabeth  Ball.  They  had  three  child- 
ren in  Kentucky,  and  the  family  moved  to 
Sangamon  county,  111.,  arriving  in  Oct., 
1829,  in  what  is  now  Curran  township, 
where  they  had  seven  children,  namely : 

JOHN  S.,  born  Nov.  18,  1818,  mar- 
ried in  Sangamon  county,  to  Nancy  Mc- 
Credy;  have  eight  children,  and  reside  in 
Ad  air  county,  Mo. 

MAR  Thorn  Oct.  23,  1825,  in  Ken- 
tucky, married  in  Sangamon  county  to 
William  C.  Hillerman ;  had  six  children, 
THOMAS  A.,  JACOB,  RUTH,  HUL- 
DAH,  FRANKLIN  and  MARY,  and 
Mrs.  Hillerman  died,  March  18,  1869, 
Mr.  H.  married  in  1870  to  Rebecca  Dren- 
nan.  They  have  one  child,  ANN  E.,  and 
reside  in  Chatham. 

COLUMBIA,^™  Dec.  18,  1827,  in 
Kentucky,  is  unmarried,  and  resides  with 
her  mother. 


i36 


EARLY  SE TTLERS  OF 


MINERVA,  born  May  n,  1830,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  William  Duval, 
have  eight  children,  and  reside  in  Khox 
county. 

JAMES  H.,  born  March  23,  1833,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Martha  A. 
McGinnis.  They  have  three  children, 
SALLY,  ROBERT  S.  and  WILLIAM 
P.,  and  reside  in  Chatham  township. 

ELIZA  H.,  born  Oct.  28,  1835,  in 
Sangamon  county,  is  unmarried,  and  re- 
sides with  her  mother. 

CLARISSA,\>orv.  April  i,  1838,  mar- 
ried Nelson  Combs,  and  died  in  March, 
1864,  about  five  months  after  marriage. 

WILLIAM  M.,  born  Sept.  27,  1840, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  April  7, 
1870,  to  Isabel  Works,  who  was  born 
August  12,  1847,  in  Owen  county,  Ky. 
They  have  one  child,  JOHN  H.,  and  re- 
side in  Curran  township. 

LE  WIS  B.,  born  Jan.  20,  1843,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  April  18,  1872, 
to  Laura  F.  Tippitt,  who  was  born  Sept. 
12,  1856,  in  Owen  county,  Ky.  They 
.have  one  child,  ELIZABETH,  and  reside 
in  Curran  township. 

ISAAC,  born  Nov.  5,  1845, died  at  ten 
years  of  age. 

William  T.  Brawner  died  Nov.  12, 
1846,  and  his  widow  resides  in  Curran 
township,  south  of  Lick  creek. 

BRECKENRIDGE,  PRES- 
TON, was  born  Aug.  5,  1807,  near 
Paris,  Bourbon  county,  Ky.  The  name 
of  Breckenridge  originated  in  a  singular 
manner.  In  one  of  the  wars  in  Scotland 
between  the  Protestants  and  Roman 
Catholics,  a  family  by  the  name  of  Mcll- 
vain  particpated  on  the  side  of  the  Pro- 
testants, who  were  defeated.  Some  of  the 
Mcllvain  brothers  saved  their  lives  by 
taking  refuge  under  a  low  shrub,  called 
brack,  which  grows  on  the  ridges  in  the 
Highlands  of  Scotland.  This  circum- 
stance so  impressed  them,  that  they  deter- 
mined to  give  themselves  a  new  name, 
hence  Brack-on-ridge.  As  Protestants, 
the  Breckenridges  took  part  in  some  of 
the  wars  in  Ireland  at  a  later  period,  in 
which  the  great,  great  grandfather  of 
Preston  was  a  leader.  The  Protestants 
being  again  defeated,  two  of  the  Brecken- 
ridge brothers  fled  to  America.  One  of 
them  settled  in  Pennsylvania,  and  the 
other  in  Virginia.  Their  first  names  are 
not  preserved,  but  the  descendants  of  the 


one  who  settled  in  Pennsylvania  have  re- 
tained the  original  spelling :  Brackenridge. 
The  brother  who  settled  .  in  Virginia 
raised  a  family,  among  whom  was  one  son 
Alexander,  who  had  a  son  Robert,  who 
had  a  son  John,  who  had  two  sons,  Rob- 
ert Jefferson,  known  as  the  late  Rev.  R. 
J.  Breckenridge,  D.  D.,  of  Kentucky,  and 
Joseph  Cabell,  the  latter  of  whom  was  the 
father  of  John  C.  Breckenridge,  ex-Vice- 
President  of  the  United  States.  The  first 
Alexander  also  had  a  son  George,  who 
had  a  son  Alexander.  He  was  twice  mar- 
ried, and  the  eldest  child  by  the  second 
wife  was  Preston,  whose  name  heads  this 
sketch.  Preston  Preckenridge  was  mar- 
ried in  Nicholas  county,  Ky.,  Nov.  17, 
1827,  to  Catharine  Moler,  who  was  born 
in  that  county  Aug.  30,  1804.  They  had 
four  children  born  in  Kentucky,  and  the 
family  moved  to  Sangamon  county,  111., 
arriving  Oct.  16,  1834,  in  what  is  now 
Cotton  Hill  township,  east  of  Sangamon 
river,  where  eight  children  were  born,  one 
of  whom  died  in  infancy.  Of  their  eleven 
children — 

ALEXANDER,  born  Oct.  31,  1828, 
in  Nicholas  county,  Ky.,  married  May  25, 
1852,  to  Martha  H.  Barnhill,  who  was 
born  Aug.  19,  1833,  in  Wayne  county, 
111.  They  had  eight  children,  two  of 
whom  died  in  infancy.  The  other  six, 
ELIZABETH  C.,  MARY  A.,  FELIX 
H.,  NANCY  L.,  CHARLES  A.  and 
ROBERT  CARROLL,  reside  with 
their  parents,  half  a  mile  east  of  Brecken- 
ridge. 

HUGH,  born  Dec.  9,  1829,  in  Ken- 
tucky, married  Feb.  22,  1855,  to  Sarah  M. 
Randolph,  who  was  born  June  20,  1837, 
in  Logan  county.  They  have  two  child- 
ren, HERBERT  C.  and  EDITH  A. 
Hugh  Breckenridge  enlisted  Oct.  10,  1861, 
in  Co.  B,  loth  111.  Cav.,  for  three  years; 
re-enlisted  as  a  veteran  Jan.,  1864,  served 
full  term,  and  was  honorably  discharged 
Jan.  6,  1866,  at  Springfield.  He  resides  at 
Breckenridge. 

CORJVELIUS,\>oi-n  March  12,  1831, 
in  Kentucky,  married  Sept.  4,  1855,  to 
Elizabeth  L.  Barnhill,  who  was  born  May 
29,  1838,  in  Wayne  county.  They  had 
five  children,  two  of  whom  died  in  in- 
fancy. The  other  three,  ELIZABETH 
F.,  WILLIAM  R.  and  GEORGE  E., 
reside  with  their  parents  near  Brecken- 


IffllVERSiTY 


SAJVGAMOJV  COUNTT. 


'37 


JOSEPH,  the  last  in  Kentucky,  born 
July  17,  1832,  married  M  arch  28,  1855,  to 
Sarah  J.  Matthew.  They  had  two  child- 
ren; one  died  in  infancy.  The  other, 
PRESTON,  resides  with  his  mother. 
Joseph  Breckenridge  enlisted  Sept.,  1862, 
in  Co.  E,  H4th  111.  Inf.,  for  three  years. 
He  was  taken  sick  at  Camp  Butler,  and 
died  at  home,  Nov.  29,  1862. 

ELMORE,  born  Nov.  4,  1834,  the 
first  of  the  family  born  in  Sangamon 
county,  married  Nov.,  1857,  to.  Susannah 
Randolph,  had  six  children,  two  died  in 
infancy,  and  Mrs.  B.  died.  The  four 
children,  LEANOR,  MARY  A.,  EL- 
MER P.  and  SIMON  F.,  live  with 
their  uncles  and  aunts  in  Missouri.  He 
resides  at  Forest  Citv,  Neb. 

CLEOPHAS,  born  Aug.  7,  1836,  in 
.Sangamon  county,  enlisted  Aug.  18,  1861, 
for  three  years,  in  Co.  D,  33d  111.  Inf.  He 
was  dangerously  wounded  at  the  siege  of 
Vicksburg,  but  recovered,  served  to  the 
end  of  his  term,  and  was  honorably  dis- 
charged Oct.  18,  1864,  at  Springfield.  He 
was  married  Jan.  30,  1868,  to  Lilian  T. 
Cave.  They  have  two  children,  INEZ 
and  IDA,  and  reside  with  his  father,  three 
and  a  half  miles  west  of  Breckenridge. 

CATHARINE*  born  June  19,  1838, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  Jan.  30, 
1856,  to  Simon  P.  Randolph.  They  had 
six  children,  three  of  whom  died  in  infan- 
cy. The  other  three,  PRESTON  B., 
MAY  and  EDITH,  reside  with  their 
parents  at  Seattle,  Washington  Ter. 

E L IZA BE  TH  and  MAR  T  (twins), 
born  Jan.  13,  1841,111  Sangamon  county. 

ELIZABETH,  married  April,  1862, 
to  James  H.  Abell.  They  had  four  child- 
ren, EMMA  J.,  WILLIAM  A.,  JOHN 
P.  and  HENRY  E.,  reside  with  their 
parents  in  Taylorville. 

MART,  married  March,  1863,  to 
Thomas  Rishton,  and  resides  at  Council 
Bluffs,  Iowa. 

PRESTO  A7,  Jun.,born  Dec.  n,  1842, 
enlisted  Aug.,  1862,  in  Co.  E,  H4th  111. 
Inf.,  for  three  years;  served  full  term;  was 
honorably  discharged  at  Vicksburg,  Aug. 
3,  1865;  \v-as  sick  at  the  time,  but  returned 
home  with  his  comrades,  arriving  at  his 
father's  house  .on  the  7th,  and  died  the 
8th  of  August,  1865,  seventeen  hours 
after  his  arrival. 

JA^VE,  born  F.^b.  9,  1845,  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  v\as  married  August,  1864, 


to  William  Kamlage.  They  have  three 
children  living,  LUCY  J.,  ANNIE  M. 
and  WILLIAM,  and  reside  at  Lincoln, 
111.  Mrs.  Catharine  Breckenridge  died 
Feb.  4,  1847,  ant*  Preston  B.  was  married 
March  29,  1849,  to  Lucy  Robb/  They 
had  two  children — 

DA  VID,  born  Dec.  28,  1850,  in  San- 
gamon county,  is  unmarried,  and  resides 
near  Cedar  Hill,  Dallas  county,  Texas. 

LUCY  D.,  born  Aug.  13,  1854,  in 
Sangamon  county,  was  married  Oct.  13, 
1874,  to  William  H.  Hunter,  who  was 
born  Dec.  10,  1848,  in  Muskingum  county, 
O.  His  grandfather,  Charles  Hunter,  was 
born  and  married  in  Scotland;  came  to 
America,  and  settled  in  Muskingum  coun- 
ty, O.  His  eldest  son,  William,  was  the 
father  of  William  H.  Hunter,  the  latter  of 
whom,  with  his  wife,  reside  in  Cotton 
Hill  township. 

Mrs.  Lucy  Breckenridge  died  Nov.  18, 
1854,  and  Preston  Breckenridge  resides  on 
the  farm  settled  by  him  in  1834.  It  is  in 
the  northeast  corner  of  Cotton  Hill  town- 
ship, three  and  a  half  miles  west  of  Breck- 
enridge. 

Preston  B.'s  father  was  sixty-five  years 
old  when  he  was  born.  Their  united 
ages  to  the  present  time  (1876)  is  one  hun- 
dred and  thirty-four  years.  Preston 
Breckenridge  was  one  of  the  representa- 
tives of  Sangamon  county  in  the  State 
Legislature  of  1851  and  '2.  Abraham 
Lincoln  was  a  candidate  before  the  con- 
vention, but  Mr.  B.  beat  him.  Mr.  B. 
was  a  member  of  the  Sangamon  county 
Board  of  Supervisors  for  1873. 

Preston  Breckenridge  remembers  that 
the  fall  of  1834,  when  he  came  to  the 
county,  was  dry,  and  continued  dry 
through  the  winter;  that  May  12,  1835,  a 
great  rain  storm  set  in,  and  rain  continued 
to  fall  for  about  forty  days  and  nights, 
which  so  seriously  interfered  with  plowing 
and  planting  that  but  very  light  crops 
were  put  in.  When  the  rain  ceased,  and 
hot  weather  set  in,  the  stagnant  water  and 
decaying  vegetation  poisoned  the-  atmos- 
phere, and  chills  and  bilious  diseases  pre- 
vailed to  such  an  extent  that  in  many 
cases  there  were  not  enough  well  persons 
to  take  care  of  the  sick  and  bury  the  dead. 
That  year  has  ever  since  been  spoken  of 
as  the  wet  and  sickly  summer  and  fall. 

The  wheat  crop  looked  well  in  the  fall 
of  '34,  but  it  nearly  all  froze  out,  and  in 


EARL?  SETTLERS  OF 


1835,  '^  and  '7,  the  wheat  crop  was  a  total 
failure,  and  wheat  bread  was  so  scarce 
that  a  hiscuit  became  an  object  of  interest, 
so  much  that  women  would  send  them 
to  the  children  when  visiting  took  place 
between*  the  families. 

The  difficulty  of  obtaining  food  during 
the  winter  of  1835  anc^  '^  was  verv  great» 
there  being  nothing  for  bread  in  Central 
Illinois  except  frost-bitten  corn.  Good 
crops  were  raised  in  the  southern  part  of 
the  State,  and  those  who  could  pay  for  it 
went  there  for  corn.  That  is  believed  to 
have  been  the  origin  of  calling  the  south- 
ern part  of  the  State  Egypt,  and  not  be- 
cause of  any  unusual  darkness  prevailing 
there. 

BRIDGES,  GEORGE,  was 
born  in  1793,  in  Montgomery  county,  Ky. 
He  was  married  there  in  1816,  to  Rebecca 
Lockridge.  They  had  four  children  in 
Kentucky,  and  moved  to  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, 111.,  arriving  Nov.  3,  1835,  *n  wnat  is 
now  Ctirran  township,  eight  miles  south 
of  Springfield,  where  they  had  five  child- 
ren. Of  their  children — 

JOHN M.,  born  in  1819,  in  Kentucky, 
died  unmarried,  in  Sangamon  county, 
Nov.  14,  1865. 

WILLIAM,  born  July  15,  1821,  in 
Kentucky,  married  in  Sangamon  county, 
Sept.  2,  1852,  to  Mary  E.  White.  The'y 
had  two  living  children,  HORACE  W. 
and  ALICE  M.,  and  Mrs.  Mary  E.  Bridges 
died  Sept.  17,  1871,  and  William  Bridges 
was  married  in  Feb.,  1873,  to  Mrs.  Helen 
Bird,  whose  maiden  name  was  Ransom. 
The  family  moved  west  in  Sept.,  1873, 
and  William  Bridges  died,  Jan.  30,  1874, 
at  Grass  Valley,  Nevada  county,  Califor- 
nia, leaving  his  widow  and  two  children 
there. 

MARGARET  H.,  born  in  Kentucky, 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  J.  M. 
Richardson,  moved  to  Iowa,  and  died 
there,  leaving  three  children. 

ELIZABETH,  born  Oct.  14,  1827, 
in  Kentucky,  married  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, to  William  Brownell.  See  his  name. 

MIRANDA,  born  March  27,  1831,  in 
Kentucky,  married  George  Brownell.  See 
his  name. 

GEORGE  H.,  born  Nov.  14,  1840,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Nov.  22,  1860, 
in  Sangamon  county,  to  Rebecca  Pyle, 
who  was  born  in  Sangamon  county,  July 
6,  1850.  They  have  four  children,  JOHN 


H.,  LAURA  M.,  ADA  A.  and  NORA 

L.,  and  live  in  Springfield. 
^  MARTIN  €.,  born  May  16,  1842,  in 
vSangamon  county.  He  enlisted  August 
15,  1862,  in  Co.  B.,  ii4th  111.  Inf.,  for 
three  years.  He  was  detailed  as  drummer 
at  the  organization  of  the  regiment,  pro- 
moted, Jan.  I,  1865,  to  drum-major,  and 
was  honorably  discharged,  Aug.  15,  1865. 
He  was  married,  Oct.  3,  1866,  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  to  Sarah  E.  Drennan.  They 
have  one  child,  DAVID  JOSEPH,  and 
reside  near  Woodside,  on  the  farm  where 
his  parents  settled  in  1835. 

Mrs.  Rebecca  Bridges  died  in  1848,  and 
George  Bridges  died  in  1849,  both  in  San- 
gamon county. 

BRIDGES,  MILTON  A.,  was 
born  July  20,  1810,  in  Montgomery  coun- 
ty, Ky.  He  was  there  married  to  Mary 
Foster,  and  had  two  children  in  Kentucky. 
The  family  moved  to  Sangamon  county, 
111.,  arriving  Sept.  25,  1833,  in  what  is 
now  Chatham  township,  preceding  his 
brothers,  George  and  William.  They  had 
two  children  in  Sangamon  county.  Of 
their  four  children — 

THOMAS  J.,  born  Dec.  22,  1831,  in 
Kentucky,  died  unmarried,  in  Springfield, 
Sept.  19,  iS^o. 

AMANDA  M.,  born  July  10,  1833,  in 
Kentucky,  married  Robert  Crowder. 
He  died,  leaving  a  widow  and  three  child- 
ren in  Christian  county,  two  "miles  east  of 
Pawnee. 

CHARLES  H.,  born  Jan.  27,  1837, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  to  Frances 
A.  Matthews.  They  had  four  children. 
MARY,  the  second  child,  died  in  her 
second  year,  JOSEPH  M.,  MAR- 
SHALL and  MONTE  MAY,  and  reside 
in  Illiopolis.  Mr.  Bridges  is  a  merchant 
there. 

MARTHA,  born  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, April  30,  1842,  died  in  infanov. 

Mrs.  Mary  Bridges  died,  and  Milton  A. 
Bridges  married  Mrs.  Ellen  H  Hatchet, 
who  had  previously  been  Mrs.  Trumbo, 
and  whose  maiden  name  was  Hill.  Mil- 
ton A.  Bridges  and  wife  live  in  Pawnee. 

BRIDGES,  WILLIAM,  was 
born  May  5,  1793,  in  Montgon  ery  coun- 
ty, Ky.  Isabella  K.  Lockridge  was  born 
in  the  same  county,  Nov.  10,  1796.  They 
were  there  married,  Julv  4,  1815,  and  had 
nine  children  in  Kentucky.  The  family 
moved  to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  arriving 


SANGAMON  COUNTT. 


J39 


in  the  fall  of  1835,  in  what  is  now  Wood- 
side  township,  where  they  had  two  child- 
ren. Of  the  eleven  children — 

MELINDA,  born  August  15,  1817, 
married  H.  Hathaway,  who  died,  and  she 
married  Richard  Wilkins,  and  they  both 
died. 

JOHN  W.,  born  June  4,  1819,  died  in 
his  twentieth  year. 

BETST  A.,  born  July  20,  1821,  mar- 
ried Henry  Gillen,  and  she  died,  Nov.  25, 
1838. 

AMANDA  M.,  born  Sept.  25,  1823, 
in  Kentucky,  married  Alfred  C.  Malone. 
(See  his  name.) 

MARILDA  J.,  born  Feb.  23,  1826, 
married  Jacob  C.  Mitts.  They  had  seven 
children,  namely :  WILLIAM,  born  Dec. 
9,  1845,  married  Sarah  Stroude,  who  was 
born  August  24,  1844,  in  East  Tennessee. 
They  had  two  children,  FRANK  E.  and 
WILLIAM  j.,  and  reside  in  Curran  township, 
south  of  Lick  creek.  Of  the  other  six 
children,  COLUMBIA,  died  at  eighteen 
years.  HELEN  V.  and  JAMES  W. 
reside  at  the  homestead,  in  Curran  town- 
ship. EMMA  lives  with  her  uncle,  David 
Hermon.  MARY  and  JOHN  live  with 
their  aunt,  Lucinda  Neal.  Mrs.  Mitts 
died  Nov.  6,  1862,  and  her  husband  died 
Nov.  12,  1865,  both  in  Sangamon  county. 

LUCINDA,  born  Feb.  4,  1828,  mar- 
ried June  14,  1849,  to  Erastus  R.  Whited. 
They  had  four  children;  two  died  young. 
ISABEL  K.  married,  Dec.  29,  1869,  to 
Jesse  J.  Martin.  They  have  one  child, 
JULIA  M.,  and  reside  in  Loami  township. 
Mr.  Martin  was  born  Feb.  21,  1843,  in 
Harrison  county,  West  Va.,  enlisted  Aug. 
17,  1862,  for  three  years,  in  i2th  West  Va. 
Inf.  Served  until  the  suppression  of  the 
rebellion,  and  was  honorably  discharged, 
June  16,  1863.  FANNIE  WHITED 
died  Jan.  21,  1873,  in  the  seventeenth  year 
of  her  age.  E.  R.  Whited  died  Jan.  4, 
1860,  and  his  widow  married,  April  8, 
1862,  to  Stephen  B.  Neal.  See  his  name. 

EMMA  B.,  born  August  19,  1830,  in 
Kentucky,  married  Isaac  H.  Trumbo. 
See  his  name. 

JAMES  M.,  born  in  Kentucky,  Dec. 
15,  1832,  married  Jan.  10,  1866,  to  Mary 
F.  Drennan.  They  have  three  children, 
WILLIAM  F.,  MARTHA  A.  and 
EVA  MAY,  and  reside  on  the  farm 
where  his  parents  settled  in  1835,  in  the 
southwest  corner  Woodside  township. 


WILLIS,  born  Oct.  20,  1836,  in  San- 
gamon county,  enlisted  in  Co.  B.,  ii4th 
111.  Inf.,  August,  1862,  for  three  years. 
He  was  discharged  on  account  of  physical 
disability,  in  1863,  and  died  of  disease  con- 
tracted in  the  army,  March  20,  1864,  at 
home. 

WILLIAM  L.,  born  Sept.  3,  1839, 
married  Sarah  Card.  He  died  Oct.  6, 
1867.  His  widow  and  one  child,  WAL- 
TER, reside  in  Menard  county. 

William  Bridges  died  Jan.  3,  1873,  and 
his  widow  died  June  24,  1873,  both  on  the 
farm  where  they  settled  in  1835.  Mr. 
Bridges  was  a  soldier  from  Kentucky  in 
the  war  of  1812,  and  drew  a  pension  to 
the  end  of  his  life. 

The  date  of  birth  of  William  Bridges 
and  his  brother  George  indicates  that  they 
must  have  been  twins,  or  there  has  been  a 
mistake  in  giving  me  the  dates. 

BRIDGES,  WILLIAM,  wa* 
born  April  28,  1787,  in  South  Carolina. 
The  family  moved  to  Tennessee,  and 
when  William  was  a  young  man,  to  Green 
county,  O.  Martha  Martin  was  born 
March  11,  1784,  in  Clarke  county,  Ky. 
She  was  the  third  child  of  her  parents. 
When  they  had  two  children  the  family 
were,  with  many  others  of  the  settlers,  in 
Strode's  Station,  for  protection  against  the 
Indians.  When  the  savages  attacked  that 
fortification,  which  terminated  in  its  de- 
struction, the  men  were  in  the  fields.  The 
women  and  children  collected  in  one  of 
the  block-houses.  The  men  finding  the 
fort  at  the  mercy  of  the  Indians,  thought 
it  would  be  impossible  to  save  their  fami- 
lies, and  each  one  looked  out  for  his  own 
personal  safety.  Mr.  Henry  Martin,  of 
all  the  men,  went  alone  to  the  block- 
house, and  by  his  earnest  entreaties  in- 
duced them  to  open  the  door.  He  then 
compelled  his  wife,  against  her  protesta- 
tions, to  accompany  him  with  their  two 
children,  and  they  at  once  entered  a  cane 
brake,  eluded  the  Indians,  and  thus  saved 
their  lives.  One  old  lady  followed  them  un- 
til they  crossed  a  stream,  and  when  she  could 
travel  no  further,  concealed  herself  in  a 
cave  until  the  danger  passed.  The  fort 
was  burned,  and  all  the  others  were  slain. 
Henry  Martin  remained  in  Kentucky  un- 
til after  the  birth  of  his  daughter  Martha, 
when  he  moved  with  his  family  to  Green 
county,  O.  William  Bridges  and  Martha 
Martin  were  married  near  Xenia,  and  re- 


140 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


sided  in  that  city  until  they  had  two  child- 
ren. Mr.  Bridges  served  one  year  in  the 
war  with  Great  Britain,  from  the  summer 
of  1812  to  1813.  He  then  moved  to  Fay- 
ette  county,  Ind.,  where  they  had  one 
child,  and  next  moved  to  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, 111.,  arriving  about  1824  in  Buffalo 
Hart  Grove.  Of  their  three  children — 

SARAH,  born  Nov.  14,  1812,  in  Xenia, 
O.,  married  in  Sangamon  county  Feb.  12, 
1829,  to  John  Ridgeway,  a  cousin  to 
Lindsay.  See  his  name.  He  died,  and 
she  married  Jonathan  Constant.  See  his 
name. 

MARGARET,  born  Feb.  15,  1816,  in 
Xenia,  O.,  married  in  Sangamon  county 
to  James  Hill.  They  had  two  children. 
MARY  M.  married  Mr.  Harris,  and  re- 
side at  Staunton,  Miami  county,  Kan. 
WILLIAM  married  Harriet  Stafford, 
and  reside  at  Clarksville.  James  Hill  died 
April  17,  1844,  and  Mrs.  Margaret  Hill 
died  Jan.  23,  1845. 

ELIZABETH,  born  Nov.  9,  1819, 
near  Connersville,  Ind.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county  t©  John  C.  Morgan.  See 
his  name. 

William  Bridges  died  March  12,  1833, 
and  Mrs.  Martha  Bridges  died  Jan.  31, 
1865,  both  in  Sangamon  county.  They 
were  not  related  to  any  other  family  of 
Bridges  in  the  county. 

BRITTIN,  EVANS  E.,  was 
born  Oct.  28, 1791,  in  Bucks  county,  Pa.  His 
father  died  when  he  was  quite  young.  His 
mother,  with  her  seven  children,  moved 
to  Virginia,  and  from  there  to  Ross  coun- 
ty, O.,  in  1800.  Evans  E.was  there  mar- 
ried, Sept.  18,  1818,  to  Mary  J.  England. 
They  had  one  child,  and  moved  to  what 
became  Sangamon  county,  111.,  arriving 
in  the  spring  of  1820,  in  what  is  now 
Fancy  creek  township,  where  they  had 
eight  living  children.  Of  their  children — 

STEPHEN,  born  Aug.  20,  1819,  in 
Ohio,  married  in  Sangamon  county  to 
Jane  McClelland.  He  died  Nov.  28/1862, 
and  she  died  in  1864,  both  in  Sangamon 
county,  leaving  several  children. 

MIRANDA,  born  Jan.  12,  1824,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  John  Canter- 
berry.  See  his  name. 

ELIJAH,  born  Nov.  12,  1825,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Martha  Can- 
terberry.  He  died  March  5,  1873,  leaving 
a  widow  and  two  children  in  Marion 
county,  Iowa. 


JAMES  M. 

EVANS  E.,  Jun.,born  Nov.  26,  1829, 
married  Melissa  Peeler,  had  two  children, 
and  she  died.  He  married  Elizabeth 
Ridgeway.  They  have  four  children,  and 
reside  near  Williamsville. 

WASHINGTON,  born  July  4,  1832, 
married  Eliza  Mallory.  He  died,  leaving 
one  child,  LAURA  E.,  and  his  widow 
married  Thomas  Glascock.  See  his 
name. 

HENRT,  born  Jan.  8,  1835,  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  married  Dec.  9,  1856,  to 
Nancy  Mallory.  They  had  twelve  child- 
ren, six  of  whom  died  young.  JOHN 
E.,  HENRY  E.,  ALBERT  L.,  EMMA 
N.,  WILLIAM  A.  and  ROGER  E.,  re- 
side with  their  parents.  Henry  Brittin 
lives  near  Cantrall,  on  the  farm  settled  by 
his  father  in  1820. 

MART  J.,  born  Aug.  3,  1837, married 
Thomas  Glascock,  and  she  died.  See  his 
name. 

ELEANOR. 

Mrs.  Mary  J.  Brittin  died  Aug,  n, 
1846,  and  Evans  E.  Brittin  resides  with  his 
children.  He  has  twice  been  a  pioneer. 
He  remembers  that  when  his  mother's 
family  moved  to  Ohio,  they  had  to  go  into 
Kentucky,  sometimes  a  hundred  and  fifty 
miles,  for  breadstuff.  After  raising  grain, 
it  was  three  years  before  they  had  a  grist 
ground.  All  that  time  they  beat  hominy, 
and  sifted  out  the  finest  for  bread,  or 
grated  the  corn  and  made  bread  in  that 
way.  Coming  to  Sangamon  county  was 
a  renewal  of  that  kind  of  life.  St.  Louis 
was  the  nearest  point  at  which  they  could 
buy  farming  tools,  salt  and  all  other  arti- 
cles. For  grinding  meal  and  flour  they 
went  to  the  American  bottom,  east  of  St. 
Louis.  Mr.  Brittin  has  hauled  wheat  to 
Springfield  and  sold  it  for  twenty-five 
cents  per  bushel,  and  has  known  corn  to 
be  hauled  twenty-five  miles  and  sold  for 
six  and  a  quarter  cents  per  bushel  in  trade. 

The  Christian  Church,  organized  May 
15,  1820,  the  first  in  Sangamon  county, 
built  its  first  house  of  worship  on  Mr. 
Brittin's  farm,  near  the  present  town  of 
Cantrall. 

BRITTON,  BENJAMIN, was 
born  June  2,  1797,  in  Virginia.  When 
he  was  a"  youth  his  parents  moved  to 
Franklin  county,  Ohio.  He  was  there 
married,  in  April,  1816,  to  Elizabeth 
Brunk.  She  was  a  sister  to  George  Brunk, 


SANGAMON    COUNT*. 


141 


and  was  born  Oct.  13,  1800,  in  Franklin 
county,  Ohio.  They  had  four  children  in 
Ohio,  and  moved  to  Indiana  in  1824, 
and  from  there  to  Sangamon  county,  111., 
arriving  in  Oct.,  1825,  in  what  is  now 
Cotton  Hill  township,  where  they  had 
seven  children.  Of  all  their  eleven  child- 
ren— 

JOSEPH,  born  in  Ohio,  died  in  San- 
gamon county  unmarried,  at  about  fifty 
years  of  age. 

REBECCA,  born  in  Franklin  county, 
Ohio,  married  in  Sangamon  county,  to 
Nathaniel  Duncan.  Mr.  D.  died,  and  his 
widow  married  Joel  Vandever,  and  resides 
in  Pana.  See  his  name. 

James  I.  Dozier  relates  an  anecdote  illus- 
trative of  life  among  the  early  settlers. 
He  remembers  that  Benjamin  Britton 
hired  Nathaniel  Duncan  to  haul  a  load  of 
corn  to  Springfield,  which  would  be  a 
day's  work  for  the  team.  The  price  agreed 
upon  was  $1.371^.  Twenty  bushels  was 
all  he  could  haul.  Mr.  Britton  went  along 
to  do  his  own  selling.  Arriving  there, 
with  all  his  efforts,  Jive  cents  per  bushel 
was  the  highest  price  he  could  obtain.  He 
sold  the  load,  paid  over  the  whole  proceeds, 
$1.00,  but  how  they  settled  the  other  thirty- 
seven  and  a  half  cents,  he  does  not  re- 
member. That  was  in  1836. 

ELEANOR  died,  aged  fourteen  years. 

MARGARET,  born  in  Franklin 
county,  Ohio,  married  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty to  Oscar  F.  Matthew.  See  his  name. 

HANNAH,  born  in  Sangamon  county, 
married  Sterling  Clack,  moved  to  Nevada, 
Vernon  county,  Mo.,  where  he  died,  leav- 
ing a  widow  and  five  children. 

DA  I  ID  B.,  born  and  died  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  aged  21  years. 

ANDRE  W  J.,  born  in  Sangamon 
county,  married  Sarah  McDaniel,  have 
four  children,  and  reside  near  Princeton, 
Colusa  county,  Cal. 

MARIA  J.  died  at  twelve  years  of  age. 

CAROLINE  E.,  born  June  6,  1834, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  Geo.  W. 
Spicer.  See  his  name.  He  died,  and  she 
married  Nathan  Plummer,  and  resides  in 
Cotton  Hill  township. 

LORENZO  D.,  born  in  Sangamon 
county,  married  Melissa  Barfield.  They 
had  five  children,  and  Mr.  Britton  died, 
Dec.,  1872,  leaving  his  widow  and  child- 
ren near  Clarkesdale,  Christian  county, 
Illinois. 


LOUISA,  born  in  Sangamon  county, 
married  Philip  Clark,  and  died  in  Mis- 
souri. 

Mrs.  Elizabeth  Britton  died  August  18, 
1854,  and  Benjamin  Britton  died  Jan.  21, 
1868,  both  in  Sangamon  county. 

BRITT,  JOHN  P.,  was  born 
July  4,  1804,  in  Greenbrier  county,  Va. 
He  came  to  Sangamon  county  in  1832, 
and  was  married,  Dec.  i,  1833,  to  Sarah 
B.  Wilson,  who  was  born  Feb.  17,  1815, 
in  Union  county,  Ky.  They  had  five 
living  children,  namely: 

ZERILDA  A.,  born  Oct.  15,  1835,  in 
Springfield,  was  married,  Jan.  17,  1859,  in 
Princeton,  111.,  to  Francis  A.  Haines. 
See  his  name. 

MART  J.,  born  August  24,  1840,  in 
Springfield,  married  Feb.  19, 1868,  to  John 
G.  English.  They  have  two  children, 
GRACE  and  PEARL,  and  reside  near 
Taylorville,  111. 

JOHN  W.,  born  Oct.  22,  1842,  in 
Hancock  county,  was  married,  August  17, 
1862,  in  Springfield,  to  Caroline  Haines. 
She  died,  and  he  went  to  China.  He  re- 
turned to  America,  and  was  last  heard 
from  in  California. 

^  JULIA    A.,   born    Nov.    3,   1846,   in 
Springfield,  and  resides  with  her  mother. 

SARAH  H.,  born  Jan.  21,  1849,  m 
Springfield,  was  married  March  18,  1868, 
in  her  native  city,  to  John  Branch  Gilli- 
land,  who  was  born  Feb.  29,  1848,  in 
Decatur,  Ala.  They  have  two  living 
children,  ALICE  BELLE  and  MARY 
JOSEPHINE,  and  reside  in  Springfield. 
Mr.  G.  is  a  printer,  and  has  been  ten  years 
employed  in  the  Journal  office.  His 
father,  Wm.  A.  Gilliland,  is  a  printer  in 
the  Register  office. 

John  P.  Bntt  died  July  7,  1852,  in 
Springfield,  and  his  widow  married  Wm. 
B.  Yeamans,  who  died  August  30,  1860, 
and  she  married,  Jan.  19,  1863,  to  Larkin 
Bryan,  who  died  in  1874,  and  Mrs.  Sarah 
B.  Bryan  resides  in  Springfield. 

Obadiah  and  William  Britt,  brothers  to 
John  P.,  came  to  Sangamon  county,  and 
a  few  years  later  moved  to  Bureau  county, 
111.  Mrs.  Jemima  Britt,  mother  of  the 
three  brothers,  came  with  them  to  Sanga- 
mon county,  and  went  with  two  of  them 
to  Bureau  county,  where  she  lost  her  life 
by  falling  from  a  wagon  and  the  wheels 
passing  over  her. 


142 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


BROADWELL,      JOSIAH, 

was  born  July  14,  1795,  in  Morris  county, 
N.  J.  His  father,  Simeon  Broadwell,  was 
a  brother  to  Moses  Broadwell,  represented 
in  this  book.  A  cousin  to  Moses  and 
Simeon  —  Baxter  Broadwell  —  was  the 
father  of  Judge  Norman  M.  Broadwell,  of 
Springfield,  a  sketch  of  whom  may  be 
found  in  connection  with  the  name  of  his 
father-in-law,  Washington  lies.  Josiah 
Broadwell  went  to  Dayton,  O.,  in  1815, 
and  married  near  the  city  May  31,  1827, 
to  Priscilla  Custid.  She  died,  leaving  one 
child.  Mr.  B.  married  the  second  time 
in  Dayton,  Jan.  13,  1835,  to  Ann  Comfort 
Custer.  She  died  June  5,  1836,  without 
children.  Josiah  Broadwell  came  to  San- 
gamon  county  about  1840,  bringing  his 
only  son — 

OLIVER, \v\\o  remained  two  or  three 
years  in  Sangamon  county,  went  to  Iowa, 
married  there  to  Rachel  Pearson.  They 
had  six  children,  and  he  died  May  12, 
1873,  at  Pleasant  Hill,  Saline  county,  Neb. 
His  widow  and  children  reside  there. 

Josiah  Broadwell  was  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  Oct.  25,  1842,  to  Mrs.  Rachel 
L.  Moore,  whose  maiden  name  was  Mc- 
Carty.  They  had  five  children,  two  of 
whom  died  young — 

CTRUS  .P.,  born  March  16,  1846,  in 
Sangamon  county.  He  was  married  Sept. 
i,  1867,  in  Denver,  Col.,  to  Ella  Goff,  who 
was  born  Oct.  18,  1850,  in  St.  Louis,  Mo. 
They  have  four  children.  GEORGE  W., 
born  June  13,  1868,  in  Sangamon  county; 

RACHEL  A.,  bom  Aug.  25,    1870; 

DELIA  E.,  born  April  9,  1872 — the  two 
latter  in  Missouri — and  CLINTON,  born 
Feb.  24,  1874,  near  Guide  Rock,  Webster 
county,  Neb.,  where  the  family  now  re- 
side. 

GEORGE  and  JOS  I  AH,  Jun.,  live 
with  their  parents. 

Josiah  Broadwell  and  wife  reside  four 
miles  west  of  Springfield. 

BROADWELL,  MOSES, 
was  born  Nov.  14,  1764,  near  Elizabeth- 
town,  N.  J.  Jane  Broadwell  was  born 
Feb.  6,  1767,  in  the  same  neighborhood, 
and  was  Moses'  second  cousin.  They 
were  there  married  Nov.  5,  1788,  and  soon 
after  moved  to  Hamilton  county,  O.,  to  a 
fort  situated  where  Columbia  now  stands, 
five  miles  above  Cincinnati.  In  1804  they 
moved  to  Clermont  county,  O.  They  had 
twelve  children  in  Ohio,  three  of  whom 


died  young.  They  moved  in  a  keel  boat 
from  Cincinnati  to  St.  Louis  in  the  spring 
of  1819,  and  the  next  spring  came  up  the 
Illinois  river  on  a  steamboat,  said  to  have 
been  the  first  that  ever  ascended  the  latter 
stream.  They  landed  at  Beardstown  in 
June,  1820,  and  came  to  Sangamon  county 
in  the  latter  part  of  June  or  early  in  July 
of  that  year,  settling  on  the  south  side  of 
Richland  creek,  about  one  mile  east  of 
where  Pleasant  Plains  now  stands.  Of 
their  nine  children — 

MARY,  born  April  27,  1791,  in  New 
Jersey,  was  married  Dec.  19,  1807,  to 
Henry  S.  Sweet,  a  native  of  New  York. 
They  had  one  child,  and  all  the  family 
died. 

DA  VID,  born  June  1 1,  1794,  in  Ohio, 
was  married  to  Mrs.  Mary  A.  Drake. 
She  died  in  Menard  county,  111.,  and  he 
died  May  18,  1858,  in  Iowa. 

SARAH,  born  Feb.  16,  1796,  in  Ohio, 
was  married  in  Sangamon  county,  in  1837, 
to  David  Van  Eaton.  They  had  no  fami- 
ly, and  she  is  now  a  widow,  residing  with 
her  niece,  Mrs.  A.  B.  Irwin. 

JOHN  B.,  born  Sept.  27,  1797,  in 
Hamilton  county,  O.,  was  married  March 
29,  1817,  in  same  county,  to  Betsy  Pratt. 
They  had  one  child  at  that  place,  and 
moved  with  his  father  to  St.  Louis,  where 
one  child  was  born,  and  from  there  to 
Sangamon  county,  arriving  in  Dec.,  1819, 
on  the  south  side  of  Richland  creek,  one 
mile  east  of  where  Pleasant  Plains  now 
stands,  where  one  child  was  born.  Of 
their  three  children,  JANE  S.,  born  Dec. 
19,  1817,  in  Clermont  county,  O.,  married 
in  Sangamon  county  to  John  S.  Seaman. 
They  had  six  living  children.  JONATHAN 
went  to  New  Orleans  in  1857  with  a  drove 
of  horses.  He  sold  out,  and  expected  to 
leave  for  home  in  a  few  days,  but  his 
friends  never  heard  of  him  afterwards. 
DANIEL  married  in  Indiana,  moved  to 
Iowa,  and  died  May  28,  1871,  in  Michi- 
gan, while  on  his  way  to  Mineral  Springs 
for  his  health.  WILLIAM  enlisted  at 
Springfield,  in  1861,  in  what  became  the 
nth  Mo.  Inf.,  for  three  years.  Both  his 
lower  limbs  were  broken  by  a  falling  tree, 
while  he  was  lying  sick  in  tent;  one  limb 
was  amputated.  He  went  to  Iowa,  mar- 
ried, had  one  child,  and  his  wife  died. 
He  resides  near  Jefferson,  Green  county,  la. 
ISAAC  was  a  sergeant  in  the  64th  111.  Inf. 
Served  three  years,  re-enlisted  as  a  veter- 


SANGAMON  COUNTY. 


'43 


an,  served  to  the  end  of  the  rebellion,  and 
was  honorably  discharged,  and  resides 
near  Jefferson,  Iowa.  CHARLES  was  a 
Union  soldier  in  two  Illinois  regiments; 
served  out  his  enlistments  with  honor,  and 
resides  near  Fredonia,  Kan.  CALISTA 
married  Charles  R.  Pratt,  and  resides 
near  Fredonia.  John  Seaman  died  in 
1850,  and  his  widow  married  Alexander 
B.  Irwin.  See  his  name.  CINTHELIA, 
born  Oct.  17,  1819,  in  St.  Louis,  was  mar- 
ried in  Sangamon  county,  111.,  to  Alexan- 
der B.  Irwin.  See  his  name.  DANIEL 
P.,  born  Sept.  17, 1821,  in  Sangamon  county, 
was  married  to  Irene  Holcomb.  They 
had  six  children  born  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty. EMMA  c.  married  in  Springfield  to 
Benjamin  Trumbull,  and  resides  in  Em- 
poria,  Kan.  ALONZO  was  married  March 
6,  1874,  in  Bloomington,  111.,  to  Clara 
Furrow,  and  resides  in  Denver,  Col. 
WILLIS  married  in  Springfield  to  Sophro- 
nia  Burge,  and  resides  in  Emporia,  Kan. 
CHARLES  resides  near  Pleasant  Plains. 
HERBERT  and  ETTA  reside  with  their 
father.  Daniel  P.  Broad  well  moved  to 
Topeka,  Kan.,  thence  to  Emporia,  Kan., 
where  Mrs.  B.  died,  Dec.  25,  1869.  Mr. 
B.  married  Mrs.  Mary  Kingston,  and  re- 
sides near  Emporia.  Mrs.  Betsy  Broad- 
well  died  Sept.  30,  1823,  and  John  B. 
Broadwell  was  married  March  10,  1825, 
to  Elizabeth  King,  sister  of  John  and 
Jeremiah  King.  They  had  six  children. 
WILLIAM  married  Cynthia  McMurphy, 
and  died,  leaving  a  widow  and  three 
children  in  Sangamon  county.  They  re- 
side in  California.  MOSES  J.,  born 
March  6,  1827,  was  married  in  Iowa  to 
Mary  A.  Cann,  in  Sept.,  1862.  They  re- 
side "in  Denver,  Col.  MARTHA  mar- 
ried William  Macon,  and  died  in  Califor- 
nia. HARRIET  married  A.  Poppeno, 
and  died,  leaving  three  children  in  Sanga- 
mon county.  FRANCIS  M.,  born  May 
15,  1836,  in  Sangamon  county,  was  mar- 
ried in  Davis  county,  Iowa,  to  Sarah 
Allen,  moved  to  Denver,  Col.,  and  died 
there.  HENRY  C.  is  on  the  Pacific 
coast.  Mrs.  Elizabeth  Broadwell  died 
July  23,  1840,  in  Sangamon  county,  and 
John  B.  Broadwell  resides  partly  near 
Fredonia,  Kan.,  and  with  his  daughter, 
Mrs.  Irwin,  in  Sangamon  county. 

WILLIAM,  born  April  27,  1799,  in 
Hamilton  county,  O.,  was  married  in  San- 
gamon county,  Dec.  15,  1821,  to  Margaret 


Stevenson.  They  had  one  son,  WIL- 
LIAM B.,  born  Jan.  3,  1825,  in  Sanga- 
mon county.  He  laid  out  the  town  of 
Broadwell,  in  Logan  county.  He  was 
married,  and  resides  in  Hutchinson,  Reno 
county,  Kan.  William  Broadwell  was 
killed  at  Old  Sangamo,  in  Sangamon 
county,  111.,  Nov.  22,  1824,  while  assisting 
in  raising  a  barn.  His  widow  married 
Richard  Latham.  See  his  name. 

CHARLES,  born  Dec.  3,  1800,  in 
Hamilton  county,  O.,  was  married  Jan.  9, 

1825,  in  Sangamon  county,  to  Ellen  Car- 
man, daughter  of  Jacob   Carman.     They 
had    eight    children,    JACOB,    SILAS, 
RACHEL,  HELEN,  ADELIA,  MAR- 
GARET  and    MARY    A.     The    latter 
married    A.    P.    Brereton,  and  resides  in 
Pekin.       Charles    Broadwell    moved    to 
Pekin,  and  died  in  1854.      His  widow  re- 
sides there. 

JEFFERSON,  born  June  9,  1805, 
in  Clermont  county,  O.,  died  Dec.  10, 
1830,  in  Sangamon  county. 

CTNTHIA,  born  Nov.  2,  1807,  in 
Clermont  county,  was  married,  May  21, 

1826,  in    Sangamon   county,    to   William 
Carson.     See  his  name. 

EUCLID,  born  Oct.  7,  1809,  in  Cler- 
mont county,  O.,  was  married  in  Sanga- 
rnon  county  Dec.  12,  1833,  to  Laura  Far- 
rington.  They  had  eight  children,  some 
died  young,  and  the  family  moved  to  Iowa. 
LOUISA,  born  Aug.  27,  1836,  was  mar- 
ried Feb.  21,  1 86 1,  in  Van  Buren  county, 
Iowa,  to  D.  S.  Jamison,  who  was  born 
Aug.  25,  1822,  in  Westmoreland  county, 
Pa.  They  have  four  children,  ELSWORTH, 
CORA,  SHERMAN  and  BOB.  They  reside 
at  Keosauqua,  Van  Buren  county,  Iowa. 
ROSALINE,  born  March  i,  1839,  was 
married  Feb.  16,  1860,  to  Rev.  J.  W. 
Roe.  They  had  six  children,  ALLEN, 

CLARA,  WILLIAM,    LAURA,  CHARLES    and 

JOHN.  Mrs.  Rosaline  Roe  died  July  30, 
1874,  at  Malvern,  Mills  county,  Iowa. 
MARIA,  born  Sept.  21,  1841,  married 
Aug.  3,  1863,  to  Ephriam  Farrington. 
They  have  two  children,  ELSIE  and  EVA, 
and  reside  at  Belle  Plain,  Sumner  county, 
Kan.  CHARLES,  born  April  28,  1846, 
died  Oct.  i,  1875,  in  Denver,  Col.  MIL- 
LIARD F.,  born  Aug.  16,  1850,  resides 
at  Niles,  Van  Buren  county,  Iowa.  EL- 
LA, born  Aug.  5,  1853,  in  Macon  county, 
111.,  was  married  March  31,  1872,  to  Dr. 
C.  L.  Crooks.  They  had  two  children, 


144 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


CLARK  and  BESSIE,  and  reside  at  Cantril, 
Van  Buren  county,  Iowa.  Euclid  Broad- 
well  died  Feb.  12,  1874,  at  Niles,  and  his 
widow  resides  there. 

Moses  Broadwell  is  said  to  have  built 
the  first  brick  house  in  Sangamon  county. 
He  died  April  10,  1827,  and  his  widow 
died  March  8,  1836,  both  in  Sangamon 
county,  111.,  where  they  settled  in  1820. 

BROOKS,  REV.  JOHN  F., 
was  born  Dec.  3,  1801,  in  Oneida  county, 
N.  Y.  His  parents  were  of  New  Eng- 
land origin,  but  emigrated  to  New  York 
in  1792,  when  the  whole  region  was  a 
forest,  with  here  and  there  a  small  settle- 
ment. Mr.  Brooks  graduated  at  Hamil- 
ton College,  in  that  county,  in  1828,  and 
afterwards  studied  three  years  in  the  theo- 
logical department  of  Yale  college,  New 
Haven,  Conn.  Be  was  ordained  to  the 
gospel  ministry  by  Oneida  Presbytery,  in 
the  autumn  of  1831,  and  was  married  soon 
after  to  a  daughter  of  Rev.  Joel  Bradley. 
They  immediately  left  for  Illinois,  under 
a  commission  from  the  American  Home 
Missionary  Society.  They  traveled  by 
canal,  lake  and  stage  to  Pittsburg,  thence 
by  steamboat,  down  the  Ohio  river  to 
New  Albany,  Ind.  Any  route  to  Illinois 
by  way  of  Chicago,  in  those  days,  was 
not  to  be  thought  of,  as  that  place  was 
just  emerging  from  the  condition  of  an 
Indian  trading  station.  At  New  Albany 
Rev.  Mr.  Brooks  purchased  a  horse  and 
"  Dearborn,"  as  it  was  then  called,  which 
was  a  one  horse  wagon  with  stationary 
cover.  In  this  they  continued  their  jour- 
ney, crossing  the  Wabash  river  at  Vin- 
cennes.  After  passing  a  skirt  of  timber 
on  the  west  side,  they  entered  the  first 
prairie  of  Illinois,  in  the  midst  of  a  furious 
storm.  They  were  far  from  any  house, 
with  only  the  carriage  as  a  protection,  and 
that  in  danger  of  being  upset  by  the  gale. 
They  weathered  the  storm,  however,  by 
turning  the  back  of  their  carriage  to  it, 
but  the  prairie  was  covered  with  water, 
and  they  could  only  disern  the  path  by 
observing  where  the  grass  did  not  rise 
above  the  water.  They  sought  a  house 
to  dry  their  garments,  and  that  night  ar- 
rived at  Lawrenceville,  where  Rev.  Mr. 
B.  preached  his  first  sermon  in  Illinois, 
the  next  day  being  Sabbath.  About  three 
days  after  they  arrived  at  Vandalia,  the 
State  capital,  having  been  five  weeks  on 
the  way  from  the  vicinity  of  Utica,  N.  Y. 


After  visiting  several  towns  and  villages, 
Rev.  Mr.  Brooks  located  for  the  winter 
at  Collinsville,  in  the  southern  part  of 
Madison  county,  preaching,  alternately, 
there  and  at  Belleville.  In  the  spring  of 
1832  he  moved  to  the  latter  place,  where 
he  continued  five  years,  preaching  there, 
and  at  several  other  points  in  St.  Clair 
and  Monroe  counties. 

About  the  second  year  of  his  residence 
at  Belleville,  he  and  his  wife  opened  a 
school,  which  increased  so  rapidly  they 
employed  an  assistant.  They  taught  all 
grades,  from  A,  B,  C,  to  the  classics  and 
higher  mathematics.  Several  attended 
that  school,  who  afterwards  entered  the 
halls  of  legislation,  and  other  departments 
of  public  life.  In  1837  Mr.  Brooks  was 
chosen  principal  of  a  Teachers'  Seminary, 
which  benevolent  individuals  were  en- 
deavoring to  establish  in  Waverly,  Mor- 
gan county.  He  taught  there  with  suc- 
cess, but  the  general  embarrassment  of  the 
country,  caused  by  the  financial  disasters 
of  1837,  compelled  a  relinquishment  of 
that  enterprise.  During  the  time  he  was 
teaching  he  endeavored  to  preach  one  ser- 
mon every  Sabbath,  but  the  double  labor 
induced  bronchial  affection,  from  which 
he  has  never  fully  recovered.  In  1840 
Mr.  B.  was  called  to  Springfield  to  take 
charge  of  an  academy  for  both  sexes, 
though  in  different  apartments,  to  be 
taught  in  a  newr  brick  edifice  erected  for 
that  purpose  on  the  west  side  of  Fifth 
street,  between  Monroe  and  Market. 
Here  he  continued  his  labors,  with  the  aid 
of  two  assistants,  for  two  years  and  a  half. 
Many  persons  now  prominent  in  business 
or  in  domestic  life,  received  a  portion  of 
their  education  there.  After  this  he 
labored  for  two  years  under  direction  of 
Presbytery  supplying  vacant  churches  in 
this  and  adjoining  counties.  His  health 
was  now  much  impaired,  and  designing 
light  labor,  he  opened  a  school  for  young 
ladies  in  a  small  room  near  his  own  house. 
The  applications  soon  outran  the  size  of 
the  room,  which  he  enlarged,  and  his 
wife  again  assisted  him.  His  school  in- 
creased, his  health  improved,  and  he  pur- 
chased the  property  on  the  corner  of  Fifth 
and  Edwards  streets,  re-arranging  the 
two-story  frame  building  internally  to  suit 
the  purposes  of  a  school.  This  he  opened 
as  a  Female  Seminary,  the  Autumn  of 
1849,  with  three  assistants,  and  Mrs. 


SANGAMON  COUNTT. 


'45 


Brooks  in  charge  of  the  primary  depart- 
ment, held  in  the  room  he  previously 
occupied.  In  addition  to  the  usual  course, 
Mr.  Brooks  added  drawing,  painting  and 
music;  two  pianos  were  introduced,  and 
this  is  believed  to  have  been  the  first  effort 
at  teaching  music  in  the  schools  of  Spring- 
field. This  Seminary  prospered  for  four 
years,  when  Mrs.  Brooks'  health  failed, 
and  it  became  necessary  to  close  the  insti- 
tution. Since  her  death  in  1860,  Rev. 
Mr.  Brooks  has  devoted  a  large  part  of 
his  time  to  hearing  classes,  and  giving 
private  lessons. 

He  was  one  of  seven  young  men  who 
banded  together,  while  in  their  theologi- 
cal course  in  New  Haven,  for  the  estab- 
ment  of  a  college  in  this  State.  Illinois 
College,  at  Jacksonville  is  the  result  of 
their  exertions.  Mr.  Brooks  has  been  one 
of  its  trustees  from  the  first. 

He  relates,  as  an  illustration  of  the 
change  of  times  in  attending  Presbytery 
in  the  State  since  he  entered  it,  that  a 
clergyman  in  those  days  must  have  his 
horse  and  saddle  as  certainly  as  his  Bible 
and  hymn  book.  The  settlements  were 
remote  from  each  other,  and  a  ride  of 
three  or  four  days  to  a  meeting  of  Pres- 
bytery was  a  common  experience.  Once, 
in  attending  such  a  meeting,  Mr.  Brooks 
traveled  in  an  easterly  direction  from  Bell- 
ville,  for  two  or  three  days,  and  found  a 
sparse  settlement,  mostly  of  log  cabins. 
They  had  erected  a  frame  church  building 
and  roofed  it,  without  siding  or  floor,  with 
only  a  few  rough  boards  for  seats.  The  Pres- 
bytery opened  its  sessions,  several  sermons 
were  preached,  the  sacrament  administered, 
but  rain  came  on  before  that  body  ad- 
journed, and  they  moved  to  a  private 
house,  with  only  one  room  and  a  small 
side  appartment.  At  meal  time  Presby- 
tery adjourned,  that  the  table  might  be 
spread,  and  after  evening  service,  six  or 
seven  members  lodged  in  the  same  room, 
on  beds  spread  on  the  floor.  People,  in 
sustaining  religious  worship  under  such 
circumstances  made  as  great  sacrifices, 
according  to  their  means  as  those  who 
build  their  $50,000  churches  do  now.  At 
this  meeting  Mr.  Brooks  was  entertained 
at  a  cabin  where  the  only  light  admitted 
was  through  an  open  door,  or  one  or  two 
sheets  of  piled  paper,  in  place  of  glass 
windows.  He  met  a  man,  however,  in 
that  settlement,  from  his  native  town,  in 
—  19 


New  York,  and  he  had  two  glass  win- 
dows, but  his  neighbors  thought  him  ex- 
travagant, and  somewhat  aristocratic  to 
indulge  in  such  a  luxury.  Rev.  Mr. 
Brooks  resides  west  side  of  Fifth,  between 
Edwards  and  Cook  streets,  Springfield, 
Illinois. 

BROWN  ELL,  JOHN,  was 
born  Aug.  14,  1800,  in  Rhode  Island. 
During  his  infancy  his  parents  moved  to 
Seneca  county,  N.  Y.  He  came  west 
with  the  family  of  William  Seely.  Mr.  B. 
and  the  other  members  of  his  family  came 
by  water  to  Shawneetown,  and  from 
there  in  wagons,  arriving  in  what  is  now 
Ball  township,  July  5,  1819.  John 
Brownell  was  married  to  Nancy  Pulliam, 
in  1821.  Of  their  eleven  children  born 
in  Sangamon  county,  two  died  in  infancy. 
Of  the  nine  living — 

WILLIAM,  born  Dec.  10,  1822,  in 
Sangamon  county,  was  married  Jan.  20, 
1848,  to^  Elizabeth  Bridges.  They  had 
four  living  children,  and  Mrs.  B.  died, 
Feb.  17,  1869.  Mr.  Brownell  was  mar- 
ried in  Sangamon  county,  Dec.  29,  1869, 
to  Sarah  E.  Vaughan,  who  was  born  Mar. 
3,  1840,  in  Kentucky.  Thev  had  two 
children.  Of  the  children  by  his  first 
marriage,  MARGARET  J.,  born  Nov. 
24,  1848,  in  Sangamon  county,  was  mar- 
ried Nov.  3,  1866,  to  John  M.  Sutton, 
who  was  born  July  29,  1845,  in  Michigan. 
They  have  three  living  children,  WILLIAM 

N.,  DELLA  M.  and  BURTIE   E.      J.    M.    Sut- 

ton  resides  in  Auburn.  JOHN  W.,  MI- 
RANDA I.  and  COLUMBUS  V.,  and 
by  the  second  marriage,  ORAH  V.  and 
EDWARD,  reside  with  their  father. 
William  Brownell  and  family  reside  in 
Auburn. 

WILSON  A'.,  born  Jan.  18,  1825,  in 
Sangamon  county,  was  married  May  17, 
1855,  to  Sarah  Murphy,  a  native  of  Maine. 
They  had  two  children,  ELIZA  and 
SARAH,  and  Mrs.  B.  died,  Feb.,  1859. 
Wilson  K.  married  Polly  A.  Lawson. 
They  had  four  children,  who  all  died. 
Mrs.  Polly  Brownell  died,  and  Wilson  K. 
resides  in  Ball  township. 

GEORGE  W.,  born  July  16,  1827, 
was  married  Jan.  20,  1848,  in  Sangamon 
county,  to  Miranda  Bridges.  They  had 
ten  children.  MARY  ISABEL,  born 
Nov.  5,  1848,  was  married  May  26,  1864, 
to  Henry  Willard,  who  was  born  in  Mis- 
souri in  1841.  They  had  two  children, 


146 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


IDA  A.  and  GEORGKTTA.  Mr.  W.  died,  and 
she  married  May  20,  1869,  to  Calvin  Mc- 
Clure,  who  was  born  in  Ohio  Feb.  10, 1829. 
They  had  one  child,  GERTRUDE.  Mr. 
McClure  died  March  15,  1873,  and  Mrs. 
McC.  married  James  McCulley,  who  Was 
born  Aug.  18^  1848,  in  Sangamon  county. 
They  have  one  child,  ISAAC  F.,  and  reside 
in  Chatham  township.  JOHN  I.,  born 
June  7,  1850,  was  married  Aug.  27,  1873, 
to  Susanna  Graves,  who  was  born  Feb. 

14,  1849,  in  Macoupin  county.    They  have 
one  child,  CLARENCE  H.,  and  reside  near 
Taylorville,  111.     WILLIAM    W.,  born 
Aug.  2,  1852.     BEBECCA  E.,  born  Jan. 

15,  1855,  in  Sangamon  county,  was  mar- 
ried    Nov.     13,    1872,    to    James     Hurst. 
They   have    one    living    child,    WILLIAM. 
MELISSA  M.,  born  Jan.  25,  1856,  mar- 
ried Nov.  20,  1873,  to  Isaac   Bowls,  who 
was     born     in     Ohio,     in      Dec.,      1852. 
JOSEPH  S.,  NANC  Y  J.,  GEORGE  H., 
VIOLA    M.    and  CHARLES   E.;   the 
latter  died  in  infancy.      All  the  other  un- 
married children  reside  with  their  parents, 
near  Taylorville,  Christian  county,  111. 

MARY  A.,  born  Dec.  12,  1829,  was 
married  March  13, 1849,10  Pleasant  Kent, 
who  was  born  in  Ohio.  They  had  twelve 
children,  seven  living.  One  child,  ELIZA, 
married  William  Miller.  They  have  two 
children,  and  reside  in  Woodside  town- 
ship, Sangamon  county. 

IRRILDA  y.,  born  June  26,  1832,  in 
Sangamon  county,  was  married  Feb.  22, 
1853,  in  same  county,  to  L.  T.  Porterfield, 
who  was  born  May  16,  1833.  They  had 
eight  children;  two  died  young.  Of  the 
other  six,  JOHN  H.,  MARIA  M., 
AMANDA^J.,  FRANCIS  L.,  MARY 
L.  and  HATTIE  J.  L.  T.  Porterfield 
died  April  26,  1869.  His  widow  and 
children  reside  in  Auburn,  Sangamon 
county,  111. 

ELIZABETH  M.,  born  Dec.  9, 1835, 
in  Sangamon  county,  was  married  July 
29,  1856,  in  same  county,  to  Milton  Pike, 
who  was  born  June  5,  1823.  See  his 
name.  They  had  eight  children;  one 
died  in  infancy.  ALICE  and  LILLIE, 
twins,  born  June  5,  1857;  Lillie  died  June 
13,  1867,  and  Alice  died  April  9,  1872. 
MARY  M.,  EDDIE  F.,  HATTIE  T., 
FREDDIE  B.  and  MINNIE  A.  Mr. 
Pike  and  family  reside  in  Auburn,  Sanga- 
mon county,  111. 


MARIA  L.,  born  July  24,  1838,  was 
married  June  2,  1857,  m  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, to  Joseph  C.  Campbell,  who  was  born 
in  Wayne  county,  111.  He  enlisted  Sept. 
6,  1861,  in  Co.  I,  29th  Reg.  111.  Vol.  Inf., 
died  Sept.  15,  1864.  His  widow  married 
James  Rape,  and  they  reside  near  Taylor- 
ville, 111. 

FRANKLIN,  born  Aug.  23,  1843, 
married  Sarah  Reed.  They  had  four 
children;  two  died  young.  They  reside 
in  Ball  township. 

FRANCIS  M.,  born  April  3,  1846,  in 
Sangamon  county,  was  married  Sept.  4, 
1871,  in  Macoupin  county,  to  Emma 
Brooks,  who  was  born  Jan.  28,  1844,  in 
Kent  county,  Delaware.  They  reside  in 
Auburn. 

Mrs.  Nancy  Brownell  died  Aug.  28, 
1856,  and  John  Brownell  was  married 
March  29,  1860,  to  Mrs.  Maria  L.  Watts, 
whose  maiden  name  was  Allen.  They 
reside  in  Ball  township,  on  land  entered 
bv  Mr.  Brownell  in  1822. 

"BROWN,  WILLIAM,  was 
born  April  19,  1779,  in  Frederick  county, 
Virginia.  The  family  have  a  record 
reaching  back  through  his  father,  James 
Brown,  born  April  19,  1742,  O.  S.,  in 
Spotsylvania  county,  Va.,  to  his  father, 
James  Brown,  born  April  29,  1708,  O.  S., 
in  Middlesex  county,  Va.,  whose  parents 
emigrated  from  England.  James  Brown, 
the  father  of  the  subject  of  this  sketch, 
emigrated  from  Virginia  to  Bourbon 
county,  Ky.,  in  1784.  William  Brown 
was  married  in  1805,  in  Fayette  county, 
Ky.,  to  Harriet  B.  Warfield,  who  was 
born  March  3,  1788.  They  had  ten  child- 
ren; one  died  in  infancy;  all  born  at  the 
family  residence  except  the  eldest,  who 
was  born  at  the  Warfield  homestead,  near 
Bryan's  Station,  Fayette  county,  Ky. 
William  Brown  was  a  successful  lawyer, 
and  for  several  years  before  leaving  Ken- 
tucky, his  home  was  a  country  seat,  over- 
looking the  town  of  Cynthiana,  and  the 
valley  of  the  Licking.  He  led  a  company 
of  volunteers  from  Kentucky,  in  the  war 
of  1812,  in  which  he  won  the  title  of  Col- 
onel. He  represented  Harrison  county 
in  the  Legislature  of  Kentucky,  and  later 
represented  his  district  in  Congress.  He, 
in  company  with  his  son-in-law,  James  D. 
Smith,  explored  the  central  region  of  Illi- 
nois, and  in  1832  made  large  purchases  of 
land  in  and  around  Island  Grove,  in  San- 


SANGAMON   COUNTY. 


147 


gamon  county.  He  brought  his  family 
the  year  following,  and  after  providing 
for  the  erection  of  a  country  residence, 
made  his  home  in  Jacksonville,  Morgan 
county,  where,  after  a  brief  illness,  he 
died,  Oct.  6,  1833.  Of  their  nine  children 
who  accompanied  them  to  Illinois,  four 
never  resided  in  Sangamon  county,  viz: 
ELISHA  W.,  ELIZA  .C.  and  SARAH 
If.  reside  at  Boonville,  Cooper  county, 
Mo.  WILLIAM  made  Jacksonville  his 
home,  brough  up  a  family  of  children, 
and  died  there,  after  a  life  full  of  useful- 
ness and  honor,  in  1871.  Of  the  other 
five  children — 

JAMES  N.,  born  Oct.  i,  1806,  at 
Bryan's  Station,  Fayette  county,  Ky.,  was 
married  near  Cynthiana,  Ky.,  to  Polly  A. 
Smith.  They  had  three  children  in  Ken- 
tucky, all  of  whom  died  in  infancy.  They 
moved  to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  where 
six  children  were  born,  one  of  whom  died 
in  infancv.  JAMES  N.,  Jun.,  born  Julv 
13,  i836;died  Feb.' 8,  1851.  WILLIAM, 
born  June  n,  1839,  was  married,  Oct.  18, 
1865,  in  Covington,  Ky.,  to  Sail}-  R. 
Smith,  who  was  born  Feb.  i,  1847,  *n 
Harrison  countv,  Kv.  They  had  three 
children,  all  of  whom  died  in  infancy. 
Mrs.  Sally  R.  Brown  died  May  6,  1870,3! 
Island  Grove.  Mr.  B.  resides  at  the  fam- 
ily homestead.  CHARLES  S.,  born 
Oct.  n,  1841,  was  married  Jan.  i^j,  1874, 
in  Middletown,"  Butler  county,  Ohio,  to 
Sarah  E.  Bonnell,  who  was  born  there, 
May  30,  1843.  They  reside  at  the  family 
homestead.  BENJ/WARFIELD,  born 
Oct.  10,  1844,  resides  at  the  homestead, 
three  miles  west  of  Berlin,  Sangamon 
county.  MARY  H.,  born  March  19, 
1848,  and  was  married  Jan.  4,  1872,  at  Is- 
land Grove,  to  Samuel  N.  Hitt,  who  was 
born  Sept.  20,  1834,  in  Bourbon  county, 
Ky.  He  enlisted  Sept.  21,  1861,  at  Camp 
Butler,  in  the  loth  111.  Cav.,  and  was 
elected  ist.  Lieut.,  was  promoted  through 
all  the  grades  to  Col.,  and  was  honorably 
discharged,  Dec.,  1866.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Col.  Hitt  had  two  children;  one  died  in 
infancy.  MARY  B.  resides  with  her  par- 
ents, half  a  mile  east  of  New  Berlin,  San- 
gamon countv.  Capt.  James  N.  Bi-own, 
*  Sen.,  represented  Sangamon  county  in 
the  Legislature  of  Illinois  for  the  years 
1840,  '42,  '46  and  '52.  During  the  session 
of  the  last  named  \  ear  he  drafted  a  bill 
and  secured  its  passage,  which  led  to  the 


organization  of  the  Illinois  State  Agricul- 
tural Society.  He  was  elected  its  first 
President,  Jan.  5,  1853,  and  re-elected  in 
1854.  He  held,  to  the  day  of  his  death, 
offices  of  public  trust,  but  whilst  giving 
much  of  his  time  to  the  State,  his  love  for 
agriculture  was  not  abated,  nor  his  active 
duties  in  her  pursuits  neglected,  and  to  his 
sagacity  and  persistant  life-time  efforts  is 
Illinois  largely  indebted  for  her  promi- 
nence as  a  producer  of  short  horn  cattle. 
For  more  than  a  third  of  a  century  he 
was  a  member  of  the  M.  E.  church,  and 
his  active  Christian  life  closed  Nov.  16, 
1868.  His  widow,  Mrs.  Polly  A.  Brown, 
died  May  18,  1873,  both  where  they  set- 
tled in  1833.  Their  remains  are  interred 
in  Wood  Wreath  Cemetery. 

RUTH  ANN,  born  April  29,  1812, 
married  James  D.  Smith.  See  his  name. 

MARY,  born  March  3,  1814,  was  mar- 
ried in  1831,  in  Kentucky,  to  Barton  S. 
Wilson.  They  moved  from  Jacksonville, 
111.,  to  Island  Grove,  in  1835,  and  thence, 
in  1837,  *°  Boonville,  Mo.,  where  Mrs. 
Wilson  died,  in  1858,  but  three  children 
survive  her,  viz:  Mrs.  REBECCA 
Brand,  JOSEPH  and  JOHN,  all  of 
whom,  with  their  father,  reside  in  Neosho, 
Newton  county,  Missouri. 

REBECCA,  born  Jan.  4,  1819,  was 
married  in  Jacksonville,  111.,  to  Charles 
W.  Price.  See  his  name. 

LLOYD  W.,  born  Feb.  22,  1824,  in 
Kentucky,  graduated  in  arts  at  McKen- 
dree  College,  in  1842,  and  in  medicine, 
from  the  University  of  Maryland.  In 
1847  he  married  Rebecca  P.  Warfield,  of 
Lexington,  Ky.  He  practiced  medicine 
in  that  city  one  year,  and  came  to  Illinois 
Dec.,  1848,  and  settled  near  the  town  of 
Berlin,  in  1849,  practiced  medicine  there 
until  1857,  when  he  abandoned  his  pro- 
fession for  other  pursuits,  and  moved  to 
Boonville,  Mo.  He  returned  to  IHinois 
in  1858,  and  after  a  brief  stav  in  Jackson- 
ville, settled  on  his  farm  at  Lost  Grove^on 
the  line  between  Sangamon  and  Morgan 
counties.  Of  Dr.  L.  W.  Brown's  ten 
children,  five  died  in  infancv.  The  others 
are:  HARRIET  ,B.,  born  May  i,  1852, 
died  July  n,  1867,  at  her  grand-father's, 
(Dr.  Warfield)  in  Lexington,  Kv.  She 
is  buried  in  Wood  Wreath  Cemetery, 
111.  WILLIAM  B.,  EDWARD  F., 
REBECCA  C.  and  LLOYD  W.,  Jun. 


148 


EARL?  SETTLERS  OF 


Dr.  L.  W.  Brown  is  a  banker,  and,  with 
his  family,  resides  in  Jacksonville,  111. 

BROWN,  WILLIAM  B., 
was  horn  Feb.  2,  1802,  in  Greensburg, 
Green  county,  Ky.  Harriet  L.  Allen  was 
born  Dec.  17,  1804,  in  the  same  place. 
She  was  a  daughter  of  Col.  David  Allen, 
a  pioneer  from  Virginia.  He  took  an  ac- 
tive part  in  the  Indian  wars  of  Kentucky. 
William  B.  Brown  and  Harriet  L.  Allen 
were  married  in  Greensburg,  Dec.  31, 
1822.  They  had  five  children  in  Ken- 
tucky, and  moved  to  Athens,  111.,  in  Nov., 
1833,  where  they  had  one  child,  and  Mrs. 
Brown  died  Oct.  7, 1835.  Wm.  B.  Brown 
was  married  in  Athens,  June  20,  1837,  to 
Laura  B.  Buckman.  They  moved  to  San- 
gamo,  in  Sangamon  county,  in  1839. 
They  had  four  living  children.  Of  all  his 
children — 

DANIEL  C.  and  DA  VID  A.,  twins, 
were  born  Sept.  27,  1824,  at  Greensburg, 
Ky.,  and  brought  by  their  father  to  San- 
gamon county.  At  fifteen  years  of  age 
they  sawed  all  the  lath  used  in  building 
the  first  State  House  in  Springfield,  now 
the  Sangamon  county  Court  House. 

DANIEL  C.  then  served  an  appren- 
ticeship to  the  drug  business.  He  was 
married  June  30,  1852,  in  Petersburg,  to 
Catharine  L.  Cowgill.  They  have  three 
living  children,  HARRIET  CLEMAN- 
TINE,  JOHN  H.  and  ELIZA  B.  Dan- 
iel C.  Brown  has  been  for  many  years, 
and  is  now,  a  druggist  in  Springfield. 

DA  VID  A.,  was  reading  law  with 
Col.  E.  D.  Baker  in  1846,  when  the  war 
with  Mexico  commenced.  At  the  suggest- 
ion of  Mr.  Baker,  Mr.  Brown  commenced 
raising  a  company.  Before  it  was  full,  it 
was  consolidated  with  another  part  of  a 
company  from  Logan  county,  and  became 
Co.  I,  4th  111.  Inf.  Mr.  Brown  was  elect- 
ed Second  Lieutenant.  He  was  with  the 
regiment  at  the  bombardment  of  Vera 
Cruz,'  and  at  the  battle  of  Cerro  Gordo, 
April  1 8,  1847.  The  next  day  Lieut. 
Brown  was  promoted  for  gallantry,  as  aid 
de  camp  to  Col.  Baker,  then  commanding 
the  brigade.  On  returning  from  Mexico, 
Mr.  Brown  read  law  in  the  office  of  Lin- 
coln &  Herndon,  and  was  admitted  to  the 
bar.  He  was  then  appointed  Clerk  of  the 
Circuit  Court  of  Menard  county,  to  which 
office  he  was  afterwards  elected,  and  served 
in  all  six  years,  when  he  returned  to 
Springfield,  and  practiced  law  for  six 


years.  He  abandoned  the  practice,  and  in 
1859  engaged  extensively  in  farming  at 
Bates,  in  this  county.  He  was  elected 
Vice-P:-esident  of  the  State  Board  of 
Agriculture,  and  served  four  years,  eroding 
Sept.,  1870,  when  he  was  elected  Presi- 
dent of  the  Board  for  two  years.  He  was 
appointed  by  Gov.  Beveridge  as  one  of 
the  three  Railroad  and  Warehouse  Com- 
missioners, March  13,  1873,  confirmed  by 
the  Senate  the  same  day,  and  commis- 
sioned by  the  Governor  on  the  I7th  of  the 
month.  David  A.  Brown  was  married 
Dec.  8,  1852,  in  Sangamon  county,  to 
Eliza  J.  Smith.  They  have  six  living 
children,  SALLIE  C.,  WILLIAM  J., 
HARRIET  J.  MARY  E.,  JAY  T.  and 
CARRIE  A.,  and  reside  at  Bates. 

WILLIAM  J.,  born  March  23,  1827, 
in  Greensburg,  Ky.,  raised  in  Sangamon 
county,  was  married  at  Clinton,  111.,  Nov. 
22, 1854,10  Elizabeth  M.  Smith,  and  moved 
soon  after  to  Decatur.  They  have  three 
living  children,  HATTIE  J.,  ANNIE 
and  CHRISTOPHER  N.  In  1862  Wm. 
J.  Brown  became  Capt.  of  Co.  A,  116  111. 
Inf.  He  served  through  the  battles  of 
Chickasaw  Bluff,  Arkansas  Post,  and  the 
siege  and  capture  of  Vicksburg.  Capt. 
Brown  resigned  in  1863  on  account  of 
physical  disability,  took  a  trip  to  California 
for  recruiting  his  health,  and  from  that  to 
the  present  time  has  been  in  the  drug  bus- 
iness in  Decatur. 

MARTHA  T.,  born  and  died  in  Ken- 
tucky, in  her  sixth  year. 

JOHN  H.,  born  Feb.  17,  1832,  in 
Greensburg,  Ky.,  raised  in  Sangamon 
county,  married  in  Decatur,  Jan.  2,  1856, 
to  Clara  A.  Stafford.  They  had  three  liv- 
ing children,  DANIEL  A.,  HARMON 
and  MARY.  John  H.  Brown  was  a 
druggist  at  Cairo,  and  was  Treasurer  of 
the  city  while  residing  there.  He  removed 
to  Springfield,  and  continued  in  the  same 
business,  until  failure  of  health  induced 
him  to  visit  California,  where  he  died,  at 
Grass  Valley,  April  n,  1866.  His  widow 
married  Dr.  Justus  Townsend,  and  resides 
in  Springfield. 

CHRIS7^OPHER  C.,  born  Oct.  21, 
1834,  at  Athens,  111.  He  was  married  in 
Springfield  to  Bettie  J.  Stuart.  They 
had  three  children,  ^STUART,  ED- 
WARDS and  PAUL.  Mrs.  Bettie  J. 
Brown  died  March  2,  1869.  Part  of  the 
buildings  now  occupied  by  the  Bettie 


SANGAMON    COUNT*. 


149 


Stuart  Institute  had  been  her  home,  and 
the  institution  was  so  named  in  honor  of 
her  memory.  C.  C.  Brown  was  married 
June  4,  1872,  in  Chicago,  to  Mrs.  Carrie 
Farn'sworth,  whose  maiden  name  was 
Owsley.  They  have  one  child,  ELIZA- 
BETH J.,  and  reside  in  Springfield.  Mr. 
Brown  is  a  member  of  the  law  firm  of 
Stuart,  Edwards  &  Brown. 

JOEL  B.,  the  eldest  child  of  the  sec- 
ond wife,  was  born  March  9,  1840,  at  San- 
gamo,  Sangamon  county.  He  was  mar- 
ried Jan.  12,  1865,  to  Ella  S.  Saunders. 
They  have  one  child,  BETTIE  J.  Mr. 
Brown  was  in  the  drug  business  in  Deca- 
tur,  from  1859  to  1864.  He  is  now  a 
member  of  the  firm  of  D.  &  J.  B.  Brown, 
booksellers  and  druggists,  in  Springfield. 

MART L.  was  born  Sept.  7,  1844,  'n 
Sangamon  county,  and  married  Albert  H. 
Cowgill.  See  his  name. 

FRANKLIN  B.  was  born  Nov.  28, 
1848,  in  Sangamon  county,  and  resides  at 
Minneapolis,  Minn. 

JAMES  B.  was  born  July  24,  1851, 
in  Sangamon  county,  and  resides  in  Spring- 
field. 

William  B.  Brown  was  a  merchant  in 
Kentucky,  but  on  coming  to  Illinois  he 
engaged  extensively  in  land  speculations. 
In  connection  with  others,  he  took  part  in 
laying  out  many  of  the  important  towns 
in  Illinois  and  Iowa.  He  died  Dec.  14, 
1852,  in  Petersburg,  and  his  widow,  Mrs. 
Laura  B.  Brown,  resides  with  her  daugh- 
ter, Mrs.  Cowgill,  in  Springfield. 

BROWN,  REV.  JOHN  H., 
D.  D.,  brother  to  William  B.  Brown, 
came  to  Springfield  too  late  to  be  included 
as  an  early  settler.  His  son,  Dwight 
Brown,  is  a  member  of  the  firm  of 
D.  &  J.  B.  Brown,  of  Springfield.  Dr. 
John  H.  Brown  was  Pastor  of  the  First 
Presbyterian  Church  of  Springfield  for  a 
number  of  years,  and  at  the  time  of  his 
death  was  pastor  of  a  church  in  Chicago.* 
He  died  in  Chicago,  Feb.  23,  1872,  and 
was  buried  in  Oak  Ridge  Cemetery.  His 
widow  resides  on  North  Grand  Avenue, 
Springfield. 

BROWN,  JAMES  L.,  was  born 
Oct.  20,  1786,  in  South  Carolina.  He  was 
married  there  May  28,  1806,  to  Jane  M. 
Berry,  and  soon  after  went  to  Union 
county,  Ky.,  where  they  had  eight  child- 
ren, and  the  family  moved  to  Sangamon 
county,  111.,  arriving,  in  1824,  in  what  is 


now  Fancy  Creek  township,  where  they 
had  three  children.  Of  their  children — 

NANCT  H.,  born  Nov.  28,  1808,  mar- 
ried George  Levan,who  died  in  1843,  and 
she  married  John  D.  McCumber,  and  she 
died  March  6,  1872. 

WILLIAM  N.,  born  May  25,  1810, 
in  Kentucky,  married  Sarah  Kilgour,  who 
died,  and  he  married  Lucinda  Ensor,  and 
he  died  Feb.  19,  1872,  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty. His  widow  and  six  children  reside  in 
Montgomery  county. 

ELIZABETH  C.,  born  Dec.  23, 
1812,  married  Enos  Darnall.  They  had 
six  sons,  two  of  whom,  JAMES  L.  and 
WILLIAM,  are  deaf  and  dumb,  and 
were  educated  at  Jacksonville.  Mr.  Dar- 
nall died  near  Wintersett,  Iowa.  His 
family  reside  there. 

BENJAMIN  F.,  born  March  28, 
1815,  in  Kentucky,  married  May  15,  1835, 
to  Susannah  Dunlap.  They  had  seven 
children.  MARY  C.  married  George 
W.  McClelland.  See  his  name.  AR- 
MINDA  M.  married  Owen  G.  Allen,  and 
reside  in  Sullivan  county,  Mo.  JOHN  J. 
married  Mary  A.  Short,  have  one  child,  and 
reside  at  Heyworth,  McLean  county. 
EDNA  D.  died  Feb.  r,  1866,  aged  eighteen 
years.  JAMES  T.  died  Dec.  30,  1865,111 
his  fifteenth  year.  ANNA  F.  married 
Martin  McCoy,  and  reside  in  Fancy  Creek 
township.  Benjamin  F.  Brown  died  Feb. 
21,  1866,  and  his  widow  resides  four  miles 
northwest  of  Sherman. 

MART  H.,  born  June  23,  1817,  mar- 
ried James  T.  Dunlap.  See  his  name. 

THOMAS  C.,born  Nov.  2, 1819,  died, 
aged  eleven  years. 

SARAH  B.,  born  April  3,  1821,  mar- 
ried Orlando  Bates.  See  his  name. 

E MILT A.^  born  May  12,  1823,  mar- 
ried John  R.  Dunlap.  See  his  name. 

MARTHA  y.,  born  April  29,  1825, 
married  George  Groves.  See  his  name. 

S  US  AN  F.,  born  Aug.  27,  1827,  mar- 
ried G.  Willcockson,  have  six  children, 
and  reside  in  Lawrence  county,  Mo. 

REBECCA  H.,  born  Feb.  24,  1832, 
married  William  D.  Power,  Feb.  8,  1847. 
They  had  one  child,  and  he  died  March 
15,  1848.  His  widow  married  March  22, 
1849,  to  Joseph  Bates.  See  his  name. 

James  L.  Brown  died  April  18,  1854, 
and  his  widow  died  twenty-seven  days 
later — May  15,  1854.  He  was  a  soldier  in 


'5° 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


the  war  of  1812,  and  was  at  the  battle  of 
New  Orleans. 

BROWN,  THOMAS,  was  born 
Feb.  4,  1792,  in  South  Carolina.  Martha 
Thaxton  was  born  May  4,  1791,  in  South 
Carolina  also.  They  were  married  there, 
and  moved  to  Allen  county,  Ky.,  where 
they  had  five  children,  and  moved  to  San- 
gamon  county,  111.,  arriving  Oct  7,  1827, 
in  what  is  now  Fancy  Creek  township, 
where  they  had  one  child.  Of  their  six 
children — 

JEMIMA,  born  June  i,  1811,  in  Allen 
county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sanganion  county 
to  Thomas  Sales.  They  had  two  children. 
MARGARET  married  William  McClel- 
land. See  his  name.  GEORGE  T. 
married  Susannah  Gardner.  She  died, 
and  he  married  Mrs.  Elizabeth  Turley, 
whose  maiden  name  was  Cline.  They 
have  two  children,  THOMAS  and  MAR- 
GARET. George  T.  Sales  enlisted  in  1861 
for  three  years,  in  Co.  C,  7th  III.  Inf.  He 
was  a  Lieutenant,  served  full  term,  and 
was  honorably  discharged.  He  lives  near 
Athens,  111.  Thomas  Sales  died,  and  his 
widow  married  Philip  Crickmour,  who 
also  died.  Mrs.  Jemima  Crickmour  now 
(1874)  lives  with  her  sister,  Mrs.  Tames 
McClelland. 

Aunt  Jemima — as  she  is  called  by  the 
young  people — related  to  the  writer  a 
good  joke  on  herself,  which  serves  to  illus- 
trate the  manners  and  customs  of  the  peo- 
ple at  the  time  she  come  to  the  country. 
She  says  that  when  the  weather  was  suffi- 
ciently warm  to  admit  of  it,  the  young 
people,  upon  going  to  any  public  meeting, 
would  carry  their  shoes  and  stockings  un- 
til they  approached  their  destination,  when 
they  would  stop  and  put  them  on.  As 
soon  as  they  passed  out  of  view,  on  leav- 
ing, they  would  again  stop,  take  them  off, 
and  carry  them  home  in  their  hands. 
This  was  done  in  order  to  make  them  last 
as  long  as  possible.  She  thought  it  a  sin- 
gular custom ;  but  after  seeing  her  associ- 
ates practice  it  a  few  times,  decided  to  try 
it  herself.  She  was  then  about  sixteen 
years  of  age.  Religious  meetings  were 
held  at  private  houses.  She  started  on  a 
Sunday  morning  to  attend  a  meeting  at 
the  house  of  a  neighbor,  carrying  her 
shoes  and  stockings  in  her  hands.  A  shoil 
distance  from  the  house  she  put  them  on, 
entered  the  meeting,  and  all  passed  off 
well  until  she  started  on  the  return,  when 


a  young  gentleman  accosted  her  at  the 
door,  and  asked  permission  to  accompany 
her  home.  This  placed  her  in  a  quan- 
dary. If  she  wore  her  shoes  the  entire 
distance,  it  would  wear  them  out  so  much 
earlier;  if  she  stopped  and  took  them  off, 
there  was  reason  to  fear  it  would  frighten 
her  beau  away.  She  was  not  long  in  de- 
ciding to  wear  the  shoes  and  keep  the 
beau.  Economy  in  that  line  was  thus 
brought  to  a  sudden  termination. 

JAMES,  born  Nov.,  1813,  in  Allen 
county,  Ky.  He  was  married  in  Sanga- 
mon  county  to  Elizabeth  Scott.  They 
have  three  children,  and  live  in  Kansas. 
At  the  time  of -the  "  deep  snow  "  he  was 
but  sixteen  years  old.  It  became  neces- 
sary for  him  to  carry  a  grist  to  mill  on 
horseback.  He  found  the  traveling  quite 
difficult,  in  consequence  of  the  crust  on 
the  snow  cutting  the  legs  of  his  horse. 
A  shawl  belonging  to  some  of  the 
female  portion  of  the  familv  had  been 
wrapped  about  his  person  to  keep  him 
from  freezing.  He  tore  that  in  two  pieces, 
took  off  his  suspenders,  and  with  them 
tied  a  half  of  the  shawl  on  each  of  the 
forward  legs  of  the  horse,  about  where  the 
snow  crust  would  strike  them.  In  that 
way  he  was  enabled  to  bring  home  a  sup- 
ply of  breadstuff  for  the  family. 

JOHN,  born  March  4,  1815,  in  Ken- 
tucky, died  in  Sangamon  county  in  1842. 

ELIZABETH,  born  in  Kentucky, 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  William 
Cutwright.  She  died,  leaving  one  son, 
DANIEL,  who  enlisted  in  the  first  call 
for  75,000  men,  in  1861,  and  died  m  the 
armv. 

MART,  born  Dec.  25,  1818,  in  Allen 
county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sangamon  county 
to  James  McClelland.  See  his  name. 

ROBERT  T.,  born  Aug.  21,  1831,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Dec.  28,  1848, 
to  Edna  M.  Dunlap,  who  was  born  Jan. 
J3,  1832.  They  had  seven  children;  the 
eldest  died  young.  THOMAS,  born  Oct. 
10,  1851,  married  Oct.  23,  1872,  to  Hattie 
L.  Short,  and  live  in  Fancy  Creek  town- 
ship. MARY  E'.,  JAMES  F.,  ALEX- 
ANDER, MARGERY  I.,  ROBERT 
U.  and  JOHN  A.,  live  with  their  mother. 
Robert  T.  Brown  died  Feb.  6,  1866,  and 
his  widow  lives  near  Sherman. 

Mrs.  Martha  Brown  died  Sept.  n, 
1862,  and  Thomas  Brown  died  July  23, 
1868,  both  in  Saugamon  county.  Their 


SANGAMON  COUNTY. 


children  remember  that  the  first  corn  Mr. 
Brown  raised  in  the  county  for  sale,  was 
hauled  away  by  Abraham  Lincoln,  as  the 
hired  man  of  John  Taylor,  who  owned 
the  land  where  they  lived. 

BROWN,  JAMES  M.,  was 
born  Sept.  28,  1812,  in  Davidson  county, 
near  Nashville,  Tenn.  He  came  to  San- 
gamon county,  arriving  March  31,  1831, 
at  the  house  of  Gen.  M.  K.  Anderson, 
east  of  Pleasant  Plains.  He  was  married 
Aug.  7,  1832,  to  Elizabeth  Willis.  They 
had  eight  living  children  in  Sangamon 
county.  Of  their  children — 

MARTHA  J.,  born  Oct.  6,  1833,  was 
married  Sept.  14,  1856,  to  Daniel  T. 
Hughes.  They  have  three  living  child- 
ren, ADA,  LULIE  and  ARTHUR,  and 
reside  at  Greenview,  III. 

CLARISSA  M.,  born  July  18,  1835, 
was  married  June  13,  1852,10  J.  S.  Young, 
a  native  of  Somerset  county,  Penn.  They 
have  seven  living  children.  JOSE- 
PHINE, born  August  23,  1854,  was  mar- 
ried Nov.  20,  1873,  to  Charles  A.  Robin- 
son, a  native  Michigan.  They  have  one 
child,  GERTRUDE  i.,  and  reside  near  Oak 
Grove,  Seward  county,  Neb.  JEREMI- 
AH S.JAMES  M.,  ROSA  B.,  MARY 
F.  DORA  E.  and  CLARA  M.,  and  re- 
side near  Valparaiso,  Saunders  county, 
Neb. 

SARAH  E.,  born  Dec.  5,  1837,  was 
married  April  20,  1856,  to  James  K.  Van- 
Demark,  a  native  of  Ohio.  They  have 
one  child,  ROSA  S.,  and  reside  near 
Valparaiso,  Neb. 

MART  y.,  born  Sept.  20,  1841,  mar- 
ried George  W.  Sampson.  He  died  Oct., 
1874,  near  Fail-field,  Iowa.  Mrs.  Samp- 
son and  her  children,  JAMES  and  NEL- 
LIE, reside  with  her  parents. 

JOHN  H.,  born  Jan.  29,  1846,  was 
married,  August  13,  1865,  to  Adaline  K. 
Adams.  He  is  now  (1875)  a  widower, 
with  three  children,  CHARLES  N., 
JAMES  W.  and  ZACHEUS  K.,  and  re- 
sides at  Crowder,  Saunders  county,  Neb. 

JAMES  T.,  born  Dec.  13,  1848,  mar- 
ried Amanda  A.  Pierce.  They  have  one 
child,  CHARLES  E.,  and  reside  near 
Pleasant  Plains,  Sangamon  county. 

LA  VINA  F.,  born  Jan.  19,  1854,  was 
married  Sept.  25,  1873,  to  Thomas  Brode- 
rick.  They  have  one  child,  and  reside 
near  Pleasant  Plains,  Sangamon  county, 
Illinois. 


JOSEPH  C.,  born  March  7,  1853, 
was  married,  Sept.  n,  1873,  to  Sarah  A. 
Snook.  They  have  one  child,  THEO- 
DORE O.,  and  reside  near  Crowder, 
Saunders  county,  Neb. 

James  N.  Brown  and  wife  reside  two 
and  a  half  miles  west  of  Pleasant  Plains, 
Sangamon  county,  111. 

BROWN,  JOSHUA,  was  born 
May  20,  1792,  in  Davis  county,  Kv. 
Nancy  Wilcher  was  born  Dec.,  1789,  in 
the  same  county.  They  were  there  mar- 
ried, early  in  1812.  They  had  three  child- 
ren in  Kentucky,  and  in  Nov.,  1818, 
moved  to  St.  Clair  county,  111.,  and  from 
there  to  what  became  Sangamon  county, 
arriving  April  18,  1819,  in  what  is  now 
Curran  township,  east  of  Archer's  creek, 
and  south  of  Spring  creek,  and  later  en- 
tered one  hundred  and  sixty  acres  of  land 
south  of  Spring  creek,  in  Gardner  town- 
ship. They  had  five  children  in  Sanga- 
mon county.  Of  their  eight  children — 

REZIN  D.,  born  May  6,  1813,  in 
Davis  county,  Ky.,  was  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  111.,  May  15,  1834,  to  Rachel 
Earnest.  Thev  had  twelve  children  in 
Sangamon  county.  CATHARINE  F., 
born  March  7,  1835,  was  married  Nov.  6, 
1855,  to  John  Childs,  who  was  born  Dec. 
25,  1829,  in  Burlington,  N.  J.  They  had 
ten  children,  LEONA  L.,  JOSEPH  n.,  NOAH 

H.,  KATIE  A.,  JOHN  D.,  TIMOTHY  S.,  ANNIE 
R.,  CHARLES  F.,  JESSIE  B.  and  HATTIE, 

and  reside  near  Warrensburg,  Macon 
county,  111.  MARTIN  V.,  born  March 
4,  1837,  the  day  VanBuren  was  inaugura- 
ted President  of  the  United  States.  Ho 
was  married  Sept.  26,  1869,  to  Helen  M. 
Cecil.  They  have  one  child,  and  reside 
near  Rose  Hill,  Henry  county,  Mo. 
MARY  A.,  born  May  7,  1838,  was  mar- 
ried Oct.,  1857,  to  James  M.  Gait.  They 
have  eight  children,  and  reside  near  Pal- 
myra, Otoe  county,  Neb.  CHARLOTTE, 
born  Dec.  19,  1839,  marrted  Feb.  23,  1864, 
to  Thomas  B.  Ray.  See  his  name.  She 
died  Jan,  9,  1836,  leaving  one  child,  CHAR- 
LOTTE, who  resides  with  her  grand-pa- 
rents, Brown.  JOHN  D.,  born  March  i, 
1842,  married  Nov.  6,  1867,  to  Louisa  J. 
Cecil.  They  have  one  child,  GERTIE,  and 
reside  near  Mt.  Rose,  Mo.  CHARLES 
F.,  born  Sept.  14,  1843,  died  Sept.  30, 
1853.  PETER,  born  Atlg,  6,  1845,  re- 
sides in  Alta  City  Utah.  ANNIS,  born 
Aug.  1 6,  1847,  ni:in"ied  Nov.  10,  1869,  to 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


John  Happer.  They  have  two  children, 
HOWARD  H.  and  NELLIE,  and  reside  near 
Maroa,  Macon  county,  111.  LUANNA, 
born  April  8,  1849,  married  Oct.  17,  1872, 
to  Frank  Leverton,  and  reside  five  miles 
west  of  Springfield.  EDWIN,  born  May, 
1851,  died  Feb.  5,  1862.  CHARLES, 
born  Sept.  16,  1853,  resides  with  his  par- 
ents. JACOB  J.,  born  Jan.  15,  1856, 
died  Jan.,  1865.  Rezin  D.  Brown  and 
wife  reside  in  the  southeast  corner  of  Cart- 
wright  township. 

WILLIAM  W.  was  born  Feb.  6, 1815, 
in  Kentucky,  married  in  Illinois,  Feb.  13, 
1844,  to  Phoebe  Poole.  They  had  four 
living  children.  CLARINDA  J.,  born 
Jan.  12,  1845,  man"ied  William  Ankrom, 
and  reside  in  Curran  township.  ZILLA 
A.,  born  July  5,  1848,  married  Henry 
Dewall.  They  have  one  child,  and  reside 
at  Falls  City/Neb.  JOSHUA  T.,  born 
Feb.  28,  1851,  resides  in  Sacramento,  Cal., 
(now,  in  1873).  MARY  M.,  born  Dec. 
23,  1858,  resides  with  her  father.  Mrs. 
Phoebe  Brown  died  May  14,  1863,  and 
William  W.  Brown  was  married  Nov.  16, 

1869,  to  Mrs.  Almeda  DeLaughta,  whose 
maiden  name  was  Parker.     She  was  born 
in  Livingston  pai'ish,  near  Lake  Pontchar- 
train,  La.     They  reside  five  miles  east  of 
Berlin. 

JOHN  B.,  born  Oct.,  1816,  in  Ken- 
tucky, brought  up  in  Sangamon  county, 
and  died  unmarried,  in  the  spring  of  1869, 
in  Wisconsin. 

JAMES  M,,  born  Jan.  1820,  in  San- 
gamon county,  married  Abigail  Gilison. 
They  had  two  children  in  Sangamon 
county,  moved  to  Iowa,  and  from  there  to 
Portland,  Oregon,  thence  to  Silver  moun- 
tain, California,  where  he  was  robbed  and 
murdered,  about  1867,  leaving  a  widow 
and  two  children. 

Z.ILLAH,  born  Nov.  14, 1821,  in  San- 
gamon county,  was  married,  Jan.  12,  1840, 
to  John  Hillis,  who  was  born  April  30, 
1814.  They  had  four  living  children. 
JOSHUA  W.,  born  April  5,  1843,  was 
married  near  Mt.  Rose,  Mason  county,  in 

1870,  to  Birdie  Meleane.     They  reside  in 
Alma   county,    Colorado.      MARY    A., 
born  June  29,  1845,  was  married  April  17, 
1870,   to    Byington    Owens.     They    have 
two  children,  and  reside  in   Waynesville, 
111.    JAMES  E.    and    JOHN    R.,   born 
Sept.,    1849.    JAMES    E.   was    married 
Oct.   24,   1871,  to    Frances    N.  Jennings. 


They  reside  in  Waynesville,  111.  JOHN 
R.  is  unmarried  and  resides  in  Waynes- 
ville.  John  Hillis  died  April  30,  1849, 
and  his  widow  was  married  Dec.  30,  1856, 
to  James  Large.  They  had  two  children. 
Mr.  Large  died  April  18,  1864,  and  Mrs. 
Zillah  Large  and  family  live  in  Waynes- 
ville, DeWitt  county,  111. 

JOSHUA  M.,  bprn  July,  1825,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Elizabeth  A. 
Brown.  They  had  six  children,  and  he 
died  Jan.  7,  1867.  His  widow  married 
William  Mercer,  and  resides  near  Ham- 
burg, Iowa. 

ELM  ORE  S.,  was  born  in  1827,  in 
Sangamon  county,  enlisted  in  1847,  'n  ^e 
4th  111.  Inf.  Served  one  year  in  the  Mex- 
ican war,  returned  home,  and  died  in 
1848. 

REUBEN  M.,  was  born  in  Jan.  1829, 
in  Sangamon  county,  was  married  Nov. 
15,  1850,  to  Elizabeth  J.  Archer.  They 
had  six  children,  and  Mrs.  Brown  died, 
Sept.  20,  1864.  Mr.  B.  married  Mrs. 
Jerusha  Smith,  whose  maiden  name  was 
Sturtevant.  The  family  reside  in  Fredo- 
nia,  Kansas. 

Mrs.  Nancy  Brown  died  June  2,  1847, 
and  Joshua  Brown  was  married  May  u, 
1848,  to  Mrs.  Mary  Robinson,  whose 
maiden  name  wasMayhew.  She  died  May 
12,  1861,  and  he  died  Sept.,  1863,  on  the 
farm  where  they  settled  in  1824. 

BROWN,  JACOB  J.,  was  born 
August  15,  1781,  in  Vermont.  He  was 
married  Feb.  24,  1803,  in  Hartford,  jConn., 
to  Ann  Bacon,  who  was  born  there,  Sept. 
19,  1786.  They  had  four  children  in 
Hartford,  and  moved  to  Green  county, 
Penn.,  where  they  had  four  children,  then 
moved  to  the  State  of  New  York,  and 
from  there  to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  ar- 
riving in  1823  or  '4,  in  what  is  now  Gard- 
ner township,  north  of  Spring:  creek, 
where  they  had  two  children.  Of  their 
children — 

DEL  OS  W.,  born  Oct.  28,  1803,  in 
Hartford,  Conn.,  married  in  Sangamon 
county,  to  Ruth  Morgan,  and  had  three 
children.  ELIZABETH  married  Abner 
Wilkinson,  and  died.  Mr.  W.  and  his 
children  reside  in  Springfield.  D.  W. 
Brown  moved,  about  1856,  to  Atchison 
county,  Mo.,  and  from  there  to  Fremont 
county,  Iowa.  He  died,  and  his  widow 
and  two  children  reside  near  Sidnev,  Iowa. 


SANGAMON  COUNTY. 


'53 


AMOS  W.,  born  March  n,  1807,  in 
Connecticut.  He  married  three  times. 
His  second  wife  was  Sophia  Earnest.  She 
died,  leaving  one  child. 

JAMES  J/.,  born  May  16,  1809,  in 
Connecticut.  He  was  a  soldier  from  San- 
gamon  county,  during  the  Winnebago 
war,  came  home  sick,  and  died  August  22, 
1827. 

MARY  A.,  born  April  27,  1811,  in 
Connecticut.  She  was  married  three 
times,  is  now  a  widow  Elliott,  and,  with 
two  of  her  children,  resides  in  Grundy 
county,  Mo. 

JULIA  ANN,  born  August  9,  1812, 
in  Green  county,  Pa.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon  county,  to  Jeremiah  King.  See  his 
name. 

LEANDER  J.,  born  March  19,  1815, 
married  twice,  and  died,  leaving  a  widow 
and  five  children  near  Oakford,  Menard 
county. 

HULDAH  M.,  born  April  18,  1817, 
in  Green  county,  Pa.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon  county  to  Jesse  Ankrom,  and  lives  in 
Springfield. 

LUCY M.,  born  Feb.  13,  1820,  in  Pa., 
married  twice,  and  died  August  4,  1852, 
in  Beardstown. 

JACOB  y.,  Jun.,  born  March  8, 1825, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  Nov.  4, 
1850,  to  Emily  M.  Ralston.  They  have 
seven  children,  and  live  near  Farming- 
dale. 

ELIZABETH  A.,    born    Nov.    9, 

1829,  in  Sangamon  county,  married  Joshua 
M.  Brown.     See  his  name.     He  died  and 
she  married  Wm.  Mercer,  and  lives  near 
Hamburg,  Iowa. 

Jacob  J.  Brown,  Sen,  died  Oct.  u,  1839, 
and  his  widow  died  Oct.  21,  1873,  both  in 
Sangamon  county. 

BRUCE,  BENJAMIN  P., 
was  born  May  21,  1826,  in  Carroll  county, 
Tenn.  His  parents  moved  to  Morgan 
county,  near  Jacksonville,  in  the  spring  of 

1830.  His  father  died   there,  of  cholera, 
in  1833.     His  mother,  with   six  children, 
moved  to  Springfield  in  1834,  and  in  1836 
moved  back  to  Morgan  county,  where  she 
was    married    to    George   R.  McAllister. 
While  she  lived  in   Springfield  her  son, 
whose  name  heads  this  sketch,  was  bound 
to   Rev.  Joseph    Edmondson,    of  the    M. 
E.  Church,  and  taken  to  St.  Clair  county, 
thence  to  Bond  county.     In  1843  ^e  went 
to    Memphis,    Tenn.,    and    returned    to 

— 20 


Springfield  in  1852,  and  was  married  June 
18,  1854,  t°  Ann  Gunn,  in  Morgan  coun- 
ty. He  enlisted  for  three  years,  Aug."  6, 
1862,  in  Co.  H,  114  111.  Inf.  He  was 
wounded  in  the  right  eye  at  the  battle  of 
Nashville,  Dec.  15-16,  1864,  recovered, 
served  full  term,  and  was  honorably  dis- 
charged Aug.  3,  1865.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Bruce  had  four  children;  two  died  in  in- 
fancy. SARAH  A.  died,  aged  twelve 
years.  WILLIAM  T.  resides  with  his 
parents.  Benjamin  P.  Bruce  and  wife  re- 
side three  and  a  quarter  miles  northwest 
of  Springfield. 

His  mother,  Mrs.  Mary  W.  McAllister, 
whose  maiden  name  was  Gunn,  resides 
with  him. 

BRUNK,  DAVID,  was  born 
Dec.  17,  1819,  in  Ohio,  came  with  his 
brother  George,  his  mother  and  step- 
father, Thomas  Royal,  to  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, in  Dec.,  1824.  He  was  married  Nov. 
5,  1833,  to  Maria  Shoup.  They  had  four 
children  in  Sangamon  county,  namely — 

JACOB,  born  Nov.  5,  1834,  married 
Emily  J.  Mason.  They  have  three  child- 
ren, THOMAS  M.,  CHARLES  A.  and 
ELIZABETH  M.,  and  live  one  half 
mile  east  of  Crow's  mill,  in  Ball  town- 
ship. 

SARAH  J.  married  Wm.  H.  South- 
wick.  See  his  name. 

ELLEN  E.  married  Walter  S.  Car- 
penter. They  had  three  children, 
CHARLES  B.  died,  aged  eight  years, 
JACOB  H.  at  three  years.  MARIA 
CATHARINE  lives  with  her  parents,  in 
Ball  township. 

ANN  MARIA  married  -  -  South- 
wick.  See  his  name. 

David  Brunk  died  Jan.  23,  1855.  His 
widow  lives  near  Crow's  mill,  in  Ball 
township. 

BRUNK,  GEORGE,  was  born 
Dec.  22,  1804,  in  Miami  county,  Ohio.  At 
seventeen  years  of  age  he  came  to  Sanga- 
mon county,  111.,  arriving  in  the  fall  of 
1821.  He  entered  eighty  acres  of  land  in 
what  is  now  Ball  township,  returned  to 
Ohio,  and  brought  his  mother,  and  step- 
father, Thomas  Royal,  with  his  brothers 
and  sisters,  to  Sangamon  county,  and  set- 
tled them  on  the  land  he  had  entered, 
where  Dr.  Shields  now  resides.  He  en- 
tered more  land,  built  for  himself  a  hewed 
log  house,  and  was  married  Dec.  30,  1827, 
to  Mary  Boyd.  She-  was  horn  Jan.  i, 


'54 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


1806.  They  had  eight  children,  three  of 
whom  died  young. 

AMANDA  T.,  born  April  7,  1830, 
married  Daniel  G.  Jones.  See  his  name. 

MART  E.,  born  Dec.  17,  1831,  mar- 
ried Eugene  Owens.  They  had  six  child- 
ren. The  third  one,  JOHN  F.,  died  at 
two  years  of  age.  The  other  five,  GEO. 
B.,  DANIEL  G.,  EMMA  E.,  ULYS- 
SES GRANT  and  ARTHUR  R.  re- 
side with  their  mother,  in  Cotton  Hill 
township. 

SUSANNAH,  born  May  28,  1833, 
died  March  1=5,  1847. 

MARIA  C.,  born  Nov.  23,  1835,  mar- 
ried  Dow  Newcomer.  See  his  name. 

EVELINE,  born  March  26,  1844, 
married  Lockwood  Rusk.  See  his  name. 
She  died,  and  left  one  child  in  Cotton 
Hill  township. 

Mrs.  Mary  Brunk  died  March,  1847, 
and  Mr.  Brunk  was  married  March  i, 
1849,  to  Eliza  Armstrong.  They  had 
three  children,  namely: 

MARTHA  yl.,born  Jan.  8,  1850,  mar- 
ried Thomas  J.  Nuckolls.  See  his  name. 

THOMAS  ALBERT,  born  July  30, 
1853.  He  was  educated  under  the  guard- 
ianship of  Philemon  Stout,  at  Shurtleff 
College,  and  resides  in  Ball  township. 

GEORGE  A.,  died  at  six  years  of 
age. 

Mrs.  Eliza  Brunk  died  Oct.  4,  1860, 
and  Mr.  B.  married  Dec.  12,  1861,  to 
Emily  Talbott.  They  had  two  children, 
viz.:  TALBOTT  F.  and  JOSEPH 
C.,  who  reside  with  their  mother. 

George  Brunk  died  Sept.  2,  1868,  near 
where  he  settled  in  1824.  His  widow 
married  Lindsay  H.  English,  and  resides 
two  miles  southeast  of  Springfield. 

The  first  entry  of  land  in  Sangamon 
county  was  made  Nov.  6,  1823,  by  Israel 
Archer,  being  the  west  half  of  the  north- 
west quarter  of  section  eight,  town  four- 
teen north,  range  fourteen  west.  It  is  in 
Cotton  Hill  township,  and  the  Prot.  M. 
E.  church  stands  on  a  part  of  it  now. 

The  second  entry  was  made  the  same 
day,  Nov.  6,  by  Mason  Fowler.  It  was 
the  east  half  of  the  southwest  quarter  ot 
section  twenty-seven,  town  fourteen,  range 
four  west,  and  is  on  Horse  creek. 

The  next  day,  Nov.  7.  Elijah  lies, 
Thomas  Cox,  John  Taylor  and  Paschal 
P.  Enos,  entered  the  four  quarters  on 
which  Springfield  was  laid  out.  This  is 


from  a  newspaper  article  written  by  Geo. 
Brunk. 

BRYAN,  GEORGE,  was  born 
Feb.  15,  1758,  in  North  Carolina.  He 
went,  or  may  have  been  taken  by  his  par- 
ents, to  Virginia,  and  from  there  to  Ken- 
tucky with  Daniel  Boone,  about  1780. 
There  he  either  founded,  or  by  his  bold 
daring  as  a  leader,  gave  the  name  to  a 
primative  fortification  called  Bryant's  Sta- 
tion, in  what  became  Fayette  county,  Ky., 
a  few  miles  from  where  the  city  of  Lex- 
ington was  afterwards  established.  %It 
will  be  observed  that  in  applying  the 
name  to  the  fortification  a  letter  has  been 
added,  making  the  name  Bryant,  which  is 
erroneous.  There  is  a  tradition  preserved 
by  his  descendants,  that  soon  after  the  fort 
was  established,  the  young  women  belong- 
ing to  the  families  connected  with  it  were 
washing  clothes  at  a  stream  of  running 
water  on  the  outside  of  the  stockade. 
George  Bryan  and  some  of  the  other 
young  men  stood  guard.  Not  being  ap- 
prehensive of  danger,  they  permitted  the 
Indians  to  place  themselves  between  the 
girls  and  the  fort.  The  guard  quickly 
secured  a  position  between  the  girls  and 
the  savages,  and  a  skirmish  ensued.  After 
making  the  way  clear,  Bryan,  in  a  loud 
voice,  announced  that  he  would  marry  the 
girl  who  would  enter  the  fort  first.  They 
all  escaped,  and  he,  true  to  his  word,  after 
gaining  the  consent  of  the  young  lady, 
was  married  in  the  fall  of  1781  to  Eliza- 
beth Ragan,  who  was  born  in  1760,  in 
South  Carolina.  Mr.  Bryan  always 
claimed  that  it  was  first  marriage  of  a 
white  couple  in  what  became  the  State  of 
Kentucky.  That  was  before  the  era  of 
mills  in  that  region  of  country,  and  his 
descendants  have  handed  down  the  state- 
ment, in  connection  with  the  wedding 
festival,  that  he  paid  ten  dollars  for  a 
bushel  of  corn  meal,  to  make  bread  for 
the  occasion.  They  had  at  least  raised 
one  crop,  and  Mr.  Bryan  rolled  pumpkins 
into  the  fort  as  a  substitute  for  chairs  to 
seat  the  guests.  They  had  ten  or  eleven 
children,  four  of  them  sons,  and  Mrs. 
Bryan  died.  Mr.  Bryan  was  married  in 
1829,  to  Mrs.  Cassandra  Miller,  who  died 
in  Kentucky,  in  1833.  In  1834^1'.  Bryan 
came  to  Sangamon  county  with  some  of 
his  children  and  grand-children.  Of  his 
children,  who  came  to  this  county — 


SAN  GAM  ON  COUNTY. 


'55 


NICHOLAS,  born  March  24, 1794,  in 
Bourbon  county,  Ky.  He  was  a  soldier 
in  the  war  of  1812,  and  was  in  the  battle 
of  New  Orleans,  Jan.  8,  1815.  Soon  after 
the  close  of  the  war,  and  within  that  year, 
he  was  married  in  his  native  county  to 
Mary  Delay  Scott,  who  was  horn  there 
Dec.  24,  1800.  They  had  four  children 
in  Kentucky,  and  came  to  Sangamon 
county  in  1833,  settling  in  what  is  now 
Woodside  township.  Their  son  GEO., 
born  in  1818,  in  Kentucky,  married  near 
Elkhart,  Logan  county,  111.,  in  1839, 
moved  to  Texas  and  died  there,  leaving 
two  children.  ELIZA  C.,  born  Feb.  17, 
1820,  in  Bourbon  county,  Ky.,  married 
July  25,  1837,  near  Springfield,  111.,  to 
James  Taylor.  See  his  name.  MARY 
J.,  born  May  22,  1822,  in  Bourbon  county, 
Ky.,  married  in  1840  in  Springfield,  111., 
to  Milton  H.  Wash.  See  his  name. 
ROBERT  A.,  born  July  13,  1833,  in 
Kentucky,  married  in  Springfield,  111.,  to 
Hannah  Sperry.  She  died,  and  his  resi- 
dence is  unknown,  but  it  is  somewhere 
South.  Mrs.  Mary  D.  Bryan  died  Dec. 
25,  1843,  in  Springfield,  111.,  and  Nicholas 
Bryan  was  married  in  1845  to  Adelia 
Trumbull.  They  had  one  child,  BRY- 
ANAH,  and  moved  to  the  Pacific  coast. 
Nicholas  Bryan  died  in  1855,  in  San  Jose, 
Santa  Clara  county,  Cal.,  leaving  his 
widow  and  daughter  there. 

MB  LINDA  W.,  born  April  11,1797, 
in  Bourbon  county,  Ky.,  married  there  in 
1815  to  Abraham  Todd,  who  was  born  in 
Woodford  county,  Ky.,  in  1792.  They 
had  three  children  in  Kentucky,  and  Mr. 
Todd  died.  Mrs.  Todd  married  Thomas 
P.  Pettus.  See  his  name.  Mr.  Pettus 
and  wife,  with  her  three  daughters  by  the 
first  marriage,  came  to  Sangamon  county 
in  1838,  and  settled  near  what  is  now 
Woodside  Station.  Of  the  three  children, 
ELIZA  J.  TODD,  born  April  29,  1816, 
in  Woodford  county,  Ky.,  married  in 
Sangamon  county,  April  16,  1840,  to 
Stephen  S.  Ferrell.  They  have  a  family, 
and  reside  at  Boscobel,  Grant  county, 
Wis.  MARY  A.  TODD  born  Jan.  12, 
1819,  in  Woodford  county,  Ky.,  married 
Aug.  12,  1835,  in  Sangamon  county,  to 
Thomas  B.  Morris.  They  have  children, 
and  reside  near  Wyoming,  Iowa  county, 
Wis.  ANNA  MARIA  TODD,  born 
Jan.  19,  1823,  in  Woodford  county,  Ky., 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  John  B. 


Wolgamot.      See  his   name.      Also,  see 
T.  P.  Pettus. 

POLLY,  born  Aug.  20,  1797,  in  Bour- 
bon county,  Ky.,  married  there  to  Thomas 
Jones.  See  his  name.  She  died  in  Ken- 
tucky, but  her  family  came  to  Sangamon 
county. 

When  George  Bryan  came  to  Sanga- 
mon county,  in  1834,  he  was  in  his  seventy- 
sixth  year,  but  he  continued  visiting  Ken- 
tucky, riding  each  way  on  horseback,  an- 
nually for  eleven  years.  He  died  Nov. 
22,  1845,  and  was  buried  near  Woodside 
Station,  Sangamon  county.  He  was 
eighty-seven  years,  nine  months  and  seven 
days  old. 

It  seems  almost  incredible  that  a  man 
who  was  of  sufficient  age  to  have  been  a 
soldier  in  the  American  Revolution,  and 
who  took  an  active  part  in  the  stirring 
scenes  of  the  frontier  settlements  in  the 
second  State  admitted  to  the  American 
Union,  should  have  become  an  early  set- 
tler of  Sangamon  county,  and  witnessed 
some  of  its  earliest  strides  towards  civili- 
zation :  but  the  life  of  George  Bryan  ex- 
tended over  this  long  and  eventful  period. 
His  grandson,  William  T.  Jones,  has  a 
great  fund  of  reminiscences  of  the  life  of 
his  grandfather  Bryan,  as  he  received 
them  from  the  lips  of  the  venerable 
patriarch  while  living.  I  can  only  give 
place  to  two  incidents,  both  of  which  oc- 
curred in  Kentucky. 

On  one  occasion,  when  the  forests  were 
swarming  with  hostile  Indians,  Mr.  Bryan, 
with  six  other  men,  left  the  Station  for  a 
scouting  expedition.  Proceeding  cautious- 
ly, they  had  gone  but  two  or  three  miles 
when  the  seven  white  men  were  fired  up- 
on by  just  twice  their  number  of  Indians, 
who  lay  in  ambush  until  the  white  men 
were  very  near  them.  The  Indians  were 
good  marksmen  with  bows  and  arrows, 
but  they  had  not  been  sufficiently  accus- 
tomed to  fire-arms  to  become  expert  in 
using  them.  In  their  haste  they  over- 
shot their  marks,  and  never  hurt  a  man. 
The  advantage  would  then  have  been 
decidedly  in  favor  of  the  whites,  but  at 
this  juncture  three  of  the  latter,  supposing 
there  was  a  large  force  of  Indians,  took 
to  flight.  The  other  three,  with  Bryan  at 
their  head,  each  took  to  a  tree,  and  com- 
menced firing  at  the  Indians.  The  fight 
continued  ^the  whole  day,  and  as  the  sun 
was  sinking  to  rest,  it  was  discovered  that 


'56 


EARL  7  SETTLERS  OF 


there  were  but  two  men  on  each  side  in 
fighting  condition:  the  chief  on  one  side, 
and  Bryan  on  the  other,  with  a  single 
man  each.  The  others  were  all  killed  or 
severely  wounded.  A  parley  ensued, 
which  ended  in  an  agreement  that  the  one 
subordinate  on  each  side  should  cease  hos- 
tilities, for  the  purpose  of  taking  care  of 
the  dead  and  wounded,  and  that  the  two 
leaders  should  fight  until  one  or  the  other 
conquered.  Each  kept  behind  a  tree, 
with  his  gun  loaded,  while  they  were 
parleying,  and  when  ready  to  renew  hos- 
tilities, each  called  the  other  by  every 
epithet  expressing  cowardice  that  they 
could  respectively  command,  and  each 
dared  the  other  to  come  out  and  engage 
in  open  combat.  As  it  was  growing  dark, 
Bryan  put  his  cap  on  the  end  of  his  ram- 
rod, and  moved  it  from  the  tree  as  though 
he  was  very  cautiously  preparing  to  shoot. 
The  Indian  fired  at  the  cap,  and  finding 
himself  deceived,  he  ran  in  a  zig-zag 
course,  cautiously  looking  back  until  he 
thought  himself  at  a  safe  distance,  when 
he  took  to  a  tree  and  began  to  load  his 
rifle.  The  moment  the  chief  fired,  Bryan 
sprang  from  his  tree,  and,  instead  of  fol- 
lowing direct,  he  ran  at  an  angle  of  about 
forty-five  degrees  from  the  course  of  the 
Indian,  and  was  soon  out  of  the  line 
where  the  latter  expected  to  see  him. 
Bryan  thus  had  the  Indian  in  plain  view, 
while  the  latter  thought  himself  secure. 
As  the  chief  raised  both  arms  to  ram 
down  the  load,  Bryan  fired,  the  ball  enter- 
ing under  one  arm,  it  passed  out  under  the 
other,  and  he  fell  dead.  His  clothes 
were  covered  with  silver  brooches  and 
other  ornaments,  that  were  kept  in  the 
families  of  Bryan's  descendants  for  many 
years. 

As  the  increasing  number  of  the  whites 
convinced  the  Indians  that  they  must 
eventually  give  way,  they  became  less 
hostile.  About  this  time  Bryan  and  a 
comrade  spent  several  weeks  in  hunting, 
and  had  taken  a  large  number  of  skins 
and  furs.  While  the  two  were  alone  in 
camp,  a  considerable  number  of  Indians 
encamped  near  them ;  and  very  soon  two 
of  the  Indians  came  to  their  camp,  and, 
without  the  least  ceremony,  commenced 
opening  and  examining  the  goods  belong- 
ing to  the  two  white  men.  Mr.  Bryan 
made  up  his  mind  that  the  result  of  their 
winter's  work  was  lost,  for  if  the  Indians 


chose  to  take  their  goods,  it  would  be 
madness  to  resist  with  such  odds  against 
them.  Unknown  to  Bryan,  his  partner 
was  an  expert  in  legerdemain,  and  the 
thought  occurred  to  him  that  the  Indians 
might  be  driven  off  by  some  deceptive 
movement.  He  asked  one  of  the  savages 
for  his  butcher  knife,  and  at  once  went 
through  all  the  motions  of  swallowing  it. 
The  other  Indian  handed  out  his  knife, 
which  was  swallowed  with  violent  contor- 
tions. The  two  hurried  away  to  their  own 
camp,  and  soon  returned  with  their  chief, 
who  held  in  his  hand  a  much  larger  knife, 
having  a  very  rough  buck-horn  handle, 
with  a  horn  spike  about  three  inches  long 
at  one  side.  The  white  man  shook  his 
head,  make  signs  that  the  knife  was  too 
large,  that  the  little  horn  on  the  side  of 
the  handle  would  be  more  than  he  could 
swallow.  They  insisted,  and  he  made 
signs  that  he  would  try.  He  then  in- 
dulged in  contortions  so  violent  as  to  bring 
tears  to  his  eyes;  but  the  knife  disap- 
peared. The  red  men  felt  of  his  body, 
and  came  so  near  finding  where  the 
knives  were  hidden,  that  he  thought  it 
would  be  safer  to  return  them,  and  com- 
menced casting  up  and  handing  each  In- 
dian his  knife.  They,  one  after  another, 
received  their  knives,  each  taking  his  own 
very  carefully  by  the  point,  between  the 
thumb  and  finger,  would  smell  of  it,  make 
a  wry  face,  and  throw  it  on  the  ground. 
The  three  savages  withdrew  together, 
leaving  their  knives  where  they  had  fallen, 
and  before  morning  the  whole  company, 
afraid  to  steal  anything  else,  stole  them- 
selves away. 

Having  said  so  much  about  his  pioneer 
life,  in  which  he  was  brought  in  contact 
with  wild  beasts,  savages,  and  white  men 
unused  to  the  restrains  of  civilized  life  as 
we  now  enjoy  it,  would  probably  lead  the 
reader  to  infer  that  he  was  a  rough  and 
harsh  man;  but  such  was  not  the  case. 
He  embraced  Christianity  in  early  life,  and 
•was  one  of  the  most  steadfast  supporters 
of  the  ordinances  of  religion.  He  aided 
in  building  a  Baptist  church  at  Bryan  Sta- 
tion, which  a  grand-daughter  of  his,  now 
living  in  Springfield,  visited  in  1860,  and 
found  it  still  in  use.  He  was  a  member 
of  that  church,  and  worshipped  there  as 
long  as  he  remained  in  Kentucky.  He 
always  held  family  worship,  in  which  the 
colored  servants  were  expected  to  unite. 


SANGAMON    COUNT?. 


'57 


He  continued   the  practice  to   the  day  of 
his  death. 

BRYAN,  LARKIN,  was  born 
Nov.  2,  1800,  in  Woodford  county,  Ky. 
He  was  married  thei'e  in  1820  to  Mrs. 
Harriet  Chapman,  whose  maiden  name 
was  Thornberry.  They  moved  to  the 
Missouri  lead  mines,  and  from  there  to 
Sangamon  county,  in  the  fall  of  1821,  and 
settled  five  miles  northeast  of  Springfield. 
They  had  seven  children  in  Sangamon 
county.  Of  their  children — 

WILLIAM  C,  born  Jan.  29,  1822, 
married  Anna  Brennan,  have  three  child- 
ren, and  reside  near  Charleston,  111. 

MART F.,  born  July  n,  1824,  married 
Presley  Chrisman.  She  died,  leaving  her 
husband  and  three  children  near  Promise 
Citv,  Wayne  county,  Iowa. 

RACHEL  J.,  born  Dec.  7, 1825,  mar- 
ried Willis  Chrisman.  They  have  four 
children,  and  reside  in  Sangamon  county, 
near  Waverly. 

JAMES  H.,  born  March  7,  1827,  is 
unmarried,  and  resides  in  Springfield.  He 
has  a  saw  mill  on  South  Fork. 

C1NTHIA  A.,  born  Oct.  18,  1829, 
married  John  Kline,  and  resides  in  St. 
Joseph,  Mo. 

LARKIN  A.,  born  March  "3,  1830, 
married  Nov.  i,  1860,  to  Sarah  A.  Mitchell, 
who  was  born  April  16,  1842,  in  Finedon, 
Northamptonshire,  England.  They  had 
five  childen.  HARRIET  E.  died  in  her 
seventh  year.  JAMES  W.,  JESSIE  H., 
LAVINIA  A!  and  CHARLES  W.  re- 
side with  their  parents,  near  Waverly,  111. 

HARRIET  M.,  born  July  3,  1832, 
married  DeWitt  C.  Marsh.  See  his 
name. 

Mrs.  Harriet  Bryan  died  April  4,  1862, 
and  Larkin  Bryan  was  married  Jan.  14, 
1863,  to  Mrs.  Sarah  Yeamans,  who  had 
previously  been  Mrs.  Britt,  and  whose 
maiden  name  was  Wilson.  He  died  two 
miles  north  of  Springfield,  in  1874.  His 
widow  resides  in  Springfield. 

BUCHANAN,  REUBEN, 
was  born  March  20,  1809,  in  Woodford 
county,  Ky.  His  father  moved,  in  1819 
or  '20,  to  Morgan  county,  111.  Reuben 
remained  there  until  1834,  when  he  came 
to  Sangamon  county,  settling  at  Salisbury, 
where  he  was  married  to  Barbara  Duncan, 
a  step-daughter  of  Solomon  Miller.  She 
was  born  March  15,  1812,  in  Cumberland 
county,  Ky.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Buchanan 


had  four  children,  three  of  whom  died 
young.  The  only  one  living — 

HARRIET  A.,  born  Dec.  3,  1838,  at 
Salisbury,  married  Jan.  i,  1857,  in  Spring- 
field, to  Lafayette  Smith.  See  his  name. 

Mr.  Buchanan  moved  from  Salisbury  to 
Springfield  in  April,  1847,  and  was  en- 
gaged in  the  grocery  business  until  his 
death,  which  occurred  Nov.  14,  1861.  His 
widow  resides  with  her  son-in-law,  Lafa- 
yette Smith,  in  Springfield. 

BUCKMAN,  JOEL,  born  Nov. 
6,  1790,  in  Bethel,  Vermont.  He  was  the 
second  child  of  Jeremiah  Buckman  and 
Ruth  Banister,  his  wife.  They  were  born 
in  Springfield,  Mass;  he  Sept.  n,  1762, 
and  she  March  20,  1771.  Joel  Buckman 
and  Huldah  Tilley  were  married  in  Ver- 
mont, and  moved  to  Potsdam,  N.  Y.,  had 
six  children,  and  Mrs.  B.  died,  Dec.  17, 
1828.  He  was  married  June  19,  1829,  to 
Hannah  Bowker.  They  had  one  child, 
and  moved  to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  ar- 
riving Sept.,  1834,  at  Old  Sangamo.  Mrs. 
Hannah  B.  died  Nov.  6,  1838.  Joel 
Buckman  and  Sally  Watts  were  married 
in  Sangamon  county,  March  5,  1839. 
They  had  one  child.  Of  all  his  child- 
ren— 

JOEL,  born  Dec.  2,  1813,  died  July  5, 

l835- 

L ORENDA,\>orn  Sept.  9, 1815,  in  Pots- 
dam, N.  Y.,  married  in  Sangamon  county, 
June  20,  1837,  to  William  B.  Brown. 
•See  his  name. 

LE  VINIA,  born  Dec.  22,  1819,  in 
New  York,  married  in  Sangamon  county, 
Dec.,  1835,  to  Waters  Carman.  They 
had  four  •  children,  and  she  died.  He 
moved  to  Oregon. 

CAL  VIN,  born  Jan.  31,  1822,  in  New 
York,  married  in  Sangamon  county,  Nov. 
1843,  to  Sophia  Eastabrook.  They  have 
seven  children,  and  reside  at  Delavan, 
Tazewell  county. 

HULDAH  S.,  born  Feb.  16,  1824,  in 
New  York,  married  in  Sangamon  county, 
Oct.  20,  1842,  to  Lucius  Seeley.  See  his 
name. 

SILAS  L.,  born  Feb.  19,  1828,  in 
New  York,  married  Anna  Clemens.  He 
resides  near  Farmingdale. 

HANNAH  W.,  born  March  26,  1832, 
died  in  her  third  year. 

BENJAMIN,  born  Sept.  6,  1841,  in 
Sangamon  county,  resides  with  his  mother, 
near  Farmingdale. 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


Joel  Buckman  died  March  13,  1872,  in 
Sangamon  county,  and  his  widow  resides 
two  miles  southwest  of  Farmingdale. 

BOLLARD,  REUBEN,  was 
born  Dec.  22,  1792,  in  Caroline  county, 
Va.  He  went  to  Woodford  county,  Ky., 
in  1787,  and  to  Shelby  county  in  1790.  He 
was  there  married  in  1803,  to  Elizabeth 
Gill,  who  was  born  Oct.  30,  1779,  near 
Charlestown,  Va.  They  had  eight  child- 
ren in  Kentucky,  four  of  whom,  Eliza, 
Lucinda,  Richard  and  Nancy  J.,  died 
there,  between  the  ages  of  fifteen  and 
twenty-five  years.  Mrs.  Elizabeth  Bui- 
lard  died  Jan.  6,  1835,  and  Reuben  Bui- 
lard,  with  three  of  his  children,  came  to 
Sangamon  county,  arriving  in  Nov.,  1835, 
in  what  is  now  Illiopolis  township,  one 
son  having  come  before.  Of  the  four 
children — 

JOHN,  born  Feb.  10,  1805,  in  Shelby 
county,  Ky.,  came  to  Sangamon  county 
April  6,  1830,  and  made  his  home  partly 
at  Buffalo  Hart  Grove  and  partly  in  the 
vicinity  of  Mechanicsburg,  and  returned 
to  Kentucky  in  1833.  Sarah  S.  Fallis 
was  born  Feb.  3,  1812,  in  St.  Louis  coun- 
ty, Mo.,  her  parents  having  moved  there 
from  Kentucky.  During  the  war  with 
England  the  Indians  became  troublesome, 
and  the  family  moved  back,  in  1813,  to 
Henry  county,  Ky.  John  Bullard  and 
Sarah  S.  Fallis  were  there  married,  Sept. 
4,  1834,  and  came  at  once  to  Sangamon 
county,  where  they  had  ten  children. 
JOHN  W.,  born  Oct.  21,  1836,  died  May 
6,  1856.  NANCY  F.,born  May  29, 1838, 
married  April  30,  1873,  to  Charles  How- 
ard, and  reside  near  Neola,  Iowa.  WIL- 
LIAM S.,  born  Jan.  7,  1841.  He  enlist- 
ed August  7,  1862,  in  Co.  A,  73d  111.  Inf. 
for  three  years,  was  wounded  at  the  battle 
of  Franklin,  Tenn.,  Nov.  30,  1864,  served 
until  the  end  of  the  rebellion,  and  was 
honorably  discharged.  He  was  married 
•  Dec.  28, 1871,  to  Elizabeth  S.  Zane.  They 
have  two  children,  LETHE  IRENE  and 
MARY,  and  reside  four  and  a  half  miles 
east  of  Mechanicsburg.  REUBEN  S., 
born  August  31,  1842,  married  Sept.  23, 
1873,  in  Shelbyville,  Ky.,  to  Marian 
Saunders.  She  was  born  there,  May  8, 
1849.  They  have  one  child,  ANNIE,  and 
reside  four  and  a  half  miles  east  of  Me- 
chanicsburg, where  his  father  settled  in 
1834.  EDNA  E.,  born  April  12,  1844, 
married  Oct.  16,  1867,  to  Charles  C.  Rad- 


cliflfe,  a  native  of  Frederick  county,  Md. 
They  have  three  children,  NOR  A  A.,  AUBRA 
L.  and  SALLIE  F.,  and  resides  in  Mechan- 
icsburg. JOSEPHINE,  born  Dec.  17, 
1845,  was  married  at  Mechanicsburg, 
May  27,  1875,  to  Capt.  George  Ritchey, 
and  reside  in  Boonville,  Mo.  MARY  J., 
born  Dec.  17,  1847,  died  Feb.  14,  1875. 
WILBER  C.,  born  Sept.  19,  1850; 
JACOB  B.  born  Jan.  20,  1854;  HENRY 
S.,  born  March  18,  1858,  all  reside  with 
their  mother,  except  WILBUR  C.,  who 
lives  in  Decatur.  John  Bullard  died  Dec. 
26,  1872,  and  his  widow  lives  in  Mechan- 
icsburg. 

MART  A.,  born  Sept.  25,  1810,  in 
Shelby  county,  Ky.,  married  there  to 
Benjamin  Fortune.  See  his  name. 

SARAH  AGNES,  born  March  24, 
1814,  in  Shelby  county,  Ky.,  married 
Jacob  N.  Fullinwider.  See  his  name. 

WES  LET,  born  July  28,  1816,  in 
Shelby  county,  Ky.,  married  March  23, 
1843,  in  Sangamon  county,  to  Sarah  A. 
Foster,  who  was  born  July  18,  1824,  in 
Montgomery  county,  Ky.,  and  came  to 
Sangamon  county  on  a  visit  in  1842.  Her 
parents  lived,  at  the  time,  in  Putnam,  Ind. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  B.  had  eight  sons  in  San- 
gamon county.  WILLIAM  H.,  born 
August  16,  1844,  enlisted  August  4,  1862, 
for  three  years,  in  Co.  A,  73d  111.  Inf.,  was 
slightly  wounded  at  the  battle  of  Frank- 
lin, Tenn.  He  served  to  the  end  of  the 
rebellion,  and  was  honorably  discharged, 
June  24,  1865,  married  in  Sangamon 
county,  Sept.  13,  1866,  to  Abbie  P.  Bald- 
win, who  was  born  Nov.  21,  1847,  near 
Monticello,  Madison  county.  They  have 
three  children,  SARAH  L.,  WESLEY  c.  and 
MARY  B.,  and  live  five  miles  east  of  Me- 
chanicsburg. JAMES  R.  resides  (1874) 
in  San  Francisco,  Cal.  JOHN  N., 
FRANCIS  B.,  SAMUEL  A.,  GEO. 
W.,  BENJ.  F.  and  SAY  A.  FOSTER; 
the  six  latter  live  with  their  father.  Mrs. 
Sarah  A.  Bullard  died  Feb.  13,  1861,  and 
Wesley  Bullard  was  married  August  6, 
1863,  m  Sangamon  county,  to  Mrs.  Eliza- 
beth Holsman,  whose  maiden  name  was 
Kidd.  She  was  born  May  7,  1828,  in 
Fluvanna  county,  Va.  Her  home  was  in 
Circleville,  Ohio,  but  she  was  on  a  visit  to 
Sangamon  county  at  the  time  of  her  mar- 
riage. They  have  two  children,  JULIA 
and  ROBERT  A.,  and  live  four  miles 


SANGAMON  COUNTT. 


159 


east  of  Mechanicsburg,  where  he  settled 
in  1835. 

Reuben  Bullard  died  Sept.  6,  1836,  in 
Sangamon  county. 

.His  father's  name  was  Reuben  Bullard. 
He  was  in  the  Revolutionary  army  as  a 
non-combatant,  and  lost  his  life  by  drink- 
ing too  freely  of  cold  water  while  he  was 
over-heated.  He  made  a  gun,  which  he 
gave  to  his  son,  whose  name  heads  this 
sketch.  It  is  now  (1874)  in  possession  of 
a  son  of  John  Bullard — Reuben  S. — the 
fourth  generation  from  the  man  who  made 
it.  The  brass  plate  opposite  the  lock 
bears  the  inscription,  R.  B.,  J772-  It  is  a 
smooth  bore ;  the  barrel  is  four  feet  eight 
inches  long,  and  the  whole  gun  is  six  feet 
one  inch.  An  anecdote  is  related  of 
it,  that  when  the  boys  of  a  former  genera- 
tion used  the  gun,  they  always  hunted  in 
pairs,  one  to  do  the  shooting  and  the  other 
to  see  that  the  marksman  did  not  get  the 
muzzle  beyond  the  game. 

BURCH,  JOHN,  was  born  about 
1770,  in  Georgia.  He  was  married  in 
1800,  in  Gallatin  county,  Ky.,  to  Elizabeth 
Hampton,  who  was  born  in  1780,  in  Lou- 
don  county,  Va.  They  had  six  children 
in  Kentucky,  •  and  Mr.  Burch  came  to 
Sangamon  county  in  the  fall  of  1828,  with 
his  son-in-law,  James  McKee.  He  went 
back  to  Kentucky  for  his  family,  and  died 
there  May  10,  1829.  In  the  fall  of  that 
year  his  family  moved  to  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, and  settled  near  Mechanicsburg.  Of 
their  six  children — 

SARAH,  born  about  1801,  in  Ken- 
tucky, married  there  to  William  Jack,  and 
moved  to  Sangamon  county.  See  his 
name. 

BENJAMIN,  born  Aug.  i,  1803,  in 
Gallatin  county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon to  Mary  Smith.  He  died  in  McLean 
county  in  1863.  His  widow  married 
James  Waite,  and  lives,  in  Bloomington. 

JANE,  born  in  1805,  in  Gallatin  coun- 
ty, Ky.,  married  there.  Jan.  9,  1828,  to 
James  McKee,  and  came  to  Illinois  in  the 
fall  of  that  year,  and  settled  near  Mechan- 
icsburg. 

PRESTON  H.,  born  in  1807,  in  Gal- 
latin county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sangamon 
county  in  1831,  to  Elizabeth  Suter.  They 
had  five  children  in  Sangamon  county. 
SARAH  E.  married  William  H.  Green, 
and  lives  at  Dubuque,  Iowa,  with  her  onlv 
child,  I.ULU.  LEVARIAN,  born  Dec. 


25 
N 


m  Sangamon  county,  enlisted  at 
ewport  Barracks,  April,  1861,  in  Battery 
G,  2nd  Reg.  U.  S.  Art.  He  was  promo- 
ted to  Second  Lieutenant,  was  wounded 
at  the  battle  of  Gettysburg,  and  died  of 
his  wounds,  late  in  1863,  at  Washington 
City.  JAMES  M.,born  Feb.  18,  1839,  in 
Sangamon  county.  He  graduated  at  St. 
Louis  Medical  College  in  1859,  and  en- 
listed as  a  private,  June  20,  1861,  in  Co. 
C,  8th  Mo.  Inf.;  was  promoted  in  July, 
'6  1,  to  Asst.  Surg.,  which  he  resigned  in 
Aug.,  1862,  and  was  commissioned  Cap- 
tain of  Co.  K,  94th  111.  Inf.  He  resigned 
that  office  in  Sept.,  1863,  and  was  promo- 
ted Lieutenant  Colonel  of  the  i6th  U.  S. 
Colored  Troops,  at  New  Orleans,  which 
he  resigned  at  Brazos,  Texas,  in  Sept., 
1864.  Dr.  J.  M.  Burch  was  married  Oct. 
8,  1860,  at  Bloomington,  to  Jennie  L. 
McClunn,  a  native  of  that  city.  After  the 
close  of  the  rebellion  he  practiced  medi- 
cine at  Illiopolis,  and  died  there  July  26, 
1874,  leaving  a  widow  and  four  children,. 

FRANK  P.,   ED.    R.,  LEVARIAN    and    CORA. 

Mrs.  Jennie  L.  Burch  and  children  reside 
at  Bloomington.  JOHN  S.,  born  July 
1840,  in  Sangamon  county,  went  to 
California  in  1861,  and  was  drowned 
March  3,  1865,  at  San  Juan,  Nicaragua, 
while  on  his  way  home.  ELIZA  J,,  born 
March,  1842,  in  Sangamon  county,  is  a 
teacher  at  Mt.  Sterling.  Preston  H. 
Burch  enlisted  in  1862,  at  Peoria,  in  Co. 
—  ,  io8th  111.  Inf.,  and  died  of  disease  at 
Young's  Point,  near  Vicksburg,  Miss., 
Feb.  1  8,  1863.  His  widow  died  at  Mt. 
Sterling,  Brown  county,  111.,  Dec.,  1865. 

ELIZA,  born  in  1810,  in  Kentucky, 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  James 
Smith.  They  had  one  child,  MARY, 
born  in  Sangamon  county,  married  Oct. 
8,  1860,  to  Dr.  Edward  Stevens,  and  re- 
side in  Bloomington.  James  Smith  died 
Sept.,  1845,  m  Springfield,  and  his  widow 
married  Josiah  Green.  She  died  Feb.,  • 
1852,  and  he  died  July,  1855,  both  in 
Mechanicsburg. 

WADE  S.,  born  Oct.  14,  1815,  in  Gal- 
latin county,  KV.,  married  in  Sangamon 
county  Jan.  8,  1845,  to  Mary  E.  Young. 
They  had  ten  children,  seven  of  whom 
died  under  seven  years.  SUSAN  B., 
born  July  26,  1850,  married  Jan.  8,  1868, 
to  James  Newton  Moreland,  who  was 
born  Dec.  17,  1840,  in  Bath  county,  Ky., 
served  nearly  four  years  —  from  Aug.  i, 


EARLT  SETTLERS  OF 


1862 — in  Co.  B,  loth  Ky.  Cav.  (Union), 
and  was  honorably  discharged  in  1865. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Moreland  live  in  Illiopolis 
township.  WERTER  P.,  born  March 
n,  1861,  and  HARRY,  born  Feb.  10, 

1864,  live  with  their  parents — W.  S.  Burch 
and  wife,  reside  two  miles  south  of  Lanes- 
ville. 

Mrs.    Elizabeth    Burch  died   Sept.   20, 

1865,  in  Curran  township. 
BURKHARDT,  JOHN   M., 

was  born  Feb.  2,  1807,  in  Schwarzenberg, 
county  of  Neuremberg,  Kingdom  of 
Wurtemberg.  He  came  to  America  in 
1832,  and  spent  two  summers  in  Pennsyl- 
vania, and  as  many  winters  in  Mississippi. 
He  came  to  Springfield  in  1836,  and  was 
there  married,  Aug.  18,  1843,  to  Mary  E. 
Nagle,  who  was  born  June  24,  1827,  in 
Bavaria,  Canton  Bergzabern.  She  sailed 
Oct.  20,  1841,  in  the  ship  Oceana.  The 
vessel  was  wrecked  off  the  island  of 
Jamaica,  Dec.  3,  1841.  The  passengers 
were  all  saved,  but  lost  their  baggage. 
They  were  transferred  to  another  vessel, 
and  arrived  at  New  Orleans  Jan.  8,  1842, 
to  find  the  city  in  holiday  attire  in  honor 
of  Gen.  Jackson's  victory  over  the  British, 
Jan  8,  1815.  Her  father  died  in  St.  Louis, 
while  she  was  detained  by  shipwreck. 
She  came  on  to  Springfield,  arriving  in 
March,  1842,  and  joined  her  sister,  Mrs. 
Catharine  Lorch,  then  and  now  the  wife 
of  Charles  Lorch.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Burk- 
hardt  had  eleven  children ;  two  died  under 
three  years,  and  Charles  A.  died,  aged 
seven.  Of  the  other  eight — 

JOHN,  born  May  20,  1844,  enlisted 
July  4,  1862,  for  three  months,  in  Co.  D, 
7oth  111.  Vol.  Inf.,  and  served  five  months 
as  a  Corporal.  He  again  enlisted  March 
22,  1864,  in  Co.  G,  ii4th  111.  Vol.  Inf.,  for 
three  years.  He  was  killed  June  10, 
1864,  at  the  battle  of  Guntown,  Miss. 

BERTHA,  born  June  23,  1847,  was 
married  March  6th,  1874,  to  Walter  F. 
Swift,  who  was  born  in  New  Bedford, 
Mass.  They  reside  in  Ottawa,  Kan. 

CHARLES  A.,  EMMA,  ANNIE 
L.,  JENNIE  C.,  IDA  B.  and  LIL- 
LIE  E.,  live  with  their  mother. 

John  M.  Burkhardt  died  Aug.  i,  1868, 
and  his  widow  resides  one  mile  east  of 
Springfield,  111. 

BURNS,  THOMAS,  was  born 
August  i,  1773,  at  Alexandria,  Va.  His 
father  was  a  native  of  Scotland,  and  was 


killed  by  his  team  running  away  when 
Thomas  was  a  child.  Elizabeth  Ridge- 
way  was  born  Nov.  25,  1775,  in  Berkley 
county,  Va.  Thomas  Burns  and  Eliza- 
beth Ridgeway  were  married  March  1 1^, 
1794,  and  had  one  child  in  Berkley  coun- 
ty; and  then  moved  to  Washington  coun- 
ty, West  Va.,  where  they  had  three  child- 
ren. They  then  moved  to  North  Caro- 
lina, and  after  a  short  stay,  moved  to  Jes- 
samine county,  Ky.,  where  they  had  one 
child,  and  from  there  to  Clarke  county, 
where  they  had  seven  children.  The 
family  moved  from  there  to  Sangamon 
county,  111.,  arriving  in  the  fall  of  1829, 
in  what  is  now  Mechanicsburg  township. 
Some  of  their  children  had  preceded  them. 
Of  their  children — 

RACHEL,  born  Jan.  30,  1795,  in 
West  Virginia,  died  Jan.  30,  1816,  in  Ken- 
tucky. 

ELIZABETH,  born  Nov.  28,  1796, 
in  West  Virginia,  died  Feb.,  1840,  in  San- 
gamon county. 

ROBERT  E.,  born  March  28,  1799, 
in  Washington  county,  West  Va.,  mar- 
ried in  Clarke  county,  Ky.,  Sept.  15,1825, 
to  Patsy  Cass,  and  moved  to  Sangamon 
county,  111.,  arriving  Oct., ,1825,  in  Buf- 
falo Hart  Grove.  They  were  the  first  of 
the  family  to  come  to  the  county.  They 
had  four  children  in  Sangamon  county, 
two  of  whom  died  young.  ROBERT 
FRANKLIN,  born  Dec.  9,  1830,  died 
July  n,  1852.  ELIZABETH  C.,  born 
June  7,  1838,  married  April  16,  1854,  to 
John  T.  Constant.  See  his  name.  Rob- 
ert E.  Burns  and  his  wife  reside  at  Buf- 
falo Hart  Station,  very  near  where  they 
settled  in  1825.  Mr.  Burns  had  a  neigh- 
bor, Wm.  Bridges,  who  was  a  blacksmith 
and  gunsmith.  Wm.  and  Hiram  Robbins 
came  to  Mr.  Bridges  to  have  work  done, 
and  he  had  no  coal.  They  told  him  that 
they  had  seen  coal  cropping  out  of  the 
ground  in  their  hunting  excursions,  and 
gave  him  directions  so  that  he  could  find 
it.  Mr.  Burns  took  his  wagon  and  team, 
went  with  Mr.  Bridges  to  the  place  and 
'dug  out  a  load,  and  found  it  good  for  black- 
smithing.  It  was  in  a  ravine  about  three- 
fourths  of  a  mile  northwest  of  where  Bar- 
clay now  stands.  That  was  in  1826,  and 
was  the  first  coal  found  in  that  part  of  the 
country.  Mr.  Burns  raised  cotton  for 
clothing,  and  it  matured  perfectly  before 
the  "deep  snow"  of  1830-31.  After  that 


SANGAMON    COUNT*. 


he  tried  frequently,  bringing  seed  from 
Tennessee  several  times,  but  all  his 
efforts  proved  to  be  such  failures  that  the 
seed  ran  out  and  was  lost. 

ANN  T.,  born  May  27,  1801,  in  West 
Virginia,  married  in  Kentucky,  August  6, 
1817,  to  Abner  Enos.  See  his  name. 
She  died  there,  June  13,  1829. 

JOHN  /?.,  born  Oct.  19,  1803,  in  Jes- 
samine county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sangamon 
county,  April  17,  1828,  to  Lucy  A.  Cass. 
He  was  a  soldier  in  the  Black  Hawk 
war.  They  had  twelve  children,  all  born 
in  Sangamon  county,  three  of  whom  died 
under  five  years.  MARY  J.,  born  Mar. 
26,  1831,  married  Feb.  28,  1847,  to  J°^n 
Cass.  See  his  name.  THOMAS  F., 
born  Jan.  9,  1833,  married  Sept.  30,  1856, 
Ursula  Greening.  Thos.  F.  Burns  en- 
listed July  25,  1862,  in  Co.  F.,  ii4th  111. 
Inf.,  for  three  years.  Served  about  one 
year,  and  was  honorably  discharged 
on  account  of  physical  disability.  He 
now  resides  in  Mt.  Pulaski.  WILLIAM 
A.,  born  Nov.  28,  1839,  married  Dec.  24, 
1867,  to  Lucy  E.  Jones.  They  have  two 
children,  WM.  ELMER  and  IVA  MAY,  and 
live  near  Buffalo  Hart  Station.  MAR- 
THA A.,  born  Feb.  27,  1843,  lives  with 
her  parents.  ARMINTA,  born  Dec.  30, 
1844,  married  Feb.  21,  1867,  to  Wm.  B. 
Robinson.  See  his  name.  SOPHIA, 
born  Feb.  13,  1849,  married  Dec^27,  1871, 
to  James  F.  Hickman.  See  his  name. 
IVA,  born  March  18,  1851,  married  Oct. 
25,  1871,  to  James  L.  Wright,  who  was 
born  in  Lockmaben,  Scotland,  and  resides 
in  Buffalo  Hart  township.  JOHN  T., 
born  Jan.  u,  1854,  and  ROBERT  B., 
born  Oct.  26,  1856,  live  with  their  parents, 
one  mile  south  of  Buffalo  Hart  Station. 

Mrs.  Lucy  A.  Burns  says  that  they 
raised  cotton  in  the  summer  of  1828;  that 
she  picked  it  from  the  bolls,  picked 
the  seed  out  with  her  fingers,  carded  it 
with  hand  cards,  spun  and  wove  it,  and 
made  it  up  into  garments  of  various  kinds. 
In  1829  they  raised  a  much  larger  quanti- 
ty, and  had  it  ginned  on  a  machine  owned 
by  William  G.  Cantrall.  They  paid  toll, 
or  part  of  the  cotton,  for  ginning,  the 
same  as  grinding  is  done  by  custom  mills. 
When  all  was  done  they  had  eighty 
pounds  of  ginned  cotton  left.  She  says 
that  after  the  "  deep  snow  "  it  never  would 
mature. 


MAHALA,  born  May  10,  1806,  in 
Clarke  county,  Ky.,  married  there  Nov. 
27,  1827,  to  Bailey  F.  Bell.  See  his 
name. 

M BLIND  A  and  LUCINDA,  twins, 
born  July  23,  1808,  in  Clarke  county,  Ky. 

MELINDA,  married  in  Sangamon 
county,  Jan.  17,  1830,  to  Ambrose  Bowen 
Cass.  See  his  name. 

LUCINDA,  married  in  Sangamon 
county,  Sept.  20,  1832,  to  John  W.  Rob- 
ison.  See  his  name. 

EM1L  Y,  born  June  14, 181 1,  in  Clarke 
county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sangamon  county, 
Jan.  17,  1830,  to  Clemmon  Strickland. 
They  had  three  children.  The  parents 
and  two  of  the  children  died.  JOSEPH, 
the  only  living  member  of  the  family, 
married  Emilv  Chance,  and  lives  at  Buf- 
falo. 

REBECCA,  born  Feb.  16,  1814,  in 
Clarke  county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county  to  Bennett  Wood,  a  native  of 
Kentucky.  They  lived  in  Green  county, 
111.,  until  they  had  two  children,  namely: 
BAZZLE  or  BASIL  M.,  born  June  16, 
1835,  in  Green  county,  enlisted  July,  1862, 
for  three  years,  in  Co.  E.,  n6th  111.  Inf. 
Served  full  term  and  was  honorably  dis- 
charged with  the  regiment,  in  1865.  He 
was  married  in  Sangamon  county,  Jan.  25, 
1866,  to  Nannie  J.  Graham,  who  was  born 
July  4,  1843,  in  Morgan  county.  They 
had  two  children,  FLORA  and  GRACIE,  and 
Mrs.  Wood  died,  Jan.  6,  1872.  Mr.  Wood 
resides  one  and  a  quarter  miles  east  of 
^Illiopolis,  with  his  father-in-law,  Mr. 
'Graham.  SARAH  Wood,  born  March, 
1834,  in  Green  county,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county  to  John  Stall.  They  have 
four  children,  and  live  at  Niantic.  Ben- 
nett Wood  died  in  Green  county,  and  his 
widow  married  James  McGee.  Mrs.  Mc- 
Gee  died  in  Sangamon  county,  leaving 
two  children:  JOHN  T.  and  WILLIAM  R. 
McGee  reside  in  Williamsville. 

FRANKLIN,  born  August  6,  1816,  in 
Kentucky,  married  in  Sangamon  county, 
March  3,  1836,  to  Louisa  Ridge  way. 

They  had  children.      THOMAS 

J.  married  and  resides  in  Kansas.  PAR- 
THENIA  married  George  Sensbaugh, 
and  lives  near  Whiterock,  Jewell  county, 
Kansas.  LOUISA  J.  married  Daniel 
Redman,  and  lives  near  Lone  Oak  P.  O., 
Bates  county,  Mo.  MAHALA  resides 
with  her  sister,  Louisa  J.  B.  HARDIN 


1 62 


EARL?  SETTLERS  OF 


lives  with  his  uncle,  Robert  E.  Burns. 
Franklin  Burns  and  his  wife  are  both 
dead. 

PATST,  born  Feb.  20,  1819,  in  Ken- 
tucky, married  in  Sangamon  county,  Dec. 
26,  1837,  to  Baldwin  Harper.  They  had 
one  child,  EVELINE.  She  married 
Theophilus  Kirwood,  and  lives  near 
Warrensburg,  Macon  county.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Harper  are  both  dead. 

Mrs.  Elizabeth  Burns  died  Oct.  5,  1830, 
and  Thomas  Burns  died  August  n,  1836, 
both  in  Sangamon  county. 

BURTLE,  WILLIAM,  born 
July  i,  1780,  near  Montgomery  Court 
House,  Md.  His  parents  moved,  when 
he  was  a  boy,  to  Washington  county,  Kv. 
Sarah  Ogden  was  born  in  1786,  in  St. 
Mary's  county,  Md.  Her  father  died  when 
she  was  a  child,  and  her  mother  moved, 
with  several  children,  to  Washington 
county,  Ky.  William  Burtle  and  Sarah 
Ogden  were  there  married,  about  1805. 
They  had  nine  children  in  Kentucky.  The 
family  moved  to  Sangamon  county,  111., 
arriving  October,  1826,  in  what  is  now 
Ball  township.  Mr.  Burtle  entered  land, 
and  made  improvements  for  a  permanent 
home,,  about  two  hundred  yards  east  of 
where  St.  Bernard's  Catholic  Church  now 
stands,  and  moved  on  it  in  the  spring  of 
1828.  Of  their  nine  children — 

JOSEPH,\>Qvn.  in  Kentucky,  married 
in  Sangamon  county  to  Mrs.  Maria  Mil- 
ler, whose  maiden  name  was  Gatton. 
They  both  died  in  Sangamon  county, 
without  children. 

JOHN,  born  in  Kentucky,  was  mar-* 
ried  there  to  Matilda  Simpson.  They 
had  two  children,  one  of  whom  died  in 
infancy.  His  daughter  married,  moved  to 
Texas,  and  died  there.  John  Bnrtle  died 
in  Ball  township.  His  widow  married, 
moved  to  Missouri,  and  died  there. 

JAMES,  born  May  25,  1811,  in  Ken- 
tucky, was  married  in  SangaVnon  countv 
to  Elizabeth  Gatton.  They  had  six  child- 
ren. JOHN  T.  married  Eliza  J.  Simp- 
son. They  have  six  children,  JAMES  R., 

JOSEPH     E.,     EMMA,     SAMUEL,     ANNA    and 

JEROME.  Mrs.  Eliza  J.  Burtle  died  in 
May,  1875,  and  John  T.  Burtle  and  fami- 
Iv  reside  in  Ball  township,  seven  miles 
southeast  of  Chatham.  WILLIAM  O. 
married  Mary  M.  Speak.  They  have 
three  children,  MARIA,  OSCAR  E.  and 
MARY  M.,  and  reside  with  his  mother"*at 


the  family  homestead.  SARAH  E.  mar- 
ried John  Simpson.  Thev  had  one  child, 
and  mother  and  child  died."  JOSEPHUS 
died  in  his  twenty-fourth  year.  MARY 
A.  died,  aged  nineteen  years.  James 
Burtle  died,  and  his  widow  resides  in  Ball 
township,  six  and  a  half  miles  southeast  of 
Chatham. 

THOMAS,  born  Aug.  12,  1815,  in 
Kentucky,  married  in  Sangamon  county 
to  Louisa  Simpson.  They  have  four 
children.  JAMES  H.  married  Sarah  E. 
Gatton.  They  have  six  living  children: 
LOUISA  A  and  MARY  L.  (twins),  ANNA  E., 

MARTHA  F.,  WILLIAM   J.  and  THERESA   II. 

Mrs.  Sarah  E.  Burtle  died  in  Sept.,  1873, 
and  James  H.  Burtle  resides  in  Ball  town- 
ship. JOHN  T.,  Jun.,  married  Elizabeth 
M.  Boll.  They  have  three  children,  ED- 
WARD A.,  JACOB  R.  and  ANN  N.,  and  live 
in  Ball  township.  MARY  A.  married 
Joseph  H.  Berry.  They  have  five  daugh- 
ters, SARAH  L.,  ELIZA  C.,  MAGGIE  A., 

MARY  A.  and  ADA  F.,  and  live  in  Ball 
township.  ELIZA  J.  married  John  A. 
White.  They  have  two  children,  JOSEPH 
H.  and  WILLIAM  T.,  and  reside  with  her 
father.  Mrs.  Louisa  Burtle  died  April  2, 
1875,  and  Thomas  Burtle  resides  near  St. 
Bernard's  Catholic  Church,  in  Ball  town- 
ship. 

ELLEN  died,  aged  fourteen  years. 

MART,  born  in  Kentucky,  married  in 
Sangamon  county,  111.,  July  24,  1834,  to 
Josephus  Gatton.  See  his  name. 

BENJAMIN,  born  in  Kentucky, 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  Monica 
Gatton.  They  have  six  children  living. 
MARY  E.  married  William  R.  Green- 
await.  See  his  name.  The  other  children 
reside  with  their  parents,  in  Pawnee  town- 
ship. 

y&WILLIAM,  Jun.,  born  Aug.  9,  1822, 
in  Grayson  county,  Ky.,  came  with  his 
parents  to  Sangamon  county  in  Oct.,  1826, 
was  married  Sept.  4,  1856,  to  Mrs.  Eliza- 
beth A.  Simpson,  whose  maiden  name 
was  White.  Mrs.  Burtle  had  one  child 
by  her  former  marriage,  JEROME 
SIMPSON.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Burtle  had 
two  children.  IDA  F.  died  March  9, 
1875,  in  her  fourteenth  year,  and  CHAS. 
E.  lives  with  his  parents.  William  Burtle 
has  been  a  school  teacher,  Justice  of  the 
Peace,  and  for  more  than  twenty  years 
Treasurer  and  Collector  of  Ball  township; 
also  a  member  of  the  Board  of  Supervis- 


SANGAMON  COUNTY. 


163 


ors  of  Sangamon  county.  He  was  also 
elected  President  of  the  Old  Settlers' 
Society,  in  1874,  for  one  year.  He  now 
lives  in  Auburn,  engaged  in  mercantile 
business  with  his  step-son,  Jerome  Simp- 
son. 

William  Burtle,  Jun.,  remembers  that 
his  father  and  James  Simpson  sent  a  re- 
quest to  St.  Louis  that  a  priest  visit  their 
neighborhood.  Rev.  Mr.  Dusuaswa  came 
in  1829,  and  held  services  at  the  residence 
of  Joseph  Logsdon.  That  was  the  first 
service  ever  held  by  a  Catholic  priest  in 
Sangamon  county,  and  long  before  any 
thing  of  the  kind  took  place  in  Spring- 
field. William  Burtle  remembers  that 
there  were  then  but  two  Catholic  families 
in  Springfield.  The  next  services  were  at 
the  house  of  Wm.  Burtle,  Sen.,  by  Rev. 
Joseph  A.  Lutz.  The  next  priest  to  visit 
them  was  the  Rev.  Mr.  Van  Quickenbon. 
Services  were  held  at  the  house  of  William 
Burtle,  Sen.,  until  1849,  when  St.  Bernard's 
Church  was  built.  One  edifice  was  burned, 
and  the  present  one  was  built  on  the  same 
ground.  St.  Bernard's  church  is  associated 
with  that  at  Virden  in  sustaining  a  priest. 

Mrs.  William  Burtle  relates,  in  a  very 
amusing  manner,  some  of  her  experience 
on  coming  to  the  county.  She  had  list- 
ened to  the  descriptions  of  the  flowers 
blooming  on  the  prairies,  and  made  up 
her  mind  that  it  would  lend  additional 
charms  to  those  she  was  acquainted  with 
to  cultivate  them  on  the  prairie  where  the 
wild  flowers  could  grow  around  them. 
She  came  prepared  with  seeds,  and  at  the 
proper  season  armed  herself  with  a  hoe 
and  sallied  forth  to  indulge  her  taste  for 
horticulture  on  the  raw  prairie.  The 
romance  all  vanished  at  the  fir§t  blow,  as 
the  hoe  rebounded  without  making  the 
slightest  impression.  Until  that  time  she 
thought  plowing  with  large  ox-teams  was 
overdoing  the  work,  but  then  became  fully 
satisfied  that  it  was  indispensable  as  a  pre- 
paration for  the  cultivation  of  the  soil. 

ZACHAR1AH,  born  in  Kentucky, 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  Elizabeth 
J.  Harper.  They  have  five  living  child- 
ren, JAMES  W:,  SARAH  E.,  EDGAR 
A.,  MARY  M.  and  ROBERT  E.,  and 
reside  on  the  farm  settled  by  his  father  in 
1828,  about  two  hundred  yards  east  of  St. 
Bernard's  Catholic  Church. 

William  Burtle,  Sen.,  died  July  24, 
1860,  and  Mrs.  Sarah  Burtle  died  Feb.  n, 


1868,  and  both  were  buried  near  St.  Bern- 
ard's Church.  About  the  time  William 
Burtle,  Sen.,  came  to  Sangamon  county 
with  his  family,  his  father,  Benjamin  Bur- 
tle, came,  and  after  remaining  two  or 
three  years  returned  to  Kentucky,  and 
died  there. 

BURTON,  EDWARD,  was 
born  Oct.  13,  1796,  on  Roanoke  river, 
Va.,  and  went  to  Rutherford  county, 
Tenn.  He  was  there  married  to  Frances 
Hudson,  who  was  born  April  10,  1797,  in 
Virginia  also.  They  had  five  children  in 
Tennessee,  and  moved  to  Sangamon 
county,  111.,  in  1825  or  '6,  and  settled  on 
Lick  creek,  in  what  is  now  Chatham 
township,  where  they  had  four  children. 
Of  their  children — 

JOHN  A.,  born  in  Tennessee,  married 
in  Sangamon  county,  Aug.  8,  1844,  t° 
Elizabeth  H.  Park.  He  died  March  n, 
1859,  leaving  two  children.  MARY  F. 
married  July  31,  1861,  to  William  H.  H. 
Harris,  who  was  born  July  8,  1841,  in 
Macoupin  county.  They  have  three 
children,  ALLIE  F.,  VINETTIE  and  ZELMIE, 
and  live  four  miles  southwest  of  Loami. 
LEONARD  F.,  lives  with  his  sister,  Mrs. 
HaiTis.  Mrs.  E.  H.  Burton  married  Wm. 
S.  Morris.  See  fark  family. 

El Z ABE  TH  G.  died,  aged  twenty- 
five  years. 

ELLEN  married  Blaney  Pitts,  have 
nine  children,  and  reside  near  Centralia. 

MART,  born  Dec.  21,  1822,  in  Ruth- 
erford county,  Tenn.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  Oct.  18,  1840,  to  William 
Edwards.  See  his  name. 

PERMELIA  A.,  born  Aug.  i,  1826, 
married  Oct.  13,  1840,  to  Henry  Edwards, 
who  was  born  Jan.  6,  1820,  in  Garrard 
county,  Ky.  He  is  nephew  to  his  brother- 
in-law,  William  Edwards.  They  had 
twelve  children;  nine  died  under  seven 
years.  GEORGE  D.  died  at  nineteen. 
ERVING  lives  with  his  parents. 
RICHARD  S.  married  Margaret  E. 
Adams,  have  two  living  children,  HENRY 
p.  and  ADA  M.,  and  live  in  Talkington 
township.  Henry  Edwards  and  wife  re- 
side in  Talkington  township  also  (1884). 

RICHARD  S.  married  Sarah  J.  Ed- 
wards. He  enlisted  in  an  Illinois  regi- 
ment, and  died  at  home  on  sick  furlough, 
leaving  three  children.  His  widow  mar- 
ried, and  resides  in 


164 


BARLT  SETTLERS  OF 


yULIETTE  married  James  Jordan 
Edwards.  See  his  name. 

BENJAMIN  W.  married  Rachel  G. 
Park.  They  have  two  children,  NEL- 
SON M.  and  NANCY  E.  Mr.  Burton 
died  Jan.  4,  1861.  His  widow  and  child- 
ren reside  two  and  three-quarter  miles 
west  of  Loami  (1874). 

LUCINA  married  James  A.  Edwards. 
See  his  name. 

Edward  E.  (or  D.)  Burton  died  at 
Girard  111.,  April  8,  1859,  while  attending 
Sangamon  Presbytery  of  the  Cumberland 
Presbyterian  Church,  to  which  he  was  a 
delegate.  Mrs.  Margaret  Burton  died 
Sept.  i,  1859,  in  Sangamon  county. 

BUTLER,  NATHAN  M., 
born  Jan.  30,  1795,  in  Adair  county,  Ky. 
He  was  married  in  Green  county,  to  Mary 
Harding,  who  was  born  in  1795,  in  that 
county.  They  made  their  home  in  Adair 
county  until  they  had  four  children,  when 
they  left  for  the  west,  and  after  a  deten- 
tion of  seven  months  in  Indiana,  arrived, 
Oct.  7,  1824,  in  Morgan  county,  111., 
where  they  had  two  children.  In  the 
spring  of  1831  they  moved  to  Sangamon 
county,  and  settled  on  the  south  side  of 
Island  Grove,  two  miles  northeast  of 
where  Berlin  now  stands.  Of  their  six 
children — 

WILLIAM  A.,  born  July  23,  1817,  in 
Adair  county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sangamon 
county,  to  Mrs.  Jane  Clark,  whose  maiden 
name  was  Trotter.  She  was  born  Feb. 
2,  1827,  in  Ifcdiana,  and  raised  in  Sanga- 
mon county.  Mr.  Butler  was  city  Mar- 
shal of  Springfield  in  1861,  and  '2;  is  now 
farming  four  miles  east  of  Springfield. 

STEPHEN  H.,  born  Nov.  12,  1818, 
in  Adair  county,  Ky.,  brought  up  in  San- 
gamon county,  married  in  Menard  county 
Feb.  27,  1845.  to  Nancy  J.  Coats,  who 
was  born  Dec.  6,  1825,  in  Warren  county, 
Ky.  They  had  twelve  children;  five  died 
under  six  years.  ISAAC  E.,  born  Jan. 
27,  1846,  married  Feb.  13,  1873,  to  Emma 
J.  Clark,  and  resides  five  miles  east  of 
Springfield.  JULIA  B.,  ,born  Dec.  4, 
1847,  married  Nov.  6,  1868,  to  James 
Simpson.  See  his  name.  MARY  L., 
born  June  5,  1849,  married  Joseph  Don- 
ner.  See  his  name.  WILLIAM,  born 
April  12,  1856,  JOHN  D.,  born  Dec.  5, 
1859.  IRA  and  IDA,  twins,  born  July 
19,  1861,  live  with  their  parents.  S.  H. 


Butler  resides  four  and  a  half  miles  east  -of 
Springfield. 

JOSHUA  C.,  born  Nov.  26,  1820,  in 
Adair  county,  Ky.,  brought  up  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  married  April,  1857,  in  Jef- 
ferson county,  Iowa,  to  Margaret  J.  Ris- 
tine.  She  died  in  Springfield  in  1859, 
leaving  one  child.  J.  C.  Butler  was  mar- 
ried in  Sangamon  county  to  Elizabeth 
Stitt,  and  has  three  living  children,  viz: 
CHARLES  B.,  born  June  6,  1850,  mar- 
ried June  14,  1871,  in  Sangamon  county 
to  Ann  Owen.  They  have  one  child,  and 
live  near  Virginia,  Cass  county.  MAR- 
GARET J.,  MARY  E.  and  ROBERT 
L.  live  with  their  parents,  two  and  a  half 
miles  northeast  of  Berlin.  Joshua  C.  But- 
ler was  a  member  of  Co.  A.,  4th  111.  Inf., 
and  served  under  Col.  E.  D.  Baker,  in  the 
Mexican  war,  from  June,  1846,  to  June, 
1847. 

ELIZABETH  E.,  born  August  4, 
1823,  in  Adair  county,  Ky.,  married  in 
Sangamon  county  to  William  T.  Barrett. 

JOHN  C,  born  April,  1825,  in  Mor- 
gan county,  111.,  enlisted  in  the  same  com- 
pany and  regiment  with  his  brother, 
Joshua  C.,  and  was  discharged  on  account 
of  physical  disability.  He  married  Fran- 
ces Brown.  They  had  two  children,  both 
of  whom  died,  and  Mr.  Butler  died  in 
Springfield.  His  widow  married  John  J. 
Hardin.  See  his  name. 

RA  CHEL  R.  born  in  Morgan  coun- 
ty, married  in  Sangamon  county  to  E. 
Riley  Pirkins.  See  his  name. 

Mrs.  Mary  Butler  died,  and  N.  M. 
Butler  married  Mrs.  Martha  H.  Stone, 
whose  maiden  name  was  Hunter.  They 
had  three  children,  viz — 

SALL  T  H.,  born  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, married  Edmond  E.  Butler,  of  Ken- 
tucky. They  had  one  child,  and  mother 
and  child  died  at  DesMoines,  Iowa. 

SAMUEL  H.,  born  in  Sangamon 
county,  enlisted  in  1861,  for  three  years, 
in  the  loth  111.  Cav.  Served  until  Nov., 
1864,  when  he  was  honorably  discharged 
at  San  Antonio,  Texas.  He  remained 
there  in  the  employ  of  the  government 
and  married  in  March,  1870,  to  Matilda 
Ann  Blair.  They  had  two  children,  a 
son  and  daughter.  He  was  shot  by  an 
assassin,  and  died  in  the  year  1872  or  '3, 
in  Texas. 

JAMES  E.,  born  in  Sangamon 
county,  married  March  31,  1869,  to  Molly 


SANG  AM  ON  COUNTT. 


165 


E.  Oglesby.  They  have  three  children. 
He  enlisted  in  1861,  for  three  years,  in  the 
roth  111.  Cav.,  at  Springfield.  Re-enlisted 
as  a  veteran,  promoted  to  First  Lieut. 
Served  to  the  end  of  the  rebellion,  and 
was  honorably  discharged.  He  resides 
near  Dayton,  Cass  county,  Mo. 

Nathan  M.  Butler  died  April  4,  1842, 
in  Sangamon  county,  and  his  widow  died 
Oct.  14,  1851,  in  Menard  county.  N.  M. 
Butler  was  a  soldier  in  the  war  of  1812, 
and  was  in  the  battle  of  New  Orleans. 
He  was  Col.  of  a  regiment  in  the  Black 
Hawk  war  of  1831-32. 

BUTLER,  WILLIAM,  was 
born  Dec.  15,  1797,  in  Adair^  county,  Ky. 
During  the  war  of  1812  he  was  selected  to 
carry  important  dispatches  from  the  Gov- 
ernor of  Kentucky  to  Gen.  Harrison,  in 
the  field.  He  traveled  on  horseback,  and 
made  the  trip  successfully,  although  he 
was  but  fifteen  years  of  age.  When  a 
young  man  he  was  employed  in  the  iron 
works  of  Tennessee,  and  after  that  was 
deputy  of  the  Circuit  Clerk  for  Adair 
countv,  Ky.  While  thus  engaged,  he 
made  the  acquaintance  of  a  young  lawyer, 
now  the  venerable  Judge  Stephen  T. 
Logan,  of  this  city.  The  friendship  thus 
formed  continued  through  life.  Mr.  But- 
ler spent  a  portion  of  his  time  as  clerk  on 
a  steamboat.  In  1828  he  came  to  Sanga- 
mon county,  and  purchased  a  farm  in  Is- 
land Grove.  On  that  farm  his  father, 
Elkanah  Butler,  lived  and  died.  William 
Butler  came  to  Springfield,  and'  was  soon 
after  appointed  Clerk  of  the  Circuit  Court, 
by  his  early  friend,  Judge  Logan,  March 
19,  1836,  and  resigned  March  22,  1841. 
He  was  appointed,  by  Gov.  Bissell,  State 
Treasurer,  August  29,  1859,  to  fill  the 
vacancy  occasioned  by  the  resignation  ot 
State  Treasurer  Miller.  He  was  elected 
to  the  same  office  in  1860  for  two  years. 
William  Butler  and  Elizabeth  Rickard 
were  married  Dec.  18,  1832.  They  had 
three  children,  namely — 

SALOME  E.,  born  in  Springfield, 
and  now  resides  on  South  Sixth  street,  at 
the  family  homestead. 

SPEED,  born  Aug.  7,  1837,  in 
Springfield.  He  graduated  at  the  Luther- 
an University  in  Springfield,  in-  1854, 
studied  law,  and  was  admitted  to  practice 
in  1860.  When  the  rebellion  came  upon 
the  country  in  1861,  Speed  Butler  was 
selected  by  the  Governor  of  Illinois  to 


carry  a  dispatch  to  Washington  City,  ask- 
ing for  an  order  to  remove  the  United 
States  arms  from  the  Arsenal  at  St.  Louis 
to  Alton,  111.  Railroad  and  telegraphic 
communication  to  the  Capital  was  cut  off, 
but  he  managed  to  make  his  way  through, 
obtained  the  order,  and  returned  in  safety. 
The  arms  were  removed  just  in  time  to 
keep  them  from  falling  into  the  hands  of 
the  rebels.  Soon  after  completing  that 
service  he  was  appointed  Commissary, 
with  the  rank  of  Captain,  but  was  at  once 
assigned  to  duty  on  Gen.  Pope's  staff,  and 
was  with  that  officer  during  his  campaign 
in  North  Missouri,  at  Island  No.  10,  &c. 
In  Sept.,  1 86 1,  he  was  appointed  Major  of 
the  5th'  111.  Cav.  For  gallantry  on  the 
battle-field  at  Farmington,  Miss.,  in  June, 
1862,  he  was  promoted  to  Colonel  in  the 
regular  army ;  but  still,  by  permission  from 
Gen.  Wool,  he  remained  on  duty  with 
Gen.  Pope.  He  shared  the  fortunes  of 
that  officer  during  the  Virginia  campaign, 
as  also  in  Minnesota  against  the  Indians. 
He  served  until  the  close  of  the  rebellion, 
in  1865. 

Col.  Speed  Butler  was  married  May  26, 
1864,  in  Milwaukee,  Wis.,  to  Jeannie 
McKenzie  Arnold,  who  was  born  Sept. 
4,  1845,  *n  Poughkeepsie,  N.  Y.  They 
have  three  children,  ANNIE  L.,  ELIZ- 
ABETH and  ARNOLD  W.,  and  live 
near  Springfield,  on  the  southwest. 

HENRT  WIRT,  born  Feb.  11,  1840, 
in  Springfield,  graduated  in  1859  at  Brown 
University,  Providence,  R.  I.,  and  was 
married  May  9,  1867,  to  Helen  McCler- 
nand,  daughter  of  Gen.  John  A.  McCler- 
nand.  She  was  born  irj  Springfield,  and 
died  April  26,  1870,  leaving  one  child, 
WILLIAM  J.  H.  W.  Butler  and  son 
live  in  Springfield. 

Mrs.  Elizabeth  Butler  died  March  2, 
1869,  and  Hon.  William  Butler  died  Jan. 
11,  1876,  both  in  Springfield. 

o, 

CALDWELL,  WILLIAM, 
was  born  Dec.  15,  1779,  in  Nansemond 
county,  Va.  His  father,  Thomas  Cald- 
well,  was  born  in  Ireland,  and  married 
there  to  Betsy  Harris,  a  Welch  lady. 
They  emigrated  to  America,  and  landed 
at  Charleston,  South  Carolina,  where  they 
remained  a  short  time,  and  then  moved  to 


1 66 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


Virginia.  At  the  time  of  Thomas  Cald- 
well's  death,  he  and  his  wife  had  a  home 
in  the  family  of  the  son  William.  John 
C.  Calhoun  was  related  on  the  side  of  his 
mother  to  the  Caldwell  family,  and  there 
is  the  source  from  which  that  distinguished 
statesman  obtained  his  middle  name :  John 
Caldwell  Calhoun.  When  William  Cald- 
well was  a  youth,  his  parents  left  Virginia 
and  moved  to  Jessamine  county,  Ky. 
Nancy  Roberts  was  born  Sept.  24,  1782, 
in  Goochland  county,  Va.,  and  when 
young,  went  to  Jessamine  county,  Ky. 
William  Caldwell  and  Nancy  Roberts 
were  married  Feb.  7,  1804.  They  had  six 
living  children  in  Jessamine  county,  and 
the  family  moved  to  Green  county,  111.,  in 
1831,  and  in  1836  moved  to  Sangamon 
county,  111.,  and  settled  in  what  is  now 
Auburn  township.  Of  their  children — 

GEORGE  L.,  born  Dec.  6,  1804,  in 
Kentucky,  married  Sept.  10,  1829,  to  Polly 
Roberts.  She  inherited  two  negro  slaves 
(a  man  and  woman)  from  the  estate  of  her 
father.  On  May  7,  1830,  they  took  ad- 
vantage of  the  absence  of  Mr.  Caldwell, 
who  was  Sheriff  of  the  county  at  the  time, 
and  strangled  his  wife  to  death  with  a 
small  cord.  They  then  placed  her  in  a 
natural  position  in  bed,  bandaged  her  head, 
and  placed  such  medicines  on  a  stand, 
within  her  reach,  as  she  would  have  been 
likely  to  use  if  she  had  been  indisposed,  and 
left  her  until  it  was  discovered  by  other 
members  of  the  family.  The  bruises  on  the 
neck  excited  suspicion,  and  the  blacks  being 
charged  with  the  crime,  confessed  that 
they  had  taken  her  life,  hoping  by  that 
means  to  be  sent  to  their  former  home. 
The  man  was  an  old,  trusted  carriage  ser- 
vant, an.d  forced  the  woman  to  assist  him. 
They  were  tried,  and,  upon  their  own  con- 
fession, convicted  and  hung.  George  L. 
Caldwell  was  married  Sept.  27,  1831,  to 
Eliza  McDowell.  They  had  one  son,  and 
Mrs.  Caldwell  died  June  18,  1839,  and 
Mr.  Caldwell  died  Sept.  30,  1840. 
Neither  of  them  ever  came  to  Sangamon 
county.  Their  son  GEORGE  M.  CALD- 
WELL is  the  extensive  stock-raiser  near 
Williamsville,  in  this  county. 

JOHN,  born  Jan.  21,  1807,  in  Ken- 
tucky, came  to  Carrollton,  111.,  in  1827. 
He  was  married  there  Jan.  23,  1834,  to 
Mary  J.  Davis.  She  was  born  near  Dan- 
ville, Ky.,  Jan.  16,  1815.  When  a  young 
lady,  she  rode  on  horseback  from  Danville, 


Ky.,  to  Tallahassee,  Florida,  and  returned 
to  Danville,  and  after  a  short  visit,  con- 
tinued her  journey  to  Carrollton,  111.,  a  dis- 
tance of  at  least  two  thousand  miles. 
John  Caldwell  and  wife  had  five  children, 
namely:  WILLIAM  C.,  born  March 
15,  1835,  married  Jan.  14,  1864,  to  Sarah 
C.  Baucom,  who  was  born  Nov.  16,  1840, 
in  Sangamon  county,  They  reside  eight 
miles  southwest  of  Springfield.  JANE 
Y.  died  in  her  eleventh  year;  BETSY  in 
her  seventh  year;  HENRY  died  in  in- 
fancy. BENJAMIN  F.,  born  Aug.  2, 
1848,  in  Greene  county,  111.,  was  married 
May  27,  1873,  to  Julia  F.  Cloyd,  who  was 
born  March  y,  1856,  in  the  southeast  corner 
of  Curran  township,  Sangamon  county. 
Immediately  after  their  marriage  they  left 
for  New  York,  via  Detroit  and  Suspension 
Bridge.  At  New  York  took  steamer 
(June  4th)  for  Queenstown,  Ireland, 
where  they  landed  June  141!!.  Passed 
through  Ireland  to  Belfast;  thence  to 
Scotland,  down  through  the  centre  of 
England  to  London;  from  there  through 
Holland,  Belgium  and  smaller  German 
States,  to  Berlin,  in  Prussia;  thence  to 
Vienna  Exposition,  across  the  Alps  into 
Italy,  meeting  with  the  unexpected  pleas- 
ure of  an  audience  with  Pius  the  IX. 
Returning,  passed  through  Mt.  Cenis  tun- 
nel, thence  by  Geneva  to  Paris;  from  Paris 
back  to  London,  thence  to  Liverpool, 
taking  steamer  for  Boston,  where  they 
arrived  Oct.  6th,  same  year.  Distance 
traveled  in  round  trip,  14,000  miles.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  B.  F.  Caldwell  have  one  child, 
MARY  JANE,  who  was  born  March  20, 
1874.  They  reside  near  Chatham,  Sanga- 
mon county,  111.  John  Caldwell  died  of 
heart  disease j  Aug.  i,  1863,  after  a  painful 
illness,  and  his  widow  resides  eight  and  a 
half  miles  southwest  of  Springfield,  and 
one  and  a  half  miles  north  of  Chatham. 

JANE  R.,  born  April  15,  1809,  mar- 
rifed  in  Kentucky  to  Minor  T.  Young. 
Came  to  Illinois,  and  she  died  Jan.  21, 
1844,  in  Curran  township. 

ELIZABETH,  born  Aug.  17,  1812, 
married  Jan.  12,  1831,  to  Albert  G.  Tal- 
bott.  She  died  April  29,  1838,  leaving 
three  children  in  Kentucky,  namely:  • 
MARY  A.  married  Dr.  William  Tomlin- 
son.  The  sons  are  WILLIAM  P.  and 
ALBERT  G.Jun. 

CHARLES  H.,  born  March  18,  1818, 
in  Kentucky,  died  May  24,  1833,  at  Jack- 


SANGAMON  COUNTT. 


167 


sonville,  111.,  while  a  student  at  Illinois 
College. 

WILLIAM,  Jun.,  horn  Aug.  14,  1820, 
in  Kentucky,  married  Sept.  30,  1842,  in 
Mercer  county,  Ky.,  to  Mary  J.  Camp- 
bell. Mr.  Caldwell  died  June  29,  1844. 

His  widow  married  Mr. Moore,  and 

resides  at  Pleasant  Hill,  Cass  county,  Mo. 

William  Caldwell,  Sen.,  died  Aug.  i, 
1844,  and  his  widow  died  Dec.  19,  1858, 
both  at  the  southeast  corner  of  Curran 
township. 

When  he  moved  from  Auburn  to  Cur- 
ran  township,  in  1841,  there  was  not  a 
place  for  holding  religious  worship  near 
him.  In  order  to  afford  temporary  accom- 
modations, he  constructed  his  residence  in 
such  a  manner  that  it  could  be  used  for 
that  purpose.  It  consisted  of  a  large  cen- 
tral room,  with  three  other  large  rooms 
opening  into  it.  Plans  were  laid,  before 
his  death,  for  building  a  church,  and  on 
his  death  bed  he  requested  that  it  be  called 
Bethel,  which  was  done,  as  the  Christian 
Church  near  where  he  lived  bears  that 
name.  Mr.  Caldwell  was  a  man  of  great 
public  spirit  all  his  life.  He  was  Captain 
of  a  company  from  Jessamine  county,  Ky., 
in  the  war  of  1812.  A  younger  brother 
was  a  member  of  his  company,  and  was 
taken  prisoner  at  the  battle  of  the  river 
Raisin.  He  came  near  freezing  to  death 
while  confined  in  a  rail  pen  in  Canada. 
William  Caldwell  was  Sheriff  of  Jessa- 
mine county,  Ky.,  and  represented  the 
county  several  times  in  the  State  Legisla- 
ture. He  represented  Sangamon  county 
two  terms  in  the  Legislature  of  Illinois. 

CALHOUN,— The  origin  of  the 
family  in  America  was  with  Andrew  Cal- 
houn,  who  was  born  March  27,  1764,  in 
Rye,  Ireland.  The  family  record  speaks 
of  his  birth  place  as  "  Heland."  That 
may  have  been  a  provincial  name,  or  the 
original  Gaellic  name  for  Ireland.  An- 
drew Calhoun  was  a  near  relative  of  the 
father  of  John  C.  Calhoun,  of  South 
Carolina.  He  came  to  America  about 
1792,  and  made  his  home  in  Boston,  Mass. 
March  15,  iy9S5  he  was  married  at  Chelms- 
ford,  Mass.,  to  Martha  Chamberlin,  who 
was  born  at  the  latter  place,  Feb.  20,  1 770. 
She  was  a  descendent  of  the  Puritans. 
They  had  eight  children,  all  born  in  Bos- 
ton. Their  sixth  child,  JOHN,  is  the 
one  of  whom  we  wish  to  speak  particularly, 
but  will  first  brieflv  mention  his  brothers 


and    sisters,  that    the    reader  may  under- 
stand the  character  of  the  family. 

WILLIAM  B.,  was  a  lawyer,  and 
stood  high  in  the  profession.  He  lived  in 
.Springfield,  Mass.;  was  speaker  of  the 
house  of  representatives  eight  years,  and 
President  of  the  Senate  a  number  of 
years.  He  represented  the  Springfield 
district  in  Congress  eight  years.  CHARLES 
was,  for  twenty  consecutive  years,  Secre- 
tary of  the  Senate  of  Massachusetts. 
ANDREW  H.,  left  his  native  State  and  be- 
came connected  with  journalism  in  the 
State  of  New  York.  He  served  seven 
years  on  the  Board  of  Canal  Commis- 
sioners, and  one  term  as  Clerk  of  the  State 
Senate.  HENRY  was  a  merchant  in  Mont- 
gomery county,  New  York.  Later  in  life 
he  was,  for  many  years,  Deputy  Collector 
of  United  States  Customs  in  the  city  of 
New  York.  SIMEON  HOWARD,  born 
August  15,  1804,  was  educated  at  Harvard 
College,  became  a  Christian  minister,  and 
joined  a  mission  at  Mount  Lebanon,  Syria. 
He  was  entrusted  with  translating  the 
Bible  into  the  native  language,  and 
subsequently  established  a  native  col- 
lege near  Beirut,  of  which  he  is  now — 
1875 — t*16  President.  JAMES,  younger 
than  John,  was  for  thirty  years  an  active 
business  man  in  Cincinnati,  O.  There 
were  two  sisters,  SUSAN,  older,  and  MAR- 
THA, younger.  The  father,  Andrew 
Calhoun,  after  spending  the  prime  of  his 
life  as  an  extensive  merchant  in  Boston, 
retired  to  a  farm  in  Montgomery  countv, 
N.  Y.,  where  he  lost  his  wife,  returned  to 
Boston,  married  again,  and  died  April  14, 
1842. 

CALHOUN,  JOHN,  was  born 
Oct.  14,  1808,  in  Boston,  Mass.,  and  in 
1821  accompanied  his  father  to  the  Mo- 
hawk Valley,  in  New  York.  After  fin- 
ishing his  studies  at  the  Canajoharie 
Academy,  he  studied  law  at  Fort  Plain, 
both  in  Montgomery  county.  In  1830  he 
came  to  Springfield,  111.,  and  resumed  the 
study  of  law,  sustaining  himself  by  teach- 
ing a  select  school.  He  took  part  in  the 
Black  Hawk  war  of  1831-2,  and  after  its 
close,  was  appointed  by  the  Governor  of 
the  State,  Surveyor  of  Sangamon  county. 
He  induced  Abraham  Lincoln  to  study 
surveying,  in  order  to  become  his  deputy. 
From  that  time  the  chain  of  freindship  be- 
tween them  continued  bright  to  the  end 
of  their  lives,  although  they  were  ardent 


1 68 


EARLT  SET7LERS  OF 


partizans  of  different  schools  in  politics. 
John  Calhoun  was  married  Dec.  29,  1831, 
in  Sangamon  county,  to  Sarah  Cutter. 
See  Cutter  sketch.  They  had  nine  child- 
ren in  Sangamon  county,  and  in  1854  Mr. 
Calhoun  was  appointed  by  President 
Pierce,  Surveyor-General  for  Kansas  and 
Nebraska,  and  he  moved  his  family  to 
Kansas.  Of  all  their  children — 

JOHN,  Jun.,  born  Nov.  15,  1832,  died 
in  his  third  year,  in  Sangamon  county. 

ANDREW,  born  June  n,  1835,  in 
Sangamon  county,  was  killed  Jan.,  1860, 
by  the  explosion  of  a  steam  saw  mill  in 
Leavenworth  county,  Kansas. 

ELIZABETH,  born  March  18,  1835, 
in  Sangamon  county,  was  married  March 
i,  1870,  in  the  Catholic  church  at  Leaven- 
worth,  Kan.,  to  Henry  Jackson,  a  native 
of  England.  He  is  a  Lieutenant  in  the 
yth  Reg.  U.  S.  Cav.,  and  is  now — 1876 — 
on  detached  duty  in  the  signal  service  at 
Washington,  D.  C. 

SETH  y.  was  born  March  4,  1839, 
in  Springfield,  111.  He  went  with  his 
father  to  Kansas  in  1854,  and  when  the 
rebellion  commenced  he  enlisted  in  Battery 
H,  ist  Mo.  Art.,  It  had  been  an  infantry 
regiment  under  Col.  Frank  P.  Blair,  and 
after  the  battle  of  Wilson  creek,  changed 
to  artillery.  It  was  under  Gen.  Grant 
from  the  siege  of  Fort  Donelson  to  the 
evacuation  of  Corinth,  and  under  Sher- 
man in  his  "  march  to  the  sea."  SethJ. 
Calhoun  was  wounded  July  22,  1864.  in 
the  battle  of  Atlanta,  Ga.,  and  soon  a  er 
promoted  to  second  Lieut,  of  his  Battery. 
He  served  one  full  term,  re-enlisted  as  a 
veteran,  served  to  the  end  of  the  rebellion 
and  was  honorably  discharged.  He  now — 
1875 — lives  in  Leavenworth,  Kan. 

ALBERT,  born  Feb.  10,  1841,  in 
Springfield,  and  died  in  his  fourth  year. 

MARTHA,  born  Jan.  9,  1843,  in 
Springfield,  resides  with  her  mother. 

6*  US  AN,  born  Sept.  8,  1844,  in  Spring- 
field, 111.,  married,  August  29,  1866,  in 
Leavenworth,  Kansas,  to  Virgil  W.  Par- 
ker, who  was  born  Dec.  16,  1840,511  Rome, 
N.  Y.  They  have  one  child,  ADELIA, 
and  reside  in  Atchison,  Kansas. 

MAR  T,  born  May  25,  ,1847,  and 

JAMES,  born  Nov.  30,  1852,  both  in 
Springfield,  111.,  live  with  their  mother. 

John  Calhoun  died  Oct.  25,  1859,  at  St. 
Joseph,  Mo.  His  widow  and  unmarried 


children    now — 1876 — reside    in    Leaven- 
worth, Kansas. 

Hon.  John  Calhoun  deserves  more  than 
a  passing  notice.  He  entered  the  political 
field  in  1835,  being  the  Democratic  candi- 
date that  year  for  the  State  Senate  of  Illi- 
nois, but  there  being  a  large  Whig  major- 
ity in  the  county,  he  was  defeated  by 
Archer  G.  Herndon.  In  1838  he  was 
elected  to  represent  Sangamon  county  in 
the  State  Legislature.  In  1841  he,  with 
^  John  Duff,  completed  the  railroad  from 
•  Jacksonville  to  Springfield,  being  the  first 
to  reach  the  State  Capital.  In  1842  he  was 
appointed  Clerk  of  the  Circuit  Court  of 
Sangamon  county  by  Judge  Treat.  In 
1844  he  was  one  of  the  Presidential 
Electors  of  Illinois  for  President  Polk. 
In  i849-'5<>'5i,  he  was  successively  elected 
Mayor  of  Springfield.  In  1852  he  was 
one  of  the  Presidential  Electors  of  Illinois 
for  President  Pierce,  and  was  selected  by 
his  colleagues  to  carry  the  vote  to  Wash- 
ington City.  In  1854  he  was  appointed, 
by  President  Pierce,  Surveyor  General  of 
Kansas  and  Nebraska,  and  moved  his 
family  to  Kansas. 

Here  he  entered  a  political  field  with 
new  and  exciting  sectional  elements.  He 
was  elected  a  delegate  to  the  convention 
that  framed  what  has  passed  into  history 
as  the  Lecompton  Constitution.  He  be- 
came the  President  of  that  body,  which 
was  composed  of  unscrupulous  pro-slavery 
adventurers,  with  a  small  number  of  con- 
servative members,  among  whom  was  the 
President.  That  odious  instrument  would 
have  been  adopted  by  the  convention  with- 
out submitting  it  to  a  vote  of  the  people, 
had  it  not  been  for  the  determined  opposi- 
tion of  President  Calhoun,  who  threatened 
to  resign,  and  opposed  it  by  every  method 
in  his  power,  unless  it  was  submitted;  and 
when  it  came  to  the  polls  he  voted  against 
adopting  the  pro-slavery  clause.  That 
instrument  provided  that  the  President  of 
the  Convention  should  count  the  vote  and 
report  the  result. 

Soon  after  this  duty  was  discharged  he 
started  for  Washington  City,  leaving  all 
the  returns  and  papers  relating  to  the  elec- 
tion with  one  L.  A.  McLane,  Chief  Clerk 
of  the  Surveyor  General's  office.  He  has 
been  described  as  "  A  brilliant  clerk,  but 
vain,  vacillating,  and  ambitious  of  doing 
smart  things,  and  economical  of  the  truth 
generally.  "  The  instructions  given  to 


SANGAMON   COUNTT. 


169 


him  by  Gen.  Calhoun  before  starting  east, 
was  to  afford  every  facility  to  any  body  of 
respectable  men  to  examine  the  returns,  as 
evidences  of  dissatisfaction  were  already 
apparent,  and  the  conviction  soon  became 
general  that  a  stupendous  fraud  had  been 
committed  against  the  ballot.  Soon  the 
excitement  became  intense,  endangering 
the  lives  of  some  of  the  conspicuous 
actors,  and  McLane  became  alarmed. 
Gen.  Thomas  L.  Ewing,  Jun.,  and  Judge 
Smith  called  upon  him,  with  a  letter  from 
Mr.  Calhoun,  instructing  the  clerk  to  let 
those  gentlemen  examine  the  returns. 
Mr.  McLane  falsely  stated  to  Messrs. 
Ewing  and  Smith  that  the  returns  were 
not  in  his  possession;  that  Gen.  Calhoun 
had  taken  them  with  him  when  he  left  for 
Washington.  A  few  evenings  later,  Mc- 
Lane attended  a  ball  at  Lawrence,  where 
he  was  plied  with  good  cheer,  attentions 
and  flattery,  so  grateful  to  his  appetite  and 
vanity,  and  after  becoming  mellow  by  the 
occasion,  a  Lawrence  belle,  acting  the 
part  of  Deliah,  drew  from  him  the  secret 
of  the  coveted  papers.  The  next  day  he 
was  called  upon  by  a  committee  of  the 
territorial  legislature,  who  demanded  the 
returns,  when  he  again  denied  having 
them  in  his  possession.  He  was  then 
summoned  before  a  committee  of  the  leg- 
islature, and  there  stated  under  oath  that 
Gen.  Calhoun  had  taken  the  returns  with 
him.  The  cross-questions  revealed  to  him 
the  fact  that  the  Lawrence  belle  had  be- 
trayed him.  Realizing  his  position,  he 
returned  that  night  to  Lecompton,  and 
with  a  few  cronies,  put  the  returns  in  a 
candle  box,  and  buried  it  under  a  wood 
pile.  A  porter  in  the  Surveyor-General's 
office,  by  the  name  of  Charles  Torrey, 
who  had  for  a  long  time  acted  as  a  spy 
for  the  enemies  of  Gen.  Calhoun,  watched 
the  operation,  and  gave  the  information. 
A  company  of  men  from  Lawrence  soon 
after  unearthed  the  box,  and  bore  away 
the  prize. 

The  exposure  of  McLane's  villainy  was 
now  complete,  and  he  precepitately  fled 
the  Territory,  with  a  mob  in  close  pursuit. 
Thus  the  odium  of  the  dastardly  acts  of 
this  man  were  unjustly  visited  upon 
Gen.  Calhoun.  Unqualified  abuse  and 
misrepresentations  were  heaped  upon  him, 
and  spread  broadcast  over  the  country  by 
the  press.  That  broke  down  his  spirits, 
and  he  soon  after  left  the  Territory,  went 


to  St.  Joseph,  Mo.,  and  died  there.  He 
deserved  a  better  fate.  He  was  a  man  of 
genial,  hopeful,  generous  temperament; 
ever  ready  to  serve  or  defend  a  friend,  but 
rarely  defending  himself,  except  on  the 
spur  of  the  moment;  of  great  ability,  and 
for  a  time  was  the  best  political  orator  in 
the  State  of  Illinois.  He  was  brilliant, 
but  deficient  in  practical  application. 
President  Lincoln  has  been  heard  to  say 
that  John  Calhoun  was  the  strongest  man 
he  had  ever  met  on  the  stump;  that  he 
could  manage  Douglas,  but  that  Calhoun 
always  gave  him  his  hands  full. 

CALLERMAN,  DANIEL 
K.,  was  born  Dec.  10,  1806,  in  Fleming 
county,  Ky.  He  came  to  Sangamon 
county,  111.,  in  company  with  his  widowed 
mother,  arriving  Nov.  14,  1828,  at  Spring- 
field. He  was  married  Sept.  29,  1833,  to 
Allie  M.  Henton.  They  had  ten  children 
in  Sangamon  county,  two  of  whom  died 
young.  Of  the  other  eight — 

JOHN,  born  Aug.  9,  1834,  married 
Nov.,  1855,  in  Missouri,  to  Elizabeth 
Bunn.  He  is  supposed  to  have  lost  his 
life  in  time  of  the  rebellion,  leaving  a 
widow  and  three  children  in  Vernon 
county,  Mo. 

E  VAN  H.,  born  Oct.  2,  1836,  in  San- 
gamon county,  and  married  Henrietta 
Drake.  They  had  three  living  children, 
WILLIAM  "H.,  CHARLES  M.  and 
CORA.  Mrs.  C.  died  June  9,  1873,  and 
he  was  married  March  15,  1876,  to  Nellie 
Elder,  of  Sangamon  county,  a  daughter 
of  Dr.  A.  W.  Elder,  an  early  settler  of 
Morgan  county.  E.  H.  Callerman  lives 
in  Williamsville. 

l^RIAH  W.,  born  Jan.  14,  1839,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  May  30,  1875, 
to  Mary  Curries.  They  live  near  Garnett, 
Anderson  countv,  Kansas. 

BARBARA  ELEANOR  C.,  born 
March  21,  1841,111  Menard  county,  married 
March  u,  1860,  in  Sangamon  county,  to 
Andrew  M.  Whitenack,  who  was  born 
Aug.  9,  1830,  in  Somerset  county,  N.  J. 
They  have  one  child,  DANIEL  C.,  and 
live  near  Edinburg,  111. 

MARTHA  A., 'born  Sept.  17,  1843,  in 
Menard  county,  married  Nov.  27,  1860,  in 
Sangamon  county,  to  Minard  A.  McClel- 
land. They  have  five  children,  FRAN- 
CIS A.,  IDA  A.,  MARSHAL  A., 
MAUD  M.  and  MATTIE,  and  live  near 
Garnett,  Kansas. 


-22 


EARL?  SETTLERS  OF 


MARY,  born  Dec.  19,  1848,  in  Menard 
county,  married  Sept.  24,  1868,  in  Sanga- 
mon  county,  to  John  R.  W.  McNeill. 
They  had  two  children.  GEORGE  died 
young.  WALTER  lives  with  his  pa- 
rents, near  Edinburg,  111. 

GEORGE  W.,  born  Dec.  24,  1851, 
and 

ANN,  born  June  20,  1857.  The  two 
latter  live  with  their  mother. 

Daniel  K.  Callerman  died  Dec.  2,  1873, 
and  his  widow  lives  near  Williamsville. 

CALLERMAN,  URIAH, was 
born  Dec.  31,  1798,  in  Fleming  county, 
Ky.,  and  was  married  there  to  Eleanor 
McKinnie.  They  had  one  child  in  Ken- 
tucky, and  moved  to  Sangamon  county, 
111.,  arriving  in  the  fall  of  1822,  four  miles 
north  of  Springfield,  where  they  had 
three  children.  Of  their  children — 

JOHN  L.,  born  June  2,  1822,  in  Flem- 
ing county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sangamon 
county,  Sept.  18,  1845,  to  Frances  Cole. 
They  had  one  child,  JOHN  L.,  Jun.,  born 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  Jan.  8, 1874, 
to  Susan  M.  Lightfoot,  and  live  five  miles 
northwest  of  Springfield.  John  L.  Cal- 
lerman died  August  26,  1846,  and  his 
widow  married  Levi  Branson,  and  lives 
near  Cincinnati,  Neb. 

ELIZABETH,  born  Dec.  26,  1823, 
in  Sangamon  county,  died  Sept.  21,  1845. 

NANCY,  born  March  3,  1826,  in  San- 
gamon county,  married  Goodrich  Light- 
foot.  See  his  name. 

JAMES  W.,  born  April  19,  1828,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  March,  1856, 
to  Emma  Ash.  They  have  six  children, 
and  live  ten  miles  southeast  of  Spring- 
field. 

Uriah  Callerman  died  Sept.  13,  1828, 
and  Mrs.  Eleanor  Callerman  died  August 
26,  1846,  both  in  Sangamon  county. 

CAMPBELL,  ANTRIM,  was 
born  Aug.  5,  1814,  in  New  Jersey.  He 
came  to  Springfield  about  1838,  and  en- 
gaged in  the  practice  of  law.  He  was 
married  May  12,  1841,  to  Mrs.  Ann  Far- 
quar,  whose  maiden  name  was  Cranmei. 
Mr.  Campbell  was  appointed,  Jan.  24,1849, 
Master  in  Chancery  for  the  circuit  court  of 
Sangamon  county,  and  resigned  the  same, 
Oct.  28, 1861.  He  was  appointed  by  the  U.  S. 
Circuit  Court,  Master  in  Chancery  for  the 
Southern  District  of  Illinois.  He  died  in 
office,  August  u,  1868.  His  widow  re- 
sides at  the  Leland  Hotel,  Springfield. 


CAMPBELL,  DAVID  B., 
came  to  Springfield  with  his  brother  An- 
trim. He  was  Attorney-General  from 
1848  to  1856,  and  died  in  office,  in  Spring- 
field. 

CAMPBELL,  ENOS,  born 
about  1758,  either  in  Scotland  or  near 
Trenton,  N.  J.,  soon  after  the  arrival  of 
his  parents  in  America.  He  enlisted  in 
the  Revolutionary  army  at  seventeen  years 
of  age,  and  served  six  or  seven  years,  un- 
til the  British  army  left  the  American 
shores.  Mr.  C.  drew  a  pension  to  the  end 
of  his  life.  Enos  Campbell  and  Damaris 
Nowee  were  married  in  New  Jersey,  and 
moved  to  Uniontown,  Fayette  county, 
Penn.,  where  they  had  nine  children,  and 
moved,  about  1806,  to  Butler  county,  O., 
where  they  had  one  child,  and  the  family 
moved  to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  arriving 
in  the  fall  of  1835,  in  what  is  now  Gard- 
ner township.  Some  of  the  children  had 
arrived  before,  and  some  never  came.  Of 
their  children — 

SARAH,  born  in  Pennsylvania,  mar- 
ried in  Ohio  to  William  Gard.  They 
raised  a  family,  and  both  died  in  Preble 
county,  Ohio. 

JOHN  N.,  born  April  10,  1794,  in 
Uniontown,  Fayette  county,  Pa.,  married 
Oct.  12,  1818,  in  Butler  county,  Ohio,  to 
Phrebe  Clarke,  who  was  born  April  30, 
1791,  in  Uniontown,  Pa.,  also.  They  had 
five  children  in  Ohio,  and  moved  to  San- 
gamon county,  arriving  Oct.  3,  1824,  in 
what  is  now  Salisbury  township,  where 
they  had  four  children.  Of  their  children, 
ISRAEL,  born  in  Ohio,  married  in  San- 
gamon county  to  Mary  Jacks,  and  lives  in 
DeWitt  county.  CHRISTIANA,  born 
Tune  27,  1819,  in  Ohio,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  to  Philip  Clark,  Jun.  See 
his  name.  CLARKSON,  born  March 
3,  1821,  in  Ohio,  married  in  Sangamon 
county,  to  Ann  Kyles.  They  had  two 
children,  and  live  in  Minnesota.  He 
was  Lieutenant  in  an  Illinois  regiment  in 
suppressing  the  rebellion.  ENOS,  born 
Nov.  22,  1822,  in  Ohio,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  Feb.  12,  1851,  to  Rachel 
Duncan.  They  have  two  children,  both 
married,  and  live  near  Clinton.  BAR- 
ZILLA,  born  July  22,  1824,  in  Ohio,  mar- 
ried in  Sangamon  county,  to  Rosanna 
Sackett,  moved  to  Clinton  and  was  Sheriff 
of  DeWitt  county  and  Quartermaster  of 
the  ic>7th  Illinois  Infantry.  They  have 


SANG  AM  ON  COUNTY. 


171 


five  children,  and  live  at  Twin  Springs, 
Lynn  county,  Kansas.  LEWIS,  born 
Nov.  17,  1826,  in  Sangamon  county,  mar- 
ried in  Clinton  to  Philena  Argo.  They 
have  six  children,  and  live  at  Clinton,  111. 
JOHN  N.  Jun.,  born  March  24,  1829,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  June  29,  1852, 
to  Susan  Hendel.  He  died  Aug.  n,  1856, 
near  Clinton.  SARAH  A.,  born  May 
30,  1831,  in  Sangamon  county,  married 
Sept,  21,  1854,  to  Robert  Boyd,  who  died 
leaving  one  child,  ADA.  Mrs.  Boyd  mar- 
ried Albert  Williams,  and  both  died,  leav- 
ing one  child  in  Clinton.  MARY  A., 
born  Dec.  22,  1824,  in  Sangamon  county, 
married  James  Willis.  They  have  four 
children,  and  live  near  Clinton.  John  N. 
Campbell  was  a  soldier  in  the  war  of  1812, 
from  Ohio,  and  the  Black  Hawk  war  from 
Sangamon  county.  He  and  his  wife  live 
in  Clinton  now — 1874 — both  over  eighty 
years  of  age. 

LE  WIS,  married  in  Ohio  to  Leah 
Weaver,  came  to  Sangamon  county  before 
the  "  deep  snow,"  moved  back  to  Ohio  in 
1832,  where  he  lost  his  wife,  returned  to 
Sangamon  county  in  1836,  married  Clar- 
issa Willis,  had  eight  children,  and  lives 
near  Athens,  Menard  county.  His 
daughter,  Leah,  married  John  Slater.  See 
his  name. 

RA  CHEL,  married  in  Ohio  to  Henry 
Price,  moved  to  Sangamon  county,  in 
1835,  moved,  in  1841,  to  Iowa,  and  from 
there  to  the  Pacific  coast  in  1854.  They 
had  ten  children,  and  live  in  California. 

ABIGAIL,  married  in  Ohio  to  Jacob 
Mann,  raised  a  large  family,  and  lives  near 
Paris,  Edgar  county,  111. 

MART,  born  in  1790,  or  '91,  in  Union- 
town,  Penn.,  married  in  Ohio  to  William 
H.  Fitz  Freeman.  They  had  five  child- 
ren in  Ohio,  and  came  to  Sangamon  coun- 
ty in  1837.  She  died  July  21,  1854,  in 
her  64th  year,  and  Mr.  Freeman  died  Jan. 
19,  1856,  in  the  77th  year  of  his  age. 
Their  son,  Abraham  Freeman,  married 
Margaret  Penny,  has  several  children,  and 
lives  in  Springfield. 

JANE,  born  April  27,  1808,  in  Butler 
county,  Ohio,  married  Jacob  Gard.  See 
his  name. 

Mrs.  Damaris  Campbell  died  April  23, 

1837,  and   Enos    Campbell   died  June    2, 

1838,  both  in  Sangamon  county. 


CAMPBELL,  JOHN,  was 
born  Nov.  4, 1790,  in  Carter  county,  Tenn. 
His  father,  Jeremiah  Campbell,  settled 
there  before  the  American  Revolution, 
and  was  a  soldier  during  the  Revolution, 
under  Gen.  Francis  Marion.  He  lived  to 
be  about  100  years  old.  His  youngest 
son,  Jackson,  was  the  owner  of  the  old 
homestead  at  the  beginning  of  the  great 
rebellion.  The  farm  had  then  been  in  the 
family  about  100  years.  John  Campbell 
enlisted  in  a  company  from  Carter  county, 
in  the  war  with  England,  served  six 
months,  re-enlisted  and  served  until  March, 
1815.  He  was  an  ensign  in  the  last  cam- 
paign, and  drew  a  pension  to  the  end  of 
his  life.  He  remained  in  Tennesssee  un- 
til 1818,  when  he  went  to  Madison  coun- 
ty, 111.,  and  was  there  married  Nov.  6, 

1818,  to  Lavina  Parkison,  who  was  born 
Feb.  21,  1803.     They  moved  to  what  be- 
came Sangamon  county,  arriving   March 
22,  1819,  on   Lick    creek,  in  what  is  now 
Chatham  township,  and  had  seven  child- 
ren there,  namely — 

ALFRED     C.,    was    born    July    22, 

1819,  in  Sangamon  county,  111.     He  was 
the  first  white  child  born  on  Lick  creek, 
and  but  two  are  known  to  have  been  born 
earlier  in  the  county.     They  were  Samuel 
Drennan,   born    May  5,  1819,   on    Sugar 
creek,  and  Joseph  E.  McCoy,  born  March 
13,    1819,   on    Horse    creek.      Alfred    C. 
Campbell   was    married    May   3,   1838,  in 
Sangamon    county,    to    Polly    Foster,    a 
daughter   of  Peyton   Foster.     They  had 
seven   children,  one  of  whom,  WM.   P., 
died  young.    JOHN  P.,  born  August  4, 
1839,  in  Sangamon  county,  married  Aug. 
26,  1858,  in  Shelby  county  to  Sarah  Elliott. 
They  have  three  children,  POLLY,  WILLIS, 
and  ELEANOR  G.,  and  reside  near  Mowe- 
qua,  Shelby    county,  111.     John  P.  Camp- 
bell enlisted  Oct.  2,  i86i,in  Co.  E,  32d  111. 
Inf.     He  arose  by  regular  grades  to  the 
rank  of  Captain,  was  wounded  at  the  bat- 
tle of  Hatchie,  honorably  discharged,  and 
now  draws  a  pension.  ELZIRA,  E.,  born 
April  23,  1844,  in  Sangamon  county,  mar- 
ried in    1862,  to  James  W.  Clark.      They 
have   one  child,  POLLY,   and    reside  near 
Mow.equa,  Shelby  county.     SARAH  C., 
born  Mar.  27,  1846,  in  Sangamon  county, 
married  in  1865,  in  Champaign  county,  to 
F.  Bechtel.     1  hey  have  one  child,  POLLY. 
LEONORA  J.,  born  April    15,  1848,   in 


I72 


EARLT  SETTLERS  OF 


Sangamon  county,  and  reside  near  Mo- 
wequa.  ALFRED  C.,  Jun.,  born  May 
26,  1850,  in  Sangamon  county,  married  in 
1873  to  Maggie  Hunter.  They  have  one 
child,  CARRIE  D.,  and  live  near  Mowequa, 
111.  GEORGE  W.,  born  May  9,  1853, 
in  Shelby  county,  is  a  sailor,  and  when 
lest  heard  from  was  in  Germany.  Mrs. 
Polly  Campbell  died  Jan.  9,  1858,  and 
A.  C.  Campbell  was  married  June  17, 
1859,  to  Miss  Jane  Hunt.  They  are  with- 
out family,  and  reside  near  Mowequa, 
Shelby  county,  111.  Capt.  A.  C.  Camp- 
bell enlisted  June  10,  1846,  in  Co.  D.,  4th 
111.  Inf.,  under  Col.  E.  D.  Baker.  He 
was  commissioned  26.  Lieut.,  and  after  the 
death  of  Capt.  Achilles  Morris,  at  Tam- 
pico,  Mexico,  Lieut.  Campbell  commanded 
the  company  at  the  siege  and  capture  of 
Vera  Cruz,  and  the  battle  of  Cerro  Gordo. 
When  the  rebellion  broke  out  he  raised  a 
company,  Oct.  2,  1861,  and  became  Capt. 
of  Co.  E.,  32d  111.  Inf.,  under  Col.  John 
Logan,  and  fought  in  all  the  battles  from 
Fort  Donelson  to  the  sea.  At  Pittsburg 
Landing  his  company  lost  thirty-two  men, 
killed  and  wounded,  out  of  fifty-six  in 
action.  He  served  three  years  and  four 
months,  and  was  honorably  discharged. 
Capt.  Campbell  moved,  in  1851,  to  the 
vicinity  of  Mowequa,  Shelby  county, 
where  he  now  resides. 

WILLIAM  P.,  born  Nov.  4,  1820,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married,  March  12, 
1843,  to  Elizabeth  Carson.  They  had 
fourteen  children,  five  of  whom  died  in 
infancy,  and  one,  JOSIAH  W.,  was  killed 
in  May,  1859,  by  becoming  entangled  in 
the  harness  on  a  mule,  which  ran  away 
with  him  as  he  was  leaving  his  plow  to 
escape  from  an  approaching  rain  storm. 
Of  the  other  eight,  JEREMIAH,  born 
Jan.  i,  1843,  married  Mary  Wheeler, 
have  two  children.  EARNEST  L.  and  EAR- 
LEN  R.,  and  reside  in  Loami  township. 
WILLIAM  P.,  Jun.,  born  April  7,  1846, 
married  Sarah  Dodd,  who  was  born  Dec. 
11,  1847,  in  Bradley  county,  Tenn.  They 
had  one  child,  AMANDA,  who  died  July  18, 
1873,  in  her  second  year.  They  reside 
in  Talkington  township.  JAMES 
S.,  twin  to  Josiah  WT..  was  born  June  5, 
1 848,  married  Rebecca  A.  Hunter,  who  was 
born  August  15,  1852,  in  Jersey  county. 
They  had  two  children;  one  died  in  in- 
fancy, and  ETTIE  MAY  resides  with  her 
parents,  in  Talkington  township.  SIM- 


ON P.,  born  May  17,  1854,  married  Mar. 
6,  1873,  to  Kate  A.  Workman,  and  resides 
four  miles  south  of  Loami.  LONELY 
ARIZONIA,  ISAAC  H.,  JACKSON 
and  BEATRICE,  reside  with  their 
mother.  Wm.  P.  Campbell  died  August 
24,  1868,  and  his  widow  resides  three 
miles  south  of  Loami.  Mr.  Campbell 
was  a  soldier  in  the  Mexican  war,  where 
he  contracted  chronic  diarrhea,  which 
caused  his  death  more  than  twenty  years 
after. 

JEREMIAH,  born  Dec.  22,  1822, 
married  Luro  Combs,  and  died  in  1853, 
leaving  a  widow  and  two  children  in  Shel- 
by county.  Mrs.  Luro  Campbell  mar- 
ried Abner  Smith,  and  resides  near  Mo- 
wequa, Shelby  county,  111. 

JOSIAH  W.,  born  April  5,  1828, 
married  Elizabeth  Workman.  They  had 
two  living  children,  and  Mrs.  C.  died  and 
he  married  Angeline  White.  They  have 
three  children,  and  reside  in  Vernon 
county,  Mo. 

PETER  C.,  born  Jan.  19,  1832,  mar- 
ried May  5,  1852,  to  Amanda  E.  Carson. 
They  ^iad  three  children,  two  of  whom 
died  in  infancy.  RACHEL  C.  resides 
with  her  parents.  Peter  C.  Campbell 
and  wife  live  in  Chatham  township,  with 
in  one  mile  of  where  he  was  born. 

CAROLINE,  born  Oct.  23,  1834, 
married  John  Workman.  See  his  name. 

Mrs.  Lavinah  Campbell  died  Dec.  13, 
1853,  and  John  Campbell  was  married  in 
1855  to  Mrs.  Margery  Carson,  whose 
maiden  name  was  Parkison,  a  sister  of 
his  first  wife.  She  died  March  5,  1870. 
John  Campbell  died  Feb.,  1875,  on  the 
farm  where  he  settled  in  1819,  five  miles 
west  of  Chatham,  leaving  a  large  estate 
which  he  had  accumulated  by  industry  and 
economy.  He,  as  nearly  all  the  earliest 
settlers,  took  part  in  the  Black  Hawk  war. 
The  first  mill  in  the  county,  built  by  Daniel 
Lisle,  was  sold  by  him,  and  after  changing 
hands  once  or  twice,  was  bought  by  Mr. 
John  Campbell,  and  moved  to  his  farm  on 
Lick  creek,  where  he  put  it  up  and  ran  it 
for  years,  each  customer  bi'inging  his  own 
horses  to  run  it.  That  kind  of  mills  went 
out  of  use  long  ago,  and  one  of  the  burrs 
was  used  by  Mr.  Campbell  as  a  doorstep, 
to  the  day  of  his  death. 

CAMPBELL,  LE VI,  was  born 
May  i,  1818,  in  Madison  county,  111.,  and 
came  to  Sangamon  county  when  he  was 


SANGAMON    COUNT*. 


*73 


quite  young.  He  was  married  March  4, 
1841,  to  Susannah  Staley.  They  had 
three  living  children,  namely — 

SARAH  J.  married  John  Hudson. 
See  his  name. 

MART F.,  married  Kirk  Lacey.  They 
have  three  children,  and  live  in  Waverly. 

STALET  D.,  lives  west  of  Loami. 

Levi  Campbell  was  a  soldier  from  San- 
gamon  county,  in  the  war  with  Mexico, 
in  1846  and  '7.  He  died  May  22,  1851, 
and  his  widow  married  Wm.  B.  McCray. 
They  have  three  children — 

ROBERT  D.,  JAMES  A.  and 
STEPHEN  W.,  and  live  west  of 
Loami. 

CAMPBELL,  MAXWELL, 
was  born  Oct.  29,  1795,  in  Cabarras  coun- 
ty, N.  C.  His  grandfather,  Robert 
Campbell,  came  from  Scotland,  bringing 
six  sons:  Robert,  James,  John,  William, 
Samuel  and  George.  Their  arrival  in 
North  Carolina  was  not  long  before  the 
American  Revolution,  and  all  the  six  bro- 
thers were  soldiers  in  the  Revolutionary 
army.  The  second  Robert  was  the  father 
of  the  subject  of  this  sketch.  Maxwell 
Campbell  was  married  July  25,  1822,  in 
North  Carolina,  to  Nancy  Plunkett.  She 
was  born  June  15,  1806,  in  the  same  coun- 
ty. They  came  to  Sangamon  county,  ar- 
riving in  May  1823,  and  settled  at  the 
north  side  of  Richland  creek  in  what  is 
now  Cartwright  township.  They  had 
six  living  children  in  Sangamon  county — 

ROBERT  R.,\>orn  August  13,  1823, 
married  Dec.  13,  1847.  to  Cynthia  S.  Pen- 
ny. They  have  eight  children.  SAM- 
UEL lives  with  his  parents.  NANCY 
C.  married  J.  Harnsberger.  See  his  name. 
MATILDA  C.,  GEORGE  B.,  PETER 
A.,  IDA  JANE,  JOHN  D.  and  CHAS. 
A.,  live  with  their  parents,  two  and  a  half 
miles  northeast  of  Pleasant  Plains. 

JOHN  H.,  born  May  19,  1828,  mar- 
ried Feb.  28,  1851,  to  Minerva  E.  Bum- 
gardner.  They  have  three  children. 
ISABEL  M.  married  Aaron  Thompson. 
NANCY  E.  and  WILLIAM  J.  live  with 
their  parents.  John  H.  Campbell  enlisted 
Sept.  18,  1862,  for  three  years,  in  Co.  F, 
H4th  111.  Inf.  Served  his  full  term  and 
was  honorably  discharged  in  July,  1865, 
at  Trenton,  N.  J.  He  lives  east  of  Pleas- 
ant Plains. 

JAMES  E.,  born  Oct.  8,  1830,  mar- 
ried Oct.  4,  1865,  to  Cordelia  Valentine, 


who  was  born  Dec.  20, 1847,  in  Pickaway 
county,  Ohio.  They  live  near  Pleasant 
Plains. 

MATILDA  D.,  born  April  3,  1833, 
married  Jan.  25,  1851,  to  Wm.  F.  Irwin. 
See  his  name. 

WILLIAM  V.,  born  May  2,  1836, 
married  Feb.  13,  1862,  to  Mary  E.Valen- 
tine, who  was  born  Dec.  14,  1843,  in  Pick- 
away  county,  O.  They  had  four  children. 
OLIVER  H.  died  young.  MAXWELL 
M.,  JASPER  S.  and  CORA  V.  live 
with  their  parents,  at  the  family  home- 
stead settled  in  1823. 

JASPER  J.,  born  May  22,  1839, 
enlisted  Sept.  18,  1862,  for  three  years,  in 
Co.  F,  1 1 4th  111.  Inf.  He  was  captured 
at  the  battle  of  Guntown,  Miss.,  June  10, 
1864,  remained  in  Anderson ville  prison- 
pen  until  near  the  close  of  the  rebellion, 
and  was  marching  under  rebel  authority 
to  the  Mississippi  river  for  the  purpose  of 
being  exchanged.  On  the  second  day's 
march,  he  being  emaciated  by  starvation, 
fell  out  of  the  ranks,  and  was  never  heard 
of  after. 

Maxwell  Campbell  and  his  wife  live 
on  the  farm  where  they  settled  in  1823. 
It  is  four  miles  northeast  of  Pleasant 
Plains. 

Maxwell  Campbell  says  he  raised  the 
three  first  crops  after  he  came  to  Sanga- 
mon county,  with  an  ox.  He  used  the  ox 
for  riding  and  all  other  purposes,  the 
same  as  a  horse.  In  working  he  used 
harness  instead  of  a  yoke.  He  could 
carry  a  grist  of  com  on  the  ox  to  mill, 
hitch  him  in,  do  his  own  grinding,  and 
then  carry  it  home.  He  made  a  cart,  each 
wheel  of  which  was  a  solid  piece  of  wood, 
and  with  the  ox,  did  his  first  hauling.  Mr. 
Campbell  says  that  for  the  first  five  years 
after  coming  to  the  county  he  never  had 
a  cent  of  money.  He  first  built  a  very 
small  cabin,  then  prepared  hewn  logs  for 
a  much  larger  house.  They  were  hauled 
together  and  lay  two  years  because  he 
had  no  money  to  buy  whisky  for  the  rais- 
.  ing.  He  then  bought  a  blind  horse  for 
five  dollars  in  trade.  It  had  a  bell  on  it, 
which  Mr.  Campbell  sold  for  two  gallons 
of  whisky,  and  was  thus  enabled  to  raise 
the  house  in  which  he  has  lived  more  than 
forty  years.  Soon  after  trading  for  the 
blind  horse,- he  put  a  sack  of  corn  and  a 
boy  on  the  ox,  and  rode  the  horse  to  mill, 
hitched  the  horse  and  ox  together,  ground 


174 


EARLY  SET7LERS  OF 


- 


out  the  grist,  and  then  started  home.  The 
ox  threw  the  boy  and  sack  off.  The  boy 
caught  one  foot  in  the  traces,  and  the  ox 
dragged  him  among  the  trees  and  stumps, 
and  was  likely  to  kill  him.  Mr.  Camp- 
bell, seeing  the  perilous  condition  of  the 
boy,  ran  ahead  of  the  ox,  caught  it  by  the 
horns — and  knowing  him  to  be  its  master, 
rather  than  the  physical  strength  he  ex- 
erted— enabled  him  to  hold  it  until  help 
came  and  extricated  the  boy.  At  this 
point  in  the  story,  the  old  gentleman 
paused,  looked  wise,  and  with  a  comical 
expression  of  countenance,  added  in  a 
trembling  voice :  "  The  neighbors  always 
said  they  knowed  that  ox  afterwards  by 
the  prints  of  my  fingers  in  his  horns?"1 

CAMPBELL,  ROBERT,  was 
born  in  1798,  in  Caborras  county,  N.  C., 
and  married  there  to  Mary  Hill.  They 
moved  to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  about 
1828,  and  settled  on  Richland  creek.  They 
brought  two  children  with  them,  and  had 
eight  in  Sangamon  county.  In  1868  the 
family  moved  to  Kansas.  Of  their  child- 
ren— 

JAMES  married  Nancy  H.  Stubbs, 
and  has  two  children,  ALBERT  T.  and 
OSCAR,  and  live  in  Kansas. 

NANCT  married  John  E.  King,  and 
live  in  Kansas. 

SAMUEL,  WILET,  GREEN, 
JAMES,  FRANKLIN,  JOHN  and 
CARROLL,  the  two  latter  twins,  all, 
married  and  unmarried,  live  near  Fredonia, 
Wilson  county,  Kansas. 

Robert  Campbell  died  Sept.  12,  1872, 
near  Fredonia,  Kansas,  and  his  widow 
lives  with  their  children. 

CAMPBELL,  HUGH,  twin 
brother  to  Robert,  was  born  in  1798,  in 
North  Carolina,  married  there  and  came 
to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  in  Sept.,  1830, 
on  Richland  creek.  They  had  nine  child- 
ren, and  Hugh  Campbell  died  August  28, 
1865,  and  his  widow  died  July  26,  1869, 
both  in  Rochester. 

CAMPBELL,  NELSON, 
youngest  brother  to  Maxwell,  Robert  and 
Hugh.  He  was  born  in  North  Carolina, 
married  in  Tennessee  to  Themy  Grady, 
and  came  to  Sangamon  county  in  1830. 
They  had  three  children.  Their  eldest 
son — 

ROBERT,  married  Mrs.  M.  Gale, and 
had  two  children.  He  enlisted  in  1862, 
for  three  years,  in  the  H4th  111.  Inf. 


Served  full  term  and  was  honorably  dis- 
charged. He  died  Jan.,  1873  near  Roch- 
ester. 

Nelson  Campbell  and  wife  died  in  San- 
gamon county. 

CAMPBELL,  ROBERT,  was 
born  Sept.  9,  1783,  in  Kanawha  county, 
West  Va.  Mary  Griffith  was  born  there, 
Sept.  15,  1791.  They  were  married  June 
30,  1808,  and  some  of  their  children  were 
born  in  that  county.  The  family  moved 
to  Cincinnati,  and  from  there  to  Sanga- 
mon county,  arriving  previous  to  1835, 
near  Loami.  Of  their  children — 

SIDNEY  S.,  born  May  4,  1810,  in 
West  Va.,  married  in  Sangamon  county, 
March  30,  1836,  to  Barbara  A.  Neal. 
They  had  six  living  children  in  Sanga- 
mon county.  ROBERT  D.,  born  Jan. 
27,  1840,  enlisted  July  15,  1861,  in  Co.  C, 
nth  Mo.  Inf.,  for  three  years;  i"e-enlisted 
as  a  veteran,  Jan.,  1864,  served  until  Jan. 
15,  1866,  when  he  was  honorably  dis- 
charged. He  was  married  Sept.  2,  1868, 
to  Sarah  Shryer.  They  have  one  child, 
JAMES  E.,  and  live  one  mile  south  of 
Bates.  MARIA  N.,  born  Feb.  9,  1842, 
married  Wm.  H.  Sowell.  See  his  name. 
SAMUEL,  born  March  12,  1844,  en- 
listed Sept.,  i86i,in  Co.  B,  loth  111.  Cav., 
for  three  years.  He  was  wounded  in  the 
battle  of  Little  Rock,  Ark.,  from  which 
he  recovered,  but  died  of  disease  in  hospi- 
tal at  that  place,  Sept.,  1863.  .HARVEY 
G.  born  July  7,  1846,  lives  with  his 
mother.  AMARINE,  born  Nov.  7, 
1848,  married  Morris  Lee.  They  have 
two  children,  and  live  near  New  Berlin. 
ELIZABETH,  born  Sept.  2,  1856,  mar- 
ried James  M.  Williams,  who  was  a 
Union  soldier,  also.  They  have  two 
children,  and  live  in  Pleasant  Plains. 
Sidney  S.  Campbell  died  in  1874.  His 
widow  resides  at  Loarni. 

HAMILTON,  born  June  12,  1812,  in 
West  Virginia,  married  in  Sangamon 
county  to  Harriet  Riddle.  They  moved 
to  Oregon,  where  he  was  murdered. 

MART  E.  V.,  born  Oct.  4,  1814,  mar- 
ried Woodford  Turpin,  who  died  while  a 
soldier  in  the  Mexican  war,  leaving  two 
sons,  CHARLES  and  HAMILTON.  Mrs. 
Turpin  married  Walter  Nicholls  and  re- 
side near  Dundee,  Rice  county,  Minne- 
sota. 

JOHN  A.,  born  Sept.  30,  1816,  in 
Kanawha  county,  West  Va.,  came  with 


SANGAMOM  COUNTT. 


'75 


his  parents  to  Sangamon  county,  and  after 
spending  a  few  years  near  Loami,  came  to 
Springfield.  He  was  married  Oct.  4,  1838, 
to  Susan  C.  Short.  They  had  five  child- 
ren, four  of  whom  died  young.  MARI- 
ETTA, born  July  25,  1841,  in  Spring- 
field, 111.,  was  married  there,  Oct.  28, 
1860,  to  Daniel  Myers.  They  had  one 
child,  CAROLINE,  and  Mr.  Myers  died 
Oct.  30,  1863.  Mrs.  Myers  lives  with  her 
father,  in  St.  Louis.  Mrs.  Susan  C. 
Campbell  died  April  3,  1852,  and  John  A. 
Campbell  married  Mrs.  Elizabeth  Rusk, 
whose  maiden  name  was  Hawker.  She 
died,  and  he  married  Nov.  9,  1856,  to 
Elizabeth  T.  Rich.  They  have  one  liv- 
ing child,  CYRUS  W.,  and  reside,  at  921 
North  Tenth  Street,  St.  Louis,  Mo. 

CHARLES  /?.,  born  Nov.  17,  1821, 
in  West  Virginia,  married  in  Sangamon 
county  to  Mary  Gibson.  They  have  two 
children,  and  live  at  Oswego,  Labette 
county,  Kansas. 

WILLIAM  P.,  born  Nov.  24,  1826, 
married  Julia  Slater.  They  have  three 
children,  and  live  in  Springfield. 

NANCT  A.,  born  April  27,  1830, 
married  George  Underwood,  and  both 
died,  leaving  three  children  in  Buchanan 
county,  near  St.  Joseph,  Mo. 

Robert  Campbell  died  Dec.  10,  1845, 
and  his  widow  died  Jan.  26,  1862,  both  in 
Loami  township. 

CAMPBELL,  THOMAS,  was 
born  Oct.  31,  1786,  in  Yorkville  District, 
South  Carolina.  His  father,  James  Camp- 
bell, was  born  in  county  Antrim,  Ireland, 
and  emigrated  to  South  Carolina.  Thos. 
Campbell  went,  in  1807,  to  visit  his  bro- 
ther David,  in  Caldwell  county,  Ky.  He 
was  married  in  that  county,  March  22, 
1810,  to  Elizabeth  Robinson,  a  sister  to 
Edward  Robinson.  See  his  name.  She 
was  born  May  3,  1788,  in  Nelson  county, 
Ky.  Her  father,  George  Robinson,  was 
born  in  Bucks  county,  Pa.,  married  in 
Maryland,  to  Elizabeth  Griffith,  moved  to 
Loudon  county,  Va.,  and  from  there  to 
Nelson  county,  Ky.  Thomas  and  Eliza- 
beth Campbell  had  eight  children  in  Ken- 
tucky. He  moved  with  his  familv  to 
Sangamon  county,  111.,  arriving  about 
Nov.  10,  1823.  The  first  land  sales  took 
place  in  Springfield  on  the  sixth  of  that 
month,  and  a  few  days  later  he  entered 
some  land  south  of  Little  Spring  creek, 
and  there  made  a  home  for  his  family.  It 


is  now  in  Island  Grove  township,  three 
miles  northeast  of  Bates,  where  they  had 
four  children.  Of  their  twelve  children — 
JAMES  R.  was  born  March  4,  1812, 
in  Caldwell  county,  Ky.  He  enlisted  in 
a  Sangamon  county  Light  Horse  Co.  in 
the  spring  of  1831,  for  the  Black  Hawk 
war:  served  three  months,  enlisted  in 
another  Sangamon  county  company,  in 
1832,  was  in  the  battle  of  Wisconsin,  and 
served  until  the  surrender  of  the  Indian 
chief,  Black  Hawk.  Mr.  Campbell  en- 
listed at  Galena  in  Co.  K,  ist  111.  Inf.,  in 
1846,  for  one  year.  He  was  in  the  battle 
of  Buena  Vista,  Mexico,  Feb.  22,  1847, 
in  which  Col.  J.  J.  Hardin  was  killed. 
J.  R.  Campbell  never  married,  and  resides 
at  the  family  homestead  near  Bates. 

MARGARET  A.,  born  Nov.  8,  1813, 
in  Kentucky,  married  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, to  Allen  Short.  See  his  name.  They 
had  three  children,  and  she  died  Sept.  23, 


J.,  born  July  18,  1815,  in 
Kentucky,  married  in  Sangamon  county 
to  Pinckney  Hughes.  They  had  four 
children.  MARY  E.  married  Thomas 
Baker,  and  lives  at  Nilwood.  THOMAS 
P.  married  Amanda  Ross,  and  lives  at 
Nilwood.  ANNIE  and  NETTIE  live 
with  their  mother.  Mr.  Hughes  died  in 
1860,  and  his  widow  resides  at  Nilwood, 
Macoupin  county,  111. 

NARCISSA  D.,  born  Dec.  9,  1816, 
is  unmarried,  and  resides  at  the  family 
homestead,  near  Bates. 

DOROTHY  M.,  and  POLLY  M., 
twins,  born  Oct.  9,  1818,  in  Kentucky. 

DOROTHT  J/.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  to  Benj.  T.  Renshaw,  moved 
to  Iowa,  and  had  three  children,  ELIZA- 
BETH L.,  MORGAN  and  ELIJAH  C. 
Mr.  Renshaw  was  a  soldier  in  an  Iowa 
regiment,  and  died  in  St.  Louis.  His 
family  live  near  Clio,  Wayne  county, 
Iowa. 

POLL!'  .]/.,  married  in  Sangamon 
county  to  Robert  Wiggins.  They  have 
one  child,  CHARLES,  and  live  near 
Nilwood,  111. 

WILLIAM  />'.,  born  Jan.  28,  1821,  in 
Kentucky,  married  Oct.  n,  1849,  to 
Sarah  L.  Dunbar,  who  was  born  June  I, 
1825.  Thev  have  five  living  children, 
CHARLES  V.,  MINNIE  A.  and 
WALTER  L.,  (twins),  VELMA  A. 


EARLT  SETTLERS  OF 


and  WILLIAM  LINCOLN,  and  live 
near  Oskaloosa,  Iowa. 

EDWARD  DODDS,  born  May  29, 
1825,  in  Sangamon  county,  married  Eliza 
Baldwin.  They  have  two  children, 
ELIZABETH  and  CHARLES  J.,  and 
reside  near  Hutchins,  Dallas  county, 
Texas. 

JULIETTE,  born  June  13,  1827,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Solomon 
Brundage,  moved  to  Texas,  and  died  in 
time  of  the  rebellion. 

JOHN B.,  born  Oct.  26,  1829,  in  San- 
gamon county,  went  to  Oregon,  about 
1853,  and  from  there  to  California.  Last 
heard  from  in  1867,  at  Petalouma,  Cal. 

THOMAS,  Jun.,  born  Nov.  2,  1834, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  Sarah  A. 
Selby.  They  have  one  child,  THOMAS 
H.,  and  reside  near  Hutchins,  Texas. 

Thomas  Campbell  was  licensed  to 
preach  the  gospel  in  1818,  by  Logan 
Presbytery,  of  the  Cumb.  Presb.  church, 
in  Kentucky,  and  was  ordained  after  com- 
ing to  Illinois.  He  preached  at  Irish 
Grove,  Menard  county,  to  the  church  on 
Sugar  creek,  Sangamon  county,  and 
preached  in  his  own  neighborhood  as  long 
as  he  lived.  Rev.  Thomas  Campbell  died 
May  11,  1850,  at  the  place  where  he  set- 
tled in  1823,  and  his  widow  died  there  in 
Feb.,  1876. 

CAMPBELL  THOMAS  H., 
was  born  May  21,  1815,  in  Pennsylvania, 
came  to  Henderson  county,  111.,  from 
there  to  Chester,  in  Randolph  county, 
thence  to  Springfield.  He  came  by  the 
invitation  of  his  old  friend,  Gen.  James 
Shields,  to  discharge  the  duties  of  his 
office,  Gen.  Shields  being  then  Aditor  of 
State.  Mr.  Campbell  was  married  Oct. 
21,  1845,  in  Jacksonville,  111.,  to  Catharine 
E.  McDougall,  a  native  of  New  York, 
and  sister  of  the  Hon.  James  A.  McDou- 
gall, late  U.  S.  Senator  from  California. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Campbell  had  four  children 
in  Springfield,  namely — 

JEANE7^TE,  born  Feb.  18,  1847, 
and  died  Feb.  16,  1862. 

THOMAS  H.,  born  Dec.  i,  1849,  in 
Sangamon  county,  is  a  lawyer,  and  resides 
in  Springfield. 

JAMES  W.,  born  Dec.  29,  1851,  in 
Springfield,  is  a  farmer,  and  lives  with  his 
mother. 


TREAT,  born  Jan.  23,  1855,  in 
Springfield,  is  a  student,  and  lives  with 
his  mother. 

Mr.  Campbell  continued  in  the  auditor's 
office  until  the  expiration  of  Mr.  Shield's 
term,  and  the  election  of  Gen.  W.  L.  D. 
Ewing,  who  died  in  1846.  Mr.  C.  was 
appointed  to  fill  the  unexpired  term.  He 
was  elected  to  the  same  office  in  1848,  and 
again  in  1852,  thus  serving  in  the  State 
Auditor's  office  nearly  twenty  years,  be- 
ing the  chief  officer  ten  years  of  that 
time.  Mr.  Campbell  was  appointed  by 
Gov.  Yac  :s,  special  commissioner  to  audit 
accounts  between  the  U.  S.  Government 
and  the  State  of  Illinois,  in  which  work 
he  was  engaged  at  the  time  of  his  death, 
Nov.  22,  1862.  His  widow  resides  east 
side  of  Second,  near  Edwards  street, 
Springfield,  111. 

CANFIELD,  JOHN  E.,  was 
born  Jan.  12,  1802,  in  Morristown,  N.  J. 
He  came  to  Sangamon  county  in  1831,  re- 
turned to  New  Jersey,  and  was  married  in 
New  York  City,  April  14,  1834,  to  Susan 
LaTourette,  who  was  born  Feb.  21,  1806, 
at  Somerville,  Somerset  county,  New 
Jersey.  In  May,  1834,  they  came  to  Illi- 
nois, and  settled  west  of  Springfield,  in 
what  is  now  Curran  township.  They 
had  five  children,  one  of  whom  died  in 
infancy.  Of  the  other  four — 

DANIEL  L.,  born  August  29,  1838, 
in  Sangamon  county,  enlisted  April  23, 
1861,  for  three  months,  in  Co.  G,  7th  111. 
Inf.  He  was  commissioned  ist  Lieut,  at 
its  organization,  and  afterwards  appointed 
Quartermaster  of  the  regiment.  Served  . 
full  time,  re-enlisted  Nov.  25,  1861,  in  Co. 
I,  loth  111.  Cav.  He  was  appointed  ist 
Lieut.,  and  afterwards  made  Battalion 
Quartermaster.  That  office  was  abolished, 
and  he  was  mustered  out,  April  4,  1862, 
He  resumed  his  position  as  ist  Lieut,  of 
Co.  I,  and  died  May  7,  1863,  at  St.  Louis, 
of  disease  contracted  in  the  army. 

HELEN  M.,  born  Dec.  n,  1840,  in 
Sangamon  county,  was  married  in  June, 
1868,  in  Morristown,  N.  J.,  to  Thomas  H. 
Taylor,  a  son  of  the  Rector  of  Grace 
church,  New  York  City.  They  have  one 
child,  THOMAS  H.,  Jun.,  and  reside 
near  Plainfield,  N.  J. 

JOHN  C.,  born  Oct.  8,  1842,  in  San- 
gamon county,  was  married  Feb.  15,  1865, 
in  Springfield,  111.,  to  Ella  L.  Todd,  who 
was  born  August  27,  1846,  in  Lexington, 


SANGAMON  COUNTY. 


177 


Ky.  They  have  two  children,  ELLA  S. 
and  MAI  L.  Mr.  Canfield  has  been  a 
merchant  in  Springfield  for  the  last  seven- 
teen years,  where  he  and  his  family  re- 
side. 

JAMES  F.,  born  Nov.  4,  1844,  in 
Sangamon  county,  is  a  clerk  in  the  U.  S. 
Postofrice  department,  at  Washington, 
D.  C. 

Mrs.  Susan  Canfield  died  April  6,  1846, 
in  Springfield,  and  John  E.  Canfield  died 
Jan.  7,  1866,  in  Jacksonville,  111. 

John  E.  Canfield  was  one  of  the  original 
members  in  the  organization  of  St.  Paul's 
Episcopal  church,  in  Springfield,  and  con- 
tinued a  member  of  the  same  until '  his 
death. 

CANEDY  PELEG  C.,  son  of 
Capt.  Peleg  ana  Silence  Fobes  Canedy, 
was  born  August  25,  1803,  in  Enfield, 
Hampshire  county,  Mass.,  partly  raised  at 
Middlebury,  Vt.,  and  spent  most  of  his 
early  manhood  in  Washington  City,  where 
he  was  accustomed  to  see  Webster,  Clay, 
Calhoun,  and  their  comp'eers.  There  he 
also  saw  for  the  last  time,  his  brother, 
Lieut.  Philander  F.  Canedy,  of  the  U.  S. 
Navy,  who,  after  having  done  important 
service  in  the  harbor  of  Charleston,  S.  C., 
during  the  nullification  excitement,  and 
acted  as  sailing  master  of  the  sloop  of 
war  Florida,  died  Jan.  2,  1834,  at  Pensa- 
cola,  Flcrida.  Mr.  P  .  C.  Canedy  visited 
New  Orleans,  Nachitoches  and  St.  Louis, 
at  the  latter  of  which  he  engaged  in  busi- 
ness for  a  time,  and  came  to  Springfield, 
111.,  in  Dec.,  1830,  just  in  time  for  the  "deep 
snow."  He  began  the  drug  business,  and 
still  later  added  books  to  his  stock.  This 
was  the  first  establishment  of  the  kind  in 
Springfield.  He  was  married  in  Morgan 
county,  Illinois,  August  8,  1838,  to  Sarah 
Camp,  who  was  born  Jan.,  1815,  in  Ver- 
mont. They  had  three  children — 

CHARLES  FOBES,  born  June-  4, 
1847,  *n  Springfield.  His  early  education 
was  received  in  the  preparatory  depart- 
ment of  Illinois  University,  and  at  the 
Central  High  School,  both  in  Springfield. 
His  preparation  for  college  was  continued 
by  his  private  tutor,  Rev.  John  F.  Brooks, 
of  same  city.  He  graduated  at  Yale  col- 
lege, July  22,  1869,  and  graduated  at  the 
General  Theological  Seminary,  New 
York  City,  June  27,  1873.  While  a  stu- 
dent he  had  charge,  as  lay  reader,  of  St. 
Mark's  church,  Baskingridge,  N.  J.  He 


was  ordained  Deacon  in  the  Protestant 
Episcopal  church,  by  Bishop  Potter,  of 
New  York,  June  29,  1873.  He  was  or- 
dained Priest  by  the  aforesaid  prelate, 
Nov.  23,  1873,  and  Yale  college  conferred 
the  degree  of  Master  of  Arts  on  him, 
June  25,  1874.  Rev.  C.  F.  Canedy  is  un- 
married, and  Rector  of  St.  John's  church, 
Monticello,  N.  Y. 

GEORGE  />.died  in  his  third  year. 

MART  P.,  born  March  31,  1852,  in 
Springfield,  was  partially  educated  there, 
but  finished  her  education  at  the  Chegaray 
Institute,  Philadelphia,  and  St.  Mary's 
school,  New  York  City.  She  resides 
with  her  brother,  the  Rev.  C.  F.  Canedy, 
at  Monticello. 

Mrs.  Sarah  Canedy  died  Jan.  12,  1855, 
in  Springfield.  P.  C.  Canedy  was  for 
many  years  deacon  and  trustee  in  the 
second  Presbyterian  church,  Springfield, 
111.,  and  before  the  latter  place  adopted  a 
city  government,  was  member  and  Presi- 
dent of  the  Board  of  Town  Trustees.  He 
was  also  one  of  the  committee  to  receive 
President  Lincoln's  remains.  He  has 
always  been  active  and  energetic  in  every 
undertaking  which  had  in  view  the  wel- 
fare and  happiness  of  his  fellow  citizens. 
A  local  paper  of  March,  1863,  speaks  of 
him  as  an  example  of  uprightness  and 
integrity.  Mr.  Canedy  travels  much,  and 
is  often  at  Springfield,  but  considers  his 
son's  house  his  home.  He  is  now,  March, 
1876,  in  Springfield. 

CANTERBURY,  ASA,  was 
born  March  7,  1788,  in  Virginia.  His 
father  died  when  he  was  a  child,  and  his 
mother  moved  to  Bath  county,  Ky.  He 
was  married  to  Peggy  Hornback,  who 
was  born  Feb.  6,  1791.  She  lived  in 
Fleming  county,  on  the  opposite  side  of 
Licking  river.  There  being  opposition 
to  their  marriage,  they  went  to  Aberdeen, 
O.,  and  were  there  married.  It  could 
there  be  solemnized  on  short  notice,  as  no 
license  was  required  by  the  laws  of  Ohio 
at  that  time,  and  runaway  wedding  parties 
from  Kentucky  were  quite  popular.  They 
had  four  children  in  Bath  county,  and 
moved  to  the  Fleming  side  of  Licking 
river,  where  they  had  three.  The  family 
moved  to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  arriving 
in  the  fall  of  1826,  in  what  is  now  Fancy 
creek  township,  where  they  had  four 
children.  Of  their  eleven  children — 


178 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


JSAAC,born  in  1810,  in  Bath  county, 
Ky.,  married  in  Sangamon  county,  July, 
1830,  to  Elizabeth  Morgan.  They,  with 
four  other  families,  moved,  in  1832,10  Des- 
Moines  county,  Iowa,  crossing  the  Missis- 
sippi river  at  Flint  Hills,  now  Burlington. 
They  were  said  to  be  the  first  white  fam- 
ilies that  ever  moved  into  Iow;i.  They 
had  six  children,  and  Isaac  Canterbury 
died  there  in  1848.  His  widow  and  child- 
ren still  live  in  DesMoines  county,  Iowa. 

MARIA,  born  in  1812, in  Bath  county, 
Ky.,  married  in  Sangamon  county,  May 
14,  1829,  to  William  Primm.  See  his 
name. 

CARLISLE  H.,  born  Dec.  5,  1814, 
in  Bath  county,  Ky.,  married,  August  n, 
1836,  to  Emily  Morgan,  who  was  born  in 
Sangamon  county.  They  had  thirteen 
children,  four  of  whom  died  under  six 
years.  Of  the  other  nine:  ASA  mar- 
ried Margaret  England,  and  lives  in  Ford 
county.  SARAH  married  William 
Fuquay,  and  lives  in  Ford  county. 
WILLIAM  M.  enlisted  August,  1861, 
for  three  years,  in  Co.  F,  28th  '111.  Inf. 
He  was  sick  when  he  left  Camp  Butler, 
and  died  at  Camp  Holt,  Ky.,  Nov.  7, 
1861.  RUTH  A.  married  Wm.  H.  H. 
Holland.  See  his  name.  OLIVER  P., 
JOHN  C.,  CARLISLE  N.,  LINCOLN 
G.  and  LAURA  E.  live  with  their  pa- 
rents, in  Menard  county,  two  and  a  half 
miles  west  of  Cantrall. 

VALENTINE,  born  in  1816,  in  Bath 
county,  Ky.,  died  in  Sangamon  county, 
aged  seventeen  years. 

JOHN  I7.,  born  August  27,  1820,  in 
Fleming  county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  Feb.  22,  1842,  to  Miranda  M. 
Brittin.  They  had  six  children.  JOHN 
B.,  born  March  24,  1843,  died  March  19, 
1864.  ASA  M.  married  April  19,  1866, 
to  Lucinda  Fisk.  They  had  five  children; 
three  died  in  infancy.  The  other  two, 
MATTIE  E.  and  ELLIS,  live  with  their  pa- 
rents, at  Cantrall.  MARY  J.  married 
John  J.  Stevens.  They  have  three  child- 
ren, CHARLES  A.,  JOHN  E.  and  FRANK  E., 

and  reside  at  Cantrall.  MARGA.RET 
A.  married  Joseph  S.  Cantrall.  See  his 
name.  EVANS  E.  resides  with  his 
father.  WM.  H.  died  in  infancy.  Mrs. 
Mhranda  M.  Canterbury  died  Sept.  22, 
1853,  and  Mr.  C.  married  Sept.  24,  1854, 
to  Harriet  E.  Purkins,  of  Menard  county. 
They  live  near  Cantrall.  John  F.  Can- 


terbury raised  a  good  crop  of  wheat  in 
1842.  He  hauled  sixty-five  bushels  of  it 
to  St.  Louis,  one  hundred  miles,  and  sold 
it  for  thirty-seven  and  a  half  cents  per 
bushel.  He  drove  three  yoke  of  oxen, 
was  twelve  days,  and  his  total  receipts 
were  $24.371^." 

ELIZA  J.,  born  in  Fleming  county, 
Ky.,  married  in  Sangamon  county,  to 
William  Cline.  See  his  name. 

OLIVER  P.,  born  July  21,  1824,  in 
Fleming  county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county  to  Elizabeth  Council.  They 
have  nine  children.  MARY  E.  resides 
with  her  parents.  MARGARET  J. 
married  William  Vandergrift.  He  served 
three  years  in  an  Illinois  regiment  in  aiding 
to  suppress  the  slaveholders'  rebellion. 
They  live  in  Fancy  creek  township. 
MARIA  F.,  MELISSA  M.JOHN  H., 
ANNIE  F.,  JULIA  E.,  WILLIAM  R. 
and  NELLIE  E.  live  with  their  parents, 
in  Menard  county,  two  and  a  half  miles 
southwest  of  Cantrall. 

MARTHA  A.,  born  in  1827,  in  San- 
gamon county,  married  Elijah  Brittin. 
See  his  name.  He  died  March  5,  1873, 
in  Iowa. 

MARGARE7\  born  about  1829,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Stephen  Eng- 
land. See  his  name. 

ABRAHAM,\>v\v\  in  1831,511  Sanga- 
mon county,  died  aged  twelve  years. 

JULIA  A.,  born  about  1834,111  San- 
gamon county,  married  Agustus  J.  Bron- 
son,  and  reside  in  Menard  county,  six 
miles  northwest  of  Williamsville.  Mr.  B. 
enlisted  August,  1862,  in  Co.  C,  114  111. 
Inf.  for  three  years.  He  was  a  hospital 
steward  from  1863,  served  more  than  full 
term,  and  was  honorably  discharged  in 
1865. 

Asa  Canterbury  died  Oct.  16,  1856,  and 
his  widow  died  July  8,  1857. 

CANTRALL.— The  origin  of  the 
family  in  America  was  with  Zebulon  Can- 
trail,  who  came  from  Wales,  and  settled 
in  Philadelphia,  Penn.,  about  the  year 
1700.  There  is  a  tradition  in  the  family 
that  he  built  the  first  brick  house  ever 
erected  in  that  city.  Zebulon  Cantrall 
had  a  son,  Joseph.  He  had  a  son,  Joshua, 
who  was  born  August  8,  1748,  either  in 
Pennsylvania  or  Virginia,  most  probably 
the  latter.  He  was  a  soldier  in  the  war 
for  American  Independence.  This  Joshua 
Cantrall  married  and  had  nine  sons,  but 


SANG  AM  ON  COUNTT. 


179 


no  daughter.  Four  of  his  sons  died  with- 
out families.  Of  the  other  five,  Joshua, 
horn  in  Virginia,  raised  a  family,  and  died 
August  11,  1840,  in  DeWitt  county,  111. 
The  other  four,  Zehulon  G.,  William  G., 
Levi  and  Wyatt,  are  the  suhjects  of  the 
following  sketches. 

CANTRALL,ZEBULON  G. 
was  born  June  29,  1773,  in  Botetourt 
county,  Virginia.  He  was  a  brother  of 
Joshua,  William  G.,  Levi  and  Wyatt. 
The  family  moved  in  1789,  to  Bath  coun- 
ty, Kv.  Zebulon  G.  was  married  there, 
August  31,  1797,  to  Sarah  McCallum. 
They  moved  to  Clarke  county,  Ohio, 
from  there  to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  ar- 
riving in  the  fall  of  1833.  In  the  spring 
of  1834  they  moved  to  DeWitt  county, 
111.  They  had  fourteen  children;  two 
died  young.  Of  the  twelve — 

ANN,  born  August  31,  1798,  in  Bath 
county,  Ky.,  married  John  Branson.  See 
his  name.  She  died  May  16,  1822. 

JOSHUA,\yovn  April  3, 1802,  in  Ken- 
tucky, was  married  in  1828,  in  Butler 
county,  Ohio,  to  Eliza  Scott.  He  died 
Oct.  12,  1860,  in  DeWitt  county,  and  Mrs. 
C.  resides  with  her  daughter,  SARAH, 
the  wife  of  Irvin  Daniels,  near  Warrens- 
ville,  111.  Her  son,  John  S.,  lives  in 
Kansas. 

AGNES  M.,  born  Sept.  12,  1806,  in 
Kentucky,  married  John  Mclntire.  She 
is  a  widow,  and  resides  with  her  brother 
William. 

JOHN  J/.,  born  Feb.  22,  1808,  in 
Kentucky,  was  married  in  Champaign 
county,  Ohio,  Nov.  13,  1830,  to  Joanna 
M.  Jones.  They  had  eleven  children;  two 
died  in  infancv.  Of  the  nine  children: 
WILLIAM  J.,  ZEBULON  D.,  ELIZA- 
BETH, IRA  J.,  MARY  A.,  (the  latter 
died  in  Nov.,  1875.)  MILES  T.,  ALMA 
J.,  EFFIE  and  JOHN  C.,  the  latter  died 
in  the  spring  of  1872.  John  M.  Cantrall 
died  Feb.  n,  1863,  and  his  widow  died 
Sept.,  1870,  both  in  DeWitt  county,  111. 

JAMES  M.,  born  April  10,  1810,  in 
Kentuckv,  was  married  August  9,  1832, 
to  Eliza  McLaughlin.  They  had  three 
daughters;  one  died  young.  ELMIRA 
married  Abner  J.  Lutz,  and  lives  near 
Lincoln,  111.  ELIZA  J.  married  Mr. 
Piatt,  and  lives  in  Lincoln.  James  M. 
Cantrall  died  April  27,  1866,  and  his 
widow  lives  in  Lincoln,  111. 


SARAH,  born  March  14,  1812,  in 
Clarke  county,  Ohio,  was  married  in  San- 
gamon county,  111.,  Jan.  14,  1834,  to 
Joshua  M.  Cantrall.  See  his  name. 

ZEBULON  P.,  born  Jan.  17,  1814, 
in  Clark  county,  Ohio,  was  married  in 
what  is  now  Logan  county,  111.,  Oct.  16, 
1838,10  Elizabeth  Paulk.  They  had  six 
children;  two  died  young.  AMOS  A., 
born  May  n,  1845,  in  Logan  county,  en- 
listed Sept.,  1861,  in  Co.  L,  4th  Ill.'Cav. 
Served  until  June,  1866,  when  he  was 
honorably  discharged.  He  lives  near 
Cisco,  Piatt  county.  MARTHA  J.,  born 
Oct.  3,  1842,  was  married  June  9,  1862,  to 
Samuel  Mott.  They  have  six  children, 
GEORGE  A.,  SARAH  E.,  LEWIS 
A.JAMES  A.,  EFFIE  C.  and  ALVA, 
and  live  near  Argenta,  Macon  county,  111. 
SARAH  A.,  born  Dec.  25,  1844,  was 
married  March  23,  1871,  to  Theodore  A. 
Funk.  She  died  April  30,  1872.  MARY 
E.,  born  Jan.  8,  1848,  was  married  Jan. 
12,  1871,  to  Edwin  C.  Hunsley.  They 
have  two  children,  LAURA  A.  and  INEZ, 
and  live  near  Cisco,  111.  Mrs.  Elizabeth 
Cantrall  died  June  12,  1852,  and  Z.  P. 
Cantrall  was  married  to  Mrs.  Rachel 
Doyle.  She  died  Oct.,  1865,  and  Z.  P. 
Cantrall  was  married  March  14,  1872,  to 
Mrs.  Mary  Harp,  whose  maiden  name 
was  Everly.  They  reside  near  Chesnut, 
Logan  county,  111. 

ELIZA,  born  July  4,  1816,  in  Clark 
county,  Ohio,  was  married  Oct.  5,  1834, 
to  Jeremiah  Duncan.  She  died  Jan.  29, 
1854,  leaving  seven  children.  MARY 
L.,  HELEN  A.,  the  latter  born  in  1840, 
in  Logan  county,  was  married  to  George 
Whiteman.  They  live  at  Waynesville, 
111.  AMY  L.  married  Mr.  Condell,  and 
he  died.  WILLIAM  W.  married  Rox- 
anna  Cushman.  They  had  two  children. 
REBECCA  S.  married  Mortimer  Samp- 
son. They  have  one  child,  and  live  in 
Waynesville.  JEREMIAH  P.  livc-s  in 
Waynesville. 

REBECCA  and  RACHEL,  twins, 
born  July  25, 1818,  in  Ohio.  REBECCA 
married  in  June,  1836,  to  Jacob  F.  Samp- 
son. They  had  three  children.  Mrs.  S. 
died  March  24,  1849.  The  children  live 
in  Kansas. 

RA  CHEL  was  married  in  1842  to  Chas. 
Graves,  and  resides  with  her  daughter, 
FANNIE  Storer,  near  Plum  Grove, 


i8o 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


Butler   county,  Kansas.     Her   son,  John 
W.  Graves,  resides  at  Centralia,  111. 

WTA  TT,  born  May  1 1,  1821,  in  Ohio, 
married  Louisa  Stevens.  She  died,  and  he 
married  Mary  A.  Day.  He  died  Jan.  7, 
1875,  leaving  a  widow  near  Lane,  Frank- 
lin county,  Kansas. 

WILLIAM  L.,  born  May  15,  1823, 
in  Ohio,  was  married  Oct.  26,  1843,  to 
Melinda  Stout.  They  had  eight  children. 
ANN,  born  in  1844,  was  married  in  De- 
Witt  county  to  Joel  Hopesberger.  They 
have  four  children,  and  live  near  Ken- 
ney  station.  EMELINE,  born  in  1846, 
married  Thomas  Watson.  They  have 
three  children,  and  live  near  Kenney 
Station.  JOHN  K.,  JESSE,  WIL- 
LIAM and  ADDIE.  Mrs.  Melinda 
Cantrall  died  March  10,  1864,  and  W.  L. 
Cantrall  was  married  in  1865  to  Christine 
Everly,  and  lives  near  Chesnut,  Logan 
county,  111. 

Mrs.  Sarah  Cantrall  died  May  26, 1843, 
and  Zebulon  G.  Cantrall  died  Sept.  11, 
1845,  both  in  DeWitt  county,  near 
Waynesville. 

CANTRALL,  WM.  G.,  was 
born  Sept.  6,  1784,  in  Botetourt,  Va.  His 
parents  moved  to  Bath  county,  Ky.,  in 
1789.  He  was  there  married,  in  1804,  to 
Deborah  Mitts,  who  was  born  Nov.  16, 
1785,  in  Virginia.  Soon  after  marriage 
they  moved  from  Bath  county  to  the  vi- 
cinity of  New  London,  Huron  county, 
O.,  and  then  moved  to  Pickaway  county. 
They  had  ten  children  in  Ohio,  and  the 
family  moved  to  Sangamon  county,  111., 
arriving  Nov.  i,  1824,  in  what  is  now 
Fancy  creek  township,  on  what  was  then 
called  Higgins  creek,  but  now  called  Can- 
trail's  creek.  Two  children  were  born  in 
Sangamon  county.  Of  all  their  children — 

DOROTHT,  born  March  15,  1805,  in 
Ohio,  married  iri  Sangamon  county  to 
Charles  Snelson.  They  had  seven  child- 
ren, moved  to  DesMoines  county,  near 
Burlington,  Iowa,  where  Mrs.  Snelson 
died.  The  family  live  there. 

ANN,  born  Aug.  i^  1806,  in  Ohio,  mar- 
ried in  Sangamon  county  to  John  W. 
Snelson.  They  had  eight  children,  and 
moved  to  Keokuk  county,  Iowa,  where 
Mrs.  Snelson  died.  The  family  live  there. 

ELIZABETH,  born  Aug.  29,  1808, 
in  Ohio,  married  in  Sangamon  county  to 
Joseph  D.  Langston.  See  his  name. 


JOSHUA  M.,  born  Dec.  17,  1810,  in 
Pickaway  couaty,  O.,  was  married  in  San- 
gamon county,  Jan.  14,  1834,  to  Sarah 
Cantrall.  She  was  born  March  14,  1812, 
near  Urbana,  O.  They  had  eight  child- 
ren in  Sangamon  county;  six  died  under 
eight  years.  Of  the  other  four:  ZEBU- 
LAN  G.,  born  May  7,  1835,  married 
Elizabeth  J.  Lillv,  a  native  of  Augusta 
county,  Va.  They  have  six  children, 

MARY      A.,      MELISSA      E.,      ARMINTA    and 

AMELIA  (twins),  CELIA  j.  and  NOAH 
MATHENY,  and  live  in  Fancv  creek  town- 
ship. WILLIAM  G.,  Jun.,  born  Feb. 
20,  1837,  married  Mary  J.  Randall.  They 
have  four  living  children,  MARCUS  x., 
SARAH  M.,  MARY  L.  and  LOUISA  M.,  and 
live  in  Fancy  creek  township.  JACOB 
M.,  born  Dec.  25,  1841,  married  Marian 
J.  Tufts.,  who  was  born  near  Buffalo,  N. 
Y.  They  have  one  child,  ADDIE  E.,  and 
reside  in  Fancy  creek  township.  MAHA- 
LA  E.,  born  Oct.  4,  1845,  married  Oct. 
9,  1873,  to  George  W.  Bailey,  being  his 
second  wife.  He  was  born  in  Hawkins 
county,  Tenn.  He  was  a  soldier  in  the 
5th  Tenn.  Inf.  in  the  Mexican  war,  in 
1846  and  '7;  came  from  Mexico  to  San- 
gamon county  in  1848.  He  enlisted  in 
1862  for  three  years,  in  Co.  H,  114111. 
Inf.;  was  commissioned  as  Captain  at  the 
organization  of  the  regiment.  His  health 
failing,  he  resigned  in  May,  1863,  and 
lives  in  Salisbury  township.  Joshua  M. 
Cantrall  resides  in  Fancy  creek  township, 
eight  miles  north  of  Springfield. 

TH2RZA,  or  THERESA,  born 
Nov.  8,  1812,  in  Ohio,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  to  Edward  Guyott.  She 
died  Oct.  7,  1851,  three  months  after  mar- 
riage. He  married  again,  and  lives  in 
Springfield. 

ADAM  M.,  born  Feb.  27,  1815,  in 
Ohio,  married  in  Sangamon  countv  to 
Delilah  Smith.  They  had  nine  children. 
JEREMIAH  married  Etta  Drone,  and 
live  in  Fancy  creek  township.  HAR- 
RIET married  Wm.  Brisentine;  moved 
to  Dallas  county,  Texas,  in  1853.  She 
died  there,  leaving  one  child.  W  M.  L. 
BRISENTINE  lives  with  his  grand- 
uncle,  Joshua  M.  Cantrall.  See  his  name, 
Adam  Cantrall  and  his  wife  live  at  River- 
ton. 

DEBORAH,  born  Feb.  16,  1817,  in 
Ohio,  married  in  Sangamon  county  to 
Marshal  S.  Randall.  They  have  twelve 


SANGAMON    COUNTt. 


181 


children,  and  reside  near  Blue  Mound, 
Christian  county.  Their  daughter,  Mary 
J.,  married  Wm.  G.  Cantrall,  Jun.  See 
his  name. 

MAHALA,  born  Dec.  4,  1818,  in 
Ohio,  married  in  Sangamon  county  to 
Newton  Street.  She  died,  and  he  resides 
in  Montgomery  county. 

SUSANNAH,  born  Nov.  23,  1820,  in 
Ohio,  married  in  Sangamon  county  to 
Leonard  Mitts.  See  his  name. 

WILLIAM  M.,  born  Dec.  22,  1822, 
in  Ohio,  married  in  Sangamon  county  to 
Adaline  Claywell.  They  had  nine  child- 
ren; two  died  under  six  years.  JULIA 
A.  married  Leander  Jones,  have  three 
children,  and  reside  in  Salisbury  township. 
MIRANDA  married  Rollin  V.  Mallory. 
See  his  name.  JAMES  M.,  PERCY- 
DEBORAH  J.  is  a  cripple,  having  had 
eight  inches  of  bone  taken  from  one  ot 
her  lower  limbs  --  LEWIS  E.  and 
SARAH  E.  The  latter  is  a  deaf  mute, 
and  is  being  educated  at  the  State  Institu- 
tion at  Jacksonville.  The  five  unmarried 
reside  with  their  mother.  William  M. 
Cantrall  enlisted  July,  1862,  for  three 
years,  in  Co.  C,  114  111.  Inf.;  was  appoint- 
ed Sergeant  at  the  organization.  Disease 
was  brought  on  by  over-exertion  at  the 
battle  of  Guntown,  Miss.,  June  10,  1864, 
and  he  died  in  hospital  at  Memphis, 
Tenn.,  July  9,  1864.  His  widow  ancl  un- 
married children  live  in  Fancy  creek 
township,  eight  miles  north  of  Spring- 
field. 

MIRANDA  J.,  born  May  12,  1826, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  William 
Snelson.  They  had  one  child,  CHAS. 
H.  SNELSON,  and  William  S.  died 
March  9,  1853.  His  widow  was  married 
March  4,  1858,  to  Samuel  Mellinger,  who 
was  born  Jan.  27,  1832,  in  Franklin 
county,  Pa.  They  have  four  children, 

WILLIAM     C.,    MAHALA     A.,    DEBORAH     A. 

and  LUCY  E.,  live  with  their  parents  in 
Fancy  creek  township.  Mr.  Mellinger 
had  one  child  by  a  former  wife,  SAMUEL 
i.  He  lives  with  his  father.  Samuel 
Mellinger  enlisted  Aug.  12,  1862,  in  Co. 
C,  114  111.  Inf.,  for  three  years;  served  full 
term,  and  was  honorablv  discharged  Aug. 
3,  1865. 

ANDRE  W  y.,  born  Jan.  4,  1829,  in 
Sangamon  county,  died  March  15,  1842. 

Mrs.  Deborah  Cantrall  died  March  15, 
1856,  and  William  G.  Cantrall,  Sen.,  died 


March  6,  1867,  on  the  farm  settled  by 
them  in  1824,  in  Fancy  creek  township. 

CANTRALL,  LEVI,  was  born 
Oct.  i,  1787,  in  Botetourt  county,  Va.  He 
was  taken  by  his  parents  in  1789  to  that 
part  of  Mercer  which  afterwards  became 
Bath  county,  Ky.  He  was  there  married 
Nov.  30,  1809,  to  Fanny  England.  They 
had  one  child  in  Kentucky,  and  the  family 
moved,  in  1811,  to  Madison  county,  O., 
where  five  children  were  born.  They 
then  moved  to  Madison  county,  111.,  in 
Oct.,  1819;  moved  on  and  arrived  where 
Springfield  no-v  stands,  Dec.  4,  1819,  and 
reached  the  north  side  of  the  river,  in 
what  is  now  Fancy  Creek  township,  on 
the  fifth,  made  the  selection  of  a  location 
on  the  seventh,  and  commenced  building 
a  cabin  Dec.  8,  1819.  They  had  seven 
children  in  Sangamon  county.  Of  their 
thirteen  children — 

THOMAS,  born  Oct.  1 1, 1810,  in  Bath 
county,  Ky.,  married  Oct.  3,  1831,  in  San- 
gamon county,  to  Priscilla  D.  McLemore, 
who  was  born  Sept.  14,  1814,  in  Tennes- 
see. They  had  nine  children,  namely: 
CLARISSA,  born  Jan.  20,  1833,  unmar- 
ried, and  resides  at  the  house  of  H.  H. 
Holland.  TURNER  H.,  born  May  9, 
1834,  last  heard  from  in  Alabama. 
YOUNG  M.,born  April  30, 1836,  married, 
1 86 1,  to  Ellen  Graham;  had  one  child, 
THOMAS  E.,  and  Y.  M.  Cantrall  enlisted 
in  1862  for  three  years,  in  Co.  C,  114  111. 
Inf.,  and  died  in  the  army.  His  widow 
and  son  reside  in  Athens.  LEVI,  born 
July  1 6,  1838,  died,  aged  nineteen. 
NANCY  A.,  born  March  25,  1840,  mar- 
ried Egbert  Mallory.  See  his  name. 
THOMAS  J.,  born  Dec.  21,  1842,  served 
three  years  in  the  loth  111.  Cav.,  was  hon- 
orably discharged,  and  lives  in  Nebraska. 
FANNY  P.,  born  March  2,  1843,  mar- 
ried James  D.  Mallory.  See  his  name. 
MARY  E.,  born  Dec.  8,  1844,18  a  teacher 
in  Springfield.  Mrs.  Priscilla  D.  Cantrall 
died,  and  Thomas  C.  married  June  12, 

1848,  to  Elizabeth  Estel.      They  had  four 
children.      MARTHA  E.,  born  June  12, 

1849,  married  and  died   in   Logan  county. 
ROBERT  H.,  born  July  16,  1851,  mar- 
ried Miss  GofF,  has  one   child,  and  resides 
near    Athens.       WILLIAM    M.,    born 
April  16,  1853,  and  CHARLES  H.,  born 
Dec.   29,   1855,  reside   with  their  mother. 
Thomas  Cantrall  lost  his  life  by   a  run- 
away team  dragging  a  saw-log  over  him, 


lS2 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


in  1858.  His  widow  and  unmarried 
children  reside  near  Athens. 

ANN,  born  July  17,  1812  in  Madison 
county,  O.,  married  in  Sangamon  county 
to  Edward  Ridgeway.  They  had  three 
children,  and  Mr.  R.  died  in  1834.  His 
widow  married  F'erdinand  Meeker,  and 
had  several  children.  She  died  in  Logan 
county.  Her  daughter,  NANCY 
RIDGEWAY,  married  James  Milam, 
and  resides  in  Buffalo  Hart,  111.  Her 
daughter,  DULCIXA  MEEKER,  married 
Jeremiah  Lashbaugh,  and  resides  in  Illi- 
opolis  township. 

NANCT,  born  Sept.  15,  1813,  in  Madi- 
son county,  O.,  married  in  Sangamon 
county  to  Turner  Holland.  See  his  name. 

STEPHEN  L.,  born  April  4,  1815, 
in  Madison  county,  O.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county  to  Mary  Ridgeway.  They 
had  three  children.  FANNY  married 
George  Provines,  has  seven  children,  and 
reside  near  Clinton.  ALMYRA  mar- 
ried Samuel  Mellinger,  and  died,  leaving 
one  child.  Samuel  Mellinger  married 
Mrs.  Miranda  Snelson,  whose  maiden 
hame  was  Cantrall.  GEORGE  W.  en- 
listed Aug.,  1862,  for  three  years,  in  Co.  I, 
114  111.  Inf.,  and  died  in  the  army.  Mrs. 
Mary  Cantrall  died  in  Buffalo  Hart  grove, 
and  Stephen  L.  Cantrall  died  in  1874,  at 
the  house  of  his  brother  Joshua. 

SELINDA,  born  Nov.  14,  1816,  in 
Ohio,  died  in  Sangamon  county,  at  twelve 
or  thirteen  years  of  age. 

ELEANOR,  born  Oct.  17,  1818,  in 
Ohio,  married  in  Sangamon  county  to 
John  Jordan,  and  resides  near  Olathe, 
Kan. 

ELIZABETH,  born  May  26,  1820, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  James  Dris- 
kell.  Mrs.  Driskell  died.  One  son, 
DAVID,  enlisted  in  Co.  C,  1 14,  111.  Inf., 
in  Aug.,  1862,  for  three  years,  and  died  at 
home  of  disease  contracted  in  the  army. 
Another  son,  LEVI,  resides  in  Menard 
county. 

LE  VI,  Jr.,  born  March  17,  1822,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  to  Elizabeth 
C.  King,  who  was  born  July  n,  1828,  in 
Tennessee.  They  had  four  children. 
JASPER  H.,  born  March  23,  1847,  mar- 
ried  Sarah  E.  Wagner,  has  three  children, 
WILLIAM  H.,  BERTRAM  and  JOSEPH,  and 
resides  near  Paxton.  WILLIAM  M., 
born  March  i,  1849,  married  Minnie 
Wells,  has.  two  children,  ALVIN  N.  and 


WILLIAM  v.,  and  resides  near  Illiopolis. 
MARY  E.  married  Sept.  2,  1874,  to  Ben- 
jamin F.  Warren,  has  one  child,  HARRY 
N.,  and  resides  near  Illiopolis.  ALFRED 
N.  resides  with  his  mother.  Levi  Can- 
trall, Jr.,  died  March  14,  1868,  and  his 
widow  married  Sept.  2,  1874,  to  Enoch 
Primm. 

RA  CHEL,  born  Feb.  29,  1824,  in  San- 
gamon county,  married  John  Overstreet. 
See  his  name. 

CHARLES  S.,  born  Jan.  6,  1826,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Jan.  7,  1845, 
to  Emily  M.  Vandergrift,  who  was  born 
Oct.  6,  1830.  They  had  two  children. 
MARY  E.,  born  June  13,  1848,  married 
Jan.  25,  1866,  to  Stephen  O.  Price,  has 
two  children,  and  resides  near  Lincoln. 
MACDONALD,  born  Aug.  22,  .1851, 
married  Aug.  4,  1870,  to  Margaret  Peden, 
has  two  children,  and  resides  in  Spring- 
field. Mrs.  Emily  M.  Cantrall  died  Jan. 
29,  1852,  and  C.  S.  Cantrall  married  June 
20,  1852,  to  Lucy  Swearengin,  who  was 
born  Oct.  15,  1828.  She  died  April  14, 
1853.  C.  S.  Cantrall  married  April  26, 
1855,  to  Harriet  A.  Graham,  who  was 
born  Feb.  17,  1836,  in  Athens.  They 
have  nine  children,  CHARLES  H., 
THOMAS  D.,  ALICE,  JOHN  W,, 
LEVI  G.,  WILLIAM  H.,  FANNY  A., 
HOMER  E.  and  IDA.  Charles  S.  Can- 
trall had  one  leg  amputated,  caused  by 
disease.  It  was  done  in  Sept.,  1871.  He 
resides  two  miles  west  of  Illiopolis. 

JOSHUA,  born  July  28,  1828,  in  San- 
gamon county,  married  Rebecca  Hedrick. 
They  had  thirteen  children;  three  died  in 
infancy.  Of  the  other  ten,  LAFAY- 
ETTE was  married  July  23,  1874,  to 
Gussie  Chambers,  and  lives  in  Illiopolis 
township.  FANNIE  SELINDA  mar- 
ried Benjamin  Capps.  See  his  name. 
CARLISLE,  BARTON  R.JULIA  A., 
MACDONALD,  LAURA  E.,  CLARA 
P.,  LEVI  and  BENJAMIN,  and  reside 
one  and  a  half  miles  west  of  Illiopolis. 

JESSE,  born  April  7,  1830,  in  San- 
gamon county,  married  Eliza  J.  Humes. 
They  had  ten  children.  He  enlisted 
Aug.,  1862,  for  three  years,  in  Co.  C, 
ii4th  111.  Inf.  He  was  commissioned  2d 
Lieut,  at  the  organization,  promoted  to 
Captain,  and  served  as  such  to  the  end  of 
the  rebellion,  and  was  honorably  dis- 
charged. He  moved  with  nis  family  to 
Black  Bob,  Johnson  county,  Kansas. 


SANGAMON    COUNTY. 


'83 


MACDONALD,\>O™  April  5, 1833, 

in  Sangamon  county,  married  Narcissa 
Hedrick.  They  had  one  child,  and  Mr. 
Crantrall  died  Sept.  15,  1872.  His  widow 
and  son,  CHARLES,  reside  in  Menard 
county,  five  miles  northeast  of  Cantrall. 
Mrs.  Fanny  Cantrall  died  Sept.  10, 

1835,  and  Levi  Cantrall  married   May  27, 

1836,  to  Mrs.  Ann  Barnett,  whose  maiden 
name    was    Patterson.      They    had    five 
children,  three  of  whom  died  in  infancy. 
Of  the  other  two — 

FANNT  L.,  born  Oct.  9,  1838,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Jan.,  1857,  to 
Henrv  Graham.  They  have  four  living 
children,  MARY  A.,  WILLIAM,  AR- 
MINDA  D.  and  JOSEPH,  and  reside 
near  Athens,  Menard  county. 

JOSEPH  S.,  born  Oct.  16,  1841,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Jan.  14,  1869, 
to  Margaret  A.  Canterbury.  They  have 
one  child,  DAISY  E.,  and  reside  at  Can- 
trail.  He  is  one  of  the  proprietors  of  the 
new  town  of  Cantrall. 

Levi  Cantrall  died  Feb.  22,  1860,  and 
his  widow  resides  with  their  son  Joseph 
S.,  at  Cantrall.  The  town  of  Cantrall 
was  laid  out  on  land  he  entered  soon  after 
coming  to  the  country,  and  was  named  in 
honor  of  his  memory. 

INCIDENTS. 

From  a  statement  in  writing  made  by 
Levi  Cantrall  a  few  months  before  his 
death,  I  learn  that  in  building  the  cabin  he 
commenced  Dec.  8th,  1819,  about  half  a 
mile  west  of  the  present  town  of  Can- 
trall, the  mortar  froze  so  that  he  could  not 
plaster  it.  December  24,  1819,  snow  be- 
gan to  fall,  and  continued  one  snow  after 
another  until  it  was  two  feet  deep  on  a 
level.  The  weather  continued  intensely 
cold,  and 'a  company  of  seven  men  started 
to  the  American  Bottom  for  provisions. 
They  were  Levi  and  Wyatt  Cantrall, 
Alexander  and  Henry  Crawford,  M.  Hol- 
land, a  Mr.  Kellogg  and  John  Dixon, 
who  afterwards  founded  the  city  of  Dixon, 
111.  Thev  loaded  their  wagons  with  flour 
and  meal  and  started  home  on  the  eight- 
eenth, and  on  the  twentieth  rain  com- 
menced falling.  The  rain  and  melting 
snow  set  the  whole  country  afloat,  and 
when  they  reached  the  Sangamon  river  it 
was  too  full  to  cross.  They  sent  back  to 
Kelly's — where  Springfield  now  stands — 


for  tools,  and  obtained  an  axe  and  grubbing 
hoe.  With  these  they  made  a  canoe,  and 
reached  home  twenty-one  days  from  the 
time  of  starting.  On  the  6th  of  May, 
1820,  the  frost  killed  their  growing  corn. 
The  settlers  thought  of  moving  back 
south,  but  they  hauled  up  provisions  before 
the  next  winter  and  lived  through  it. 

Levi  Cantrall  built  a  horse  mill  in  the 
fall  of  1820.  It  was  a  band  mill,  with  a 
wheel  forty  feet  in  diameter.  It  was  the 
first  mill  ever  built  north  of  the  Sanga- 
mon river,  and  people  came  thirty  miles  or 
more  to  mill.  Mr.  Cantrall  built  a  water 
mill  on  Cantrall's  creek,  near  the  present 
town  of  Cantrall.  It  did  sawing  and 
grinding.  He  says  the  snow  of  1830-31 
was  four  feet  on  a  level.  Levi  Cantrall 
kept  a  tannery  where  he  lived  for  more 
than  forty  years. 

CANTRALL,  WYATT,  was 
born  Dec.  20,  1790,  in  Bath  county,  Ky., 
the  same  year  that  his  parents  moved  from 
Botetourt  county,  Va.  He  was  married 
in  Bath  county  to  Sally  England,  and 
moved  to  Clarke  county,  O.,  where  they 
had  three  children,  and  then  moved,  in 
company  with  Mrs.  Cantrall's  father, 
Stephen  England,  to  St.  Clair  county,  111., 
in  the  fall  of  1818,  and  in  the  spring  of 
1819  to  what  is  now  Fancy  Creek  town- 
ship, in  Sangamon  county,  where  they  had 
six  children.  Of  their  nine  children — 

ELIZA,  born  Sept.  3,  1813,  in  Ohio, 
married  in  .Sangamon  county  to  John 
McLemore.  He  died  in  1871,  leaving  a 
widow  and  two  children  at  Stirling, 
Whiteside  county. 

SAMUEL  D,,  born  Feb.  9,  1816,  in 
Clarke  county,  O.,  married  in  Sangamon 
county,  March  6,  1837,  to  Sarah  S.  Alex- 
ander. They  had  six  living  children. 
ALBERT  A.  married  March  6,  1862,  to 
Martha  Hunt.  He  enlisted  in  Aug.,  1862, 
in  Co.  C,  1 14  111.  Inf.,  for  three  years,  and 
was  appointed  Sergeant.  He  was  captured 
at  the  battle  of  Guntown,  Miss.,  in  June, 
1864,  and  was  placed  in  the  Andersonville 
prison  pen,  where  he  remained  about  five 
months,  and  after  that  was  taken  from  one  • 
prison  to  another  to  prevent  being  released 
by  the  Union  forces,  and  was  paroled 
Marcn  i,  1865,  and  died  of  starvation  and 
exposure  March  5,  1865,  at  Wilmington, 
N.  C.  WYA.TT  E.  married  Grizella 
Holland.  LUCINDA  J.  married  B.  F. 
Horn.  HEXRY  married  Emma  E.  Gra- 


184 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


ham.  ELIZA  married  Henry  Lake,  son 
of  Bayless,  and  MARGARET  A.  mar- 
ried Isaac  Bates,  son  of  Joseph.  S.  D. 
Cantrall  lives  two  miles  north  of  Cantrall. 

DA  VI D  7>.,born  May  7,  1818,  in  Ohio, 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  Eleanor 
McLemore,  had  three  children,  and  she 
died.  He  married  Ursula  Bull,  has  three 
children,  and  lives  in  Iowa. 

ZEBULON,  born  Aug.  u,  1823,  in 
Sangamon  county,  and  died  in  1840. 

WIATT  E.,  born  March  22,  1825,  in 
Sangamon  county,  died  in  1841. 

STEPHENS.,  born  April  20,  1827, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  Caroline 
Blue.  They  have  seven  children,  and  live 
at  Black  Bob,  Johnson  county,  Kan. 

WILLIAM  J.,  born  July  28,  1829,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Lucy  Kings- 
bury,  who  died,  and  he  married  Calista 
Neil,  have  three  children,  and  lives  at 
Black  Bob,  Kan. 

POLLY  ANN,  born  Sept.  17,  1832, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  Thomas 
Hethcote,  have  one  child,  and  live  at  Stir- 
ling, Whiteside  county. 

JOHN  H.,  born  Oct.  i,  1834,  in  San- 
gamon county,  married  Eleanor  Stratton, 
have  six  children,  and  live  in  Iowa. 

Mrs.  Sally  Cantrall  died  Aug.  i,  1840, 
in  Sangamon  county,  and  Wiatt  Cantrall 
married  in  the  fall  of  1841  to  Mrs.  Polly 
Kingsbury,  whose  maiden  name  was  Fos- 
ter. They  had  one  child — 

JOSHUA  P.,  born  in  1843  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  married  Grace  Winters. 
They  have  one  child,  and  live  in  Chase 
county,  Kan. 

Mrs.  Polly  Cantrall  died  about  1859, 
and  Wiatt  Cantrall  resides  at  Stirling, 
Whiteside  county. 

CANTRILL,,  THOMAS,  was 
born  April  4,  1775,  and  Elizabeth  Murray 
was  born  Sept.  19,  1774.  The  place  of 
their  birth  is  not  known,  but  probably  in 
Orange  county,  North  Carolina,  where 
they  were  married  and  had  one  child. 
They  then  moved  to  Green  county,  Ky., 
•where  they  had  five  children,  and  moved 
to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  arriving  Oct., 
1828,  in  what  is  now  Rochester  township, 
three  and  a  half  miles  east  of  Springfield. 
Of  their  children — 

MARY,  born  in  North. Carolina,  mar- 
ried in  Kentucky  to  Thomas  Perry,  and 
came  to  Sangamon  county  before  her  pa- 


rents.    They  had  six  children,  but  all  the 
family  are  dead. 

WILLIAM,  born  Jan.  17,  1800,  in 
Green  county,  Ky.,  came  to  Springfield, 
111.,  in  March,  1825,  was  married  in  San- 
gamon county  Feb.  14,  1828,  to  Elizabeth 
Hall,  who  was  born  Dec.  8,  1809.  They 
had  two  children,  and  moved  to  Decatur, 
April,  1833,  where'they  had  two  children. 
Of  their  children:  THOMAS  H.,  born 
Nov.  i,  1829,  in  Sangamon  county,  raised 
in  Decatur,  and  died  in  the  spring  of  1864, 
at  Walla  Walla,  Washington  Ter.  JANE 
ELLEN,  born  Oct.  27,  1832,  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  married  in  Decatur,  April  4, 
1857,  to  A.  S.  Keller,  and  lives  at  Sulli- 
van, Moultrie  county,  111.  MARY  E., 
born  Sept.  27,  1835,  in  Decatur,  married 
Dr.  William  Dillon.  See  his  name.  SU- 
SAN L.,  born  July  3,  1844,  married  Feb. 
3,  1863,  to  Harl  P.  Christie,  and  lives  in 
Decatur.  Mrs.  Elizabeth  Cantrill  died 
August  4,  1868,  and  William  Cantrill 
lives  in  Decatur. 

SUSAN,  married  Robert  Bird,  had 
two  children,  and  the  parents  died. 

ANNA  married  William  Black.  They 
had  six  children.  The  parents  and  two 
of  the  children  are  dead. 

ZEBULON,  born  April  8,  1807,  in 
Green  county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sangamon 
county  in  1829,  to  Elizabeth  Enyart. 
They  had  four  children,  and  he  died  Jan. 
8,  1840.  His  widow  lives  near  Mechanics- 
burg. 

JOEL,  born  Jan.  8,  1811,  in  Green 
county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, May  16,  1839,  to  Zerelda  E.  Branch. 
They  had  ten  children  in  Sangamon 
county;  two  died  in  infancy.  LEWIS 
M.,  born  April  9,  1840,  married  July  23, 
1863,  to  Elmira  M.  Lee,  who  was  born 
Oct.,  1839,  in  the  State  of  New  York. 
They  live  at  Joliet,  111.  EDWARD  T., 
born  Dec.  27,  1842,  enlisted  August,  1862, 
in  Co.  E,  U4th  111.  Inf.,  for  three  years, 
and  died  July  11,  1863,  at  Vicksburg, 
Miss.  His  remains  were  brought  home 
and  buried  near  Rochester.  LAURA  J., 
the  fifth  child,  died  in  her  fifteenth  year. 
WILLIAM  B.,  JAMES  N.,  HENRY 
A.  and  HENRIETTA,  twins,  and  EM- 
ILY, live  with  their  mother.  Joel  Can- 
trill  died  Sept.  4,  :866,  and  his  widow 
lives  on  the  farm  where  his  parents  settled 
on  coming  to  the  county,  near  Sangamon 
Station. 


SANGAMON    COUNT*. 


185 


Mrs.  Elizabeth  Cantrill  died  Oct  i,  and 
Thomas  Cantrill  died  Oct.  3,  1836,  both 
near  what  is  now  Sangamon  Station. 

CAPPS,  MRS.  MARY,  whose 
maiden  name  was  Devas,  was  a  native  of 
London,  England.  Her  husband,  Charles 
Capps,  was  for  many  years  a  merchant  in 
London,  and  died  there.  His  widow, 
whose  name  heads  this  sketch,  came  to 
America  with  her  sons,  John,  Benjamin 
and  Charles,  leaving  one  son  (Thomas)  in 
England.  They  arrived  in  Springfield, 
111.,  Nov.,  1830.  Her  sons  Jabez  and 
Ebenezer  having  preceded  the  other 
members  of  the  family  several  years,  Mrs. 
Capps  brought  some  of  her  daughters,  and 
others  came  later. 

Mrs.  Mary  Capps  died  Nov.  8,  1857,  at 
the  residence  of  her  son-in-law,  Dr.  Alex- 
ander Shields,  in  Sangamon  county.  Of 
her  nine  children  who  came  to  America, 
eight  are  now  living. 

CAPPS,  JABEZ,  born  Sept. 
9,  1796,  in  the  city  of  London,  England, 
came  to  America  in  the  summer  of  1817, 
arriving  near  what  is  now  Springfield,  111., 
in  the  spring  of  1819,  and  is  believed  to 
have  been  the  first  school  teacher  in  San- 
gamon county.  He  was  married  in  1828, 
near  Rochester,  to  Prudence  A.  Stafford, 
who  was  born  in  Vermont.  They  had 
three  living  children,  and  Mrs.  Capps 
died  May  13,  1836.  Jabez  Capps  was 
married  near  Rochester,  111.,  Sept.,  1836, 
to  Elizabeth  Baker.  They  had  ten  child- 
ren, one  of  whom  died  young.  Of  all  his 
children — 

CHARLES  S.,  born  Jan.  31,  1830,  in 
Springfield,  was  married  May  3,  1854,  to 
Eliza  McGraw.  They  live  in  Mt.  Pu- 
laski. 

EBENEZER  S.,  born  Feb.  15,  1834, 
in  Springfield,  was  married  in  1856  to 
Eliza  Freeman,  and  live  in  Mt.  Pulaski. 

OLIVER  T.,  born  Feb.  13,  1836,  in 
Springfield,  was  married  in  1856  to  Eliza 
Bush,  and  live  in  Mt.  Pulaski. 

By  the  second  marriage — 

JOHN  H.,  born  Nov.  15,  1839,  in  Mt. 
Pulaski,  married  Martha  Pumpilly,  and 
live  in  his  native  town. 

PRUDT  A.,  born  Dec.  18,  1841,  in 
Mt.  Pulaski,  was  married  March  8, 1860,  to 
S.  Linn  Beidler,  who  was  born  June  23, 
1837,  at  Mt.  Joy,  Lancaster  county,  Pa. 
Of  their  seven  children,  one  died  young. 
MONITOR  C.,  FRANK  X.,  JOHN 

— 24 


LINN,  SNOW  FLAKE,  IMOGENE 
and  RELL  C.,  live  with  their  parents  at 
Mt.  Pulaski,  111.  Mr.  Beidler  is  a  drug- 
gist, and  with  the  exception  of  one  year 
during  President  Johnson's  administration, 
has  been  Post  Master  there  since  1857. 

MART,  born  Oct.  8,  1844,  in  Mt. 
Pulaska,  married  Michael  McNattin. 

WILLIAM,  BENJAMIN,  JA- 
BEZ B.,  ED  WARD,  HARRIE  B. 
and  MA  UD,  all  live  with  their  parents. 

Mr.  Jabez  Capps  was  a  merchant  in 
Springfield  from  1827  to  1836,  when  he 
formed  a  company  and  laid  out  the  town 
of  Mt.  Pulaski.  Brought  his  goods  from 
Springfield,  and  continued  in  business  un- 
til 1870.  He  is  now  engaged  with  his 
son  in  the  nursery  business.  Mr.  Capps 
was  Post  Master  at  Mt.  Pulaski  for  fifteen 
years,  and  County  Recorder  four  years. 
He  and  his  family  reside  in  Mt.  Pulaski. 

CAPPS,  EBENEZER,  was 
born  May,  1798,  in  London,  Eng.  Came 
to  Springfield  in  1820.  He  returned  to 
Europe  in  the  spring  of  1830.  On  his 
return  he  went  to  Vandalia,  111.,  in  the 
fall  of  same  year.  He  was  married  in 
Morgan  county,  111.,  March  i,  1835,  to 
Ann  Norwood.  They  have  five  living 
children,  namely — 

SARAH,  HANNAH,  MART  A., 
CHARLES  E.  and  THOMAS. 

Mrs.  Ann  Capps  died  Sept.,  1855,  and 
Ebenezer  Capps  was  married  May  29, 
1860,  in  Springfield,  to  Rosetta  lies.  They 
had  one  child — 

ROSETTA. 

Mrs.  Rosetta  Capps  died  in  Dec.,  1861. 
Ebenezer  Capps  was  married  to  Mrs. 
Elizabeth  Snyder,  at  Lincoln,  111.,  Oct., 
1863.  They  had  two  children — 

GEORGE  B.  and  SUSAN. 

Ebenezer  Capps  and  family  reside  in 
Vandalia,  111. 

CAPPS,  MARY,  was  born  in 
1801,  in  London,  Eng.;  died  unmarried  at 
Vandalia,  111.,  Dec.  3,  1858. 

CAPPS,  ANN,  was  born  in  1803, 
in  London,  Eng.  She  was  married  there 
to  William  Salisch.  They  came  to 
America,  arriving  at  Vandalia,  111.,  in  1833, 
where  Mr.  Salisch  died  the  year  follow- 
ing, leaving  a  widow  and  two  children, 
viz — 

SALINA  died,  aged  twelve  years. 

CHARLES  W.,  born  Jan.  24,  1832, 
in  London,  Eng.,  came  with  his  parents 


1 86 


EARLT  SET7LERS  OP 


to  Vandalia,  and  after  the  death  of  his 
father,  was  brought  by  his  mother  to 
Springfield,  111.,  where  he  was  married, 
Oct.  31,  1 86 1,  to  Anna  C.  Hughes.  They 
had  four  children.  CHARLES  F.  died 
in  his  fourth  year.  RALPH  E.,  CHAS. 
E.  and  SCOTT  A.  C.  W.  Salisch  is 
Post  Master  at  Cotton  Hill,  Sangamon 
county. 

Mrs.  Ann  Salisch  was  married  in  1837, 
in  Springfield,  to  Dr.  Alexander  Shields. 
See  his  name. 

CAPPS,  SUSAN,  was  born  in 
1805,  in  London,  Eng.  She  was  married 
in  Springfield,  111.,  to  James  Gobbett. 
He  went  to  California,  and  died  on  his 
way  home  on  the  steamer,  of  Asiatic 
cholera.  Mrs.  Gobbett  lives  with  her 
sister,  Mrs.  Dr.  Shields. 

CAPPS,  SARAH,  was  born  in 
1807,  in  London,  Eng.,  is  unmarried,  and 
lives  with  her  sister,  Mrs.  Dr.  Shields. 

CAPPS,  JOHN,  was  born  Dec.  16, 
1810,  in  London,  Eng.  Came  to  America 
with  his  mother,  brothers  and  sisters, 
arriving  at  Springfield,  111.,  in  Nov.,  1830. 
He  was  married  there  Sept.  5,  1833,  to 
Nancy  Clements,  who  was  born  Oct.  2, 
1817,  in  Lincoln  county,  Ky.  (She  is  a 
cousin  of  Mrs.  Mathew  Cloyd.)  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  John  Capps  had  five  children  in 
Springfield,  and  in  1844  moved  to  Mt. 
Pulaski,  where  they  had  four,  and  about 
1855  moved  to  Decatur,  where  they  had 
three;  thence  to  Illiopolis,  Sangamon 
county.  Of  their  twelve  children  two 
died  young — 

MART  M.,  born  Oct.  6,  1834,  was 
married  Jan.  19,  1853,  to  James  Sims. 
They  have  six  children,  ADA,  JOHN  F., 
ELLA,  HATTIE,RALPH  LINCOLN 
and  FANNIE,  and  live  in  Mt.  Pulaski. 

THOMAS  W.,  born  Dec.  26,  1838,  in 
Springfield,  enlisted  in  1862  for  three 
months,  in  Co.  I,  68th  111.  Vol.  Inf.; 
served  full  term,  and  enlisted  in  the 
United  States  Navy.  He  was  married 
Dec.  29,  1869,  to  Nellie  Van  Hise,  in  Mt. 
Pulaski.  They  had  one  child,  EARL, 
Mrs.  Nellie  Capps  died,  Oct.  23,  1873. 
Mr.  T.  W.  Capps  lives  in  Mt.  Pulaski. 

CHARLES  R.,  born  March  ii,  1841, 
in  Springfield,  was  married  in  Mt.  Pu- 
laski, May  29,  1862,  to  Lizzie  Lushbaugh. 
They  have  four  children,  LOUIE  E., 
ELMER  LINCOLN,  FRANK  and 
MABEL,  and  live  in  Mt.  Pulaski. 


ALEXANDER  S.,  born  May  2, 
1843,  in  Springfield,  enlisted  Aug.  9,  1862, 
for  three  years,  in  Co.  B,  io6th  111.  Vol. 
Inf.,  served  until  Aug.  i,  1865,  when  he 
was  honorably  discharged.  He  was  mar- 
ried Sept.  3,  1867,  to  Maggie  Ishmael. 
They  have  one  child,  KATIE  E.,  and 
live  in  Illiopolis. 

JABEZ  J/.,  born  Aug.  19,  1845,  in 
Mt.  Pulaski,  enlisted  in  1863  for  one  hun- 
dred days,  in  Co.  D,  I45th  111.  Inf.,  served 
more  than  full  time,  and  was  honorably 
discharged.  He  was  married  June  17, 
1867,  to  Sallie  Bechtel.  They  have  three 
living  children,  LONE,  PEARL  and 
GERTRUDE.  J.  M.  Capps  is  engaged 
in  milling  at  Mt.  Pulaski,  and  lives  there. 

ANN  S.,  born  Jan.  22,  1848,  in  Mt. 
Pulaski,  was  married  May  5,  1868,  to 
James  W.  McGuffin.  She  died  in  Illiop- 
olis, April  7,  1874,  leaving  three  children, 
BENJAMIN  F.,  WALTER  and  JOHN 
C. 

BENJAMIN  F.,  born  July  21,  1850, 
in  Mt.  Pulaski,  was  married  Aug.  12, 
1870,  to  Fannie  S.  Cantrall.  She  was 
killed  Oct.  8,  1870,  near  Illiopolis.  She 
was  mounting  a  horse,  when  it  took 
fright,  drew  the  rein  in  a  noose  around 
her  hand,  and  dragged  her  until  she  was 
dead.  B.  F.  Capps  married  Emma  Snv- 
der.  They  live  at  Mt.  Pulaski. 

ALBERT  B.,  JOHN  C.  and 
BUNN,  live  with  their  parents.  John  C. 
had  a  twin  mate,  who  died  young. 

John  Capps  and  family  reside  one  and 
a  half  miles  west  of  Illiopolis. 

CAPPS,  CHARLES,  was  born 
Feb.  7,  1814,  in  London,  Eng.  Came 
with  his  mother,  brothers  and  sisters  to 
America,  arriving  at  Springfield,  Nov., 
1830,  and  moved  to  Vandalia  in  December 
of  the  same  year.  He  was  married  Nov. 
n,  1852,  in  Sangamon  county,  111.,  to 
Elizabeth  A.  Gobbett,  who  was  born  Oct. 
27,  1836,  in  Missouri.  They  had  four 
living  children — 

MART  A.,  born  Dec.  3,  1854,  was 
married  March  13,  1872,  to  George  R. 
Wylie.  They  have  one  child,  MAUDE 
E,  and  live  in  Mt.  Pulaski. 

SARAH  F.,  JAMES  A.  and  AMT 
G.,  reside  with  their  parents  in  Mt.  Pu- 
laski. 

CAPPS,  BENJAMIN,  was 
born  June  24,  1820,  in  London,  England. 
Came  to  Springfield  in  1830,  and  to  Van- 


SANGAMON    COUNTT. 


187 


dalia  in  1831.  He  returned  to  England  in 
1844,  and  remained  there  until  1852,  when 
he  went  to  Australia,  and  returned  to 
Vandalia  in  1856.  He  was  married  in 
Mt.  Pulaski  in  May,  1862,  to  Lucy  Mc- 
Graw.  They  have  four  living  children — 

IDA,  JENNIE,  BENJAMINS 
HANNAH '  N. 

Benjamin  Capps  has  always  faithfully 
served  his  adopted  country,  and  votes  the 
straight  Republican  ticket.  He,  with  his 
family,  reside  in  Vandalia,  111. 

CARPENTER,  WILLIAM, 
born  July  3,  1787^  in  the  city  of  Philadel- 
phia, Penn.,  was  the  eldest  son  of  Samuel 
and  Catharine  Carpenter.  He  had  two 
brothers,  Charles  and  Samuel,  Jun.;  also 
two  sisters,  Elizabeth  and  Catharine.  His 
father  died  when  William  was  quite 
young,  leaving  the  family  dependent  en- 
tirely on  their  own  exertions  for  a  liveli- 
hood. William  was  baptized  in  the  Ger- 
man Lutheran  church  in  Philadelphia, 
Sept.  23,  1787.  Carl  Linnensheet  and 
Margreth,  his  wife,  (grandparents),  spon- 
sors. Arrived  at  manhood,  he  and  his 
brother  Samuel  came  to  Licking  county, 
Ohio,  then  the  "  far  west."  In  the  fall  of 
1819  William  C.  was  married  to  Margaret 
Pence,  who  is  still  living.  She  was  the 
daughter  of  Peter  and  Catharine  Pence, 
and  was  born  Feb.  5,  1803,  in  Shenandoah 
county,  Va.  Her  mother's  maiden  name 
was  Godfrey,- whose  father  fought  in  the 
Revolution,  under  Gen  Wayne,  and  was 
killed  by  the  Indians,  near  Wheeling,  Va., 
in  the  summer  of  1820.  William  Car- 
penter, his  wife  and  Samuel,  started  for 
Illinois.  The  time  occupied  in  coming 
was  six  weeks.  They  passed  through 
what  is  now  Springfield,  crossed  the  San- 
gamon  river,  and  built  a  cabin  about  two 
miles  north  of  it.  At  that  time  the  "Kel- 
ly cabins"  constituted  all  the  settlement 
at  what  is  now  the  city  of  Springfield. 
Samuel  C.  soon  tired  of  the  west,  and  re- 
turned. When  land  came  into  the  mar- 
ket, Wm.  C.  entered  the  land  upon  which 
he  had  settled,  and  erected  a  two  story 
log  house,  which  is  still  standing,  although 
dilapidated.  This  afterwards  became  an 
important  point  for  the  stage  line  on  the 
State  road  leading  from  Springfield  to 
Peoria,  and  called  the  "  six  mile  house." 
Their  nearest  neighbors  then  were  three 
or  four  miles  distant,  and  the  Indians 
(friendly  tribes)  frequently  visited  the 


house  for  something  to  eat,  and  a  matter 
of  considerable  alarm  to  the  females  when 
the  men  were  away,  as  was  frequently  the 
case,  "to  mill,"  or  "on  a  hunt."  They 
grew  cotton,  picked,  carded,  spun  and 
wove  it  into  cloth  for  family  use.  These 
cards  are  still  in  the  possession  of  some  of 
the  family.  For  a  long  time  Edwards- 
ville,  Madison  county,  111.,  was  the  nearest 
mill  and  postoffice.  It  took  two  weeks 
to  go  and  return  with  a  grist,  usually  a 
sack  of  corn,  on  horseback.  St.  Louis, 
Mo.,  was  the  nearest  market.  About  the 
year  1828,  William  Carpenter,  with  a 
family  of  five  children,  moved  to  Spring- 
field, then  grown  to  the  dignity  of  a  town, 
and  called  Calhoun.  He  there  engaged 
in  merchandizing.  The  farm  was  after- 
wards rented,  and  occupied  by  Hon.  S.  T. 
Logan,  then  just  arrived  from  Kentucky. 
Six  children  were  born  in  Springfield.  Of 
their  eleven  children — 

CATHARINE,  born  Sept.  28,  1820, 
in  Sangamon  county,  was  married  June 
8,  1843,  in  Springfield,  to  Adolphus  Wood, 
who  was  born  Nov.  8,  1806,  in  Chenango 
county,  N.  Y.  They  had  six  children; 
the  two  eldest  died  young.  Of  the  other 
four,  WILLIAM  C.,  born  in  Springfield, 
111.,  Dec.  28,  1848,  was  married  August 
29,  1874,  in  Chicago,  to  Emma  E.  Wood, 
who  was  born  in  Springfield,  Jan.  2,  1851. 
They  have  one  child,  CHARLES  o.,  and 
live  on  the  farm  with  his  mother.  ELIZA- 
BETH and  GEORGE  live  with  their 
mother.  CHARLES  is  clerk  in  Diller's 
drug  store,  Springfield,  111. 

Mr.  Wood  died  Jan.  12,  1861,  and  his 
widow  resides  three  and  a  half  miles  north 
of  Springfield. 

CHARLES,  born  Nov.  12,  1822,  in 
Sangamon  county,  was  killed  in  Spring- 
field by  a  fall  from  a  horse,  March  17, 
1833. 

SAMUEL,  born  Nov.  12,  1824,  in 
Sangamon  county,  was  married  Nov.  27, 
1851,  to  Mary  E.  J.  Kerns,  who  died 
March  16,  1853,  an('  Samuel  C.  was  mar- 
ried Dec.  \6,  1858,  to  Mrs.  Martha  J. 
Black,  whose  maiden  name  was  Short, 
daughter  of  Rev.  Daniel  Short.  She  was 
born  Sept.  25,  1831,  in  Butler  county, 
Ohio.  They  had  six  children  born  in  San- 
gamon county.  ANNA  S.,  WILLIAM 
D.,CARRIEE.,  MARTHA  L,MAKY 
M.  and  LENA  L.  Mrs.  Martha  J.  Car- 
penter died  July  17,  1873.  Samuel  Car- 


iSS 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


penter  and  his  children  resides  five  miles 
north  of  Springfield,  adjoining  the  farm 
where  he  settled  in  1820. 

ELIZABETH,  born  Jan.  19,  1826, 
in  Sangamon  county,  was  married  Nov. 
27,  1851,111  same  place,  to  Richard  Cobbs, 
who  was  born  in  Cynthianna,  Harrison 
countv,  Ky.,  May  22,  1822.  They  have 
four  children,  MARIETTA,  JOHN  W., 
ALBERT  R.  and  MARGATET  A. 
Mr.  Cobbs  is  a  tailor,  and  resides  in 
Springfield. 

WILLIAM,  Jun,,  died  in  his  third 
year. 

MARGARET,  born  Feb.  27,  1830,  in 
Springfield,  was  married  June  5,  1848,  to 
William  A.  Browning,  who  was  born 
April  23,  1825,  in  Licking  countv,  Ohio. 
They  have  seven  children  living;  three 
died  in  infancy.  AMELIA  E.  was  mar- 
ried Dec.  28,  1871,  to  R.  F.  Gailey.  Their 
only  child,  WILLIAM  A.,  died  in  infancy. 
They  reside  in  Pana.  EVA  O.,  MAR- 
GARET L.,  MARY  J.,  WILLIAM  O., 
LOUISA  B.  and  FLORA  M.  reside 
with  their  parents.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Brown- 
ing reside  in  Pana,  111. 

JOHN,  born  Nov.  2,  1832,  and   .- 

GEORGE,  born  March  28,  1835,  in 
Springfield,  both  reside  with  their  mother. 

EMILY  A.,  born  August  8,  1837, 
died  Oct.  5,  1854. 

MARY  E.,  born   March  28,  1843,  and 

SARAH  J.,  born  Jan.  26,  1846.  The 
unmarried  children  reside  with  their 
mother. 

William  Carpenter  died  August  30, 
1859,  in  Springfield,  and  his  widow  re- 
sides at  the  corner  of  Seventh  and  Car- 
penter streets,  Springfield,  111.  William 
Carpenter  was  elected  Justice  of  the 
Peace  in  Ohio  in  1820,  held  the  same 
office  in  Sangamon  county  about  fourteen 
years,  and  was  the  second  Justice  of  the 
Peace  in  Sangamon  county.  May  15, 
1830,  he  was  appointed  Quartermaster 
20th  Reg.  111.  Millitia,  Col.  T.  M.  Neal 
commanding.  April  12,  1832,  he  was  ap- 
pointed Paymaster  4th  Reg.  Mounted 
Vol.  Inf.,  by  Col.  Samuel  M.  Thompson. 
In  1834  was  elected  to  represent  Sanga- 
mon county  in  State  Legislature,  when 
the  Capital  was  at  Vandalia.  He  was 
subsequently  a  member  of  the  city  coun- 
cil for  a  number  of  years.  In  1837  was 
appointed  by  President  Van  Buren,  Post- 
master at  Springfield,  which  office  he  re- 


signed in  1840.  In  1844  anc^  '5  Mr.  C. 
with  his  son-in-law,  Adolphus  Wood, 
erected  a  saw  and  grist  mill  on  the  San- 
gamon river,  on  the  Peoria  road,  which 
has  always  been  known  as  Carpenter's 
mill,  although  christened  Rock  Dam 
Mills. 

CARSON,  JOHN,  was  born 
Aug.  8,  1794,  on  Saluda  river,  S.  C.,  and 
raised  in  Campbell  county,  Tenn.  He 
was  in  a  Tennessee  regiment  in  the  war 
of  1812.  After  the  war  he  came  to  Mad- 
ison county,  111.,  with  his  father,  and  was 
there  married  to  Margery  Parkison,  in 
1818.  She  was  born  Oct.  19,  1799.  They 
came  to  Sangamon  county  in  1820  or  '21, 
and  settled  on  Lick  creek,  in  what  is  noW 
Chatham  township.  They  had  ten  child- 
ren, all  born  in  Sangamon  county  except 
one.  Of  their  children — 

JAMES  S.,  born  Oct.,  1819,  married 
Permelia  Swanson.  They  had  fire  child- 
ren. He  was  accidentally  shot  and  killed 
April  12,  1859,  by  another  hunter  mistak- 
ing his  call  for  that  of  a  turkey.  That 
was  in  Fayette  county.  His  only  two 
surviving  children,  WESLEY  McD.  and 
ISAAC  M,,  reside  in  Loami  township. 

RA  CHEL,\>orn.  in  1823,  in  Sangamon 
county,  married  Ransom  Youtsler.  They 
both  died,  leaving  five  children.  Her 
death  took  place  Nov.  9,  1863. 

ELIZABETH,  born  Dec.  25,  1824, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  William  P. 
Campbell.  See  his  name. 

AMANDA  E.,  born  April  17,  1829,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  May  5,  1852, 
to  Peter  C.  Campbell.  See  his  name. 

WILLIAM  P.,  born  Dec.  25,  1830,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  April  t$,  1855, 
to  Minerva  Workman.  They  have  seven 
children,  DAVID,  SARAH,  JOHN  C., 
ELIZABETH,  LYDIA  A.,  LEE  and 
AMANDA,  and  live  in  Loami  township. 

ISAAC  C.,  born  Feb.  7,  1833,  in  San- 
gamon county,  married  Martha  Lawson, 
have  one  child,  and  live  in  Crawford 
county,  Kan. 

JOHN  M.,  born  March,  1836,  in  San- 
gamon county,  married  Elizabeth  Work- 
man. They  have  six  children,  and  live  in 
Crawford  county,  Kan. 

LOUISA,  born  April  n,  1840,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  William  A. 
Barnes.  He  was  born  Aug.  2,  1836,  in 
Talladega  county,  Ala.  She  died  May 
27,  1872,  leaving  four  children  with  their 


SAN  GAM  ON  COUNTT. 


relatives  in  Chatham  and  Loami  town- 
ships. W.  A.  Barnes  married  Lucy  A. 
Allen,  and  live  in  Chatham. 

John  Carson  died  in  Fayette  county, 
Nov.,  1844,  and  his  widow  married  John 
Campbell.  See  his  name. 

CARSON,  WILLIAM,  born 
July  8,  1799,  in  Westmoreland  county, 
Pa.  When  he  was  four  years  old  his 
father  moved  to  Hamilton  county,  Ohio. 
William  was  never  out  of  that  county  un- 
til he  was  twenty-six  years  old.  He  then 
came  to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  arriving 
Nov.  i,  1825,  at  Springfield.  He  walked 
the  whole  distance  from  Cincinnati  to 
Springfield  in  eleven  days.  He  spent  the 
first  winter  at  Sangamo,  and  was  married 
May  21,  1826,  to  Cynthia  Broad  well. 
They  had  fifteen  children,  seven  of  whom 
died  young.  Of  the  other  eight — 

SARAH  J.,  born  March  2,  1828, 
married  Aaron  Thompson.  Mrs.  T.  died 
Oct.,  1855,  leaving  two  children  in  Mis- 
souri. 

LEAH  A.,  born  July  30,  1829,  married 
William  De  Armand,  have  nine  children, 
and  live  in  Atchison  county,  Kan. 

ELIZABE7^H A.,  born  Oct.  6,  1831, 
married  Oct.  2,  1856,  to  Jacob  King,  and 
live  in  Nodaway  county,  Mo. 

RACHEL  C.,  born  Dec.  22,  1832, 
married  Nov.,  1863,  to  Joshua  Short,  have 
one  child,  and  live  in  Nodaway  countv, 
Missouri. 

MART M.,  born  July  26,  1834,  mar- 
ried Jacob  Shawver.  He  was  a  soldier  in 
an  Iowa  regiment,  and  died  at  Helena, 
Ark.,  in  April,  1863.  She  married  Josiah 
Culver,  and  live  In  Marion  county,  Iowa. 

HELEN  B.,  born  April  30,  1837, 
married  Feb.,  1860,  to  Charles  B.  Miller, 
have  six  children,  and  live  in  Marion 
county,  Iowa. 

WINFIELD  S.,  born  May  27,  1843, 
married  March  27,  1866,  to  Emma  J.  Tay- 
lor, who  was  born  Oct.  30,  1844,  in  Somer- 
set county,  N.  J.  They  have  three  child- 
ren, WILLIAM  E.,  JENNIE  A.  and 
CHARLES  F.,  and  live  near  Pleasant 
Plains. 

WILLIAM  L.,  born  Nov.  6,  1846, 
married  March  12,  1868,  in  Hamilton 
county,  O.,  to  Ella  Carson,  who  was  born 
there  Sept.  17,  1844.  They  have  three 
children,  ROBERT  B.,  ALICE  M.  and 
NELLIE  B.,  and  reside  one  and  a  half 
miles  east  of  Pleasant  Plains. 


William  Carson  and  his  wife  are  living 
on  the  farm  settled  by  her  brother,  John 
B.  Broadwell,  in  1819.  Mr.  C.  has  lived 
nearly  half  a  century  within  one  mile  of 
where  he  now  resides,  one  mile  east  of 
Pleasant  Plains. 

CARTER.  PLATT  S.,  was 
born  June  29,  1815,  in  Warren,  Litchfield 
county,  Conn.  He  came  to  Waverly,  111., 
in  Nov.,  1836,  and  in  Jan.,  1837,  began  to 
improve  the  farm  where  J.  Milton  Lock- 
bridge  now  resides,  one  mile  west  of  Au- 
burn. He  was  advised  to  abandon  the 
project,  lest  he  should  freeze  to  death, 
and  was  solemnly  warned  that  he  would 
be  compelled  to  live  without  neighbors, 
his  improvements  being  more  than  two 
miles  from  the  timber.  He  returned  to 
his  native  town,  and  was  there  married, 
July  25,  1839,  to  Flora  M.  Carter,  who 
was  born  in  the  same  place,  July  25,  1815. 
They  came  at  once  to  their  new  home, 
near  Auburn,  traveling  the  entire  distance 
in  wagons.  At  that  time  there  were  no 
improvements  southwest  nearer  than  fif- 
teen miles,  and  the  whole  area  a  natural 
meadow.  There  was  an  abundance  of 
grass  ,for  thousands  of  cattle  and  sheep. 
A  year  or  two  later  Mr.  Carter  bought  a 
flock  of  sheep,  and  that  caused  great  un- 
easiness to  some  of  the  neighbors,  who 
had  a  few  head  of  cattle,  lest  the  sheep 
would  eat  all  the  grass.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Carter  had  four  children  in  Sangamon 
county,  namely — 

ADONIRAM,  born  Nov.  5,  1842,  en- 
listed August,  1862,  in  Co.  C,  101  111.  Inf., 
but  was  discharged  on  account  of  physical 
disability,  without  fully  entering  the  arinv. 
He  graduated  at  Michigan  University,  in 
the  class  of  1868,  and  is  now  a  practicing 
attorney  at  157,  south  Clark  street, 
Chicago. 

DARIUS,  born  June  6,  1845,  enlisted 
May  2,  1864,  in  Co.  C,  I45th  111.  Inf.,  for 
one  hundred  days,  and  was  honorably  dis- 
charged, Sept.  28,  1864.  He  was  married 
April  6,  1869,  to  Avice  Pickett,  who  was 
born  Nov.  9,  1848,  at  Hartland,  Conn., 
and  died  May  14,  1870.  He  was  married 
April  29,  1873,  to  Sarah  Poor,  who  was 
born  Oct.  i,  1850,  in  Sullivan  county, 
Tenn.  They  reside  in  the  southwest  part 
of  Loami  township. 

LUC1NDA  A.,  born  August  31,  1848, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  June  25, 
1874,  to  Dr.  Albert  Brown,  who  was  born 


190 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


June  25,  1849,  in  Chicago,  Illinois.  He 
graduated  at  Bellevue  Hospital  Medical 
College,  New  York  City,  March,  1873, 
and  resides  in  Waverly,  111. 

PLA  TT  S.,  Jun.,  born  Dec.  6,  1850, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  near 
Waverly,  Morgan  county,  Nov.  20,  1873, 
to  Belle  Woods,  and  resides  in  Sangamon 
county,  near  Waverly,  111. 

Platt  S.  Carter,  Sen.,  is  one  of  the  many 
successful  farmers  of  this  county.  He  has 
always  taken  an  active  interest  in  every 
movement  calculated  to  develop  the  re- 
sources of  the  country,  and  to  elevate  the 
intellectual  standard  ot  the  cultivators  of 
the  soil,  and  has  several  times  represented 
Loami  township  in  the  Board  of  county 
Supervisors.  He  has  been  an  energetic 
worker  in  the  interests  of  the  Sangamon 
county  Agricultural  Society,  and  was 
President  of  the  same  for  the  year  1875. 
He  resides  in  Loami  township,  two  and  a 
half  miles  north  of  Waverly. 

CARTWRIGHT,  PETER, 
was  born  Sept.  i,  1785,  on  James  river, 
Amherst  county,  Va.  His  father  was  a 
Revolutionary  soldier,  and  soon  after  our 
independence  as  a  nation  was  acknowl- 
edged by  Great  Britain,  his  parents  moved 
to  that  part  of  our  country  known  as 
Kentucky,  then  inhabited  by  hostile  In- 
dians. There  not  being  any  wagon  roads, 
the  moving  was  done  on  pack  horses. 
Their's  was  one  of  two  hundred  families 
that  moved  in  a  body,  guarded  by  one 
hundred  young  men,  well  armed.  On  the 
night  of  the  first  Sunday  after  their  de- 
parture, and  while  they  were  encamped 
with  the  women  and  children  in  the  cen- 
ter, surrounded  by  part  of  the  men  guard- 
ing, while  others  slept,  the  father  of  Peter 
Cartwright  heard  something  moving  to- 
wards him  and  grunting  like  a  hog. 
Knowing  there  was  no  swine  with  the 
company,  Mr.  C.  had  his  suspicions 
aroused  and  kept  a  sharp  look-out.  He 
soon  perceived  a  dark  object  much  nearer 
him  than  the  sounds  at  first  indicated,  and 
readily  made  up  his  mind  that  it  was  an 
Indian  aiming  to  get  as  near  as  possible, 
and  then  spring  upon  and  murder  him  in 
the  dark.  Mr.  Cartwright  took  aim  and 
fired.  The  crack  of  the  rifle  raised  a 
great  commotion  in  camp,  and  as  soon  as 
a  light  could  be  procured,  an  Indian  was 
found  dead,  with  a  rifle  in  one  hand,  a 
tomahawk  in  the  other,  and  a  bullet-hole 


through  his  head.  Their  line  of  travel 
was  marked  by  the  dead  bodies  of  white 
people  slain  by  the  Indians,  with  other 
evidences  of  hostility.  As  the  moving 
party  approached  Crab  Orchard,  where  a 
temporary  fortification  had  been*  erected, 
the  last  day's  march  was  a  very  long  one. 
Seven  of  the  two  hundred  families  fell 
behind  the  main  body,  and  worn  down 
with  fatigue,  they  encamped  and  went  to 
sleep  without  guards.  In  the  night  they 
were  attacked  by  twenty-five  Indians,  and 
all  except  one  of  them  slain.  The  Cart- 
wright family  first  settled  near  what  after- 
wards became  Lancaster,  Lincoln  county, 
Ky.  After  a  stay  of  two  years,  in  the 
fall  of  1793  Mr.  Cartwright  moved  his 
family  to  a  place  nine  miles  south  of 
Russelville,  Logan  county,  Ky.,  and  with- 
in one  mile  of  the  Tennessee  line. 

While  the  family  resided  there  Peter 
entered  into  the  spirit  of  the  rude  sports 
and  vices  that  prevailed  in  the  community, 
such  as  horse-racing,  card-playing  and 
dancing.  His  mother  had  long  been  a 
member  of  the  M.  E.  Church,  and  prayed 
for  and  plead  with  her  son  to  turn  from 
the  error  of  his  ways.  He  was  converted, 
and  united  with  the  Ebenezer  M.  E. 
Church  in  June,  1801.  He  displayed 
such  talents  and  fervor  in  speaking,  that  he 
very  unexpectedly  received  the  following 
paper : 

"Peter  Cartwright  is  hereby  permitted 
to  exercise  his  gifts  as  an  exhorter  in  the 
Methodist  Episcopal  Church,  so  long  as 
his  practice  is  agreeable  to  the  Gospel. 

"Signed  in  behalf  of  the  Society  at 
Ebenezer. 

" JESSE  WALKER,  A.  P." 

J/oy,  1802. 

In  the  fall  of  that  year  his  father  de- 
termined to  move  to  Lewiston,  near  the 
mouth  of  the  Cumberland  river.  Peter 
applied  for  letters  for  his  mother,  sister 
and  himself.  Upon  receiving  his  own  he 
found  that  it  was  not  only  a  letter  of  dis- 
missal to  a  sister  church,  and  to  exhort, 
but  that  it  gave  him  authority  to  hold 
meetings,  organize  classes,  and  form  a  cir- 
cuit. It  also  required  him  to  report  at  the 
fourth  quarterly  meeting  of  Red  river  cir- 
cuit the  next  fall. 

In  his  new  home  he  found  an  academy, 
or  school  of  a  high  grade,  and  for  a  time 
prosecuted  his  studies  with  great  success; 


SAN  GAM  ON  COUNTY. 


191 


but  in  consequence  of  persecutions  that 
arose,  he  abandoned  the  school  and  com- 
menced organizing  the  circuit,  which  he 
reported  in  the  fall  of  that  year — 1803. 
In  October  he  became  a  regular  traveling 
preacher,  with  a  colleague,  on  the  Red 
river  circuit.  His  first  sermon  led  to  the 
conversion  of  an  infidel.  He  "  received 
twenty-five  members  during  the  first  quar- 
ter, and  six  dollars  for  his  support  at  the 
end  of  the  same.  For  the  years  1805  and 
'6  he  was  appointed  to  Sciota  circuit,  in 
the  State  of  Ohio. 

At  the  meeting  of  the  Western  Confer- 
ence, held  in  East  Tennessee,  Mr.  Cart- 
wright  was  ordained  Sept.  15,  1806,  as  a 
Deacon  in*the  M.  E.  Church,  by  Francis 
Asbury,  the  first  Bishop  of  the  church  in 
America.  He  was  next  appointed  to 
Marietta  circuit.  In  the  fall  of  1806  he 
left  that  circuit,  with  a  blind  horse,  almost 
destitute  of  clothing,  and  seventy-five 
cents  in  money,  started  to  travel  more  than 
five  hundred  miles  to  see  his  parents.  The 
next  meeting  of  Conference  was  held 
Sept.  14,  1807,  at  Chillicothe,  O.  His  ap- 
pointment for  1807-8  was  to  Barren  cir- 
cuit, in  Cumberland  district,  Ky.  About 
the  close  of  his  labors  in  that  circuit — 

Rev.  Peter  Cartwright  and  Frances 
Gaines  were  married  Aug.  18,  1808.  She 
was  born  Aug.  18,  1789,  in  Charlotte 
county,  Va.  When  she  was  in  her  seven- 
teenth year  her  parents  moved  to  Lincoln 
county,  Ky.  Her  father  died  there,  and 
her  mother  moved  two  years  later  to  Bar- 
ren county,  where  Frances  was  married. 

The  Conference  was  held  at  Liberty 
Hill,  Tenn.,  commencing  Oct.  I,  1808.  At 
that  meeting  Mr.  C.  was  ordained — Oct. 
4,  1808— to  the  office  of  Elder  of  the  M. 
E.  Church,  by  William  McKendree,  who 
had  become  one  of  the  Bishops  of  the  M. 
E.  Church.  The  ordination  took  place 
Oct.  4,  1808.  His  next  appointment  was 
to  Salt  Creek  circuit,  Ky.  During  that 
year  his  father  died,  and  some  time  was 
spent  in  settling  the  estate.  The  next 
Conference  was  held  at  Cincinnati  in  the 
fall  of  1809.  His  appointment  was  to 
Livingston  circuit.  Cumberland  district, 
Ky.  Mr.  C.  continued  to  preach  in  Ken- 
tucky until  thev  had  seven  children. 
During  that  time  he  saw  and  understood 
the  pernicious  influence  of  slavery,  and 
after  consulting  with  his  wife,  who  was  of 
the  same  mind,  they  determined  to  remove 


to  a  free  State.  In  the  spring  of  1823,  he, 
in  company  with  two  friends,  started  to 
explore  Illinois  in  search  of  a  home.  They 
ascended  the  Wabash  valley,  and  crossed 
the  prairie  to  the  Illinois  river  above  Fort 
Clark,  now  Peoria.  They  went  west  and 
south  and  then  east,  crossing  the  Illinois 
river  at  what  is  now  Beardstown,  where 
there  was  but  one  family  in  a  small  cabin. 
From  there  they  ascended  the  valley  of 
the  Sangamon  river  to  a  settlement  in 
Sangamon  county,  on  Richland  creek, 
where  he  found  a  family  living  in  a  double 
log  cabin,  with  a  few  acres  of  land  under 
cultivation.  Mr.  C.  bought  the  claim,  and 
entered  the  land  when  it  came  into  market. 

He  returned  to  Kentucky  and  brought 
out  his  family,  arriving  Nov.  15,  1824,  at 
the  place  he  had  purchased  the  year  be- 
fore, in  what  is  now  Cartwright  town- 
ship, three-quarters  of  a  mile  north  of 
Pleasant  Plains.  They  had  two  children 
in  Sangamon  county.  Of  their  nine 
children — 

ELIZA  B.,  born  in  Livingston  coun- 
ty, Ky.,  May  n,  1810,  married  Peyton 
L.  Harrison.  See  his  name. 

MARIA  H.,  born  Sept.  20,  1812,  in 
Christian  county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  July  28,  1833,  *o  R-ev-  W- 
D.  R.  Trotter,  who  was  born  near  Bowl- 
ing Green,  Ky.,  and  came  to  Sangamon 
county  in  1830  or  '31.  Mr.  Trotter  was 
a  traveling  preacher  in  the  M.  E.  church 
from  the  time  he  came  to  the  State  until 
1872,  when  he  became  superanuated,  and 
resides  in  Jacksonville.  They  have  fivo 
children,  all  married. 

CYNTHIA,  born  March  27,  1815,  iri 
Christian  county,  Ky.,  was  killed  Oct.  23, 
1824,  by  a  tree,  near  which  they  had  en- 
camped and  kindled  a  fire,  falling  on  her 
while  they  were  all  asleep  on  the  ground. 
They  carried  the  corpse  of  their  child 
twenty  miles,  and  buried  it  in  Hamilton 
county,  111. 

MADISON  A.,  born  July  4,  1817,  in 
Christian  county,  Ky.,  married  Dec.  29, 
1835,  'n  St.  Louis,  to  Matilda  Purvines, 
both  of  Sangamon  county.  They  had 
six  children,  namely:  WILLIAM  T. 
married  Emma  Slater;  had  one  child, 
EVA  A.,  and  he  married  Florence  Moore; 
had  two  children,  EDGAR  EVERETT  and 
ASBURY  i..,  and  reside  in  Cartwright 
township.  MARTHA  J.  married  Daniel 
Harnett,  and  died  August  8,  1862,  at 


192 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OP 


Pleasant  Plains.  PETER  S.  married 
Frances  Maria  Irwin ;  have  two  children, 
JENNIE  E.  and  ROBERT  A.,  and  reside  near 
Chanute,  Kansas.  ELIZABETH  F. 
married  Peter  L.  Harrison.  See  his  name. 
JOHN  M.  and  ANNIE  M.  reside  with 
their  parents  at  Pleasant  Plains. 

WEAL  THT  M.  J.,  born  August  9, 
1819,  in  Christian  county,  Ky.,  married 
March  17,  1840,  to  Gorham  Eaton,  who 
was  born  in  Merrimac  county,  N.  H.  They 
had  three  children,  EMILY  F.  married 
William  G.  Purvines.  See  his  name. 
MARY  A.  married  A.  S.  Nottingham. 
See  his  name.  HORACE  G.  married 
Ella  Allen,  had  one  child,  ELLEN,  and 
Mrs.  Eaton  died.  He  resides  near  Pleas- 
ant Plains.  Gorham  Eaton  died  August 
26,  1846,  and  his  widow  married  March 
26,  1850,  to  Elmer  Mickel,  who  was  born 
in  Cape  May  county,  N.  J.  They  have 
six  children,  ANNIE,  CHARLES  H., 
CAROLINE  M.,  ARMINDA  B., 
MYRA  E.  and  EDWARD  LINCOLN, 
and  reside  two  miles  northwest  of  Pleas- 
ant Plains. 

VALENTINE  C,  born  May  19, 
1821,  in  Christian  county,  Ky.,  married  in 
Sangamon  county,  Feb.  9,  1841,  to  Cin- 
thelia  Scott.  They  have  nine  children. 
SARAH  F.  J.  resides  with  her  parents. 
THOMAS  B.  married  Mary  E.  Cloud, 
daughter  of  Rev.  Newton  Cloud,  of  Jack- 
sonville; have  two  children,  MAUD  and 
CLAUD,  and  reside  near  Waco,  Sedgwick 
county,  Kansas.  CARRIE  E.  married 
Samuel  D.  Pallett,  and  resides  near  Waco, 
Kansas.  HATTIE  J.  married  David  O. 
Williams;  has  one  child,  LESTER,  and  re- 
sides near  Waco,  Kansas.  CHARLES 
A.  resides  near  Waco,  Kansas.  ALBERT 
B.,  MINNIE  P.,  NEWTON  C.  and 
WALTER  D.,  reside  with  their  parents. 
V.  C.  Cartwright  lived  near  Pleasant 
Plains  until  1874,  when  he  moved  to 
Sedgwick  county,  near  Delano,  Kansas. 

SARAH  M.,  born  July  2,  1823,  in 
Christian  county,  Ky.,  married  Sept.  i, 
1841,  to  Henry  Smith,  who  was  born  in 
Cape  May  county,  N.  J.  They  had  ten 
children;  two  died  in  infancy.  MARIA 
F.  married  Frank  N.  Elmore.  See  his 
name.  PETER  C.,  born  Oct.  24,  1844, 
married  Margaret  McDonnell,  who  was 
born  Nov.  17,  1844,  at  Lexington,  Ky. 
They  have  four  children,  HENRY,  MARY 
o.,  NETTIE  and  CARROLL,  and  reside  at 


Pleasant  Plains.  WILLIAM  T.  died 
Feb.  22,  1869,  in  his  twenty-third  year. 
MADISON  N.  resides  west.  CARO- 
LINE E.,  HENRY  D.  and  EDWARD 
P.  reside  with  their  mother.  Henry 
Smith  died  March  20,  1873,  and  his  fam- 
ily reside  at  Pleasant  Plains. 

CAROLINE  M.,  born  Sept.  9,  1826, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  August  30, 
1848,  to  Rev.  Benjamin  Newman.  They 
had  one  child,  PETER  C.,  who  married 
and  resides  at  Mattoon.  Mrs.  C.  M. 
Newman  died  May  23,  1853. 

ARMINDA  F.,  born  Oct.  3,  1828,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Aug.  30,  1848, 
to  Rev.  Levi  C.  Pitner.  They  have  one 
son,  LEE  PITNER,  and  reside  at  Evan- 
ston,  111. 

Rev.  Peter  Cartwright,  D.  D.,  died 
Sept.  25,  1872,  and  his  widow  died  Feb. 
7,  1876,  both  near  Pleasant  Plains,  Sanga- 
mon county,  where  they  settled  in  1824. 
Mr.  Cartwright  had  been  a  member  of  the 
M.  E.  Church  more  than  seventy-one 
years,  a  preacher  nearly  three  score  and 
ten  years,  and  a  Presiding  Elder  more 
than  half  a  century.  To  attempt  a  de- 
scription of  the  man  and  his  labors  would 
be  useless  in  a  sketch  like  this.  Nothing 
but  his  own  "  Autobiography "  and 
"Fifty  Years  a  Presiding  Elder"  could 
do  justice  to  the  subject.  His  system  of 
theology  does  not  admit  of  a  belief  in 
special  providences;  and  yet,  it  would  ap- 
pear to  others  as  though  he  was  especially 
raised  up  to  illustrate  what  one  man  can 
accomplish  in  mental  and  physical  labors 
in  a  good  cause,  sustained  by  the  power 
of  God.  He  had  just  entered  upon  his 
eighty-eighth  year,  and  his  wife  in  her 
eighty-seventh  year.  At  the  time  of  her 
death  she  had  fifty-three  grand-children, 
sixty-two  great-grand-children,  and  five 
great-great-grand-children,  a  total  of  one 
hundred  and  twenty-nine  descendants. 

The  circumstances  of  her  death  were 
exceedingly  impressive.  She  was  attend- 
ing a  religious  meeting  at  Bethel  Chapel, 
about  one  mile  from  her  home,  in  the  op- 
posite direction  from  Pleasant  Plains. 
The  minister  conducting  the  services 
called  on  her  as  the  first  to  give  her  testi- 
mony, which  she  did,  remaining  seated. 
She  spoke  with  much  feeling,  closing  with 
the  words:  "The  past  three  weeks  have 
been  the  happiest  of  all  my  life;  I  am 
waiting  for  the  chariot. "  The  exercises 


SANGAMON    COUNT*. 


'93 


continued  until  sixteen  persons  had  risen 
and  spoken  a  few  words  each,  the  last  of 
whom  was  her  eldest  son.  The  lady  sit- 
ting nearest  her  thought  she  had  fainted, 
and  the  windows  were  thrown  open  to 
admit  fresh  air;  but  "The  chariot  had 
arrived. " 

CARTMELL,  ANDREW, 
was  born  March,  1766,  in  Greenbrier 
county,  Va.  He  went  to  Bath  county, 
Ky.,  when  he  was  a  young  man.  Nancy 
D.  Brown  was  born  Oct.,  1772,  in  Cul- 
pepper  county,  Va.,and  in  1780  was  taken 
by  her  parents  to  Bath  county,  Ky.  A. 
Cartmell  and  Nancy  D.  Brown  were  mar- 
ried and  had  eight  children  in  Kentucky, 
and  they  moved  to  Sangamon  county,  111., 
arriving  Oct.  10,  1829,  six  miles  northeast 
of  Springfield.  Of  their  children — 

WILLIAM  W.,  born  Oct.,  1800,  in 
Bath  county,  Ky.,  married  there  in  1832, 
to  Mary  Crockett,  moved  to  Sangamon 
county,  and  from  there  to  Rails  county, 
Mo.,  raised  a  family  of  six  childi'en,  and 
lives  near  Merton,  Grundy  county,  Mo. 

LUCINDA  married  in  Kentucky  to 
John  Rudder,  had  two  children,  and  died 
there.  Her  children  came  to  Sangamon 
county  with  their  grandfather  Cartmell. 
LUCRETIA  married  Samuel  Houston. 
See  his  name,  THOMAS  was  a  soldier 
in  the  4th  111.  Inf.,  and  was  killed  in  1847, 
in  the  Mexican  war. 

JOHN  M.,  born  August  25,  1802,  in 
Bath  county,  Ky.,  was  married  there 
March  23,  1829,  to  Mildred  R.  Tacket, 
and  came  with  his  parents  to  Sangamon 
in  the  fall  of  that  year.  They  had  five 
children.  AMANDA  A.,  born  April  29, 
1830,  married  March  2,  1852,  to  James 
Black.  See  his  name.  JOHN  W.,  born 
May  19,  1833,  married  in  Missouri  to 
Mary  E.  Chipps,  have  four  children,  and 
reside  near  Merton,  Mo.  He  served  three 
years  in  Co.  C,  23d  Mo.  Inf.,  from  Aug., 
1861.  JAMES  H.,  born  Oct.  14,  1837, 
married  Martha  Crane,  who  died  April 
19,  1871,  leaving  four  children.  He  mar- 
ried Nov.  19,  1872,  to  Mrs.  Zilpha  Hal- 
bert,  whose  maiden  name  was  Taylor. 
They  live  four  miles  east  of  Springfield. 
ELIZA  A.,  born  August  30,  1842,  mar- 
ried James  Black.  See  his  name. 
MARION,  born  July  19,  1845,  married 
Feb.  i,  1872,  to  M.  O.  James,  have  one 
child,  ANNIE  E.,  and  live  six  miles  north 
east  of  Springfield.  Mrs.  M.  R.  Cart- 

— 25 


mell  died  April  14,  1875,  and  John  M. 
Cartmell  lives  where  his  father  settled  in 
1830.  It  is  six  miles  northeast  of  Spring- 
field. 

JAMES  H.,  born  in  1804,  in  Ken- 
tucky, married  there  to  Elizabeth  Duval. 
He  died  in  Sangamon  county,  July  17, 
1839,  and  his  widow  returned  to  Ken- 
tucky. 

EVELINE,  born  July  22,  1807,  in 
Kentucky,  married  in  Sangamon  county, 
Oct.  25,  1830,  to  Charles  Harper.  They 
had  one  child,  and  she  died  May  6^1845. 
Her  son  ULYSSES  lives  in  Texas. 

NANCY,  born  August  11,  1810,  in 
Bath  county,  Ky.,  married  there  to  Willis 
Cassity.  See  his  name. 

ELIZA,  born  in  Kentucky,  married  in 
Sangamon  county,  to  Alex.  Rigdon,  who 
died,  leaving  a  widow  and  seven  children 
near  Mt.  Pulaski. 

MART  A.,  born  in  Kentucky,  married 
in  Sangamon  county  to  Samuel  Harper, 
have  four  children,  and  live  in  Caldwell 
countv,  Texas. 

ANDRE  W  J.,  born  in  Bath  county, 
Ky.,  came  to  Sangamon  county  with  his 
parents,  married  in  Logan  county,  in  1843, 
to  Nancy  Edwards.  They  had  six  child- 
ren. LOUISIANA  married  P.  O'Bran- 
non,and  resides  near  Mt.  Pulaski.  PER- 
MELIA  F.,  born  Nov.  29,  1846,  married 
Walter  C.  Black.  See  his  name.  MARY 
E.  married  George  Hickman,  and  live 
near  Lincoln.  JAMES  H.  lives  near  Mt. 
Pulaski.  TIMOTHY  L.  lives  near  WTil- 
liamsville.  ALVIN  resides  near  Mt. 
Pulaski.  Mrs.  Nancy  Cantrall  died  Sept. 
6,  and  her  husband  Oct.  20,  1856,  both  in 
Logan  county,  p  ^.f  •fw^.U  . 

Andrew  Gantraii  died  bept.  12,  1832, 
and  his  widow  died  Dec.  5,  1858,  both  in 
Sangamon  county. 

CARVER,  JACOB,  born  March 
10,  1787,  in  Pennsylvania.  Elizabeth 
Hoover  was  born  Dec.  8,  1784,  in  Virginia. 
They  were  married  near  Dayton,  O.,  and 
had  nine  children  there.  The  family 
moved  to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  arriving 
in  the  fall  of  1830  in  what  is  now  Clear 
Lake  township,  four  miles  northeast  of 
Springfield.  Of  their  nine  children — 

WILLIAM,  ELIZA  and  JOHN 
died  between  thirteen  and  eighteen  years 
of  age.  The  other  six  are — 

H1GHLT,  born  Jan.  13,  1806,  near 
Dayton,  O.,  was  married  there  April  20, 


EARL?  SETTLERS  OF 


1826,  to  Philip  Shaffer;  came  to  Sanga- 
mon  county  with  her  parents;  moved  the 
same  fall  to  Cass  county,  where  Mr. 
Shaffer  died,  August  28,  1843,  leavmg  six 
children.  The  widow  married  Feb.  i, 
1846,10  Daniel  Lahmon.  They  have  one 
child,  and  reside  near  Virginia,  Cass 
county. 

SARAH,  born  Nov.  26,  1810,  near 
Dayton,  O.,  married  there  to  Jesse  Smith, 
came  to  Sangamon  county  with  her  par- 
ents, had  three  children,  moved  back  to 
Ohio,  where  two  children  were  born  and 
Mr.  Smith  died.  The  family  reside  at 
New  Carlisle,  Clarke  county,  Ohio. 

REBECCA,  born  Sept.  21,  1812,  in 
Ohio,  married  in  Sangamon  county  to 
Benjamin  Hooton,  had  four  children,  and 
moved  to  Ozark  county,  Mo.,  where  she 
died. 

SOPHIA,  born  Aug.  19,  1820,  in 
Ohio,  married  in  Sangamon  county  to 
Henry  Bedinger.  They  had  one  child, 
and  Mr.  B.  died,  and  she  married  Job 
Dickson.  They  had  two  children,  and 
both  parents  died.  Their  son,  JOHN 
DICKSON,  married  Mary  Collins,  and 
resides  in  Sherman.  SARAH  DICK- 
SON  married  Edward  Workman.  He 
was  shot  dead,  Oct.  4,  1865,  by  a  drunken 
man,  because  he  would  not  drink  with 
him.  The  widow  married  Wm.  Howard. 
She  had  one  child  by  each  marriage — 
WM.  H.  WORKMAN  and  JOHN  E. 
HOWARD.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Howard  live 
four  miles  east  of  Springfield. 

JAMES,  born  Dec.  13,  1825,  near 
Dayton,  Montgomery  county,  O.  He 
was  married  in  Sangamon  county,  Jan. 
1 6,  1863,  to  Martha  Workman,  who  was 
born  May  23,  1847,  m  R-usn  county,  Ind. 
They  have  four  children,  WILLIAM 
W.,  JOSEPH  B.,  JAMES  F.  and 
GEORGE  H.,  and  live  at  the  homestead 
settled  by  his  parents  in  1830.  It  is  four 
miles  nortbeast  of  Springfield. 

FELIX,  born  Oct.  4,  1828,  near  Day- 
ton, O.,  married  in  Sangamon  county, 
Jan.  22,  1857,  to  Rachel  Donner.  They 
had  five  children.  FLORA  died  young. 
LIZZIE,  ALBERT,  HENRY  and 
FRANK.  The  four  latter  live  with 
their  parents,  near  where  Mr.  Carver's 
parents  settled  in  1830. 

Jacob  Carver  died  in  1833,  in  Ohio,  hav- 
ing returned  there  on  business.  Mrs. 


Elizabeth  Carver  died  Nov.  8,  1857,  on 
the  farm  where  the  family  settled  in  1830. 
CASSITY,  ALEXANDER, 
was  born  in  1793,  in  Bath  county,  Ky. 
The  father  of  Alexander  and  Willis  Cas- 
sity  built  a  stockade  with  block  houses 
inside,  on  Slate  creek,  in  Bath  county,  in 
the  early  settling  of  Kentucky.  It  was 
called  Cassity's  station,  and  was  a  place  of 
refuge  from  the  Indians  until  thev  were 
forced  out  of  the  country.  Remains  of 
that  station  are  yet  visible.  Alexander 
Cassity  was  married  in  Bath  county  to 
Eliza  B.  Groves.  She  died  there  in  1832, 
leaving  three  children.  He  was  married 
in  the  same  county  to  Elizabeth  Lock- 
ridge,  had  one  child,  and  moved  to  San- 
gamon county,  111.,  arriving  Oct.  26,  1835, 
and  purchased  a  farm  in  what  is  now  the 
southeast  corner  of  Chatham  township, 
where  they  had  five  living  children.  Of 
their  children — 

JOHN  F.,  born  in  1826,  in  Bath 
county,  Ky.,  enlisted  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, Aug.  10,  1 86 1,  for  three  years,  in  Co. 
B,  3oth  111.  Inf.,  and  was  promoted  to 
Sergeant-Major.  He  was  mortally  wound- 
ed at  the  battle  of  Atlanta,  Ga.,  July  22, 
and"  died  July  26,  1864. 

WILLIS  H.,  born  March  23,  1828,  in 
Bath  county,  Ky.,  married  Sept.  26,  1865, 
in  Sangamon  county,  to  Ella  McGriff,  a 
native  of  Preble  county,  Ohio.  They  had 
two  children.  CARRIE  E.  died  young, 
and  MINNIE  L.  lives  with  her  parents, 
in  Auburn. 

JAMES  L.,  born  in  Kentucky,  raised 
in  Sangamon  county,  and  died  in  Iowa. 

MARGARET" E.  married  Andrew 
Ranch.  See  his  name. 

EMMA  C.  married  Jacob  Ranch.  Sec 
his  name. 

FRANCIS  M.  born  in  Sangamon 
county,  and  died  unmarried. 

AMANDA  I.,  born  in  Sangamon 
county,  married  James  T.  Hutton.  See 
his  name.  They  live  on  the  farm  where 
she  was  born,  in  Chatham  township. 

ALEXANDER  M.,  born  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  and  enlisted  July,  1862,  for 
three  years,  in  Co.  I,  73d  111.  Inf.,  was 
wounded  Dec.  31,  1862,  at  the  battle  of 
Stone's  river,  and  discharged  on  account 
of  physical  disability.  He  was  married 
to  Mary  A.  Hutton,  and  lives  in  Gentry 
county,  Mo. 

LOUISA   G.  died  young. 


SANGAMON  COUXTT. 


'95 


MARTHA  L.  born  in  Sangamon 
county,  married  Sept.  5,  1866,  to  John  T. 
Welch.  The  have  two  children,  ED- 
WIN H.  and  HARRY  K.,  and  reside 
in  Auburn.  Air.  Welch  was  born  June 
30,  1842,  in  McDonough  county,  111.  He 
enlisted  April,  1861,  for  three  months,  in 
Co.  D,  i6lh  111.  Inf.  May  24,  1861,  the 
whole  regiment  enlisted  for  three  years. 
Dec.  23,  1863,  the  regiment  re-enlisted  as 
veterans.  J.  T.  Welch  served  through 
all  the  enlistments  to  the  end  of  the  re- 
bellion. He  is  now  a  merchant  in  Au- 
burn. 

Alexander  Cassity  died  March  12,  1851, 
and  his  widow  died  Nov.  16,  1861,  both  on 
the  farm  where  they  settled  in  1835. 

CASSITY,  WILL  IS,  brother  to 
Alexander,  was  born  Jan.  2,  1805,  in  Bath 
county,  Ky.  He  was  married  there  Jan. 
24,  1827,  to  Nancy  Cartmell.  They  had 
two  children  in  Kentucky,  and  moved  to 
Sangamon  county,  arriving  at  Springfield 
Oct.  10,  1829.  They  had  one  child  in 
Sangamon  county.  Of  their  children — 

JAMES  W.,  born  in  Kentucky,  died 
at  twenty  years  of  age. 

ELIZABETH,  born  in  Kentucky, 
married  John  Parsons.  He  died  August, 
1872,  leaving  a  widow  and  six  children, 
near  Salisbury. 

LEV  I,  born  Jan.  i,  1836,  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  enlisted  Oct.  20,  1861,  in  Co. 
B,  loth  111.  Cav.,  for  three  years.  As  a 
non-commissioned  officer  he  commanded 
a  section  of  one  of  the  batteries  attached 
to  the  regiment  at  the  battle  of  Prairie 
Grove,  Ark.,  Dec.  7,  1862,  and  lost  his 
left  arm  in  that  engagement.  He  was 
discharged  on  account  of  physical  disabil- 
ity, Dec.  31,  1862.  Lev!  Cassity  was 
married  April  23,  1863,  to  Nancy  Dren- 
nan.  They  have  one  child,  JOHN  F., 
and  live  three  and  a  half  miles  southeast 
of  Chatham. 

Willis  Cassity,  after  coming  to  Sanga- 
mon county,  lived  a  few  years  in  Logan 
county,  and  a  few  years  in  Missouri.  He 
and  his  wife  now  live  in  Ball  township. 

CASSITY  WILLIAM,  cousin 
to  Alexander  and  Willis,  was  born  in 
Bath  county,  Ky.  He  was  married  in 
Nicholas  county,  Ky.,  to  Honor  Wells,  a 
native  of  Pennsylvania.  They  had  five 
living  children  in  Kentucky,  and  moved 
to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  arriving  in  the 


fall    of  1830,  in  what  is  now   Rochester 
township.     Of  their  children — 

GEORGE  died  in  Kentucky,  at  twen- 
ty-two years  ot  age. 

JEREMIAH  died  in  Kentucky,  at 
sixteen  years  of  age. 

REBECCA,  born  Feb.  14,  1802,  in 
Nicholas  county,  Ky.,  married  Edward 
Branch.  See  his  name. 

LE  WIS,  born  in  Kentucky  about  1805, 
and  died  in  Sangamon  county,  unmarried, 
in  1852. 

MAR  T,  born  Aug.  28,  1806,  in  Nicho- 
las county,  Ky.,  married  there  Jan.  4, 
1827,  to  James  W.  Neill.  See  his  name. 

William  Cassity  died  in  1844,  and  Mrs. 
Honor  Cassity  died  Aug.,  1854,  both  in 
Rochester  township. 

CASS,  ROBERT,  was  born  in 
1768  or  '9,  in  Iredell  county,  N.  C.  His 
father,  James  Cass,  was  born  in  England, 
and  when  he  was  six  or  seven  years  of 
age  was  pressed  into  the  British  navy,  and 
trained  to  a  sea-faring  life.  Being  separ- 
ated from  his  relatives  at  so  early  an  age, 
he  never  understood  his  own  name,  and 
called  himself  James  Cast.  He  came  to 
Philadelphia,  and  finally  settled  in  Iredell 
county,  N.  C.  After  raising  a  family 
there,  he  moved  with  his  children  to 
Clarke  county,  Ky.,  and  there  met  two 
Englishmen  by  the  name  of  Cass.  After 
becoming  acquainted,  he  found  that  one  of 
them  was  his  brothei',  and  the  other  his 
cousin,  and  for  the  first  time  learned  that 
the  family  name  was  not  Cast,  but  Cass. 
His  son  Robert,  whose  name  heads  this 
sketch,  having  always  been  called  Cast, 
did  not  think  it  prudent  to  resume  the 
original  name,  but  related  the  facts  in  the 
case  to  his  children,  and  his  descendants 
have  very  generally  returned  to  it.  Rob- 
ert Cass  was  married  Feb.  26,  1790,  in 
Iredell  county,  N.  C.,  to  Lucy  Rik-v. 
They  had  one  child  there,  and  moved  to 
Clarke  county,  Ky.,  where  they  had  four 
children,  and  Mrs.  Lucy  Cass  died,  Feb. 
13,  1809.  Robert  Cass  was  married  in 
Clarke  county,  April  26,  1810,  to  Mary 
Boggs,  and  had  two  children  there.  The 
family  then  moved  to  Sangamon  county, 
111.,  arriving  Oct.  2,  1826,  in  Buffalo  Hart 
grove.  Of  his  seven  children — 

AMON,  born  Sept.  6,  1792,511  North 
Carolina,  married  March  18,  1813,  in  Ken- 
tucky, to  Patsy  Simpson.  He  raised  a 


196 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


family,  and  remained  in  Clarke  county, 
Kentucky.  -7 

JAMES,  born  Aug.  12,  1397,  m 
Clarke  county,  Ky.,  and  married  there 
Nov.  20,  1817,  to  Ann  Hood.  They  had 
eight  children,  and  came  to  Sangamon 
county  in  1829.  Mrs.  Ann  Cass  died,  and 
James  Cass  married  Amanda  McKinney. 
They  had  four  children,  and  he  died.  His 
widow  and  living  children  reside  near 
Mt.  Pulaski.  His  son  JOHN,  born  Sept. 
22,  1820,  in  Kentucky,  was  married  Feb. 
28,  1847,  in  Sangamon  county,  to  Mary  J. 
Burns.  They  had  thirteen  children. 
ARTANECIA,  born  Feb.  5,  1849,  was  mar- 
ried April  15,  1873,  to  G.  \V.  Edwards, 
and  lives  at  Buffalo  Hart  Grove.  AMON, 
born  Sept.  3,  1851,  lives  with  his  mother. 
ALEXANDER,  born  Nov.  6,  1853,  was 
married  near  Springfield,  111.,  Nov.  3, 
1875,  to  Delia  Fenton,  and  lives  at  Farmer 
City,  DeWitt  county,  111.  LUCY  A.,  born 
April  30,  1855,  was  married  March  13, 
1872,  to  Herbert  White.  They  have  one 
child,  Olive  May,  arid  live  at  Farmer 
City.  ALVI,  JOHN  L.,  ISABEL,  IDA,  ANNA 

E.,     SOPHIA,     ROBERT    F.,     HATTIE    J.     and 

TROMAS  F.  w.,  live  with  their  mother. 
John  Cass  died  Jan.  17,  1872.  His  widow 
and  children  live  near  Buffalo  Hart  station, 
or  Farmer  City,  111.  FRANK  D,  born  Dec. 
6,  1832,  in  Sangamon  county,  was  married 
April  29,  1858,  to  Sarah  G.  Landis,  who 
was  born  April  8,1833,  m  Indianapolis, 
Ind.  They  have  one  child  living,  ED- 
WARD K.  F.  D.  Cass  studied  medicine  in 
Mt.  Pulaski,  teaching  school  in  the  mean- 
time. He  graduated  at  Rush  Medical 
College  in  1864.  Was  appointed  assistant 
surgeon  of  the  I5ist  111.  Inf.  in  1865, 
served  a  short  time  and  resigned.  Dr. 
Frank  D.  Cass  resides  at  Mt.  Pulaski,  111., 
and  is  engaged  in  practice  there. 

ARCHIBALD,  born  Dec.  i,  1799,  in 
Clarke  county,  Ky.,  married  there  to 
Deborah  Mershon.  They  had  three 
children  in  Kentucky,  and  came  to  San- 
gamon county,  Illinois,  arriving  Oct., 
1828,  at  Buffalo  Hart  Grove,  where  they 
had  three  children.  Of  their  children: 
ROBERT,  born  Nov.  20,  1821,  in  Ken- 
tucky, married  in  Sangamon  county, 
Aug.  20,  1840,  to  Sarah  J.  Lawson.  They 
had  four  children.  MINERVA  j.  and  OR- 
LANDO w.  died  under  two  years.  FLOR- 
ENCE F.,  born  May  17,  1852,  died  August 
24,  1869.  NOAH  MATHENY,  born  July  9, 


1857,  lives  with  his  parents,  near  Buffalo 
Hart  Station.  SARAH  J.,  born  Oct.  27, 
1826,  in  Kentucky,  married  m  Sangamon 
county,  in  1842,10  George  Ridgway,have 
four  living  children,  MARY  c.,  ROBERT,JOH  \ 
and  ALLEN,  and  live  near  Lockhart,  Texas. 
WILLIAM  L.,  born  Aug.  15,  1829,  in 
Sangamon  county,  died  Aug.  20,  1846. 
The  other  children  all  died  under  six 
years.  Archibald  Cass  died  Sept.,  1852, 
and  his  widow  died  later,  both  in  Sanga- 
mon county.  He  was  a  soldier  from  San- 
gamon county  in  the  Black  Hawk  war  in 
1831-2.  He  was  also  a  member  of  Co. 
D,  4th  111.  Inf.,  and  served  one  year-  in 
1846-7,  in  the'  war  with  Mexico.  He  was 
a  nurse  in  the  army,  and  practiced  medi- 
cine the  latter  part  of  his  life. 

PATSr,born  Dec.  28,  1802,  in  Clarke 
county,  Ky.,  married  there  Sept.  15,  1825, 
to  Robert  E.  Burns.  See  his  name. 

NINIAN  R.,  born  April  8,  1806,  in 
Clarke  county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county  to  Mary  Wade,  They  had 
seven  children.  THOMAS  F.  died  in 
1849  at  Mt.  Pulaski,  aged  twenty-three 
years.  GEORGE  W.,  married  Martha 
J.  Turley,  have  nine  children,  and  live 
near  Lincoln.  EMILY  married  Daniel 
Dunn,  had  two  children,  and  died  in  Mis- 
souri. Her  children:  THOMAS  A.,  resides 
at  Mt.  Pulaski.  MARY  E.  resides  with 
her  aunt,  Mrs.  Jones.  LUCY  E.,  born 
March  28,  1836,111  Logan  county,  married 
Strother  G.  Jones.  See  his  name.  CAR- 
OLINE A.,  born  August  16,  1838,  is  un- 
married, and  resides  at  Lincoln.  SARAH 
AGNES,  born  in  1840,  married  Simpson 
Constant,  had  one  child,  CASS  CONSTANT, 
and  she  married  Frederick  Bush.  They 
have  two  living  children,  NELLIE  E.  and 
CARRIE  B.,  and  reside  at  Mt.  Pulaski. 
ROBERT  enlisted  for  three  years,  in 
1862,  in  an  Illinois  regiment,  and  died 
August,  1863,  at  Murfreesboro,  Tenn. 
Mrs.  Mary  Cass  died  Dec.  31,  1848. 
N.  R.  Cass  married  Mrs.  Elizabeth 
Swing,  whose  maiden  name  was  Laugh- 
ney.  She  had  one  child,  Belle  W.  Swing, 
by  a  former  marriage.  She  married 
T.  T.  Beach,  who  is  a  practicing  lawyer, 
and  lives  in  Lincoln.  Ninian  R.  Cass 
died  August,  1872,  at  Mt.  Pulaski,  and  his 
widow  resides  with  her  daughter,  Mrs. 
Beach,  at  Lincoln. 

A.  'BO  WEN,  born  Feb.  n,  1811,  in 
Clarke  county,  Ky.,  came  with  his  parents 


SANGAMON    COUNTY. 


197 


to  Sangamon  county  in  Oct.,  1826,  mar- 
ried Jan.  17,  1830,  to  Melinda  Burns. 
They  had  nine  children  in  Sangamon 
county,  namely:  ELIZABETH  E., 
born  Nov.  14,  1830,  married  Nov.  8,  1849, 
to  Michael  Finfrock.  He  was  born  May 
3,  1820,  in  Chambersburg,  Pa.,  went  to 
Miami  county  O.,  with  his  parents  in  1836, 
and  came  to  Saugamon  county  in  1843, 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Finfrock  have  seven  child- 
ren, BOWEN  C.,  HELEN  M.,  CHARLES  M., 
PAUL  H.,  IRVING  G.,  WILLIS  and  ERNEST 

s.  reside  with  their  parents,  four  miles 
southeast  of  Buffalo  Hart  Station.  Mr. 
•Finfrock  was  a  member  of  the  Sangamon 
county  Board  of  Supervisors  at  the  first 
term  in  1861-2,  and  again  from  1872  to 
1876.  MARY  C.,  born  May  8,  1833, 
married  March  31,  1858,  to  Benjamin  F. 
Edwards,  who  was  born  July  12,  1823,  in 
Madison  county,  N.  Y.  They  have  four 
children,  GAYLORD  c.,  JOHN  p.,  BENJA- 
MIN F.,  Jim.,  and  MARY  B.,  and  reside  two 
miles  southeast  of  Buffalo  Hart  Station. 
LUCY  A.,  born  August  31,  1835,  mar- 
ried April  20,  1869,  to  Dr.  Leslie  Gillette. 
They  have  three  children,  LESLIE  B., 
FANNIE  T.  and  CEOGIANA,  and  reside  at 
Buffalo.  LEWIS,  born  March  10,  1838, 
married  Dec.  24,  1862,  to  Christiana  Law- 
son.  They  had  four  children.  The 
eldest,  WILLIAM  s.,  and  the  youngest, 
ALFRED,  died  in  the  second  year  of  their 
ages.  CLARENCE  F.  and  ARTHUR  F.  re- 
side with  their  parents,  five  miles  south- 
east of  Buffalo  Hart  Station.  PAULI- 
NA J.,  born  Oct.  4,  1843,  married  Oct.  13, 
1864,  to  Alfred  Shrieve,  and  resides  near 
Elkhart.  HARDIN,  born  Sept.  16, 
1845,  married  Oct.  10,  1866,  to  Hattie  N. 
Landis,  have  two  children,  PHILIP  and 
LEWIS  B,,  and  reside  one  and  a  half  miles 
southwest  of  Buffalo  Hart  Station. 
SCOTT,  born  Nov.  20,  1847,  MARION, 
born  April  12,  1850,  and  HARRY,  born 
born  Feb.  3,  1854,  live  with  their  parents. 
Ambrose  Bowen  Cass  and  his  wife  reside 
half  a  mile  southwest  of  Buffalo  Hart 
Station,  and  within  one  fourth  of  a  mile 
of  where  his  father  settled  in  1826.  He 
was  a  soldier  in  the  Black  Hawk  war, 
both  in  1831  and  1832,  from  Sangamon 
county,  and  was  in  the  battles  of  Bad  Axe 
and  Wisconsin. 

LUCY  A.,  born  Jan.  15,  1813,  in 
Clarke  county,  Ky.,  married  April  17, 
1828,  to  John  R.  Burns.  See  his  name. 


Mrs.  Mary  Cass  died  Sept.  14,  1840, 
and  Robert  Cass  died  July  9,  1852,  both 
near  where  they  settled  in  1826. 

CHAMBERS,  HENRY  B., 
born  Jan,  i,  1809,  near  Dover,  Del.  He 
was  married  in  Delaware  to  Elizabeth 
Bodie,  and  moved  to  Adams  county,  111., 
in  1831,  and  from  there  to  Springfield,  in 
1840,  where  Mrs.  C.  died,  April,  1854. 
He  was  married  Jan.  25,  1855,  to  Mrs. 
Elizabeth  A.  Turner,  whose  maiden  name 
was  Earnest.  They  had  seven  children — 

ELIZABETH  E.,  JAMES  H., 
JOHN  B.,  WILLIAM  R.,  JACOB 
J.,  KENDALL  and  MAGGIE  J. 

H.  B.  Chambers  died  May  26,  1871, 
and  his  widow  resides  four  miles  west  of 
Springfield. 

CHANDLER,  ROBERT, was 
born  about  1812,  in  Kentucky.  He  was 
left  an  orphan  at  eight  years  of  age,  and 
was  bound  to  Russell  Fletcher,  who  took 
him  to  Overton  county,  Tenn.,  and  from 
there  to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  arriving 
in  the  spring  of  1832.  He  married  Ellen 
Parmenter,  who  died,  and  he  married 
Elizabeth  Carter.  They  had  eight  child- 
ren in  Sangamon  county — 

LUCY  J.  married  Christopher  Whee- 
lan,  and  live  in  Riverton. 

REBECCA  died,  aged  eighteen. 

MARY  E.  married  Stephen  Huntsley, 
and  live  in  Christian  county. 

MARTHA  W.,  FRANCIS  J/., 
GEORGE  H.,  CHARLES  O.  and 
ED  WARD,  reside  with  their  parents, 
half  a  mile  from  Sherman. 

CHERRY,  BENJAMIN,  was 
born  Jan.  26,  1790,  in  Franklin  county, 
Ga.  VVhen  he  was  seventeen  years  old 
his  parents  moved  to  Overton  county, 
Tenn.  Benjamin  was  a  soldier  from  Ten- 
nessee in  the  war  of  1812.  In  the  fall  of 
1819  he  came  to  Sangamon  county,  and 
soon  after  went  to  work  for  Edward 
Clark,  who  came  about  the  same  time. 
Elizabeth  Strickland  was  born  May  12, 
1799,  near  the  sea  coast,  south  of  Charles- 
ton, S.  C.  Her  parents  moved  to  Tennes- 
see, and  from  there  to  St.  Clair  county, 
111.,  thence  to  Sangamon  county  in  1819, 
and  Elizabeth  came  in  the  spring  of  1820. 
Benjamin  Cherry  and  Elizabeth  Strick- 
land made  arrangements  to  celebrate  the 
4th  of  July,  but  could  not  obtain  the  li- 
cense from  Edwardsville  in  time,  and  they 
were  married  July  n,  1820.  They  had 


198 


EARLY  SETTLERS  Of 


seven  children  in  Sangamon  county, 
two  of  whom  died  young.  Of  the  other 
five — 

WYATT,  born  Nov.  9,  1821,  married 
in  Sangamon  county  to  Susan  Hall,  have 
several  children,  and  reside  near  Blue 
Mound,  Macon  county. 

MARTHA,  born  in  1826,  married 
William  Allen,  had  seven  children,  moved 
to  Missouri,  and  died  near  Carthage. 

C LEMON  died  at  twenty-three. 

ALMYRA,  born  March  20,  1830,  mar- 
ried David  Huckleberry.  See  his  name. 

BENJAMIN,  Jun.,  married  Eliza 
Barnes.  They  had  four  children,  and 
moved  to  Pike's  Peak.  Mr.  Cherry  died 
there.  His  widow  and  only  living  child, 
CHARLES,  live  in  Springfield.  He  is 
employed  at  the  watch  factory. 

Benjamin  Cherrv  died  in  1874,  near 
Riverton. 

CHILD,  STEPHEN,  was  born 
June  12,  1802,  in  Waitsfield,  Vt.  His 
parents  moved  to  Barnstown,  Lower 
Canada,  in  1806,  and  in  1815  to  Hartland, 
Windham  county,  Vt.,  where  they  both 
died.  In  1820  Stephen  went  to  Potsdam, 
St.  Lawrence  county,  N.  Y.,  and  engaged 
in  teaching.  He  was  there  married,  March 
<j.,  1826,  to  Hannah  Lyman,  who  was  born 
Sept.  15,  1808,  in  Brookfield,  Vt.  They 
had  two  children  in  New  York,  and  came 
to  Sangamon  county  as  part  of  a  colony 
of  fifty-two  persons,  arriving  Oct.  26, 
1833,  in  the  village  of  Sangamo.  They 
had  three  children  in  Sangamon  county. 
Of  their  five  children — 

JOHN  L.,  born  March  23,  1827,  in 
St.  Lawrence  county,  N.  Y.,  married  in 
Sangamon  county,  Feb.  17,  1859,  to  Mary 
E.  Anderson.  They  have  two  children, 
FRANKIE  and  CHARLEY,  and  reside 
near  Farmingdale. 

MARY  L.,  born  Sept.  27,  1831,  in  St. 
Lawrence  county,  N.  Y.,  married  in  San- 
gamon county  to  George  B.  Seeley.  See 
his  name.  They  reside  in  Abilene,  Kan. 

MARTHA,  born  Dec.  8,  1833,  in  San- 
gamon county,  married  Thomas  Frank 
Anderson.  See  his  name. 

STEPHEN,  Jun.,  born  April  14, 
1848,  in  Sangamon  county,  resides  with 
his  mother,  near  Farmingdale. 

HANNAH,  born  Nov.  29,  1850,  died 
in  her  third  year. 

Stephen  Child  died  Sept.  4th,  1875,  and 
his  widow  resides  near  Farmingdale. 


Mr.  Child  was  a  farmer  and  teacher  all 
his  life.  He  was  an  original  abolitionist, 
and  as  an  agent  of  the  underground  rail- 
road, he  assisted  hundreds  of  colored  peo- 
ple in  their  flight  from  bondage.  He 
conducted  a  company  of  twenty-one  at 
one  time.  It  was  his  custom  to  go  as  far 
as  he  could  travel  in  one  night  and  return, 
but  on  some  occasions  he  has  gone  as  far 
sixty  miles,  and  then  left  them  in  the 
hands  of  friends  who  would  conduct  them 
onward.  The  last  time  the  writer  of  this, 
conversed  with  Mr.  Child,  he  expressed 
special  satisfaction  that  he  had  assisted  so 
many  human  beings  on  their  way  to 
freedom,  and  gratitude  that  he  had  lived 
to  see  the  day  that  there  was  not  a  slave 
in  the  United  States  of  America. 

CHURCHILL,  GEORGE, 
was  born  about  1766,  in  Virginia.  His 
parents  died  when  he  was  quite  young, 
and  he  went  to  Woodford  county,  Ky., 
where  he  was  married  to  Sarah  Arnold, 
who  was  born  in  that  county  about  1 780. 
They  had  eleven  children  in  Shelby 
county,  Ky.,  and  the  family  moved  to 
Sangamon  county,  111.,  arriving  in  the  fall 
of  1827,  near  what  is  now  Mechanicsburg. 
Of  their  children — 

MARY,  married  in  Kentucky  to  Wil- 
liam Threlkeld,  brought  up  in  large  family, 
and  never  moved  to  Illinois.  Their 
daughter  SARAH  J.  is  the  wife  of  Wil- 
liam P.  McKinnie.  See  his  name. 
MARIETTA,  born  Jan.  31,  1829,  in 
Shelby  county,  Ky.,  married  there,  Jan. 
14,  1847,  t°  Joseph  H.  Agee.  They  had 
two  children  born  there,  and  in  the  fall  of 
1851  moved  to  Sangamon  county,  where 
seven  children  were  born.  Of  their  child- 
ren: EDWIN  ii.,  born  in  Shelby  county, 
Ky.,  resides  with  his  mother.  4  MAUY  H., 
born  Jan.  29,  1851,  in  Kentucky,  married 
in  Sangamon  county,  Oct.  3,  1871,  to 
Ambrose  B.  Cass,  Jun.  They  live  at 
East  Lynn,  Cass  county,  Mo.  ALICE  A. 
married  Jan.  16,  1873,  to  Robert  W.Jess, 
a  native  of  Bellfast,  Ireland.  They  live 
at  Riverton.  LIZZIE  T.,  EMMA  and  j.  AL- 
VEY  reside  with  their  mother.  The  sixth, 
seventh  and  eighth  children,  viz:  LUCYJ., 
WILLIAM  s.  and  CEPHAS  L.,  all  died  under 
eight  years.  Joseph  H.  Agee  died  Sept. 
25,  1865.  The  father  and  three  children 
all  died  within  nineteen  days.  Mrs. 
Marietta  Agee  and  her  family  reside  two 
miles  east  of  Riverton. 


SANGAMON  COUNTT. 


199 


LUC1NDA,  born  in  Kentucky,  mar- 
ried there  to  William  Crimm,  and  both 
died  in  Southern  Illinois,  leaving  seven  or 
eight  children.  The  three  eldest  were 

WIM.iAM,   ABSALOM  and  MARTHA. 

JOHN  A.,  born  March  6,  1800,  in 
Shelby  county,  Ky.,  married  there  to 
Sarah  Scoggin.  They  had  three  children, 
came  to  Sangamon  county,  and  settled 
near  Mechanicsburg,  where  they  had  six 
children.  Of  their  children.  JOEL, 
born  July  19,  1823,  in  Kentucky,  married 
in  Sangamon  county  to  Lucretia  J.  Bondu- 
rant.  They  had  eleven  living  children. 
MARTHA  A.,  MARY  L.,  ELIZABETH  j., 

JOHN    T.,  THOMAS    A.,    JOSEPH     W.,    JESSE, 
EDGAR,    HARVEY,  ETHA    G.  and    ARTHUR. 

Mr.  C.  and  family  moved  to  Kansas  in 
1865,  an(^  m  x^75  ^turned  to  Illinois,  and 
live  in  DeLand,  Piatt  county.  WIL- 
LIAM, born  April  4,  1825,  in  Kentucky, 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  Eliza- 
beth Lemon.  They  reside  in  Monmouth, 
Polk  county,  Oregon.  ANN,  born  Jan. 
22,  1827,  in  Kentucky,  died  in  Sangamon 
county  in  her  eighteenth  year.  GEORGE, 
born  August  15,  1829,  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, went  to  Oregon,  and  there  married 
Hannah  E.  Sherel.  They  have  three 
children,  and  live  in  Linn  county,  Oregon. 
WILLOUGHBY,  born  Dec.  23,  1831,  in 
Sangamon  county,  went,  when  a  young 
man,  to  the  Pacific  coast,  and  lives  in 
Oregon.  SARAH  E.,  born  Jan.  4,  1834, 
in  Sangamon  county,  resides  with  her 
sister,  Mrs.  Smith,  in  Illiopolis.  JOHN, 
born  Feb.  15,  1836,  in  Sangamon  county, 
enlisted  July  19,  1861,  for  three  years,  in 
Co.  I,  41  111.  Inf.,  re-enlisted  as  a  veteran, 
Jan.,  1864.  He  was  promoted  to  Sergeant, 
July,  1863,  an<^  to  2<1  Lieut.,  Nov.,  1864. 
Was  with  Sherman  in  his  "  march  to  the 
tea,"  and  was  honorably  discharged,  June, 
1865.  He  was  married  Feb.  14,  1867,  in 
Sangamon  county,  to  Mary  M.  Graham. 
They  have  one  living  child,  ANNA,  and 
live  three  miles  north  of  Illiopolis. 
LOUISA,  born  April  25,  1838,  in  San- 
gamon county,  married  April  10,  1860,  to 
Reuben  Smith,  who  was  born  Nov.  4, 
1833,  'm  Duchess  county,  N.  Y.  They 
have  three  living  children,  GEORGE,  ADA 
and  HERBERT,  and  live  in  Illiopolis. 
MARY,  born  Dec.  17,  1840,  died  in  her 
eleventh  year.  Mrs.  Sarah  Churchill  died 
Dec.  30,  1840,  and  John  A.  Churchill 
married  July  3,  1842,  to  Mrs.  Elizabeth 


Underwood,  whose  maiden  name  was 
Lemon.  She  was  born  March  29,  1808, 
in  Georgetown,  Ky.  They  had  two 
children,  JULIA,  born  July  1 2,  1843,  in 
Sangamon  county,  lives  with  her  mother. 
LEMON  P.  died  in  his  sixth  year.  John 
A.  Churchill  died  Feb.  4,  1845,  anc*  n's 
widow  and  daughter  reside  in  Mechanics- 
burg. 

AL  VAH,  born  in  Kentucky,  married 
there  to  Burnetta  Samples,  moved  to  In- 
diana, and  from  there  to  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, in  1832,  settling  near  Mechanicsburg. 
They  had  four  children,  and  moved  to 
Iowa;  from  there  to  Oregon  in  18^53, 
where  he  died. 

LR  WIS,  born  in  Kentucky,  married 
in  Sangamon  county  to  Mary  A.  Cooper. 
They  had  eleven  children  and  moved  to 
Iowa;  from  there,  in  1853,  to  Oregon, 
with  his  brother  Alva.  He  died  Jan.  13, 
1869,  leaving  a  widow  and  children. 

WILL  O  C  GHB  T,  born  Feb.  1 5, :  809, 
in  Shelby  county,  Ky.,  married  Oct.  6, 
1834,  in  Sangamon  county,  111.,  to  Eliza- 
beth J.  Humphreys.  They  had  six  child- 
ren in  Sangamon  county,  and  in  1851 
moved  to  the  Pacific  coast.  Mrs.  Churchill 
died  at  Delles,  foot  of  Cascade  mountains, 
in  Waco  county,  Oregon,  and  Mr.  C.  mar 
ried  in  Oregon,  August  1 1,  1852,  to  Matil- 
da A.  Price,  who  was  born  Jan.  12,  1828. 
They  had  six  children.  Of  his  children 
by  the  first  marriage,  GEORGE  H.,  born 
May  13,  1837,  in  Sangamon  county,  mar- 
ried Catharine  Reed,  in  Oregon.  OWEN 
H.,  born  June  16,  1845,  in  Sangamon 
county,  111.,  is  in  Montana.  DAVID  H., 
born  March  31,  1843,  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, married  July  23, 1875,  to  Minnie  Lord. 
They  live  in  Helena  Citv,  Montana  Ter. 
MARY  J.,  born  Oct.  21,  1845,  m  Sanga- 
mon county,  was  married  in  Oregon  to 
John  M.  Roach.  They  live  in  Clackamas 
county,  Oregon.  MARTHA  A.,  born 
August  22,  1848,  in  Sangamon  county, 
died  April  18,  1864,  in  Oregon.  Children 
of  the  second  wife,  all  born  in  Oregon: 
OLIVER  D.,  born  May  19,  1853, 
JAMES  E.,born  May  18,  1854,  LAURA 
B.,  born  May  8,  1856,  near  Harrisburg, 
was  married  June  18,  1874,  to  George 
Jordan.  They  live  near  Harrisburg,  Or- 
egon. THOMAS  A.,  born  July  27, 
1857,  and  MINNIE  D.,  born  July  6, 
1859,  lives  with  her  parents.  Willoughby 


2OO 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OP 


Churchill  and  family  reside  near  Harris- 
burg,  Lynn  county,  Oregon. 

ELIZABETH,\3orn  Sept.  n,  1811, 
in  Shelby  county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon  county  to  Jesse  Pickrell.  See  his 
name. 

MAJR7WA,  born  July  16,  1815,  in 
Shelby  county,  Ky.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon  county,  June  16,  1833,  to  Griffin 
Fletcher,  who  was  born  Dec.  23,  1810, 
near  Mt.  Sterling,  Montgomery  county, 
Ky.  They  had  ten  living  children. 
MARY  A.,  born  Sept.  20,  1836,  married 
H.  C.  Stiver,  Sept.  28, 1855,  in  Sangamon 
county.  They  have  four  living  children, 

KATIE,     NELLIE,    CARRIE     and     CHARLES. 

Mr.  Stiver  moved  to  Texas  in  Dec.,  1872. 
SARAH  J.,  born  Nov.  15,  1838,  married 
Zachariah  Pope,  in  1854,  in  Sangamon 
county,  and  died  May  3,  1857.  RHODA 
E.,  born  Jan.  4,  1841,  married  Levi  S. 
Ridgeway,  in  Sangamon  county,  Feb.  16, 
1857.  They  had  four  children,  IRA  H. 
and  IDA  s.  (twins),  CATHARINE  E.,  ABBIE 
and  LOR  A.  Mr.  Ridgeway  died  August 
30,  1868,  and  Mrs.  R.  and  family  live 
near  Decatur,  111.  DAVID  C.,  born 
March  3,  1843,  m  Christian  county, 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  Mary 
A.  Garvey.  See  sketch  of  the  Garvey 
family.  JAMES  L.,  born  Nov.  3,  1845, 
is  a  grocer  in  Decatur.  JOHN  W\, 
born  Dec.  2,  1847,  married  May  10, 
1869,  to  Emma  Clevenger,  in  Abington, 
Knox  county,  111.  They  have  three 
children,  MAY  D.,  THERON  and  STELLA, 
and  live  in  Decatur,  111.  ABEL  P.,  born 
Feb.  15,  18^2,  and  MARTHA  J.,  born 
May  24,  1854,  live  with  their  parents. 
Griffin  Fletcher  and  wife  reside  in  Deca- 
tur, 111. 

EL  VIRA  A.,  born  Sept.  24,  1817,  in 
Shelby  county,  Ky.,  was  married  Feb.  6, 
1834,  in  Sangamon  county,  to  John  Gar- 
rett.  They  moved  to  the  vicinity  of 
Pittsfield,  Pike  county,  111.,  in  1834,  and 
had  seven  living  children.  BENJ.  F., 
born  in  1835,  married  in  Pittsfield  to 
Anna  E.  Adams,  June,  1867,  and  live  in 
Newton  county,  Kansas.  MARY  E., 
born  in  1838,  resides  with  her  mother. 
LOUISA  A.,  born  in  1843,  married  S. 
Woolfolk.  MARTHA  A.,  born  in  1846, 
lives  with  her  mother.  SARAH  E., 
born  in  1848,  married  July,  1872,  to  Rob- 
ert Howard.  They  have  one  child, 
FLORENCE  B.,  and  live  in  St.  Louis,  Mo. 


LOTHARIO,  born  in  1850,  and  ELIZA 
J.,  born  in  1853,  live  with  their  mother  in 
Pittsfield,  Pike  county,  111.  In  1866  Mr. 
Garrett  sold  out,  with  the  intention  of 
moving  to  Kansas.  He  left  home  alone 
with  a  load  of  goods,  and  was  murdered 
in  Bates  county,  Mo.,  in  Nov.,  1866. 

DAVID  B.,  born  in  1821,  in  Ken- 
tucky, was  killed  by  lightning  in  Sanga- 
mon county,  May  7,  1842. 

CC7L  VI N  S.,  born  June  30,  1824,  in 
Kentucky,  married  July  31,  1845,  m  San- 
gamon county,  to  Hester  F.  King.  They 
had  nine  children;  three  died  in  infancy, 
and  GEORGE  W.  died,  aged  ten  years. 
HENRY  H.,  born  Jan.  14,  1847,  married 
in  1873  to  Lizzie  Grubb,  and  resides  neat- 
Baldwin  City,  Kansas.  PERMELIA  A., 
born  June  5,  1849,  married  William  Hous- 
ton. See  his  name.  FIELDING  A., 
SALLIE  and  AMANDA  P.,  reside  with 
their  parents,  near  German  Prairie  Sta- 
tion. 

George  Churchill  died  May  15,  1837, 
and  Mrs.  Sarah  Churchill  died  Oct.,  1847, 
and  both  were  buried  near  German 
Prairie  Station,  Sangamon  county,  111. 

CLARK,  DAVID,  born  Aug.28, 
1776,  in  Essex  county,  N.  J.  Came  to 
Kentucky  in  1798,  and  was  there  married 
in  1800,  to  Rachel  Rutter.  They  had 
two  children;  one  died  in  infancy,  and 
Mrs.  Rachel  Clark  died  in  1804.  David 
Clark  moved  to  Cincinnati,  O.,  in  1805,  and 
made  brick  for  the  first  brick  house  built 
in  that  city.  He  returned  to  Somerset 
county,  N.  J.,  in  the  same  year,  and  was 
married  there  in  Feb.,  1806,  to  Sallie 
Winans,  who  was  born  Oct.  25,  1788,  in 
that  county.  They  moved  to  Miami 
county,  O.,  in  1809,  and  from  there  to  San- 
gamon county,  111.,  in  1829,  settling  on 
Sugar  creek.  After  two  years  they 
moved  to  Wolf  creek.  They  had  six 
children,  one  of  whom  died  in  infancy. 
Of  the  other  five — 

Rev.  RICHARD  W.,  born  June  16, 
1808,  in  Somerset  county,  N,  J..  was 
married  in  April,  1828,  to  Margaret  Clark, 
a  native  of  Fayette  county,  Ky.  They 
have  five  children  living.  SALLIE  A., 
born  Jan.  n,  1831,  in  Sangamon  county, 
was  married  in  1848  to  Ezra  Clark.  They 
have  six  children,  HATTIE  A.,  LODORSKA 

J.,    PERMELIA     A.,    DAVID    M.,    IRENA     and 

NELLIE,  and  live  in  Chesnut,  Logan 
county,  111.  DAVID,  born  Jan.  2,  1834, 


SANGAMON  COUNTY. 


201 


in  Sangamqn  county,  is  married,  and  re- 
sides in  New  Mexico.  ELIZA,  born 
Nov.  9,  1841,  in  McDonough  county,  was 
married  in  Logan  county,  111.,  to  Jonas 
Shupe,  May  13,  1858.  He  was  a  native 
of  Ohio.  They  had  one  child,  MARY  E., 
who  resides  with  her  uncle,  Dr.  John 
Clark.  Mr.  Shupe  died  Jan.  13,  1865, 
and  Mrs.  Shupe  was  married  Feb.  5,  1871, 
to  John  R.  Ayers.  They  have  one  child, 
LENA,  who  resides  with  her  parents  in 
Mt.  Pulaski.  JOHN  W.,  born  Nov.  13, 
1845,  *n  Logan  county,  111.,  was  married 
Dec.  28,  1874,  in  Chesnut,  Logan  county, 
to  Emma  Sterritt,  a  niece  of  Enoch 
Moore,  of  Springfield,  recently  deceased. 
Dr.  John  W.  Clark  is  a  practising  physi- 
cian at  Milford,  Iroquois  county,  111. 
MARY  E.,  born  Oct.  16,  1847,  was  mar- 
ried March  31,  1866,  near  Mt.  Pulaski,  to 
Benjamin  Harding.  They  have  four 
children,  MAY,  ELIZA,  ELLIS  and  RICH- 
ARD, who  reside  with  their  parents  near 
Mt.  Pulaski.  Rev.  Richard  W.  Clark 
died  Aug.  29,  1854,  and  his  widow  died 
Dec.  21,  1867,  both  in  Logan  county,  111. 

JOHN,  born  Nov.  25,  1810,  in  Miami 
county,  O.,  studied  medicine  there.  Came 
to  Sangamon  county  with  his  father,  re- 
mained one  year,  returned  to  Ohio,  where 
he  was  married,  Aug.  29,  1830,  in  Miami 
county,  to  Eliza  Tremain,  who  was  born 
May  24,  1810,  in  New  York.  They  came 
to  Sangamon  county,  and  followed  farm- 
ing until  1842,  when  he  moved  to  Mt. 
Pulaski  and  engaged  in  the  practice  of 
medicine.  He  was  County  Commissioner 
four  years  for  Logan  county,  and  Justice 
of  the  Peace  seventeen  years,  during 
which  time  he  married  eighty-four  couple. 
He  has,  since  1828,  been  a  member  of  the 
M.  E.  church,  and  a  trustee  of  the  same, 
in  Mt.  Pulaski,  from  the  time  the  church 
was  organized  at  that  .place.  Dr.  John 
Clark  and  wife  reside  in  Mt.  Pulaski. 

CARMAN  W.,  born  May  20,  1815, 
in  Miami  county,  O.,  married  March  29, 
1838,  in  Sangamon  county,  to  Harriet 
Crocker,  step-daughter  of  David  Riddle. 
She  was  born  Aug.  2,  1817,  in  Leba- 
non, St.  Clair  county,  111.  They  had  seven 
children;  one  died  in  infancy.  MARY 
W.,  born  March  24,  1842,  in  Sangamon 
county,  was  married  Oct.  17,  1866,  to 
Alfred  C.  Wilson.  They  have  four  child- 
ren, HARRIE,  HARRIET  H.,  CARMAN  R. 

and  ALFRED,  and   reside   in   Mt.  Pulaski. 
-26 


JOHN,  born  April  22,  1848,111  Sangamon 
county,  died  July  29,  1866.  DAVID  T., 
born  June  27,  1850,  in  Sangamon  county, 
was  married  Jan.  27,  1876,  to  Lucy  Powel. 
They  reside  in  Mt.  Pulaski.  RICHARD 
H.,  born  March  26,  1854,  in  Sangamon 
county,  was  married  Dec.  22,  1875,  to 
Mary  E.  Boggs.  They  reside  in  Mt. 
Pulaski.  ALFRED  R.,  born  July  31, 
1857,  in  Sangamon  county,  and  MARION, 
born  July  I,  1862,  in  Logan  county,  reside 
with  their  parents  in  Mt.  Pulaski. 

SALLY  H.,  born  Sept.  27,  1817,  in 
Miami  county,  Ohio,  was  married  Oct., 
1834,  to  John  Riddle,  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty. They  have  four  children,  all  born  in 
Sangamon  county,  ELIZA  C.,  MARY 
E.,  FRANCIS  A.  and  SALLIE  W., 
and  reside  near  Barclay,  Sangamon 
county. 

ELIZABETH,  born  Dec.  15,  1830, 
in  Miami  county,  Ohio,  was  married  Dec., 
1847,  to  Alfred  Gideon,  who  was  born  in 
Champaign  county,  Ohio.  They  have 
one  child,  DAVID  C.,  born  Nov.  27, 
1847,  was  married  Sept.,  1868,  to  Sallie 
Row,  a  native  of  Ohio.  David  C.  Gideon 
is  a  practicing  physician  at  Watseka,  Iro- 
quois county,  111. 

David  Clark  was  a  local  M.  E.  preacher 
for  about  forty  years.  His  wife  died  Dec. 
3,  1843,  and  he  died  Jan.  6,  1847,  both  on 
the  farm  near  the  present  town  of  Bar- 
clay, Sangamon  county,  111. 

CLARK,  BARZILLA,  and  his 

wife,  Nancy,  came  to  what  is  now  Salis- 
bury township,  Sangamon  county,  in 
1821.  They  brought  seven  children,  all 
of  whom  married  and  raised  families. 
Their  eldest  daughter,  Phebe,  married 
John  N.  Campbell.  See  his  name.  Bar- 
zilla  Clark  died  Sept.  23,  1840,  and  his 
widow  died  April  19,  1843,  both  in  San- 
gamon county. 

CLARK,  ELISHA,  was  born  in 
1797,  married  in  Indiana  to  Sarah  Gard. 
They  had  three  children  in  Indiana,  and 
came  to  Sangamo,  Sangamon  county,  in 
1823.  They  had  nine  children  in  Illinois. 
Their  daughter — 

HUBERTY,  born  July  30,  1824,  at 
Sangamo,  Sangamon  county,  married 
E.  George  Batterton.  See  his  name. 

Mrs.  Sarah  Clark  died  in  1853,  in  Mason 
county,  and  Elisha  Clark  died  in  1869,  at 
Pekin,  111. 


2O2 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OP 


CLARK,  PHILIP,  was  born 
March  25,  1787,  at  Rye,  England.  He 
was  married  there  to  Elizabeth  Gravett. 
They  had  five  children,  and  Mrs.  Clark 
died.  Mr.  Clark  left  his  children  there, 
and  came -to  America  in  1817,  landing  at 
Boston,  Mass.,  and  traveled  by  land  and 
water  to  New  Orleans,  returned  to  Eng- 
land, and  in  company  with  his  brother 
Edward,  embarked  at  London  in  August, 
1818,  and  landed  at  Baltimore  in  October 
following.  They  traveled  on  foot  from 
Baltimore  to  Pittsburg,  and  from  there  to 
New  Orleans  by  water.  They  returned 
the  same  way  to  the  vicinity  of  Harmony, 
Ind.,  to  visit  the  family  of  a  relative  by 
the  name  of  Morris  Burkbeck,  who  had 
emigrated  from  England  a  year  or  two 
before.  He  afterwards  came  to  Illinois, 
and  was  Secretary  of  State  under  Gov. 
Coles.  The  Clark  brothers  went  up  the 
river  to  Shawneetown,  and  from  there 
across  the  country  to  St.  Louis.  They  re- 
crossed  the  river  into  the  American  bot- 
tom and  stopped  with  an  Indian  ranger, 
who  told  them  about  the  Sangama  coun- 
try. They  started  for  it,  and  arrived  in 
November,  1819,  on  the  Sangamon  river, 
two  miles  north  of  Rochester.  Philip 
Clark  was  married  in  1823,  in  Indiana,  to 
Martha  Jessup,  an  English  lady,  who 
died  without  children,  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty. He  married  in  Sangamon  countv  to 
Polly  Whitford,  in  1835.  Philip  Clark 
had  his  five  children  sent  from  England. 
They  embarked  at  London  May  i,  1824, 
and  were  received  in  New  York  by  an 
aunt  on  the  iSth  of  June.  The  three 
daughters  and  one  son  arrived  in  Sanga- 
mon county  in  February,  1825.  Of  those 
five  children — 

MARrE.,\>orn  in  i8io,at  Rve,  Eng., 
arrived  in  Sangamon  county  February, 
1825,  married  in.  1832  to  Samuel  Hines. 
They  had  three  children  in  Sangamon 
county,  and  moved  to  Iowa,  where  they 
had  three  children.  They  reside  near  Cox 
Creek  Post  Office,  Clayton  county,  Iowa. 

PHILIP, Jun.,  born  Feb.  20,  1812,  at 
Rye,  Eng.,  embarked  at  London  May  i, 
1824,  landed  at  New  York  city  June  iSth, 
was  bound — by  an  aunt  who  came  before 
them — apprentice  in  New  York  to  a  tailor, 
who  treated  him  cruelly,  and  he  ran  away, 
went  to  Boston,  obtained  employment  in  a 
glass  factory,  saved  some  money,  went  by 
water  to  Philadelphia,  walked  from  there 


to  Wheeling,  Va. ;  worked  his  way  down 
the  Ohio  river,  and  up  the  Mississippi 
river  to  St.  Louis,  on  a  keel  boat.  At  St. 
Louis  he  fell  in  with  Elijah  lies  and  Rich- 
ard Smith,  both  of  whom  knew  his  father, 
and  he  came  with  them  to  Spr -igfield,  ar- 
riving Oct.  15.  1824,  to  the  surprise  of  his 
father.  He  was  married  May  19,  1836,  to 
Christiana  Campbell,  on  Richland  creek. 
They  had  four  children  near  Rochester, 
Sangamon  county.  He  went  to  California 
in  1849,  and  returned  in  March,  1850, 
moved  to  Clinton  in  November  of  the 
same  year,  where  three  children  were 
born.  Of  their  seven  children,  MARY, 
born  Dec.  18,  1839,  married  in  Clinton, 
Jan.  19,  1857,  to  Robert  Millard,  have  five 
children,  and  live  in  Clinton.  JOHN  G., 
born  August  28,  1842,  died  in  his  twenty- 
second  year.  PHEBE,  born  March  i, 
1847,  married  John  Armstrong,  and  died 
July  5,  1868,  in  Clinton.  SARAH  F. 
lives  with  her  parents.  LOUIS  P.  died, 
aged  four  years.  CHRISTIANA  and 
MATTIE  F.  live  with  their  parents,  in 
Clinton,  111. 

MAR  CARET,  horn  March  28,  1814, 
at  Rye,  England,  married  in  Sangamon 
county,  about  1834,  to  Daniel  McClees. 
They  had  seven  children  in  Sangamon 
county;  four  died  in  the  same  county,  all 
grown,  or  nearly  so.  JOHN  and  HENRY 
were  both  Union  soldiers.  MARY  J.  mar- 
ried John  Spence,  who  died  of  disease  con- 
tracted in  the  army.  She  lives  in  Spring- 
field. CHRISTIANA  married  Mr. 
Pettv,  and  resides  in  Round  Prairie,  San- 
gamon county.  CHARLES  resides  with 
his  parents.  Mr.  McClees  went  to  Cali- 
fornia in  1849,  came  home  in  1853,  re- 
turned, and  his  wife  did  not  hear  from  him 
for  fifteen  years.  They  now  reside  at 
Port  Angelos,  Washington  Territory. 

SELINA,  born  July,  1816,  in  Rye, 
England,  married  in  1838,  in  Sangamon 
county,  to  John  H.  McMinany.  She  died 
in  Fannin  county,  Texas. 

HENRTR.,  born  April,  1818,  at  Rye, 
England,  married  in  Sangamon  countv,  in 
1842,  to  Jane  Trotter.  They  had  two 
children ;  both  live  in  Sangamon  county. 
Henry  R.  Clark  resides  near,  Bolivar,  Mo. 

Philip  Clark  died  in  February,  1853,  in 
Sangamon  county.  His  widow  married 
again,  and  resides  in  Missouri. 

The  object  of  the  Clark  brothers  in 
coming  to  the  country  was  to  engage  in 


SAN  GAM  ON  COUNTY. 


203 


the  milling  business.  The  site  they  select- 
ed was  a  favorable  one,  on  the  main  San- 
gamon  river,  about  two  miles  north  of  the 
present  town  of  Rochester.  The  Legisla- 
ture passed  an  act  declaring  that  rive 
navigable,  and  they  abandoned  the  mill 
site.  They  went  to  a  point  on  the  South 
Fork,  near  where  Edward  Clark  lived  and 
died,  and  put  a  saw  mill  in  operation  in 
1824,  and  a  flouring  mill  in  1825.  That 
was  the  first  mill  that  did  good  work  in 
this  part  of  the  country.  Soon  after  they 
came  to  the  country,  Philip  went  to 
Lisle's  band  mill,  and  remained  three  days 
and  two  nights  to  get  two  bushels  of  corn 
ground.  They  then  bought  a  hand  mill 
in  St.  Louis  for  their  own  use,  but  it  kept 
about  thirty  families  in  bread  for  two 
years,  until  their  own  mill  on  South  Fork 
was  completed. 

CLARK,  EDWARD,  was  born 
Feb.  16,  1790,  in  the  ancient  town  of  Rye, 
Eng.  It  was  the  principal  one  of  the  three 
independent  ports,  which,  together  with  the 
Cinque,  or  five  ports,  obtained  charters 
granting  special  privileges  from  the 
British  Sovereigns,  in  consequence  of 
their  having  fitted  out  a  fleet  and  con- 
quered the  Danish  and  Scandanavian  free- 
booters, thus  breaking  up  the  system  of 
piracy  which  had  for  years  been  devastat- 
ing the  English  coasts.  The  office  of 
Lord  Warden  of  the  Cinque  ports,  is  one 
of  the  most  ancient  in  the  kingdom,  reach- 
ing back  to  the  time  of  Edward  the  Con- 
fessor, about  the  year  1050.  Edward  Clark's 
grandfathers  on  both  sides  were  named 
Clark,  but  were  no  relation  to  each  other. 
They  were  both  sea  captains,  and  his 
father,  Henry  Clark,  was  intended  for  the 
sea,  but  could  never  overcome  the  tenden- 
cy to  sea  sickness,  and  engaged  in  other 
pursuits,  chiefly  mercantile  and  milling,  to 
which  the  subject  of  this  sketch  was 
trained  in  early  life.  His  brother  Philip, 
having  visited  America  in  1817,  Edward 
sailed  with  him  from  London  in  August, 
1818,  and  landed  in  October  following. 
They  arrived  in  what  became  Sangamon 
county  in  Nov.,  1819,  and  located  on  the 
Sangamon  river,  about  two  miles  north  of 
the  present  town  of  Rochester.  For  the 
route  traveled,  see  his  brother  Philips 
name. 

Edward  Clark  was  married  March  4, 
1821,  to  Sarah  Viney.  Mr.  Clark  went  to 
Edwardsville  to  obtain  a  license,  and  when 


he  arrived  there,  learned  that  a  law  had 
been  enacted  by  the  legislature,  in  session 
at  Vandalia,  and  approved  by  Gov.  Bond, 
Tan.  30, 1821,  providing  for  the  organization 
of  a  new  county,  to  be-  called  Sangamon. 
The  clerk  declined  to  issue  a  license,  and 
Mr.  Clark  insisted  that  as  he  was  ready  to 
marry  he  did  not  like  to  be  delayed.  The 
clerk  told  him  that  if  he  was  determined 
to  marry,  he  could  go  home,  have  the 
marriage  ceremony  solemnized,  and  after 
the  county  was  organized,  have  it  done 
again.  The  county  was  organized  April 
10,  1821,  and  after  that  a  license  was  ob- 
tained and  the  marriage  again  solemnized 
by  the  same  minister  who  officiated  the 
first  time,  Rev.  Rivers  Cormack,  of  the 
M.  E.  Church.  They  had  eight  children, 
all  in  Sangamon  county,  namely — 

ABRAHAM  V.,  born  April  9,  1822. 
He  was  never  married,  but  went  to  Cali- 
fornia in  1849,  and  died  Dec.,  1850,  at 
Sacramento  City. 

HENRT  P.,  born  Nov.  2,  1823.  He 
was  married  Dec.  15,  "1853,  to  Nancy  T. 
Williams.  They  have  four  children, 
MARY  J.,  SARAH  V.,  EDWARD  S., 
and  WILLIAM  T.,  the  three  eldest  in 
Rochester,  and  the  fourth  in  Oskaloosa, 
Iowa.  Henry  P.  Clark  lives  one  and  a 
half  miles  southeast  of  Rochester. 

MART  JANE,  born  Feb.  25,  1825, 
married  Feb.  25,  1845,  to  James  Richard- 
son. They  had  three  children.  Mrs.  R. 
died  Sept.  6,  1857.  Mr.  Richardson  is 
married  again,  and  resides  in  Taylorville. 
Her  youngest  son,  Abraham  V.  Richard- 
son, lives  at  the  homestead,  near  Roches- 
ter. 

REBECCA  S.,  born  May  15,  1827, 
died  unmarried,  March  18,  1856. 

GEORGE  W.,  born  Nov.  11,  1829, 
died  Dec.  15,  1855. 

EDMUND  J.  and  CHARLES  A., 
twins,  born  Aug.  27,  1831. 

CHARLES  A.,  died  Oct.  25,  1852,  in 
Oregon. 

EDMUND  J.,  married  Feb.  19, 
1857,  to  Cassander  Lovelace,  who  was 
born  Sept.  9,  1838,  in  Shelby  county. 
They  have  six  living  children,  WILLIAM 
F.,  LOUISA  J.,  REASON  E.,  JAS- 
PER N.,  JOHN  S.  and  ALVIN  W., 
and  live  at  the  family  homestead,  two 
miles  west  of  Rochester. 

SARAH  A.,  born  Feb.  2,  1835,  died 
Jan.  26,  1856. 


204 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OP 


Mrs.  Sarah  Clark  died  March  26,  1837, 
and  Edward  Clark  was  married  Jan.  10, 
1838,  to  Nancy  Trotter.  They  had  three 
children. 

BENJAMIN  F.,  born  Oct.  15,  1838, 
enlisted  July  25,  1862,  in  Co.  I,  i  I4th  111. 
Inf.,  for  three  years.  At  the  battle  of 
Guntown,  Miss.,  June  10,  1864,  he  brought 
on  disease  by  excessive  fatigue,  and  died 
March  i,  1865,  in  military  hospital  at 
Memphis,  Tenn.  His  brother,  Henry  P., 
brought  his  remains  home,  and  they  were 
interred  near  Rochester. 

WILLIAM  T.,  born  Nov.  16,  1842, 
enlisted  Sept.  28,  1861,  in  Co.  G,  loth  111. 
Cav.,  for  three  years,  re-enlisted  as  a  vet- 
eran, served  to  the  end  of  the  rebellion, 
and  was  honorably  discharged  Nov.,  1865, 
at  San  Antonio,  Texas.  William  T. 
Clark  lives  in  Oregon. 

NANCT  ANN,  born  March  16,  1845, 
and  died  Jan.  21,  1856.  By  looking  back 
at  dates  it  will  be  seen  that  four  members 
of  the  family  died  from  Dec.  15,  1855,  to 
March  18,  1856.  Disease,  typhoid  fever. 

Mrs.  Nancy  Clark  died  Sept.  26,  1853, 
and  Edward  Clark  died  Jan.  10,  1875, 
both  on  the  farm  two  miles  west  of  Roch- 
ester, and  within  five  miles  of  where  he 
settled  in  1819. 

Wellington  was  in  command  of  the 
district  where  Edward  Clark  lived  when 
both  were  young  men,  and  Mr.  Clark 
knew  him  well.  Mr.  Clark  witnessed  the 
launching  of  the  British  ship,  Victory,  at 
the  Chatham  dock  yarks.  It  was  on 
board  that  ship  that  Admiral  Nelson  was 
slain  at  the  battle  of  Trafalgar,  after 
promulgating  the  famous  order  which  has 
became  historic:  "England  expects  every 
man  to  do  his  duty." 

Edward  Clark  was  a  man  of  precise 
business  habits,  better  suited  to  an  older 
community  than  the  one  in  which  he 
spent  the  greater  part  of  his  long  life. 
He  was  just  in  all  his  dealings,  and  was 
a  model  Christian  gentleman.  He  was 
a  man  of  varied  and  extensive  reading, 
and  had  accumulated  a  miscellaneous 
library  from  the  standard  works  of  the 
most  distinguished  authors  in  the  English 
language. 

CLARK,  O RAM  EL,  was  born 
August  ii,  1792,  in  Lebanon,  Connecti- 
cut, taken  by  his  parents  to  Berk- 
shire county,  Mass.,  in  1797,  and  from 
there  to  Cooperstown,  N.  Y.  He  enlisted 


and  served  as  a  non-commissioned  officer 
in  the  war  of  1812,  and  moved  to  St.  Law- 
rence county ^N.  Y.,  in  1817.  He  emigra- 
ted in  1818  to  Kaskaskia,  111.,  and  in  1819 
removed  to  where  Athens,  Menard  coun- 
ty, now  stands*  He  was  the  third  man 
who  settled  on  the  north  side  of  Sangamon 
river.  In  1820  he  returned  on  foot  to  visit 
his  parents  in  New  York.  On  returning 
to  his  home  in  Illinois,  he  married  Jane 
C.  Stewart,  on  Fancy  creek,  in  Sanga- 
mon county.  In  1821  he  bought  the 
preempted  right  to  a  -farm  from  John 
Dixon  (afterwards  founder  of  Dixon,  111.,) 
on  Fancy  creek,  ten  miles  from  Spring- 
field. He  remained  here  until  the  death 
of  his  wife,  in  1832,  when  he  again  visited 
his  parents  in  New  York,  returning  to 
Illinois  in  1834.  Of  his  five  children — 

MARIA  died,  aged  four  years,  at 
Athens. 

MART  J.,  born  Nov.  5,  1824,  in  San- 
gamon county,  was  married  March,  1842, 
to  Abner  Riddle.  See  his  name. 

RUSSELL  W.,  born  in  1827,  in  San- 
gamon county,  died,  aged  twenty-one 
years.  He  was  a  medical  student  at  the 
time. 

WILLIAM  A.,  born  Jan.  4,  1829,  on 
Fancy  creek,  Sangamon  county,  was  ap- 
prenticed to  the  drug  business  in  Spring- 
field. Was  a  salesman  from  1851  until  1853, 
when  he  emigrated  to  California,  crossing 
the  plains.  He  was  married  in  Redwood 
City,  Cal.,  Sept.  18,  1866,  to  Rebecca  E. 
Teague,  who  was  born  July  I,  1849,  in 
Springfield,  Mo.  They  had  two  children, 
viz:  GEO.  W.  and  EDWARD  O.  The 
latter  died  June  16,  1875.  William  A. 
Clark  and  family  reside  at  Redwood  City, 
San  Mateo  county,  California. 

EDWARD  O.,  born  Dec.  3,  1831,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Feb.  14,  1855, 
in  Waverly,  111.,  to  Virginia  F.  Harris, 
who  was  born  March  8,  1835,  in  Morgan 
county,  111.  They  have  one  child, 
ESTHER  C.,  and  reside  near  Carlinville. 

Oramel  Clark  was  married  the  second 
time,  Oct.  28,  1836,  to  Judith  W.  Davis, 
of  Elkhart,  111.  She  was  born  August 
12,  1802,  in  Union  county,  Ky.  They 
moved  to  Springfield  in  1838,  and  had 
five  children,  viz — 

E  ME  LINE,  born  August  20,  1838,  in 
Sangamon  county,  was  married  in  Spring- 
field, March  23,  1863,  to  Col.  N.  Martin 
Curtis,  who  was  born  May  21,  1835,  in 


SANGAMON  COUNTT. 


205 


De  Peyster,  N.  Y.  He  enlisted  April, 
1861,  was  mustered  into  the  United  States 
service  May  15,  1861,  as  Gaptain  of  Co. 
G,  i6th  N.  Y.  Inf.,  and  became  Lieuten- 
ant Colonel  of  the  1426.  N.  Y.  Inf.,  Oct. 
21,  1862,  and  Colonel  -Jan.  21,  1863; 
Brigadier  General  by  brevet  Oct.  27, 1864; 
Brigadier  General,  Jan.  15,  1865,  and 
Brevet  Major  General.  The  last  two  pro- 
motions were  for  gallantry  displayed  in 
leading  the  troops  in  the  capture  of  Fort 
Fisher,  Jan.  15, 1865,  where  he  lost  his  left 
eye.  General  Curtis  was  several  times 
severely  -wounded.  The  Legislature  of 
New  York  passed  resolutions,  April  5, 
1865,  thanking  Gen.  Curtis  and  the  officers 
and  men  of  his  command  (who  were  all 
New  York  troops),  for  their  achieve- 
ments on  that  occasion.  Gen.  Curtis  was 
appointed,  August  14,  1866,  Collector  of 
Customs  for  the  District  of  Oswegatchie, 
and  Special  Agent  Treasury  Depaitment 
March  4,  1867,  which  position  he  still 
holds.  They  have  three  children,  EM- 
MA P.,  MARY  W.  and  FLORENCE 
R.  Gen.  Curtis  is  a  breeder  of  fine  stock, 
and  resides  on  his  farm  near  Ogdensburg, 
N.  Y. 

MARTHA  and  S  (7SAN(tvf'ms),})orn 
Sept.  23,  1840. 

MARTHA  married  George  W.  Burge. 
They  have  two  living  children,  GEO.  C. 
and  FRANK  F.,  and  reside  at  Ottawa, 
Kansas. 

SUSAN\?>  unmarried,  and  resides  with 
her  sister,  Mrs.  Burge. 

CAROLINE  y.,  born  March  5,  1845, 
in  Springfield,  married  Oct.  30,  1867,  to 
John  M.  Amos.  See  his  name, 

Oramel  Clark  died  Sept.  9,  1863,  in 
Springfield,  and  his  widow  resides  with 
her  children. 

CLAYTON,  JOHN  S.,  was 
born  August  2,  1802,  in  Caldwell  county, 
Ky.  Elizabeth  Clayton  was  born  May, 
1806,  in  the  same  county.  They  were 
there  married  in  1824,  and  had  one  child 
in  Kentucky.  The  family  moved  to  Mor- 
gan county,  111.,  where  one  child  was  born, 
and  moved  back  to  Kentucky,  where  two 
children  were  born,  and  they  again  moved 
to  Morgan  county,  111.,  in  1833  or  '4,  and 
after  a  few  years  spent  there,  moved  to 
Sangamon  county,  in  what  is  now  Ball 
township,  where  they  had  seven  children. 

FKANKLIX  JEFFERSON^Q^ 
Feb.  13,  1827,  in  Caldwell  county,  Ky., 


married  in  Sangamon  county  to  Elizabeth 
Scott.  They  have  six  children,  RUTH 
JANE,  GILBERT,  AMANDA  E., 
PERLEASY,  EMMA  and  SHELTON 
L.,  and  reside  in  Ball  township,  near 
Chatham. 

ALEXANDER,  born  Sept.  16,  1829, 
in  Morgan  county,  111.,  married  in  Sanga- 
mon county  to  Mary  A.  Marshall.  They 
had  two  children,  CHARLES  E.  and 
HENRY  N.,  and  Mrs.  Mary  A.  Clayton 
died,  and  he  married  Theresa  J.  Penix. 
They  have  four  children,  MELISSA  J., 
ADA  M.,  MARY  A.  and  JACOB  B., 
and  live  in  Ball  township,  four  and  a  half 
miles  southeast  of  Chatham. 

MINERVA  y.,  born  in  Kentucky, 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  John  Og- 
den,  who  died,  and  she  married  William 
Smith,  and  lives  near  Moberly,  Randolph 
county,  Mo. 

MARQUIS  D.,  born  March  16,  1834, 
in  Kentucky,  married  in  Sangamon  coun- 
ty, August  29,  1860,  to  Susan  A.  Matthew. 
They  had  eight  children,  three  of  whom 
died  young.  The  other  five,  CHARLES 
A.,  SARAH  E.,  FRANKLIN  L., 
THOMAS  E.  and  MANFORD  E.  live 
with  their  parents,  three  miles  north  of 
Pawnee. 

ELZIRA,  born  in  Illinois,  married 
William  Easley,  have  six  children,  and 
live  in  Clark  county,  Mo. 

MARY  A.,  born  in  Illinois,  married 
Simon  T.  Matthew.  See  his  name. 

GEORGE  M.  married  Miss  J.  Pat- 
terson, who  died,  and  he  married  Harriet 
E.  Debow.  They  have  .one  child,  NET- 
TIE FLORENCE,  and  live  in  Cotton 
Hill  township,  three  miles  north  of  Paw- 
nee. 

MARfETTA,  born  in  Sangamon 
county,  married  George  Lamb.  See  his 
name. 

JOHN  Z.,  born  in  Sangamon  county, 
married  in  1873  to  Mary  Allen,  and  lives 
with  his  mother. 

John  vS.  Clayton  died  Sept.  7,  1861,  and 
Mrs.  Elizabeth  Clayton  resides  in  Ball 
township,  four  and  a  half  miles  southeast 
of  Chatham. 

CLAYTON,  JOHN  C.,  was 
born  about  1808,  in  Caldwell  county,  Ky. 
He  came  to  Sangamon  county  in  1829, 
with  his  cousin  and  brother-in-law,  John 
S.  Clayton.  He  was  married  at  Alton  to 
Ginsey  Clack.  He  moved  his  family  to 


ao6 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


Champaign  county  in  1856,  and  died  there 
the  same  year,  leaving  a  widow  and  four 
children.  His  son  Elias  was  a.  member  of 
an  Illinois  regiment,  and  was  killed  in 
battle  at  Little  Rock,  Ark.,  in  1864.  A 
daughter  is  married,  and  lives  in  Missouri. 

The  widow,  with  her  son  Hardin  and 
another  child,  live  near  Urbana,  111. 

CLEMENTS,  GEORGE,  was 
born  in  Amherst  county,  Va. ;  was  mar- 
ried to  Lizzie  Holliday,  who  was  a  native 
of  Virginia  also.  They  had  six  children 
in  Virginia,  and  the  family  moved  to  Gar- 
rard  county,  Ky.,  and  from  there  to  San- 
gamon  county,  111.,  arriving  early  in  1830 
in  what  is  now  Woodside  township.  Of 
the  children — 

WILLIAM,  born  Oct.  14,  1797,  in 
Virginia,  married  in  Kentucky  and  died, 
leaving  a  family  there. 

JOHN,  born  May  13,  1800,  in  Vir- 
ginia, married  in  Kentucky  to  Elizabeth 
Turpin,  came  with  his  father  to  Sanga- 
mon  county.  They  had  three  living 
children.  HENRY  D.  married  Eliza 
Skane,  had  two  children,  and  she  died. 
He  lives  in  Sangamon  county.  LUCIN- 
DA  married  William  Barger,  and  resides 
in  Mechanicsburg.  ELIZA  married 
Isaiah  Pryor,  and  live  in  Missouri. 

THOMAS,  born  Nov.  22, 1802,  in  Am- 
herst county,  Va.,  married  Sindicey  Harris, 
August  2,  1822.  They  had  eight  children. 
AMERICA,  born  July  21,  1823,  married 
John  C.  Cloyd.  See  his  name,  LOU- 
ISIANA, born  July  16,  1826,  married 
John  A.  Miller.  See  his  name.  JAMES 
A.,  born  Nov.  18,  1828,  in  Ky.,  married 
Permelia  Hatten,  who  was  born  in  1826, 
in  Garrard  county,  Ky.  They  reside  four 
miles  southwest  of  Chatham.  ELIZA 
A.,  born  in  Sangamon  county,  Oct.  22, 
1832,  resides  with  her  sister,  Mrs.  Matthew 
Cloyd.  FANNY,  born  Oct.  13,  1833,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Oct.  18,  1848, 
to  Matthew  Cloyd.  See  his  name.  GEO. 
W.,  born  Oct.  14,  1835,  died,  aged  ten 
years.  SINDICEY  J.,  born  August  28, 
1837,  died  March,  1854.  THOMAS  R., 
born  May  6,  1839,  married  Sept.  4,  1861, 
to  Elizabeth  Ellison,  who  was  born  in 
Carthage,  O.  They  have  two  children, 
ADA  and  JAMES  H.,  and  live  in  Chatham 
township.  HENRY  H.,  born  Jan.  3, 
1841,  married  Emily  Sparks,  has  three 
children,  and  live  near  Topeka,  Kansas. 
Mrs.  Sindicey  Clements  died  Feb.  21, 


1842,  and  Thomas  Clements  married  in 
1844  t°  Mrs.  Alcey  Baucom,  whose  maiden 
name  was  Neville.  Thomas  Clements 
died  March,  1855,  and  his  widow  resides 
with  her  daughter,  Mrs.  T.  Gordon  Cloyd, 

SINDICET  married  Henry  Collier. 
They  have  one  child,  LOUISIANA,  and  live 
in  Rochester. 

ELIZA  A.,  born  March  29,  1811,  in 
Amherst  county,  Va.,  married  Samuel 
Cloyd.  See  his  name. 

FANNY,  born  July  17,  1808,  married 
May  19,  1844,  to  John  Levi.  He  died 
Dec.  23,  1872,  and  his  widow-  lives  in 
Rochester. 

George  Clements  and  his  wife  both 
died  in  Sangamon  county. 

CLIFTON,  ELIAS,  was  born 
in  Sussex  county,  Delaware,  and  married 
there  to  Sally  Carlisle,  a  native  of  the 
same  county.  They  had  five  children  in 
that  county,  two  of  whom  died  young. 
The  family  moved,  in  1802,  to  Fayette 
county,  Ky.,  where  one  child  died,  and  in 
1816  they  moved  to  Clarke  county,  Ind., 
and  from  there  to  Sangamon  county,  111., 
arriving  Dec.,  1834,  in  what  is  now 
Rochester  township.  Of  their  two  child- 
ren— 

CLEMENT,  born  about  1794,  in 
Delaware,  married  in  Clarke  county,  Ind., 
to  Nancy  Martin.  They  came  to  Sanga- 
mon county  a  few  years  later  than  his 
father.  Mrs.  Clifton  died  in  1845.  He 
went  back  to  Indiana,  and  married  Mrs. 
Susan  Williams,  whose  maiden  name  was 
Huckleberry.  They  had  one  child, 
ELIAS,  who  died  aged  fifteen  years. 
Mrs,  Clifton  died,  and  he  married  Melin- 
da  Alsop.  She  died  in  1855,  and  he  in 

^57- 

NANCY, born  Oct.  31,  1800,  in  Sussex 

county,  Delaware.  She  was  married  in 
Fayette  county,  Ky.,  April  27,  1816,  to 
Uspshear  D.  Spicer.  See  his  name.  He 
died,  and  Mrs.  Spicer  married  Adam 
Saftly.  See  his  name. 

Mrs.  Sally  Clifton  died  March  25,  1346, 
and  Elias  Clifton  died  Jan.  3,  1852,  both 
in  Sangamon  county. 

CLINE,  JOHN,  was  born  Jan.  2, 
1798,  in  Frederick  county,  Va.  His  pa- 
rents died  when  he  was  quite  young,  leav- 
ing four  children.  Their  grandfather, 
George  Sutherland,  took  them  with  him 
to  Madison  county,  near  London,  Ohio,  in 
1802.  In  1819  he  prepared  to  visit  the 


SANGAMON    COUNTY. 


207 


western  country  on  horseback.  Levi 
Cantrall  wa*  about  moving  to  Illinois,  and 
Mr.  Cline  engaged  to  drive  his  four-horse 
team,  and  they  arrived  in  the  American 
bottom  in  November.  Mr.  Cantrall  pur- 
chased a  supply  of  corn  there,  and  moved 
to  what  became  Sangamon  county,  arriv- 
ing in  Dec.,  1819,  in  what  is  now  Fancy 
Creek  township.  Mr.  Cline  drove  the 
team,  and  arrived  at  the  same  time.  He 
intended  returning  to  Ohio  in  the  spring, 
but  when  the  time  came  he  decided  to 
raise  a  crop,  and  while  thus  engaged  he 
was  married,  July  20,  1820,  to  Mrs.  Lucy 
Scott,  whose  maiden  name  was  England. 
He  made  arrangements  to  visit  Ohio  in 
fall  of  1820,  but  his  wife  being  sick,  he 
deferred  it,  and  has  not  yet  made  his  visit. 
Mrs.  Cline  had  one  child  by  her  first  mar- 
riage— 

ELIZA  SCOTT,  born  Feb.  15,  1816. 
She  is  married,  has  three  children,  and 
lives  in  Kansas. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Cline  had  ten  children  in 
Sangamon  county — 

WILLIAM,  born  Oct.  8,  1821,  mar- 
ried Sept.  6,  1842,  to  Eliza  Canterberry. 
They  had  four  children.  MARIA  L. 
married  August  14,  1862,  to  Charles  S. 
Jones,  who  was  born  July  19,  1844,  in 
Ohio.  He  enlisted  a  few  days  before  his 
marriage,  in  Co.  C,  H4th  111.  Inf.,  for 
three  years.  He  was  wounded  June  10, 
1864,  at  the  battle  of  Tupelo,  Miss.,  and 
was  discharged  on  account  of  physi- 
cal disability.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Jones 
have  one  child,  SCOTT,  and  live  in  the  ex- 
treme southwest  corner  of  Logan  county, 
Post  Office,  Williamsville.  JOHN  N., 
born  August  23,  1846,  married  July  29, 
1867,  to  Dulcina  E.  Primm.  They  have 
one  living  child,  NINIAN  o.,  and  live  five 
and  a  half  miles  west  of  Williamsville. 
ASA  M.  married  March  12,  1873,  to 
Melissa  McClelland,  and  live  in  Fancy 
creek  township.  WILLIAM  F.  lives 
with  his  father.  Mrs.  Eliza  Cline  died 
vSept.  7,  1871,  and  William  Cline  married 
in  1872,  to  Maria  J.  Purkins.  They  have 
one  child,  EDWARD  E.,  and  live  in 
Menard  county,  near  Cantrall. 

GEORGE  W.,  born  April  8,  1823, 
married  Elizabeth  Primm,  and  died  Aug. 
14,  1845,  about  four  months  after  marriage. 
His  widow  married  Jacob  Barnsback,  and 
resides  near  Edwardsville. 


MATILDA  A.,  born  May  3,  1825, 
married  Andrew  Lynch,  had  seven  child- 
ren, and  he  died,  and  she  married  David 
Jones.  They  have  two  children,  and  re- 
side in  Menard  county. 

E  LIZ  ABE  TH,  born  August  24, 1826, 
married  James  A.  Turley,  and  he  died 
Jan.,  1852,  leaving  one  child,  ALMEDA, 
whe  married  Joseph  M.  Smith,  and  re- 
sides near  Cantrall.  Mrs.  Turley  married 
George  T.  Sales.  See  his  name. 

JOHN,  born  August  30,1828,  married 
Jane  Council,  have  six  children,  and  live 
in  Menard  county. 

DA  VID,  born  June  17,  1830,  married 
Jane  Hornback,  and  both  died,  leaving 
three  children. 

ADALINE,  born  April  25, 1832,  mar- 
ried William  M.  Blue.  See  his  name. 

STEPHEN  E.,  born  Nov.  i,  1834, 
died  August  15,  1853. 

JAMES,  born  July  17,  1837,  mar- 
ried Eliza  Hall,  have  four  children, 
MARY  E.,  IDA  F.,  LUCY  O.  and 
HENRY  A.,  and  reside  in  Fancy  creek 
township. 

HENRr,\*orn  Oct.  8,  1839,  married 
Mary  Primm.  They  have  three  children, 
WILLIAM  A.,  ALLEN  C.  and  JEN- 
NIE, and  live  near  Cantrall. 

Mrs.  Lucy  Cline  died  June  4,  1875,  and 
John  Cline  lives  in  Cantrall. 

CLJNKENBEARD,  WM., 
was  born  Feb.  12,  1808,  in  Clarke  county, 
Ky.  He  came  to  Sangamon  county  in 
1825,  remained  one  year,  returned  to  Ken- 
tucky, and  came  back  to  Sangamon  county 
in  1829.  He  was  married  April,  1835,  to 
Lavina  Elder.  They  had  ten  children  in 
Sangamon  county.  The  fourth,  fifth  and 
seventh  died  under  six  years.  Of  the 
other  seven — 

JULA  A.,  born  Sept.  15,  1836,  mar- 
ried Edward  L.  Robinson,  have  three 
children,  and  live  near  Berry,  Sangamon 
county. 

WILLIAM H.,  born  August  13,  1838, 
in  Sangamon  county,  married  August  14, 
1864,  to  Ann  J.  Brachear.  They  have 
two  children,  HARVEY  and  LESLIE, 
and  live  near  Pleasant  Gap,  Bates  county, 
Missouri. 

MART,  born  in  Sangamon  county, 
married  Henry  Bryant,  have  five  children, 
and  live  near  Pleasant  Gap,  Mo. 

THOMAS  married  Martha  Robbins, 
and  r<esides  near  Pleasant  Gap,  Mo. 


208 


EARLY  SETTLERS  OF 


JOS  I  AH,  born  March  12,  1852,  re- 
sides in  Buffalo,  Sangamon  county. 

y.  ALBERT  and  LEV  I  F.  live 
with  their  parents. 

William  Clinkenbeard  lived  in  Sanga- 
mon county  until  March,  1873,  when  he 
moved  to  Missouri,  and  resides  near  Pleas- 
ant Gap,  Bates  county. 

CLOYD,  DAVID,  was  born 
about  1766,  in  Botetourt  county,  Va.  He 
was  married  there,  moved  to  Culpepper 
county,  and  from  there  to  Washington 
county,  Ky.,  about  1815.  He  moved  in 
company  with  his  sons  Thomas  and  Sam- 
uel, and  his  daughter  Polly — who  married 
Henry  Lucas — to  Sangamon  county,  ar- 
riving October,  1825,  in  what  is  now  Cur- 
ran  township.  David  Cloyd  died  about 
1839,  and  his  widow  in  1844  or  '5,  both  in 
Sangamon  county. 

CLOYD,  THOMAS,  son  of 
David,  was  born  Jan.  14,  1798,  in  Bote- 
tourt county,  Va.,  and  went  with  his  par- 
ents to  Washington  county,  Ky.,  in  1815. 
He  was  married  there  April  27,  1820,  to 
Ann  Withrow.  They  had  three  children 
in  Kentucky,  and  in  1824  moved  to 
Fayette  county,  111.,  where  they  had  one 
child,  and  from  there  to  Sangamon  county, 
arriving  October,  1825,  in  what  is  now 
Curran  township,  north  of  Lick  creek, 
where  they  had  two  children.  Of  their 
six  children — 

ANN  CORDELIA,  born  June  29, 
1820,  in  Washington  county,  Ky.,  married 
in  Sangamon  county  to  Rev.  Charles  D. 
Alsbury.  See  his  name. 

JOHN  CAL  VIN,  born  Sept.  6,1821, 
in  Washington  county,  Ky.  He  was 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  America 
Clements.  They  had  two  children,  one 
of  whom  died  young.  DICEY  married 
James  H.  Jones,  and  lives  in  Henry  coun- 
ty, Mo.  Mrs.  America  Cloyd  died,  and 
J.  C.  Cloyd  married  September,  1848,  to 
Sophia  L.  Lanterman.  They  have  eight 
children.  CHARLES  married  Elizabeth 
J.  Branham,  has  one  child,  ELIZA  M.,  and 
live  in  Curran  township.  ELEANOR 
married  Asbury  M.  Branham.  They 
have  three  children,  WILLIAM  c.,  CORD  F. 
and  a  daughter,  and  live  in  Curran  town- 
ship. NANCYJ.,  CORDELIA,  WAL- 
LACE R.,  GORDON,  AMANDA  M. 
and  JOHN  C.,  Jun.,  live  with  their  par- 
ents, three  miles  southeast  of  Curran, 


NANCY,  born  Dec.  25,  1823,  in  Ken- 
tucky, married  Jan.  2,  1840,  to  Robert 
Cummings.  See  his  name.  , 

MATTHEW,\>ovn  Sept.  10,  1825,  in 
Fayette  county,  111.,  married  in  Sangamon 
county,  Oct.  18,  1848,10  Fanny  Clements. 
They  have  nine  children.  ROBERT  T. 
lives  with  his  parents.  ELIZA  J.  married 
William  F.  Smith.  See  his  name.  WM. 
O.  lives  with  his  parents.  JULIA  F. 
married  May  27,  1873,  to  Benjamin  F. 
Caldwell.  See  his  name.  MATTHEW 
F.,  ANN  M.,  HENRIETTA,  ALICE 
and  SAMUEL,  live  with  their  parents  in 
Chatham  township. 

THOMAS  GORDON,  born  June  7, 
1827,  in  Sangamon  county,  married  Sept. 
27,  1849,  to  Priscilla  J.  Baucom,  who  was 
born  Dec.  31,  1831,  in  Madison  county. 
They  have  three  children,  THOMAS, 
JOHN  C.  and  ANNIE  E.,  and  live  near 
Chatham.  Although  Thomas  G.  Cloy 
was  but  three  and  a  half  years  old  at  the 
time,  he  remembers  one  incident  connected 
with  the  "  deep  snow"  of  1830-31.  That 
was  seeing  his  father  drive'  a  team  over  a 
stake  and  ridered  fence,  and  it  troubled 
him  greatly,  fearing  that  the  team  would 
go  down  through  the  snow  and  become 
stranded  on  the  fence. 

JOSEPH  D.,  born  Dec.  5,  1831,  in 
Sangamon  county,  married  Dec.  16,  1852, 
to  Sarah  M.  Byers,  who  was  born  Oct.  13, 
1833,  in  or  near  Shepherdstown,  Va.  They 
had  nine  children;  one  died  young. 
MARY  E.,  SARAH  E.,  VIRGINIA 
B.,  JOSEPH  D.,  Jun.,  THOMAS  E., 
WILLIS,  MARGARET  F.  and 
LAURA  reside  with  their  parents,  half 
a  mile  north  of  Chatham. 

Thomas  Cloyd  and  wife  now — June, 
1873 — reside  near  Woodside  Statron. 

CLOYD,  SAMUEL,  brother  to 
Thomas,  was  born  Nov.  20,  1802,  in  Cul- 
peper  county,  Va.  He  was  taken  by  his 
parents  to  Washington  county  in  1815,  and 
to  Sangamon  county  in  1825.  He  was 
married  May  i,  1832,  in  Sangamon  county 
to  Eliza  Clements.  They  had  but  one 
child— 

MARY  A.,  born  Oct.  15, 1832,  on  Lick 
creek,  Sangamon  county,  married  March, 
1860,  to  John  S.  Highmore.  She  died 
Sept.  9,  1872,  leaving  two  children, 
ELIZA  A.  and  MARY  E.,  who  live 
with  their  father  in  Rochester.  See 
Bowling  family. 


SAN  GAM  ON  COUNTY. 


209 


Samuel  Cloycl  died  August  5,  1872,  in 
Rochester,  and  his  widow  resides  there. 

COATS,  RALPH  J.,  born  May 
3,  1817,  in  Wyoming  county,  New  York, 
came  to  Springfield  Oct.  9, 1840.  He  was 
married  in  Livingston  county,  Michigan, 
May  14,  1845,  to  Amanda  N.  Wood,  who 
was  born  in  Wyoming  county,  New  York, 
April  S,  1823.  They  returned  to  Spring- 
field, 111.,  where  they  had  two  children — 

ABEL  A.,  born  August  4,  1846,  in 
Springfield,  enlisted  May,  1864,  in  Co.  E, 
1 33d  111.  Inf.,  for  one  hundred  days.  He 
served  full  term  and  was.  honorably  dis- 
charged with  the  regiment,  Sept.  24,  1864. 
He  was  married  in  Springfield;  Oct.  30, 

1867,  to  Charlotte  E.  Gardnier,  who  was 
,  born  April  30,   1850,  in  Carrolton,  Green 

county,  111.  They  have  four  children,  all 
born  in  Springfield.  NINA  B.,  RALPH 
W.,  CHARLES  A.  and  MERWIN  W. 
Abel  A.  Coats  is  in  the  grocery  business, 
with  his  father,  and  resides  in  Springfield. 
PERSfS  E.,  born  Jan.  6,  1849,  in 
Springfield,  was  married  there,  Nov.  19, 

1868,  to   Charles  D.   Timothy,  who  was 
born  Jan.  3,  1842,  in  Franklin  Grove,  Lee 
county,    111.     They    have    three    children 
living,  CLARA  I.,  WARREN  A.  and 
NETTIE  B.     Mr.  Timothy  enlisted  Feb. 
3,  1864,  in   Co.  G,  75th  111.  Inf.     On   ar- 
riving at  Springfield  he  was  detached  under 
Gen.  Oakes  in   the    mustering  in   and  out 
department,  and  was  honorably  discharged 
March,  1866.     He  was  elected  a  member 
of  the  Board  of  Supervisors  for  1875,  and 
resides    two    and    a    half  miles    north    of 
Springfield. 

Ralph  J.  Coates  was  elected  Alderman 
of  Springfield  in  1857,  for  three  years, 
was  re-elected  in  1860,  1864  and  1871.  He 
'  is  now,  and  has  been  in  the  grocery  busi- 
ness in  Springfield,  111.,  for  eighteen  years, 
and  resides  there. 

R.  J.  Coates'  father  was  a  soldier  in  the 
war  of  1812,  for  four  months.  He  died  in 
Springfield,  111.,  August  9,  1874,  at  the 
age  of  eighty-seven  years. 

COE,  EBENEZER,  was  born 
August  25,  1812,  in  Loudon  county,  Va., 
and  came  to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  with 
George  M.  Gi'een,  in  1839.  He  went 
back  to  Virginia  in  the  fall  of  1843,  and 
was  married  in  Loudon  county,  Sept.  17, 
1844,  to  Jane  Grubb,  a  native  of  that 
county.  He  returned  to  Sangamon  coun- 
ty in  1851.  Mrs.  Coe  died  near  Roches- 
—27 


ter,  May  10,  1860.  Mr.  Coe  was  mar- 
ried March  26,  1861,  in  Loudon  county, 
to  Mrs.  Julia  A.  Edwards,  whose  maiden 
name  was  Conard.  They  came  soon  after 
to  Sangamon  county,  and  Mrs.  Coe  died 
Dec.  22,  1869,  leaving  four  children — 

JOSEPH  H.,  SAMUEL  B.,  WIL- 
LIAM C.  and  MART  C. 

Ebenezer  Coe  was  married  Dec.  13, 
1870,  in  Decatur  111.,  to  Harriet  Lanham, 
who  was  born  July  25,  1830,  in  Sangamon 
county.  They  live  one  mile  east  of 
Rochester. 

COLEMAN,  MRS.  ABI- 
GAIL, whose  maiden  name  was  Rob- 
ertson, was  born  in  Surry  county,  N.  C., 
and  was  married  there  to  Theophilus 
Coleman,  who  was  born  in  Virginia. 
They  had  four  children  in  North  Caro- 
lina. Mr.  Coleman  became  a  soldier  in 
the  war  with  England  in  1812.  He  nevei 
returned,  and  his  family  never  knew  his 
fate.  Mrs.  Coleman,  with  her  four  child- 
ren, moved  in  181510  Cumberland  county, 
Kv.,  and  to  Sangamon  county,  111.,  ar- 
rived in  the  fall  of  1820  on  Richland  creek, 
in  what  is  now  Salisbury  township.  Of 
her  four  children — 

SARAH,  born  Jan.  6,  1801,  in  North 
Carolina,  married  in  Kentucky  to  Joshua 
Crow,  came  with  her  mother  to  Sanga- 
mon county.  They  moved  to  Cass  county, 
where  she  died  many  years  ago,  leaving 
seven  children. 

ELIZABETH,  born  May  19,  1804, 
in  North  Carolina,  married  John  G.  Pur- 
vines.  See  his  name. 

JANE,  born  Jan.  28,  1806,  in  North 
Carolina,  married  George  K.  Hamilton. 
See  his  name.  He  died,  and  she  married 
Alexander  C.  Purvines.  See  his  name. 

JOHN  /?.,  born  Feb.  29,  1808,  in 
North  Carolina,  married  Nancy  Harris, 
had  two  children  in  Sangamon  county, 
and  moved  to  Crawford  county,  Mo., 
where  they  had  four  children,  and  Mrs. 
Coleman  died.  He  married  again,  had 
four  children,  and  is  now  a  widower  and 
resides  in  Missouri. 

Mrs.  Abigail  Coleman  was  married  in 
Sangamon  county  in  1824,  to  Robert 
Hamilton.  They  had  two  children  in 
Sangamon  county — 

MAHAL  A  married  Mr.  Rice,  had  one 
child,  and  Mr.  Rice  died.  She  married 
James  Pease,  had  three  children,  and  he 


210 


EARLT  SETTLERS  OF 


died.      Mrs.    Mahala   Pease  resides  near 
Cuba,  Mo. 

JAMES  C.  married  in  Missouri,  en- 
listed in  a  Union  regiment  from  that 
State,  and  died  in  the  army. 

Mrs.  Abigail  Hamilton  died  in  Sanga- 
mon  county,  and  Robert  Hamilton  died 
in  Arkansas. 

COLEMAN,  JONATHAN 
B.,  was  born  Nov.  16,  i8n,in  Ruther- 
ford county,  Tenn.  When  he  was  about 
seventeen  years  old  he  came  to  Sangamon 
county  with  his  uncle,  Charles  K.  Hutton, 
arriving  in  what  is  now  Auburn  township 
Oct.  15,  1827.  He  was  married  Nov.  10, 
1835,  to  Mary  Dodds.  They  had  five 
living  children,  all  born  in  Sangamon 
county,  namely — 

JAMES  W.,  born  Nov.  21,  1838, 
married  Margaret  Bowman,  had  two 
children,  CHARLES  U.  and  BELLE, 
and  Mrs.  C.  died.  Mr.  Coleman  mar- 
ried Elizabeth  Mengle.  They  have  two 
children,  and  live  in  Christian  county. 

JOSEPH  E.,  born  March  5,  1841, 
enlisted  July  15,  1861,  in  Springfield,  for 
three  years,  in  what  became  Co.  B,  nth 
Mo.  Inf.  He  served  full  term  and  was 
honorably  discharged  Aug.  12,  1864.  He 
married  Lydia  Dawson.  They  have  one 
child,  LETA,  and  live  in  Springfield. 
Mr.  Coleman  is  a  traveling  salesman  for 
a  queensware  house  in  St.  Louis. 

WILLIAM  H.  married  Fanny  B. 
Taylor,  and  lives  in  Ball  township. 

ELIZABETH  A.  and 
MARGARET  E.  live  with  their  pa- 
rents, near  the  Sugar  creek  Cumb.  Presb. 
church,  in  Ball  township. 

COLEY,  WILLIS,  was  born 
Feb.  14,  1792,  near  Ballston  Springs, 
N.  Y.,  and  when  he  was  a  child  his  pa- 
rents moved  to  Cazenovia,  Madison  coun- 
ty. Willis  was  there  married  in  Feb., 
1818,  to  Lucinda  Chapin.  His  father 
owned  some  land  in  the  military  tract  be- 
tween the  Illinois  and  Mississippi  rivers. 
Soon  after  Willis  was  married  his  father 
sent  him  out  to  see  it.  He  came  on  a 
raft  down  the  Alleghany  and  Ohio  rivers 
to  Shawneetown,  thence  to  St.  Louis  by 
keel  boat.  He  went  on  foot  to  the  mili- 
tary ti'act,  and  returned  to  Edwardsville 
July  4,  1819,  he  started  from  that  place,  on 
foot  and  alone,  for  his  home  in  New  York. 
At  Terre  Haute,  Ind.,  he  secured  cooked 
food,  and  traveled  two  hundred  miles  to 


the  Maumee  river,  without  seeing  any 
other  human  beings  but  Indians.  He  ar- 
rived at  Cazenovia  August  7,  1819. 
March  4,  1820,  he  started  with  his  family, 
consisting  of  himself,  wife  and  two  child- 
ren, accompanied  by  five  or  six  other  fam- 
ilies. They  moved  by  water  fo  Shawnee- 
town, 111.,  where  Mr.  Coley  lived  three 
years.  He  then  moved  in  a  wagoi.  drawn 
by  two  yoke  of  oxen,  and  in  March,  1823, 
arrived  in  what  is  now  Loami  township, 
where  they  had  three  children.  Of  their 
five  children — 

ROBERT  W.,  born  in  New  York, 
married  in  Sangamon  county  to  Rebecca 

A.  Jarrett.     She  died   Feb.  13,  1870,  and 
Robert    W.     Coley    died    March,     1872. 
Their  daughter  LA  VINA  is  the  wife  of 
John  A.  DeWitt,  and  lives  in  Springfield. 
Their  son  WILLIS  lives  in  Loami. 

CHARLOTTE,  born  August  15, 1819, 
in  New  York,  married  in  Sangamon 
county  to  Reuben  Moore,  and  moved  to 
Texas  in  1852.  Reuben  Moore  died  in 
1863,  leaving  a  widow  and  seven  children. 
LUCINDA,  ROBERT  E.,  ELLEN 
and  POLLY  are  married,  and  live  in 
Texas.  LAURA,  their  third  child,  mar- 
ried Lott  Mason,  and  lives  in  Auburn, 
Sangamon  county.  EDGAR  and  WIL- 
LIE, the  two  youngest,  live  with  their 
mother,  near  McKinney,  Collin  county, 

HUBBARD  S.,  born  in  Sangamon 
county,  married  March  4,  18^2,  to  Susan 
Jacobs.  They  have  two  children,  AN- 
NIS  and  MAY,  and  live  in  Oswego,  La- 
bc'tte  county,  Kansas. 

JAMES  M.,  born  August  23,  1832^11 
Sangamon  county,  married  Oct.  28,  1858, 
to  Caroline  Greenwood.  She  died  six 
weeks  after  they  were  married.  Mr. 
Coley  married  April  19,  1860,  to  America 
Gibson.  They  had  two  children,  LEWIS 

B.  and   MARY   F.,  the   latter  of  whom 
died  in   her  third  year.     J.  M.  Coley  and 
wife  live  in  Loami. 

ANGELINE,  born  in  Sangamon 
county,  married  Hugh  Forrest,  and  both 
died. 

Mrs.  Lucinda  Coley  died  at  Loami,  and 
Willis  Coley  was  married  Sept.,  1851,  to 
Mrs.  Philena  Jenkins,  who  was  previous- 
ly Mrs.  Kidder,  and  whose  maiden  name 
was  Sprague,  a  native  of  Windham  coun- 
ty, Vt.  After  a  residence  of  just  half  a 


SANGAMOAr  COUNTY. 


211 


century  at  Loami,  Willis  Coley  moved,  in 
1873,  to  Oswego,  Kansas. 

COLBURN,  PAUL,  was  born 
about  1761,  in  Hollis,  Hillsboro  county, 
New  Hampshire.  He  was  married  in 
Massachusetts,  to  Mehetibel  Ball,  who 
was  born  about  1757-  They  had  eleven 
children  born  in  Sterling,  Worcester 
county,  Mass.  In  1809  the  family  moved 
to  the  vicinity  of  Hebron,  Grafton  county, 
N.  H.,  where  they  remained  until  Sept., 
1815,  when  Paul  Colburn  and  his  wife, 
his  son  Isaac  with  his  wife  and  two  child- 
ren, his  son  William  and  his  wife,  they 
having  been  married  but  a  few  days,  and 
his  unmarried  daughter,  Isabel,  started 
from  Hebron  in  wagons  to  seek  a  new 
home  in  Ohio,  at  that  time  the  "  far  west." 
On  reaching  Olean,  at  the  Alleghany 
river,  they  found  the  river  too  low  to 
bring  all  their  goods  on  boats,  as  they  had 
intended.  They  sold  their  wagons  and 
teams,  put  their  remaining  goods  and  their 
families  on  a  raft,  and  started  down  the 
river,  reaching  Pittsburg  on  the  evening 
of  Dec.  24,  1815.  Ice  was  forming  in  the 
river,  and  they  were  compelled  to  stop 
there  for  the  winter.  While  they  were  in 
Pittsburg,  Paul  Colburn  was  joined  by 
his  son  Ebenezer,  who  had  been  serving 
in  the  United  States  army  in  the  war  with 
England,  then  just  ended.  In  the  spring 
of  1816,  Isaac  and  Ebenezer  went  up  the 
Alleghany  river  and  made  a  raft  of  logs 
suitable  for  making  shingles,  and  partially 
loaded  it  with  hoop  poles.  They  expected 
to  have  gone  down  the  Ohio  river  in 
June,  but  the  whole  season  was  one  of  un- 
usual low  water,  and  December  ar- 
rived before  they  reached  Pittsburg 
with  their  raft.  The  whole  party  went 
down  on  the  raft  to  Marietta,  O.,  where 
they  engaged  in  farming  and  other  pur- 
suits. Ebenezer  was  married  in  Marietta, 
and  in  the  spring  of  1820  Paul  Colburn 
and  his  wife,  Isaac  and  his  family,  and 
Ebenezer  and  his  wife,  embarked  on  a 
raft,  leaving  William  to  close  up  the  busi- 
ness at  Marietta.  They  landed  their  raft  at 
Louisville,  Ky.,  and  left  Isaac  there  to 
work  up  and  sell  their  lumber.  The  other 
members  of  the  family  continued  down 
the  river  to  Shawneetown;  Paul  Colburn, 
his  wife  and  daughter  remained  there. 
Ebenezer  and  his  wife  went  on  to  join 
some  relatives  of  her's  in  Monroe  county, 
111.,  about  fifty  miles  south  of  St.  Louis. 


In  August  of  that  year  Isaac  Colburn 
and  his  wife  died  at  Louisville  within  two 
days  of  each  other,  leaving  six  children 
among  strangers,  and  on  the  first  of  No- 
vember Mrs.  Mehitibel  Colburn  died  at 
Shawneetown.  About  the  time  of  her 
death  William  Colburn  embarked  with 
his  family  on  a  boat  at  Marietta,  floated 
down  to  Louisville,  and  took  on  board  four 
of  his  brother  Isaac's  children,  one  having 
died,  and  another  been  placed  in  a  good 
home.  He  then  went  to  Shawneetown 
and  joined  his  bereaved  father  and  sister, 
arriving  Dec.  24,  1820. 

In  March,  1821,  Paul  Colburn,  his 
daughter  Isabel,  William  Colburn,  wife 
and  three  children,  the  four  orphan  child- 
ren of  Isaac  Colburn,  and  a  Mr.  Harris, 
started  in  a  wagon  drawn  by  four  oxen  for 
Morgan  county.  They  traveled  through 
rain,  mud  and  unbridged  streams  for 
about  five  weeks,  which  brought  them  to 
the  south  side  of  Lick  creek,  on  what  is 
now  Loami  township,  where  they  found 
an  empty  cabin.  From  sheer  weariness 
they  decided  to  stop,  and  Mr.  Harris,  the 
owner  of  the  wagon  and  oxen,  went  on 
to  Morgan  county. 

Soon  after  their  arrival  Wm.  Colburn 
gave  a  rifle  gun  for  a  crop  of  corn  just 
planted,  and  in  that  way  began  to  provide 
food.  He  secured  a  team  and  went  after 
his  brother  Ebenezer,  and  brought  him 
and  his  wife  to  the  settlement,  arriving 
in  October,  1821. 

Having  succeeded  in  bringing  so  many 
of  his  descendants  to  the  new  country,  and 
witnessed  their  struggles  to  gain  a  foot- 
hold and  provide  themselves  with  homes, 
Paul  Colburn  died  Feb.  27,  1825,  near  the 
present  town  of  Loami.  Of  his  children 
who  came  to  Sangamon  county,  we  will 
notice  each  under  separate  heads,  begin- 
ning with  the  daughters — 

COLBURN,  SALLY,  born 
June  15,  1789,  in  Sterling,  Mass.,  married 
there  to  Daniel  Woodworth.  They  came 
some  years  after  the  first  of  the  family 
arrived.  They  lived  many  years  in 
Springfield,  and  both  died  in  Sangamon 
county.  Their  daughter — 

LOUISA  H.,  married  Gershom  Dor- 
ranee.  See  his  name. 

SARAH,  has  been  twice  married,  and 
lives  in  California. 

An  account  is  preserved  of  a  ludicrous 
incident  that  transpired  while  Mr.  Wood- 


212 


EARLT  SETTLERS  OP 


worth  lived  in  Springfield.  A  rain  storm 
came  on  suddenly  and  caught  him  away 
from  home.  He  started  on  a  run,  with 
his  head  down,  hat  drawn  over  his 
eyes,  and  body  bent  forward.  It  so 
happened  'that  Governor  Ford  found  him- 
self away  from  home  in  the  same  shower. 
Throwing  himself  in  a  similar  attitude,  he 
started  on  a  run  also;  but  there  was  this 
difference,  they  were  running  in  opposite 
directions,  and  when  both  were  at  full 
speed,  they  came  together  with  a  square 
butt,  like  a  couple  of  sheep.  Each,  on 
the  spur  of  the  moment,  thought  it  was 
intentional  on  the  part  of  the  other,  and 
each  assumed  a  belligerent  attitude,  but 
before  a  blow  was  struck,  both  discovered 
that  it  was  an  accident,  and  with  a  hearty 
laugh,  hurried  on. 

COLBURN,  MARY,  born  Feb. 
23,  1792,  at  Sterling,  Mass.,  married  Adna 
Phelps.  See  his  name. 

COLBURN,  ISABEL,  born 
Feb.  n,  1796,  in  Sterling,  Mass.,  married 
in  Sangamon  county,  to  Adin  E.  Meacham. 
See  his  name. 

CpLBURN,  ISAAC,  born  in 
Sterling,  Mass.,  married  in  New  Hamp- 
shire, and  himself  and  wife  died  at  Louis- 
ville, Ky.,  in  1821,  leaving  six  children, 
one  of  whom  died  in  infancy. 

AZUBA  remained  in  the  vicinity  of 
Louisville,  and  married  a  Mr.  Summers. 

ASA  came  to  Sangamon  county  in 
18